Current Status of 17/294,829
Claims 1-8, 13-16, and 18-25 are examined. Claims 1, 13-14, 16, and 19-21 are amended and claims 22-25 are new.
Applicants previously elected sodium dilauramidoglutamide lysine (as a species of anionic surfactant) and cedrol (as a species of poorly soluble ingredient).
Priority
The instant application is a national stage entry of PCT/KR2019/010157, filed 08/09/2019, and claims foreign priority to KR10-2018-0142721, filed 11/19/2018.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
A review of the file wrapper indicates a foreign language priority document. However, since it is not in English, a judgement cannot be made as to whether it supports the instant claims, which is required to perfect foreign priority. The conditions of 35 U.S.C. § 119(a)-(d) or (f) are not met.
Therefore, the effective filing date for the instant claims is the international filing date of 8/9/2019.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ claim amendments and Remarks of 9/5/2025 are acknowledged and have been considered.
Any rejection and/or objection not specifically addressed or modified below is herein withdrawn.
In regard to the 103 rejection, this rejection is withdrawn. Applicant’s remarks with Examiner’s reply are summarized below:
Claim 1 is amended to exclude high-pressure emulsion.
Applicants submit that conventional stabilization methods require high-pressure emulsification process. The instant method solves problems associated with conventional stabilization methods.
Applicants submit that the invention does this (see tables 1-9).
Lee is different from the claim method (since it uses a high-pressure emulsification process).
Applicants added new claims 22-25, which are enabled and have written support.
Response to Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8, 13-16, 18, 20-22, and 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JUNG (WO2017030409).
JUNG anticipates a cosmetic composition (page 5) containing hydrogenated/saturated lecithin and dilauramidoglutamide lysine (page 4, Example 1’s Table 1). JUNG anticipates this composition being made by a method of stabilizing a poorly soluble ingredient (ceramide, table 1) by mixing (page 6). JUNG mixes using a “homomixer” (page 6) (which is not a high-pressure emulsifier). This anticipates claims 1-2. Ceramide is a poorly soluble ingredient of instant claim 8.
JUNG anticipates a weight ratio of (3.00%/0.10%=30) which is within range of claim 3.
JUNG anticipates hydrogenated lecithin is contained (3%/99.7% total = 0.3wt%) of claim 4.
JUNG anticipates the anionic surfactant (sodium Dilauramidoglutamide lysine) is (0.1%/99.7%= 0.1003%) relative to the total weight of the cosmetic composition of claim 5.
JUNG anticipates the cosmetic composition further comprises macadamia nut oil (table 1) of claim 6.
JUNG anticipates ceramide (table 1) of claim 8.
JUNG anticipates this composition is a stable composition (page 2) of claim 22. Applicants are reminded that the office does not have the facilities and resources to provide the factual evidence needed in order to establish that the product of the prior art does not possess the same material, structural and functional characteristics of the claimed product. In the absence of evidence to the contrary, the burden is on the applicant to prove that the claimed product is different from those taught by the prior art and to establish patentable differences. See In re Best 562F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977) and Ex parte Gray 10 USPQ 2d 1922 (PTO Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1989).
JUNG anticipates the mixing ratio of the hydrogenated lecithin and the anionic surfactant is (3/.1=30) which anticipates claims 13-16 and 18.
JUNG anticipates the hydrogenated lecithin is 3wt% relative to the total weight of the composition (table 1) which anticipates claim 20.
JUNG anticipates the anionic surfactant is 0.10wt% relative to the total weight of the composition (table 1) which anticipates claim 21.
JUNG is silent on the storage and decomposition/stability properties of the composition. However, the storage and decomposition/stability properties of a chemical composition are an inherent property. See MPEP 2112.01: “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical products, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established”. JUNG’s composition is identical to the instant composition. Furthermore, the decomposition/stability and storage of JUNG’s composition would occur identically to the instant composition. Additionally, the limitation “stable mixture” in instant claim 22 is not defined nor does it add any components which would enhance, and thus differentiate, the “stable mixture” from the composition of instant claim 1. This anticipates claims 22, 24 and 25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 13-16, and 18-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JUNG (WO2017030409), in view of REDAVID (“Cedarwood Shampoo”, Redavid, April 4, 2019, previously cited) and in view of MARTIN (Nathalie Martin, “So what the heck is micellar shampoo anyway?”, WOAH STYLE, January 4, 2018, previously cited).
JUNG teaches claims 1-6, 8, 13-16, 18, 20-22, and 24-25 above.
JUNG teaches the cosmetic composition can be a hair care composition (page 3).
JUNG does not teach cedrol or micelles.
REDAVID teaches a Cedarwood Shampoo, containing cedarwood oil (oil of instant claim 6) which includes cedrol, (page 1). Cedarwood oil deep cleanses and invigorates hair as well as smells pleasant (page 2).
The artisan would have been motivated to add cedrol to LEE’s hair shampoo in order to make JUNG’s hair care composition smell better and to enhance hair cleaning. The artisan would have been motivated to add Cedrol, known to smell good, to a hair care composition of JUNG (REDAVID pages 1-2) and the artisan would have expected cedrol to compatible within a shampoo (REDAVID). The reason or motivation to modify the reference may often suggest what the inventor has done, but for a different purpose or to solve a different problem. It is not necessary that the prior art suggest the combination to achieve the same advantage or result discovered by applicant. See MPEP 2144.IV. This teaches claim 19.
Martin teaches Micellar shampoo (title), which contains micelles (page 3).
Martin teaches that micelles work well at washing away oil because one side is attracted to oil and the other end is attracted to water (laymen’s terms for hydrophilic and hydrophobic) (page 3).
Martin teaches that micellar shampoo cleans away gunk in one’s hair without over stripping the oil (page 4).
The artisan would have found it obvious to add micelles to a shampoo since they are well known components in shampoo and since they enhance removal of oil and dirt (Martin pages 3-4). It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose (In re Kerkhoven). See MPEP 2144.06(I).
Since Micelles are known to be able to attract hydrophobic and hydrophilic particles/compounds (Martin page 3), the artisan would have expected the micelle to contain cedrol (hydrophobic), hydrogenated lecithin (emulsifier, which is amphiphilic), and Sodium Dilauramidoglutamide lysine (emulsifier, which is amphiphilic). This teaches claims 7 and 23.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed as written.
/G.A.H./ Examiner, Art Unit 1625 /Andrew D Kosar/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1625