Receipt is acknowledged of Applicant’s amendment filed on 04/02/2026.
Claim 1 has been amended.
Claims 1-14, 17, 19-29, 31-34 are pending in the instant application.
Claims 3, 8, 10-12, 14, 17, 19-25, 31-32 are withdrawn from consideration.
Note, rejections and objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Note, withdrawn claim 12 is broader in scope than amended claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-7, 9, 13, 26-29, 33-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by AKHRASS et al (Self-assembled lanthanum hydroxide microspheres within a reaction–diffusion framework: synthesis, characterization, control and application. RSC Adv., 2016, 6, 3433–3439) as evidence by CRUZ-MATIAS (Sphericity and roundness computation for particles using the extreme vertices model. Journal of Computational Science 30 (2019) 28–40).
AKHRASS teaches microspheres of lanthanum hydroxide (see title). The microspheres are “perfectly spherical” (see pg. 3438, under Conclusion), which would have a sphericity of 1 and reads on a sphericity of 0.90 or more. The average particle sizes can be controlled with varying sizes between 300nm and 70 um (see abstract), such as average particle sizes of 7.0 um (see pg. 3437, 1st col). Additional disclosures include: carbonate (see pg. 3445, 1st col); due to their attractive optical, electrical, and magnetic properties, lanthanides have found numerous applications (see pg. 3433, under Introduction).
An image of AKHRASSs microspheres on pg. 3436, Fig 3(B) is provided below.
CRUZ-MATIAS teaches there are multiple methods of calculating sphericity and roundness (see pg. 29-32), such as Wadell’s method (see pg. 29 and 30), which is the same method used by Applicant, and Krumbein’s method. Krumbein’s chart for visual determination of roundness is provided below, wherein AKRASS “perfectly spherical” microspheres appears to have a roundness of 0.5 or more.
CRUZ-MATIAS further teaches a sphere has a sphericity value of 1.00 and a roundness value of 0.99 (see pg. 35 at the bottom of Table 2), where other visual examples are shown for R2, R5 and R6 (see Fig. 10) and their sphericity and roundness values for comparison (see Table 2). Thus, it appears AKRASS microsphere has a roundness of 0.5 or more and a sphericity of 0.95 or more.
Note, claims 13, 26-29, 33-34 are intended use, wherein the prior art’s nanoparticles would inherently be capable of such intended use, because the prior art has the same ingredients as claimed by Applicant, unless proven otherwise.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-7, 9, 13, 26-29, 33-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AKHRASS et al (Self-assembled lanthanum hydroxide microspheres within a reaction–diffusion framework: synthesis, characterization, control and application. RSC Adv., 2016, 6, 3433–3439) in view of CRUZ-MATIAS (Sphericity and roundness computation for particles using the extreme vertices model. Journal of Computational Science 30 (2019) 28–40) and IWASA et al (US 5,833,746).
AKHRASS teaches microspheres of lanthanum hydroxide (see title). The microspheres are “perfectly spherical” (see pg. 3438, under Conclusion), which would have a sphericity of 1 and reads on a sphericity of 0.90 or more. The average particle sizes can be controlled with varying sizes between 300nm and 70 um (see abstract), such as average particle sizes of 7.0 um (see pg. 3437, 1st col). Additional disclosures include: carbonate (see pg. 3445, 1st col); due to their attractive optical, electrical, and magnetic properties, lanthanides have found numerous applications as catalysts, semiconductors, sensors, high-quality phosphors and time resolved fluorescence (TRF) biological labels, etc. (see pg. 3433, under Introduction).
An image of AKHRASSs microspheres on pg. 3436, Fig 3(B) is provided below.
AKHRASS does not explicitly teach the roundness of the microsphere.
CRUZ-MATIAS teaches the prior art had known of parameters, such as sphericity and roundness (see title and abstract), for particles (see abstract) can affect physical properties and are useful parameters to determine application for industrial and manufacturing applications (see pg. 28, under Introduction). Additional disclosures include: there are multiple methods of calculating sphericity and roundness (see pg. 29-32), such as Wadell’s method (see pg. 29 and 30), which is the same method used by Applicant, and Krumbein’s method. Krumbein’s chart for visual determination of roundness is provided below, wherein AKRASS “perfectly spherical” microspheres appears to have a roundness of 0.5 or more.
CRUZ-MATIAS further teaches a sphere has a sphericity value of 1.00 and a roundness value of 0.99 (see pg. 35 at the bottom of Table 2), where other visual examples are shown for R2, R5 and R6 (see Fig. 10) and their sphericity and roundness values (see Table 2). Thus, it appears AKRASS microsphere has a roundness of 0.5 or more and a sphericity of 0.95 or more.
IWASA teaches the prior art had known that sphericity and roundness have an effect on the flowability of a powder (see col. 1, line 30-50 and col. 2, line 20-21), wherein the roundness is optimized for flowability is also dependent on the size of the particle, such as 0.73-0.90 for particle size less than 30 um (see col. 2, line 30-35) and 0.83-0.94 for particle size larger than 30 um (see col. 2, line 50-55). Additional disclosures include: Wadell’s method for calculating sphericity and roundness (see col. 2, line 17).
It would have also been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate a parameter, such as roundness of at least 0.73-0.94 depending on the size of the particle, when making AKRASS’s microsphere particle. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make those modifications and reasonably would have expected success because it’s a common parameter used for particles to improve flowability in manufacturing.
Note, the average particle size and roundness of a particle composition is also clearly a result effective parameter that a person of ordinary skill in the art would routinely optimize. Optimization of parameters is a routine practice that would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to employ and reasonably would expect success. It would have been customary for an artisan of ordinary skill to determine the optimal roundness in order to best achieve the desired results, such as flowability of the powder and the size needed for a specific application, such as sensors and biological labels, etc. Thus, absent some demonstration of unexpected results from the claimed parameters, this optimization of roundness would have been obvious at the time of Applicant's invention.
Note, claims 13, 26-29, 33-34 are intended use, wherein the prior art’s nanoparticles would inherently be capable of such intended use, because the prior art has the same ingredients as claimed by Applicant, unless proven otherwise.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Telephonic Inquiries
/JAKE M VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1618