DETAILED ACTION
The present application and its arguments have been reviewed and currently claims 1-4 and 6-20 are rejected and claim 5 is cancelled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 7, filed 4/6/2026, with respect to the 112(a) and 112(b) rejections of claims 1-4 and 6-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the 112(a) and 112(b) rejection of claims 1-4 and 6-20 has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration of the amended claims, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of Dutilleul in view of Reimert and Chen.
Drawings
The drawings received on 4/27/2021 are no longer objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because the subject matter of claims 1 and 11 that was not shown in the drawings have been removed by Applicant on 4/6/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dutilleul et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7,334,821) in view of Reimert (U.S. Patent No. 4,648,627) and in further view of Chen (CN-106703712).
In regards to claim 1, Dutilleul discloses:
A connector assembly (see annotated fig. 3 below) comprising:
a first connector member (see annotated fig. 3) having:
an exterior sealing surface (5, annotated fig. 3); and
a flexible nose (13, annotated fig. 3) configured to allow the first connector member to rotate into a different orientation while seated inside of a second connector member,
wherein a first recess (see annotated fig. 3) is disposed between internal threading of the second connector member and the flexible nose;
wherein the exterior sealing surface is disposed between the first recess and the flexible nose (see annotated fig. 3);
the flexible nose being disposed adjacent to the exterior sealing surface at a distal end of the first connector member (see annotated fig. 3),
the second connector member having a box shoulder (8, annotated fig. 3) and an interior sealing surface (6, annotated fig. 3) adjacent to the box shoulder;
wherein the first connector member is adapted to be received by the second connector member, allowing a connection to be formed (see annotated fig. 3); and
wherein the exterior sealing surface and the interior sealing surface have portions with non-complementary surface shapes (11:22-29, where surface 6 is conical and surface 5 is Toric with a radius R1),
wherein the interior sealing surface is frustoconical (11:22-29, where 6 is conical), and
wherein the exterior sealing surface is curvilinear (11:22-29, where 5 is Toric which is curved);
but does not disclose:
an annular groove defined therein;
wherein the exterior sealing surface is disposed between the annular groove and the flexible nose;
wherein a first recess is disposed such that when the first connector member is received by the second connector member, the annular groove is located between the first recess and the distal end of the first connector member, and
wherein the annular groove is disposed at a distance from and does not overlap with threads defined in the second connector member; and
wherein the second connector member includes a second recess being an undercut radius in the box shoulder,
the second recess located adjacent to the flexible nose and below the interior sealing surface.
In regards to the annular groove, Reimert discloses a similar device (see fig. 1 hereinafter) comprising a pin connector (30) comprising threads (32) and an annular groove comprising an O-ring (42) to provide sealing engagement between the pin connector and an interior surface (72) of a box connector (12; 5:31-33).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the first connector member of Dutilleul with the provision of an annular groove comprising an O-ring to further enhance the sealing between the pin and box connector, as taught by Reimert (5:31-33).
In regards to the second recess (undercut recess), Chen discloses a similar device comprising a box connector (1, fig. 1) comprising a second recess (12) being an undercut radius in a box shoulder (10) located adjacent to a flexible nose (see near the right of 10) to provide improved service life and avoid stress concentrations (see lines 46-48 of the translated document provided herein; see also lines 99-100 which discloses the circular groove is element 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the second connector of Dutilleul in view of Reimert with the provision of an undercut radius to provide an improved service life while also avoiding stress concentrations, as taught by Chen (see lines 46-48).
In regards to positioning of the annular groove w. O-ring, it is inherent that one of ordinary skill in the art would position the annular groove comprising the O-ring between the first recess and the exterior sealing surface of Dutilleul to meet the limitations of the claim (ex., wherein the exterior sealing surface is disposed between the annular groove and the flexible nose; ex., the annular groove is located between the first recess and the distal end of the first connector member; ex., wherein the annular groove is disposed at a distance from and does not overlap with threads defined in the second connector member) as placing the O-ring in the area below the first recess or on the external sealing surface would not provide a seal directly between two cylindrical/frustoconical abutting surfaces as suggested by Reimert (ex., see fig. 1 of Reimert where the annular groove and O-ring is placed directly between cylindrical surfaces; 4:45-47 and 5:15-17, where the surfaces may be frustoconical or cylindrical, but does not mention spherical, Toric, or curved). In addition, it has been held that claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device (ex., changing the position of the O-ring/annular groove would not have modified the operation of the device; ex., see In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950)) and that the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice (ex., moving the O-ring/annular groove would be an obvious matter of design choice; ex., see In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975)).
In regards to claim 2, Dutilleul further discloses:
The connector assembly of claim 1 wherein:
both of the interior and exterior sealing surfaces are mismatched in relation to a corresponding shape of each of the interior sealing surface and the exterior sealing surface (11:22-29, where surface 6 is conical and surface 5 is Toric with a radius R1).
In regards to claim 3, Dutilleul further discloses:
The connector assembly of claim 1 wherein:
the first connector member further comprises tapered external threads (4, annotated fig. 3 above hereinafter) disposed on a section of the first connector member adjacent to the exterior sealing surface; and
the second connector member further comprises tapered internal threads (3, annotated fig. 3) disposed on a section of the second connector member adjacent to the interior sealing surface,
wherein the tapered external threads are complementary to the tapered internal threads (see annotated fig. 3).
In regards to claim 4, Dutilleul further discloses:
The connector assembly of claim 3 wherein:
the first recess is formed in the interior sealing surface or the second connector member (see annotated fig. 3),
the first recess adjacent to the flexible nose of the first connector member when the first connector member is seated in the second connector member (see annotated fig. 3).
In regards to claim 6, Dutilleul further discloses:
The connector assembly of claim 1 wherein:
the different orientation creates a new contact area between the interior sealing surface and the exterior sealing surface; and
surface contact stresses are exerted by a metal-to-metal seal in the new contact area (6:30-39, where a metal to metal seal is made; 11:58-62, where two makeups are performed where there is a gap between surfaces 7 and 8 in annotated fig. 3 and then when its further made up to close the gap and contact both surfaces 7,8).
In regards to claim 7, Dutilleul further discloses:
The connector assembly of claim 6 wherein:
the different orientation causes a rapid pressure-energization of the metal-to-metal seal when the connection is under either internal or external pressure; and
wherein during the pressure-energization, the new contact area widens and the surface contact stresses increase in magnitude (7:64-67 and 8:1-7, where radial interference occurs).
In regards to claim 8, Dutilleul further discloses:
The connector assembly of claim 1 wherein:
the first connector member comprises a pin; and the second connector member comprises a box (see annotated fig. 3).
In regards to claim 9, Dutilleul in view of Reimert and Chen further discloses:
The connector assembly of claim 1 wherein:
the first connector member is a pin connector and the annular groove on an exterior surface of the pin connector is proximate the flexible nose (see annotated fig. 3, where it is inherent providing an annular groove with an O-ring on the pin connector would meet the limitation of the claim); and
the second connector member is a box connector (see annotated fig. 3).
In regards to claim 10, Dutilleul in view of Reimert and Chen further discloses:
The connector assembly of claim 1 wherein:
a gap in a direction parallel to an axis of the first and second connector members is present between an end of the first connector member and the box shoulder of the second connector member (it is inherent that providing an undercut recess to the box shoulder of Dutilleul would meet the limitation of the claim as the undercut recess produces a gap and the gap is not required to be directly in-between both ends).
In regards to claim 11, Dutilleul discloses:
A method (see annotated fig. 3 above hereinafter) comprising:
receiving a first connector member (see annotated fig. 3) into a second connector member (see annotated fig. 3),
the first connector member having:
an exterior sealing surface (5, annotated fig. 3);
a flexible nose (near 13, annotated fig. 3) configured to allow the first connector member to rotate into a different orientation while seated inside of the second connector member,
the flexible nose being disposed adjacent to the exterior sealing surface (see annotated fig. 3) at a distal end of the first connector member,
wherein the exterior sealing surface is disposed between a first recess (see annotated fig. 3) and the flexible nose (see annotated fig. 3);
wherein the second connector member has a box shoulder (8, annotated fig. 3) and an interior sealing surface (6, annotated fig. 3) adjacent to the box shoulder; and
wherein the exterior sealing surface and the interior sealing surface have portions with non-complementary surface shapes (11:22-29, where surface 6 is conical and surface 5 is Toric with a radius R1),
wherein the interior sealing surface is frustoconical (11:22-29, where 6 is conical), and
wherein the exterior sealing surface is curvilinear (11:22-29, where 5 is Toric which is curved);
wherein the first recess is disposed between internal threading of the second connector and the flexible nose (see annotated fig. 3)
but does not disclose:
an annular groove defined therein;
wherein the exterior sealing surface is disposed between the annular groove and the flexible nose;
wherein a first recess is disposed such that when the first connector member is received by the second connector member, the annular groove is located between the first recess and the distal end of the first connector member, and
wherein the annular groove is disposed at a distance from and does not overlap with threads defined in the second connector member; and
wherein the second connector member includes a second recess being an undercut radius in the box shoulder,
the second recess located adjacent to the flexible nose and below the interior sealing surface.
In regards to the annular groove, Reimert discloses a similar device (see fig. 1 hereinafter) comprising a pin connector (30) comprising threads (32) and an annular groove comprising an O-ring (42) to provide sealing engagement between the pin connector and an interior surface (72) of a box connector (12; 5:31-33).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the first connector member of Dutilleul with the provision of an annular groove comprising an O-ring to further enhance the sealing between the pin and box connector, as taught by Reimert (5:31-33).
In regards to the second recess (undercut recess), Chen discloses a similar device comprising a box connector (1, fig. 1) comprising a second recess (12) being an undercut radius in a box shoulder (10) located adjacent to a flexible nose (see near the right of 10) to provide improved service life and avoid stress concentrations (see lines 46-48 of the translated document provided herein; see also lines 99-100 which discloses the circular groove is element 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the second connector of Dutilleul in view of Reimert with the provision of an undercut radius to provide an improved service life while also avoiding stress concentrations, as taught by Chen (see lines 46-48).
In regards to positioning of the annular groove w. O-ring, it is inherent that one of ordinary skill in the art would position the annular groove comprising the O-ring between the first recess and the exterior sealing surface of Dutilleul to meet the limitations of the claim (ex., wherein the exterior sealing surface is disposed between the annular groove and the flexible nose; ex., the annular groove is located between the first recess and the distal end of the first connector member; ex., wherein the annular groove is disposed at a distance from and does not overlap with threads defined in the second connector member) as placing the O-ring in the area below the first recess or on the external sealing surface would not provide a seal directly between two cylindrical/frustoconical abutting surfaces as suggested by Reimert (ex., see fig. 1 of Reimert where the annular groove and O-ring is placed directly between cylindrical surfaces; 4:45-47 and 5:15-17, where the surfaces may be frustoconical or cylindrical, but does not mention spherical, Toric, or curved). In addition, it has been held that claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device (ex., changing the position of the O-ring/annular groove would not have modified the operation of the device; ex., see In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950)) and that the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice (ex., moving the O-ring/annular groove would be an obvious matter of design choice; ex., see In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975)).
In regards to claim 12, Dutilleul further discloses:
The method of claim 11 wherein:
both of the interior and exterior sealing surfaces are mismatched in relation to a corresponding shape of each of the interior sealing surface and the exterior sealing surface (11:22-29, where surface 6 is conical and surface 5 is Toric with a radius R1).
In regards to claim 13, Dutilleul further discloses:
The method of claim 11 wherein:
the first connector member further comprises tapered external threads (4, annotated fig. 3 above hereinafter) disposed on a section of the first connector member adjacent to the exterior sealing surface; and
the second connector member further comprises tapered internal threads (3, annotated fig. 3) disposed on a section of the second connector member adjacent to the interior sealing surface,
wherein the tapered external threads are complementary to the tapered internal threads (see annotated fig. 3).
In regards to claim 14, Dutilleul further discloses:
The connector assembly of claim 3 wherein:
the first recess is formed in the interior sealing surface or the second connector member (see annotated fig. 3),
the first recess adjacent to the flexible nose of the first connector member when the first connector member is seated in the second connector member (see annotated fig. 3).
In regards to claim 15, Dutilleul further discloses:
The method of claim 13, wherein the first connector member is seated inside the second connector member via the flexible nose of the first connector member (see annotated fig. 3).
In regards to claim 16, Dutilleul further discloses:
The method of claim 15 further comprising:
creating a new contact area between the interior sealing surface and exterior surface via the first connector member rotating into the different orientation; and
exerting surface contact stresses via a metal-to-metal seal in the new contact area (6:30-39, where a metal to metal seal is made; 11:58-62, where two makeups are performed where there is a gap between surfaces 7 and 8 in annotated fig. 3 and then when its further made up to close the gap and contact both surfaces 7,8).
In regards to claim 17, Dutilleul further discloses:
The method of claim 16, wherein the first connector member is adapted to be received by the second connector member (see annotated fig. 3), allowing a connection to be formed,
the method further comprising:
causing a rapid pressure-energization of the metal-to-metal seal when the connection is under either internal or external pressure (7:64-67 and 8:1-7, where radial interference occurs); and
during the pressure-energization, widening the new contact area and increasing a magnitude of the surface contact stresses (7:64-67 and 8:1-7, where radial interference occurs).
In regards to claim 18, Dutilleul further discloses:
The method of claim 11 wherein:
the first connector member comprises a pin (see annotated fig. 3); and
the second connector member comprises a box (see annotated fig. 3).
In regards to claim 19, Dutilleul in view of Reimert and Chen further discloses:
The method of claim 11 wherein:
the first connector member is a pin connector (see annotated fig. 3) and the annular groove on an exterior surface of the pin connector is proximate the flexible nose (see the rejection of claim 11 above, explaining the positioning of the annular groove); and
the second connector member is a box connector (see annotated fig. 3).
In regards to claim 20, Dutilleul in view of Reimert and Chen further discloses:
The method of claim 11 wherein:
a gap in a direction parallel to an axis of the first and second connector members is present between an end of the first connector member and the box shoulder of the second connector member (it is inherent that providing an undercut recess to the box shoulder of Dutilleul would meet the limitation of the claim as the undercut recess produces a gap and the gap is not required to be directly in-between both ends).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hall et al. (U.S. Patent No. 4,548,431) discloses a similar device comprising a relief notch (45).
Kawai et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,549,620) discloses a similar device comprising a flexible nose (15) comprising a gap (see between 11 and 12 in fig. 1).
Zhu et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,428,594) discloses a similar device comprising a relief notch to allow pin end to be inserted therein (see near 44 in fig. 4).
/A.T.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3679
/Matthew Troutman/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3679