DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 5, 11, and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 6-10, 12, and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Taniguchi et al. (US Pub. 20230367045, Taniguchi).
As per claim 1, Taniguchi teaches (in figures 1-5) a viewing angle diffusion film (optical film 100), comprising: a substrate (film layer body 102A); and a plurality of refractive protrusions (lens units 110), forming a plurality of columns of refractive protrusions in parallel (columns along direction D1), wherein the plurality of refractive protrusions are arranged on the substrate in an array and configured to change a propagation direction of light entering the viewing angle diffusion film (paragraph 81), and a part of the light is shifted away from a center of the viewing angle diffusion film by light refraction, to enhance a brightness at a large viewing angle; wherein in each column of refractive protrusions, two adjacent refractive protrusions are staggered (see figures 3 and 4).
Regarding the functional limitation “a part of the light is shifted away from a center of the viewing angle diffusion film by light refraction” since the structure of the device of Taniguchi is identical to the claimed structure, the device of Taniguchi is considered to be as capable of performing the function as the claimed invention, absent any claimed structural difference. See MPEP § 2114 I & II, "While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function... A claim containing a 'recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus' if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim.” in the instant case, Taniguchi teaches that a low-refractive index layers (102) forms the lens units (110) and forms an interface with a high-refractive index layer (103), the inclination angle of first element side surfaces (111) of the lens unit is in the range of 2- 30 degrees (paragraph 111), the low-refractive index layer has a refractive index in a range of 1.4-1.55, the high-refractive index layer has a refractive index in the range of 1.55-1.9, and the difference in refractive index between the low and high refractive index layers is in the range of .05 to .5 (paragraph 71) and as such light incident on the first element side surfaces at an angle less than the critical angle will be refracted away from the center of the viewing angle diffusion film and therefore the viewing angle diffusion film (optical film 100) of Taniguchi is considered capable of performing the recited function.
As per claim 2, Taniguchi teaches (in figures 1-5) that in each column of refractive protrusions (columns of lens units 110 along direction D1), a staggered distance (distance along the x axis from left side side surface 111 of lens unit 110-3 to the left side side surface 111 of lens unit 110-1) between a left side of a first refractive protrusion and other refractive protrusions changes periodically from up to down; and a staggered distance between two adjacent refractive protrusions is less than or equal to a width of the refractive protrusions (see figures and paragraph 112).
As per claim 4, Taniguchi teaches (in figures 1-5) that each column of refractive protrusions (columns of lens units 110 along direction D1) are arranged obliquely (along direction D1) and are arranged in a steplike staggered layout (see figure 4); and the refractive protrusions are connected from up to down (connected by film layer body 102A) and are staggered left and right (see figure 4).
As per claim 6, Taniguchi teaches (in figures 1-5) that a pattern of the refractive protrusions (lens units 110) in each column is the same (paragraph 83); and the substrate (film layer body 102A) and the refractive protrusions (lens units 110) are integrally formed (paragraph 67 and 73 and figures 2 and 5).
As per claim 7, Taniguchi teaches (in figures 1-5) a protective layer (substrate 101) disposed on the substrate (film layer body 102A), covering the refractive protrusions (lens units 110).
As per claim 8, Taniguchi teaches (in figures 1-5) a viewing angle diffusion film (optical film 100, cover glass 40, touch panel 30, and circularly polarizing plate 20), comprising: a substrate (cover glass 40); and a plurality of refractive protrusions (lens units 110), forming a plurality of columns of refractive protrusions in parallel (columns along direction D1), wherein the plurality of refractive protrusions are arranged on the substrate in an array; wherein in each column of refractive protrusions, two adjacent refractive protrusions are staggered (see figures 3 and 4) and a polarizing film (circularly polarizing plate 20) disposed on a side of the substrate (cover glass 40) away from the refractive protrusions.
As per claim 9, Taniguchi teaches (in figures 1-5) a display panel, comprising a display screen body (organic LED panel 15) and a viewing angle diffusion film (optical film 100), wherein the viewing angle diffusion film is provided on a light emitting side of the display screen body; and the viewing angle diffusion film comprises a substrate (film layer body 102A); and a plurality of refractive protrusions (lens units 110), forming a plurality of columns (columns along direction D1) of refractive protrusions in parallel, wherein the plurality of refractive protrusions are arranged on the substrate in an array and configured to change a propagation direction of light entering the viewing angle diffusion film (paragraph 81), and a part of the light is shifted away from a center of the viewing angle diffusion film by light refraction; wherein in each column of refractive protrusions, two adjacent refractive protrusions are staggered (see figures 3 and 4).
Regarding the functional limitation “a part of the light is shifted away from a center of the viewing angle diffusion film by light refraction” since the structure of the device of Taniguchi is identical to the claimed structure, the device of Taniguchi is considered to be as capable of performing the function as the claimed invention, absent any claimed structural difference. See MPEP § 2114 I & II, "While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function... A claim containing a 'recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus' if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim.” in the instant case, Taniguchi teaches that a low-refractive index layers (102) forms the lens units (110) and forms an interface with a high-refractive index layer (103), the inclination angle of first element side surfaces (111) of the lens unit is in the range of 2- 30 degrees (paragraph 111), the low-refractive index layer has a refractive index in a range of 1.4-1.55, the high-refractive index layer has a refractive index in the range of 1.55-1.9, and the difference in refractive index between the low and high refractive index layers is in the range of .05 to .5 (paragraph 71) and as such light incident on the first element side surfaces at an angle less than the critical angle will be refracted away from the center of the viewing angle diffusion film and therefore the viewing angle diffusion film (optical film 100) of Taniguchi is considered capable of performing the recited function.
As per claim 10, Taniguchi teaches (in figures 1-5) that in each column of refractive protrusions (columns of lens units 110 along direction D1), a staggered distance (distance along the x axis from left side side surface 111 of lens unit 110-3 to the left side side surface 111 of lens unit 110-1) between a left side of a first refractive protrusion and other refractive protrusions changes periodically from up to down; and a staggered distance between two adjacent refractive protrusions is less than or equal to a width of the refractive protrusions (see figures and paragraph 112).
As per claim 12, Taniguchi teaches (in figures 1-5) that each column of refractive protrusions (columns of lens units 110 along direction D1) are arranged obliquely (along direction D1) and are arranged in a steplike staggered layout (see figure 4); and the refractive protrusions are connected from up to down (connected by film layer body 102A) and are staggered left and right (see figure 4).
As per claim 14, Taniguchi teaches (in figures 1-5) that a pattern of the refractive protrusions (lens units 110) in each column is the same (paragraph 83); and the substrate (film layer body 102A) and the refractive protrusions (lens units 110) are integrally formed (paragraph 67 and 73 and figures 2 and 5).
As per claim 15, Taniguchi teaches (in figures 1-5) a protective layer (substrate 101) disposed on the substrate (film layer body 102A), covering the refractive protrusions (lens units 110).
As per claim 16, Taniguchi teaches (in figures 1-5) a display panel, comprising a display screen body (organic LED panel 15) and a viewing angle diffusion film (optical film 100, cover glass 40, touch panel 30, and circularly polarizing plate 20), wherein the viewing angle diffusion film is provided on a light emitting side of the display screen body; and the viewing angle diffusion film comprises a substrate (cover glass 40); and a plurality of refractive protrusions (lens units 110), forming a plurality of columns (columns along direction D1) of refractive protrusions in parallel, wherein the plurality of refractive protrusions are arranged on the substrate in an array; wherein in each column of refractive protrusions, two adjacent refractive protrusions are staggered (see figures 3 and 4) and a polarizing film (circularly polarizing plate 20) disposed on a side of the substrate (cover glass 40) away from the refractive protrusions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taniguchi et al. (US Pub. 20230367045, Taniguchi) as applied to claim 9 above and in further view of Yui et al. (US Pub. 20160139453, Yui).
As per claim 17, Taniguchi teaches that the display screen body can be a liquid crystal display panel (paragraph 37).
Taniguchi does not explicitly teach a backlight module arranged on a side of the display screen body away from the viewing angle diffusion film.
However, Yui teaches (in figures 1 and 2) providing a backlight module (backlight 2) arranged on a side of a display screen (liquid crystal panel 4) body away from the viewing angle diffusion film (light diffusing member 7) in order to provide light to the display while reducing blurriness (paragraph 50).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the backlight from Yui in the display of Taniguchi in order to provide light to the display while reducing blurriness.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 5-6 of applicant’s response, filed 02/27/2026, with respect to the rejections under 35. U.S.C. 102 and 103 over Suga (USP 6297908) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections under 35. U.S.C. 102 and 103 over Suga (USP 6297908) of claims 1-17 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 02/27/2026, with respect to the rejections under 35. U.S.C. 102 over Taniguchi et al. (US Pub. 20230367045, Taniguchi) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., that the refractive protrusions are simple convex structures) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). As shown in the rejection above Taniguchi teaches each of the claimed limitations and as such applicant’s argument is unpersuasive and the rejection is maintained.
In response to applicant’s argument that the cited reference fails to teach the limitation of “two adjacent refractive protrusions are staggered. This argument is unpersuasive. As shown in the rejection above Taniguchi teaches a plurality of refractive protrusions (lens units 110), forming a plurality of columns of refractive protrusions in parallel (columns along direction D1), wherein in each column of refractive protrusions, two adjacent refractive protrusions are staggered (see figures 3 and 4 which show that adjacent columns are interlaced and staggered) applicants argument is therefore unpersuasive and the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEXANDER P GROSS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871