Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 2, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sonnekalb, et. al. (US2019047365A1), in view of Suematsu, et. al. (US 20110177416 A1), further in view of Buhler, et. al. (CN 107431221 A).
Regarding Claim 1, Sonnekalb teaches a fuel cell device for a vehicle including a fuel cell system (“[0001] circuit system for a fuel cell vehicle”), comprising: a fuel cell stack (“[0001] a fuel cell arrangement is an arrangement of one or more fuel cells, such as a fuel cell stack”); a first cooling circuit (“third circuit 50”) having a first coolant medium (“third fluid”) flowing therethrough during operation for cooling the fuel cell system (wherein the third fluid cools the third circuit 50, containing the fuel cell assembly 55); and a second cooling circuit (“second circuit 30” having a second coolant medium (“second fluid”) flowing therethrough during operation for cooling an electronic unit (without additional specificity, this is any electrical device along the cooling circuit; this includes the heating device 37, or more particularly the heat exchanger 35 which may draw heat from the air from the “[0026] driver’s seat area”) and an energy storage (“a second circuit . . . in particular for cooling a traction battery”), wherein the first cooling circuit and the second cooling circuit are thermally connected to one another (“a second circuit which can be operated in heat exchange connection with the first circuit and conducts a second fluid”). Sonnekalb at [0001, 25- 28].
In terms of “for cooling the fuel cell system” under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this need not include a fuel cell stack within the first circuit. However, for the purposes of clarity, Examiner notes that Fig. 1 and paragraphs 25- 30 of Sonnekalb also teaches a third circuit 50 and a fourth circuit 70, each of which comprising a third and fourth fluid respectively. This is relevant because while the second circuit comprises a traction battery 39, the fuel cell assembly 55 is actually found within the third circuit. Id. at [0027 -28]. This third circuit 50 comprises a fuel cell stack (fuel cell assembly 55), a heat exchanger (heat exchanger 45), and a pump (delivery device 51). Id. While the third and second circuit exchange heat (“the heat exchanger 45 to which the third fluid can be supplied for a heat exchange with the second fluid is arranged in the flow direction of the third fluid”) the fluids do not mix. Id. While the third circuit does not have a cooler, the second circuit has a “heat exchanger 35 for cooling the air.” Id. at [0026]. Further, a similar component heat exchanger 7 is disclosed as a “gas cooler.”
“Regarding cooler-free,” this is interpreted as including a device within a designated circuit that is a device for cooling the cooling circuit other than a heat exchanger. This is because Claim 1 already recites a heat exchanger, and this cooler is a separate element, and because otherwise this would produce a contradiction wherein the thermal connection of the heat exchanger “cools” one circuit, rendering it no longer “cooler-free.” Similarly, while a cooling circuit having a coolant medium could be considered a cooler itself, this conflicts with “cooler-free” ; for this reason, a “cooler” is any device which performs the function of cooling the circuit other than the heat exchanger or coolant medium itself.
Regarding “wherein the first cooling circuit is cooler-free such that the first coolant circuit is not fluidically coupled to the cooler of the second cooling circuit or any other cooler to preclude the first coolant medium flowing through the first cooling circuit during operation from flowing through any cooler,” Sonnekalb teaches “[0009] one heat exchanger to which the third fluid can be conveyed for a heat exchange with the second fluid,” and does not describe fluid exchange with the second fluid in [0028] or elsewhere. Sonnekalb at [0009, 28]. Further, Sonnekalb teaches the heat exchanger 45 “is designed as a fluid to fluid heat exchanger—such as a plate heat exchanger, by way of example.” Id. at [0028]. A plate heat exchanger functions via exchanging heat between two fluids, typically within separate pipes or conduits, without the fluids mixing, via gasketed plates. The absence of a description of fluid exchange and the teaching of a plate heat exchanger reads upon “not fluidically coupled,” as the further requirement “preclude the first coolant medium . . . from flowing through any cooler,” indicates that so long as the circuits do not exchange coolant media, this meets the claim. While the two circuits may be mechanically coupled (i.e. such that their conduits / pipes exterior surface contact one another), they are not “fluidically coupled.”
The third circuit 50 only comprises the fuel cell arrangement 55 and its heat exchange connection 57, DC/DC converter 59, filter element 53, conveying device 51, and the heat exchanger 45, which as noted is not a cooler. Id. at [0028]. This also indicates Sonnekalb reads upon “wherein the first cooling circuit consists of the fuel cell stack, a heat exchanger, and a pump.” Id. at [0026-27].
Regarding the term “and wherein the first cooling circuit lacks an electronic unit requiring heat generated thereby to be dissipated by the first cooling circuit,” the later term specifies the presence of a fuel cell stack, which is an electronic unit which requires heat generated to be dissipated. To reconcile this, this term is interpreted as excluding the DC/DC converter of Sonnekalb. The DC / DC converter of Sonnekalb “A DC/DC converter 59 . . . regulates the electric current of the fuel cell arrangement.”
The heat exchanger 35 is not a cooler, indicating that Sonnekalb does not directly disclose a cooler in the second circuit. Further, Sonnekalb does not directly state that its air conditioning circuit conditions the air of the interior of the vehicle, wherein the second cooling circuit and the air conditioning circuit are thermally connected to one another, wherein the first cooling circuit and the air conditioning circuit are not thermally connected to one another.
Fig. 1 of Sonnekalb.
Suematsu teaches “[0037] As depicted in FIG. 1, the cooling system 1 of the present embodiment primarily includes a fuel cell stack 100 (also termed simply “FC 100 ”); a cooling circuit 10 adapted to circulate coolant water for cooling the fuel cell stack 100 ; an air conditioning circuit 20 adapted to circulate coolant water for use in air conditioning of the vehicle interior 40 ; first and second communicating flow channels 216 , 218 ; a valve V 3 ; and an ECU (Electronic Control Unit) 30 for controlling operation of the cooling system 1.” Sonnekalb at [0037]. In other words, Suematsu teaches an air conditioning circuit to condition air of an interior of a vehicle. The air conditioning circuit is connected via a switching unit to a cooling circuit, which “is configured to circulate a coolant medium,” wherein the ECU may use the radiator 110 and the fan 112 to cool the coolant. Id. at [0011, 43], Fig. 1. The switching unit, when engaged, allows the coolant medium to flow from the cooling circuit to the air conditioning circuit, which reads upon thermal exchange between the cooling circuit and the air conditioning circuit. Sonnekalb teaches the ECU 30 comprises a separate circuit which comprises sensors, a CPU, memory, and actuators which together control the operation of the cooling system 1. Id. at [0051 – 55]. This provides at least a suggestion that a current regulator could be disposed separately from the cooling circuit, and instead would be disposed within the ECU, given that these “various sensors” are not disposed within the cooling circuit or the air conditioning circuit. Id. at Fig. 1.
Fig. 1 of Suematsu.
Suematsu teaches its fuel cell 100 is upon a separate subcircuit from that of the cooler and the air conditioner which cools the interior; Suematsu also teaches a heater core 200 which may heat the vehicle interior, disposed within the air conditioning circuit 20. Suematsu at Fig. 1. Suematsu teaches its structure improves upon a structure wherein waste heat from the fuel cell is utilized as a heat source for temperature control, because it prevents overcooling which may impact generating efficiency of the fuel cell. Id. at [0006-7].
One of ordinary skill would find it obvious to modify Sonnekalb such that the second circuit of Sonnekalb is connected to an air conditioning circuit to condition air of an interior of a vehicle (as with the air conditioning circuit 20 and cooling circuit 10 of Suematsu), such that the second circuit comprises a cooler as in Suematsu (wherein the radiator and fan together are a cooler), and such that wherein the second cooling circuit and the air conditioning circuit are thermally connected to one another, wherein the first cooling circuit and the air conditioning circuit are not thermally connected to one another, because Suematsu teaches a benefit to preventing overcooling. Further, it would be obvious to eliminate the DC/DC converter from the cooling path of the first circuit of Sonnekalb within the modification, such that the first cooling circuit lacks an electronic unit requiring heat generated thereby to be dissipated by the first cooling circuit, because Suematsu provides a suggestion that a control module or regulator may be separate from the cooling circuit.
However, regarding the amended terms, modified Sonnekalb is silent as to “[newly amended terms are underlined] a first cooling circuit including a fuel cell stack and having a first coolant medium flowing therethrough during operation for cooling the fuel cell stack; a second cooling circuit including a cooler and having a second coolant medium flowing therethrough during operation for cooling an electronic unit and an energy storage of the vehicle, the second cooling circuit including a plurality of sub-circuits that are flow connected to one another including a cooler circuit, in which the second coolant medium is guided to and from the cooler, and a drive circuit, in which the second coolant medium is guided to and from the electronic unit and the energy storage, and wherein the drive circuit has a plurality of sub-circuits that are flow connected to one another including an electronic unit circuit for cooling the electronic unit, an energy storage circuit for cooling the energy storage, and a connection circuit that connects the electronic unit circuit and the energy storage circuit together; and an air conditioning circuit to condition air of an interior of the vehicle, wherein the first cooling circuit and the second cooling circuit are thermally connected to one another by a first heat exchanger such that during operation heat from the fuel cell stack is transferred from the first cooling circuit to the second cooling circuit, wherein the second cooling circuit and the air conditioning circuit are thermally connected to one another by a second heat exchanger and configured such that heat absorbed from cooling the electronic unit and the energy storage during operation can be transferred from the second cooling circuit to the air conditioning circuit and used to heat the air of the interior of the vehicle, wherein the first cooling circuit and the air conditioning circuit are not directly thermally connected to one another . . . . wherein the first cooling circuit consists only of the fuel cell stack,-a- the first heat exchanger, and a pump to reduce installation space required for the first cooling circuit, including the fuel cell stack.”
Buhler teaches that a cooling circuit 16 can be divided into two sub-circuits 16.1 and 16.2, wherein the sub-circuit 16.2 comprises another contained pair of circuits which read upon a sub-circuit. Buhler at p. 2-3, Fig. 4. Notably, Buhler teaches of sub-circuits that “[p.1-2] Because this first cooling circuit can be operated independently of the second cooling circuit, it is possible with a correspondingly smaller thermal mass, by means of the heat from the compressed supply air and by the heating device (e.g. resistance heating device) The heat into the fuel cell to achieve efficient heating. Since the first cooling circuit can operate independently of the second cooling circuit, the cooling of the liquid cooling medium in the cooling heat exchanger is prevented, so that the structure is heated relatively quickly.” Id. at p.1-2. Further, Buhler at least suggests a battery within the system which has its own sub-circuit, because of a problem within the prior art, “another significant drawback [of the prior art] is that the coolant pump must be suitable for the highest load operation of the cooling device. For cold start situations and the operation of small cooling circuits, the coolant pump is oversized and the required volumetric flow rates and delivery rates there are correspondingly less efficient. This is a huge drawback, because under these circumstances all the power needed to heat the fuel cell must first come from an electrical energy store, such as a battery. An inefficient coolant pump in this situation therefore leads to the need for a relatively large electrical energy storage device, which leads to installation space and cost disadvantages. This is a huge drawback especially for applications in vehicles.” Id. In other words, Buhler suggests a multi-circuit cooling apparatus, wherein different components such as an “electrical energy store,” a “fuel cell system 2, which is particular preferably implemented as a stack of cells,” and an ion exchanger 27 (i.e., an electronic unit) having their own isolated sub-circuit, would provide benefits to heating efficiency. Further, the first cooling circuit is divided into the two sub-circuits 16.1 and 16.2, and 16.2 is further subdivided, indicating such divisions are selected in order for “a thermally efficient manner for achieving the highest possible temperature and thus a liquid cooling medium at Efficient cooling in the cooling heat exchanger 23.” Id. at p.7.
Fig. 4 of Buhler.
Further, the diagram of Fig 4. depicts two cooling circuits connected via valve arrangement 32, and themselves connected to a separate circuit which comprises a cooling heat exchanger 23, with the characteristics of a fan (i.e., at least suggesting an air-conditioning circuit). This is important because the remaining claim limitations pertain to a separate air conditioning circuit; taken together with Fig. 1 of Sonnekalb, wherein the first and second circuits are connected via a heat exchanger 45, Fig. 4 of Buhler provides a basis for an air conditioning circuit which connects the second circuit and is “used to heat the air of the interior of the vehicle” (as with the cooling heat exchanger 23 of Buhler).
Finally, as noted previously, Buhler teaches it reduces the necessary size of the cooler; this reads directly upon “to reduce installation space required for the first cooling circuit, including the fuel cell stack.”
One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to modify the fuel device, such that the second circuit comprises the cooler of Suematsu, and the second cooling circuit comprises a plurality of sub-circuits (as in Buhler) that are flow connected to one another including a cooler circuit (a sub-circuit comprising the cooler of Suematsu), in which the second coolant medium is guided to and from the cooler (see Fig. 1 of Sonnekalb, and the sub-circuits of Buhler), and a drive circuit (a second sub-circuit; because no further description is provided, this is met by a sub-circuit), in which the second coolant medium is guided to and from the electronic unit (without additional specificity, this is any electrical device along the cooling circuit; this includes the heating device 37, or more particularly the heat exchanger 35 which may draw heat from the air from the “[0026] driver’s seat area) and the energy storage (battery of modified Sonnekalb “a second circuit . . . in particular for cooling a traction battery”), wherein the drive circuit has a plurality of sub-circuits (as in Buhler, where the subcircuit 16.2 is further divided into sub-circuits of sub circuits) that are flow connected to one another including an electronic unit circuit for cooling the electronic unit (another sub-circuit of the sub-circuit), an energy storage circuit for cooling the energy storage, and a connection circuit that connects the electronic unit circuit and the energy storage circuit together (taught or at least suggested by the valve arrangement 32, which connects not only the two sub-circuits 16.1 and 16.2, but also connects these circuits to a cooling heat exchanger 23 [which appears to be a fan]). Further, it would be obvious to modify the air conditioning circuit of modified Sonnekalb such that the first cooling circuit and the second cooling circuit are connected by a first heat exchanger (in the same manner that the heat exchanger 45 of Sonnekalb connects the second circulation 30 and the third circulation 50 in Fig. 1), such that during operation heat from the fuel cell stack is transferred from the first cooling circuit to the second cooling circuit, and to further modify the circuits such that the second cooling circuit and the air conditioning are thermally connected to each other by a second heat exchanger configured such that heat absorbed from cooling the electronic unit and the energy storage during operation can be transferred from the second cooling circuit to the air conditioning circuit and used to heat the air of the interior of the vehicle, such that the first cooling circuit and the air conditioning circuit are not directly thermally connected one another.
This would be obvious because Buhler teaches a benefit to heating efficiency, which improves independent operation of the circuits and necessitates a smaller pumping apparatus, which would also reduce installation space required for the first cooling circuit, including the fuel cell stack.
As such, Claim 1 is obvious over Sonnekalb, in view of Suematsu, further in view of Buhler.
Regarding Claim 2, Claim 2 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Sonnekalb.
Sonnekalb teaches the first (third circuit 50) and second cooling circuit (second circuit 30) are thermally connected by a heat exchanger (heat exchanger 45) for transferring waste heat produced in the first cooling circuit through the fuel cell system to the second cooling circuit (heat exchanger 45) at a first temperature level (Sonnekalb provides a preferred operating temperature for a traction battery “is in the range between 20° C to 30° C” and that the operating temperature of the fuel cell temperature is 80°C” – while either read upon a first temperature, for the purposes of the later claim 4 the traction battery temperature is hereinafter a first temperature and the second temperature is the fuel cell operating temperature). Sonnekalb at [0003, 24 – 29] , Fig. 1. As noted previously, Sonnekalb teaches the circuits are in physical contact (described above as mechanically coupled) such that they exchange heat, but does not teach a fluid exchange which would read upon “fluidically coupled.”
As such, Claim 2 is obvious over Sonnekalb, in view of Suematsu , further in view of Buhler.
Regarding Claim 9, Sonnekalb teaches a method for cooling a fuel cell device in a vehicle including a fuel cell system ([0001] “a circulation system for a fuel cell vehicle . . . in particular for the purpose of cooling a fuel cell arrangement”), the fuel cell device including a fuel cell stack (“[0001] a fuel cell arrangement is an arrangement of one fuel cell or a plurality of fuel cells—such as, for example, a fuel cell stack” ; fuel cell assembly 55), a first cooling circuit having a first coolant medium flowing therethrough during operation for cooling the fuel cell system (as previously discussed, Sonnekalb teaches four cooling circuits 10, 30, 50, 70 and four distinct cooling fluids respectively – as with the Claim 1 analysis, the “first” circuit is assigned to the third circuit 50 of Sonnekalb, containing the third fluid), and a second cooling circuit having a second coolant medium flowing therethrough during operation (second cooling circuit 30, second fluid) for cooling an electronic unit (without additional specificity, this is any electrical device along the cooling circuit; this includes the heating device 37, or more particularly the heat exchanger 35 which may draw heat from the air from the “[0026] driver’s seat area”) and an energy storage (“a second circuit . . . in particular for cooling a traction battery”), wherein the first cooling circuit and the second cooling circuit are thermally connected to one another (“a second circuit which can be operated in heat exchange connection with the first circuit and conducts a second fluid”). Sonnekalb at [0001, 25- 28].
Sonnekalb teaches the second cooling circuit has a cooler for cooling a cooling water (at least suggested by “heat exchanger 35 for cooling the air,” see analysis within next paragraph) the second coolant medium flowing in the second cooling circuit during operation (Sonnekalb teaches the second fluid “flow[s]” through the heat exchanger, and that this circulation occurs during operation, particularly during low temperatures wherein the fluid may be heated to achieve the correct operating temperatures during the “[011] starting phase,” indicating operation), and wherein the first cooling circuit is cooler-free (the third circuit 50 does not teach a heater or a cooler) such that the first coolant circuit is not fluidically coupled to the cooler of the second cooling circuit or any other cooler to preclude the first coolant medium flowing through the first cooling circuit during operation from flowing through any cooler (“[0027] The heat exchanger 45 is designed as a fluid to fluid heat exchanger—such as a plate heat exchanger, by way of example—and is provided for a heat exchange between the second fluid and the third fluid of the third circulation 50,” indicating that heat is exchanged between the two fluids via the exchanger 45 but without fluid exchange), the method comprising: transferring waste heat produced in the fuel cell system from the first cooling circuit to the second cooling circuit (see previous inline reference; see also “at this position, heat can be released from the fluid to the second fluid”) by a first heat exchanger (heat exchanger 45) at a first temperature level and thereby heating the second coolant medium circulating in the second cooling circuit (here, the process of heat exchanged from the third fluid to the second fluid at least implies the third fluid being at a different temperature than the second fluid, and having a “first temperature” ; as claimed, this clause appears to refer to the heat transfer rather than the heat exchanger itself, but Examiner notes that this heat exchanger would change in temperature during heat exchange and would nevertheless have a “first temperature”).
In terms of “for cooling the fuel cell system” under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this need not include a fuel cell stack within the first circuit. However, for the purposes of clarity, Examiner notes that Fig. 1 and paragraphs 25- 30 of Sonnekalb also teaches a third circuit 50 and a fourth circuit 70, each of which comprising a third and fourth fluid respectively. This is relevant because while the second circuit comprises a traction battery 39, the fuel cell assembly 55 is actually found within the third circuit. Id. at [0027 -28]. This third circuit 50 comprises a fuel cell stack (fuel cell assembly 55), a heat exchanger (heat exchanger 45), and a pump (delivery device 51). Id. While the third and second circuit exchange heat (“the heat exchanger 45 to which the third fluid can be supplied for a heat exchange with the second fluid is arranged in the flow direction of the third fluid”) the fluids do not mix. Id. While the third circuit does not have a cooler, the second circuit has a “heat exchanger 35 for cooling the air.” Id. at [0026]. Further, a similar component heat exchanger 7 is disclosed as a “gas cooler.”
“Regarding cooler-free,” this is interpreted as including a device within a designated circuit that is a device for cooling the cooling circuit other than a heat exchanger. This is because Claim 1 already recites a heat exchanger, and this cooler is a separate element, and because otherwise this would produce a contradiction wherein the thermal connection of the heat exchanger “cools” one circuit, rendering it no longer “cooler-free.” Similarly, while a cooling circuit having a coolant medium could be considered a cooler itself, this conflicts with “cooler-free” ; for this reason, a “cooler” is any device which performs the function of cooling the circuit other than the heat exchanger or coolant medium itself.
Regarding “wherein the first cooling circuit is cooler-free such that the first coolant circuit is not fluidically coupled to the cooler of the second cooling circuit or any other cooler to preclude the first coolant medium flowing through the first cooling circuit during operation from flowing through any cooler,” Sonnekalb teaches “[0009] one heat exchanger to which the third fluid can be conveyed for a heat exchange with the second fluid,” and does not describe fluid exchange with the second fluid in [0028] or elsewhere. Sonnekalb at [0009, 28]. Further, Sonnekalb teaches the heat exchanger 45 “is designed as a fluid to fluid heat exchanger—such as a plate heat exchanger, by way of example.” Id. at [0028]. A plate heat exchanger functions via exchanging heat between two fluids, typically within separate pipes or conduits, without the fluids mixing, via gasketed plates. See, e.g., “How plate-and-frame heat exchangers work,” Alfa Laval, https://www.alfalaval.us/microsites/gasketed-plate-heat-exchangers/tools/how-gphes-work/. The absence of a description of fluid exchange and the teaching of a plate heat exchanger reads upon “not fluidically coupled,” as the further requirement as “preclude the first coolant medium . . . from flowing through any cooler,” indicates that so long as the circuits do not exchange fluid, this meets the claim. The third circuit 50 only comprises the fuel cell arrangement 55 and its heat exchange connection 57, DC/DC converter 59, filter element 53, conveying device 51, and the heat exchanger 45, which as noted is not a cooler. Id. at [0028]. This also indicates Sonnekalb reads upon “wherein the first cooling circuit consists of the fuel cell stack, a heat exchanger, and a pump.” Id. at [0026-27].Sonnekalb teaches a “heat exchanger 35 for cooling the air,” and a similar component heat exchanger 7 is disclosed as a “gas cooler.” Id. at [0026-27]. However, the heat exchanger 35 is not a cooler, indicating that Sonnekalb does not directly disclose a cooler in the second circuit.
Fig. 1 of Sonnekalb.
Suematsu teaches “[0037] As depicted in FIG. 1, the cooling system 1 of the present embodiment primarily includes a fuel cell stack 100 (also termed simply “FC 100 ”); a cooling circuit 10 adapted to circulate coolant water for cooling the fuel cell stack 100 ; an air conditioning circuit 20 adapted to circulate coolant water for use in air conditioning of the vehicle interior 40 ; first and second communicating flow channels 216 , 218 ; a valve V 3 ; and an ECU (Electronic Control Unit) 30 for controlling operation of the cooling system 1.” Sonnekalb at [0037]. In other words, Suematsu teaches an air conditioning circuit to condition air of an interior of a vehicle. The air conditioning circuit is connected via a switching unit to a cooling circuit, which “is configured to circulate a coolant medium,” wherein the ECU may use the radiator 110 and the fan 112 to cool the coolant. Id. at [0011, 43], Fig. 1. The switching unit, when engaged, allows the coolant medium to flow from the cooling circuit to the air conditioning circuit, which reads upon thermal exchange between the cooling circuit and the air conditioning circuit. Sonnekalb teaches the ECU 30 comprises a separate circuit which comprises sensors, a CPU, memory, and actuators which together control the operation of the cooling system 1. Id. at [0051 – 55]. This provides at least a suggestion that a current regulator could be disposed separately from the cooling circuit, and instead would be disposed within the ECU, given that these “various sensors” are not disposed within the cooling circuit or the air conditioning circuit. Id. at Fig. 1.
Fig. 1 of Suematsu.
Suematsu teaches its fuel cell 100 is upon a separate subcircuit from that of the cooler and the air conditioner which cools the interior; Suematsu also teaches a heater core 200 which may heat the vehicle interior, disposed within the air conditioning circuit 20. Suematsu at Fig. 1. Suematsu teaches its structure improves upon a structure wherein waste heat from the fuel cell is utilized as a heat source for temperature control, because it prevents overcooling which may impact generating efficiency of the fuel cell. Id. at [0006-7].
One of ordinary skill would find it obvious to modify Sonnekalb such that the second circuit of Sonnekalb is connected to an air conditioning circuit to condition air of an interior of a vehicle (as with the air conditioning circuit 20 and cooling circuit 10 of Suematsu), such that the second circuit comprises a cooler as in Suematsu (wherein the radiator and fan together are a cooler), and such that wherein the second cooling circuit and the air conditioning circuit are thermally connected to one another, wherein the first cooling circuit and the air conditioning circuit are not thermally connected to one another, because Suematsu teaches a benefit to preventing overcooling. Further, it would be obvious to eliminate the DC/DC converter from the cooling path of the first circuit of Sonnekalb within the modification, such that the first cooling circuit lacks an electronic unit requiring heat generated thereby to be dissipated by the first cooling circuit, because Suematsu provides a suggestion that a control module or regulator may be separate from the cooling circuit.
However, regarding the amended terms, modified Sonnekalb is silent as to “[newly amended terms are underlined] a second cooling circuit including a cooler and having a second coolant medium flowing therethrough during operation for cooling an electronic unit and an energy storage of the vehicle, the second cooling circuit including a plurality of sub-circuits that are flow connected to one another including a cooler circuit, in which the second coolant medium is guided to and from the cooler, and a drive circuit, in which the second coolant medium is guided to and from the electronic unit and the energy storage, and wherein the drive circuit has a plurality of sub-circuits that are flow connected to one another including an electronic unit circuit for cooling the electronic unit, an energy storage circuit for cooling the energy storage, and a connection circuit that connects the electronic unit circuit and the energy storage circuit together; and an air conditioning circuit to condition air of an interior of the vehicle, wherein the first cooling circuit and the second cooling circuit are thermally connected to one another by a first heat exchanger such that during operation heat from the fuel cell stack is transferred from the first cooling circuit to the second cooling circuit, wherein the second cooling circuit and the air conditioning circuit are thermally connected to one another by a second heat exchanger and configured such that heat absorbed from cooling the electronic unit and the energy storage during operation can be transferred from the second cooling circuit to the air conditioning circuit and used to heat the air of the interior of the vehicle . . . and wherein the first cooling circuit lacks an electronic unit requiring heat generated thereby to be dissipated by the first cooling circuit, wherein the first cooling circuit consists only of the fuel cell stack, the first heat exchanger, and a pump to reduce installation space required for the first cooling circuit, including the fuel cell stack.”
Buhler teaches that a cooling circuit 16 can be divided into two sub-circuits 16.1 and 16.2, wherein the sub-circuit 16.2 comprises another contained pair of circuits which read upon a sub-circuit. Buhler at p. 2-3, Fig. 4. Notably, Buhler teaches of sub-circuits that “[p.1-2] Because this first cooling circuit can be operated independently of the second cooling circuit, it is possible with a correspondingly smaller thermal mass, by means of the heat from the compressed supply air and by the heating device (e.g. resistance heating device) The heat into the fuel cell to achieve efficient heating. Since the first cooling circuit can operate independently of the second cooling circuit, the cooling of the liquid cooling medium in the cooling heat exchanger is prevented, so that the structure is heated relatively quickly.” Id. at p.1-2. Further, Buhler at least suggests a battery within the system which has its own sub-circuit, because of a problem within the prior art, “another significant drawback [of the prior art] is that the coolant pump must be suitable for the highest load operation of the cooling device. For cold start situations and the operation of small cooling circuits, the coolant pump is oversized and the required volumetric flow rates and delivery rates there are correspondingly less efficient. This is a huge drawback, because under these circumstances all the power needed to heat the fuel cell must first come from an electrical energy store, such as a battery. An inefficient coolant pump in this situation therefore leads to the need for a relatively large electrical energy storage device, which leads to installation space and cost disadvantages. This is a huge drawback especially for applications in vehicles.” Id. In other words, Buhler suggests a multi-circuit cooling apparatus, wherein different components such as an “electrical energy store,” a “fuel cell system 2, which is particular preferably implemented as a stack of cells,” and an ion exchanger 27 (i.e., an electronic unit) having their own isolated sub-circuit, would provide benefits to heating efficiency. Further, the first cooling circuit is divided into the two sub-circuits 16.1 and 16.2, and 16.2 is further subdivided, indicating such divisions are selected in order for “a thermally efficient manner for achieving the highest possible temperature and thus a liquid cooling medium at Efficient cooling in the cooling heat exchanger 23.” Id. at p.7.
Fig. 4 of Buhler.
Further, the diagram of Fig 4. depicts two cooling circuits connected via valve arrangement 32, and themselves connected to a separate circuit which comprises a cooling heat exchanger 23, with the characteristics of a fan (i.e., at least suggesting an air-conditioning circuit). This is important because the remaining claim limitations pertain to a separate air conditioning circuit; taken together with Fig. 1 of Sonnekalb, wherein the first and second circuits are connected via a heat exchanger 45, Fig. 4 of Buhler provides a basis for an air conditioning circuit which connects the second circuit and is “used to heat the air of the interior of the vehicle” (as with the cooling heat exchanger 23 of Buhler).
Finally, as noted previously, Buhler teaches it reduces the necessary size of the cooler; this reads directly upon “to reduce installation space required for the first cooling circuit, including the fuel cell stack.”
One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to modify the fuel device, such that the second circuit comprises the cooler of Suematsu, and the second cooling circuit comprises a plurality of sub-circuits (as in Buhler) that are flow connected to one another including a cooler circuit (a sub-circuit comprising the cooler of Suematsu), in which the second coolant medium is guided to and from the cooler (see Fig. 1 of Sonnekalb, and the sub-circuits of Buhler), and a drive circuit (a second sub-circuit; because no further description is provided, this is met by a sub-circuit), in which the second coolant medium is guided to and from the electronic unit (without additional specificity, this is any electrical device along the cooling circuit; this includes the heating device 37, or more particularly the heat exchanger 35 which may draw heat from the air from the “[0026] driver’s seat area) and the energy storage (battery of modified Sonnekalb “a second circuit . . . in particular for cooling a traction battery”), wherein the drive circuit has a plurality of sub-circuits (as in Buhler, where the subcircuit 16.2 is further divided into sub-circuits of sub circuits) that are flow connected to one another including an electronic unit circuit for cooling the electronic unit (another sub-circuit of the sub-circuit), an energy storage circuit for cooling the energy storage, and a connection circuit that connects the electronic unit circuit and the energy storage circuit together (taught or at least suggested by the valve arrangement 32, which connects not only the two sub-circuits 16.1 and 16.2, but also connects these circuits to a cooling heat exchanger 23 [which appears to be a fan]). Further, it would be obvious to modify the air conditioning circuit of modified Sonnekalb such that the first cooling circuit and the second cooling circuit are connected by a first heat exchanger (in the same manner that the heat exchanger 45 of Sonnekalb connects the second circulation 30 and the third circulation 50 in Fig. 1), such that during operation heat from the fuel cell stack is transferred from the first cooling circuit to the second cooling circuit, and to further modify the circuits such that the second cooling circuit and the air conditioning are thermally connected to each other by a second heat exchanger configured such that heat absorbed from cooling the electronic unit and the energy storage during operation can be transferred from the second cooling circuit to the air conditioning circuit and used to heat the air of the interior of the vehicle, such that the first cooling circuit and the air conditioning circuit are not directly thermally connected one another.
This would be obvious because Buhler teaches a benefit to heating efficiency, which improves independent operation of the circuits and necessitates a smaller pumping apparatus, which would also reduce installation space required for the first cooling circuit, including the fuel cell stack.
As such, Claim 9 is obvious over Sonnekalb, in view of Suematsu , further in view of Buhler.
Claims 4-5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sonnekalb, in view of Suematsu and Buhler, and further in view of Yamada, et. al. (US2016141680A1).
Regarding Claim 4, Claim 4 relies upon Claim 2. Claim 2 is taught by modified Sonnekalb.
Sonnekalb teaches the cooler 35 is “a fluid to air heat exchanger,” but does not teach the first circuit comprises a second heat exchanger.
Yamada teaches a fuel cell system 1 including an air conditioning system 30, wherein the coolant circulation passage 17, air conditioning circuit comprises a second three way valve, heater 33, and a heater core 34 which “performs heat exchange between the air and the coolant flowing through the air conditioning circuit.” Yamada at [0025]. Yamada teaches “[0006] when the coolant within the coolant circulation passage is not capable of being supplied to the air conditioning circuit, the heater is operated to maintain a temperature of the coolant within the air conditioning circuit at a first predetermined temperature or higher . . . [0008] when a temperature of the coolant within the air conditioning circuit reaches a second predetermined temperature set higher than the first predetermined temperature, the control unit may stop operating the heat.” Id. at [0006 – 8]. This reads upon an air conditioning circuit thermally connected to a cooling circuit by a second heat exchanger is provided for transferring waste heat produced in the cooling circuit to the air conditioning circuit at a second temperature level that is increased with respect to the first temperature level. Yamada teaches its air conditioning circuit improves responsiveness of the air conditioning system. Id. at [0005].
One of skill would find it obvious to further modify Sonnekalb with the air conditioning circuit of Yamada, such that an air conditioning circuit (air conditioning circuit 31 of Yamada) is thermally connected to the second cooling circuit (of Sonnekalb) by a second heat exchanger (heater core 34) is provided for transferring waste heat produced in the first cooling circuit and in the second cooling circuit to the air conditioning circuit at a second temperature level (second predetermined temperature of Yamada) that is increased with respect to the first temperature level (first predetermined temperature), because Yamada teaches a benefit to air conditioning responsiveness.
As such, Claim 4 is obvious over Sonnekalb, in view of Suematsu and Buhler, and further in view of Yamada.
Regarding Claim 5, Claim 5 relies upon Claim 4. Claim 4 is obvious over modified Sonnekalb.
Yamada teaches an air conditioning circuit 31. While the circuit 31 does not disclose a “heat exchanger,” it teaches a heater core 34 which performs “heat exchange.” Yamada at [0025]. Further, Yamada teaches heater 33; this reads upon “a third heat exchanger for increasing the temperature of a vehicle interior.” Id.
As such, Claim 5 is obvious over Sonnekalb, in view of Yamada.
Regarding Claim 10, Claim 10 relies upon Claim 9. Claim 9 is obvious over modified Sonnekalb.
Yamada teaches a fuel cell system 1 including an air conditioning system 30, wherein the coolant circulation passage 17, air conditioning circuit comprises a second three way valve, heater 33, and a heater core 34 which “performs heat exchange between the air and the coolant flowing through the air conditioning circuit.” Yamada at [0025]. Yamada teaches “[0006] when the coolant within the coolant circulation passage is not capable of being supplied to the air conditioning circuit, the heater is operated to maintain a temperature of the coolant within the air conditioning circuit at a first predetermined temperature or higher . . . [0008] when a temperature of the coolant within the air conditioning circuit reaches a second predetermined temperature set higher than the first predetermined temperature, the control unit may stop operating the heat.” Id. at [0006 – 8]. This reads upon transferring heat from the fuel cell system from the second cooling circuit to an air conditioning circuit at a second temperature level higher with respect to the first temperature level and thereby heating a refrigerant circulating in the air conditioning circuit; and transferring heat from the heated refrigerant to air located in a vehicle interior by a second heat exchanger and thereby raising a temperature in the vehicle interior. Yamada teaches its air conditioning circuit improves responsiveness of the air conditioning system. Id. at [0005]. Further, Yamada teaches heater 33; this reads upon a third heat exchanger for increasing the temperature of a vehicle interior. Id.
One of skill would find it obvious to further modify Sonnekalb with the air conditioning circuit of Yamada, such that the method of modified Sonnekalb further comprises transferring heat (via the heater core 34) generated by the electronic unit (here, the this is either the heating device 37 or the heat exchanger 35, either of which generate heat) and the energy storage (traction battery of Sonnekalb), as well as by the heat transfer from the first cooling circuit of the fuel cell system (as in the fuel cell 2, but applied to the fuel cell of Sonnekalb) from the second cooling circuit (second cooling circuit 30 of Sonnekalb) to an air conditioning circuit (air conditioning circuit 31) at a second temperature level (second predetermined temperature) higher with respect to the first temperature level (first predetermined temperature) and thereby heating a refrigerant circulating (coolant) in the air conditioning circuit; and transferring heat from the heated refrigerant to air located in a vehicle interior by a second heat exchanger (heater 33) and thereby raising a temperature in the vehicle interior, because Yamada teaches a benefit to air conditioning responsiveness.
As such, Claim 10 is obvious over Sonnekalb, in view of Suematsu and Buhler, and further in view of Yamada.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sonnekalb, in view of Suematsu and Buhler, further in view of Cargnelli, et. al. (US20040038100A1).
Regarding Claim 3, Claim 3 relies upon Claim 2. Claim 2 is obvious over modified Sonnekalb.
Sonnekalb teaches a coolant/coolant heat exchanger, but does not reference a water-water heat exchanger specifically. Sonnekalb at [0015].
Cargnelli teaches a water-water heat exchanger for use in a fuel cell, and teaches its cooling system design provides the benefit of rapid dynamic control of temperatures while utilizing the waste heat from the fuel cell. Cargnelli at [0008 - 12, 52].
One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to modify the heat exchanger of Sonnekalb to be the water – water exchanger of Cargnelli because Cargnelli teaches a benefit to dynamic control of temperatures while utilizing waste heat. As such, Claim 3 is obvious over Sonnekalb, in view of Suematsu, further in view of Cargnelli.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sonnekalb, in view of Suematsu, and further in view of Schwab, et. al. (US20070077473A1).
Regarding Claim 6, Claim 6 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Sonnekalb.
Sonnekalb teaches the second cooling circuit 30 comprises several subcircuits (here, the “sub-circuits” comprising the upper loop of cooling circuit 30 from switching device 33, the sub circuit from switching device 33 to switching device 43 and the entire circuit from 33, through 43 and heat exchanger 45, and back through the conveying device 31 to 33), the subcircuits are flow-connected to one another at an opening point (for the purposes of interpretation, because “several” circuits are specified, two of the circuits and their respective junction constitute an opening point, such as at the switching device 33), and the mass flow of the cooling water second coolant medium (second fluid) in the subcircuits can be regulated by an actuator (switching device 33) arranged at the opening point or coupled into it.
Here, a switching device reads upon or at least suggests an actuator. Suematsu teaches “The vehicle interior temperature which is set by the user with the temperature setting control 401 is sent as an output signal to the ECU 30 , which is utilized to control various actuators during heating operations,” which further supports the presence of an actuator arranged at the opening point or coupled to it, even if the term opening point isn’t directly disclosed. Suematsu at [0049]. However, Schwab is maintained from the previous action for use as an evidentiary reference.
Fig. 1 of Sonnekalb.
Schwab teaches a first cooling circuit 4, 5 coupled to a second cooling circuit 7, wherein the first cooling circuit contains an actuator 6 (“preferably a three-way valve”) between the fuel cell unit 1, heat exchanger 2, whereby “flow of coolant can be passed on the one hand via the heat exchanger 2 and onward in the second cooling circuit 4, 5 or directly into the main cooling circuit 7.” Schwab at [0021]. This is taken to be included in “regulated by an actuator arranged at the opening point,” wherein the three-way valve reads on an opening point and the “flow of coolant” is the “mass flow of the cooling water.” Id. Schwab also provides evidence that