DETAILED ACTION
Status
Claims 14, 24, and 34-36 are pending and presented for examination.
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/EP2019/079170, filed 10/25/2019, which claims priority to foreign application SE1851333-3 filed 10/26/2018.
Information Disclosure Statement
No Information Disclosure Statements was filed with Applicant’s response.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 – Not further limiting
New rejection, necessitated by amendment
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 34 recites the limitation "5 mg to 200 mg mepivacaine", which attempts to broaden the initial range of 5 mg to 30 mg mepivacaine recited in Claim 14, the claim from which Claim 34 depends. Applicant may cancel the claim, amend the claim to place the claim in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Rejection maintained
Claims 14, 24, and 34-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jahangiri (Orthop. Sci (2014) 19:737–743. DOI 10.1007/s00776-014-0587-2) in view of Migliore et al. (cited by 4/26/2021 IDS), taken in further view of Bernstein, Joseph (US 20090131442 A1 – cited by IDS) and Cobalt et al. (Operative Techniques in Sports Medicine;
Volume 25, Issue 1, March 2017, Pages 41-49.)
Claimed invention
The invention is drawn to treating osteoarthritis (OA) in a horse comprising administering:
0.01-10 mg sildenafil,
5-30 mg mepivacaine and
10-1000 mg glucose (a.k.a. “dextrose”)
by injection into an affected joint of the horse.
Prior art
Jahangiri teaches about a clinical trial that used local intraarticular injection of dextrose (DX) and the local anaesthetic, lidocaine, for the treatment of osteoarthritis. See title and abstract. Jahangiri specifically teaches injection of 0.5 ml of 20% (i.e., 100 mg) dextrose (DX) and 0.5 ml of 2% (i.e., 10 mg) lidocaine. See abstract; see also p. 740, 1st column. The injection was repeated monthly. See Id.
While Jahangiri teaches the treatment of osteoarthritis with intraarticular injection of 100 mg dextrose and 10 mg lidocaine, Jahangiri does not expressly teach administration of 1) mepivacaine and 2) sildenafil or 3) treatment of a horse.
Regarding 1) mepivacaine:
Mepivacaine, like lidocaine, is a local anaesthetic that is known to be beneficial for ameliorating OA. For example, Migliore teaches intra-articular (IA) mepivacaine administration provided improvement for treatment of OA. See title; abstract; p. 3, 2nd col. A person of ordinary skill in the art (POSA) would have found it obvious to combine mepivacaine with dextrose, i.e., glucose, and lidocaine for treating OA because Jahangiri discloses the combination of dextrose and lidocaine for treating OA in humans and Migliore teaches OA can also be treated with mepivacaine. The artisan would have sought to combine the ingredients together for the purpose of using them for what they were already known to be useful for, i.e., treating OA. See In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). Alternatively, the POSA would have found it obvious to replace the OA-treating local analgesic, lidocaine, with another known OA-treating local analgesic such as mepivacaine. The POSA would have also found it obvious to use mepivacaine at similar amounts disclosed for lidocaine, i.e., 10 mg, since both are known local analgesics that have OA-treating effects. The POSA would have had a reasonable expectation of success that mepivacaine would provide OA-treating effects.
Regarding 2) sildenafil:
Bernstein teaches the use of a PDE5 inhibitor for treating OA. See title; abstract; see also Claims 1-3. The PDE5 inhibitor can be administered by multiple routes including intramuscular, intravenous, and oral routes and is selected from sildenafil, avanafil, tadalafil, udenafil, vardenafil and zaprinast. See Claims 5-10. It can be administered to humans or nonhuman mammals. See Claims 11-12. The inhibitor is administered at doses of 50 mg or less. See Claim 14. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to combine PDE5 inhibitor (e.g., sildenafil, tadalafil, udenafil, or avanafil) with dextrose and a mepivacaine for treating OA in a humans or nonhuman mammal because the combination of Jahangiri and Migliore suggests treating OA with a combination of mepivacaine with dextrose while Bernstein teaches the a human or nonhuman mammal with OA can also be treated with a PDE5 inhibitor (e.g., sildenafil, tadalafil, udenafil, or avanafil). The POSA would have sought to combine a PDE5 inhibitor such as sildenafil together with dextrose and mepivacaine for the purpose of using them for what they were already known to be useful for, i.e., treating OA. See In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding the claimed amount of 0.01-10 mg sildenafil, Bernstein teaches sildenafil is used at a dose amount of 50 mg or less (see 0020, 0027; Claims 7 and 14) and those of ordinary skill in the art will recognize that the exact dosage of the medication to be administered may vary depending on factors such as the age, gender, weight and health status of the individual patient, as well as on the precise nature of the condition being treated. See 0019. Given that the amount of sildenafil to be administered and the precise treatment protocol should be determined by a skilled practitioner such as a physician and further given that the medication is administered in an amount sufficient to reduce pain associated with osteoarthritis, a POSA would have found it obvious to adjust the amount to effectively reduce pain and, therefore, optimize the treatment of OA. Accordingly, the POSA would have found the claimed amount of 0.01-10 mg (Claim 14) and 0.01-5 mg (Claim 34) sildenafil to be obvious. Additionally, given that the Bernstein dose range of 50 mg or less sildenafil overlaps the claimed dose ranges of 0.01-10 mg (Claim 14) and 0.01-5 mg (Claim 34), the claimed range is rendered obvious. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05 [R5]. Note, while the prior art does not disclose the exact claimed values, but does overlap, in such instances even a slight overlap in range establishes a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Peterson, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382 (Fed. Cir. 2003).
Regarding 3) treatment of a horse:
As outlined above, the combined teachings of Jahangiri, Migliore and Bernstein suggest the use of sildenafil in combination with mepivacaine and glucose for treatment of OA in human or nonhuman mammals. It was known that horses routinely experience similar conditions that mirror human musculoskeletal injury, including OA which provide relevant clinical models for therapeutic interventions. See Cobalt, abstract. The equine models of musculoskeletal disease can provide important preclinical insights into the likely efficacy and mechanisms of activity of MSCs for the treatment of human orthopedic injuries. See abstract. A person of ordinary skill in the art (POSA) would have found it obvious to use the combination of sildenafil, mepivacaine and glucose for treating OA in a horse because the combination of sildenafil, mepivacaine and glucose for treating OA is suggested by Jahangiri, Migliore and Bernstein and because of the established similarity between horse and human OA and the recognized use of horses as clinically relevant models for musculoskeletal disease. The POSA would have had a reasonable expectation that treatment for OA in humans and nonhuman mammals would likewise be effective in horses.
Claim 24 depend from Claim 14, wherein the glucose is administered in a dose of from 150 mg to 400 mg and the mepivacaine is administered in a dose of from 5-30 mg. Claim 34 limits Claim 14, wherein the sildenafil is administered in a dose of from 0.01-5 mg with 5-20 mg mepivacaine and 10-1000 mg glucose. While Bernstein teaches depending on the formulation, it is expected that the active agent will comprise 1-99% of the composition and carrier will constitute 1-99% of the composition. Such pharmaceutical compositions may include any suitable pharmaceutically acceptable additives or adjuncts to the extent that they do not hinder or interfere with the desired therapeutic effect of the medication. See Bernstein 0018. Those of ordinary skill in the art will recognize that the exact dosage of the medication to be administered may vary depending on factors such as the age, gender, weight and health status of the individual patient, as well as on the precise nature of the condition being treated. Similarly, the length of duration of the treatment with the medication will vary from patient to patient, and will depend on the application of the medication. In all cases, the amount of medication to be administered and the precise treatment protocol should be determined by a skilled practitioner such as a physician. See Id. The preferred dosage of medication required to practice methods of the present invention, i.e., the quantity sufficient to carry out the method, is about the same as or less than that which is normally or typically administered for previously known uses or applications of the medication. Therefore, it is clear that OA treatment consists of optimizing the dose amount as well as the dose timing of the active agents. And given that the treatment can be provided several administration routes and provided to humans and animals, one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably understood that the dose and timing including number of times a day can be optimized depending on several different factors, (e.g., dosage formulation, weight, nature of the condition, health status, the type of mammal treated, etc.). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to administer the active agents at the claimed amounts and times. Since there is no evidence of the criticality of these concentrations and dosing, their difference from the prior art is not enough to render the claims patentable over the prior art.
Claim 35 limits claim 14, wherein the sildenafil, mepivacaine, and glucose are administered together at least twice with an interval of 5 to 30 days between each injection. Claim 36 limits claim 14, wherein the sildenafil, mepivacaine, and glucose are administered together at least three times with an interval of 5 to 30 days between each injection. Jahangiri teaches treatment of OA by administering the treatment composition monthly for 3 months. See abstract. That is, the composition was administered 3 times with 30-day intervals between each administration. This meets the “at least twice” (Claim 35) and “at least three times” with 30 days between each injection.
Response to arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but have not been found to be persuasive.
Applicant primarily argues that the cited references do not expressly teach the exact claimed combination of sildenafil, mepivacaine, and glucose administered intra-articularly to a horse at the claimed doses and intervals. This is not persuasive because obviousness does not require express disclosure of the particular claimed combination. The rejection properly relies on the combined teachings of Jahangiri, Migliore, Bernstein, and Cobalt, which together teach intra-articular administration of glucose and local anesthetics for osteoarthritis (OA), use of mepivacaine as a known intra-articular anesthetic for OA, and administration of sildenafil (PDE5 inhibitor) for musculoskeletal conditions in mammals. A POSA would have sought to combine these known therapeutic effects.
Applicant’s arguments distinguishing humans from horses are not persuasive. OA pathophysiology is conserved across horses and humans enough to have horses useful as a clinically relevant model for musculoskeletal diseases including OA and provide a reasonable expectation that effective treatment of OA in human and nonhuman animals would likewise be effective in horses.
Applicant’s dosage arguments regarding timing and frequency of administration are also unpersuasive because Jahangiri teaches repeated intra-articular injections at monthly intervals, and adjustment of administration frequency based on patient condition and response represents routine clinical optimization.
Applicant’s assertion that is no reasonable expectation of success is not persuasive because each component was known to be effective for OA or musculoskeletal pain.
Therefore, the rejection is deemed to still be proper and is, therefore, maintained.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRIS E SIMMONS/Examiner, Art Unit 1622
/JAMES H ALSTRUM-ACEVEDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1622