DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application was filed on and is a U.S. national Stage application under 35 U.S.C. 371 of International Patent Application No. PCT/NL2019/050696 filed 10/23/2019, which claims the benefit of the priority of Netherlands Patent Application No. 2021875 filed 10/25/2018.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Status
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 8-10, 12-16, 21-23 are pending. Claims 1, 21-22 are amended. Claims 3, 7, 11, 17-20 are canceled. Claims 23 is new. Claim 16 is withdrawn from consideration.
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 8-10, 12-15, 21-23 are being examined on the merits in this office action.
Claim Rejections - Withdrawn
The rejection of claims 1-2, 4-6, 8-10, 12-15, 19-20, and 22 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, is withdrawn in view of the claim amendments.
The rejection of claims 1-2, 4-6, 8-10, 12-15 and 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), is withdrawn in view of the claim amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 - New
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 8-10, 12-15, 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. This is a NEW MATTER rejection.
The response filed 06/05/2026 has introduced NEW MATTER into the claims. The newly added/amended Claim(s) 1 recites “…comprising a plurality of microorganisms”. The response did not specifically and adequately point out where support for newly added/amended Claim(s) 1 could be found in the originally filed disclosure.
Although the PTO has the initial burden of presenting evidence or reasons why persons skilled in the art would not recognize in the disclosure a description of the invention defined by the claims, when filing an amendment an applicant should show support in the original disclosure for new or amended claims. See MPEP 714.02 and 2163.06 (“Applicant should therefore specifically point out the support for any amendments made to the disclosure.”).
The amended claims now recite limitations, which were not clearly disclosed in the specification as filed, and now change the scope of the instant disclosure as filed. Such limitations recited in newly amended claim, which did not appear in the specification, as filed, introduce new concepts and violate the description requirement of the first paragraph of 35 U.S.C 112. The recitation of “…comprising a plurality of microorganisms” or “…two or more different microorganism….” is not found in the disclosure. Examiner notes that the instant specification discloses that the microorganisms may be selected from Proteobacteria, such as Acidithiobacillia, Alphaproteobacteria, Betaproteobacteria, such as chemolithoautotrophs, photoautctrcphs, and heterotrophs, Deltaproteobacteria, Epsilonproteobacteria, Gammaproteobacteria, Hydrogenophilalia, Oligoflexia, such as Ca. Accumilibacter, and fimbria comprising bacteria (Specification page 11, line 25-31). The specification does not disclose that the culture comprises two or more bacteria selected from the recited list of microorganisms.
Applicant is required to provide sufficient written support for the limitations recited in the present claims in the specification, or claims as-filed, or remove these limitations from the claims in response to this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, 8-10, 12-15, 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pronk et al. (Water Research, Volume 122, 2017, Pages 148-158) – (IDS 05/25/2021), in view of Vu et al. (Molecules, 2009 Jul 13; 14 (7): 2535–2554)* and Vaidyanathan et al. (Bioeng. Transl. Med. 2016 Nov 21;2(1):17–30 – herein “Vai”)*.
*Reference disclosed and attached in previous office action.
Pronk teaches a method that comprises the use of Defluviicoccus II species to form and extract an extracellular polymeric substance (EPS) and that EPS dominated granules exhibited a remarkable and distinctive tangled tubular morphology and that the granules are dominated by Defluviicoccus Cluster II organisms (Abstract). Examiner notes that Defluviicoccus Cluster II organisms refers to more than one organism and further it is known in the art that Defluviicoccus Cluster II belongs to the proteobacteria phylum and is among the glycogen-accumulating organisms (GAOs). Further, Pronk teaches microorganisms including Alphaproteobacteria (Section 2.1; Section 3.2) which belongs to the instant Proteobacteria and further teaches bacteria including beta and gamma proteobacteria (See Fig. 3). Thus, this disclosure of Pronk reads on providing two or more different microorganism including the instant selection of bacteria, i.e. proteobacteria and Alphaproteobacteria. Pronk teaches an acid soluble extracellular polymeric substance (acid soluble EPS) was extracted from an acetate fed aerobic granular sludge reactor and that the experiments were conducted in a sequencing batch reactor (SBR) fed with acetate as the sole carbon source (Section 2.1). Pronk teaches that the acid soluble EPS is α-(1 → 4) linked polysaccharide, containing both glucose and galactose as monomers (Abstract). Examiner notes that it is known in the art that heparin is α-(1 → 4) linked polysaccharide. Pronk teaches both aerobic (Abstract; introduction) and anaerobic conditions (Section 2.1). Pronk teaches that the abundant microbial species was most likely, Defluviicoccus Cluster II related (Section 3.2) which is a known glycogen accumulating organism (GAO). Pronk teaches that the glycoproteins containing EPS were isolated from the granular sludge (Section 4.1, 2nd paragraph).
Pronk teaches that the biomedical compound is α-(1 → 4) linked polysaccharide but doesn’t explicitly teach that the compound is heparin. Examiner however notes that it is known in the art that heparin is α-(1 → 4) linked polysaccharide.
Additionally, the use of the instant bacteria to produce biomedical compounds such as heparan or heparin is known in the art as taught by Vu et al. Vu teaches EPS produced by microorganisms are a complex mixture of biopolymers primarily consisting of polysaccharides, as well as proteins, nucleic acids, lipids and humic substances (Abstract). Vu teaches the use of gammaproteobacterial to produce polysaccharides such as N-acetylheparosan (which is a type of heparan polymer), alginate and xanthan, and that some microorganism polysaccharides that have the same structure as heparin, as the non-sulfated precursor polysaccharide in heparin biosynthesis (a type of heparan-like or heparin polymer (Section 9.2.3). Vu teaches that gram positive bacteria including Alphaproteobacteria, Betaproteobacteria and Gammaproteobacteria produce extracellular polysaccharides where polymers are generally composed of D-glucose, or heteropolysaccharides, where the repeating units range from disaccharides to octasaccharides with unusual side chains (section 9.2). Vu teaches that the use of bacterial polysaccharides as sources of heparin synthesis may eliminate concerns associated with mammalian sources of heparin, and also be useful in medical research (Page 2545, 2nd paragraph).
Further Vai teaches bacterial biosynthesis of heparosan (section 2.1.2) and that some bacterial strains can be used to synthesize polysaccharides such as heparin, HA, and CS (see section 3.1) and that heparin contains repeating disaccharide units containing 2‐O‐sulfo‐α‐L‐iduronic acid (IdoA2S) 1,4‐linked to 6‐O‐sulfo‐N‐sulfo‐α‐D‐glucosamine (section 1.1). Vai teaches that the heparin can be prepared to have low molecular weight of 4-6kda (section 1.1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by Pronk to produce other polysaccharides such as heparin, since Vu teaches similar bacteria are used to produce heparin and heparan polymers (see page 2545) and Vai teaches the use of bacterial strains to produce polysaccharides such as heparin. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated and would have had a reasonable expectation of success in using the method of Pronk to produce polysaccharides such as heparin and heparan since Vu teaches similar bacteria to produce heparin and heparan polymers thus proving other sources of heparin synthesis. The disclosures render obvious claims 1 and 23.
Regarding claims 2, and 6, Vai teaches that the heparin can be prepared to have low molecular weight of 4-6kda (section 1.1). It would have been obvious to modify the method of Pronk to produce low molecular weight heparin so as to have improved bioavailability and pharmacodynamics making them better than heparin for certain therapeutic applications (See section 1.1).
Regarding claim 4, Pronk teaches that the granules are dominated by Defluviicoccus cluster II organisms (Abstract).
Regarding claim 5, Pronk teaches that aerobic granular sludge is comprised out of several microbial layers from the core to the fringe (Section 3.1; also Fig. 1 description). Pronk teaches that the EPS dominated granules exhibited a remarkable and distinctive tangled tubular morphology (See Abstract).
Regarding claim 9, Pronk teaches the microorganism grown in a reactor fed with acetate as the sole carbon source at 35 °C, that the feed consists out of 1200 mL of water at 39 °C and 150 mL of N-source and 150 mL of C-source, that the concentrated C-source medium contained 92 g of sodium acetate per 10 L of demi water. The concentrated N-source medium contained per 10 L of demi water; 11.26 g NH4Cl, 1.25 g K2HPO4, 0.5 g KH2PO4, 8.8 g MgSO4·7H2O, 3.5 g KCl and 90 g trace element solution (Section 2.1). Pronk further teaches that a settling period of 3 min and a 5 min effluent period (Section 2.1). Pronk teaches a plug flow feed period of 1 h of anaerobic feeding at 1500 mL h−1 from the bottom of the reactor, followed by a 112-min aeration period and a solid retention time is kept at approximately 20 days, that the dissolved oxygen in the aeration period is set at 60% (3.4 mgO2 L−1), that the pH is controlled between 7.1 and 6.9 (Section 2.1). In addition, the concentration of the active agent is a result effective variable and the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable may be characterized by routine experimentation (See MPEP 2144 II). It would be obvious and routine experimentation to a person of ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation of success to optimize the concentrations of the active agents in the reactor to arrive at the concentrations of the instant claim 10.
Regarding claim 12, Pronk teaches an acid soluble extracellular polymeric substance (acid soluble EPS) was extracted from an acetate fed aerobic granular sludge reactor and that the experiments were conducted in a sequencing batch reactor (SBR) fed with acetate as the sole carbon source (Section 2.1).
Regarding claims 14-15, Pronk teaches 3.9% of soluble EPS could be extracted (Section 3.3, last paragraph). Pronk further teaches that the acid soluble EPS is α-(1 → 4) linked polysaccharide, containing both glucose and galactose as monomers (Section 3.4, last paragraph). Further, Examiner notes that all the steps of the recited method are taught by Pronk and Vu teaches suing the instant bacteria to produce heparin-like and heparan compounds. Thus the wherein clause in claims 14-15 is not given weight when it simply expresses the intended result of a process step positively recited (See MPEP 2111.04).
Regarding claim 21-22, Vu teaches the use of gammaproteobacterial to produce polysaccharides such as N-acetylheparosan and polysaccharides that have the same structure as heparin, as the non-sulfated precursor polysaccharide in heparin biosynthesis (a type of heparan-like or heparin polymer (Section 9.2.3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by Pronk to produce other biomedical compounds such as heparin since Vu teaches similar bacteria to produce heparin polymers (see page 2545).
Claims 8, 10, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pronk et al. (Water Research, Volume 122, 2017, Pages 148-158) – (IDS 05/25/2021), in view of Vu et al. (Molecules, 2009 Jul 13; 14 (7): 2535–2554)* and Vaidyanathan et al. (Bioeng. Transl. Med. 2016 Nov 21;2(1):17–30 – herein “Vai”)*, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lin et al. (WO2015190927 - hereinafter “Lin”)*
*Reference disclosed and attached in previous office action.
The teachings of Pronk, Vu and Vai are disclosed above and incorporated herein by reference.
Pronk does not teach the supplements such as sugars, fatty acids, proteins, and minerals as recited in claim 8.
Lin teaches extraction of a biopolymer from a granular sludge (Abstract), that the biopolymers are from dense aggregates formed by microbial organisms, comprising the steps of
(i) providing an anionic biopolymer in sludge, (ii) increasing the pH to 8.0-14.0 under addition of at least 1-20 % v/v of at least one of Cl2, 0C1- and H202, at a suitable temperature and during a suitable time, and (iii) extracting the biopolymer (claim 1). Lin teaches that the polysaccharide is obtained by the aerobic cultivation of a bacterium of the species Azotobacter vinelandii in an aqueous nutrient medium containing sources of carbon, molybdenum, iron, magnesium, potassium, sodium, sulfate, calcium and phosphate and that the carbon source comprises at least one monosaccharide or disaccharide, that the phosphate concentration in the nutrient medium is 0.1-0.8 millimolar, and the pH of the medium is maintained within the range of from 7.0 to 8.2 (Page 2, line 32-40). Lin teaches that Extracellular polymeric substances obtainable from granular sludge (preferably obtained from granular sludge) do not require further purification or treatment to be used for some applications, hence can be applied directly (Page 2, line 5-8) and that the extracellular polymeric substances, in particular linear polysaccharides, obtainable from granular sludge can be produced in large quantities (Page 1, line 18-21). Lin teaches that the polysaccharide is obtained by the aerobic cultivation of a bacterium of the species Azotobacter vinelandii in an aqueous nutrient medium containing sources of carbon, molybdenum, iron, magnesium, potassium, sodium, sulfate, calcium and phosphate (Page 2, line 32-35) which are examples of minerals.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Pronk with the teachings of Lin and supply the supplements such as carbon, molybdenum, iron, magnesium, potassium, sodium, sulfate, calcium and phosphate since Lin teaches that such extracellular polymeric substances, in particular linear polysaccharides, obtainable from granular sludge can be produced in large quantities (Page 1, line 18-21). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated and would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying the method of Pronk with the teachings of Lin since both reference teach isolating biomedical substances using microorganisms and Lin teaches that Extracellular polymeric substances obtainable from granular sludge (preferably obtained from granular sludge) do not require further purification or treatment to be used for some applications, hence can be applied directly (Page 2, line 5-8). The disclosures render obvious claim 8.
Regarding claim 10, Pronk teaches sequencing batch reactor (SBR) fed with acetate as the sole carbon source at 35 °C. The settling time was gradually decreased from 15 to 3 min over the course of two weeks and was maintained for the duration of the experiment (6 months), that the 3-h cycle starts with a plug flow feed period of 1 h of anaerobic feeding at 1500 mL h−1 from the bottom of the reactor. The feed consists out of 1200 mL of water at 39 °C and 150 mL of N-source and 150 mL of C-source both at room temperature as to result in a final influent temperature of 35 °C. Feeding is followed by a 112-min aeration period, a settling period of 3 min, and a 5 min effluent period in which the total volume in the reactor is brought back to 1.24 L. The reactor is kept at 35 °C throughout the whole cycle and the dissolved oxygen in the aeration period is set at 60% (3.4 mgO2 L−1). The pH is controlled between 7.1 and 6.9 by 1 M solutions of HCl and NaOH respectively. Solid retention time is kept at approximately 20 days, that the concentrated C-source medium contained 92 g of sodium acetate per 10 L of demi water and that the concentrated N-source medium contained per 10 L of demi water; 11.26 g NH4Cl, 1.25 g K2HPO4, 0.5 g KH2PO4, 8.8 g MgSO4·7H2O, 3.5 g KCl and 90 g trace element solution (whole section 2.1). Pronk teaches the oxygen concentration but does not teach the recited concentration of 200-500mg/l. Examiner notes that one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated through routine experimentation to optimize the oxygen concentrations of the excipients taught by both Pronk to arrive at the concentrations of the instant claims. See MPEP 2144 (II).
Regarding claim 13, Pronk teaches the extracellular polymer granules were collected from the lab-scale reactor. Fresh granules (1 g in dry weight) were added into 100 mL 0.5% (w/v) Na2CO3 solution and heated for 30 min at 80 °C. After centrifugation, the supernatant was used for the ALE extraction, and the pellet was used to extract the acid soluble EPS. The solution was then stirred and heated in a water bath at 95 °C for 20 h. Then the suspension was centrifuged for 20 min. The supernatant was collected and filtered through 0.2 μm filter. Then ethanol (98%, 1:1 vol) was added to the supernatant. The precipitate was lyophilized and named “acid soluble extracellular polymeric substance” (acid soluble EPS) (section 2.4). Further, Lin teaches the method comprising increasing the pH to 8.0-14.0, removing particles with a diameter larger than 500pm (this reads on removing insoluble substances), reducing the pH, by addition of an acid, removing the sludge by one or more of physical separation, settling, centrifugation, cyclonic separation, decantation, filtration, sieving, and flotation, under suitable conditions (claims 1-5). Lin further teaches that the method comprises the step of addition of a salt comprising a base, and an oxidant, temperature is increased to 50-100°C for a period of 10-60 min (Claims 8-9). Lin further teaches that the extraction is preferably carried out under mixing, such as by stirring (Page 3, line 17-19). It would have been obvious to modify Pronk with the teachings of Lin and increase the pH of the mixture so as to extract the extracellular polymeric substances, since both reference teach isolating biomedical substances using microorganisms.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/05/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant Arguments
Applicant argues that Pronk does not teach producing heparin. Applicant further argues that Vu fails to teach or suggest that polysaccharides produced by microorganisms have the same structure as heparin. Applicant argues that Vaidyanathan also fails to describe or suggest that a bacterial strain synthesizes heparin (Page 2 of Arguments).
Applicant argues that the combination of Pronk, Vu, and Vaidyanathan fails to teach or suggest a method of producing a heparin that comprises, in part, providing a microorganism culture comprising a plurality of microorganisms, wherein the microorganisms in the plurality of microorganisms are two or more different microorganisms as claimed, growing the microorganisms under aerobic and anaerobic conditions heparin (Page 3-4 of Arguments).
Applicant argues that Lin fails to correct the deficiencies of Pronk, Vu, and Vaidyanathan and is cited solely as allegedly teaching culture supplementation with sugars, fatty acids, proteins, and minerals heparin (Page 4 of Arguments).
Examiner’s Response
The arguments presented above have been fully considered but are unpersuasive. Examiner notes that Pronk teaches all the steps of the claimed invention. Pronk teaches producing a biomedical compound using multiple microorganisms including Defluviicoccus Cluster II which belongs to the proteobacteria phylum and is among the glycogen-accumulating organisms (GAOs). Further, Pronk teaches microorganisms including Alphaproteobacteria (Section 2.1; Section 3.2) which belongs to the instant Proteobacteria and further teaches bacteria including beta and gamma proteobacteria (See Fig. 3). Thus, this disclosure of Pronk reads on providing two or more different microorganism including the instant selection of bacteria. Pronk teaches an acid soluble extracellular polymeric substance (acid soluble EPS) was extracted from an acetate fed aerobic granular sludge reactor and that the experiments were conducted in a sequencing batch reactor (SBR) fed with acetate as the sole carbon source (Section 2.1). Pronk teaches that the acid soluble EPS is α-(1 → 4) linked polysaccharide, containing both glucose and galactose as monomers (Abstract). Examiner notes that it is known in the art that heparin is α-(1 → 4) linked polysaccharide. Pronk teaches both aerobic (Abstract; introduction) and anaerobic conditions (Section 2.1). Pronk teaches that the abundant microbial species was most likely, Defluviicoccus Cluster II related (Section 3.2) which is a known glycogen accumulating organism (GAO). Pronk teaches that the glycoproteins containing EPS were isolated from the granular sludge (Section 4.1, 2nd paragraph). Examiner notes that even though Pronk does not explicitly teach that the compound produced is heparin, Pronk teaches that the compound produced is a α-(1 → 4) linked polysaccharide. However, it is known in the art that heparin is α-(1 → 4) linked polysaccharide. Additionally, Vu and Vai teach using similar microorganisms to produce heparin and heparin-like compounds. One of ordinary skill in the art, after reading the cited references would be motivated to use the microorganisms recited to produce heparin or heparin-like compounds. The arguments are unpersuasive.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/MERCY H SABILA/Examiner, Art Unit 1654
/LIANKO G GARYU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1654