DETAILED ACTION
Previous Rejections
Applicant’s arguments, filed 07/06/2026, have been fully considered. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 - Obviousness
Claim(s) 1-2, 7, 17 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 2008/0015550A, in view of KR 2007/0049962 A and further in view of Reddy et al (WO 2006/134611 A1).
KR 2008/0015550A taught an oral formulation comprising ibuprofen, an antacid selected from the group consisting of sodium hydrogen carbonate or magnesium oxide, and at least one selected from the group consisting of hydroxypropyl cellulose, carmellose, croscarmellose sodium, carboxymethyl starch sodium, crospovidone, crystalline cellulose and carmellose sodium [abstract]; wherein the formulation masked the unpleasant taste of the drug [page 3/16, first paragraph]. The ibuprofen and antacid were contained in one granule [abstract]; the antacid was especially preferably magnesium oxide [page 3, 7th paragraph].
The amount of the ibuprofen was 1 to 95 mass % [page 3/16; 9th paragraph]; the amount of the magnesium oxide (e.g., antacid) was 1 to 95 mass %; page 3/16, 11th paragraph]. The formulation was obtained by wet granulation [abstract], then dried [page 2/16, last paragraph] and manufactured as tablets [page 5/16, paragraph preceding Example 1].
KR 2008/0015550A generally taught drying, as discussed, but was silent drying at a temperature of 60-75 ºC for 0.5 to 96 hours, as recited in claim 1. KR 2008/0015550A taught magnesium oxide, however, was silent heavy magnesium oxide, as recited in claim 1.
KR 2007/0049962A taught a method of providing an oral solid formulation in which the bitter taste and mucosal irritability of ibuprofen was concealed. Specifically, was disclosed an oral solid preparation concealing the bitter taste and mucosal irritability of ibuprofen (and other active agents), which was obtained by wet granulation of ibuprofen, followed by drying [abstract]. The drying temperature, which could be adjusted, was 25-60 ºC [page 6/18, 1st full paragraph] for 1 hour [Example 1]. Magnesium oxide was taught as an active agent, further added to the solid oral formulation [page 6/18, penultimate paragraph].
Since KR 2008/0015550A generally taught formulations that masked the unpleasant taste of ibuprofen, and formulations that were dried, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to dry the formulation at 25-60 ºC for 1 hour, as taught by KR 2007/0049962A. The ordinarily skilled artisan would have been so motivated, because KR 2007/0049962A taught that drying formulations at 25-60 ºC for 1 hour, wherein the formulations comprised ibuprofen and magnesium oxide, concealed the bitter taste [abstract].
Although KR 2008/0015550A disclosed the antacid (e.g., magnesium oxide) as stabilizing the ibuprofen [page 3, last paragraph bridging to page 4], the combined KR 2008/0015550A and KR 2007/0049962 A did not specifically teach heavy magnesium oxide.
Nevertheless, Reddy taught heavy magnesium oxide as a stabilizer conventionally used in dosage forms manufactured as pharmaceutical tablets, where the heavy magnesium oxide was included in amounts from 0.5 to 90 % [page 3, lines 13-21; page 4, lines 13-14; claim 151; abstract].
Since KR 2008/0015550A generally taught magnesium oxide as a stabilizer, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include, within the teachings of KR 2008/0015550A, heavy magnesium oxide, as taught by Reddy et al. The ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated to include a conventional stabilizer used in dosage forms manufactured as pharmaceutical tablets, as taught by Reddy [page 3, lines 31-21; page 4, lines 13-14; claim 151; abstract]. Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use. See MPEP 2144.07. In the instant case, it is prima facie obvious to select heavy magnesium oxide for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use as a conventional stabilizer, as taught by Reddy et al.
The instant claim 1 recites a magnesium oxide to ibuprofen mass ratio in a range from 1.25 to 1.5; a drying temperature of 60-70 ºC for 0.5 to 96 hours.
The instant claim 2 recites a magnesium oxide to ibuprofen mass ratio in a range from 1.25 to 1.5.
The instant claim 21 recites a magnesium oxide to ibuprofen mass ratio in a range from 1.25-1.5 and a drying temperature of 60-67.5 ºC.
KR 2008/0015550A taught: the amount of the magnesium oxide at 1 to 95 mass %; the amount of ibuprofen at 1 to 95 mass %. KR 2007/0049962A taught drying at 25-60 ºC for one hour. Reddy taught heavy magnesium oxide, where the heavy magnesium oxide was included in amounts from 0.5 to 90 %. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art", a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05 A.
KR 2008/0015550A, in view of KR 2007/0049962A and Reddy, reads on claims 1-2, 7 and 21.
Further regarding the instant claims 1 and 21, the claim limitations of “obtaining the composition and then drying the composition at a temperature of 60-75 ºC for 0.5 to 96 hours” or “obtaining the formulation by drying at a temperature of 60-67.5 ºC” (claim 21) are interpreted as a product-by-process limitations. Product by process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps.
Even though product-by-process claims are limited by, and defined by, the process, the determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, then the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. In the instant case, the formulation of the combined teachings of the prior art (ibuprofen and magnesium oxide, combined in a mass ratio, and dried at 25-60 ºC for 1 hour) reads on the claimed formulation (ibuprofen and heavy magnesium oxide, combined in a mass ratio, and dried at 60-75 ºC for 0.5 to 96 hours; dried at 60-67.5 ºC). As such, the patentability of the instant composition does not depend on its method of production, and the Applicant’s limitation regarding the process of obtaining the formulation by drying the composition to reduce an unpleasant taste is not patentable, in view of the combined teachings of the prior art. MPEP 2113.
Further regarding claims 1-2 and 22, the instant claims recite “wherein the amount of magnesium oxide in the formulation is sufficient to reduce an unpleasant taste of the ibuprofen”.
The instant specification [0045] disclosed that from the viewpoint of reducing the unpleasant taste, the magnesium oxide content with respect to the total mass of the oral pharmaceutical formulation is 0.1-95 % by mass.
It appears that the compositions of the instant claims (e.g., oral pharmaceutical of ibuprofen and heavy magnesium oxide, wherein the magnesium oxide content is 0.1-95 %) and those of the prior art (e.g., oral formulation comprising ibuprofen and heavy magnesium oxide, with the amount of the magnesium oxide at 1 to 95 mass %) would reasonably be expected to have substantially the same physical and chemical properties (e.g., reduce an unpleasant taste of the ibuprofen). Inherent features need not be recognized at the time of the invention. There is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the time of invention, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference. MPEP 2112 II. It should be noted that a chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. If the prior art teaches the identical chemical compounds, then the properties that the Applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present (see MPEP 2112).
Further regarding claim 2, the instant claim recites reduction of an unpleasant taste of the ibuprofen for at least two minutes when in the mouth of a patient. The instant Specification [0006] disclosed that it is possible to reduce the unpleasant taste of ibuprofen by incorporating ibuprofen and magnesium oxide into an oral formulation at a ratio of the magnesium oxide to ibuprofen at 0.2-1.5.
It appears that the compositions of the instant claims (e.g., oral pharmaceutical of ibuprofen and heavy magnesium oxide at a ratio of magnesium oxide to ibuprofen from 0.125 to 1.5 as claimed in instant claim 2) and those of the prior art (e.g., oral formulation comprising ibuprofen, heavy magnesium oxide, and at least one selected from the group consisting of hydroxypropyl cellulose, carmellose, croscarmellose sodium, carboxymethyl starch sodium, crospovidone, crystalline cellulose and carmellose sodium; the amount of the ibuprofen was 1 to 95 mass %; the amount of the magnesium oxide was 1 to 95 mass %) would reasonably be expected to have substantially the same physical and chemical properties (e.g., reduce an unpleasant taste for at least two minutes).
Inherent features need not be recognized at the time of the invention. There is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the time of invention, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference. MPEP 2112 II. It should be noted that a chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. If the prior art teaches the identical chemical compounds, then the properties that the Applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present (see MPEP 2112).
Claim 17 is rendered prima facie obvious over the teachings of KR 2008/0015550A. The instant claim 17 recites that the magnesium oxide is present in an amount sufficient to inhibit discoloration.
The instant Specification, at ¶ [0045] disclosed that:
“from the viewpoint of reducing the unpleasant taste and inhibiting discoloration in the production step, the magnesium oxide content with respect to the total mass of the inventive oral pharmaceutical formulation is preferably 0.1-95% by mass, more preferably 0.25-85% by mass, even more preferably 0.5-75% by mass, and even more preferably 1-65% by mass. If the inventive oral pharmaceutical formulation is a solid formulation or semi-solid formulation, from the viewpoint of reducing the unpleasant taste and inhibiting discoloration in the production step it is even more preferably 1-55% by mass, and particularly preferably 1-40% by mass….”
KR 2008/0015550A taught: the amount of the magnesium oxide at 1 to 95 mass %; the amount of ibuprofen at 1 to 95 mass %. Reddy taught heavy magnesium oxide, as previously discussed.
Regarding the prior art formulation inhibiting discoloration, it appears that the compositions of the instant claims (tablet comprising heavy magnesium oxide and ibuprofen) and those of the prior art (tablet comprising heavy magnesium oxide and ibuprofen) would reasonably be expected to have substantially the same physical and chemical properties (inhibition of discoloration). This is because the instant Specification disclosed that the inventive formulation inhibits discoloration when magnesium oxide is present at preferably 1-40 mass %; and, the prior art taught formulations containing magnesium oxide present at 1-95 mass %.
Inherent features need not be recognized at the time of the invention. There is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the time of invention, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference. MPEP 2112 II. It should be noted that a chemical composition (magnesium oxide) and its properties (inhibition of discoloration) are inseparable. If the prior art teaches the identical chemical compounds, then the properties that the Applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present (see MPEP 2112).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argued that the drying conditions recited in claim 1 are not merely incidental process parameters; rather, they are manufacturing conditions that materially affect the resulting pharmaceutical composition, and therefore must be considered when assessing patentability. Applicant cited to KR '962, at Examples 1-3 and Table 4, to argue that formulation and processing conditions materially affect the resulting product characteristics, including taste masking.
The Examiner disagrees. The Applicant has not identified any distinctive structural characteristics between the claimed pharmaceutical, and the pharmaceutical of the combined prior art. It does not appear that the claimed composition of ibuprofen and heavy magnesium, dried at 60-75 ºC for 0.5 to 96 hours, with magnesium oxide and ibuprofen at a mass ratio of 1.25-1.5, and with an amount of magnesium oxide sufficient to reduce an unpleasant taste of ibuprofen, differs by structural characteristics with the composition of the combined prior at, and the Applicant has not shown as much.
The Examiner disagrees that the instant claims are patentably different than the combined teachings of the prior art, and the Examiner maintains that the Invention and the combined prior art are not structurally different. The Examiner maintains that the product-by-process claims instantly recited in claims 1-2 do not receive patentable weight over the combined teachings of the cited art.
Applicant argued that KR’962 lists magnesium oxide in a list that includes commonly used antacids; the skilled artisan would recognize that KR ‘962 teaches use of magnesium oxide as an antacid.
The Examiner responds that KR’962 taught magnesium oxide as a pharmacologically active substance [see the body of the rejection for citation]. Contrary to the allegations of the Applicant, the ordinarily skilled artisan would recognize KR ‘962 for its teachings. KR’962's disclosure of a multitude of combinations (e.g., list that includes commonly used antacids) does not necessarily render any particular formulation (e.g., magnesium oxide) as less obvious.
Applicant argued that KR ‘550 and KR ‘962 do not teach heavy magnesium oxide, as required.
The Examiner responds that KR ‘550 and KR ‘962 were not relied upon for teaching heavy magnesium oxide, as that was a feature taught by the combination of the references with Reddy et al. One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually, where the rejections were based on combinations of references. See MPEP 2145(IV). In the instant case, Reddy taught heavy magnesium oxide, conventionally used in dosage forms manufactured as pharmaceutical tablets.
Applicant argued that the Office has not identified any teaching in Reddy suggesting that heavy magnesium oxide should be substituted for the magnesium oxide used in ibuprofen-antacid formulations, much less that such substitution would provide taste masking of ibuprofen.
The Examiner disagrees that a substitution rationale was used in the rejection of the claims. Rather, a motivation to include rationale was used in the claim rejection. Regarding the taste masking limitation of the claim, the Examiner maintains an inherency rationale [see the body of the rejection].
Applicant argued that, at the time of the invention, KR '550 in view of KR '982 and Reddy, would not lead the skilled artisan to formulations that use ibuprofen and heavy magnesium oxide, as heavy magnesium oxide was not commonly used as an antacid. The skilled artisan would not have been motivated to use heavy magnesium oxide in formulations designed to be an antacid. Thus, KR '550 in view of KR '982 and Reddy would not lead to the claimed invention.
The Examiner disagrees. The rejection relied upon (Reddy et al) heavy magnesium oxide as a conventional stabilizer in pharmaceutical formulations, included in amounts of from 0.5 to 90 %. The ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated to include Reddy’s magnesium oxide as a conventional stabilizer within KR ‘555, because KR ‘555 generally taught magnesium oxide as a stabilizer. The combined teachings of the prior art (KR '550 in view of KR '982 and Reddy) meet the claim limitations, and as such, the instant invention is not considered patentably distinct from the combined teachings of the art.
Applicant argued that the cited prior art does not mention taste masking, and so cannot be used for inherency.
The Examiner responds that the art does not have to mention a property (taste-masking) that naturally follows a chemical compound. The combined art teaches the same compounds (ibuprofen, heavy magnesium oxide) at amounts that fall within the claimed range, and within the claimed parameters (temperature, drying). If the prior art teaches the identical chemical compounds, then the properties that the Applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present [see MPEP 2112].
Applicant argued that KR ‘550 disclosed that its compositions are obtained by drying without specifying drying conditions; KR '962 discloses formulations containing ibuprofen and caffeine "obtained by wet granulation of ibuprofen, caffeine, crystalline cellulose and a water- soluble polymer, followed by drying; KR '962 does not disclose or suggest formulations containing heavy magnesium oxide; KR '962 does not disclose or suggest that 60-75°C should be used for drying. Rather, KR '962 leads the skilled artisan to use a lower temperature, and that drying at 50 ºC for one hour is sufficient.
The Examiner responds that KR ‘550 was not relied upon to teach the drying conditions. The Applicant is reminded that one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually, where the rejections were based on combinations of references. See MPEP 2145 IV. In the instant case, KR ‘555 generally taught drying; KR ‘962 taught an adjustable drying temperature of 25-60 ºC for one hour. Furthermore, the passage of KR’962 pointed to by the Applicant disclosed a preferable temperature of 50 ºC; however, the Examiner reminds the Applicant that KR’962 is not limited to preferred examples, where nonpreferred and alternative embodiments also constitute prior art. See MPEP 2123II. Furthermore, KR '962’s teachings of ingredients pointed to by the Applicant, were neither relied upon for the rejection, nor excluded by the claims.
Applicant argued that Reddy does not disclose or suggest drying conditions.
The Examiner responds that Reddy was not relied upon for drying. The Examiner reminds the Applicant against attacking references individually, where the rejection was based on a combination of prior art.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 2008/0015550A, in view of KR 2007/0049962 A, further in view of Reddy et al (WO 2006/134611 A1) and further in view of JP 2007/023026A.
The 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection over KR 2008/0015550A, KR 2007/0049962 A was Reddy was previously described.
The English translation of KR 2008/0015550A does not make clear the amount of ibuprofen in mg, as recited in the instant claim 8.
Nevertheless, JP 2007/023026A taught ibuprofen and magnesium oxide administered simultaneously as a formulation, where the dose of ibuprofen is usually 50 mg to 250 mg [page 6/18, 4th and 5th paragraphs]. Tablets were taught at page 7/18, 1st full paragraph.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include, within the teachings of KR 2008/0015550A, ibuprofen in a range of 50 to 250 mg, as taught by JP 2007/023026A. The ordinarily skilled artisan would have been so motivated, because the dose of ibuprofen is usually 50 mg to 250 mg, as known in the art [JP 2007/023026A at page 6/18, 4th and 5th paragraphs].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argued that JP 2007/023026A does not cure the deficiencies of the combination of the cited prior art.
The Examiner disagrees that the combination of the cited prior art is deficient.
Claims 20 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 2008/0015550A, in view of KR 2007/0049962 A, further in view of Reddy et al (WO 2006/134611 A1) and further in view of Catania et al (USP 5,633,006 A).
The 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection over KR 2008/0015550A, KR 2007/0049962 A and Reddy was previously described.
Although KR 2008/0015550A generally taught tablets, where an unpleasant taste of the drug (ibuprofen) was known in the art, as previously discussed, KR 2008/0015550A was not specific chewable tablets, as recited in claim 20; overnight drying, as recited in claim 23.
Catania taught a pharmaceutical composition having reduced bitterness, comprising a bitter pharmaceutical agent (e.g., ibuprofen, at [col 4, line 54]), a taste-masking component and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier. The taste-masking component was an alkaline earth oxide (e.g., magnesium oxide, at [col 2, line 59]), [abstract]. The compositions were capable of being chewed without the production of a bitter taste or aftertaste [col 1, lines 13-15], in order to increase patient compliance [col 1, lines 52-64], since ibuprofen is known in the art as one of the most bitter pharmaceutical agents [col 1, lines 17-27]. Chewable compositions disclosed therein were produced by wet granulation, and dried overnight [see Example 2].
Since KR 2008/0015550A generally taught ibuprofen tablets, where an unpleasant taste of ibuprofen was known in the art, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include, within KR 2008/0015550A’s general teaching of tablets, chewable tablets, as taught by Catania. The ordinarily skilled artisan would have been so motivated, because Catania’s ibuprofen tablets were capable of being chewed without the production of a bitter taste or aftertaste, in order to increase patient compliance [Catania, at col 1, lines 13-15; 17-27; 52-64].
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to dry the granulate overnight, as taught by Catania. The ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated to obtain the tablet, as taught by Catania.
The instant claim 23 recites a magnesium oxide to ibuprofen mass ratio in a range from 1.25 to 1.5; a drying time of two to fifteen hours or overnight.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argued that Catania does not cure the deficiencies of the combination of the cited prior art.
The Examiner disagrees that the combination of the cited prior art is deficient.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CELESTE A RONEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612