DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
The applicant's election with traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 04/09/2024 was previously acknowledged.
Claims 1-9 were previously withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 04/09/2024.
Newly submitted claim 22 is directed to compound outside the scope of the elected species of Group 2, a compound of general formula (III). Accordingly, claim 22 is withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
The elected species reads on claims 10-11, 13, and 21.
Response to Amendment
The applicant's amendment of 06/11/2026 has been entered.
Claims 10 is amended, claims 14 and 16-20 are cancelled and claims 21-22 are new due to the applicant's amendment.
Claims 1-11, 13, and 21-22 are pending and claims 1-9 and 22 are withdrawn from consideration.
The rejection of claims 10-11, 13-14, and 16-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shirasaki et al. US-20210009527-A1 as set forth in the previous Office action is overcome due to the applicant's amendment. The rejection is withdrawn.
However, as outlined below, new grounds of rejection have been made over newly cited Schulze et al. WO-2019215179-A1 and Pan et al. WO-2018103749-A1.
Response to Arguments
Insofar as the arguments apply to the new grounds of rejection outlined below, the applicant's arguments on pages 9-11 of the reply dated 06/11/2026 with respect to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shirasaki et al. US-20210009527-A1 have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
Applicant's argument – The applicant argues on pages 9-22 that the rejections set forth in the previous Office action are overcome due to the applicant's amendments to the claims and Shirasaki does not provide a reason to modify the previously cited compound to arrive at the claimed compound.
Examiner's response -- The claims did not previously require the amended limitations of wherein G is selected from unsubstituted or substituted dibenzofuran-3-yl, benzofuran, dibenzothiophene-3-yl and benzothiophene and the amended limitations are met in the new grounds of rejection below over Schulze et al. WO-2019215179-A1 and Pan et al. WO-2018103749-A1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 10-11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Schulze et al. WO-2019215179-A1 (hereinafter "Schultze").
The applied reference has a common inventor and applicant with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Regarding claims 10-11, 13, and 21, Schulze discloses compounds on page 28 that meet the claimed formula (III), including compound G38
(page 28).
For example, the compound G38 is a compound of the claimed general formula (III) wherein:
A2 is an anthracene substituted a C6 aryl group;
X2 is phenylene;
Y4 to Y6 are each N;
G is unsubstituted benzothiophene; and
R3 is phenyl .
The compound of Schultze meets claims 10-11 and 13.
Claim 10-11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by as being anticipated by Pan et al. WO-2018103749-A1 (hereinafter "Pan").
Regarding claims 10-11, 13, and 21, Pan discloses compounds on page 14 that meet the claimed formula (III) including compound
(page 14).
For example, the compound above is a compound of the claimed general formula (III) wherein:
A2 is an unsubstituted anthracene;
X2 is phenylene;
Y4 to Y6 are each N;
G is unsubstituted dibenzothiophene-3-yl; and
R3 is phenyl.
It is noted that X2 and R3 are not specifically required to be unsubstituted.
The compound of Pan meets claims 10-11 and 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-11, 13, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schulze et al. WO-2019215179-A1 (hereinafter "Schultze").
Regarding claims 10-11, 13, and 21, Schulze teaches a compound of formula 1 (page 2) for use in an organic semiconductor layer in an OLED (page 33, middle). Schulze teaches that the compound improves luminance efficiency, voltage characteristics, and/or lifetime characteristics (page 33, middle) and has high electron mobility and low operating voltage (page 33, middle). Schulze teaches examples of the compound of formula 1 including for example compound G38
(page 28).
Schulze does not specifically teach a compound as claimed in claim 21 where G is a benzofuran group. However, Schulze teaches the variable X is O or S (page 2) and teaches exemplary compounds wherein the variable X is O, see for example G63 (page 31).
Therefore, given the general formula and teachings of Schulze, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the sulfur atom (S) at the position corresponding to X in the formula 1 of Schulze with oxygen (O), because Schulze teaches the variable may suitably be selected as such and teaches exemplary compounds wherein the variable is selected as such. The substitution would have been one known element for another and one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art would reasonably expect the predictable result that the modified compound would be useful in the organic semiconductor layer of the device of Schulze and possess the beneficial properties of high electron mobility and low operating voltage and improved luminance efficiency, voltage characteristics, and/or lifetime characteristics in the device taught by Schulze. See MPEP § 2143.I.(B).
The modified compound corresponds to the claimed compound ET-9 in claim 21 and is a compound of the claimed general formula (III) wherein:
A2 is an anthracene substituted a C6 aryl group;
X2 is phenylene;
Y4 to Y6 are each N;
G is unsubstituted benzofuran; and
R3 is phenyl .
Therefore, the compound of Schultze meets claims 10-11 and 13.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/ELIZABETH M. DAHLBURG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786