Detailed Action
The Amendments and Remarks filed 10/7/26 in response to the Office Action of 6/12/26 are acknowledged and have been entered.
Claims 1-5, 8, 9, 14, 16, 18, 28-31, 34-37, 44, and 48 are pending.
Claims 4-5 remain withdrawn.
Claims 14 and 16 have been amended by Applicant.
Claims 1-5, 8, 9, 14, 16, 18, 28-31, 34-37, 44, and 48 are currently under examination.
No additional species have been rejoined.
Rejections Withdrawn
The rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, is withdrawn.
Rejections Maintained
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 8, 9, 18, 44, and 48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Png et al (US 2018/0148506 A1; 5/31/2018; 5/5/21 IDS) in view of Kamiya et al (Blood Advances, 2018, 2(5): 517-528; 5/5/21 IDS), Szymczak-Workman et al (Cold Spring Harbor Protoc, 2012, 199-204), Kim et al (PLOSone, 2011, 6(4): e18556), and Yang et al (Gene Therapy, 2008, 15: 1411-1423).
Png et al teaches methods of treating cancer comprising administering anti-CD7-CAR immune cells comprising nucleic acid expressing an anti-CD7 chimeric antigen receptor (anti-CD7-CAR) to patients with cancer ([0024], in particular). Png et al further teaches such immune cells include T cells ([0035], in particular). Png et al further teaches such anti-CD7-CAR immune cells further comprising nucleic acid expressing an anti-CD7 protein expression blocker (anti-CD7 PEBL) that downregulates CD7 and controls fratricide (see Abstract, [0082], [0090], and [0148], in particular). Png et al further teaches vectors include viral expression vectors and teaches polynucleotide vectors carrying both nucleic acids encoding the anti-CD7 PEBL and nucleic acids encoding the anti-CD7-CAR can be generated ([0131], in particular). Png et al further teaches such vectors comprising promoter sequences ([0060], in particular).
Png et al further teaches anti-CD7 PEBL having the structure: CD8a signal peptide- VL-linker-VH-ER-retention domain, wherein the VL-linker-VH is an anti-CD7 scFv (Figure 3E, in particular). At Table 3, Png et al further teaches amino acid sequences for such an anti-CD7-PEBL wherein the CD8a signal peptide comprises SEQ ID NO:7, the VL comprises SEQ ID NO:2, the linker comprises SEQ ID NO:12, the VH comprises SEQ ID NO:1, and the retention/localization domain comprise SEQ ID NO:8. The anti-CD7 PEBL disclosed by the instant specification as SEQ ID NO: 24 is identical to such an anti-CD7 PEBL of Png et al consisting of SEQ ID NOs: 7, 12, 1, and 8.
Png et al further teaches anti-CD7-CAR having the structure anti-CD7 scFv (comprising a VL-linker-VH)-hinge-transmembrane-signaling domains (Figure 17, in particular). At Table 5, Png et al teaches amino acid sequences for such an anti-CD7-CAR wherein the VL of the scFv comprises SEQ ID NO:2, the VH of the scFv comprises SEQ ID NO:1, the hinge-transmembrane comprises SEQ ID NO:10, a 4-1BB intracellular signaling domain comprising SEQ ID NO:3, and a CD3 intracellular signaling domain comprising SEQ ID NO:4. Png et al further teaches (GGGGS)4 as a linker for the scFv of the anti-CD7-CAR ([0109], in particular). Png et al further teaches the anti-CD7-CAR with a CD8a signal peptide comprising SEQ ID NO:7 ([0079], in particular). The anti-CD7 CAR disclosed by the instant specification as SEQ ID NO: 28 is identical to such an anti-CD7 CAR of Png et al consisting of SEQ ID NO:7-SEQ ID NO:2-(GGGGS)4-SEQ ID NO:10-SEQ ID NO:3-SEQ ID NO:4.
Png et al does not specifically teach a bicistronic retroviral vector comprising polynucleotides encoding anti-CD7 PEBL of Png et al and anti-CD7-CAR of Png et al. Further Png et al does not specifically teach the bicistronic retroviral vector comprising a polynucleotide comprising an open reading frame encoding a self-cleaving 2A peptide flanked by the sequences encoding the protein constructs of Png et al is a lentiviral vector or that expression of the open reading frame is driven by a MSCV promoter. However, these deficiencies are made up in the teachings of Kamiya et al, and Szymczak-Workman et al, Kim et al, and Yang et al.
Kamiya et al teaches a PEBL gene can be combined with a CAR gene on a bicistronic construct (left column on page 525, in particular) and teaches generating T cells expressing CAR and corresponding PEBL constructs wherein the constructs are expressed on retroviral vector comprising a sequence encoding a self-cleaving 2A peptide flanking the CAR and PEBL (right column on page 518, in particular). Kamiya et al cites Szymczak-Workman et al as teaching how said CAR and corresponding PEBL constructs were generated (right column on page 518, in particular).
Szymczak-Workman et al teaches self-cleaving 2A peptides include F2A, E2A, P2A, and T2A (Figure 1, in particular). Szymczak-Workman et al further teaches use of such self-cleaving 2A peptides with multicistronic vectors wherein the self-cleaving 2A peptides cloned between genes of a single open reading frame (“operatively linked”) allows for efficient production of discrete protein constructs within a single vector through a novel cleavage event within the 2A peptide sequence (Abstract, in particular).
Kim et al teaches a known problem with IRES bicistronic constructs is that translation efficiency of a gene placed after an IRES sequence is much lower than that of a gene located before IRES and that this problem is overcome by using a P2A self-cleaving peptide (page 1, in particular).
Yang et al teaches using bicistronic retroviral lentiviral vectors comprising a MSCV promoter driving expression of a polynucleotide comprising an open reading frame encoding a self-cleaving 2A peptide flanked by two different protein sequences (Figure 1, in particular). Yang et al further teaches advantages of lentiviral vectors include the ability to transduce nondividing cells, resistance to gene silencing, and potentially safer integration site profile (Abstract, in particular).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, with a reasonable expectation of success, to generate and treat subjects with cancer by performing a combined method comprising administering anti-CD7-CAR T cells that also express anti-CD7 PEBL of Png et al wherein the T cells express both anti-CD7-CAR of Png and anti-CD7 PEBL of Png using a bicistronic retroviral vector comprising a polynucleotide comprising an open reading frame encoding just any self-cleaving 2A peptide of Szymczak-Workman et al flanked by polynucleotides encoding CD7-CAR of Png and anti-CD7 PEBL of Png because Png et al teaches methods of treating cancer comprising administering anti-CD7-CAR immune cells, such as T cells, comprising nucleic acid expressing an anti-CD7 chimeric antigen receptor, Png et al teaches fratricide of such anti-CD7-CAR immune cells can be controlled by also expressing nucleic acids encoding an anti-CD7 protein expression blocker (anti-CD7 PEBL) to downregulate in CD7 said cells, Kamiya et al teaches such a PEBL gene can be combined with a CAR gene on a bicistronic construct and teaches generating T cells expressing CAR and corresponding PEBL constructs wherein the constructs are expressed on retroviral vector comprising a sequence encoding a self-cleaving 2A peptide flanking the CAR and PEBL that (as taught by Szymczak-Workman et al) allows for efficient production of discrete protein constructs within a single vector through a novel cleavage event within the 2A peptide sequence. This is an example of some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art references or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
In particular regards to claim 9, one of skill in the art (in view of Figure 27 of the instant specification) would recognize polynucleotides of the bicistronic retroviral vectors of the combined method (ones where the self-cleaving 2A peptide is P2A of Szymczak-Workman et al) include sequences having at least 90% sequence identity to instant SEQ ID NO:13.
Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, with a reasonable expectation of success, to perform the combined method wherein the bicistronic retroviral vector comprising a polynucleotide comprising an open reading frame encoding a self-cleaving 2A peptide flanked by the sequences encoding the protein constructs of Png et al is a lentiviral vector and expression of the open reading frame is driven by a MSCV promoter of the vector, resulting in a vector comprising 3’ to 5’ an MSCV promoter operably linked to a polynucleotide encoding CD7-CAR of Png which is operably linked to a polynucleotide encoding P2A of Szymczak-Workman et al which is operably linked to a polynucleotide encoding anti-CD7 PEBL of Png because Yang et al teaches using bicistronic retroviral lentiviral vectors comprising a MSCV promoter driving expression of a polynucleotide comprising an open reading frame encoding a self-cleaving 2A peptide flanked by two different protein sequences and Yang et al teaches advantages of lentiviral vectors include the ability to transduce nondividing cells, resistance to gene silencing, and potentially safer integration site profile. This is an example of some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art references or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, absent unexpected results.
Response to Arguments
In the Reply of 10/7/26, Applicant submitted by declaration by Yunquin Lee. Applicant further cites points 12-14 of the declaration and argues a lack of motivation to replace sequential transduction of Png with a bicistronic vector of Kamiya et al because one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would not have recognized a problem associated with sequential transduction and appreciated that a bicistronic construct functions better compared to sequential transduction. Applicant further argues that the number of vectors is not what determines a superior transduction outcome, as PEBL-IRES-CAR has been shown to yield only 35.8% CAR+/CD7- cells as compared to 51.5% obtained by sequential transduction. Applicant further argues a lack of motivation to replace an IRES with a 2A self-cleaving peptide or select 2A over IRES because Kamiya’s data that an IRES construct achieved approximately 87% CD3-negative cells and 2A construct achieved only 65% CD3-negative/CAR-positive cells contradict Kim’s conclusion that 2A is superior to IRES. Applicant further indicates the instant claims are non-obvious because cells transduced with a bicistronic IRES construct yielded surprisingly fewer (only 35.8%) CAR+/CD7- cells than cells sequentially transduced (51.5%). Applicant further indicates the instant claims are non-obvious because cells transduced with CAR-P2A-PEBL yielded 79.3% CAR+/CD7- cells, more than twice the yield of IRES bicistronic construct, and roughly 30% more than sequential transduction.
The amendments to the claims, the declaration, and the arguments found in the Reply of 10/7/26 have been carefully considered and not deemed persuasive. In regards to the citation of points 12-14 of the declaration and argument of a lack of motivation to replace sequential transduction of Png with a bicistronic vector of Kamiya et al because one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would not have recognized a problem associated with sequential transduction and appreciated that a bicistronic construct functions better compared to sequential transduction, the examiner disagrees. Motivation to perform the combined method is discussed above. Further, one of skill in the art would recognize that bicistronic vectors, as compared to separate sequential expression vectors, have benefits that include the ability of a single vector to express two constructs in a transduced cell. Further, Kamiya et al teaches that because a PEBL gene can be combined with a CAR gene in a single bicistronic construct, “an allogeneic CAR-T cell product can be obtained after a single transduction procedure” (left column on page 525, in particular). Further, Kamiya et al teaches a PEBL gene can be combined with a CAR gene on a bicistronic construct (left column on page 525, in particular) and teaches generating T cells expressing CAR and corresponding PEBL constructs wherein the constructs are expressed on retroviral vector comprising a sequence encoding a self-cleaving 2A peptide flanking the CAR and PEBL (right column on page 518, in particular). Kamiya et al cites Szymczak-Workman et al as teaching how said CAR and corresponding PEBL constructs were generated (right column on page 518, in particular). Szymczak-Workman et al teaches self-cleaving 2A peptides include F2A, E2A, P2A, and T2A (Figure 1, in particular). Szymczak-Workman et al further teaches use of such self-cleaving 2A peptides with multicistronic vectors wherein the self-cleaving 2A peptides cloned between genes of a single open reading frame (“operatively linked”) allows for efficient production of discrete protein constructs within a single vector through a novel cleavage event within the 2A peptide sequence (Abstract, in particular). Further, Kim et al recognizes technical benefits of P2A, as Kim et al teaches a known problem with IRES bicistronic constructs is that translation efficiency of a gene placed after an IRES sequence is much lower than that of a gene located before IRES and that this problem is overcome by using a P2A self-cleaving peptide (page 1, in particular).
In regards to the argument that that number of vectors is not what determines a superior transduction outcome, as PEBL-IRES-CAR has been shown to yield only 35.8% CAR+/CD7- cells as compared to 51.5% obtained by sequential transduction and that the instant claims are non-obvious because cells transduced with a bicistronic IRES construct yielded surprisingly fewer (only 35.8%) CAR+/CD7- cells than cells sequentially transduced (51.5%), the rejection is not based on motivation to generate an IRES construct that has been shown to yield only 35.8% CAR+/CD7- cells as compared to 51.5% obtained by sequential transduction. Further, deficiencies of IRES constructs are taught by Kim et al. Kim et al teaches a known problem with IRES bicistronic constructs is that translation efficiency of a gene placed after an IRES sequence is much lower than that of a gene located before IRES and that this problem is overcome by using a P2A self-cleaving peptide (page 1, in particular).
In regards to the argument of a lack of motivation to replace an IRES with a 2A self-cleaving peptide or select 2A over IRES because Kamiya’s data that an IRES construct achieved approximately 87% CD3-negative cells and 2A construct achieved only 65% CD3-negative/CAR-positive cells contradict Kim’s conclusion that 2A is superior to IRES, the examiner disagrees. In addition to the constructs differing by the IRES construct expressing GFP and the 2A construct expressing a CAR, the results with the IRES construct were obtained in cultured immortalized Jurkat cells and the results with the 2A construct were obtained in primary peripheral blood cell from donors. Transduction efficiencies are known in the prior art to be reduced in primary cells, as compared to immortalized cultured cells (Abstract of Halbert et al (Journal of Virology, 1995, 69(3): 1473-1479) and left column on page 893 of Lin et al (Stem Cells Trans Med, 2012, 1: 886-897)). Therefore, a finding that transduction efficiency was higher with an IRES construct in immortalized cultured jurkat cells than transduction efficiency of a 2A construct in primary peripheral blood cells does not indicate the increased transduction efficiency is due to the IRES – as opposed to being due to performing the transduction in immortalized cultured cells that are more susceptible to transduction than primary cells.
In regards to the argument the instant claims are non-obvious because cells transduced with CAR-P2A-PEBL yielded 79.3% CAR+/CD7- cells, more than twice the yield of an IRES bicistronic construct, and roughly 30% more than sequential transduction, the examiner disagrees. Higher CAR-P2A-PEBL transduction than an IRES bicistronic construct is reasonably predictable because Kim et al teaches a known problem with IRES bicistronic constructs is that translation efficiency of a gene placed after an IRES sequence is much lower than that of a gene located before IRES and that this problem is overcome by using a P2A self-cleaving peptide (page 1, in particular). Therefore, it is reasonably predictable that a P2A bicistronic construct exhibits better transduction efficiency for both genes – as compared to an IRES bicistronic construct. Further, motivation to use a bicistronic construct comprising 2A self-cleaving peptide over sequential transduction and expect efficient transduction efficiency include ability of a single vector to express two constructs in a transduced cell. Szymczak-Workman et al teaches use of such self-cleaving 2A peptides with multicistronic vectors wherein the self-cleaving 2A peptides cloned between genes of a single open reading frame (“operatively linked”) allows for efficient production of discrete protein constructs within a single vector through a novel cleavage event within the 2A peptide sequence (Abstract, in particular). Further, Kamiya et al teaches that because a PEBL gene can be combined with a CAR gene in a single bicistronic construct, “an allogeneic CAR-T cell product can be obtained after a single transduction procedure” (left column on page 525, in particular). Further, the increased level of transduction of bicistronic CAR-P2A-PEBL as compared to sequential “PEBL and CAR” described at point 20 of the declaration does not render the claims non-obvious because (i) the prior art teaches bicistronic constructs using P2A and (ii) the claims are not limited to the “CAR-P2A-PEBL” construct utilized in the declaration. Rather, the claims are drawn to a myriad of bicistronic constructs comprising a variety of CAR constructs, 2A sequences, and PEBL sequence that comprise various promoters and/or enhancers. Therefore, evidence provided with“CAR-P2A-PEBL” of point 20 of the declaration is not commensurate in scope with the claims. Objective evidence of nonobviousness must be commensurate in scope with the claims which the evidence is offered to support. See MPEP 716.02(d).
Claim Objections
Claims 14 and 16 are objected to for being dependent upon rejected claims.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 28-31 and 34-37 remain allowed.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEAN E AEDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1642