DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-22, 24-26, and 28 are pending and are subject to this office action. This office action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed on 9/2/25.
Claims 1, 22, 26, and 28 are amended.
Claims 22, 24-26, and 28 remain withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments (filed 9/2/25, pages 7-9) have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Applicant argues: (1) a person of ordinary skill in the art would not take the teachings of Demain relating to a coating for a cigarette wrapper and apply them to the aerosolizable formulation of Rabinowitz 2014 and Kuntawala because the product category of Demain is completely different to that disclosed in Rabinowitz 2014 and Kuntawala, and (2) Rabinowitz 2014 does not disclose a formulation comprising a solvent in the form of water and glycerol, propylene glycol, or mixtures thereof. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Regarding argument (1) arguing that Demain is nonanalogous art to Rabinowitz 2014 and Kuntawala, it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, Demain is in the same field of endeavor as the current application and Rabinowitz 2014 and Kuntawala. Specifically, Demain, Rabinowitz 2014, and Kuntawala are all related as pertaining to tobacco products and smoking paraphernalia. Furthermore, the disclosure from Demain cited in the rejection of Claim 1 also broadly relates to Rabinowitz 2014 and Kuntawala as general chemistry knowledge which would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that the teachings of Demain relating to the water solubility of cyclodextrins would further apply to the aerosolizable formulation of Rabinowitz 2014 and Kuntawala.
Regarding argument (2), while Rabinowitz 2014 [0038] does not appear to explicitly state the solvents may comprise "water and glycerol, propylene glycol, or mixtures thereof," Rabinowitz 2014 [0038] states "Compositions according to the present disclosure may comprise one solvent or a mixture of two or more solvents such as a mixture of, e.g., two, three, four, or more solvents." Moreover, Rabinowitz 2014 [0040] states "The relative fractions of solvents in a solvent mixture may vary." Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, based on the teachings of Rabinowitz 2014, that the solvent may comprise a combination of water and glycerol, propylene glycol, or mixtures thereof, similarly as claimed in amended Claim 1.
The following rejections are maintained and modified where necessary based on Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 11-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rabinowitz 2014 (US 20140345635 A1), in view of Kuntawala (US 20160198759 A1) and Demain (US 5144964 A).
Regarding Claim 1, Rabinowitz 2014 discloses an aerosolized formulation ("The composition may comprise nicotine, at least one solvent, and at least one ion pairing agent, and may be vaporized to form a condensation aerosol" Abstract) comprising:
water in an amount of at least 50 wt.% based on the aerosolized formulation (A solvent, such as water, may comprise up to 99.5wt% of the particles formed from the solution. [0038]-[0040]);
glycerol, propylene glycol, or mixtures thereof (The solvent may comprise glycerol or propylene glycol. [0038]. Compositions may comprise a mixture of two or more solvents. [0038]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art that the solvent may comprise a combination of water and glycerol, propylene glycol, or mixtures thereof. It is noted that the solvent ratios do not have to be equal and therefore water may be present in greater amounts than the glycerol, propylene glycol, or mixtures thereof ([0040]),
at least one active agent ("Compositions according to the present disclosure may comprise nicotine" [0035]-[0037]);
wherein the aerosol has a D50 particle size distribution from 2 µm to 6 µm (The aerosol particles may have a mass median aerodynamic diameter between 2 µm and 4 µm. [0057]).
Rabinowitz 2014 discloses a category of “other ingredients” (The composition may comprise up to about 10% of one or more other agents, including but not limited to active agents such as pharmacologically-active agents. [0053]. The prior art discloses that certain absorption rates and absorption times may be selected to achieve preferred nicotine blood absorption levels. [0060]) but does not explicitly disclose an aerosolized formulation comprising one or more cyclodextrins.
Kuntawala teaches an aerosolized formulation comprising one or more cyclodextrins in an amount in the range of 0.5 to 5.0 molar ratio of cyclodextrin to the active ingredient ("Cyclodextrin is included to enhance absorption of the active ingredients as well as to limit any tendency of the inhaled aerosol to cause irritation" [0014]. "cyclodextrins are useful for sequestering hydrophobic molecules and for forming droplets in a nebulizer" [0016]. "cyclodextrin is effective in the range of 0.5 to 5.0 molar ratio of cyclodextrin to active ingredient." [0021]). Thus, where Rabinowitz 2014 teaches an active agent present in an amount of no greater than 1 wt.% (The amount of nicotine in the composition may range from about 0.1% to about 1% by weight. [0037]) and the molar masses of nicotine and cyclodextrins are constant and known by one having ordinary skill in the art, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by Kuntawala (See MPEP § 2144.05(I)).
Rabinowitz 2014 and Kuntawala do not teach the use of substituted cyclodextrins. However, Demain teaches a smoking composition comprising a flavorant-release additive (Col. 2, lines 21-44) wherein the additive comprises a water-soluble molecular inclusion complex of beta-cyclodextrin (Col. 2, lines 41-44). Furthermore, Demain teaches that a substituted beta-cyclodextrin is preferred over unsubstituted variants due to increased solubility in water (Col. 2, lines 55-68; Col. 3, lines 1-33).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the aerosol formulation of Rabinowitz 2014 with an additional ingredient such as a cyclodextrin in the range of 0.5 to 5.0 molar ratio of cyclodextrin to active ingredient as taught by Kuntawala and to modify the aerosol formulation of Rabinowitz 2014 with a substituted cyclodextrin as taught by Demain because Rabinowitz 2014, Kuntawala, and Demain are each directed to flavored nicotine formulations comprising active ingredients, Kuntawala teaches the use of cyclodextrins to enhance absorption of active ingredients inhaled in an aerosol, Demain teaches the use of substituted cyclodextrins due to the increased solubility, and this merely involves applying a known flavored nicotine formulations additive to a similar aerosol formulation to yield predictable results.
Regarding Claims 2 and 3, Rabinowitz 2014 further discloses an aerosolized formulation wherein water is present in an amount of at least 75 wt.% based on the aerosolized formulation and/or wherein water is present in an amount of at least 90 wt.% based on the aerosolized formulation (Water may comprise up to 99.5wt% of the particles formed from the solution. [0038]-[0040]).
Regarding Claims 4 and 5, Rabinowitz 2014 further discloses an aerosolized formulation wherein the active agent is present in an amount of no greater than 1 wt.% based on the aerosolized formulation and/or wherein the active agent is present in an amount from 0.01 to 0.6 wt.% based on the aerosolized formulation (The amount of nicotine in the composition may range from about 0.1% to about 0.6% by weight. [0037]).
Regarding Claim 6, Rabinowitz 2014 further discloses an aerosolized formulation wherein the active agent comprises nicotine (Disclosed is an inhalable aerosol comprising a liquid carrier and nicotine. [0006]).
Regarding Claim 7, Rabinowitz 2014 further discloses an aerosolized formulation wherein the D50 particle size distribution of the aerosol is from 3.5 µm to 5.5 µm (The aerosol particles may have a mass median aerodynamic diameter between 3.5 µm and 4 µm. [0057]).
Regarding Claims 11-14, Rabinowitz 2014 further discloses an aerosolized formulation wherein the aerosolized formulation further comprises an acid; wherein the acid is selected from the group consisting of acetic acid, lactic acid, formic acid, citric acid, benzoic acid, pyruvic acid, levulinic acid, succinic acid, tartaric acid, sorbic acid, propionic acid, phenylacetic acid, and mixtures thereof; wherein the acid is selected from the group consisting of citric acid, benzoic acid, levulinic acid, sorbic acid, lactic acid, and mixtures thereof; and/or wherein the acid comprises citric acid (In some formulations, the composition includes an ion paring agent, said agent is selected from the group consisting of organic or inorganic acids such as citric acid. [0048]).
Regarding Claims 15-16, Rabinowitz 2014 further discloses an aerosolized formulation wherein a total content of acid present in the formulation is no greater than 1 mole equivalents based on the active agent and/or wherein a total content of acid present in the solution is no less than 0.01 mole equivalents based on the active agent (The mole fraction of the ion pairing agent is within a range of one-to-one to threefold less than the mole fraction of nicotine. [0050]).
Regarding Claims 17-19, Rabinowitz 2014 further discloses an aerosolized formulation further comprising one or more flavors; wherein the one or more flavors is selected from the group consisting of (4-(para- )methoxyphenyl)-2-butanone, vanillin, y-undecalactone, menthone, 5-propenyl guaethol, menthol, para-mentha-8-thiol-3-one, and mixtures thereof; and/or wherein the flavor comprises menthol (Possible flavorants which may be utilized include menthol, among other known and disclosed flavoring compounds. [0053]).
Regarding Claims 20-21, Rabinowitz 2014 further discloses an aerosolized formulation wherein the one or more flavors is present in a total amount of no greater than 2 wt.% based on the aerosolized formulation and/or wherein the one or more flavors is present in a total amount of from 0.01 to 1 wt.% based on the aerosolized formulation (The amount of flavorant in the composition may range from about 0.1% to about 1% by weight. [0037]).
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rabinowitz 2014 in view of Kuntawala and Demain as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Rabinowitz 2003 (US 20030091511 A1).
Regarding Claim 8, Rabinowitz 2014 discloses aerosol particles having a mass median aerodynamic diameter of up to 4 µm. ([0057]), but does not explicitly disclose an aerosol wherein the D50 particle size distribution of the aerosol is from 4.5 µm to 5.5 µm.
Rabinowitz 2003 teaches an aerosol wherein the D50 particle size distribution of the aerosol is between 4.5 µm to 5.5 µm (Aerosol particles have a mass median aerodynamic diameter of up to 5 µm. [0012])
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the aerosol of Rabinowitz 2014 to have aerosol particles with a mass median aerodynamic diameter between 4.5 µm and 5 µm as taught by Rabinowitz 2003 because Rabinowitz 2014, Kuntawala, Demain, and Rabinowitz 2003 are all directed to aerosolized formulations for inhalation, Rabinowitz 2003 teaches the use of aerosolized particles up to 5 µm to deliver the active agent through inhalation of the aerosolized formulation ([0070]-[0075]), and this merely involves modifying a known aerosolized composition in a known manner to yield predictable results.
Regarding Claims 9 and 10, Rabinowitz 2003 further discloses an aerosol formulation wherein the aerosol has a D10 particle size distribution of at least 0.5 µm and/or wherein the aerosol has a D90 particle size distribution of no greater than 15 µm (The geometric standard deviation around the mass median aerodynamic diameter of the aerosol particles is less than 3.0 to less than 2.1. [0013]. Wherein the aerosol particles have a mass median aerodynamic diameter up to 5 µm [0012] with a geometric standard deviation less than 2.1 [0013], the aerosol will have a D10 particles size distribution greater than 0.5 µm and a D90 particle size distribution less than 15 µm.).
Conclusion
/JEFFREY A. BUCKMAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 1755
/PHILIP Y LOUIE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1755