DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 10-16 in the reply filed on 04/09/2024 was previously acknowledged.
Claims 1-9 were withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 04/09/2024.
The elected species reads on claims 10-11, 13-14, and 16-20.
Response to Amendment
The applicant's amendment of 01/02/2026 has been entered.
Claims 10-11 and 17-18 are amended due to the applicant's amendment.
Claims 1-11, 13-14, and 16-20 are pending and claims 1-9 remain withdrawn from consideration.
The rejection of claims 10-11, 13-14, and 16-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shirasaki et al. US-20210009527-A1 as set forth in the previous Office action is overcome due to the applicant's amendment. The rejection is withdrawn.
However, as outlined below, new grounds of rejection have been made over Shirasaki.
Response to Arguments
Insofar as the arguments apply to the new grounds of rejection outlined below, the applicant's arguments on pages 8-9 of the reply dated 01/02/2026 with respect to the rejection of claims 10-11, 13-14, and 16-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shirasaki et al. US-20210009527-A1 have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
Applicant's argument – The applicant argues on pages 8-9 that the rejections set forth in the previous Office action are overcome due to the applicant's amendments to the claims and Shirasaki does not provide a reason to modify the previously cited compound to arrive at the claimed compound.
Examiner's response -- The claims did not previously require the amended limitations of wherein the substituents of A2 are unsubstituted or substituted with a phosphine oxide group or CN and the amended limitations are met in the new grounds of rejection below over Shirasaki. Briefly, as discussed in greater detail in the rejection below, Shirasaki teaches that Ar1-Ar2 and Ar3-Ar4 of Shirasaki's formula (1) may be selected from groups of formula (a1) to (a11), which include both a phenyl and a biphenyl group and include both an anthracene group substituted with a biphenyl group and an anthracene group substituted with a phenyl group (¶ [0427]) and Shirasaki teaches exemplary compounds wherein these positions are these specific groups. It would have been obvious to substitute the positions Ar1-Ar2 or Ar3-Ar4 in one of Shirasaki's specifically exemplified compounds to arrive at the claimed compound because it would have been the substitution would have been one known element for another.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-11, 13-14, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shirasaki et al. US-20210009527-A1 (hereinafter "Shirasaki").
Regarding claims 10-11, 13-14, and 16-20, Shirasaki teaches an electron transporting material for an organic electroluminescence device of a formula (1) (¶ [0007]). Shirasaki teaches that the compound causes an organic electroluminescence device comprising it to have high luminous efficiency (¶ [0025]). Shirasaki teaches specific examples of the compound of formula (1) including those on pages 54 and 157, see for example
(page 54) and
(page 157).
Shirasaki does not specifically disclose a compound of the claimed formula (III). For example, the first compound shown above differs from the claimed compound in that the positions Ar1-Ar2 is a biphenyl group instead of a phenyl group. However, Shirasaki teaches that Ar1-Ar2 and Ar3-Ar4 of Shirasaki's formula (1) may be selected from groups of formula (a1) to (a11), which include both a phenyl and a biphenyl group (¶ [0427]) and Shirasaki teaches exemplary compounds wherein Ar1-Ar2 is a phenyl group, such as in the compounds on page 157.
Therefore, given the general formula and teachings of Shirasaki, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the biphenyl in the position Ar1-Ar2 in the above first compound with an unsubstituted phenyl group, because Shirasaki teaches the variable may suitably be selected as such. The substitution would have been one known element for another and one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art would reasonably expect the predictable result that the modified compound would be useful in the device of Shirasaki and possess the benefits of high luminous efficiency. See MPEP § 2143.I.(B).
Alternatively, the second compound shown above differs from the claimed compound in that the position Ar3-Ar4 is an anthracene group substituted with a biphenyl group instead of a phenyl group. However, Shirasaki teaches that Ar1-Ar2 and Ar3-Ar4 of Shirasaki's formula (1) may be selected from groups of formula (a1) to (a11), which include both an anthracene group substituted with a biphenyl group and an anthracene group substituted with a phenyl group (¶ [0427]) and Shirasaki teaches exemplary compounds wherein Ar3-Ar4 is an anthracene group substituted with a phenyl group, such as in the compounds on page 54.
Therefore, given the general formula and teachings of Shirasaki, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the anthracene group substituted with a biphenyl group in the position Ar3-Ar4 in the above second compound with an anthracene group substituted with a phenyl group, because Shirasaki teaches the variable may suitably be selected as such. The substitution would have been one known element for another and one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art would reasonably expect the predictable result that the modified compound would be useful in the device of Shirasaki and possess the benefits of high luminous efficiency. See MPEP § 2143.I.(B).
The modified compound of Shirasaki is a compound of the claimed general formula (III) wherein:
A2 is an anthracene substituted with an unsubstituted C6 aryl group;
X2 is a phenylene;
Y4 to Y6 are each N;
G is an unsubstituted C12 heteroaryl group comprising at least one 5-memebred ring wherein the heteroatom is S (a dibenzothiophene); and
R3 is an unsubstituted C6 aryl (a phenyl group).
The modified compound of Shirasaki meets claims 10-11, 13-14, and 16-20.
Contact Information
/ELIZABETH M. DAHLBURG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786