Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Claims
Claims 20 – 23 and 28 – 42 were pending. Claims 20, 32, 35, 38, and 41 have been amended. Claims 20 – 23 and 28 – 42 are currently pending, with nonelected claims 21, 28, and 42 withdrawn from consideration. Claims 20, 22 – 23, and 29 – 41 are the subject of this Office Action.
REJECTIONS WITHDRAWN
Claim 38 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In view of the amendment to claim 38 in the reply of 08/10/2026, this rejection is withdrawn.
Double Patenting
Claims 20, 22 – 23, 27, and 29 – 34 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 10, 13, 17, 18, and 20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,918,667 in view of OLADAPO, SLAWIN, JENSEN, SADELAIN and XIAO.
In view of the claim amendments in the reply of 08/10/2026, this rejection is withdrawn.
Claims 20, 22 – 23, 27, and 29 – 34 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims listed in the table below of U.S. Patent No. listed in the table below in view of OLADAPO, SLAWIN, JENSEN, SADELAIN and XIAO.
Similar double patenting issues as described in the rejection above were found in other patented claims listed in the table below in view of OLADAPO, SLAWIN, JENSEN, SADELAIN and XIAO render the present claims obvious.
U.S. Patent No.
Claim No(s).
1
11,104,732
1 and 3 – 12
2
11,788,072
1, 6, and 8 - 18
3
11,932,700
1 – 8
In view of the claim amendments in the reply of 08/10/2026, this rejection is withdrawn.
Claims 20, 22 – 23, 27, and 29 – 34 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5 – 8 and 24 – 54 of copending Application No. 17/749,824 in view of OLADAPO, SLAWIN, JENSEN, SADELAIN and XIAO.
In view of the claim amendments in the reply of 08/10/2026, this rejection is withdrawn.
REJECTIONS MAINTAINED IN MODIFIED FORM
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 20, 22 – 23, 29 – 36 and 40 – 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over OLADAPO (Yeku O., et al. Armored CAR T-cells: utilizing cytokines and pro-inflammatory ligands to enhance CAR T-cell anti-tumour efficacy. Biochem Soc Trans. 2016 Apr 15;44(2); see PTO-892: Notice of References Cited of 08/01/2024) in view of SLAWIN (WO 2011/130566 A2; see PTO-892 of 08/01/2024), JENSEN (WO 2001/036001 A2; see PTO-892 of 08/01/2024), and SADELAIN (WO 2017/180989 A2, published 10/19/2017; see PTO-892 of 04/01/2026).
Present independent claim 20 is directed to pharmaceutical composition for treating a solid tumor, the composition comprising modified T cells, wherein the modified T cells comprise a chimeric antigen receptor (CAR) and one or more exogenous polynucleotides encoding one or more proteins, the one or more proteins comprising IFNγ, wherein the one or more exogenous polynucleotides comprise a first exogenous polynucleotide encoding SEQ ID NO: 287 and a second exogenous polynucleotide encoding SEQ ID NO: 328, wherein the modified T cells comprise a transcription factor selected from the group consisting of HIF1A, NFAT, FOXP3, NFKB, STAT, AP-1, and a combination thereof, wherein each of the first exogenous polynucleotide and the second exogenous polynucleotide is operably linked to a promoter that is responsive to the transcription factor and that drives expression of the encoded protein, and wherein each of SEQ ID NO: 287 and SEQ ID NO: 328 is expressed and secreted by at least one portion of the modified T cells.
It is noted that the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 287 is that of IL6 and the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 328 is that of IFN-γ (specification at p. 85, embodiment 245 (paragraph 00261)).
OLADAPO is directed to armored CAR T-cells that are typically modified second generation CAR T-cells that have been further optimized to inducibly or constitutively secrete active cytokines or express ligands that further armor CAR T-cells to improve efficacy and persistence and that the choice of the ‘armor’ agent is based on knowledge of the tumour microenvironment and the roles of other elements of the innate and adaptive immune system. See OLADAPO at the abstract. OLADAPO teaches that IFNγ improves CAR T-cell cytotoxic function (see p. 413, right column) and that IL-6 is necessary for T-cell activation (see OLADAPO at p. 415, left column, second to last sentence). Thus, OLADAPO teaches that armored CAR T-cells are more effective at treating tumors, rendering the pharmaceutical composition of CAR T cells armored with cytokines IL-6 and IFNγ of present claim 20 obvious.
However, OLADAPO does not teach the specific sequences of SEQ ID NO: 287 and 328. Furthermore, although OLADAPO teaches that the CAR T cells are optimized to inducibly secrete active cytokines, OLADAPO does not teach the modulation of the cytokines with the transcription factors listed in present claim 20.
SLAWIN is directed to methods for treating a solid tumor in a subject in need thereof by activating an immune response against a tumor antigen. See SLAWIN at the abstract. SLAWIN discloses that IL-6 is important in T cell priming. See p. 51, lines 4 – 7. The protein sequence for IL-6 is disclosed in SLAWIN’s SEQ ID NO: 14 which is identical to SEQ ID NO: 287 of present claim 20. See Appendix of the Office Action of 04/01/2026.
JENSEN is directed to a conjugate exhibiting interferon gamma activity that may be used for treatment of various diseases. See Abstract. JENSEN discloses that one of these diseases is cancer. See p. 4, lines 22 – 26. JENSEN’s SEQ ID NO: 1 on p. 62 – 63 is identical to SEQ ID NO: 328 of present claim 25. See Appendix of the Office Action of 04/01/2026). JENSEN teaches that the nucleotide sequence encoding the IFNG polypeptide is operably linked to additional segments required for transcription of the nucleotide sequence. See JENSEN at p. 32, lines 3 – 5. Thus, JENSEN renders “wherein each of the first exogenous polynucleotide and the second exogenous polynucleotide is operably linked to a promoter that is responsive to the transcription factor and that drives expression of the encoded protein” of present claim 20 obvious.
SADELAIN is directed to a T cell wherein one or more therapeutic transgenes is integrated within the genome of the cell such that expression of the transgene is under control of an endogenous promoter of the T cell. SADELAIN teaches that the transgene encodes a molecule selected from the group consisting of a CAR, a CCR, a cytokine, . . . (see paragraph 0024). SADELAIN teaches that the expression of a transgene is under the control of an endogenous inducible promoter induced by HIF1 alpha transcription factor (see paragraph 00302). In addition, SADELAIN lists other inducers such as NFAT, AP1, and NFκb (see Table 1, between paragraphs 00232 and 00234). SADELAIN teaches that the T cells expressing a CAR is used in a method treating a solid tumor (see paragraphs 00315 – 00316).
Because OLADAPO teaches that armored CAR T-cells with other cytokines, combination of cytokines or novel ligands need to be explored (see OLADAPO at p. 416, right column, last paragraph) and teaches that IL-6 is required for T-cell activation and that IFN-γ improves cytotoxic function; SLAWIN discloses the sequence of IL-6 (present SEQ ID NO: 287); JENSEN discloses the sequence of IFNγ (present SEQ ID NO: 328); and SADELAIN teaches that the expression of cytokines by T cells expressing CARs can be modulated by HIF1a, NFAT, NFκB or AP1, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of the cited references to arrive to the pharmaceutical composition for treating a solid tumor of present claim 20.
At the effective filing date of the present claims, it would have been prima facie obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the claimed invention from the disclosures of OLADAPO, SLAWIN, JENSEN, and SADELAIN. The artisan would have been motivated to make and use the pharmaceutical composition of claim 20 because OLADAPO teaches that CAR T-cells that have been further optimized to inducibly or constitutively secrete active cytokines or express ligands that further armor CAR T-cells improve efficacy and persistence; SLAWIN teaches an IL-6 sequence useful in a method of T cell therapy; JENSEN teaches an effective IFNγ transgene for CAR-T cells used in therapy; and SADELAIN teaches an improved treatment using immunotherapy, such as treatment of cancer or other diseases with T cells wherein a transgene is integrated within the genome of the T cells such that expression of the transgene is under the control of an endogenous promoter (see SADELAIN at paragraphs 0011 – 0012). Thus, the artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success from the combination of the cited references.
Regarding claim 22, SADELAIN teaches that the inducible promoter is HIF1 alpha, involved in the metabolic response to hypoxia. Furthermore, SADELAIN teaches that the endogenous inducible promoter is induced by a metabolic change (see paragraph 00243). This refers to the metabolic state of the cells. For example, when naive T cells rely on oxidative phosphorylation to generate energy, and when they became activated and differentiate into effector T cell, they switch to glycolysis to generate energy. Hypoxia and low-pH also induce metabolic changes (see paragraph 00249).
Regarding claim 23, SADELAIN teaches the use of inducible promoters within viral vectors (see paragraph 0009).
Regarding claim 29, OLADAPO teaches modifying CAR T-cells to secrete IL-12 as a mechanism to deliver IL-12 to the tumour microenvironment (see p. 413, right column).
Regarding claim 30, SADELAIN teaches that the endogenous promoter that is inducible is induced by activation of the T cell (see paragraph 0017).
Regarding claim 31, SADELAIN teaches that a CAR generally has the structure of a cell surface receptor, with the antigen binding activity, such as an scFv, as at least a portion of the extracellular domain, fused to a transmembrane domain, which is fused to an intracellular domain that has cell signaling activity in a T cell. (see paragraph 00263).
Regarding claim 32, OLADAPO discloses CAR T-cells directed against CD19 (Applicant’s elected species). See p. 413, left column, first paragraph.
Regarding claim 33, OLADAPO discloses second generation CAR T-cell therapy utilizing 4-1BB (Applicant’s elected species) and ‘third generation’ CAR T-cells which utilize two distinct costimulatory domains (e.g. CD28/4-1BB/CD3ζ or CD28/OX-40/CD3ζ). See p. 413, left column, end of first paragraph.
Regarding claims 34 and 35, SADELAIN teaches a method of treating a subject with T cell therapy in need thereof, comprising administering to the subject the pharmaceutical composition of T cell with the disclosed transgene (see claims 1, 8 – 9, and 16 of SADELAIN).
Regarding claim 36, OLADAPO teaches CAR T-cells that were efficacious against cluster of differentiation (CD)19-expressing B-cell malignancies (see abstract).
Regarding claim 40, OLADAPO teaches the modification of T-cells to secrete IL-12 (see p. 413, right column).
Regarding claim 41, SADELAIN teaches inducer NFAT (see Table 1, between paragraphs 00232 and 00234).
Claims 37 and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over OLADAPO in view of SLAWIN, JENSEN and SADELAIN as applied to claims 20, 22 – 23, 29 – 36 and 40 – 41 above, and further in view of XIAO (US 20190216851 A1, filed 09/28/2018, published 07/18/2019; see PTO-892 of 04/01/2026).
The teachings of OLADAPO, SLAWIN, JENSEN and SADELAIN are discussed above and fully incorporated herein. However, none of OLADAPO, SLAWIN, JENSEN or SADELAIN teaches a CAR binding TSHR (of present claim 37) or ACPP (of present claim 39).
XIAO is directed to compositions and methods for enhancing T cell response and/or CAR cell expansion in vivo and/or in vitro. XIAO teaches treating solid tumor antigens TSHR and ACPP by administering CAR T cells (see claims 1 and 2 of XIAO).
Because OLADAPO discloses the significance of IL-6 and IFNγ to the success of CAR-T cell therapy in solid tumors, SLAWIN discloses the sequence of IL-6 (present SEQ ID NO: 287), JENSEN discloses the sequence of IFNγ (present SEQ ID NO: 328), SADELAIN teaches that the expression of cytokines by T cells expressing CARs can be modulated by HIF1a, NFAT, NFκB or AP1, and XIAO teaches the effective treatment of solid tumors with CARs targeting antigen TSHR or ACPP, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of the applied prior art to arrive to the pharmaceutical compositions of claims 37 and 39. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success considering that the therapy involving the combination of CAR-T cells and cytokines are known to be effective in the treatment of solid tumors, as evidenced by the applied art.
Response to Arguments
On page 12 of the reply of 08/10/2026 second paragraph, Applicant argues that “Applicant respectfully submits that this rejection seems to be based on information gleaned from Applicant's specification, since Applicant's specification is the only reference that teaches the transcription-factor-regulated expression and secretion of each of IL-6 and IFNy by at least one portion of the modified T cells comprising a CAR. Applicant respectfully points out that this rejection is improper because the MPEP states that "impermissible hindsight must be avoided and the legal conclusion must be reached on the basis of the facts gleaned from the prior art." MPEP § 2142.”
Applicant’s argument is not persuasive because OLADAPO teaches that “CAR T-cells that have been further optimized to inducibly or constitutively secrete active cytokines or express ligands that further armor CAR T-cells to improve efficacy and persistence. The choice of the ‘armor’ agent is based on knowledge of the tumour microenvironment and the roles of other elements of the innate and adaptive immune system”; teaches how IL-6 and IFNγ can improve CAR-T cell efficacy as discussed above; and teaches that “armored CAR T-cells with other cytokines, combination of cytokines or novel ligands need to be explored” (see OLADAPO at Conclusions, last paragraph) and thus OLADAPO renders a CAR armored with IL-6 and IFNγ obvious. The sequences of IL-6 and IFNγ and their inducible expression in a cell is also known in the art as discussed above.
On page 12, second paragraph of the reply, Applicant argues that OLADAPO’s teaching at p. 413, right column, is misinterpreted, and Applicant argues “[t]he improvement is attributed to IL-12, and IFNy appears only as a downstream secretion product.”
Applicant’s argument is not persuasive because OLADAPO teaches that “IL-12 enhances the cytotoxic ability of CD8 + T-cells and leads to increases in interferon-γ (IFN-γ), tumour necrosis factor-α (TNF-α) and granulocyte macrophage colony stimulating factor (GM-CSF) secretion [22]. Taken together, introduction of IL-12 into the tumour microenvironment is predicted to improve CAR T-cell cytotoxic function, mitigate Treg-suppression and reprogramme tumour-associated macrophages and DCs (Figure 1). Multiple preclinical studies demonstrate anti-tumour efficacy of intra-tumoural injection of IL-12 expressing vectors [23,24] or IL-12 expressing bone marrow derived DCs [25] without any significant toxicity in mice”, which suggests that IFNγ is involved in the improvement CAR T-cell cytotoxic function. In the quote, OLADAPO references ADDISON (Addison CL, et al. Intratumoral coinjection of adenoviral vectors expressing IL-2 and IL-12 results in enhanced frequency of regression of injected and untreated distal tumors. Gene Ther. 1998 Oct;5(10):1400-9; OLADAPO’s reference # 23; see PTO-892 submitted with this Office Action).
ADDISON teaches that “[t]he ability of IL-2 to synergize with IL-12 in the induction of IFN-γ expression is a second possible mechanism to explain the increased tumor regression observed in the combination treatment. Elevated levels of IFN-γ, together with IL-12 will lead to the expression of T1 type cytokines and thus the induction of potent cell-mediated immune responses. Lymphocytes isolated from animals that had undergone tumor regression were found to secrete elevated levels of IFN-γ upon antigen stimulation, suggesting that indeed a type 1 profile was induced. Increased IFN-γ expression has also been shown to increase the expression of MHC class I and class II molecules on tumor cells, which would potentially render them more susceptible to T cell-mediated killing. IFN-γ is also known to be a potent upregulator of the chemokines IP-10 (interferon inducible protein 10) and MIG (monokine induced by gamma interferon). Both of these molecules have been shown to be angiostatic and thus increasing their expression would create a tumor microenvironment that is angiostatic resulting in inhibition of tumor growth.” See ADDISON at p. 1406, right column, first paragraph. Thus, OLAPADO and the prior teaches the anti-tumor effects of IFN-γ.
Thus, cytokines IFN-γ and IL-6 are known in the art to modulate the tumor microenvironment and may be utilized to fight tumors, as OLADAPO and ADDISON teach.
On page 12, last paragraph – p. 13, first paragraph, Applicant argues against the application of SLAWIN and JENSEN to the 103 rejections.
SLAWIN teaches the monitoring of human IL-6 during T cell therapy. More importantly, SLAWIN teaches the human IL-6 amino acid sequence. Because OLADAPO teaches that IL-6 may armor a CAR, and SLAWIN teaches the sequence of IL-6, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use SLAWIN’s IL-6 sequence in OLADAPO’s armored CAR.
The same can be stated for JENSEN. SLAWIN and JENSEN teach the sequences of IL-6 and IFNγ, respectively, and thus are applied to show that the sequences recited in present claim 20 are known in the art.
On p. 13, second to last paragraph, Applicant argues that “Sadelain only teaches that a transcription factor can be used to drive inducible expression of a transgene in engineered T cells. As mentioned above, Sadelain does not teach or suggest the transcription-factor-regulated expression and secretion of the transgene cytokines IL-6 and IFNy.”
However, SADELAIN shows that inducible promotors controlled by transcription factors listed in present claim 20 are known in the art and can control the expression of cytokines such as IL6. OLADAPO teaches that “CAR T-cells that have been further optimized to inducibly or constitutively secrete active cytokines” (see OLADAPO at the abstract) and thus the controlled expression of cytokines is known in the prior art.
On p. 14, first and second paragraphs, Applicant points to paragraph 00134 and FIGs 31 – 39 to show unexpected results.
However, the examples of FIGs. 31 – 39 are limited to a very specific CAR (and conditions and thus not commensurate in scope with the present claims. For example, FIG. 31 shows cytokines released in response to hypoxia in the TSHR-CART system, which is not commensurate with present independent claims 20 and 35.
On p. 14, last paragraph – p. 15, first paragraph, Applicant argues against the rejection of independent claim 35, stating that “[t]he Office alleges that Oladapo, Slawin, Jensen, and Sadelain render claim 35 unpatentable for the same rationale as for claim 20. Therefore, for at least the reasons similar to those discussed above with respect to claim 20, to the extent that claims 20 and 35 recite similar subject matter, Applicant submits that Oladapo, Slawin, Jensen, and Sadelain, taken individually or in combination, do not teach or suggest each of the features of claim 35” (p. 15, first paragraph of the reply).
However, claim 20 is rendered obvious for the reasons discussed above and claim 35 is rendered obvious for similar reasons (see discussions above).
On p. 15, last paragraph – p. 16, first paragraph, Applicant argues against the rejection of claim 37 and 39, stating that “Xiao is applied only for its teaching of chimeric antigen receptors binding TSHR and ACPP and does not remedy the deficiencies of that combination” (p. 16, first paragraph of the reply).
Applicant’s argument is not persuasive because OLADAPO, SLAWIN, JENSEN, and SADELAIN renders claim 35 obvious for the reasons discussed above and XIAO shows that the targeting of TSHR and ACPP by CAR-T cells is known in the art.
NEW REJECTION NECESSITATED BY CLAIM AMENDMENTS
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 38 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over OLADAPO in view of SLAWIN, JENSEN, and SADELAIN as applied to claims 20, 22 – 23, 29 – 36 and 40 – 41 above, and further in view of MAGEE (Magee MS, et al. Human GUCY2C-targeted chimeric antigen receptor (CAR)-expressing T cells eliminate colorectal cancer metastases. Cancer immunology research. 2018 May 1;6(5):509-16; see PTO-892: Notice of References Cited submitted with this Office Action).
The teachings of OLADAPO, SLAWIN, JENSEN, and SADELAIN are discussed above and fully incorporated here. Although OLADAPO, SLAWIN, JENSEN, and SADELAIN renders the pharmaceutical composition of present claim 35 obvious for the reasons discussed above, none of the cited references teaches a CAR that binds GUCY2C. However, a CAR targeting GUCY2C is known in the art as evidenced by MAGEE.
MAGEE is directed to GUCY2C murine CAR-T cells recognized and killed human colorectal cancer cells endogenously expressing GUCY2C, providing durable survival in a human xenograft model in immunodeficient mice and thus the identification of a human GUCY2C-specific CAR-T cell therapy approach that may be developed for the treatment of GUCY2C-expressing metastatic colorectal cancer. See MAGEE at the abstract.
At the effective filing date of the present claims, it would have been prima facie obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the claimed invention from the disclosures of OLADAPO, SLAWIN, JENSEN, SADELAIN, and MAGEE. The artisan would have been motivated to make and use the pharmaceutical composition of claim 38 because OLADAPO teaches that CAR T-cells that have been further optimized to inducibly or constitutively secrete active cytokines or express ligands that further armor CAR T-cells improve efficacy and persistence; SLAWIN teaches an IL-6 sequence useful in a method of T cell therapy; JENSEN teaches an effective IFNγ transgene for CAR-T cells used in therapy; SADELAIN teaches an improved treatment using immunotherapy, such as treatment of cancer or other diseases with T cells wherein a transgene is integrated within the genome of the T cells such that expression of the transgene is under the control of an endogenous promoter (see SADELAIN at paragraphs 0011 – 0012); and MAGEE teaches a human GUCY2C-specific CAR-T cell therapy approach that may be developed for the treatment of GUCY2C-expressing metastatic colorectal cancer. Thus, the artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success from the combination of the cited references.
Double Patenting
Claims 20, 22 – 23, and 29 – 41 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 14 of U.S. Patent No. 10,918,667 in view of OLADAPO, SLAWIN, JENSEN, SADELAIN, XIAO, and MAGEE.
Patented claim 1 recites a pharmaceutical composition, wherein the pharmaceutical composition comprises modified T cells comprising a first nucleic acid encoding a chimeric antigen receptor (CAR) and a second nucleic acid encoding therapeutic agents IL-6 and IFN-γ and comprising SEQ ID NO: 469.
The main difference between the present claims and the patented claims is that the present claims recite a first exogenous polynucleotide encoding SEQ ID NO: 287 and a second exogenous polynucleotide encoding SEQ ID NO: 328 and that the modified T cells comprise a transcription factor selected from the group consisting of HIF1A, NFAT, FOXP3, NFKB, STAT, AP-1, and a combination thereof (present claim 20) or from the group consisting of HIF1A, NFAT, and a combination thereof (present claim 35). However, the cited references disclose this difference. The teachings of the cited references and how they relate to the claims, are set forth in the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 above.
Because the patented claims recite a pharmaceutical composition, wherein the pharmaceutical composition comprises modified T cells comprising a first nucleic acid encoding a chimeric antigen receptor (CAR) and a second nucleic acid encoding therapeutic agents IL-6 and IFN-γ, and the cited references disclose the sequences of IL-6 and IFN-γ (SEQ ID NOs 297 and 328, respectively) and the transcription factors recited in the present claims, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the pharmaceutical composition of the patented claims with the sequences and transcription factors of the cited references to arrive to the present claims.
Claims 20, 22 – 23, and 29 – 41 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 22 of U.S. Patent No. 11,104,732 below in view of OLADAPO, SLAWIN, JENSEN, SADELAIN, XIAO and MAGEE.
Patented claim 1 recites a modified cell comprising a polynucleotide encoding an antibody binding SIGLEC-15, wherein the antibody is secretable or attached to the membrane of the modified cell, wherein the polynucleotide comprises a polynucleotide encoding at least one of SEQ ID NOS: 115 and 116.
Patented claim 3 recites that the modified T cell is engineered to express and secrete a therapeutic agent.
Patented claim 4 recites that the therapeutic agent comprises at least one of IL-33, IL-1β, TNFα, MALP-2, IL1, IL17, G-CSF or GM-CSF, IL-6, IL-12, and IFN-γ.
Patented claim 5 recites that the therapeutic agent is regulated by Hif1a, NFAT, FOXP3, and/or NFkB.
The main difference between the present claims and the patented claims is that the present claims recite a first exogenous polynucleotide encoding SEQ ID NO: 287 and a second exogenous polynucleotide encoding SEQ ID NO: 328. However, the cited references disclose this difference. The teachings of the cited references and how they relate to the claims, are set forth in the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 above.
Because the patented claims recite a pharmaceutical composition, wherein the pharmaceutical composition comprises modified T cells comprising a first nucleic acid encoding a chimeric antigen receptor (CAR) and a second nucleic acid encoding therapeutic agents IL-6 and IFN-γ, and the cited references disclose the sequences of IL-6 and IFN-γ (SEQ ID NOs 297 and 328, respectively), it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the pharmaceutical composition of the patented claims with the sequences of the cited references to arrive to the present claims.
Claims 20, 22 – 23, and 29 – 41 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,788,072 below in view of OLADAPO, SLAWIN, JENSEN, SADELAIN, XIAO and MAGEE.
Patented claim 1 recites an isolated polynucleotide comprising a polynucleotide encoding a nuclear factor of activated T cells (NFAT) promoter operatively linked to a polynucleotide encoding Fms-related tyrosine kinase 3 ligand (FLT3L).
Patented claim 5 recites a modified cell comprising the isolated polynucleotide of claim 1.
Patented claim 6 recites that the modified cell further comprises a modified T cell receptor (TCR) or a chimeric antigen receptor (CAR).
Patented claim 12 recites that the modified cell is engineered to express and secrete a therapeutic agent.
Patented claim 13 recites that therapeutic agent comprises IL-12, IL-6, or IFN-γ.
The main difference between the present claims and the patented claims is that the present claims recite a first exogenous polynucleotide encoding SEQ ID NO: 287 and a second exogenous polynucleotide encoding SEQ ID NO: 328. However, the cited references disclose this difference. The teachings of the cited references and how they relate to the claims, are set forth in the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 above.
Because the patented claims recite a pharmaceutical composition, wherein the pharmaceutical composition comprises modified T cells comprising a first nucleic acid encoding a chimeric antigen receptor (CAR) and a second nucleic acid encoding therapeutic agents IL-6 and IFN-γ, and the cited references disclose the sequences of IL-6 and IFN-γ (SEQ ID NOs 297 and 328, respectively), it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the pharmaceutical composition of the patented claims with the sequences of the cited references to arrive to the present claims.
Claims 20, 22 – 23, and 29 – 41 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 9 of U.S. Patent No. 11,932,700 in view of OLADAPO, SLAWIN, JENSEN, SADELAIN, XIAO, and MAGEE.
Patented claim 1 recites a method of stimulating a T cell-mediated immune response and treating colorectal cancer in a human patient, the method comprising: contacting a population of cells comprising guanylate cyclase 2C (GUCY2C) comprising the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 33, in a human patient with a population of modified T cells comprising a chimeric antigen receptor (CAR),
and stimulating a T cell-mediated immune response and treating colorectal cancer in a human patient,
wherein the CAR comprises an extracellular domain, a transmembrane domain, and an intracellular domain, the extracellular domain comprising the amino acid sequences SEQ ID NO: 14.
Patented claim 4 recites that the T cell-mediated immune response comprises release of one or more cytokines comprising IFNy.
The main difference between the present claims and the patented claims is that the present claims recite a first exogenous polynucleotide encoding SEQ ID NO: 287 and a second exogenous polynucleotide encoding SEQ ID NO: 328 and that the modified T cells comprise a transcription factor selected from the group consisting of HIF1A, NFAT, FOXP3, NFKB, STAT, AP-1, and a combination thereof (present claim 20) or from the group consisting of HIF1A, NFAT, and a combination thereof (present claim 35). However, the cited references disclose this difference. The teachings of the cited references and how they relate to the claims, are set forth in the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 above.
Because the patented claims recite a population of modified T cells comprising a chimeric antigen receptor (CAR) and which release of one or more cytokines comprising IFNγ and the cited references disclose the sequences of IL-6 and IFN-γ (SEQ ID NOs 297 and 328, respectively) and the transcription factors recited in the present claims, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the pharmaceutical composition of the patented claims with the sequences and transcription factors of the cited references to arrive to the present claims.
Claims 20, 22 – 23, and 29 – 41 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5 – 8 and 24 – 54 of copending Application No. 17/749,824 in view of OLADAPO, SLAWIN, JENSEN, SADELAIN, XIAO, and MAGEE.
Copending claim 1 recites a composition for transfecting or transducing T cells, comprising: a first vector comprising a polynucleotide encoding a first chimeric antigen receptor (CAR) binding a solid tumor antigen selected from the group consisting of TSHR, GUCY2C, and ACPP a second vector comprising a polynucleotide encoding a second CAR binding CD19 and a polynucleotide encoding IL-6;a third vector comprising a polynucleotide encoding the second CAR and a polynucleotide encoding IL-12; anda fourth vector comprising a polynucleotide encoding second CAR and a polynucleotide encoding IFNy, and wherein the expression and/or secretion of each of IL-6, IL-12, and IFNy is regulated by one or more transcription modulators, optionally wherein the one or more transcription modulators are selected from the group consisting of Hif- la, NFAT, FOXP3, and NFkB.
The main difference between the present claims and the copending claims is that the present claims recite a first exogenous polynucleotide encoding SEQ ID NO: 287 and a second exogenous polynucleotide encoding SEQ ID NO: 328. However, the cited references disclose this difference. The teachings of the cited references and how they relate to the claims, are set forth in the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 above.
Because the copending claims recite a pharmaceutical composition comprising modified T cells comprising a first nucleic acid encoding a chimeric antigen receptor (CAR) and a second nucleic acid encoding therapeutic agents IL-6 and IFN-γ, wherein the one or more transcription modulators are selected from the group consisting of Hif- la, NFAT, FOXP3, and NFkB and the cited references disclose the sequences of IL-6 and IFN-γ (SEQ ID NOs 297 and 328, respectively), it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the pharmaceutical composition of the copending claims with the sequences of the cited references to arrive to the present claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
On page 17 of the reply of 08/10/2026, Applicant argues “that the deficiencies of Oladapo, Slawin, Jensen, and Sadelain discussed in detail above apply equally to this provisional rejection, which relies on those same references in combination with the claims of the co-pending application.” However, as discussed above, the secondary references in addition to the U.S. patented claims or copending claims render the present claims obvious and thus, the nonstatutory rejections are maintained for the reasons above.
Conclusion
Claims 20, 22 – 23 and 29 – 41 are rejected.
/ESTELLA M. GUSTILO/Examiner, Art Unit 1646
/GREGORY S EMCH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1678