DETAILED ACTION
Status of claims
Pending claims 3-20 have been examined on the merits.
Withdrawn rejections
The rejection of claim 3 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) is withdrawn due the claim amendment.
The rejection of claims 3-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berkman et al. (WO 2018098390) in view of DiMagno (US 20180066298) and Babich et al. (WO 2018187631), is withdrawn due to Applicant’s argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berkman et al. (WO 2018/098390) in view of Babich et al. (WO 2018187631), Ali et al., J. Chem. Soc. Pak., Vol. 36, No. 1, 2014, 150-169, Patani et al., Chem. Rev. 1996 Dec 19;96(8):3147-3176.
Regarding claim 3-10, Berkman (page 50, claim 18) teaches a compound of formula (Ij) that meets each and every chemical structure variable of the claimed invention; wherein each R1 to R8 are hydrogen; R is a detectable label or therapeutic drug; n is 3; m is 2; p is 1; L1 and L2 are each independently a covalent bond or a divalent linking group.
Berkman (page 50, claim 18) teaches Z linker with an extra ethyl group and also a similar linker in compound of Formula (Ii), without the ethyl group, showing that alkyl length is a variable. Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art (POSITA) would consider selecting different alkyl lengths as routine optimization in drug development and arrive at the claimed invention.
Berkman does not explicitly teach thioamide linkage.
Ali (page 155) teaches O and S are classical bioisosteres, indicating they are interchangeable. Therefore, a POSITA would have been motivated to substitute sulfur for an
oxygen with reasonable expectation that such modification could improve the compound’s pharmacological properties. This is supported by Patani (page 3155, section B) which teaches divalent bioisosteres which involve the interchange of atoms that are involved in a double bond, such as in the series; C=C, C=N, C=O, and C=S. Patani (page 3155, section B) also teaches replacement of the sulfur atom with oxygen or selenium , another well-known divalent isosteric replacement, resulted in weaker activity relative to the thio analogue. (See MPEP 2143(B)).
Regarding claim 11-12, Berkman (page 51), and as applied to claim 3-10 above, teaches a compound comprises the L2 structural variable as claimed.
Regarding claim 13-14, Berkman (page 51), and as applied to claim 3-10 above, teaches a compound comprises the L2 structural variable as claimed.
Regarding claim 15, Berkman (page 51), and as applied to claim 2-10 above, teaches a compound comprises the L2 structural variable as claimed.
Regarding claim 16-20, Babich (page 113, RSP077), and as applied to claim 3-10 above, teaches a compound wherein n= 3, m and p = 1; all of the Rs are hydrogen, L1 linker attaches to a chelating agent, and L2 linker. Although Babich’s compound RSP077 comprises four acetic acids instead of three, however, Babich (page 88) discloses compound 617, which has three acetic acids and compound 068 has four acetic acids on the chelating agent. Therefore, a POSITA would have recognized that the number of acetic acids is a variable feature and that a chelating agent containing either three or four acetic acids were contemplated as alternative options.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues the 103 rejection is not proper because DiMagno reference was published less than one year before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Applicant also provided an Affidavit confirm that the publication is Applicant’s own work. Applicant’s argument is persuasive; thus the 103 rejection is withdrawn.
Applicant also argues that that neither Berkman and Babich teach a thioamide linkage and, therefore the 103 rejection is not valid. Applicant’s argument is not percussive. The newly recited prior art in the 103 rejection above teach that O and S, and C=S and C=O, are bioisosteres. Thus, providing motivation to POSITA to reasonably exchange C=O with C=S, and arrive at the claimed thioamide linkage. (See MPEP 2143(B)).
Conclusion
Therefore, claims 3-20 are rejected.
/P.P.E./Examiner, Art Unit 1622
/JAMES H ALSTRUM-ACEVEDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1622