DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 5/18/2026, have been fully considered.
Applicant traverses the rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). As argued by Applicant, it would not have been “obvious to convert Wei’s system into the claimed NLC” (Applicant Arguments, Page 3). In particular, Applicant argues that “[t]he rejection treats NLC formation as a generic and predictable substitution of one lipid nanoparticle format for another” whereas “NLC structure depends on the particular identity, phase behavior, crystallization behavior, miscibility, and processing compatibility of the selected lipids. Different lipid selections and processing conditions can lead to materially different nanoparticle structures, including homogenous dispersions, SLNs, imperfect-matrix NLCs, amorphous systems, or shell-core particles” (Applicant Arguments, Page 3).
The argument is not found persuasive. One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091 (Fed. Cir. 1986). In the instant case, the claims are rejected in further view of Seyfoddin et al (which teach that “SLNs can be successfully converted to physically superior NLCs” (Abstract), which “are structural modifications of SLNs developed to address their insufficiencies, such as… stability problems” (Page 513, Column 1)) and Viladot Petit et al (which teach “nanostructured lipid carriers (NLC)” (Abstract) wherein “[t]he solid lipid is selected, without restriction, from… sterols, cholesterol and cholesterol esters” and so on, (Paragraph 0041) and “[t]he liquid lipid is selected, without restriction, from the group formed by vegetable oils, such as… castor oil” (Paragraph 0040)). As discussed in the previous rejection at Paragraph 27 and reiterated below:
“in further view of Seyfoddin et al and Viladot Petit et al it would have been prima facie obvious to modify the method of Wei et al by utilizing an NLC for administration as opposed to an SLN. It would have been obvious to do so to provide a physically superior delivery device having enhanced stability, as taught by Seyfoddin et al, and with a reasonable expectation of success, based on Seyfoddin et al (which teach that “SLNs can be successfully converted to physically superior NLCs”) and based on Viladot Petit et al (which generically disclose the feasibility of NLCs comprising a solid outer shell comprising cholesterol and a liquid core comprising castor oil triglyceride)”
While it is recognized that “NLC structure depends on the particular identity, phase behavior, crystallization behavior, miscibility, and processing compatibility of the selected lipids. Different lipid selections and processing conditions can lead to materially different nanoparticle structures, including homogenous dispersions, SLNs, imperfect-matrix NLCs, amorphous systems, or shell-core particles”, as argued by Applicant (Applicant Arguments, Page 3), it is maintained that, at the time the invention was made, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the method of Wei et al by utilizing an NLC for administration as opposed to an SLN, and would have been able to carry out said modification with a reasonable expectation of success.
Applicant next argues that “[t]he presently claimed method requires administration of an NLC particle having a solid outer shell comprising cholesterol and a liquid core comprising castor oil triglyceride, with no therapeutic agent other than the liquid lipid” (Applicant Arguments, Page 3). And, as further argued by Applicant, “[t]he cited combination does not teach or suggest that Wei’s lipid nano-dispersion/SLN-type system should be modified to provide this specific cholesterol-shell/castor oil-core architecture, nor does it provide a reasonable expectation that such a modification would produce the claimed drug-free ocular treatment composition” (Applicant Arguments, Page 3).
The argument is not found persuasive. As noted by Applicant, “[a] proper obviousness rejection must be supported by an articulated reason with rational underpinning for modifying or combining the cited references, and there must be a reasonable expectation of success at arriving at the claimed invention as a whole” (Applicant Arguments, Page 2). Significantly, obviousness does not require a teaching or suggestion that the prior art “should be modified” as argued by Applicant (Applicant Arguments, Page 3), only that “a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify” the prior art (Applicant Arguments, Page 2). In the instant case, it is maintained that, at the time the invention was made, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the method of Wei et al by utilizing an NLC for administration as opposed to an SLN, and would have been able to carry out said modification with a reasonable expectation of success, for the reasons discussed above. Namely, it would have been prima facie obvious to modify the method of Wei et al by utilizing an NLC for administration as opposed to an SLN in an effort to provide a physically superior delivery device having enhanced stability, as taught by Seyfoddin et al (which teach that NLCs “are structural modifications of SLNs developed to address their insufficiencies, such as… stability problems”) and with a reasonable expectation of success, based on Seyfoddin et al (which teach that “SLNs can be successfully converted to physically superior NLCs”) and based on Viladot Petit et al (which generically disclose the feasibility of NLCs comprising a solid outer shell comprising cholesterol and a liquid core comprising castor oil triglyceride).
Applicant next argues that the ophthalmic lipid nano-dispersions of Wei et al rely “on materials such as petroleum jelly, wool fat/lanolin, and waxes. Those materials are soft or semi-solid excipients and are not the same as a defined cholesterol outer shell surrounding a castor oil triglyceride core. Although lanolin may contain cholesterol as one component, lanolin is a complex mixture of esters, fatty acids, alcohols, and other materials having properties materially different from purified cholesterol” (Applicant Arguments, Page 3).
Yet, the claims are not drawn to a nanostructure lipid carrier comprising a solid outer shell consisting of purified cholesterol. Rather, the claims are drawn to a nanostructure lipid carrier comprising a solid lipid, wherein the solid lipid comprises cholesterol.
Applicant, however, further argues that “Wei also relies on emulsifier-stabilized dispersions, including lecithins, poloxamers, and nonionic surfactants” which “are directed to forming and maintaining liquid dispersions, not to producing the presently claimed NLC particle having a defined solid cholesterol-containing outer shell and a liquid castor-oil-triglyceride core” (Applicant Arguments, Page 4).
It is not disputed that the lipid nano-dispersion/solid lipid nanoparticle taught by Wei et al is structurally different from the instantly claimed nanostructured lipid carrier. Nevertheless, it is maintained that, at the time the invention was made, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the method of Wei et al by utilizing an NLC for administration as opposed to an SLN, and would have been able to carry out said modification with a reasonable expectation of success, for the reasons discussed above.
Lastly, Applicant “submits additional experimental data showing that sterilization of the claimed NLCs at 121oC for 15 minutes reduced both particle size and polydispersity index (PDI) resulting in improved nanoparticle uniformity” (Applicant Arguments, Page 4). As argued by Applicant, “[t]hese results are contrary to what would have been expected for lipid nanoparticle systems subjected to thermal sterilization” (Applicant Arguments, Page 5).
Applicant is advised that the arguments of counsel cannot take the place of evidence in the record. As such, Applicant's assertion of unexpected results must be supported by an appropriate affidavit or declaration.
For all the foregoing reasons, Applicant’s arguments are not found persuasive. The rejection of claims is MAINTAINED.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17-18, 20 and 25-26 are MAINTAINED rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Wei et al (US 2016/0074321; of record) in view of Seyfoddin et al (Drug Development and Industrial Pharmacy 39:508-519, 2013; of record) and Viladot Petit et al (US 2013/0017239; of record).
Claim 17 is drawn to a method of treating or preventing a dry eye disorder (more specifically, dry eye syndrome (aka keratoconjunctivitis sicca) (claim 20)) in a subject, the method comprising administering to an eye or eyelid of the subject (more specifically, topically to the surface of the eye or eyelid (claim 18)), a composition comprising a Nanostructured Lipid Carrier (NLC) particle comprising:
(i) a solid outer shell comprising a solid lipid, wherein the solid lipid comprises cholesterol; and
(ii) a liquid core comprising a liquid lipid, wherein the liquid lipid comprises castor oil triglyceride;
wherein the NLC does not comprise or encapsulate a therapeutic agent other than the liquid lipid.
Wei et al teach “an ophthalmic composition including a… lipid nano-dispersion” (Paragraph 0007), which “refers to a dispersion system of solid lipid nanoparticle (SLN)” (Paragraph 0065), wherein “the lipid nano-dispersion includes a first lipid, a second lipid, and emulsifier; in which the first lipid exists in form of solid lipid… and the second lipid exists in form of liquid lipid” (Paragraph 0007), wherein “[p]referably, the solid lipid includes yellow Vaseline and wool fat” (Paragraph 0008), which comprises cholesterol, and “the liquid lipid includes at least one of… castor oil”, listed among seven options (Paragraph 0011), wherein the composition “can be used for prevention or treatment of dry eye syndrome without containing any active pharmaceutical agent” (Paragraph 0058), said method comprising “the step of administering to the subject an effective amount of the ophthalmic composition” (Paragraph 0040), in particular topically to the surface of the eye of said subject (see, e.g., Paragraph 0170).
However, although Wei et al state that “[t]he lipid nano-dispersion is similar to the nanostructured lipid carrier that was developed from SLN” (Paragraph 0066) and disclose “preparation of the lipid nano-dispersion” in a way which would seemingly provide an NLC having the liquid lipids enclosed in the solid lipid shell (Paragraph 0031-0035), Wei et al nevertheless state that, “[c]ompared to NLC, lipid nano-dispersion has a higher concentration of liquid lipids. Therefore, the solid lipids maybe entrapped in the liquid lipids” (Paragraph 0067).
As such, the method of treating dry eye syndrome taught by Wei et al differs from the instantly claimed method in that Wei et al teach the administration of a lipid nano-dispersion (i.e., solid lipid nanoparticle) comprising a solid lipid comprising cholesterol and a liquid lipid comprising castor oil as opposed to a nanostructured lipid carrier comprising the solid lipid cholesterol as a solid outer shell and liquid lipid castor oil as a liquid core as claimed.
Yet, as taught by Seyfoddin et al, “SLNs can be successfully converted to physically superior NLCs” (Abstract), which “are structural modifications of SLNs developed to address their insufficiencies, such as… stability problems” (Page 513, Column 1).
And, Viladot Petit et al teach “nanostructured lipid carriers (NLC)” (Abstract) wherein “[t]he solid lipid is selected, without restriction, from… sterols, cholesterol and cholesterol esters” and so on, (Paragraph 0041) and “[t]he liquid lipid is selected, without restriction, from the group formed by vegetable oils, such as… castor oil” (Paragraph 0040).
Accordingly, in further view of Seyfoddin et al and Viladot Petit et al it would have been prima facie obvious to modify the method of Wei et al by utilizing an NLC for administration as opposed to an SLN. It would have been obvious to do so to provide a physically superior delivery device having enhanced stability, as taught by Seyfoddin et al, and with a reasonable expectation of success, based on Seyfoddin et al (which teach that “SLNs can be successfully converted to physically superior NLCs”) and based on Viladot Petit et al (which generically disclose the feasibility of NLCs comprising a solid outer shell comprising cholesterol and a liquid core comprising castor oil triglyceride).
Based on all of the foregoing, claims 17-18 and 20 are rejected as prima facie obvious.
Claims 25-26 are drawn to the method of claim 17 wherein the NLC particle comprises about 1:1 of solid outer shell relative to the liquid core (claim 25), more specifically about 1:1 of cholesterol relative to castor oil (claim 26).
As taught by Wei et al, “[p]referably, based on the total volume of the ophthalmic composition, the ophthalmic composition includes 0.1% ~ 6% (w/v) of the first lipid” (Paragraph 0071) and “0.1% ~ 10% (w/v) of the second lipid” (Paragraph 0074).
And, as taught by Viladot Petit et al, “in the mixtures of lipids of the NLC the liquid lipids and solid lipids are mixed in a proportion which… [is] preferably between 50:50 and 0.1:99.9%” (Paragraph 0042).
As such, claims 25-26 are also rejected as prima facie obvious. As discussed by MPEP 2144.05, “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists” (citing In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465 (Fed. Cir. 1997)).
Claims 21-23 are MAINTAINED rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Wei et al (US 2016/0074321; of record) in view of Seyfoddin et al (Drug Development and Industrial Pharmacy 39:508-519, 2013; of record) and Viladot Petit et al (US 2013/0017239; of record; of record) as applied to claims 17-18, 20 and 25-26 above, as evidenced by Mubofu (Sustain Chem Process 4:11, 2016; of record).
Claims 21-23 are drawn to the method of claim 17 wherein the triglyceride comprises ricinoleic acid, oleic acid and linoleic acid (claim 22), wherein ricinoleic acid is the majority fatty acid component of the NLC particle (claim 21), more specifically, wherein the triglyceride comprises at least 85% ricinoleic acid (claim 23).
As evidenced by Mubofu, castor oil “exists as a mixture of saturated and unsaturated fatty acids attached to a glycerol” wherein, “[i]n the mixture of castor oils fatty acids, ricinoleic acid accounts for about 90% of the mixture with all other components in small proportions of not more than 5%” (Page 3, Column 2), wherein the other components include oleic acid and linoleic acid (Page 4, Figure 4).
As such, claims 21-23 are also rejected as prima facie obvious.
Double Patenting
Claims 17-18, 20-23 and 25-26 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 11,779,543.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The ‘543 claims are similarly drawn to a method of treating/preventing an eye disorder in a subject comprising administering to said subject’s eye an NLC comprising a solid outer shell comprising cholesterol, and a liquid core comprising a liquid lipid comprising a triglyceride and “the therapeutic agent” which is understood to either include said triglyceride (claim 21) wherein the triglyceride can be castor oil (claim 4), or further entail an agent separate from said triglyceride which is castor oil (claim 21).
Claims 17-18, 20-23 and 25-26 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 9-21 and 24-25 of copending Application No. 18/458,828.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The ‘828 claims are similarly drawn to a method of treating/preventing an eye disorder in a subject comprising administering to said subject’s eye an NLC (claims 24-25) comprising a solid outer shell comprising cholesterol (claims 1-3), and a liquid core comprising a liquid lipid comprising a triglyceride containing castor oil (claims 1 and 4).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No new ground(s) of rejection are presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CRAIG D RICCI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1611