Election/Restrictions
Claims 14-40 remain in the application as withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 10 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In each of claim 2 and 10, it is unclear which of the friction coefficient increasing means are being references because there were two introduced. In claims 11 and 12 it is unclear if applicant intends to positively claim the fastener and nut or bolt head because it is not consistent with the preamble.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1-2, 5-6, 9-13, 41-44 and 46-47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Davis (US 10,107,325). Davis discloses an anti-loosening reaction washer (100) comprising: an outer edge with a geometric shape (132, 136) for coupling with a tool; a smooth flat bottom surface (102) with coefficient increasing means surrounding a center bore (at 100A) in the form of inwardly extending spikes (106) biased towards and outer edge; and a flat top surface (101) with coefficient increasing means surrounding the center bore in the form of outwardly extending grooves (118) biased towards a void radius of the center bore with an outer radius which is greater than the void radius and less than a washer outer radius as seen in Fig. 1A. The coefficient increasing means extending less than the width of the respective surface; the top coefficient increasing treatment means having a greater surface area than the bottom; and the bottom coefficient friction means is not near the center bore and the top coefficient friction means is not near the outer edge. The geometric shape is located outside the top coefficient friction increasing means and aligned with the bottom coefficient friction increasing means and since the geometric shape is required to be accessible with the tool the effective friction radius of a fastener/head would inherently be less than the effective radius of the bottom coefficient increasing means and greater than the top coefficient increasing means.
Davis discloses an inner diameter of the bottom surface coefficient increasing treatment means (106) is greater than the void radius of the center bore and an outer radius of the bottom surface coefficient increasing treatment means (106) is less than a washer radius as defined by the outer diameter of the serrations 115 as seen in Fig. 1B. Alternatively, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been an obvious matter of design choice for one of ordinary skill in the art to slightly further space the bottom surface coefficient increasing treatment means from the outer washer radius because a small increase in the space from the washer radius would not be critical to effect the operation of the washer.
In regards to the new claims, Davis further discloses the upper surface to include an outer untreated portion between the top friction coefficient increasement means an outer edge that is separately smooth (the top surface of castle element 133) and continuous (the combined castle elements 133 and grooves 137) to form an annular band.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 45 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davis as applied to claims 1 and 41 above, and further in view of Kesler (US 884,933). Davis does not disclose the top surface having a wider untreated portion. Kesler discloses a washer (8) with a wider untreated portion (11) relative to a friction treated portion (12). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the relative sizes of the top surface friction treated portion and untreated portion of Davis to where the untreated portion is wider than the treated portion such as taught in Kesler because the relative sizes are not critical since the washer would continue to function in the same predictable manner.
Response to Remarks
Applicant argues the 112(b) rejection contending that effective friction radius is described in the specification. In response, the rejection is directed to if applicant intends to claim the washer in combination with the nut or bolt because the nut or bolt is required for the limitation of the relative effective friction radius.
In regards to the prior art rejections, the examiner maintains the rejection over Davis (US 10,107,325) are proper.
Applicant argues that Davis does not disclose the top grooves biased towards the center bore extending to an outer radius less than the washer radius and not located at or near the washer outer edge. In response the examiner still disagrees because Davis shows the extension of the top grooves less the as washer radius as pointed to below and further explained in the above rejection addressing the new claims.
Applicant also argues that the instant invention operates differently than Davis. In response, the claims are directed to the washer not how it operates. It is suggested applicant claims the unique structure(s) of the washer which facilitate the different operation.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FLEMMING SAETHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675