DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 11/25/2024 has been entered. As directed by the amendment: claims 15 – 16, 18 – 19, 25, 31 – 33, 35 and 37 are amended. Claims 1 – 14, 17, 26 – 30, 34 and 38 were previously cancelled. Claim 40 is newly added. Thus, claims 15 – 16, 18 – 25, 31 – 33, 35 – 37 and 39 – 40 are currently pending. Applicant's arguments regarding the obviousness rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 to the claims are fully considered and are not persuasive (please see the “Response to Arguments” section) and the following Final Rejection is made herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15 – 16 , 18 – 25 , 31 – 33 , 35 – 37 and 39 – 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ackermann et al. (US 2022/0037700 A1, foreign priority date 06/20/2018), hereinafter “Ackermann”, in view of Green (US 5, 531, 285 a), hereinafter “Green”, in further view of Chouk et al. (DE 102016211762 A1), hereinafter “Chouk”, modified by Chen et al. (US 2019/0023149 A1, foreign priority date 07/19/2017), hereinafter “Chen” and Won et al. (US 2013/0043231 A1), hereinafter “Won”.
Regarding claim 15, Ackermann discloses an electric power converter device (energy conversion and distribution device 101, 102, 103, FIG.1 — 6), comprising:
a first housing and a second housing separated by a fluid-impermeable plate (a shared housing 110 by power electronics components (121, 131,161, 171) and heat transfer medium 210 comprising a coolant, (0029, 0030 and see FIG.2), please *Note, power electronics components and heat transfer medium/coolant share housing 101 and one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate the housing for the heat transfer medium comprising coolant 210 must be separated by a fluid-impermeable plate from the power electronics components, inherently teaching at least two separate housings for the power electronics components and heat transfer coolant 210, see FIG.2);
at least one power electronics being electrically connected to an electric power input and an electric power output (power electronics components in the shared housing 110 are connected directly with each other in a manner that allows individual electrical power plugs for each component is avoided, sharing a single power source, (0005 and see FIG. 2 - 5));
at least one fluid chamber being fluidically connected to a fluid inlet and a fluid outlet (heat transfer medium/coolant 210 is fluidly connected to an inlet and an outlet, (0032 and see FIG.2));
at least one heater being electrically connected to the electric power input and electric power output (PTC heater 150 arranged in the housing 110 electrically connected to the power input and output, (0032 and see FIG.2)), the at least one fluid chamber and the at least one heater being thermally coupled, and the at least heater being used to heat a fluid flowing through the at least one fluid chamber (the heat transfer medium/coolant 210 and the PCT heater150 are thermally coupled, such that the PTC heater 150 provides thermal energy to heat the heat transfer medium/coolant 210, (0031, FIG.2));
wherein the at least one fluid chamber and the at least one power electronics unit are thermally coupled such that waste heat generated by the at least one power electronics unit is used for heating the fluid flowing through the fluid chamber (the fluid/coolant chamber and all power electronics components 122, 132, 162 and 172 arranged in the housing 110 are thermally coupled in a manner waste heat from all power electronics components is heating the heat transfer fluid/coolant 210, (0033 - 0034, FIG.2));
wherein the electric power converter device has a first operation mode and a second operation mode (the energy conversion device 101 operates in a mode wherein waste heat from all power electronics components is absorbed by the heat transfer fluid/coolant 210 and remaining required heat energy is provided by the PTC heater150, (0031, 0033) and another mode wherein the efficiency power electronic components is intentionally decreased to increase the waste heat output from the power electronics components to satisfy a targeted heat demand, (0034));
wherein the amount of waste heat generated by the at least one power electronics unit is increased in the second operation mode compared to the first operation mode (decreasing the efficiency ƞ of the power electronic components increases the waste heat output from the power electronics components in the second mode, (0034)); and
wherein the at least one power electronics unit forms a DC-to-DC converter (the power electronics components in the shared housing can form a power distribution unit (PDU) 121, an on-board charger (OBC) 131, a DC/DC converter 161, and/or an optional component 1777, (0030 and see FIG.2)).
Ackermann does not explicitly teach the first housing and the plate form a first space area in which the power electronics unit and the heater are arranged and wherein the plate and the second housing form the fluid chamber with a second space area, wherein the at least one power electronics and the at least one heater are thermally coupled to the plate, the plate being thermally coupled to the fluid chamber.
However, Green that teaches a vehicle cooling/heating system using waste heat generated during operation of the vehicle under traction motor operation, by the inverter drive 5 and traction motor 6 in conjunction with domestic heater 4, (5:15 - 20) , also teaches an arrangement of a first space area 46 housing power drive electronics and invertor 39 between a cover and separating plate (upper plate portion of the heat exchanger 40, see please annotated FIG.2 ) of the fluid heat exchanger 40 and a second space area of a fluid chamber of sinusoidal fluid channels 41 between the separating plate of the heat exchanger 40 and the bottom cover of the heat exchanger 40, (4:64 – 5 :10 and see FIG.2). The heat generated by the power electronics 39 of the inverter drive is exchanged through the fluid in the sinusoidal channels of the heat exchanger 40 to supplement the heating/cooling of the AICE 3 and heater 4, (4:64 – 5 :10 and 5: 15 – 20) thus, the power electronics of the inverter and the heater are thermally coupled to upper plate portion of the heat exchanger, that is ‘heat’ is exchanged from the power electronics to the fluid via the separating plate of the heat exchanger 40.
This arrangement (FIG.2) provides for a compact and small size heating/cooling system reducing the overall size and weight of the vehicle, (4:60 — 63).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Ackermann to have first housing and a plate form a first space area in which the power electronics unit and the heater are arranged and wherein the plate and a second housing form the fluid chamber with a second space area wherein the at least one power electronics and the at least one heater are thermally coupled to the plate, the plate being thermally coupled to the fluid chamber in order to provides for a compact and small size power conversion housing, wherein the heat from the power electronics an heater is exchanged/transferred through the plate to the coolant, reducing the overall size and weight of the vehicle as taught in Green. Further, one of ordinary skill in the art apprised of Greens compact housing arrangement wherein the power electronics is housed in one chamber and the fluid is housed in another chamber separated by a plate, would be naturally motivated to make Akerman’s energy conversion device to be arranged similarly to make the conversion device compact that saves overall size. It is a known and a routinely sought-after industry trend to design vehicle parts to be of minimum size and weight in the vehicle industry.
Ackerman already discloses increasing the waste heat generated by any of the electronic components 122, 132, 162 and 172, including the DC/DC converter 162, in the second operation mode by reducing the DC/DC converter efficiency (ƞ), (0034).
Ackerman do not specifically discuss about how the efficiency (n) of the power electronics is reduced to generate more waste heat in the second operation mode, wherein a switching frequency of components of the at least one power electronics is increased in the second operation mode to increase the amount of waste heat.
However, Chouk that relates to a method and a device for heating a component, wherein the component is connected to a common cooling circuit with power electronics (0001), also teaches the power electronics is operated with increased power loss, less efficiency, to increase the switching losses in the power electronics, the switching frequency of the switching elements of the inverter is increased, (0013).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to increase the switching frequency of the power electronics of Ackerman in order to increase switching losses and waste heat in the second operation mode as it is known and implicitly established in the art of power electronics (e.g., DC/Dc convertors) to increase switching frequency to increase switching losses (decrease efficiency (n)) and increase the amount of waste heat, MPEP 2144.01
Ackermann in view of Green in further view of Chouk do not explicitly specify the DC/DC converter converts a high voltage of 400 V to a low voltage of 12 V, wherein a heating power in the range of 3 kW to 4 kW is provided by the at least one power electronics and wherein the at least one heater provides a heating power in the range of 2 kW to 4kW.
However, Chen that relates to electric vehicle power systems (0002), also teaches a DC/DC converter (220) of the electric power system that converts 400 v to 12 v wherein a heating power of 3.5 KW is provided, (0029 and see FIG. 2). Further, Won that relates to an electric heater apparatus for an electric vehicle and a method of controlling the same, also teaches a PTC heater 10 that can be controlled with switching elements 13 a – c to provide a power output of 2kW to 6kw, (0008, 0046, FIG. 1 and FIG. 5). Thus, it is known to use DC/DC converters that convert 400 v to 12 v wherein the heating power ranging in 3 kW to 4 kW and PTC heaters providing heating power ranging 2 kW to 4kW in the art of electric vehicles.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to make the DC/DC converter and the PCT heater of Ackerman to have the claimed ratings of the DC/DC converter that converts 400 V to 12 V and the PCT heater provide a heating power in the range of 3 kW to 4 kW, as it is established that selecting art recognized suitability for an intended purpose is not patentably distinguishing over the prior art, MPEP 2144.07. *Note here, when Ackerman teaches the DC/DC converter and the PCT heater and Chen and Won teach the claimed rating of the DC/DC converter and the PTC heater respectively, PHOSTIA would easily and routinely select the claimed ratings to arrive to the claimed ratings as selecting art recognized suitability for an intended purpose is within ordinary skill in the art that is not patentably distinguishing.
Further, when the structures of the apparatus of claimed invention are disclosed by the prior art (*Note here, DC/DC converter and PCT heater are disclosed by Ackerman), selecting a specific operating rating for the DC/DC converter and PCT heater is not patentably distinguishing, as the manner of operating the claimed structure does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the prior art. In this case, the DC/DC converter of Ackerman is capable of being operated to convert a high voltage of 400 V to a low voltage of 12 V at a heating power ranging of 3 kW to 4 kW and the PCT heater is capable of providing heating power ranging 2 kW to 4kW as the structures are same as the claimed invention and , Chen and Won specify the claimed ranges, "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus", MPEP 2114. Il.
Regarding claim 16, Ackermann in view of Green in further view of Chouk modified by Chen and Won teaches the electric power converter device according to according to claim 15, wherein the at least one heater comprises at least one of a PTC-element, a thick film resistor, and an induction heater (the heater 150 comprises PCT heating element, Ackermann (0031 and see FIG.2)). Regarding claim 18, Ackermann in view of Green in further view of Chouk modified by Chen and Won teaches the at least one electric power converter device according to claim 15, wherein the power electronics unit forms an on-board charger or a traction inverter (the power electronics components can form a power distribution unit (PDU) 121, an on-board charger (OBC) 131, a DC/DC converter 161, and/or an optional component 171, Ackermann (0030 and see FIG.2)).
Regarding claim 19, Ackermann discloses a method of heating a part of a vehicle (a method of heating an electric vehicle 10 interior 20 and/or a battery 40, (0029, FIG. 1)), the method comprising:
providing at least one electric power converter device (providing DC/DC convertor 167, FIG.2);
providing a fluid circulating in a fluid circuit (providing heat transfer medium/coolant 21, FIG.2);
heating the fluid by waste heat of the electric power converter device (DC/DC power converter 162 is thermally coupled in a manner waste heat from the converter is heating the heat transfer fluid/coolant 210, (0033 – 0034 and FIG.2)), wherein the electric power converter device forms an electric power converter device including:
a first housing and a second housing separated by a fluid-impermeable plate (a shared housing 110 by power electronics components (121, 131,161, 171) and heat transfer medium 210 comprising a coolant, (0029, 0030 and see FIG.2), please note, power electronics components and heat transfer medium/coolant share housing 101 and one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate the housing for the heat transfer medium comprising coolant 210 must be separated by a fluid-impermeable plate from the power electronics components, implicitly teaching at least two separate housings for the power electronics components and heat transfer coolant 210, see FIG.2);
at least one power electronics being electrically connected to an electric power input and an electric power output (power electronics components in the shared housing 110 are connected directly with each other in a manner that allows individual electrical power plugs for each component is avoided, sharing a single power source, (0005 and see FIG. 2 - 5));
at least one fluid chamber being fluidically connected to a fluid inlet and a fluid outlet (heat transfer medium/coolant 210 is fluidly connected to an inlet and an outlet, (0032 and see FIG.2));
at least one heater being electrically connected to the electric power input and electric power output (PTC heater 150 arranged in the housing 110 electrically connected to the power input and output, (0032 and see FIG.2)), the at least one fluid chamber and the at least heater being thermally coupled, and the at least one heater being used to heat a fluid flowing through the fluid chamber (the PTC heater 150 provides thermal energy to heat the heat transfer medium/coolant 210, (0031, FIG.2));
wherein the at least one fluid chamber and the at least one power electronics are thermally coupled such that waste heat generated by the at least one power electronics is used for heating a fluid flowing through the at least one fluid chamber (the fluid/coolant chamber and all power electronics components 122, 132, 162 and 172 arranged in the housing 110 are thermally coupled in a manner waste heat from all power electronics components is heating the heat transfer fluid/coolant 210, (0033 - 0034, FIG.2));
wherein the electric power converter device has a first operation mode and a second operation mode (the energy conversion device 101 operates in a mode wherein waste heat from all power electronics components is absorbed by the heat transfer fluid/coolant 210 and remaining required heat energy is provided by the PTC heater150, (0031, 0033) and another mode wherein the efficiency (n) power electronic components is intentionally decreased to increase the waste heat output from the power electronics components to satisfy a targeted heat demand, (0034));
wherein the amount of waste heat generated by the at least one power electronics is increased in the second operation mode compared to the first operation mode (decreasing the efficiency(n) of power electronic components increase the waste heat output from the power electronics components in the second mode, (0034)); and
wherein the power electronics forms a DC-to-DC converter (the power electronics components in the shared housing can form a power distribution unit (PDU) 121, an on- board charger (OBC) 131, a DC/DC converter 161, and/or an optional component 171, (0030 and see FIG.2)).
Ackermann does not explicitly teach the first housing and the plate forma first space area in which the power electronics and the heater are arranged and wherein the plate and the second housing form the fluid chamber with a second space area, wherein the at least one power electronics and the at least one heater are thermally coupled to the plate, the plate being thermally coupled to the fluid chamber and wherein heating the fluid by waste heat of the electric power converter device includes transferring the waste heat generated by the at least one power electronics to the fluid in the at least one fluid chamber via the plate.
However, Green that teaches a vehicle cooling/heating system using waste heat generated during operation of the vehicle under traction motor operation, by the inverter drive 5 and traction motor 6 in conjunction with domestic heater4, (5:15 - 20), also teaches an arrangement of a first space area 46 housing power drive electronics and invertor 39 between a cover and separating plate (upper plate portion of the heat exchanger 40, see please annotated FIG.2 ) of the fluid heat exchanger 40 and a second space area of a fluid chamber of sinusoidal fluid channels 41 between the separating plate of the heat exchanger 40 and the bottom cover of the heat exchanger 40, (4:64 – 5 :10 and see FIG.2), the heat generated by the power electronics 39 of the inverter drive is exchanged through the fluid in the sinusoidal channels of the heat exchanger40 to supplement the heating/cooling of the AICE 3 and heater 4, (4:64 – 5 :10 and 5: 15 – 20) thus, the power electronics of the inverter and the heater are thermally coupled to upper plate portion of the heat exchanger, that is ‘heat’ is exchanged from the power electronics to the fluid via the separating plate of the heat exchanger 40.
This arrangement (F1G.2) provides for a compact and small size heating/cooling system reducing the overall size and weight of the vehicle, (4:60 — 63).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to modify Ackermann to have first housing and a plate form a first space area in which the power electronics and the heater are arranged and wherein the plate and a second housing form the fluid chamber with a second space area in order to provides for a compact and small size power conversion housing, reducing the overall size and weight of the vehicle as taught in Green. Further, one of ordinary skill in the art apprised of Greens compact housing arrangement wherein the power electronics is housed in one chamber and the fluid is housed in another chamber separated by a plate, would be naturally motivated to make Akerman’s energy conversion device to be arranged similarly to make the conversion device compact that saves overall size. It is a known and a routinely sought-after industry trend to design vehicle parts to be of minimum size and weight in the vehicle industry.
Ackerman already discloses increasing the waste heat generated by any of the electronic components 122, 132, 162 and 172, including the DC/DC converter 162, in the second operation mode by reducing the DC/DC converter efficiency (ƞ), (0034).
Ackerman do not specifically discuss about how the efficiency (ƞ) of the power electronics is reduced to generate more waste heat in the second operation mode, wherein a switching frequency of components of the at least one power electronics is increased in the second operation mode to increase the amount of waste heat.
However, Chouk that relates to a method and a device for heating a component, wherein the component is connected to a common cooling circuit with power electronics (0001), also teaches the power electronics is operated with increased power loss, less efficiency, to increase the switching losses in the power electronics, the switching frequency of the switching elements of the inverter is increased, (0013).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to increase the switching frequency of the power electronics of Ackerman in order to increase switching losses and waste heat in the second operation mode as it is known and implicitly established in the art of power electronics (e.g., DC/Dc convertors) to increase switching frequency to increase switching losses (decrease efficiency (n)) and increase the amount of waste heat, MPEP 2144.01
Ackermann in view of Green in further view of Chouk do not explicitly specify the DC/DC converter converts a high voltage of 400 V to a low voltage of 12 V, wherein a heating power in the range of 3 kW to 4 kW is provided by the at least one power electronics and wherein the at least one heater provides a heating power in the range of 2 kW to 4kW.
However, Chen that relates to electric vehicle power systems (0002), also teaches a DC/DC converter (220) of the electric power system that converts 400 v to 12 v wherein a heating power of 3.5 KW is provided, (0029 and see FIG. 2). Further, Won that relates to an electric heater apparatus for an electric vehicle and a method of controlling the same, also teaches a PTC heater 10 that can be controlled with switching elements 13 a —c to provide a power output of 2kW to 6kw, (0008, 0046, FIG. 1 and FIG. 5). Thus, it is known to use DC/DC converters that convert 400 v to 12 v wherein the heating power ranging in 3 kW to 4 kW and PTC heaters providing heating power ranging 2 kW to 4kW in the art of electric vehicles.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to make the DC/DC converter and the PCT heater of Ackerman to have the claimed ratings of the DC/DC converter that converts 400 V to 12 V and the PCT heater provide a heating power in the range of 3 kW to 4 kW, as it is established that selecting art recognized suitability for an intended purpose is not patentably distinguishing over the prior art, MPEP 2144.07. *Note here, when Ackerman teaches the DC/DC converter and the PCT heater and Chen and Won teach the claimed rating of the DC/DC converter and the PTC heater respectively, PHOSTIA would easily and routinely select the claimed ratings to arrive to the claimed ratings as selecting art recognized suitability for an intended purpose is within ordinary skill in the art that is not patentably distinguishing.
Further, when the structures of the apparatus of claimed invention are disclosed by the prior art (“Note here, DC/DC converter and PCT heater are disclosed by Ackerman), selecting a specific operating rating for the DC/DC converter and PCT heater is not patentably distinguishing, as the manner of operating the claimed structure does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the prior art. In this case, the DC/DC converter of Ackerman is capable of being operated to convert a high voltage of 400 V to a low voltage of 12 V at a heating power ranging of 3 kW to 4 kW and the PCT heater is capable of providing heating power ranging 2 kW to 4kW as the structures are same as the claimed invention and , Chen and Won specify the claimed ranges, "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus", MPEP 2114. Il.
Regarding claim 20, Ackermann in view of Green in further view of Chouk modified by Chen and Won teaches the method according to claim 19, wherein the electric power converter device is operated in a heating mode for a predefined time period during which the amount of waste heat is increased, the heating mode corresponding to the second operation mode (decreasing the efficiency ƞ power electronic components increase the waste heat output from the power electronics components in the second heating mode, Ackermann (0034)).
Regarding claim 21, Ackermann in view of Green in further view of Chouk modified by Chen and Won teaches the method according to claim 19, wherein the fluid is a coolant or a refrigerant (the heat transfer medium 210 is a coolant, Ackermann (0029)).
Regarding claim 22, Ackermann in view of Green in further view of Chouk modified by Chen and Won teaches the method according to claim 19, wherein the part of the vehicle is at least one of a space-area of the vehicle, a battery unit, and a vehicle interior (the part of the vehicle 10 heated a vehicle interior 20 and/or a battery 40, Ackermann (0029, FIG. 1)).
Regarding claim 23, Ackermann in view of Green in further view of Chouk modified by Chen and Won teaches the method according to claim 19, wherein the vehicle is an electrical vehicle (vehicle 10 is an electric vehicle, Ackermann (0028 and see FIG. 1)).
Regarding claim 24, Ackermann in view of Green in further view of Chouk modified by Chen and Won teaches the method according to claim 19, wherein: the power converter device is operated for a first predefined time period in anormal mode corresponding to the first operating mode, followed by a second predefined time period in which the power converter device is operated in a heating mode corresponding to the second operating mode; and the first predefined time period and second predefined time period are repeated periodically (the power conversion device 101 operates in a first normal mode wherein waste heat from all power electronics components is absorbed by the heat transfer fluid/coolant 210 and remaining required heat energy is provided by the PTC heater150, Ackermann (0031, 0033) and a second heating mode wherein the efficiency ƞ power electronic components is intentionally decreased to increase the waste heat output from the power electronics components to satisfy a targeted heat demand, (0034) please note, the first operation mode is the normal mode, and the second operation mode is the heating mode and this modes of operation are regulated by the control device depending on the heat demand of the system, Ackermann (0034). Thus, the controller can set periodical switching between the modes of operation).
Regarding claim 25, Ackermann in view of Green in further view of Chouk modified by Chen and Won teaches the method according to claim 19, wherein the heating power of the at least one power electronics is 3.6 KW (the heating power of the DC/DC converter is 3.5 KW is provided, Chen (0029 and see FIG. 2) a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close, MPEP 2144.05. 1).
Regarding claim 31, Ackermann in view of Green in further view of Chouk modified by Chen and Won teaches the electric power converter device according to claim 18, wherein the at least one heater provides heating power in the range of 2.5 kW to 3 kW (a heating power of 3.5 KW is provided, Chen (0029 and see FIG. 2), a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close, MPEP 2144.05.)).
Regarding claim 32, Ackermann in view of Green in further view of Chouk modified by Chen and Won teaches the electric power converter device according to claim 15, wherein the at least one heating power is 3.6 KW (the heating power of 3.5 KW is provided, Chen (0029 and see FIG. 2) a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close, MPEP 2144.05.)).
Regarding claim 33, Ackermann in view of Green in further view of Chouk modified by Chen and Won teaches the electric power converter device according to claim 16, wherein the at least one power electronics forms an on-board charger or a traction inverter (the power electronics components can form a power distribution unit (PDU) 121, an on-board charger (OBC) 131, a DC/DC converter 161, and/or an optional component 171, Ackermann (0030 and see FIG.2)).
Regarding claim 35, Ackermann in view of Green in further view of Chen modified by Chouk teaches a vehicle (hybrid- or electric vehicle 10, Ackermann (0028 and FIG.1)), comprising:
at least one electric power converter device (energy conversion and distribution device 101, 102, 103, FIG.1 – 6), the at least one electric power device including:
a first housing and a second housing separated by a fluid-impermeable plate (a shared housing 110 by power electronics components (121, 131,161, 171) and heat transfer medium 210 comprising a coolant, (0029, 0030 and see FIG.2), please note, power electronics components and heat transfer medium/coolant share housing 101 and one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate the housing for the heat transfer medium comprising coolant 210 must be separated by a fluid-impermeable plate from the power electronics components, inherently teaching at least two separate housings for the power electronics components and heat transfer coolant 210, see FIG.2);
at least one power electronics being electrically connected to an electric power input and an electric power output (power electronics components in the shared housing 110 are connected directly with each other in a manner that allows individual electrical power plugs for each component is avoided, sharing a single power source, (0005 and see FIG. 2-5);
at least one fluid chamber being fluidically connected to a fluid inlet and a fluid outlet (heat transfer medium/coolant 210 is fluidly connected to an inlet and an outlet, (0032 and see FIG.2));
at least one heater being electrically connected to the electric power input and electric power output (PTC heater 150 arranged in the housing 110 electrically connected to the power input and output, (0032 and see FIG.2)), the at least one fluid chamber and the heater being thermally coupled, and the heater being used to heat a fluid flowing through the fluid chamber (the PTC heater 150 provides thermal energy to heat the heat transfer medium/coolant 210, (0031, FIG.2));
wherein the at least one fluid chamber and the at least one power electronics are thermally coupled such that waste heat generated by the at least one power electronics is used for heating the fluid flowing through the at least one fluid chamber (the fluid/coolant chamber and all power electronics components 122, 132, 162 and 172 arranged in the housing 110 are thermally coupled in a manner waste heat from all power electronics components is heating the heat transfer fluid/coolant 210, (0033 — 0034, FIG.2)).
wherein the electric power converter device has a first operation mode and a second operation mode (the energy conversion device 101 operates in a mode wherein waste heat from all power electronics components is absorbed by the heat transfer fluid/coolant 210 and remaining required heat energy is provided by the PTC heater150, (0031, 0033) and another mode wherein the efficiency power electronic components is intentionally decreased to increase the waste heat output from the power electronics components to satisfy a targeted heat demand, (0034));
wherein the amount of waste heat generated by the at least one power electronics is increased in the second operation mode compared to the first operation mode (decreasing the efficiency (n) power electronic components increases the waste heat output from the power electronics components in the second mode, (0034));
wherein the at least one power electronics forms a DC-to-DC converter which converts (the power electronics components in the shared housing can form a power distribution unit (PDU) 121, an on- board charger (OBC) 131, a DC/DC converter 161, and/or an optional component 1717, (0030 and see FIG.2)).
Ackermann does not explicitly teach the first housing and the plate forma first space area in which the at least power electronics unit and the at least one heater are arranged and wherein the plate and the second housing form the at least one fluid chamber with a second space area, wherein the at least one power electronics and the at least one heater are thermally coupled to the plate, the plate being thermally coupled to the fluid chamber.
However, Green that teaches a vehicle cooling/heating system using waste heat generated during operation of the vehicle under traction motor operation, by the inverter drive 5 and traction motor 6 in conjunction with domestic heater 4, (5:15 - 20) , also teaches an arrangement of a first space area 46 housing power drive electronics and invertor 39 between a cover and separating plate (upper plate portion of the heat exchanger 40, see please annotated FIG.2 ) of the fluid heat exchanger 40 and a second space area of a fluid chamber of sinusoidal fluid channels 41 between the separating plate of the heat exchanger 40 and the bottom cover of the heat exchanger 40, (4:64 – 5 :10 and see FIG.2). the heat generated by the power electronics 39 of the inverter drive is exchanged through the fluid in the sinusoidal channels of the heat exchanger 40 to supplement the heating/cooling of the AICE 3 and heater 4, (4:64 – 5 :10 and 5: 15 – 20) thus, the power electronics of the inverter and the heater are thermally coupled to upper plate portion of the heat exchanger, that is ‘heat’ is exchanged from the power electronics to the fluid via the separating plate of the heat exchanger 40.
This arrangement (FIG.2) provides for a compact and small size heating/cooling system reducing the overall size and weight of the vehicle, (4:60 — 63).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Ackermann to have first housing and a plate form a first space area in which the power electronics unit and the heater are arranged and wherein the plate and a second housing form the fluid chamber with a second space area wherein the at least one power electronics and the at least one heater are thermally coupled to the plate, the plate being thermally coupled to the fluid chamber in order to provides for a compact and small size power conversion housing, wherein the heat from the power electronics an heater is exchanged/transferred through the plate to the coolant, reducing the overall size and weight of the vehicle as taught in Green. Further, one of ordinary skill in the art apprised of Greens compact housing arrangement wherein the power electronics is housed in one chamber and the fluid is housed in another chamber separated by a plate, would be naturally motivated to make Akerman’s energy conversion device to be arranged similarly to make the conversion device compact that saves overall size. It is a known and a routinely sought-after industry trend to design vehicle parts to be of minimum size and weight in the vehicle industry.
Ackerman already discloses increasing the waste heat generated by any of the electronic components 122, 132, 162 and 172, including the DC/DC converter 162, in the second operation mode by reducing the DC/DC converter efficiency (ƞ), (0034).
Ackerman do not specifically discuss about how the efficiency (ƞ) of the at least one power electronics is reduced to generate more waste heat in the second operation mode, wherein a switching frequency of components of the at least one power electronics is increased in the second operation mode to increase the amount of waste heat.
However, Chouk that relates to a method and a device for heating a component, wherein the component is connected to a common cooling circuit with power electronics (0001), also teaches the power electronics is operated with increased power loss, less efficiency, to increase the switching losses in the power electronics, the switching frequency of the switching elements of the inverter is increased, (0013).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to increase the switching frequency of the power electronics of Ackerman in order to increase switching losses and waste heat in the second operation mode as it is known and implicitly established in the art of power electronics (e.g., DC/Dc convertors) to increase switching frequency to increase switching losses (decrease efficiency (n)) and increase the amount of waste heat, MPEP 2144.01
Ackermann in view of Green in further view of Chouk do not explicitly specify the DC/DC converter converts a high voltage of 400 V to a low voltage of 12 V, wherein a heating power in the range of 3 kW to 4 kW is provided by the at least one power electronics and wherein the at least one heater provides a heating power in the range of 2 kW to 4kW.
However, Chen that relates to electric vehicle power systems (0002), also teaches a DC/DC converter (220) of the electric power system that converts 400 v to 12 v wherein a heating power of 3.5 KW is provided, (0029 and see FIG. 2). Further, Won that relates to an electric heater apparatus for an electric vehicle and a method of controlling the same, also teaches a PTC heater 10 that can be controlled with switching elements 13 a —c to provide a power output of 2kW to 6kw, (0008, 0046, FIG. 1 and FIG. 5). Thus, it is known to use DC/DC converters that convert 400 v to 12 v wherein the heating power ranging in 3 kW to 4 kW and PTC heaters providing heating power ranging 2 kW to 4kW in the art of electric vehicles.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to make the DC/DC converter and the PCT heater of Ackerman to have the claimed ratings of the DC/DC converter that converts 400 V to 12 V and the PCT heater provide a heating power in the range of 3 kW to 4 kW, as it is established that selecting art recognized suitability for an intended purpose is not patentably distinguishing over the prior art, MPEP 2144.07. *Note here, when Ackerman teaches the DC/DC converter and the PCT heater and Chen and Won teach the claimed rating of the DC/DC converter and the PTC heater respectively, PHOSTIA would easily and routinely select the claimed ratings to arrive to the claimed ratings as selecting art recognized suitability for an intended purpose is within ordinary skill in the art that is not patentably distinguishing.
Further, when the structures of the apparatus of claimed invention are disclosed by the prior art (*Note here, DC/DC converter and PCT heater are disclosed by Ackerman), selecting a specific operating rating for the DC/DC converter and PCT heater is not patentably distinguishing, as the manner of operating the claimed structure does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the prior art. In this case, the DC/DC converter of Ackerman is capable of being operated to convert a high voltage of 400 V to a low voltage of 12 V at a heating power ranging of 3 kW to 4kW and the PCT heater is capable of providing heating power ranging 2 kW to 4kW as the structures are same as the claimed invention and , Chen and Won specify the claimed ranges, "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus", MPEP 2114. Il.
Regarding claim 36, Ackermann in view of Green in further view of Chouk modified by Chen and Won teaches the vehicle according to Claim 35, further comprising an electric power source electrically connected to the electric power input and an electric machine electrically connected to the electric power output (any power source is inherently connected its electric power input wherein a load operated by the power source is in turn connected, In Ackerman, the power electronics components, including the DC/DC convertor, are connected in a manner that share a single power source (e.g. vehicle battery) and loads, such as dive motor 50 (an electric machine) are connected to the power source or battery 40, Ackermann (0005, 0028 and see FIG.1)). Regarding claim 37, Ackermann in view of Green in further view of Chouk modified by Chen and Won teaches the vehicle according to Claim 35, wherein the at least one fluid chamber is fluidically connected to a fluid circuit, and wherein a battery unit or an HVAC unit is integrated into the fluid circuit (heat transfer medium/coolant 210 is fluidly connected to an inlet and an outlet, wherein a fan 30 or battery 40 are integrated in the fluid line (0029, 0032 and see arrows in FIG. 1)).
Regarding claim 39, Ackermann in view of Green in further view of Chouk modified by Chen and Won teaches the vehicle according to Claim 38, the heater comprises a PTC element or a thick film resistor (the heater 150 comprises PCT heating element, Ackermann (0031 and see FIG.2)).
Regarding claim 40, Ackermann in view of Green in further view of Chouk modified by Chen and Won teaches the electric power converter device according to claim 15, wherein the first housing provides the electric power input and the electric power output (first housing defined by the top plate of the heat exchanger and cover 46 provides electric power inputs (bus bars 37, 38) and outputs to the traction motor (conductors 34, 35 , 36) ,see Green FIG.2), and the second housing provides the fluid inlet and the fluid outlet (fluid inlet 42 and fluid out let 43 are provided in the second housing defining the fluid chamber, see Green FIG.2).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 04/14/2025, see Remarks pages 9 – 11, regarding the obviousness rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues: as a preliminary matter, a skilled in the art would not propose combination of five (5) prior arts to arrive to the claimed invention without knowledge gleaned from the disclosure and impermissible hindsight must have been introduced as the combination of five (5) references is required to reject the independent claims without specifically pointing out what is gleaned from the disclosure or specifically challenging the motivation/rationale to combine the prior arts.
The examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant's argument as reliance on a large number of references in a rejection does not, without more, weigh against the obviousness of the claimed invention. See In re Gorman, 933 F.2d 982, 18 USPQ2d 1885 (Fed. Cir. 1991).
Applicant also argues: Green, the teaching reference used to teach the two housings separated by a plate wherein the power electronics and the heater are in one housing and the cooling fluid in another defining the fluid chamber, lack a plate thermally coupled to the power electronics, the heater and the fluid.
The examiner submits, as illustrated in annotated FIG.2 of Green and discussed in the current rejection above, the Heat exchanger 40 of Green is a box formed out of an upper plate and bottom cover defining the fluid chamber of the heat exchanger, wherein the cover 46 on top provides a first housing for the power electronic, (please see annotated FIG.2). The heat generated from the power electronics is exchanged to the fluid in the heat exchanger via the upper plate portion of the heat exchanger to supplement the heating/cooling of the vehicle. Thus, the power electronics of the inverter and the heater are thermally coupled to upper plate portion of the heat exchanger, that is ‘heat’ is exchanged from the power electronics to the fluid via the separating plate of the heat exchanger 40.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DILNESSA B BELAY/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/STEVEN W CRABB/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761