DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed 12/31/2025 has been placed of record in the file.
Claims 24 and 34 have been amended.
Claims 24, 26-34, and 36-45 are pending.
The applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 24, 26-34, and 36-45 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive as discussed below.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 24, 26, 27, 31, 32, 34, 36, 37, 41, 42, 44, and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2015/0080025) in view of Gagliano et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2013/0036307), hereinafter referred to as Gagliano.
Yamada disclosed techniques for controlling access to stored files. In an analogous art, Gagliano disclosed techniques for authenticating communication responses between devices. Both systems are directed toward the use of IP addresses for network connections.
Regarding claim 24, Yamada discloses an information processing method performed by a first device and a second device comprising: generating, by the first device, a network address of the first device (paragraph 131, projector has IP address); generating, by the second device, a network address of the second device (paragraph 29, smartphone connected to network); displaying, by the first device, a two-dimensional pattern associated with the network address of the first device (paragraph 131, QR code including IP address of projector); acquiring, by the second device, image data representing the two-dimensional pattern with an imaging unit (paragraph 132, smartphone captures image of QR code); specifying, by the second device, the network address of the first device based on the acquired image data (paragraph 132, obtains device information from QR code); and establishing communication between the first device and the second device (paragraph 136, sends projection request to projector).
Yamada does not explicitly state generating a secret key of the first device and a public key corresponding to the secret key, the network address of the first device being generated based solely on a hash value on the basis of the public key of the first device and a predetermined hash function, generating a secret key of the second device and a public key corresponding to the secret key, the network address of the second device being generated based solely on a hash value on the basis of the public key of the second device and a predetermined hash function, and the communication being secure communication between the first device and the second device based on the public key of the first device and the public key of the second device. However, generating network addresses in such a fashion was well known in the art as evidenced by Gagliano. Since the inventions encompass the same field of endeavor, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Yamada by adding the ability for generating a secret key of the first device and a public key corresponding to the secret key, the network address of the first device being generated based solely on a hash value on the basis of the public key of the first device and a predetermined hash function, generating a secret key of the second device and a public key corresponding to the secret key, the network address of the second device being generated based solely on a hash value on the basis of the public key of the second device and a predetermined hash function, and the communication being secure communication between the first device and the second device based on the public key of the first device and the public key of the second device as provided by Gagliano (see paragraph 41, node has signing key and public key, and paragraph 20, nodes include host, router, etc., and paragraph 41, address based on hash of public key, and paragraph 16, signature verification). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit that generating network addresses in this way would assist in securing communications (see Gagliano, paragraph 7).
Regarding claim 26, the combination of Yamada and Gagliano discloses wherein the data transmitted to the first device comprises a display screen of the second device (Yamada, paragraph 136, sends projection file to projector and projector projects projection file).
Regarding claim 27, the combination of Yamada and Gagliano discloses receiving, by the second device, image data representing a display screen of a third device that is connected to the second device (Yamada, paragraph 136, information storage apparatus sends projection file to smartphone); and transmitting, by the second device, data including the image data to the first device by using the network address of the first device (Yamada, paragraph 136, smartphone sends projection file to projector).
Regarding claim 31, the combination of Yamada and Gagliano discloses wherein the first device includes a projector (Yamada, paragraph 131, projector).
Regarding claim 32, the combination of Yamada and Gagliano discloses wherein the two-dimensional pattern includes at least one of a one-dimensional or two-dimensional bar code (Yamada, paragraph 131, QR code).
Regarding claim 34, Yamada discloses an information processing system comprising: a first device (paragraph 131, projector); and a second device comprising an imaging unit (paragraph 131, smartphone), wherein the first device is configured to perform operations comprising: generating a network address of the first device (paragraph 131, projector has IP address); and displaying a two-dimensional pattern associated with the network address of the first device (paragraph 131, QR code including IP address of projector), and the second device is configured to perform operations comprising: generating a network address of the second device (paragraph 29, smartphone connected to network); acquiring image data representing the two-dimensional pattern from the imaging unit (paragraph 132, smartphone captures image of QR code); specifying the network address of the first device based on the acquired image data (paragraph 132, obtains device information from QR code); and establishing communication between the first device and the second device (paragraph 136, sends projection request to projector).
Yamada does not explicitly state generating a secret key and a public key corresponding to the secret key, the network address of the first device being generated based solely on a hash value on the basis of the public key of the first device and a predetermined hash function, generating a secret key and a public key corresponding to the secret key, the network address of the second device being generated based solely on a hash value on the basis of the public key of the second device and a predetermined hash function, and the communication being secure communication between the first device and the second device based on the public key of the first device and the public key of the second device. However, generating network addresses in such a fashion was well known in the art as evidenced by Gagliano. Since the inventions encompass the same field of endeavor, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Yamada by adding the ability for generating a secret key and a public key corresponding to the secret key, the network address of the first device being generated based solely on a hash value on the basis of the public key of the first device and a predetermined hash function, generating a secret key and a public key corresponding to the secret key, the network address of the second device being generated based solely on a hash value on the basis of the public key of the second device and a predetermined hash function, and the communication being secure communication between the first device and the second device based on the public key of the first device and the public key of the second device as provided by Gagliano (see paragraph 41, node has signing key and public key, and paragraph 20, nodes include host, router, etc., and paragraph 41, address based on hash of public key, and paragraph 16, signature verification). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit that generating network addresses in this way would assist in securing communications (see Gagliano, paragraph 7).
Regarding claim 36, the combination of Yamada and Gagliano discloses wherein the data transmitted to the first device comprises a display screen of the second device (Yamada, paragraph 136, sends projection file to projector and projector projects projection file).
Regarding claim 37, the combination of Yamada and Gagliano discloses wherein the operations performed by the second device further comprise: receiving image data representing a display screen of a third device that is connected to the second device (Yamada, paragraph 136, information storage apparatus sends projection file to smartphone); and transmitting data including the image data to the first device by using the network address of the first device (Yamada, paragraph 136, smartphone sends projection file to projector).
Regarding claim 41, the combination of Yamada and Gagliano discloses wherein the first device includes a projector (Yamada, paragraph 131, projector).
Regarding claim 42, the combination of Yamada and Gagliano discloses wherein the two-dimensional pattern includes at least one of a one-dimensional or two-dimensional bar code (Yamada, paragraph 131, QR code).
Regarding claim 44, the combination of Yamada and Gagliano discloses acquiring, by the second device, a digital certificate associated with the public key of the first device (Gagliano, paragraph 40, communicates certificate to host).
Regarding claim 45, the combination of Yamada and Gagliano discloses wherein the operations performed by the second device further comprise acquiring a digital certificate associated with the public key of the first device (Gagliano, paragraph 40, communicates certificate to host).
10. Claims 28-30 and 38-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada in view of Gagliano, further in view of Ruparelia et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2016/0364729), hereinafter referred to as Ruparelia.
The combination of Yamada and Gagliano disclosed techniques for controlling access to stored files. In an analogous art, Ruparelia disclosed techniques for securely pairing devices. Both systems are directed toward authenticating a user device for access to services.
Regarding claim 28, the combination of Yamada and Gagliano does not explicitly state determining whether or not the second device exists in vicinity of the first device and permitting communication connection between the first device and the second device when the second device exists in the vicinity of the first device. However, verifying user vicinity in such a fashion was well known in the art as evidenced by Ruparelia. Since the inventions encompass the same field of endeavor, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Yamada and Gagliano by adding the ability for determining whether or not the second device exists in vicinity of the first device and permitting communication connection between the first device and the second device when the second device exists in the vicinity of the first device as provided by Ruparelia (see paragraph 62, pairing request based on vicinity, and paragraph 66, pairing is successful). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit that verifying user vicinity in this way would assist in facilitating pairing between a user device and a terminal (see Ruparelia, paragraph 9).
Regarding claim 29, the combination of Yamada, Gagliano, and Ruparelia discloses wherein the determining whether or not the second device exists in the vicinity of the first device is based on a user input operation on the first device (Ruparelia, figure 7 and paragraph 66, passcode sent to kiosk).
Regarding claim 30, the combination of Yamada, Gagliano, and Ruparelia discloses wherein the determining whether or not the second device exists in the vicinity of the first device is based on a one-time password displayed on the first device (Ruparelia, paragraph 66, kiosk displays passcode and passcode is unique).
Regarding claim 38, the combination of Yamada and Gagliano does not explicitly state wherein the operations performed by the first device further comprise determining whether or not the second device exists in vicinity of the first device and permitting communication connection between the first device and the second device when the second device exists in the vicinity of the first device. However, verifying user vicinity in such a fashion was well known in the art as evidenced by Ruparelia. Since the inventions encompass the same field of endeavor, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Yamada and Gagliano by adding the ability that the operations performed by the first device further comprise determining whether or not the second device exists in vicinity of the first device and permitting communication connection between the first device and the second device when the second device exists in the vicinity of the first device as provided by Ruparelia (see paragraph 62, pairing request based on vicinity, and paragraph 66, pairing is successful). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit that verifying user vicinity in this way would assist in facilitating pairing between a user device and a terminal (see Ruparelia, paragraph 9).
Regarding claim 39, the combination of Yamada, Gagliano, and Ruparelia discloses wherein the determining whether or not the second device exists in the vicinity of the first device is based on a user input operation on the first device (Ruparelia, figure 7 and paragraph 66, passcode sent to kiosk).
Regarding claim 40, the combination of Yamada, Gagliano, and Ruparelia discloses wherein the determining whether or not the second device exists in the vicinity of the first device is based on a one-time password displayed on the first device (Ruparelia, paragraph 66, kiosk displays passcode and passcode is unique).
11. Claims 33 and 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada in view of Gagliano, further in view of Yang (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2019/0266371).
The combination of Yamada and Gagliano disclosed techniques for controlling access to stored files. In an analogous art, Yang disclosed techniques for generating and utilizing bar codes. Both systems are directed toward the use of bar codes.
Regarding claim 33, the combination of Yamada and Gagliano does not explicitly state wherein the two-dimensional pattern includes a plurality of divided regions, and each of the plurality of divided regions includes color information associated with a part of the network address of the first device. However, utilizing color bar codes was well known in the art as evidenced by Yang. Since the inventions encompass the same field of endeavor, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Yamada and Gagliano by adding the ability that the two-dimensional pattern includes a plurality of divided regions, and each of the plurality of divided regions includes color information associated with a part of the network address of the first device as provided by Yang (see paragraph 10, bar code contains color sequence of various colors). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit that utilizing a color bar code would allow the bar code to contain more information than a conventional bar code (see Yang, paragraph 10).
Regarding claim 43, the combination of Yamada and Gagliano does not explicitly state wherein the two-dimensional pattern includes a plurality of divided regions, and each of the plurality of divided regions includes color information associated with a part of the network address of the first device. However, utilizing color bar codes was well known in the art as evidenced by Yang. Since the inventions encompass the same field of endeavor, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Yamada and Gagliano by adding the ability that the two-dimensional pattern includes a plurality of divided regions, and each of the plurality of divided regions includes color information associated with a part of the network address of the first device as provided by Yang (see paragraph 10, bar code contains color sequence of various colors). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit that utilizing a color bar code would allow the bar code to contain more information than a conventional bar code (see Yang, paragraph 10).
Response to Arguments
12. In the remarks, the applicant has argued that the combination of Yamada and Gagliano does not teach the newly amended limitations of the independent claims. However, Gagliano has been shown to teach these features. Namely, the applicant states that “Gagliano merely discloses features in which only a router has an address based on a public key of the router.” However, Gagliano clearly states that any node in the system might have an address based on the hash of its public key. The applicant is directed to the newly added citations in the rejection above.
Conclusion
/Victor Lesniewski/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2493