DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's submission filed on April 27, 2026, has been entered. Claims 1-5 and 7-18 are pending in the application. Of the pending claims, claims 13-15 are withdrawn from consideration. The previous claim objections and 112 rejections have been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 27, 2026, have been fully considered.
First, Applicant argues that the present amendment now provides structural detail necessary to overcome the cited references. In particular, applicant asserts that the hole is centrally disposed in the bottom contact surface, is circular, and has a diameter in a range from 20% to 60% of a maximum lateral extend of the bottom contact surface so as to define a closed annular bonding region around the hole. Respectfully, while the amendments do provide additional structure to the claim, the additional recited structure does not overcome the cited prior art.
The Examiner appreciates the amendments presented to overcome the arguments presented emphasizing a lack of structure in the claims, however, the Examiner maintains that the asserted bonding and weight-reduction effects are rendered obvious by the structure of Kriesel. Applicant suggests that Kreisel does not teach a specific relationship of the circular hole, the diameter of the hole being a fraction of the entire diameter of the bottom contact surface, and the remaining pad necessary to form a closed annular bonding region. However, Kreisel does disclose a circular hole, a diameter of the hole being smaller than the entire diameter of the bottom contact surface, and a remaining surface area surrounding the hole to form the closed bonding region, as shown in Fig. 5B. Therefore, Applicant’s arguments regarding the explicit and concrete structural parameters are not persuasive over the structure possessed by Kriesel.
Second, Applicant argues that the Kreisel discloses spring arms that grip the outer casing of the cell and make contact with the negative pole of the inserted battery cell, but does not disclose an axially recessed, radially stepped cup-shaped end region distinct form the cylindrical wall, nor arm ends that are specifically shaped and positioned to overlap such a recessed cup in both radial and axial directions. Respectfully, the Examiner is not persuaded that the recited structure of the spring arms 26 extending radially outward and bent axially upward to grip the outer surface of an end region of round cell in Fig. 5 of the present invention is different from the spring arms 6a in Fig. 2B of Kriesel extending radially outward and bent axially upward to grip the outer surface of the end region of the round cell. Therefore, applicant’s arguments directed to the structure of the spring arms are not persuasive.
Third, Applicant argues that Kreisel in view of Mayer does not disclose that the contact elements and connecting webs are produced form a common punch-bent part in which the contact elements are three-dimensionally formed out of the plane of a sheet metal and the connecting webs extend between adjacent contact elements at a different elevation than the bottom contact surfaces to mechanically bridge the contact elements as discrete structures.
However, Kreisel discloses the three-dimensional structure of the contact elements having protruding bottom contact surfaces and spring structures. Mayer discloses a method of punching, wherein the combination renders obvious a plurality of contact elements produced from a common punch part with each contact element connected together by a connecting section. Mayer does disclose three-dimensionally formed contact elements that are bent out of the plane P of the contact plate 10, as shown in Fig. 3, preferably by a method of punching ([0047]). The connecting sections 21 are at a different elevation than the holding sections 40 (Fig. 3). The connecting sections 21 remain between the individual arrangement areas 15 and connect adjacent arrangement areas 15, i.e., mechanically bridges adjacent contact elements ([0047]). The holding sections may involve bending the holding sections from the plate plane in the direction of the upper side of the plate body, wherein the holding sections can also be configured with a certain spring effect ([0025]).
Therefore, Applicant’s arguments directed to Kreisel in view of Mayer not meeting the structural configuration are not persuasive.
Applicant additionally argues that Kreisel in view of Xu does not disclose a segmented spring ring with circumferential gaps that extend completely through the spring ring. As discussed below, the present invention does not appear to have support for a segmented spring ring that is structurally different from the annular ring piece 101 of Xu. The spring ring 40 of the present invention shown in Fig. 10 is a continuous annular ring that entirely surrounds the spring arms 26. Therefore, the structure disclosed in Xu of annular ring piece 101 reads on the claimed spring ring of the present invention shown in Fig. 10.
Regarding claims 3 and 9, Applicant suggests that the addition of stiffening beads for compensating mechanical stresses is not taught or suggested by the cited references, i.e., Kreisel, Mayer, or Xu. However, Applicant did not address the additionally cited reference (Heimuller ‘431) which teaches contact springs for use as connectors in automotive technology ([0002]). The box-shaped contact part 1 in Fig. 6 is shown with bottom wall 11 and top wall 15 each having a stiffening bead 35 to relieve the load on the support arms 21 and 23 ([0032]). As a result, spring arms 25 and 27 can be supported with their distal ends on the stiffening beads 35, and are protecting from over bending ([0032]).
Therefore, Applicant’s arguments suggesting that the cited references do not disclose the recited stiffening beads are not persuasive in view of Heimuller (previously cited).
Regarding claim 7, Applicant suggests that the cited references, i.e., Kreisel, Mayer, and Xu, do not disclose the hybrid punch-bent part. However, Applicant did not address the additionally cited reference (Fees ‘825), which discloses a battery module having a plurality of battery cells that are connected in series (abstract) via a multi-layer contact plate ([0076]). A two-layer contact plate may be used in which there is a cell terminal connection layer being secured to a single conductive layer ([0069]), wherein the cell terminal connection layer is made of the same material or a different material from the at least one primary conductive layer ([0070]). For example, the cell terminal connection layer may be made of a less conductive material such as steel, while the at least one primary conductive layer may be made of conductive material such as aluminum or copper, two layers having structural differences based on the selection of materials ([0070]).
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 20 of claim 1, “engaged” should recite “engage”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5, 7-12, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1 and 18 recite “the hole having a diameter in a range from 20% to 60% of a maximum lateral extent of the bottom contact surface”. There does not appear to be support for this limitation in the specification. The specification states that the holes 30, which are centrally disposed, as shown in Fig. 4, can favor a cohesive connection between the contact elements 24 and the positive pole 22 of the round cells 16. However, there not appear to be any support for a particular diameter, specifically within the claimed range from 20% to 60%, or size, which may contribute to the asserted cohesive connection. The holes 30 appear to have the same diameter or size in all of the Figures. There does not appear to be any variation of the diameter within the claimed range that is supported by the specification.
Claim 1 recites “the spring ring being formed as a series of circumferentially arranged but interrupted segments that apply a distributed preload to the spring arms to reinforce the force-locking engagement, adjacent segments being separated by circumferential gaps extending completely through the ring in a circumferential direction, wherein the geometry and the gaps between the segments of the spring ring prevent continuous circumferential engagement and provided enhanced resilience and mechanical stability”.
Claim 10 recites “the spring ring being formed as a series of circumferentially arranged but interrupted segments that applies a distributed preload to the spring arms to reinforce the force-locking engagement, wherein the geometry and discontinuity of the spring ring prevent continuous circumferential engagement and provide enhanced resilience and mechanical stability”.
Claims 18 recites “the spring ring being formed as a series of circumferentially arranged but interrupted segments that apply a distributed preload to the spring arms to reinforce the force-locking engagement, adjacent ones of the segments being separated by circumferential gaps extending completely through the ring in a circumferential direction such that the gaps between the segments prevent continuous circumferential engagement and provided enhanced resilience and mechanical stability, the spring ring configured to reinforce the force locking connection”.
For the spring ring limitations of claims 1, 10, and 18, there does not appear to be any support in the specification or the drawings for a spring ring having a series of interrupted segments separated by gaps extending completely through the spring ring. Rather, as shown in Fig. 10, the spring ring 40 appears to be a single annular ring that entirely surrounds the spring arms 26 with continuous circumferential engagement.
Claims 2-5, 7-12, and 16-17 are rejected for being dependent upon a rejected base claim.
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 was amended to recite “the at least one cell connector comprising a plurality of electrically conductive contact elements and a plurality of spring arms and connecting webs as defined in claim 1, the spring arms being arranged in the at least one cell connector and configured to produce a force-locking connection of a respective cell cup of the round cells”, without removing the corresponding limitations already claimed in claim 10 (previously an independent claim).
Claim 10 includes a plurality of redundant limitations that render the scope of the claim indefinite based on the incorporation of the limitations defined in claim 1.
Claims 11-12 are rejected for being dependent upon a rejected base claim.
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 10 was amended to recite “the at least one cell connector comprising a plurality of electrically conductive contact elements and a plurality of spring arms and connecting webs as defined in claim 1, the spring arms being arranged in the at least one cell connector and configured to produce a force-locking connection of a respective cell cup of the round cells”, without removing the corresponding limitations already claimed in claim 10 (previously an independent claim).
Claim 10 fails to further limit the subject matter of claim 1. Claims 11-12 are rejected for being dependent upon a rejected base claim.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 8, 16, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 3096372 A1 (Kreisel ‘372 – citing to the previously attached English translation) in view of US 20200343512 A1 (Mayer ‘512 – claiming foreign priority to DE 102017219768.4 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) with an effective filing date of November 7, 2017), and further in view of CN 107240667 A (Xu ‘667 – citing to the previously attached English translation).
Regarding claim 1, Kreisel ‘372 teaches a cell connector for electric-conductively connecting round cells of a battery (as shown in Fig. 1A, a battery storage system 100 comprising two battery storage modules 10 stacked one above the other, wherein the battery storage modules 10 each have a plurality of round individual battery cells 1 of the round cell type that are electrically conductively connected via a plurality of contact springs 6; [0016], [0029] & [0035]) for a motor vehicle (the battery storage system is used in an electrically driven vehicle; [0027]), comprising:
a plurality of electrically conductive contact elements (a plurality of contact springs 6; [0035], Fig. 5B, Fig. 5D, & Fig. 5E) each configured to connect two of the round cells in series on an end face (serial electrical connection of the individual battery cells 1 is achieved on an end face; [0036], Fig. 1A, Fig. 1B, Fig. 2A, & Fig. 2B), wherein the electrically conductive contact elements each have:
a bottom contact surface configured to form a cohesive bonded connection to a respective cell cap (the contact springs 6 are conductively and mechanically connected to a positive pole of the associated individual battery cell 1 by means of a laser welding method, having a bottom contact surface, as shown in Fig. 2B and Fig. 5A; [0035]),
the bottom contact surface comprising a hole therethrough, the hole having a circumference fully defined by the bottom contact surface, the hole being centrally disposed in the bottom contact surface and having a circular shape and a diameter in a range from 20% to 60% of a maximum lateral extend of the bottom contact surface so as to define ca closed annular bonding region around the hole, the hole being arranged such that material removal within the range reduces a weight of the contact element while maintaining a continuous bonding region configured to enhance a cohesive bonding area and facilitate controlled bonding characteristics (the bottom contact surface of the contact spring 6 has a circular hole in the center thereof; Fig. 5B; the hole present in the contact spring 6 resulting in reduced weight compared a contact spring of the same size and shape with no hole),
wherein each contact element further comprises a plurality of spring arms extending from the bottom contact surface, each spring arm having a defined curvature, engagement angle, and alignment with respect to the contact element axis (as shown in Fig. 5, the spring arms 6 a extend from the bottom contact surface of the contact spring 6), the spring arms being bent radially outward and axially toward the bottom contact surface to form respective end regions that are positioned to engage an axially recessed, cup-shaped end region of a respective round cell (the spring arms 6 a are bent radially outward and axially toward the bottom contact surface and are configured to engage the bottom, negative pole, of the battery cell 1 when the cell 1 is inserted into the contact spring 6, as shown in Fig. 2B; the inserted battery cell 1 is gripped by a restoring force via the spring arms 6 a of a respective contact spring 6; [0035] & Fig. 2B; the cell cup being interpreted as the negative pole/bottom end of the battery cell 1; Fig. 2B; as shown in Fig. 2B, Fig. 5A, and Fig. 5B, the spring arms 6a of the contact spring 6 have a longitudinal slot that allows for a mechanically fixed, conductive, and non-detachable connection to the individual battery cells 1; [0035]).
Kreisel ‘372 does not disclose a plurality of electrically conductive connecting webs which interconnect the structurally defined electrically conductive contact elements arranged in groups, wherein the electrically conductive contact elements and connecting webs are produced from a common punch-bent part in which the contact elements are three-dimensionally formed out of the plane of a sheet metal and the connecting webs extend between adjacent contact elements at a different elevation than the bottom contact surfaces to mechanically bridge the contact elements as discrete structures.
Mayer ‘512 discloses a contact plate 10 comprising a plate body 11 made of an electrically conductive plate material 12 having a large number of arrangement areas 15 defined on the plate body 11 ([0047] & Fig. 3). Connecting sections 21 remain between the individual arrangement areas 15, which ensures electrical parallel connection when the manufactured contact plate is later used in a battery stack 1 ([0047] & Fig. 2). The contact sections 30 of the contact plate 10 are electrically conductively connected to the battery cells 3 of the lower battery level 2, for example, laser-welded ([0051]). The battery cells 3 of the upper battery level are placed on the holding sections 40 of the contact plate 10 and are held securely by these in a force-fitting manner at the same time contacted in an electrically conductive manner ([0051]). The contact plate 10 may be installed with an insulation element 50 ([0051] & Fig. 8). The connecting sections 21 are at a different elevation than the holding sections 40 (Fig. 3). The holding sections may involve bending the holding sections from the plate plane in the direction of the upper side of the plate body, wherein the holding sections can also be configured with a certain spring effect ([0025]).
The contact plate 10 can be produced by a method of punching, because the removal of the plate material 12 to create the contact securing section 31 as well as the holding securing section 41, to create the arrangement spaces 20, may be produced by a method of punching ([0032], [0047], & [0048]). As a result, simplification of the production of a contact plate 10 and reduction of production costs can be achieved ([0048]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide a plurality of electrically conductive connecting webs which interconnect the structurally defined contact elements arranged in groups at a different elevation than the bottom contact surfaces, wherein the contact elements and connecting webs are produced from a common punch-bent part, to simplify production and ensure parallel connection, as suggested by Mayer ‘512, in the cell connector, as taught by Kreisel ‘372.
Kreisel ‘372 does not disclose a spring ring disposed about the outer circumference of the spring arms, the spring ring formed as a series of circumferentially arranged but interrupted segments that applies a distributed preload to the spring arms to reinforce the force-locking engagement, adjacent segments being separated by circumferential gaps extending completely through the ring in a circumferential direction, wherein geometry and the gaps between the segments of the spring ring prevent continuous circumferential engagement and provide enhanced resilience and mechanical stability.
Xu ‘667 discloses a battery sheet 1 having a plurality of contact elements (Fig. 2), wherein the battery sheet 1 is made of steel ([0024]). Each contact element (Fig. 6) includes a plurality of arms 101b extending upward from the film 102 having a protrusion 102a punched in the central portion of the film 102, wherein the protrusion is circular so as to insert the battery terminal, achieving good contact ([0058] & [0066]). The contact element further includes an annular ring piece 101 fixedly connected to the arms 101b extending upward from the film 102, as shown in Fig. 6 ([0058]). The ring piece 101 extends along an outer circumference of the upwardly extending arms 101b (Fig. 6).
The contact element of Fig. 6 including the ring piece 101 has high structural strength and provides strong battery enclosing force (abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the cell connector, as taught by Kreisel ‘372, to include a spring ring surrounding the spring arms of the contact element along an outer circumference, as suggested by Xu ‘667, to provide high structural strength and strong battery enclosing force.
Regarding product and apparatus claims, when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. The Courts have held that it is well settled that where there is a reason to believe that a functional characteristic would be inherent in the prior art, the burden of proof then shifts to the applicant to provide objective evidence to the contrary. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (see MPEP § 2114 I.).
Regarding claim 2, Kreisel ‘372 teaches the cell connector according to claim 1, further comprising a voltage tap configured for balancing the rounds cell and formed on one of the externally arranged contact elements (a connector section 16 formed and extending from the connection sections 21 of the arrangement areas 15, wherein the connection section 16 may later be used for connecting a control and/or monitoring unit for controlled operation of battery stack 1; [0047] & Fig. 2 of Mayer ‘512).
The balancing, as described in paragraph [0010] of the presently filed specification, corresponds to monitoring the voltages of the parallel connected rounds cells among each other via the voltage tape, to avoid having to monitor the voltage of each cell individually. As such, the connector section 16, as shown in Fig. 2 of Mayer ‘512, is capable of monitoring the voltage of a group of battery cells connected in parallel.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide a voltage tap configured for balancing the rounds cell and formed on one of the externally arranged contact elements, to be connected to a monitoring unit for controlled operation of the battery stack, as suggested by Mayer ‘512, in the cell connector, as taught by Kreisel ‘372.
Regarding claim 4, Kreisel ‘372 teaches the cell connector according to claim 1, wherein the spring arms have one longitudinal slot in order to favor a flat flitting to the respective lateral surfaces of the cell cups of the round cells (as shown in Fig. 2B, Fig. 5A, and Fig. 5B, the spring arms 6a of the contact spring 6 have a longitudinal slot that allows for a mechanically fixed, conductive, and non-detachable connection to the individual battery cells 1; [0035] of Kreisel ‘372).
Regarding claim 5, Kreisel ‘372 teaches the cell connector according to claim 1, wherein the floor-side bottom contact surfaces of the contact elements are raised (the bottom contact surface of the contact spring 6 having a hole in the center thereof, is raised in the opposite direction of the spring arms, as shown in Fig. 5A of Kreisel ‘372, corresponding to disclosure of paragraph [0013] of the presently filed specification, wherein the bottom contact surface is raised in the opposite direction to the direction in which the spring arms extend).
Regarding claim 8, Kreisel 372 teaches the cell connector according to claim 1, wherein the contact elements are arranged in a plurality of rows and columns with respect to one another (as shown in Fig. 2B, Fig. 5D, and Fig. 5E of Kreisel 372, there are a plurality of contact springs 6 that are arranged in a plurality of rows and columns, because the individual battery cells 1 can be arranged in rows and columns to form a rectangular shape; [0040] & Fig. 6A; representing one of the possible arrangements) and the contact elements which are each directly adjacent by means of one of the connecting webs are interconnected (in view Mayer ‘512, connecting sections 21 remain between the individual arrangement areas 15, which ensures electrical parallel connection when the manufactured contact plate is later used in a battery stack 1 ([0047] & Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide that the contact elements are arranged in a plurality of rows and columns with respect to one another and that the contact elements which are each directly adjacent by means of one of the connecting webs are interconnected, to ensure parallel connection, as suggested by Mayer ‘512, in the cell connector, as taught by Kreisel ‘372.
Regarding claim 16, Kreisel ‘372 teaches the cell connector according to claim 1, wherein the bottom contact surface is configured to produce a cohesive bonded connection to a respective cell cap of the round cells by way of laser welding (the contact springs 6 are conductively and mechanically connected to a positive pole of the associated individual battery cell 1 by means of a laser welding method, having a bottom contact surface, as shown in Fig. 2B and Fig. 5A; [0035] of Kreisel ‘372).
Regarding claim 17, Kreisel ‘372 teaches the cell connector according to claim 1, further comprising an insulator configured and arranged to guard against a short circuit between individual round cells (an insulation element 50 may be arranged between the plate body of the contact plate and the battery cells of the upper battery level, for example, for thermal and/or electrical insulation; [0026], [0050] - [0051], Fig. 7, & Fig. 8 of Mayer ‘512).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide an insulator configured and arranged to guard against a short circuit between individual round cells, for electrical insulation, as suggested by Mayer ‘512, in the cell connector, as taught by Kreisel ‘372.
Regarding claim 18, Kreisel ‘372 teaches a cell connector for electric-conductively connecting round cells of a battery (as shown in Fig. 1A, a battery storage system 100 comprising two battery storage modules 10 stacked one above the other, wherein the battery storage modules 10 each have a plurality of round individual battery cells 1 of the round cell type that are electrically conductively connected via a plurality of contact springs 6; [0016], [0029] & [0035]) for a motor vehicle (the battery storage system is used in an electrically driven vehicle; [0027]), comprising:
a plurality of electrically conductive contact elements (a plurality of contact springs 6; [0035] & Fig. 5B), wherein the contact elements each have a bottom contact surface configured to produce a cohesive bonded connection to a respective cell cap of the round cells (the contact springs 6 are conductively and mechanically connected to a positive pole of the associated individual battery cell 1 by means of a laser welding method, having a bottom contact surface, as shown in Fig. 2B and Fig. 5A; [0035]), wherein the bottom contact surface comprising a hole therethrough, wherein the hole having a circumference fully defined by the bottom contact surface, the hole being centrally disposed in the bottom contact surface and having a defined diameter and shape optimized to enhance a cohesive bonding area and facilitate controlled bonding characteristics (the bottom contact surface of the contact spring 6 has a circular hole in the center thereof; Fig. 5B), the hole being circular and having a diameter in a range from 20% to 60% of a maximum lateral extent of the bottom contact surface so as to define a closed annular bonding region around the hole and to reduce a weight of the contact element while maintaining a continuous bonding region configured to enhance a cohesive bonding area and facilitate the controlled bonding characteristics (the bottom contact surface of the contact spring 6 has a hole in the center thereof; Fig. 5B; the hole present in the contact spring 6 resulting in reduced weight compared a contact spring of the same size and shape with no hole; the bonded connection achieved by the disclosed welding method, wherein weight reduction is achieved by the presence of a hole in the contact spring 6), and
wherein each contact element further comprises a plurality of spring arms extending from the bottom contact surface, each spring arm having a defined curvature, engagement angle, and alignment with respect to the contact element axis (as shown in Fig. 5, the spring arms 6 a extend from the bottom contact surface of the contact spring 6), wherein the plurality of spring arms are configured and arranged to produce a force locking connection to a respective cell cup of the round cells (the inserted battery cell 1 is gripped by a restoring force via the spring arms 6 a; [0035] & Fig. 2B), the cell cup being structurally distinct from a cylindrical wall and comprising a cup-shaped structure that is axially recessed at an end of the round cell and radially stepped relative to the cylindrical cell wall and configured to receive and support an end of the respective round cell, such that the spring arms engage the cell cup with contract portions overlapping the cup-shaped structure in both radial and axial directions to provide radial and axial retention forces (the spring arms 6 a are bent radially outward and axially toward the bottom contact surface and are configured to engage the bottom, negative pole, of the battery cell 1 when the cell 1 is inserted into the contact spring 6, as shown in Fig. 2B; the inserted battery cell 1 is gripped by a restoring force via the spring arms 6 a of a respective contact spring 6; [0035] & Fig. 2B; the cell cup being interpreted as the negative pole/bottom end of the battery cell 1; Fig. 2B; as shown in Fig. 2B, Fig. 5A, and Fig. 5B, the spring arms 6a of the contact spring 6 have a longitudinal slot that allows for a mechanically fixed, conductive, and non-detachable connection to the individual battery cells 1; [0035]).
Kreisel ‘372 does not disclose a plurality of electrically conductive connecting webs arranged so as to interconnect the electrically conductive contact elements arranged in groups, wherein the electrically conductive contact elements and connecting webs are produced from a common punch-bent part in which the contact elements are three-dimensionally formed out of the plane of a sheet metal and the connecting webs extend between adjacent contact elements at a different elevation than the bottom contact surfaces.
Mayer ‘512 discloses a contact plate 10 comprising a plate body 11 made of an electrically conductive plate material 12 having a large number of arrangement areas 15 defined on the plate body 11 ([0047] & Fig. 3). Connecting sections 21 remain between the individual arrangement areas 15, which ensures electrical parallel connection when the manufactured contact plate is later used in a battery stack 1 ([0047] & Fig. 2). The contact sections 30 of the contact plate 10 are electrically conductively connected to the battery cells 3 of the lower battery level 2, for example, laser-welded ([0051]). The battery cells 3 of the upper battery level are placed on the holding sections 40 of the contact plate 10 and are held securely by these in a force-fitting manner at the same time contacted in an electrically conductive manner ([0051]). The contact plate 10 may be installed with an insulation element 50 ([0051] & Fig. 8).
The contact plate 10 can be produced by a method of punching, because the removal of the plate material 12 to create the contact securing section 31 as well as the holding securing section 41, to create the arrangement spaces 20, may be produced by a method of punching ([0032, [0047], & [0048]). As a result, simplification of the production of a contact plate 10 and reduction of production costs can be achieved ([0048]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide a plurality of electrically conductive connecting webs which interconnect the contact elements arranged in groups, wherein the contact elements and connecting webs are produced from a common punch-bent part, to simplify production and ensure parallel connection, as suggested by Mayer ‘512, in the cell connector, as taught by Kreisel ‘372.
Kreisel ‘372 does not disclose a spring ring connected to the spring arms and arranged to surround the spring arms of the respective contact elements along an outer circumference of the springs arms abutting the round cells, the spring ring being formed as a series of circumferentially arranged but interrupted segments that applies a distributed preload to the spring arms to reinforce the force-locking engagement, adjacent ones of the segments being separated by circumferential gaps extending completely through the spring ring in a circumferential direction, such that the gaps between the segments prevent continuous circumferential engagement and provide enhanced resilience and mechanical stability, the spring ring configured to reinforce the force locking connection.
Xu ‘667 discloses a battery sheet 1 having a plurality of contact elements (Fig. 2), wherein the battery sheet 1 is made of steel ([0024]). Each contact element (Fig. 6) includes a plurality of arms 101b extending upward from the film 102 having a protrusion 102a punched in the central portion of the film 102, wherein the protrusion is circular so as to insert the battery terminal, achieving good contact ([0058] & [0066]). The contact element further includes an annular ring piece 101 fixedly connected to the arms 101b extending upward from the film 102, as shown in Fig. 6 ([0058]). The ring piece 101 extends along an outer circumference of the upwardly extending arms 101b (Fig. 6).
The contact element of Fig. 6 including the ring piece 101 has high structural strength and provides strong battery enclosing force (abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the cell connector, as taught by Kreisel ‘372, to include a spring ring arranged to surround the spring arms of the respective contact elements along an outer circumference of the springs arms abutting the round cells, the spring ring configured to reinforce the force locking connection, as suggested by Xu ‘667, to provide high structural strength and strong battery enclosing force.
Regarding product and apparatus claims, when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. The Courts have held that it is well settled that where there is a reason to believe that a functional characteristic would be inherent in the prior art, the burden of proof then shifts to the applicant to provide objective evidence to the contrary. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (see MPEP § 2114 I.).
Claims 10, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 3096372 A1 (Kreisel ‘372 – citing to the previously attached English translation) in view of US 20200343512 A1 (Mayer ‘512 – claiming foreign priority to DE 102017219768.4 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) with an effective filing date of November 7, 2017).
Regarding claim 10, Kreisel ‘372 teaches a battery for a motor vehicle (a battery storage system for use in an electrically driven vehicle; [0027]), comprising a plurality of round cells (plurality of individual battery cells 1 of the round cell type; [0029] & Fig. 6) electrically conductively connected to one another by means of at least one cell connector (as shown in Fig. 1A, a battery storage system 100 comprising two battery storage modules 10 stacked one above the other, wherein the battery storage modules 10 each have a plurality of round individual battery cells 1 that are electrically conductively connected via a plurality of
contact springs 6; [0016], [0029], [0035]),
the at least one cell connector comprising a plurality of electrically conductive contact elements and a plurality of spring arms and connecting webs as defined in claim 1 (see claim 1), each contact element having a bottom contact surface and a plurality of spring arms extending from the bottom contact surface (the contact spring 6 having a plurality of spring arms 6 a; [0035] & Fig. 5B), the spring arms each having a defined curvature, engagement angle, and alignment with respect to the contact element axis (as shown in Fig. 5, the spring arms 6 a extend from the bottom contact surface of the contact spring 6), the spring arms being configured to engage a cell cup (the spring arms 6 a are configured to engage the bottom, negative pole, of the battery cell 1 when the cell 1 is inserted into the contact spring 6, as shown in Fig. 2B) that is structurally distinct from a cylindrical cell wall (the cell cup being interpreted as the negative pole/bottom end of the battery cell 1; Fig. 2B) and configured to receive and support an end of the respective round cell such that the spring arms provide radial and axial retention forces (the inserted battery cell 1 is gripped by a restoring force via the spring arms 6 a of contact spring 6; [0035] & Fig. 2B);
structurally defined contact elements arranged in groups in the at least one cell connector (an arrangement of a plurality of contact springs 6 relative to one another of a battery storage module is shown in Fig. 5D & Fig. 5E; [0037]),
wherein the electrically conductive contact elements are configured to connect two of the round cells in series on an end face (serial electrical connection of the individual battery cells 1 is achieved on an end face; [0036], Fig. 1A, Fig. 1B, Fig. 2A, & Fig. 2B), wherein each of the contact elements comprises a bottom contact surface configured to form a cohesive bonded connection to a respective cell cap (the contact springs 6 are conductively and mechanically connected to a positive pole of the associated individual battery cell 1 by means of a laser welding method, having a bottom contact surface, as shown in Fig. 2B and Fig. 5A; [0035]), wherein the bottom contact surface comprises a centrally disposed hole therethrough (the bottom contact surface of the contact spring 6 has a circular hole disposed in the center thereof; Fig. 5B), the hole having a defined diameter and shape optimized to enhance bonding area, promote controlled bonding characteristics, and reduce weight (the contact springs 6 are furthermore non-detachably connected to a positive pole of the associated individual battery cell 1 by means of a laser welding method to ensure a fixed positioning of the individual battery cell 1; [0017]; the holes present in the contact spring 6 resulting in reduced weight compared a contact spring of the same size and shape with no holes).
Kreisel ‘372 does not disclose a plurality of electrically conductive connecting webs arranged so as to interconnect the contact elements arranged, wherein the contact elements and connecting webs are produced from a common punch-bent part in which the contact elements are three-dimensionally formed out of a plane of a sheet metal and the connecting webs extend between adjacent contact elements at a different elevation than the bottom contact surfaces.
Mayer ‘512 discloses a contact plate 10 comprising a plate body 11 made of an electrically conductive plate material 12 having a large number of arrangement areas 15 defined on the plate body 11 ([0047] & Fig. 3). Connecting sections 21 remain between the individual arrangement areas 15, which ensures electrical parallel connection when the manufactured contact plate is later used in a battery stack 1 ([0047] & Fig. 2). The contact sections 30 of the contact plate 10 are electrically conductively connected to the battery cells 3 of the lower battery level 2, for example, laser-welded ([0051]). The battery cells 3 of the upper battery level are placed on the holding sections 40 of the contact plate 10 and are held securely by these in a force-fitting manner at the same time contacted in an electrically conductive manner ([0051]). The contact plate 10 may be installed with an insulation element 50 ([0051] & Fig. 8). The connecting sections 21 are at a different elevation than the holding sections 40 (Fig. 3). The holding sections may involve bending the holding sections from the plate plane in the direction of the upper side of the plate body, wherein the holding sections can also be configured with a certain spring effect ([0025]).
The contact plate 10 can be produced by a method of punching, because the removal of the plate material 12 to create the contact securing section 31 as well as the holding securing section 41, to create the arrangement spaces 20, may be produced by a method of punching ([0032, [0047], & [0048]). As a result, simplification of the production of a contact plate 10 and reduction of production costs can be achieved ([0048]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide a plurality of electrically conductive connecting webs arranged so as to interconnect the contact elements arranged at a different elevation than the bottom contact surfaces, wherein the contact elements and connecting webs are produced from a common punch-bent part, to simplify production and ensure parallel connection, wherein , as suggested by Mayer ‘512, in battery for the motor vehicle, as taught by Kreisel ‘372.
Kreisel ‘372 does not disclose wherein the at least one cell connector further comprises a spring ring surrounding the spring arms, the spring ring comprising circumferentially arranged but interrupted segments configured to apply a distributed preload to the spring arms, the discontinuities preventing continuous and circumferential engagement and enhancing resilience and mechanical stability.
Xu ‘667 discloses a battery sheet 1 having a plurality of contact elements (Fig. 2), wherein the battery sheet 1 is made of steel ([0024]). Each contact element (Fig. 6) includes a plurality of arms 101b extending upward from the film 102 having a protrusion 102a punched in the central portion of the film 102, wherein the protrusion is circular so as to insert the battery terminal, achieving good contact ([0058] & [0066]). The contact element further includes an annular ring piece 101 fixedly connected to the arms 101b extending upward from the film 102, as shown in Fig. 6 ([0058]). The ring piece 101 extends along an outer circumference of the upwardly extending arms 101b (Fig. 6).
The contact element of Fig. 6 including the ring piece 101 has high structural strength and provides strong battery enclosing force (abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the cell connector, as taught by Kreisel ‘372, to include a spring ring surrounding the spring arms of the contact element along an outer circumference, as suggested by Xu ‘667, to provide high structural strength and strong battery enclosing force.
Regarding product and apparatus claims, when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. The Courts have held that it is well settled that where there is a reason to believe that a functional characteristic would be inherent in the prior art, the burden of proof then shifts to the applicant to provide objective evidence to the contrary. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (see MPEP § 2114 I.).
Regarding claim 11, Kreisel ‘372 discloses the battery according to claim 10, further comprising a plurality of battery modules arranged one behind the other (the battery storage system 100 comprising two battery storage modules 10 stacked one above the other; [0029] of Kreisel ‘372), each comprising a module housing with respective through-openings enclosing the round cells (base plate 2 of each battery storage module 10 includes receiving regions which, via plus-in openings make it possible to position and align the individual battery cells; [0038], Fig. 1A & Fig. 1B of Kreisel ‘372), wherein at least one of the cell connectors is arranged between the respective facing end faces of the modules housings (the plurality of contact springs 6 are arranged between the respective end faces of the battery storage modules 10; [0034], Fig. 1A, & Fig. 2B of Kreisel ‘372), by means of which the round cells arranged in the respective module housings are electrically and conductively connected to each other (as shown in Fig. 1A, a battery storage system 100 comprising two battery storage modules 10 stacked one above the other, wherein the battery storage modules 10 each have a plurality of round individual battery cells 1 that are electrically conductively connected via a plurality of contact springs 6; [0016], [0029], [0035] of Kreisel ‘372).
Regarding claim 12, Kreisel ‘372 teaches the battery according to claim 11, wherein each of the module housings have an insulator with recesses for respective cell caps of the round cells (see Fig. 8 of Mayer ‘512 showing the insulation element 50 having recesses or openings for the respective cell caps of the battery cells 3 and contact sections 30; [0048]), on which the cell connectors are arranged and with their raised floor-side contact surfaces connected to the cell caps of the round cells, which are arranged in the insulator in a rearranged manner (an insulation element 50 may be arranged between the plate body of the contact plate and the battery cells of the upper battery level, for example, for thermal and/or electrical insulation; [0026], [0050] - [0051], Fig. 7, & Fig. 8 of Mayer ‘512).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide that each of the module housings have an insulator with recesses for respective cell caps of the round cells, on which the cell connectors are arranged and with their raised floor-side contact surfaces connected to the cell caps of the round cells, which are arranged in the insulator in a rearranged manner, for electrical insulation, as suggested by Mayer ‘512, in the battery, as taught by Kreisel ‘372.
Claims 3 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 3096372 A1 (Kreisel ‘372 – citing to the attached English translation) in view of US 20200343512 A1 (Mayer ‘512 – claiming foreign priority to DE 102017219768.4 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) with an effective filing date of November 7, 2017) and CN 107240667 A (Xu ‘667 – citing to the attached English translation), and further in view of EP 0859431 (Heimuller ‘431).
Regarding claim 3, Kreisel ‘372 teaches the cell connector according to claim 1, but does not disclose the spring arms each having at least one stiffening bead.
Heimuller ‘431 teaches contact springs for use as connectors in automotive technology ([0002]). The box-shaped contact part 1 in Fig. 6 is shown with bottom wall 11 and top wall 15 each having a stiffening bead 35 to relieve the load on the support arms 21 and 23 ([0032]). As a result, spring arms 25 and 27 can be supported with their distal ends on the stiffening beads 35, and are protecting from over bending ([0032]). Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the spring arms of the cell connector, as taught by Kreisel ‘372, to include a stiffening bead to protect the spring arms from overbending and relieving the load of the spring arms, as suggested by Heimuller ‘431.
Regarding claim 9, Kreisel ‘372 teaches the cell connector according to claim 1, but does not disclose the connecting webs comprising respective beads configured for compensating mechanical stresses.
Heimuller ‘431 teaches contact springs for use as connectors in automotive technology ([0002]). The box-shaped contact part 1 in Fig. 6 is shown with bottom wall 11 and top wall 15 each having a stiffening bead 35 to relieve the load on the support arms 21 and 23 ([0032]). As a result, spring arms 25 and 27 can be supported with their distal ends on the stiffening beads 35, and are protecting from over bending ([0032]). Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the connecting webs of the cell connector, as taught by Kreisel ‘372, to include stiffening beads to relieve the load on the connecting webs, compensating for mechanical stresses, as suggested by Heimuller ‘431.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 3096372 A1 (Kreisel ‘372 – citing to the previously attached English translation) in view of US 20200343512 A1 (Mayer ‘512 – claiming foreign priority to DE 102017219768.4 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) with an effective filing date of November 7, 2017) and CN 107240667 A (Xu ‘667 – citing to the previously attached English translation), and further in view of US 20190329825 (Fees ‘825).
Regarding claim 7, Kreisel ‘372 teaches the cell connector according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose that the common punch-bent part comprises a first sheet metal and a second sheet metal which are connected to each other and arranged one above the other, wherein the first sheet metal comprises a better electrical conductivity than the second sheet and the sheet metal comprises at least one of a high spring stiffness and a lower stress relaxation than the first sheet.
Fees ‘825 discloses a battery module having a plurality of battery cells that are connected in series (abstract) via a multi-layer contact plate ([0076]). A two-layer contact plate may be used in which there is a cell terminal connection layer being secured to a single conductive layer ([0069]), wherein the cell terminal connection layer is made of the same material or a different material from the at least one primary conductive layer ([0070]). For example, the cell terminal connection layer may be made of a less conductive material such as steel, while the at least one primary conductive layer may be made of conductive material such as aluminum or copper, two layers having structural differences based on the selection of materials ([0070]).
As disclosed in paragraph [0011] of the presently filed specification, copper is disclosed as a material that is a very good electrical conductor, but has a rater low tensile strength and a high stress relaxation. As such, a material other than copper may be selected to provide a material with a lower stress relaxation or a higher spring stiffness.
The selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.07).
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to manufacture the cell connector, as taught by Kreisel ‘372, out of a multi-layer contact plate having a first conductive layer made of copper and a second layer made of a less conductive material such as steel, wherein the structural differences in the two layers correspond to the second layer having a lower stress relaxation than the first sheet made of copper, as suggested by Fees ‘285.
The prior art can be modified or combined to reject claims as prima facie obvious as long as there is a reasonable expectation of success. See In re Merck & Co., Inc., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986) (see MPEP § 2143.02).
As such, Kreisel ‘372 renders obvious the limitation of claim 7: wherein the cell connector further comprises a punch-bent part comprising a first sheet metal and a second sheet metal which are connected to each other and arranged one above the other, wherein the first sheet metal comprises a better electrical conductivity than the second sheet and the sheet metal comprises at least one of a high spring stiffness and a lower stress relaxation than the first sheet.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAYLOR HARRISON KRONE/Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/NICOLE M. BUIE-HATCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725