DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Responsive to the applicant’s submission filed 2 March 2026, claim 1 is amended. Claim 5 is cancelled. Claims 1-4 are currently under examination.
Status of Previous Rejections
Responsive to the applicant’s submission filed 2 March 2026, new grounds of rejection are made.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites that the copper is present at 0.1 to 0.45%. Claim 1 requires instead that copper is present at 0.28 to 0.43%. Claim 4 is outside the scope of claim 1.
The point of infringement of claim 4 cannot be determined, and the claim is indefinite.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim 4 recites that the copper is present at 0.1 to 0.45%. Claim 1 requires instead that copper is present at 0.28 to 0.43%. Claim 4 is outside the scope of claim 1. Because claim 4 is broader in scope than claim 1, the claim fails to further limit a parent claim as required by statute.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 12188104. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because applicant’s patented claims include overlapping composition and microstructure, and include an additional limitation relating to the variance in strength. The Cr amount has been narrowed in the instant application to be in the range of 1.2-1.5%, whereas the reference application has 0.5-1.5% of Cr. For instant claims 2-4, the composition of the copending application overlap the claims. For claim 5, although the copending claims do not recite a strength value, or a result of a corrosion test, the same steel composition having the same microstructure would be reasonably expected by the skilled artisan to have had the same properties.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20160333440 A1 (hereinafter “Liimatainen”).
Regarding claim 1, the limitation of “for a structure” is considered to be a statement of intended use, and does not further limit the claim beyond what is already literally required elsewhere in the claim.
Liimatainen teaches high strength steel strip (see title, Short Description, claims). Liimatainen teaches that the steel strip has a broad composition, overlapping the claimed composition (see [0013]-[0026]). Liimatainen teaches the purpose of adding each of the alloying elements for the steel (see [0043]-[0059]). The composition of the steel of Liimatainen is compared with the claimed composition in the chart below (values in mass%).
Element
Claim 1
Liimatainen
C
Si
Mn
Cr
Cu
Al
Ti
Ni
Nb
P
S
Fe/impurity
0.03-0.1
0.1-0.8
0.5-0.9
1.2-1.4
0.28-0.43
0.01-0.08
0.01-0.1
0.05-0.1
0.002-0.07
0.03 or less
0.02 or less
balance
0.03-0.08
0.01-0.8
0.8-2.5
0.01-2.0
Less than 0.5*
0.01-0.15
0.005-0.12
Less than 0.5*
0.005-0.07
<0.02
<0.004
balance
Note: * indicates optional element
The composition of the steel of Liimatainen overlaps the claimed compositional ranges. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at time of invention to have made the steel of Liimatainen, and to have selected a composition within the claimed ranges, because Liimatainen teaches the same utility over overlapping ranges. Additionally, Liimatainen teaches the purpose of adding each of the alloying elements for the steel (see [0043]-[0059]). The adjustment of the alloying elements in order to achieve desired effects explained clearly in the art would have required no more than a routine investigation of the disclosure of Liimatainen.
Liimatainen teaches that the steel has a yield strength of at least 840 MPa and excellent bendability (see [0007]-[0012]). Liimatainen teaches several examples of steels having such strengths in Table 2. The measured strength value of Liimatainen and the disclosure of it being “ultrahigh strength” meets the claim limitation therein.
Liimatainen teaches that the steel has a structure of upper bainite ([0010]-[0013]). Liimatainen teaches that the bainite is preferably more than 50% (see [0026]). Liimatainen teaches that the composition includes less than 20% of martensite, M-A, ferrite, and pearlite ([0089] and claims 1-4). The microstructural ranges taught by Liimatainen overlap the claimed ranges and establish a prima facie case of obviousness. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at time of invention to have made the steel of Liimatainen, and to have selected a microstructure within the claimed ranges, because Liimatainen teaches the same utility over overlapping ranges.
Liimatainen teaches that the steel has a yield strength of at least 840 MPa and excellent bendability (see [0007]-[0012]). Additionally, Liimatainen teaches several examples of steels having yield and tensile strength values in the range as claimed (see Table 2). Although the compositions of the examples of Liimatainen differ from what is claimed, the manufacture of steel having this strength is considered obvious by the disclosure of the overlapping broad ranges and several examples having the claimed strengths.
Regarding wherein the steel has a relative corrosion rate that is less than 100%, when compared with a corrosion rate of Comparative Steel 1 of the specification having relative corrosion rate of 100%, Liimatainen does not describe this feature. However Liimatainen teaches a steel having a composition and microstructure which overlaps the claimed steel composition and microstructure, and the strength values also match instant claim 1. It is reasonable to assume that the steel having the same composition as claimed, and having the same microstructure as claimed, and having the same strength value as claimed, would have had similar corrosion properties as well. The fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
Regarding claim 2, the broad composition of 0.03-0.08% overlaps what is claimed.
Regarding claim 3, the broad composition of 0.01-0.80% of Si overlaps the claimed range.
Regarding claim 4, the broad composition of less than 0.5% of Cu overlaps the claimed range.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 2 March 2026 have been carefully considered, but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the claims as amended are defined by the specification. In response to the amendment and applicant’s argument, no rejection of claim 1 is made at this time under 35 USC 112,
Applicant argues that the cited prior art Liimatainen does not render the claims obvious because Liimatainen is directed to a different purpose, technical field, and intended use of the steel. This argument is carefully considered but is not persuasive because it is not commensurate in scope with what is claimed. During examination, statements in the preamble reciting the purpose or intended use of the claimed invention must be evaluated to determine whether or not the recited purpose or intended use results in a structural difference (or, in the case of process claims, manipulative difference) between the claimed invention and the prior art. If so, the recitation serves to limit the claim. See, e.g., In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 938, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963). In this case the steel of Liimatainen could be used for any vehicle or structure. If applicant intends the invention to be limited to marine vehicles, ballast tanks, and similar structure, applicant has to this point chosen not to claim the invention to be limited in such a way.
Regarding the rejections for obviousness-type double patenting, applicant argues that the rejections are provisional and that the reference application was filed at a later date. These arguments are considered, but are no longer relevant in the event that the reference case is patented. The ODP rejections are not provisional. The new grounds of rejection is accordingly non-final.
Conclusion
CHRISTOPHER S. KESSLER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1734
/CHRISTOPHER S KESSLER/Examiner, Art Unit 1759