DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-18, 20, 23, 25, 28, 30, and 34-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zakharov et al. (EP 3228237- Previously cited), referred to as Zakharov hereinafter, further in view of Matsuda (US 20170007131) and Welch et al. (US 20160184469), hereinafter Welch.
Regarding claim 16, 30 and 36, Zakharov teaches a visual behavior monitor wearing status detection system for detecting whether a visual behavior monitor, usable to monitor visual behavior of a user, is worn by the user ((see ABSTRACT and ¶[0027,0037,0054] and fig. 1, visual behavior monitor (10) for monitoring a visual behavior of a user, and the visual behavior monitor wearing status detection system are integral (1)), wherein the visual behavior monitor wearing status detection system comprises: one or more sensors configured to obtain sensor data, and wherein the visual behavior monitor wearing status detection system is configured to process the sensor data to determine whether the visual behavior monitor is worn by the user (¶[0024,0037,0052] and fig. 1, the system comprises one or more sensors 15,20, optical sensor, accelerometer, etc. and determines if the monitor device is being worn).
Zakharov fails to teach wherein the visual behavior monitor wearing status detection system is configured to combine the sensor data obtained from the first and second sensors to statistically determine whether the user is incorrectly wearing the visual behavior monitor and/or is wearing the visual behavior monitor in a manner previously determined to be improper, wherein the statistical determination comprises obtaining, from the sensor data obtained from the first and second sensors, a probability that the user is correctly wearing the visual behavior monitor and/or is wearing the visual behavior monitor in a manner previously determined to be improper from each sensor individually.
Matsuda teaches using optical sensors in an earphone to determine whether the user is wearing the earphone when the computed probability is determined as high (abstract, ¶[0069], and fig. 10, step s402, prioritizes accuracy in measurement if high, if not, then the devices prioritizes power savings). Once the attachment has been confirmed, the device prioritizes accuracy in measurement and continues to monitor the reflected light (fig. 12). When the received light includes reflected light and too much noise resulting from external light, it is highly likely that a user is not properly wearing the phone and the measurement accuracy is expected to lower (¶[0164]). A notification is then provided to the user about the determination (¶[0164]). Therefore, a probability determination is required to determine whether the user is properly wearing the earphones to either prioritize accuracy in measurement or power saving, and determine proper/improper placement of the earphones (¶[0164,0172,0179] and fig. 10-12). Matsuda further teaches using an accelerometer of a smart phone to aid in determining that the earphone device is attached to the user (¶[0046,0103,0182], “Though a smartphone is described by way of example of an electronic device in embodiments, the electronic device in the present disclosure is not limited to the smartphone but devices such as portable terminals, personal computers, or tablets of other types are also encompassed” contemplating that the ear phones themselves can be used to monitor the movement).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the device of Zakharov, such that system is configured to use sensor data to statistically determine whether the user is incorrectly wearing the visual behavior monitor, based on obtaining, from the sensor data, a probability that the user is correctly wearing the visual behavior monitor, as taught by Matsuda, to aid in prioritizing accuracy in measurement when correctly wearing the device or switching to power saving mode when not.
The combination of Zakharov-Matsuda however fails to teach that the sensor data comprises data combined from two sensors.
Welch teaches a system for monitoring at least a patient (abstract) that can be extended to glass head worn displays (¶[0059,0079]). The systems is configured to fuse sensor information for more reliable and more accurate analysis and detection of objects and humans (¶[0004,0057-8], “sensor information fusion for more reliable and more accurate analysis and detection”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the system of Zakharov-Matsuda, such that the sensor data comprises data combined from two sensors, as taught by Welch, to aid in more reliable and accurate monitoring of a user wearing the device. This combination is further supported because Zakharov teaches monitoring objects to determine worn state based on distance of the objects, thus, the modification improves this aspect (¶[0010] of Zakharov).
It follows that, Zakharov fails to teach the following, but is taught by Matsuda, a controller for controlling based on the determination whether the visual behavior monitor is worn by the user, activating and/or deactivating components of the visual behavior monitor (¶[0071,0154], sensor ray transmissions are deactivated and activated, where the interval between signals transmitted can be switch from continuous (regular mode) to spaced intervals (power saving mode)).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the system of Zakharov-Matsuda-Welch, such that components are activated and deactivated, as taught by Matsuda, to aid in not wasting power and lengthening the usage time.
Regarding claim 17, Zakharov teaches determining, by the visual behavior monitor wearing status detection system, whether the visual behavior monitor is worn by the user comprises automatically determining whether a predefined condition, derived by the visual behavior monitor wearing status detection system from the sensor data, is fulfilled (¶[0027], once the monitoring device has been placed on the body(predefined condition), the criterion for starting measurement is fulfilled).
Regarding claim 18, Zakharov fails to explicitly teach wherein the determination whether the visual behavior monitor is worn by the user comprises calculating, by the visual behavior monitor wearing status detection system, a likelihood for the user to wear the visual behavior monitor and determining whether the likelihood exceeds or falls below a threshold.
Matsuda teaches that a probability is calculated for determining the worn state of the device (¶[0068-9]). The processor makes a judgement of whether the probability is relatively high or relatively low, thus, a threshold is necessarily implied.
As such, it would it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the system of Zakharov-Matsuda-Welch, such that determining whether the likelihood exceeds or falls below a threshold to determine worn state of the device, as taught by Matsuda, to aid in saving power or prioritizing accuracy in measurement (¶[0070-1] of Matsuda).
Regarding claim 20, Zakharov teaches wherein the one or more sensors comprise one or more orientation sensors for obtaining orientation data relating to an orientation of the visual behavior monitor wearing status detection system, and wherein the sensor data, processed to determine whether the visual behavior monitor is worn by the user, comprises said orientation data (¶[0027,0037,0054], motion/orientation data from an orientation (accelerometer and a gyroscope) sensor is used to determine when the device is placed on the body).
Regarding claim 23, Zakharov teaches wherein the one or more sensors comprise one or more motion sensors for obtaining motion data relating to a type and/or an amount of motion of the visual behavior monitor wearing status detection system, and wherein the sensor data, processed to determine whether the visual behavior monitor is worn by the user, comprises said motion data (¶[0024,0037], the movement sensor is configured to obtain motion data (type) of the user's head).
Regarding claim 25, Zakharov teaches wherein the one or more orientation sensors comprise a first accelerometer, wherein the one or more motion sensors comprise a gyroscope (¶[0024], the movement sensor is a combination of an accelerometer and a gyroscope).
Regarding claim 28, Zakharov teaches wherein the one or more sensors comprise one or more attachment sensors for obtaining attachment data relating to an attachment of at least one of the visual behavior monitor status detection system and the visual behavior monitor to another fixation (¶[0027], “The proximity sensor can be used to detect if the device including the distance measuring sensor, e.g. the distance measuring device, is worn on the body”),
wherein the sensor data, processed to determine whether the visual behavior monitor is worn by the user, comprises said attachment data, and wherein the visual behavior monitor wearing status detection system is configured to determine that the visual behavior monitor is worn by the user when it is determined that at least one or both of the visual behavior monitor wearing status detection system and the visual behavior monitor, respectively, are attached to the fixation (¶[0027], the sensor data is used to calculate whether the device is worn on the body or not)
Regarding claim 34, Zakharov fails to teach wherein the statistical determination is made based on the probability exceeding or falling below a threshold probability.
Matsuda teaches that a probability is calculated for determining the worn state of the device (¶[0068-9]). The processor makes a judgement of whether the probability is relatively high or relatively low, thus, a threshold is necessarily implied.
As such, it would it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the system of Zakharov-Matsuda-Welch, such that determining whether the likelihood exceeds or falls below a threshold to determine worn state of the device, as taught by Matsuda, to aid in saving power or prioritizing accuracy in measurement (¶[0070-1] of Matsuda).
Regarding claim 35, Zakharov teaches wherein the system comprises a wearable device/glasses, wherein at least one of the first and second sensors is configured to be attached to the wearable device (see fig. 1 and 7, the distance measuring system which comprises a plurality of sensors is attached to glasses).
Claims 21, 22, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zakharov in view of Matsuda and Welch, as applied to claims 20 and 23 above, and further in view of Zhang et al. (US 20190053738 A1- Previously cited), referred to as Zhang hereinafter.
Regarding claim 21, Zakharov-Matsuda-Welch fail to teach wherein the visual behavior monitor wearing status detection system is configured to determine, from the orientation data, one or both of a pitch and a roll of the visual behavior monitor wearing status detection system, and wherein the determination whether the visual behavior monitor is worn by the user is based on the pitch and/or the roll of the visual behavior monitor wearing status detection system satisfying an orientation condition.
Zhang teaches a wearable device located on a user's head that determines head movement based on the pitch and roll of the wearable device (see ABSTRACT and ¶[0033]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the device of Zakharov-Matsuda-Welch, such that pitch and roll movement of the monitoring device is determined, as taught by Zhang, because Zakharov requires using motion/orientation sensor to detect motion/orientation for satisfying an orientation criterion to determine the worn state but fails to provide details and Zhang teaches that orientation sensors can detect motion based on pitch and roll motion of the user's head.
Regarding claim 22, Zakharov teaches wherein the one or more orientation sensors comprise a first accelerometer (¶[0054], movement sensor comprises and accelerometer).
Regarding claim 24, Zakharov-Matsuda-Welch fail to teach wherein the visual behavior monitor wearing status detection system is configured to stop and/or prevent starting the visual behavior monitoring of the user via the visual behavior monitor and/or activate and/or deactivate components of the visual behavior monitor when a first time period, for which the amount of motion of the visual behavior monitor wearing status detection system falls outside of a predefined range, exceeds a first threshold time period.
Zhang further teaches determining whether the wearable device is mounted on the user's head by monitoring the amount/amplitude of movement exceeding a threshold for a preset/threshold time period (¶[0057]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the device of Zakharov-Matsuda-Welch, such that the measurement components of the monitoring device are activated when motion data falls outside of a predefined range during a first time period, as taught by Zhang, because Zakharov requires activating measurement components when the monitoring device is placed on the body, but fails to provide details, and Zhang teaches determining when the monitoring device is placed on the body and begin measurement when motion data meets criterion/thresholds (¶[0048-56] of Zhang).
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zakharov in view of Matsuda and Welch, as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Khan et al. (US 10610146 A1- Previously cited), referred to as Khan hereinafter.
Regarding claim 26, Zakharov teaches wherein the one or more sensors comprise one or more distance sensors for obtaining distance data relating to a distance between the visual behavior monitor wearing status detection system and an object (¶[0016]).
Zakharov-Matsuda-Welch fail to teach wherein the sensor data, processed to determine whether the visual behavior monitor is worn by the user, comprises said distance data, and wherein the visual behavior monitor wearing status detection system is configured to determine that the visual behavior monitor is not worn by the user when the distance is below a threshold distance for a second time period exceeding a second threshold time period, and/or; wherein the one or more sensors comprise one or more proximity sensors for obtaining proximity data relating to a proximity of the visual behavior monitor wearing status detection system to a body part of the user, wherein the sensor data, processed to determine whether the visual behavior monitor is worn by the user, comprises said proximity data, and wherein the visual behavior monitor wearing status detection system is configured to determine that the visual behavior monitor is worn by the user when the proximity is below a threshold proximity.
Khan teaches a wearable garment and/or glasses that determines when the wearable device has not been left behind and otherwise worn by the user based on proximity sensors determining that the proximity of the wearable device is less than a threshold (see ABSTRACT and column 4 and 7 [lines 21-29; 44-61]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the device of Zakharov-Matsuda-Welch, such that proximity data is used to determine if the monitoring device is worn based on the proximity being less than a threshold, as taught by Khan, because Zakharov requires using a proximity sensor to determine worn state, but fails to provide details, and Khan teaches that recognition of device can be based on proximity data compared to a proximity threshold.
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zakharov in view of Matsuda and Welch, as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Koji et al. (US 20120150047 A1- Previously cited), referred to as Koji hereinafter.
Regarding claim 27, Zakharov teaches wherein the one or more sensors comprise one or more light sensors for obtaining light intensity data relating to a light intensity of ambient light impinging on the one or more light sensors (¶[0020], “adapted and arranged to detect light reflections from an optical surface of the subject's eye”).
Zakharov-Matsuda-Welch fail to teach wherein the sensor data, processed to determine whether the visual behavior monitor is worn by the user, comprises said light intensity data, and wherein the visual behavior monitor wearing status detection system is configured to determine that the visual behavior monitor is not worn by the user when the light intensity is below a threshold light intensity for longer than a third threshold time period.
Koji teaches a system and device for determining when a monitoring device is correctly worn on the user (see ABSTRACT). The steps of measuring intensity of light for a predetermined time and determining the intensity is below a threshold, indicates that the device is not worn correctly, and stops measurement and deactivated measurement components (¶[0162-0169]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the device of Zakharov-Matsuda-Welch, such that a determination of a not worn state of the device based on light intensity below a threshold, as taught by Koji, to aid in reducing energy consumption and measurement accuracy of the monitoring device due to incorrect placement and/or not wearing the monitoring device.
Claims 31-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zakharov in view of Matsuda and Welch, as applied to claim 16, further in view of Schnapp et al. (20090054814 A1- Previously cited), hereinafter Schnapp.
Regarding claim 31, Zakharov-Matsuda-Welch fail to teach wherein statistically determining whether the user is correctly wearing the visual behavior monitor and/or is wearing the visual behavior monitor in a manner previously determined to be improper comprises determining if a measured pitch angle occurs more often or for a longer period of time.
Schnapp teaches a monitoring device configured to statistically determine whether the user is correctly wearing the visual behavior monitor comprises determining if a measured pitch angle occurs for a longer period of time (¶[0017,0038,0041-42] and fig. 4, body movement is measured in the X, Y, and Z axes, e.g., roll, pitch, yaw. The device registers that the device is within an angle range, a reference angle is set based on the body movement of the user, once the angle of the device is out of the angle threshold for a predetermined time, the device transitions to sleep mode indicating improperly placed device or not being worn device; “to facilitate power conservation by placing the device in a forced sleep mode when not being worn. If the device 10 senses placement which is less than 20 degrees or more than 120 degrees from horizontal it will enter a wait state of one minute in which it will re-evaluate its angle of placement. If upon that second reading, the angle of placement remains less than 20 degrees or more than 120 degrees from horizontal, the device 10 will assume the user is no longer wearing the device and will enter an extended sleep mode which requires the user to depress the multi-function button 22 to once again establish the reference tilt threshold of the device 10” and “The device monitors a user's position one hundred time a minute after the reference tilt angle 11 is set, the device determine if the user's current angle of posture has deviated no more than three degrees from the set reference tilt angle 11. So long as the deviation remains less than three degrees for a period of one minute or greater, the device 10 simply continues to monitor the user”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the device of Zakharov-Matsuda-Welch, such that determining whether the user is correctly wearing the visual behavior monitoring device based on the pitch angle and time interval, as taught by Schnapp, to aid in facilitating power conservation by transitioning the device into a sleep mode.
Regarding claim 32, Zakharov-Matsuda-Welch fail to teach wherein the statistical determination comprises a distribution of a deviation from the horizon as a function of an expected pitch angle.
Schnapp teaches a monitoring device (see abstract) that is configured to determine if it is being worn correctly (¶[0041]). The determination is based on monitoring the users movement one hundred times (distribution) a minute, establishing a reference angle/expected angle, and determining if the user’s angle deviates (deviation distribution) more than a threshold, the device stops monitoring be transitioning into a sleep mode, which indicates the device is not being worn (¶[0017,0039,0041-42] and fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the device of Zakharov-Matsuda-Welch, such that the statistical determination comprises a distribution of a deviation from the horizon as a function of an expected angle, as taught by Schnapp, to aid in determining when the device is being worn correctly and transitioning the device to sleep mode for battery conservation.
Claims 38-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zakharov in view of Matsuda and Welch, as applied to claim 36, further in view of Arnold et al. (US 20160007934- previously cited), hereinafter Arnold.
Regarding claims 38 and 39, Zakharov-Matsuda-Welch fail to teach processing, by the system and/or processor, the sensor data to retrospectively determine whether the visual behavior monitor is worn by the user.
Arnold teaches a wearable device, i.e. glasses, that are configured to determine when they are being worn or not (¶[0042] and abstract). The determination is made retrospectively, that is, after continuous measurements for a span of time the not-worn state is detected (¶[0255], “Note the span of time has to be long enough (over a threshold value of consecutive time periods) for a span of time of not-worn to be detected. If a set of consecutive time periods recorded as not-worn is interrupted prior to reaching the threshold, the span of time is derived as a worn state”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the device of Zakharov-Matsuda-Welch, such that the visual behavior monitor wearing status detection system is configured to process the sensor data to retrospectively determine whether the visual behavior monitor is worn by the user, as taught by Arnold, to adjust power consumption and improve battery span (¶[0041,0139], “operate to adjust the power consumption of a sensor based on the state of the user” and “deriving of user statuses (e.g., active/inactive/not-worn status) ”).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/23/2026 have been fully considered, prior 35 U.S.C. 101 and 103 rejections have been withdrawn. Amendments require new grounds of rejection as disclosed above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kurata teaches the information processing apparatus according to the present embodiment determines that the wearing position estimation termination condition is satisfied when the wearing probability at a wearing position becomes larger than or equal to a predetermined threshold, or when the wearing probability at a wearing position becomes larger than a predetermined threshold. US 20160335557
Naito teaches the determining portion 24 determines whether or not the object person 12 is wearing the mask (i.e. whether or not the mask is attached to the object person 12) by using a ratio between the first likelihood value v1 and the second likelihood value v2. A ratio between the first likelihood value v1 and the second likelihood value v2 is calculated by a formula. US 20100183218
Peyrard teaches a short alarm is triggered if the glasses are still detected as not worn or incorrectly worn by the user, for example by a brief and simultaneous triggering of the led and the buzzer, for each test performed e.g. within 15 minutes after the actuation of the sleep mode. US 20180122208
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARTIN NATHAN ORTEGA/Examiner, Art Unit 3791 /TSE CHEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791