DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 4-6 are pending and currently under consideration for patentability.
Claim 4 is newly amended.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 4-6 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Halili (US PGPUB 20100298768 A1) in view of Stillman (US 20160082201 A1) in view of Chang (US 20140025040 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, Halili teaches a fluid transfer device (figs. 1, 3B, 4B, 5B, 6B, 7B, 15A, items 10) comprising:
a housing (100) having an exterior wall, a plurality of pairs of slots (see holes in figs.1, 15A; also 108, 110, 112 & 114) formed in said exterior wall, each one of said pairs of slots being diametrically opposed to each other;
a needle hub (150, 151, 152; see also figs. 17-18) having an exterior wall (inherent) (annotated figure 17) and an interior wall (inherent) extending interiorly across said exterior wall, to thereby form upper and lower compartments a first needle (154, 156) extending upwardly from said interior wall, into said upper compartment a second needle (156, 154) extending downwardly from said interior wall into said lower compartment, said interior wall having an opening therein to form a fluid passageway (fig. 17);
a first cartridge (30, having a plunger (132) and a pierceable cap ( tight seal, paragraph [0119]) );
a second cartridge (20,) having a plunger and a pierceable cap (inherent);
a base member (10) , said member having a base bottom wall (see figs. 2C),
and said arrangement being such that said first cartridge (30) is inserted into said base member ( 10) at the upper end such that said plunger seats on said plunger rod (50), and said second cartridge (20)is in said housing (100 ) with said pierceable cap (paragraph [0119]) of said second cartridge (20) facing said first needle ( see annotated figure 18).
Halili fails to teach a plunger rod fixedly secured to and extending upwardly from said base bottom wall. Stillman teaches a fluid transfer with a needle (12) wherein a plunger rod (106) fixedly secured to and extending upwardly from said base bottom wall (102)(paragraph [0024]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the plunger of Halili so the plunger rod is fixedly secured to and extending upwardly from said base bottom wall, similar to Stillman in order to prevent separation of the plunger from the rest of the assembly (motivated by Stillman, paragraph [0024]).
Halili and Stillman fail to teach said base member having an upper end configured to receive the first cartridge, a lower end having a base bottom wall, said upper end and said lower end being opposite ends of said base member, and a plunger rod fixedly secured to and extending upwardly from said base bottom wall such that said plunger rod is fixedly secured to said base bottom wall and that said plunger rod extends towards the upper end. Chang teaches a fluid transfer system (figure 6 and 7) wherein said base member (195) having an upper end configured to receive the first cartridge (paragraph [0034]), a lower end having a base bottom wall, said upper end and said lower end being opposite ends of said base member, and a plunger rod (500) fixedly secured to and extending upwardly from said base bottom wall (paragraph [0035]) such that said plunger rod is fixedly secured to said base bottom wall and that said plunger rod extends towards the upper end (paragraph [0035]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Halili to have said base member having an upper end configured to receive the first cartridge, a lower end having a base bottom wall, said upper end and said lower end being opposite ends of said base member, and a plunger rod fixedly secured to and extending upwardly from said base bottom wall such that said plunger rod is fixedly secured to said base bottom wall and that said plunger rod extends towards the upper end, similar to change, so the plunger is fixed to the intended path.
Regarding Claim 5, Halili in view of Stillman and Chang teaches the fluid transfer device of Claim 4. Halili further teaches wherein said needle hub (150) includes first and second upper tabs, each of said upper tabs having a protrusion (165, 166) extending outwardly therefrom, said protrusions being arranged to engage with one of said pairs of slots formed in said housing (annotated figure 17).
Regarding Claim 6, Halili in view of Stillman and Chang teaches the fluid transfer device of Claim 4. Halili further teaches wherein said first needle has a spike adjacent thereto, said spike and said first needle having a common wall therebetween (see annotated figure 18 below).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KATE ELIZABETH STRACHAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3781
/REBECCA E EISENBERG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3781