DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1-5, 8-19 remain pending.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WANG (US 2018/0057784) in view of HUBBARD (US 4661455) (newly cited).
With respect to claim 1, WANG discloses a bioreactor (cell culture system) comprising:
an incubator 950 that includes an inner space to provide a culture environment in which a cell is stably cultured (Fig 9, 0106-108);
a culture chamber (cell culture part) that is disposed in the inner space (Fig 9) and includes multiple screens 300 (supporters) to which cells to be cultured are attached (Fig 1b, 0055);
a media reservoir 60 (medium supply part) disposed in the inner space and stores a predetermined amount of medium supplied to the cell culture part (Fig 9, 1b);
a pump 140 that may be disposed in the inner space (0107-108), and connected to the cell culture part and the medium supply part through a connection pipe (Fig, 10a, 12) respectively,
wherein the cell culture part comprises: an enclosure-shaped culture housing having an accommodation space filled with the medium (Fig 1b, 9, 10a);
and the multiple screens are provided in a plate shape having a predetermined area (Fig 3d) disposed in the accommodation space so that the multiple screens are arranged at a predetermined distance from each other along a height direction of the culture housing (Fig 3e);
wherein the medium supply part is configured such that the medium stored in the medium supply part is supplied to the cell culture part during cell culture and then is repeatedly circulated through driving of the pump so that the medium can be recovered to the medium supply part (Fig 10a, 12, 0112).
WANG discloses a series of slots and grooves (separated member) that separates between two screens (supporters) facing each other so that the multiple screens are separated apart from each other along a height direction of the culture housing (0072, 0088, Fig 3E) but does not explicitly disclose the separated member comprises multiple supporting bars that penetrate the multiple supporters and spacers that are respectively fastened to the multiple supporting bars.
However, HUBBARD discloses a membrane cell culture device comprising a housing 1 (cell culture part) having numerous (multiple) membrane bag units (multiple supporters to which cells to be cultured can attach; in which predetermined distances are maintained between the membrane walls (separated member separates between two adjacent supporters facing each other, separated apart along the height direction of the housing) (Fig 3); in which hollow posts 4, 5, or nylon screws 90 (multiple supporting bars) penetrate the multiple membrane units (supporters) the posts or screws are separated apart from each other inside the housing and fix the multiple membranes (Fig 4, 10), wherein there are spacers 36 and gaskets 29-34 that are respectively fastened to the posts or screws (supporting bars) so that the two adjacent membranes (supporters) are separated apart from each other (Fig 4, Column 5, lines 19-Col. 6, line 55).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the separation of screens of WANG as WANG discloses it is desirable the screens do not touch each other (0098), by using the system of posts/screws penetrating the supporters and spacers respectively fastened to the posts/screws as taught by HUBBARD because it provides a device with significantly greater cell production rates in less space than prior apparatuses and controlling the spaces between the membranes allows for cell to receive sufficient oxygen and nutrient (Col. 5, line 10-24).
With respect to claim 4-5, WANG discloses the inner space of the incubator is formed as one inner space (Fig 9, 11) in which a temperature is maintained at a constant temperature in a chamber while a carbon dioxide concentration is maintained at a certain level inside the temperature chamber (0052, 0106-108), and the cell culture part and the medium supply part are disposed together in the one inner space(Fig 9, 11, 0107-108).
With respect to claim 18, WANG discloses a rotor (driving part) that rotates the scaffold chamber (Fig 15, 0127-135).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WANG (US 2018/0057784) in view of HUBBARD (US 4661455) (newly cited) as applied above and further in view of JOHNSON (US 2015/0056703) as submitted by applicant on the IDS dated 11/27/23.
With respect to claim 2, WANG discloses the screens (supporters) as stated above are used as scaffolds (0054) and made of fibers (0081) but does not disclose it includes a plate shaped nanofiber membrane coated with a protein motif and a support member attached to one surface through an adhesive layer.
However, JOHNSON discloses fiber scaffolds (nanofiber membrane) coated with at least one compound to promote cellular attachment including proteins (coated with protein motif) (0024), the scaffolds can be various shapes such as a sheet (plate shaped) (Fig 2), that can be placed in a bioreactor (supporter) for cell culture, the fiber structure attached to the bioreactor (supporter) walls (support member) on one side using an adhesive (0025).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the screens of WANG to include the added fiber scaffolds adhered to a wall as taught by JOHNSON because it provides an improved substrate that allows for the desired growth of large numbers of usable adherent cells while allowing the cells to be harvested efficiently (0002-3, 0024, 0027-29).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WANG (US 2018/0057784) in view of HUBBARD (US 4661455) (newly cited) as applied above and further in view of in view of UBUKATA (US 20180201891) as submitted by applicant on the IDS dated 11/27/23.
With respect to claim 3, WANG discloses the screens (supporters) as stated above are used as scaffolds (0054) but does not explicitly disclose it is a plasma treated plate shaped film member.
However, UBUKATA discloses a cell holding container (supporter) with a sheet or plate shaped elastic body capable of stretch (plate shaped film member) with a cell contacting face (Fig 1, 6, 0053, 0076) that is adherent to cells due to a plasma treatment (0091).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the screens of WANG to include the plasma treated cell holding plate shaped film member as taught by UBUKATA because it allows for observation of the cells, is thin enough to reversibly deform into a predetermined shape to improve visibility of cells as need and no air bubbles are mixed into the cells (0030-32).
Claim(s) 8-14, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WANG (US 2018/0057784) in view of HUBBARD (US 4661455) (newly cited) as applied above and further in view of in view of KIM (US 2010/0304472).
e. With respect to claim 8-10, WANG discloses the holder with grooves and slots to support the screens as stated above (0072) but does not explicitly disclose the further features of the separated member. KIM discloses the culture flask receiving part has frames on the right and left 32, 34 (guide members) that face each other, the frames include multiple slot grooves 36 recessed in a length direction so the flasks (supporters) can be slidably inserted and also a push unit with a plurality of supports 132 fastened on to multiple robot arms 134 (multiple support bars), the arms having a predetermined length and are separated apart from each other and positioned between the two frame sides (guide members), in which the flasks (supporters) inserted into the spaces (grooves) are arranged to at least partially overlap with the supports on the robot arms (supporting bar) located in the overlapping portion (Fig 4, 9, 10 ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the screen holder of WANG to include the separated member features as disclosed by KIM because they would provide stronger reinforcement of the screens to support a heavy culture mass without allowing the screens to sag and touch as WANG discloses it is desirable the screens do not touch each other (0098).
f. With respect to claim 11, WANG discloses a medium inlet on the culture housing (Fig 10a, 12) but does not explicitly disclose a concave on the culture housing. KIM discloses the culture device include at least one medium inlet 50 that is provided on the surface of the culture flask to allow medium from the medium supply bottle to be injected into the culture space, the housing surrounding the inlet is concave in a direction opposite to the inflow direction (Fig 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the shape of the housing at the medium inlet of WANG to include the concavity of KIM in order to easily find and insert the tubing to connect the pump to the housing.
g. With respect to claims 13-14, interrupting means is defined under 35 USC 112f as stated above to be the protrusion as stated in claim 14 or functional equivalents thereof.
Regarding claims 12-14, WANG discloses a showerhead to distribute the liquid medium (0110) but does not explicitly disclose a distributing plate nor its additional features as claimed. KIM discloses an injection unit 50 (distributing plate) disposed between the medium inlet and the culture flask (supporter), the injection unit having a detachable plate shaped body with multiple through holes and a syringe 51 (interrupting means) positioned corresponding to the inlet to prevent flow of medium, the syringe formed with a piston (protrusion) that protrudes a predetermined length from the medium inlet (Fig 5, 0092-100).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the showerhead of WANG to include the distribution plate of KIM in order to provide better control of the distribution of the liquid medium drops as taught by WANG are desirable (0110).
Claim(s) 15, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WANG (US 2018/0057784) in view of HUBBARD (US 4661455) (newly cited) as applied above, in view of MATSUDA (UA 5260211).
With respect to claim 15, WANG discloses the medium supply includes a reservoir (storage space) that is an enclosed shape 60 with an open upper portion (closed by lid 62) an inlet and outlet through the medium flows (Fig 1a, 1b), but does not explicitly disclose that the inlet is formed in the medium housing at a position relatively higher than the outlet.
However, MATSUDA discloses a process for cultivating adherent cells comprising a culture tank 10 and medium recirculating tank 11 (medium housing), the tank 11 having an enclosed shape with an open upper portion and a storage space in which a certain amount of the medium is stored (Fig 1), and an embodiment in which the medium recirculating tank 102 is connected to the culture tank 101 by connector pipes 103, 104 (inlet and outlet) such that medium is recovered from the culture tank via upper pipe 103 (inlet) and supplied to culture tank through lower connector pipe 104 (outlet, inlet is located higher than outlet) (Fig 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the culture solution storing part of WANG to include the inlet/outlet arrangement as taught by MATSUDA because it helps uniformalize concentrations of nutrient, pH and DO supplied into a culture tank filled with cell matrix so as to improve a proliferating efficiency for adhesive animal cells (Col. 2, lines 45-52).
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to choose the claimed inlet/outlet arrangement, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involved only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04
With respect to claim 17, MATSUDA discloses a filter 15 on a gas pipe on an upper portion of the tank 11 (Fig 1), the gas pipe capable of receiving or emitting gas through the filter to the medium in the storage space.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WANG (US 2018/0057784) in view of HUBBARD (US 4661455) (newly cited) further in view of MATSUDA (US 5260211) as applied above, and further in view of BENJES (US 4311593).
With respect to claim 16, WANG and MATSUDA do not explicitly disclose the medium housing having a partition wall that protrudes from the bottom surface to divide the storage space as claimed.
However, BENJES discloses a process for treating waste water comprising a digester 2 (culture system) having multiple recirculation loops including an outflow device 70(medium housing) having an enclosed shape with an open upper portion and including a liquid trap 71 (at least one partition wall) protruding from a bottom surface such that one end is connected to an inner surface of the device while the other end is separated apart from the inner surface, and the device (storage space) is divided into a recovery space connected to the inlet 72 and supply space connected to the outlet 75 which leads to a recirculation loop or waste (Fig 1, 5, 6, Col. 6, lines 42-56).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the culture solution storing part of KIM and MATSUDA to include the partition wall as taught by BENJES because it would allow for separation of the fluids withdrawn from the culture device based on gravity such that the desired portion can be recirculated while the undesired portion is sent to waste.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WANG (US 2018/0057784) in view of HUBBARD (US 4661455) (newly cited) as applied above, in view of LEUTHAEUSER (US 2013/0157366) as submitted by applicant on the IDS dated 5/13/21.
With respect to claim 19, WANG discloses the rotor may have a horizontal axis of rotation, but does not explicitly disclose a rotation also around a Z-axis.
However, LEUTHAEUSER discloses a rotation system for cell growth chamber that rotates the chamber about a first rotational axis and also about a second rotational axis (0009) wherein the first is a longitudinal axis (x-axis) and the second is a substantially perpendicular axis (z-axis) (0026).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the driving part with one axis of rotation of WANG to enable both a rotation around the x-axis and the z-axis as taught by LEUTHAEUSER because adjusting the orientation of the cell growth chamber during a priming sequence allows the air or gas bubbles or pockets residing within the cell growth chamber to be driven from the cell growth chamber as the cell growth chamber is primed with a priming fluid. In addition, it is also advantageous to adjust the orientation of the cell growth chamber while cells are growing within the cell growth chamber to mitigate problems associated with cells settling within the cell growth chamber under the influence of gravity (0006).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The additional references on the attached PTO-892 are in the same field of endeavor of supporting bars penetrating through supporters as relates to the amendments added to claim 1.
/DANIELLE B HENKEL/Examiner, Art Unit 1799
/William H. Beisner/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799