DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 4-5, and 8-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is rejected because it recites limitations “a medial edge of the flexing zone is located further forward than a lateral edge of the sole with respect to the main axis of the foot”. It is not clear what the limitations tried to claim. There would be impossible that the medial edge of the flexing zone can be located at the further point the ant lateral edge of the sole. The question is that applicant tried to claim the entire edge of the lateral side or it is just a portion of it.
For the express purpose of an examination on the merits, this limitation is interpreted to be “a medial edge of the flexing zone is located further forward than a lateral edge of the flexing zone with respect to the main axis of the foot”.
Any remaining claims are rejected as depending from a rejected base claim.
In the art rejections below the claims have been treated as best understood by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, and 10-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campbell et al. (7,650,707).
Regarding claim 1, Campbell teaches a sole of a shoe, extending in a longitudinal direction representative of a main axis of the foot, and having an anterior part that is adapted to receive the forefoot, a central part that is adapted to receive the midfoot and a posterior part that is adapted to receive the heel (figs 1A to 5B),
said sole having in the anterior part a preferred flexing zone (members 108 and 110) that is oriented according to a flexing fold axis, said sole comprising an outsole with a ground facing surface configured to be in contact with a ground (fig 1A),
wherein said sole has, in the preferred flexing zone, at least one groove oriented according to the flexing fold axis (member 108),
wherein a medial edge of the flexing zone is located further forward than a lateral edge of the sole with respect to the main axis of the foot, said at least one groove being formed on the ground facing surface of the outsole and following an orientation of the flexing zone, and wherein said preferred flexing zone is located in the anterior part and being adapted to position as a projection of the metatarsal phalangeal heads of the foot (fig 1A annotated above).
Campbell does not clearly teach a preferred flexing zone adapted to be oriented at an angle between 1050 and 120° with respect to the main axis of the foot such that the at least one groove is oriented at said angle between 105° and 120° with respect to the main axis of the foot.
However, as seen in figures 1A, 2A, and 3-4, the preferred flexing zone has an angle about 105° and 120° with respect to the main axis of the foot. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claim invention to understand that the angle could be between 105° and 120° with respect to the main axis of the foot in order to align along the metatarsal phalanges zone, joints, or heads of a user feet and therefore increase flexibility of the forefoot portion.
Regarding claim 2, Campbell discloses said sole has in the anterior part a plurality of preferred flexing zones extending in an oblique direction with respect to the main axis of the foot (fig 1A).
Regarding claim 4, Campbell discloses said sole has, in the preferred flexing zone, a hardness at least 10% lower with respect to the rest of said sole (col 11, lines 5-25).
Regarding claim 5, Campbell discloses said preferred flexing zone has a height, extending in a longitudinal direction, comprised between 3 and 40 mm (col 10, lines 12-20).
Regarding claim 10, Campbell discloses said sole is made of a first material and has, in the preferred flexing zone, an inclusion of a second material of a different nature and having a hardness less than a hardness of the first material used for the rest of the sole (col 11, lines 1-32).
Regarding claim 11, Campbell discloses the second material has a hardness at least 10% less than the hardness of the first material (col 11, lines 5-25).
Regarding claim 12, Campbell does not clearly teach said preferred flexing zone is located at a distance comprised between 60 and 75% of the total length of the sole from its rear end. However, as seen in figures 1A, 2A, and 3-4, the preferred flexing zone is located about 60 and 75% of the total length of the sole from its rear end. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claim invention to understand that the preferred flexing zone is located about 60 and 75% of the total length of the sole from its rear end in order to align along the metatarsal phalanges zone, joints, or heads of a user feet and therefore increase flexibility of the forefoot portion.
Regarding claim 13, Campbell discloses said preferred flexing zone extends over a portion or over the entire width of the sole (fig 1A).
Regarding claim 14, Campbell discloses said sole has a strip (member 164) with extra thickness located at an edge of said preferred flexing zone or at two edges of said preferred flexing zone.
Regarding claim 15, Campbell discloses said strip with extra thickness is oriented according to the flexing fold axis (member 164).
Regarding claim 16, Campbell discloses said strip with extra thickness forms a means of gripping of the anterior part of the outsole (member 164).
Regarding claim 17, Campbell discloses said sole is a flexible sole with an elastomer base or a rigid sole with a thermoplastic material base (col 1, lines 33-45).
Regarding claim 18, Campbell discloses said sole comprises an outsole intended to come into contact with the ground and a midsole, said preferred flexing zone extending in an oblique direction with respect to the main axis of the foot being arranged in said outsole (col 1, lines 33-45).
Regarding claim 19, Campbell discloses shoe comprising a sole according to claim 1 (col 3, lines 60-64).
Regarding claim 20, Campbell discloses said shoe is a sports shoe, or a running shoe, or a football shoe or a rugby shoe (col 3, lines 60-64).
Regarding claim 21, Campbell discloses said sole has, in the preferred flexing zone, a plurality of grooves oriented according to the flexing fold axis (fig 1A).
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campbell et al. (7,650,707) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bacon et al. (2015/0096195).
Regarding claims 8-9, Campbell teaches all limitations of the claim and Bunnell teach a sole structure having a first material and has, in the preferred flexing zone, an inclusion of a second material of a same nature and having a density less than a density of the first material used for the rest of the sole, wherein the second material has a density at least 10% less than the density of the first material.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claim invention to modify the sole structure of Campbell by using the density relationship of Bacon in order to provide desired cushioning, motion control, and resiliency.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, dated 09-03-2026, with respect to the rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C §112(b) have been fully considered, and are persuasive; however, another one has been made as analyzed above.
Applicant's arguments, date 09-03-2026, with respect to the rejections of claims under 35 U.S.C §103 have been fully considered, but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon, is listed on the attached PTO-892.
BAO-THIEU L. NGUYEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3732
/BAO-THIEU L NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732