DETAILED ACTION
Request for Continued Examination
Withdrawn rejections
The rejection of claim 21 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable
over Stephen DiMagno, US 20180066298A1 is withdrawn over the claim cancellation.
New Grounds of Rejection due to the Applicant’s Claim Amendments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second
paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites “R9 is H, C1-C6 alkyl, or a protecting group.” However, substituent R9 is not included as part of Formula II, which creates ambiguity as this feature is not part to the Markush group. Appropriate correction is required.
Maintained Rejection with changes per claim Amendment and cancelation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berkman et al. (WO 2018098390) in view of DiMagno (US 20180066298) and Babich et al. (WO 2018187631).
Regarding claim 2-10, Berkman (page 49-50; page 8-9, [0024]- [0026]) teaches a compound of formula (Ij) that meets each and every chemical structure variable of the claimed invention; wherein each R1 to R8 are hydrogen; R is a detectable label or therapeutic drug; n is 3; m is 2; p is 1; L1 and L2 are each independently a covalent bond or a divalent linking group.
Berkman (page 50, claim 18) teaches Z linker with an extra ethyl group and also a similar linker in compound of Formula (Ii), without the ethyl group, showing that alkyl length is a variable. Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art (POSITA) would consider selecting different alkyl lengths as routine optimization in drug development and arrive at the claimed invention.
Berkman does not explicitly teach thioamide linkage.
DiMagno (page 8, [0070]), however, teaches various non-natural amino acids, including those containing thioamide linkages.
DiMagno (page 6, [0047]) also teaches that thioamide linkages are more stable to in vivo hydrolysis, or are more stable to peptidase activity as compared to amide linkages Therefore, a POSITA would recognize such benefit and substitute the amide linker from Berkman’s teachings with thioamide linker from DiMagno to arrive at the claimed invention. One would have been
motivated to do so because DiMagno teaches that thioamide linkages are more stable to in vivo hydrolysis, and are more stable to peptidase activity as compared to amide linkages as disclosed by Berkman
Regarding claim 11-12, Berkman (page 51), and as applied to claim 2-10 above, teaches a compound that meets each and every chemical structure variable of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 13-14, Berkman (page 50), and as applied to claim 2-10 above, teaches a compound that meets each and every chemical structure variable of the claimed invention
Regarding claim 15, Berkman (page 51), and as applied to claim 2-10 above, teaches a compound that meets each and every chemical structure variable of the claimed invention.
Regarding to claim 16-20, Babich (page 113, RSP077), and as applied to claim 2-10 above, teaches a compound wherein n= 3, m and p = 1; all of the Rs are hydrogen, L1 linker attaches to a chelating agent, and L2 linker. Although, the chelating agent taught by
Babich contains four acetic acids residues instead of three, nonetheless, despite of that, it would still be obvious that a POSITA would have the option to explore a chelating agent with three acid residues, as taught by Beckman. This is because, both Babich and Beckman teach similar concept of compounds of Formula (I) with comparable utility for cancer imaging and treatment, and to arrive at the claimed invention. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a POSITA to modify the teachings of Babich and Beckman in view of DiMagno’s disclosure to arrive at the claimed invention, because their combined teachings describe using a non-natural amino-acid peptide as a therapeutic composition for imaging and treating cancer.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that because the prior art, particularly Babich, does not teach or suggest thioamide linkage, thus there is no reasonable expectation that a POSITA would arrive at the claimed thioamide containing compounds. Applicant’s argument is not persuasive. While Babich and Beckman do not explicitly disclose a thioamide linkage, however, DiMagno (page 6, [0047]) discloses thioamide substitution in place of an amide bond, including the advantage associated with such substitution to improve stability against in vivo proteolytic degradation. Therefore, the combined teachings of Babich and Beckman in view of DiMagno provide both the structural modification (amide to thioamide replacement) and the rational for making such modification.
Furthermore, in response to Applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Therefore, Applicant should consider the combined teachings of the prior art as a collective disclosure for the obviousness rejection, rather than on differences found in any single prior art.
Conclusion
Therefore, claims 3-20 are rejected.
/P.P.E./Examiner, Art Unit 1622
/JAMES H ALSTRUM-ACEVEDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1622