Response to Amendments
The amendments filed January 6, 2026 have been entered. Accordingly, claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined. The Examiner acknowledges the amendments of claims 1 and 10. The previous 103 rejections has been updated due to applicant’s amendments. For the reason(s) set forth below, applicant’s arguments have not been found persuasive. The action is Final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-9, 16-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keipert (US Pub. No. 2013/0344786).
Regarding claim 1, Keipert discloses: an abrasive belt (Figures 1A-1C and 5B and see also paragraphs 0031/0050/0054) comprising:
an endless belt backing (element 42/54);
an abrasive layer (see paragraph 0036 where the prior art discloses the backing layer (element 42) covered by “an abrasive layer” made up of elements 22/44/46) disposed on the belt backing (see figures 1C), wherein at least a portion of the abrasive layer comprises abrasive elements (element 20/56 and see also paragraph 0047 where the prior art discloses element 20 as “shaped abrasive particles”, see also paragraph 0050 where the prior art discloses that Figure 5B shows illustration representation top views of the abrasive layer having a plurality of shaped abrasive particles as shown in FIGS. 1A/B as best shown as element 56 in Figure 5B) secured to a major surface (element 41 and see also figure 5B annotated below Detail A) of the belt backing by at least one binder material (Per applicants disclosure page 4, ll. 5-9, at least one binder material is interpreted to be “triangular abrasive platelets 130 secured to major surface 115 by at least one binder material (shown as make layer 142 and size layer 144)”, similarly the prior art shows in figure 1 the abrasive element (element 20) secured to the major surface (element 41) of the belt backing (element 42) via element 44 (make layer and see also paragraph 0047) and element 46 (size layer and see also paragraph 0047), thus at least one binder material), wherein the abrasive elements are disposed at contiguous intersections of horizontal lines and vertical lines of a rectangular grid pattern (see figure 5B annotated below showing portions of the abrasive elements (element 56) disposed in at contiguous intersections of horizontal lines (X-X axis dotted lines going left and right) and vertical lines (Y-Y axis dotted lines going up and down), thus forming a rectangular gird pattern), wherein at least 70 percent of the intersections have one of the abrasive elements disposed thereat (see figure 5B annotated below showing all intersections (where the left-right dotted lines and up-down dotted lines intersect) having one of the abrasive elements (element 56) disposed thereat, thus having the claimed percentage of at least 70 percent),
wherein each of the abrasive elements has at least two triangular abrasive platelets (see figure 1C/5B showing at least two abrasive platelets (element 20/56) and see figure 1A showing the abrasive platelets being triangular), wherein each of the triangular abrasive platelets has respective top and bottom surfaces (see figure 1B showing a top surface (element 26) and a bottom surface (element 24)) connected to each other, and separated by, three sidewalls (see figures 1A showing three sidewalls (element 22) and figure 1B showing the sidewalls (element 22) connecting and separating the top and bottom surfaces (element 26/24)), wherein, on a respective basis, one sidewall of at least 90 percent of the triangular abrasive platelets is disposed facing and proximate to the belt backing (see figure 1C showing each of the triangular abrasive platelets (element 20) having an entire sidewall (bottom wall) disposed on and facing proximate the belt backing (element 42), thus having the claimed percentage of at least 90 percent),
wherein the abrasive elements are arranged in first rows (see figure 5B annotated below Detail B) and second rows (see figure 5B annotated below Detail C), wherein all the triangular abrasive platelets in the first rows having one sidewall disposed facing and proximate to the belt backing are disposed lengthwise aligned within 10 degrees of the vertical lines (see figure 5B exploded view annotated below showing all of the triangular abrasive platelets (element 56 that are going left-right and up-down) in the first row (Detail B) having one sidewall (Detail D) disposed parallelly (i.e. 0 degrees) aligned with the vertical lines (Y-Y axis/dotted up-down lines), thus being aligned within 10 degrees), wherein all the triangular abrasive platelets in the second rows having one sidewall disposed facing and proximate to the belt backing are disposed lengthwise aligned within 10 degrees of the horizontal lines (see figure 5B exploded view annotated below showing all of the triangular abrasive platelets (element 56 that are going left-right and up-down) in the second row (Detail C) having one sidewall (Detail E) disposed parallelly (i.e. 0 degrees) aligned with the horizontal lines (X-X axis/dotted left-right lines), thus being aligned within 10 degrees),
wherein the first and second rows repeatedly alternate along the vertical lines such that any two adjacent first rows are separated only by one of the second rows and any two adjacent second rows are separated only by one of the first rows (see figure 5B annotated below showing the first rows (Detail B) and second rows (Detail C) alternating along the vertical line while having two adjacent first/second rows separated only by one of the first or second rows), and wherein spacing of the vertical lines (see figure 5B annotated below Detail F) and spacing of the horizontal lines (see figure 5B annotated below Detail G).
However, Keipert appears to be silent wherein spacing of the vertical lines and spacing of the horizontal lines are the same.
However, it would have been it would have been to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Keipert to provide wherein spacing of the vertical lines and spacing of the horizontal lines are the same, since such a modification would involve a mere change in the size of a component (A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art). One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that providing a desired spacing between the triangular abrasive platelets would provide the same predictable result of utilizing an abrasive to abrade a workpiece at different locations to a desired finish (See MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(A)). Lastly, applicant has not disclosed that the following claim limitations solves any stated problem, indicating simply that the spacing is “preferably” the same and “the horizontal spacing and the vertical spacing may be different” (see page 9, ll. 28-36 and therefore there appears to no criticality placed on the spacing produces an unexpected result.
Regarding claim 2, Keipert modified discloses: the abrasive belt of claim 1, wherein the abrasive belt has a longitudinal axis (element 50), and wherein the horizontal lines are disposed at an angle relative (see figure 5B annotated below Detail A) to the longitudinal axis of the belt.
However, Keipert modified but appears to be silent wherein the angle is between 40 and 50 degrees.
However, there is no evidence of record that establishes that changing the angle of the horizontal lines being disposed at the angle relative to the longitudinal axis would result in a difference in function of the Keipert modified et al. abrasive belt. Further, a person having ordinary skill in the art, being faced with modifying the angle of Keipert modified, would have a reasonable expectation of success in making such a modification and it appears the device would function as intended being given the claimed angles. Lastly, applicant has not disclosed that the following claim limitations solves any stated problem, indicating that the angle “may be any angle” and offering other acceptable ranges (e.g. , 0 and 30 degrees, 0 and 20 degrees, see page 3, ll. 33-35) and therefore there is no criticality placed on the angle claimed such that it produces an unexpected result. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the angle of the horizontal lines being disposed at the angle relative to the longitudinal axis of Keipert modified to have the angle is between 40 and 50 degrees as an obvious matter of design choice within the skill of the art.
Regarding claim 3, Keipert modified discloses: the abrasive belt of claim 1, wherein at least 90 percent of the intersections have one of the abrasive elements disposed thereat (see figure 5B annotated above (page 6) showing all intersections (where the left-right dotted lines and up-down dotted lines intersect) having one of the abrasive elements (element 56) disposed thereat, thus having the claimed percentage of at least 90 percent).
Regarding claim 4, Keipert modified discloses: the abrasive belt of claim 1, wherein all the triangular abrasive platelets in the first row are disposed lengthwise aligned within 5 degrees of the vertical lines (see figure 5B exploded view annotated above (page 7) showing all of the selected triangular abrasive platelets (element 56 that are going left-right and up-down) in the first row (Detail B) having a lengthwise of the sidewall (Detail D) disposed parallelly (i.e. 0 degrees) aligned with the vertical lines (Y-Y axis/dotted up-down lines), thus being aligned within 5 degrees), wherein the triangular abrasive platelets in the second row are disposed lengthwise aligned within 5 degrees of the horizontal lines (see figure 5B exploded view annotated above (page 7) showing all of the selected triangular abrasive platelets (element 56 that are going left-right and up-down) in the second row (Detail C) having a lengthwise of the sidewall (Detail E) disposed parallelly (i.e. 0 degrees) aligned with the horizontal lines (X-X axis/dotted left-right lines), thus being aligned within 5 degrees).
Regarding claim 6, Keipert modified discloses: the abrasive belt of claim 1, wherein the abrasive layer comprises a make layer and a size layer disposed over the make layer and the abrasive elements (see paragraph 0036 where the prior art discloses the abrasive layer comprises “a make coat” (element 44) and “a size coat” (element 46) and see figure 1C showing the size coat disposed over the make layer and the abrasive elements (element 20)).
Regarding claim 7, Keipert modified discloses: the abrasive belt of claim 1, wherein the triangular abrasive platelets comprise alpha alumina (see paragraph 0031).
Regarding claim 8, Keipert modified discloses: the abrasive belt of claim 1, wherein each of the abrasive elements has exactly two triangular abrasive platelets (see figure 5B annotated above (page 6) showing different portions (Detail A/B) of each of the abrasive elements (element 56) and within those portions of the abrasive elements having exactly two triangular abrasive platelets).
Regarding claim 9, Keipert modified discloses: a method of abrading a workpiece (see paragraph 0074), the method comprising frictionally contacting a portion of the abrasive layer of an abrasive belt according to claim 1 (see rejection above on pages 3-8) with the workpiece, and moving at least one of the workpiece and the abrasive belt relative to the other to abrade the workpiece (see paragraph 0074).
Regarding claim 16, Keipert modified discloses: the abrasive belt of claim 2, wherein at least 90 percent of the intersections have one of the abrasive elements disposed thereat (see figure 5B annotated above (page 6) showing all intersections (where the left-right dotted lines and up-down dotted lines intersect) having one of the abrasive elements (element 56) disposed thereat, thus having the claimed percentage of at least 90 percent).
Regarding claim 17, Keipert modified discloses: the abrasive belt of claim 2, wherein all the triangular abrasive platelets in the first row are disposed lengthwise aligned within 5 degrees of the vertical lines (see figure 5B exploded view annotated above (page 7) showing all of the selected triangular abrasive platelets (element 56 that are going left-right and up-down) in the first row (Detail B) having a lengthwise of the sidewall (Detail D) disposed parallelly (i.e. 0 degrees) aligned with the vertical lines (Y-Y axis/dotted up-down lines), thus being aligned within 5 degrees), wherein the triangular abrasive platelets in the second row are disposed lengthwise aligned within 5 degrees of the horizontal lines (see figure 5B exploded view annotated above (page 7) showing all of the selected triangular abrasive platelets (element 56 that are going left-right and up-down) in the second row (Detail C) having a lengthwise of the sidewall (Detail E) disposed parallelly (i.e. 0 degrees) aligned with the horizontal lines (X-X axis/dotted left-right lines), thus being aligned within 5 degrees).
Regarding claim 19, Keipert modified discloses: the abrasive belt of claim 2, wherein the abrasive layer comprises a make layer and a size layer disposed over the make layer and the abrasive elements (see paragraph 0036 where the prior art discloses the abrasive layer comprises “a make coat” (element 44) and “a size coat” (element 46) and see figure 1C showing the size coat disposed over the make layer and the abrasive elements (element 20)).
Regarding claim 20, Keipert modified discloses: the abrasive belt of claim 2, wherein the triangular abrasive platelets comprise alpha alumina (see paragraph 0031).
Claims 5 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keipert (US Pub. No. 2013/0344786) in view of Harmer (US Patent No. 5,914,299).
Regarding claim 5, Keipert modified discloses all the elements as claimed in claim 1, but appears to be silent wherein the abrasive layer further comprises crushed abrasive or non-abrasive particles.
Harmer teaches it was known in the art to have an abrasive article (Figures 3-4 element 30), comprising a backing (element 32), an abrasive layer including triangular abrasive platelets (element 31), and wherein the abrasive layer further comprises crushed abrasive or non-abrasive particles (see col. 21, ll. 9-17 where the prior art discloses that abrasive article contains a blend of abrasive grains and diluent particles, and wherein the diluent particles can be selected from a group consisting of “an inorganic particle (non-abrasive inorganic particle)”, thus the abrasive layer comprises non-abrasive particles).
It would have been it would have been to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Keipert with the teaching of Harmer to provide wherein the abrasive layer further comprises crushed abrasive or non-abrasive particles. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that providing a mixture of different abrasives would necessarily provide the same predictable result of abrading a workpiece to a desired finish.
Regarding claim 18, Keipert modified discloses all the elements as claimed in claims 1-2, but appears to be silent wherein the abrasive layer further comprises crushed abrasive or non-abrasive particles.
Harmer teaches it was known in the art to have an abrasive article (Figures 3-4 element 30), comprising a backing (element 32), an abrasive layer including triangular abrasive platelets (element 31), and wherein the abrasive layer further comprises crushed abrasive or non-abrasive particles (see col. 21, ll. 9-17 where the prior art discloses that abrasive article contains a blend of abrasive grains and diluent particles, and wherein the diluent particles can be selected from a group consisting of “an inorganic particle (non-abrasive inorganic particle)”, thus the abrasive layer comprises non-abrasive particles).
It would have been it would have been to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Keipert with the teaching of Harmer to provide wherein the abrasive layer further comprises crushed abrasive or non-abrasive particles. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that providing a mixture of different abrasives would necessarily provide the same predictable result of abrading a workpiece to a desired finish.
Claims 10-13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keipert (US Pub. No. 2013/0344786) in view of Seth (US Pub. No. 2014/0290147).
Regarding claim 10, Keipert discloses: a method of making a coated abrasive belt, the method comprising:
disposing a make layer (element 44) on a major surface (element 41 and see also figure 5B annotated below Detail A) of a belt backing (element 42/54);
embedding abrasive elements (element 22/56 and see also paragraph 0047 where the prior art discloses element 20 as “shaped abrasive particles”, see also paragraph 0050 where the prior art discloses that Figure 5B shows illustration representation top views of the abrasive layer having a plurality of shaped abrasive particles as shown in FIGS. 1A/B as best shown as element 56 in Figure 5B) into the curable make layer precursor (see paragraph 0047),
wherein at least a portion of the abrasive elements are disposed adjacent to contiguous intersections of horizontal lines and vertical lines of a rectangular grid pattern (see figure 5B annotated below showing portions of the abrasive elements (element 56) disposed in at contiguous intersections of horizontal lines (X-X axis dotted lines going left and right) and vertical lines (Y-Y axis dotted lines going up and down), thus forming a rectangular gird pattern), wherein at least 70 percent of the intersections have one of the abrasive elements disposed thereat (see figure 5B annotated below showing all intersections (where the left-right dotted lines and up-down dotted lines intersect) having one of the abrasive elements (element 56) disposed thereat, thus having the claimed percentage of at least 70 percent),
wherein each of the abrasive elements has at least two triangular abrasive platelets (see figure 1C/5B showing at least two abrasive platelets (element 20/56) and see figure 1A showing the abrasive platelets being triangular), wherein each of the triangular abrasive platelets has respective top and bottom surfaces (see figure 1B showing a top surface (element 26) and a bottom surface (element 24) connected to each other) connected to each other, and separated by, three sidewalls (see figures 1A showing three sidewalls (element 22) and figure 1B showing the sidewalls (element 22) connecting and separating the top and bottom surfaces (element 26/24)), wherein, on a respective basis, one sidewall of at least 90 percent of the triangular abrasive platelets is disposed facing and proximate to the belt backing (see figure 1C showing each of the triangular abrasive platelets (element 20) having an entire sidewall (bottom wall) disposed on and facing proximate the belt backing (element 42), thus having the claimed percentage of at least 90 percent),
wherein the abrasive elements are arranged in first rows (see figure 5B annotated below Detail B) and second rows (see figure 5B annotated below Detail C), wherein all the triangular abrasive platelets in the first rows having one sidewall disposed facing and proximate to the belt backing are disposed lengthwise aligned within 10 degrees of the vertical lines (see figure 5B exploded view annotated below showing all of the triangular abrasive platelets (element 56 that are going left-right and up-down) in the first row (Detail B) having one sidewall (Detail D) disposed parallelly (i.e. 0 degrees) aligned with the vertical lines (Y-Y axis/dotted up-down lines), thus being aligned within 10 degrees), wherein all the triangular abrasive platelets in the second rows having one sidewall disposed facing and proximate to the belt backing are disposed lengthwise aligned within 10 degrees of the horizontal lines (see figure 5B exploded view annotated below showing all of the triangular abrasive platelets (element 56 that are going left-right and up-down) in the second row (Detail C) having one sidewall (Detail E) disposed parallelly (i.e. 0 degrees) aligned with the horizontal lines (X-X axis/dotted left-right lines), thus being aligned within 10 degrees), and
wherein the first and second rows repeatedly alternate along the vertical lines such that any two adjacent first rows are separated only by one of the second rows and any two adjacent second rows are separated only by one of the first rows (see figure 5B annotated below showing the first rows (Detail B) and second rows (Detail C) alternating along the vertical line while having two adjacent first/second rows separated only by one of the first or second rows), and wherein spacing of the vertical lines (see figure 5B annotated below Detail F) and spacing of the horizontal lines (see figure 5B annotated below Detail G);
disposing a size layer (element 46) over the at least make layer and triangular abrasive platelets (see figure 1C).
However, Keipert appears to be silent wherein the method comprises disposing a curable make layer precursor on the major surface of the belt backing, wherein spacing of the vertical lines and spacing of the horizontal lines are the same, at least partially curing the curable make layer precursor to provide the make layer, disposing a curable size layer precursor over the at least partially cured make layer precursor and triangular abrasive platelets, and at least partially curing the curable size layer precursor to provide the size layer.
Seth is also concern in providing a method of making a coated abrasive belt (Figure 5 and see paragraphs 0254 “Method of making”), the method comprising: disposing a curable make layer precursor (see paragraph 0255 step 3101) on a major surface (see figure 5 annotated 1 below Detail B) of a belt backing (element 101), at least partially curing the curable make layer precursor to provide the make layer (see paragraph 0255 step 3105), disposing a curable size layer precursor over the at least partially cured make layer precursor and triangular abrasive platelets (see paragraph 0255), and at least partially curing the curable size layer precursor to provide the size layer (see paragraph 0255 element 3212).
It would have been it would have been to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Keipert with the teaching of Seth to provide wherein the method of making comprises disposing a curable make layer precursor on the major surface of the belt backing, wherein spacing of the vertical lines and spacing of the horizontal lines are the same, at least partially curing the curable make layer precursor to provide the make layer, disposing a curable size layer precursor over the at least partially cured make layer precursor and triangular abrasive platelets, and at least partially curing the curable size layer precursor to provide the size layer. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having a known method of making a coated abrasive belt would necessarily provide the predictable result of having a coated abrasive belt to allow the user to abrade a workpiece to a desired finished.
Regarding claim 11, Keipert modified discloses: the method of claim 10, wherein at least 90 percent of the intersections have one of the abrasive elements disposed thereat (see figure 5B annotated above (page 16) showing all intersections (where the left-right dotted lines and up-down dotted lines intersect) having one of the abrasive elements (element 56) disposed thereat, thus having the claimed percentage of at least 90 percent).
Regarding claim 12, Keipert modified discloses: the method of claim 10, wherein the abrasive belt has a longitudinal axis (element 50), and wherein the horizontal lines are disposed at an angle relative (see figure 5B annotated below Detail A) to the longitudinal axis of the belt.
However, Keipert modified but appears to be silent wherein the angle is between 40 and 50 degrees.
However, there is no evidence of record that establishes that changing the angle of the horizontal lines being disposed at the angle relative to the longitudinal axis would result in a difference in function of the Keipert modified et al. abrasive belt. Further, a person having ordinary skill in the art, being faced with modifying the angle of Keipert modified, would have a reasonable expectation of success in making such a modification and it appears the device would function as intended being given the claimed angles. Lastly, applicant has not disclosed that the following claim limitations solves any stated problem, indicating that the angle “may be any angle” and offering other acceptable ranges (e.g. , 0 and 30 degrees, 0 and 20 degrees, see page 3, ll. 33-35) and therefore there is no criticality placed on the angle claimed such that it produces an unexpected result. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the angle of the horizontal lines being disposed at the angle relative to the longitudinal axis of Keipert modified to have the angle is between 40 and 50 degrees as an obvious matter of design choice within the skill of the art.
Regarding claim 13, Keipert modified discloses: the method of claim 10, wherein all the triangular abrasive platelets in the second rows are disposed lengthwise aligned within 5 degrees of the horizontal lines (see figure 5B exploded view annotated above (page 20) showing all of the selected triangular abrasive platelets (element 56 that are going left-right and up-down) in the second row (Detail C) having a lengthwise of the sidewall (Detail E) disposed parallelly (i.e. 0 degrees) aligned with the horizontal lines (X-X axis/dotted left-right lines), thus being aligned within 5 degrees), and wherein all the triangular abrasive platelets in the first rows are disposed lengthwise aligned within 5 degrees of the vertical lines (see figure 5B exploded view annotated above (page 20) showing all of the selected triangular abrasive platelets (element 56 that are going left-right and up-down) in the first row (Detail B) having a lengthwise of the sidewall (Detail D) disposed parallelly (i.e. 0 degrees) aligned with the vertical lines (Y-Y axis/dotted up-down lines), thus being aligned within 5 degrees.
Regarding claim 15, Keipert modified discloses: the method of claim 10 wherein the triangular abrasive platelets comprise alpha alumina (see paragraph 0031).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keipert (US Pub. No. 2013/0344786) in view of Seth (US Pub. No. 2014/0290147) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Harmer (US Patent No. 5,914,299).
Regarding claim 14, Keipert modified discloses all the elements as claimed in claim 13, but appears to be silent wherein the abrasive layer further comprises crushed abrasive or non-abrasive particles.
Harmer teaches it was known in the art to have an abrasive article (Figures 3-4 element 30), comprising a backing (element 32), an abrasive layer including triangular abrasive platelets (element 31), and wherein the abrasive layer further comprises crushed abrasive or non-abrasive particles (see col. 21, ll. 9-17 where the prior art discloses that abrasive article contains a blend of abrasive grains and diluent particles, and wherein the diluent particles can be selected from a group consisting of “an inorganic particle (non-abrasive inorganic particle)”, thus the abrasive layer comprises non-abrasive particles).
It would have been it would have been to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Keipert with the teaching of Harmer to provide wherein the abrasive layer further comprises crushed abrasive or non-abrasive particles. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that providing a mixture of different abrasives would necessarily provide the same predictable result of abrading a workpiece to a desired finish.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant arguments on pages 7-10 have been fully considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the current rejection being used.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/BRIAN D KELLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723