DETAILED ACTION
DETAILED ACTION
1. The Amendment filed January 09, 2026 in response to the Office Action of October 20, 2025 is acknowledged and has been entered. Claims 2, 4, and 9-34 have been cancelled. Claim 1 has been amended.
2. Claims 1, 3, and 5-8 are currently being examined.
3. The rejections recited in the Office Action of October 20, 2025 are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendments, arguments and the Declaration of David M. Barret and Yoav Dori under 37 CFR 1.130(A) filed on January 09, 2026.
4. Upon review and reconsideration, the finality of the prior Office Action is withdrawn.
Drawings
5. The drawings are objected to because i) the description of Figs. 2D and 3A refer to red lines and green lines, however the submitted Petitions to Accept Color Drawings have been dismissed and ii) Figs. 3A, 4A-C, and 8B-C are not fully legible.
New Grounds of Rejection
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim(s) 1, 3, and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0388389 A1 (Chen et al. .US 2021/0388389 A1), “Chen” evidenced by Gibco® (Dynabeads® Human T-Activator CD3/CD28 Sep. 2011 of record). .
Chen teaches compositions and methods for cellular genomic engineering (e.g., T cell engineering) that permit simple, efficient, and versatile combinations of multiplexed knockout and knock-in genomic modifications are provided. The disclosed compositions and methods are especially applicable to development of enhanced chimeric antigen receptor engineered T cell therapy (CAR-T). See ¶¶ 0016.
Chen teaches modifying the genome of a cell by introducing to the cell an RNA-guided endonuclease and one or more AAV vectors containing a sequence (e.g., a crRNA array) that encodes one or more crRNAs that collectively direct the endonuclease to one or more target genes. See ¶¶ 0017-0018.
Chen teaches disrupting the PD-1 gene, PDCD1 in the CAR-T cells. See ¶¶ 0018, 0034-0036, 0038, 0039, 0046, 0056, and 00530 and Figs. 1, 3 and 5.
Chen teaches that the methods are for treatment of humans with human T cell . See ¶¶ 0031, 0034 and 0036.
Chen teaches that the T cells can be obtained from a diseased or healthy subject and from peripheral blood or lymph node tissue. See ¶¶ 0191.
Chen teaches the disease include autoimmune diseases. See ¶¶ 0019, 0029, 0383, 0393 and 0394.
Chen teaches that the T cells can be incubated anti-CD3/anti-CD28-conjugated beads, such as DYNABEADS® M-450 CD3/CD28 for activation and selection of the T cells. See ¶¶ 0192, 0294, 0444 and 0446. The CD3/CD28 Dynabeads® are coated with antibodies to CD3 and CD28. See Gibco® (Dynabeads® Human T-Activator CD3/CD28 Sep. 2011 of record), in particular Description of Materials-page 2.
Chen teaches that the T cells are treated for 2 days with the CD3/CD28 DYNABEADS® prior to transfection. See ¶¶ 0294, 0444 and 0446.
Chen teaches expanding the cells. See ¶¶ 0025, 0028, 0049, 0050 and 0063.
Chen teaches transducing the T cells with the CAR vector. See ¶¶ 0017-0019, 0034, 0037, 0046, 0047, 0075, 0200, and 0294-0302.
Chen teaches that PD-1 knockout CAR T cells (KIKO CD22BBz) exhibited almost no PD-1 expression and reduced levels of LAG3 compared to CAR T cells with the PD1 gene intact. See ¶¶ 0507-0509 and Fig. 4D
Chen teaches the PD-1 knockout CAR T cells had superior effector function and reduced levels of exhaustion compared to a lentiviral generated CAR T-cells without a PD-1 knockout. See ¶¶ 0511.
Although Chen does not provide a working example of using T cells from healthy human lymph nodes or lymph nodes from autoimmune disease patients to produce the PD-1 knockout CAR T cells, it would have been prima facie obvious at the time the invention was filed given that the level of skill in the art was high to combine the teachings of Chen and use T cells from healthy human lymph nodes or lymph nodes from autoimmune disease patients to produce the PD-1 knockout CAR T cells because Chen teaches that these can be used as sources of the T cells for CAR production. One would have been motivated to use lymph node T cells in the methods of Chen to produce PD-1 knockout CAR T cells because Chen teaches the PD-1 knockout CAR T cells had superior effector function and reduced levels of exhaustion compared to a lentiviral generated CAR T-cells. The lymphoid T cells produced by the method of Wang would have reduced levels of PD-1 compared to T cells from peripheral blood because the PD-1 gene expression is knocked out in the produced CAR T cells of the invention.
Regarding claim 3 and increased GLUT-1 levels, it is noted that a wherein clause in a method claim is not given weight when it simply expresses the intended result of a process step positively recited. See MPEP 2111.04. Alternatively, given that the method of the prior art comprises the same method steps as claimed in the instant invention the prior art method would increase the expression of GLUT-1 in the expanded T-cell population. See Ex parte Novitski 26 USPQ 1389 (BPAI 1993).
Regarding claim 5 and enhanced in Naïve T cell and/or a Stem Cell Memory (SCM) T cell content as compared to a T cell population from peripheral blood, the CD3/CD28 agonist antibody treated lymphatic T cell population would have enhanced in Naïve T cell and/or a Stem Cell Memory (SCM) T cell content as compared to a T cell population from peripheral blood. See Example 1 of the instant specification.
7. Claim(s) 1, 3, 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2018/205926 A1 ( Wang et al. Nov. 15, 2018, filed May 05, 2018), “Wang”
Wang teaches a method making T cells comprising the step of reducing or eliminating the inhibitory proteins PD-1, LAG-3 or Tim3 with antisense, siRNA or CRISPR systems. See translation-p. 2-Brief description of the invention.
Wang teaches that that the T cells can be obtained from lymph node tissue of a healthy donor. See translation-p. 13-2nd to last paragraph.
Wang teaches that that the subject can be a human. See translation-p. 8, 6th paragraph.
Wang teaches the T cells can be activated and expanded before or after any modification step with an anti-CD3 and anti-CD28 antibodies. See translation-p. 11-4th full paragraph and p. 16-2nd to last paragraph.
Wang teaches transducing the T cells with CAR vectors before, after or simultaneously with reducing or eliminating the inhibitory proteins. See translation-p. 8-last five paragraphs and p. 14-1st full paragraph.
Wang teaches the inhibitory protein knockout CAR-T cells are superior to non-knockout CAR-T cells in inefficient (low) target ratios and have longer duration of action. See translation-p. 25-last paragraph and Examples 1-7.
Although Wang does not provide a working example of using T cells from healthy human lymph nodes to produce the PD-1, LAG-3 or Tim3 knockout CAR T cells, it would have been prima facie obvious at the time the invention was filed given that the level of skill in the art was high to combine the teachings of Wang and use T cells from healthy human lymph nodes Wang to produce the PD-1, LAG-3 or Tim3 knockout CAR T cells because Wang teaches that T cells from healthy human lymph nodes can be used as sources of the T cells for CAR production. One would have been motivated to use lymph node T cells in the methods of Wang to produce PD-1, LAG-3 or Tim3 knockout CAR T cells because Wang teaches the inhibitory protein knockout CAR-T cells are superior to non-knockout CAR-T cells in inefficient (low) target ratios and have longer duration of action. The lymphoid T cells produced by the methods of Wang would have reduced levels of PD-1, LAG-3 or Tim3 compared to T cells from peripheral blood because the PD-1, LAG-3 or Tim3 gene expression is knocked out in the produced CAR T cells of the invention.
Regarding claim 3 and increased GLUT-1 levels, it is noted that a wherein clause in a method claim is not given weight when it simply expresses the intended result of a process step positively recited. See MPEP 2111.04. Alternatively, given that the method of the prior art comprises the same method steps as claimed in the instant invention the prior art method would increase the expression of GLUT-1 in the expanded T-cell population. See Ex parte Novitski 26 USPQ 1389 (BPAI 1993).
Regarding claim 5 and enhanced in Naïve T cell and/or a Stem Cell Memory (SCM) T cell content as compared to a T cell population from peripheral blood, the CD3/CD28 agonist antibody treated lymphatic T cell population would have enhanced in Naïve T cell and/or a Stem Cell Memory (SCM) T cell content as compared to a T cell population from peripheral blood. See Example 1 of the instant specification.
Conclusion
8. No claims allowed.
/Peter J Reddig/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1642