DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/27/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s assertion (Applicant’s Remarks pages 9-10) that the disclosure of US 20180138245 A1 (Motoyama et al) does not disclose or suggest that four angles formed by sidewalls of color filter layers and bottom surfaces of color filter layers (Motoyama FIG. 11, sidewalls and bottom surfaces of color filter layers 23R/G/B) are of equal magnitude is acknowledged. The Examiner disagrees: while the text of the specification of Motoyama does not explicitly state that the angles formed in the color filter layers are all 90 degrees and of equal magnitude, the color filter layers 23R/G/B are clearly shown in FIG. 11 to be flush with each other and have 90 degree angles at all of their lateral sidewalls (FIG. 11, the vertical sidewalls form 90 degree angles with the horizontal bottom surfaces at each color filter layer 23R/G/B); a person of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably inferred that to be what Motoyama is conveying in their disclosure based on what is illustrated in the drawings (MPEP 2144.01), unless Applicant has found evidence to the contrary (e.g. a statement that despite the sidewalls being clearly depicted as uniformly perpendicular to the bottom surfaces in the cross-sections of the drawings, the color filters do not have symmetrical angles of equal magnitude among each other). See also MPEP 2125 I, which states “Drawings and pictures can anticipate claims if they clearly show the structure which is claimed… When the reference is a utility patent, it does not matter that the feature shown is unintended or unexplained in the specification”. Therefore, the Examiner maintains the rejections of claims 1,3,6-8,11,13, and 16-18 as they were presented in the Office action mailed 3/27/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7, 11, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US patent publication US 20150155346 A1 (Motoyama et al hereinafter Motoyama).
Regarding claim 1, Motoyama discloses a display device (FIG. 1, display unit 1 ¶ [0047], using the “Modification 2” embodiment of FIG. 11 ¶ [0042, 0105-0107]) comprising: a plurality of light emitting element groups (FIGS. 1-2 and 11, with the pixels 6 arrangement of FIG. 11 in place of pixels 2 shown in FIGS. 1-2, in accordance with the “Modification 2” embodiment ¶ [0047-0048, 0106]) arranged on a base body (FIG. 2, first substrate 11 ¶ [0052]) of the display device, each respective light emitting element group including: a first light emitting element (FIG. 11, red light emitting element having light emitting device 50R and color filter 23R, ¶ [0048, 0051, 0106]) including a first light emitting region (FIG. 11, light emitting device 50R ¶ [0106]) and a first color filter layer (FIG. 11, color filter 23R disposed above 50R ¶ [0048, 0051]) disposed above the first light emitting region, the first color filter layer including a top surface (FIG. 11, the top surface of filter 23R between light shielding sections 22RB and 22RG ¶ [0050]) opposite a bottom surface (FIG. 11, the lowermost surface of filter 23R), a first lateral sidewall extending between the top surface and the bottom surface (FIG. 11, left sidewall of filter 23R extending from resin layer 32 to shielding section 22RB ¶ [0069]), and a second lateral sidewall extending between the top surface and the bottom surface (FIG. 11, right sidewall of filter 23R extending from resin layer 32 to shielding section 22RG); a second light emitting element (FIG. 11, green light emitting element having light emitting device 50G and color filter 23G immediately to the right of device 50R/filter 23R, ¶ [0048, 0051, 0106]) adjacent to the first light emitting element and including a second light emitting region (FIG. 11, light emitting device 50G ¶ [0106]) and a second color filter layer (FIG. 11, color filter 23G disposed above device 50G ¶ [0048, 0051]) disposed above the second light emitting region, the second color filter layer including a top surface (FIG. 11, the top surface of filter 23G between shielding sections 22RG and unlabeled 22GB on the far right) opposite a bottom surface (FIG. 11, the lowermost surface of filter 23G), a first lateral sidewall (FIG. 11, left sidewall of filter 23G extending from resin layer 32 to shielding section 22RG) extending between the top surface and the bottom surface, and a second lateral sidewall extending between the top surface and the bottom surface (FIG. 11, right sidewall of filter 23G extending from resin layer 32 to unlabeled shielding section 22GB);
While Motoyama does not explicitly show a third light emitting element adjacent to the second light emitting element in the view provided in FIG. 11 (the view terminates after the device 50G on the right), a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to include a third light emitting element having the same characteristics as the light emitting element constituted by device 50B and filter 23B shown in FIG. 11 adjacent to the second light emitting element, because the view of the device shown in FIG. 1 indicates that multiple pixel units are arranged adjacent to each other (FIG. 1, pixels 2), FIG. 11 shows multiple instances of a light emitting element constituted by device 50G and filter 23G, and because doing so would allow for forming a display device having the improved light emission efficiency and light emission life of the embodiment of FIG. 11 (¶ [0107]). It is also recognized that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (MPEP 2144.04 VI. B).
Consequently, Motoyama further discloses a third light emitting element (FIG. 11, blue light emitting element having light emitting device 50B and color filter 23B the immediate right of device 50G/filter 23G, ¶ [0048, 0051, 0106]) adjacent to the second light emitting element and including a third light emitting region (FIG. 11, light emitting device 50B ¶ [0106]) and a third color filter layer (FIG. 11, color filter 23B disposed above device 50B ¶ [0048, 0051]) disposed above the third light emitting region, the third color filter layer including a top surface (FIG. 11, the top surface of filter 23B between shielding sections 22GB and 22RB) opposite a bottom surface (FIG. 11, the lowermost surface of filter 23B), a first lateral sidewall (FIG. 11, left sidewall of filter 23B extending from resin layer 32 to shielding section 22GB) extending between the top surface and the bottom surface, and a second lateral sidewall (FIG. 11, right sidewall of filter 23B extending from resin layer 32 to shielding section 22RB) extending between the top surface and the bottom surface;
wherein the second lateral sidewall of the first color filter layer forms a first angle with respect to the bottom surface of the first color filter layer (FIG. 11, the right sidewall of filter 23R forms a 90 degree angle with the bottom surface of 23R) and the first lateral sidewall of the second color filter layer forms a second angle with respect to the bottom surface of the second color filter layer (FIG. 11, left sidewall of filter 23G forms a 90 degree angle with the bottom surface of 23G); wherein the second lateral sidewall of the second color filter layer forms a third angle with respect to the bottom surface of the second color filter layer (FIG. 11, right sidewall of filter 23G forms a 90 degree angle with the bottom surface of 23G) and the first lateral sidewall of the third color filter layer forms a fourth angle with respect to the bottom surface of the third color filter layer (FIG. 11, left sidewall of filter 23B forms a 90 degree angle with the bottom surface of 23B); wherein the first angle, the second angle, the third angle, and the fourth angle have equal magnitudes (each of the four angles has a magnitude of 90 degrees), the first angle is symmetrical to the second angle (FIG. 11, the 90 degree angles at the right sidewall of filter 23R and left sidewall of filter 23G are symmetrical to each other), and the third angle is symmetrical to the fourth angle (FIG. 11, the 90 degree angles at the right sidewall of filter 23G and the left sidewall of filter 23B are symmetrical to each other; as discussed above, it is assumed that a device 50B/filter 23B is disposed to the right of the right device 50G/filter 23G); wherein the top surfaces of the first color filter layer, the second color filter layer, and the third color filter layer have equal areas (FIGS. 1-2, 11 indicate that the top surfaces of each of the color filters 23R, 23G, and 23B have equal areas; further, Motoyama explicitly states that the embodiment of FIG. 12/“Modification 3” adjusts widths of the openings to be varied ¶ [0043, 0108-0109], implying that the other embodiments such as FIG. 11/“Modification 2” have equal opening areas and therefore equal areas for top surfaces of the filters 23R, 23G, and 23B) and do not overlap (FIG. 11, top surfaces of filters 23R, 23G, and 23B do not overlap); and wherein each light emitting region is surrounded by an insulator bounding respective ends of respective light emitting regions (FIG. 11, protective layer 31, being an insulator ¶ [0069], includes portions that extend between the light emitting regions to bound off their respective ends; additionally, FIGS. 8-9 illustrate inter-electrode insulating film 15 ¶ [0068] which functions as a pixel bank between light emitting regions).
Regarding claim 7, Motoyama discloses the device of claim 1 as detailed above, and further discloses that the third light emitting region emits blue light (FIG. 11, device 50B emits blue light ¶ [0106]).
Motoyama does not explicitly state that the first light emitting region emits red light and the second light emitting region emits green light. However, the first light emitting region is designated light emitting device 50R (¶ [0106]) and the second light emitting region is designated light emitting device 50G (¶ [0106]). The light emitting devices 50R, 50G, and 50B also serve analogous functions to the light emitting devices 10R, 10G, and 10B of FIG. 2, wherein device 10R emits red light and device 10G emits green light (¶ [0047]). Further, light emitting devices 10R and 50R are both disposed below red color filter 23R (FIGS. 2 and 11; the color filters are disposed above devices of corresponding colors ¶ [0048]), and light emitting devices 10G and 50G are both disposed below red color filter 23G (FIGS. 2 and 11; the color filters are disposed above devices of corresponding colors ¶ [0048]). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to ensure that the first light emitting region emits red light and the second light emitting region emits green light by having device 50R emit red light and device 50G emit green light, so that the light emitted corresponds to the color of the filter above (23R being red and 23G being green respectively) to be in keeping with the teaching of Motoyama that the color filters are disposed above devices of corresponding colors to maintain effective light emission.
Regarding claim 11, Motoyama discloses a display device formed (FIG. 1, display unit 1 is formed ¶ [0047], using the “Modification 2” embodiment of FIG. 11 ¶ [0042, 0105-0107]) comprising: a plurality of light emitting element groups (FIGS. 1-2 and 11, with the pixels 6 arrangement of FIG. 11 in place of pixels 2 shown in FIGS. 1-2, in accordance with the “Modification 2” embodiment ¶ [0047-0048, 0106]) arranged on a base body (FIG. 2, first substrate 11 ¶ [0052]) of the display device, each respective light emitting element group including: a first light emitting element (FIG. 11, red light emitting element having light emitting device 50R and color filter 23R, ¶ [0048, 0051, 0106]) including a first light emitting region (FIG. 11, light emitting device 50R ¶ [0106]) and a first color filter layer (FIG. 11, color filter 23R disposed above 50R ¶ [0048, 0051]) disposed above the first light emitting region, the first color filter layer including a top surface (FIG. 11, the top surface of filter 23R between light shielding sections 22RB and 22RG ¶ [0050]) opposite a bottom surface (FIG. 11, the lowermost surface of filter 23R), a first lateral sidewall extending between the top surface and the bottom surface (FIG. 11, left sidewall of filter 23R extending from resin layer 32 to shielding section 22RB ¶ [0069]), and a second lateral sidewall extending between the top surface and the bottom surface (FIG. 11, right sidewall of filter 23R extending from resin layer 32 to shielding section 22RG); a second light emitting element (FIG. 11, green light emitting element having light emitting device 50G and color filter 23G immediately to the right of device 50R/filter 23R, ¶ [0048, 0051, 0106]) adjacent to the first light emitting element and including a second light emitting region (FIG. 11, light emitting device 50G ¶ [0106]) and a second color filter layer (FIG. 11, color filter 23G disposed above device 50G ¶ [0048, 0051]) disposed above the second light emitting region, the second color filter layer including a top surface (FIG. 11, the top surface of filter 23G between shielding sections 22RG and unlabeled 22GB on the far right) opposite a bottom surface (FIG. 11, the lowermost surface of filter 23G), a first lateral sidewall (FIG. 11, left sidewall of filter 23G extending from resin layer 32 to shielding section 22RG) extending between the top surface and the bottom surface, and a second lateral sidewall extending between the top surface and the bottom surface (FIG. 11, right sidewall of filter 23G extending from resin layer 32 to unlabeled shielding section 22GB);
While Motoyama does not explicitly show a third light emitting element adjacent to the second light emitting element in the view provided in FIG. 11 (the view terminates after the device 50G on the right), a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to include a third light emitting element having the same characteristics as the light emitting element constituted by device 50B and filter 23B shown in FIG. 11 adjacent to the second light emitting element, because the view of the device shown in FIG. 1 indicates that multiple pixel units are arranged adjacent to each other (FIG. 1, pixels 2), FIG. 11 shows multiple instances of a light emitting element constituted by device 50G and filter 23G, and because doing so would allow for forming a display device having the improved light emission efficiency and light emission life of the embodiment of FIG. 11 (¶ [0107]). It is also recognized that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (MPEP 2144.04 VI. B).
Consequently, Motoyama further discloses a third light emitting element (FIG. 11, blue light emitting element having light emitting device 50B and color filter 23B the immediate right of device 50G/filter 23G, ¶ [0048, 0051, 0106]) adjacent to the second light emitting element and including a third light emitting region (FIG. 11, light emitting device 50B ¶ [0106]) and a third color filter layer (FIG. 11, color filter 23B disposed above device 50B ¶ [0048, 0051]) disposed above the third light emitting region, the third color filter layer including a top surface (FIG. 11, the top surface of filter 23B between shielding sections 22GB and 22RB) opposite a bottom surface (FIG. 11, the lowermost surface of filter 23B), a first lateral sidewall (FIG. 11, left sidewall of filter 23B extending from resin layer 32 to shielding section 22GB) extending between the top surface and the bottom surface, and a second lateral sidewall (FIG. 11, right sidewall of filter 23B extending from resin layer 32 to shielding section 22RB) extending between the top surface and the bottom surface;
wherein the second lateral sidewall of the first color filter layer forms a first angle with respect to the bottom surface of the first color filter layer (FIG. 11, the right sidewall of filter 23R forms a 90 degree angle with the bottom surface of 23R) and the first lateral sidewall of the second color filter layer forms a second angle with respect to the bottom surface of the second color filter layer (FIG. 11, left sidewall of filter 23G forms a 90 degree angle with the bottom surface of 23G); wherein the second lateral sidewall of the second color filter layer forms a third angle with respect to the bottom surface of the second color filter layer (FIG. 11, right sidewall of filter 23G forms a 90 degree angle with the bottom surface of 23G) and the first lateral sidewall of the third color filter layer forms a fourth angle with respect to the bottom surface of the third color filter layer (FIG. 11, left sidewall of filter 23B forms a 90 degree angle with the bottom surface of 23B); wherein the first angle, the second angle, the third angle, and the fourth angle have equal magnitudes (each of the four angles has a magnitude of 90 degrees), the first angle is symmetrical to the second angle (FIG. 11, the 90 degree angles at the right sidewall of filter 23R and left sidewall of filter 23G are symmetrical to each other), and the third angle is symmetrical to the fourth angle (FIG. 11, the 90 degree angles at the right sidewall of filter 23G and the left sidewall of filter 23B are symmetrical to each other; as discussed above, it is assumed that a device 50B/filter 23B is disposed to the right of the right device 50G/filter 23G); wherein the top surfaces of the first color filter layer, the second color filter layer, and the third color filter layer have equal areas (FIGS. 1-2, 11 indicate that the top surfaces of each of the color filters 23R, 23G, and 23B have equal areas; further, Motoyama explicitly states that the embodiment of FIG. 12/“Modification 3” adjusts widths of the openings to be varied ¶ [0043, 0108-0109], implying that the other embodiments such as FIG. 11/“Modification 2” have equal opening areas and therefore equal areas for top surfaces of the filters 23R, 23G, and 23B) and do not overlap (FIG. 11, top surfaces of filters 23R, 23G, and 23B do not overlap); and wherein each light emitting region is surrounded by an insulator bounding respective ends of respective light emitting regions (FIG. 11, protective layer 31, being an insulator ¶ [0069], includes portions that extend between the light emitting regions to bound off their respective ends; additionally, FIGS. 8-9 illustrate inter-electrode insulating film 15 ¶ [0068] which functions as a pixel bank between light emitting regions).
Regarding claim 17, Motoyama discloses the device of claim 11 as detailed above, and further discloses that the third light emitting region emits blue light (FIG. 11, device 50B emits blue light ¶ [0106]).
Motoyama does not explicitly state that the first light emitting region emits red light and the second light emitting region emits green light. However, the first light emitting region is designated light emitting device 50R (¶ [0106]) and the second light emitting region is designated light emitting device 50G (¶ [0106]). The light emitting devices 50R, 50G, and 50B also serve analogous functions to the light emitting devices 10R, 10G, and 10B of FIG. 2, wherein device 10R emits red light and device 10G emits green light (¶ [0047]). Further, light emitting devices 10R and 50R are both disposed below red color filter 23R (FIGS. 2 and 11; the color filters are disposed above devices of corresponding colors ¶ [0048]), and light emitting devices 10G and 50G are both disposed below red color filter 23G (FIGS. 2 and 11; the color filters are disposed above devices of corresponding colors ¶ [0048]). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to ensure that the first light emitting region emits red light and the second light emitting region emits green light by having device 50R emit red light and device 50G emit green light, so that the light emitted corresponds to the color of the filter above (23R being red and 23G being green respectively) to be in keeping with the teaching of Motoyama that the color filters are disposed above devices of corresponding colors to maintain effective light emission.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Motoyama as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US patent publication US 20170287988 A1 (Lee et al hereinafter Lee).
Motoyama discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above, and further discloses that the area of respective light emitting regions is different among the first light emitting element and the second light emitting element, and the third light emitting element (FIG. 11, the third light emitting element corresponding to device 50B has a larger width and corresponding area than those of devices 50R and 50G ¶ [0106]). Motoyama does not disclose that the area of respective light emitting regions is different among the first light emitting element and the second light emitting element (FIG. 11, the red and green light emitting devices 50R and 50G have ostensibly the same area).
However, Lee discloses a display device (FIGS. 1-2, organic light emitting display device 100 ¶ [0038]) wherein the area of respective light emitting regions is different among the first light emitting element (FIG. 2, red emission region OR has a first area ¶ [0062]), the second light emitting element (FIG. 2, green emission region OG has a second area different from the first ¶ [0062]), and the third light emitting element (FIG. 2, blue emission region OB has a third area different from both the first and the second ¶ [0062]). Lee also teaches that each emission area is adjusted based on the luminance lifetime per unit area of each light emitting diode (¶ [0062]); since each emission area comprises different light emitting materials to emit light of a given color (¶ [0076-0077]), the different materials have different luminance lifetimes per unit area. Adjusting the emission areas for each of the red, green, and blue sub-pixels such that they differ from one another allows for them to maintain equal luminance lifetimes for each of the light emitting regions (¶ [0074]). This is pertinent to the device of Motoyama because Motoyama discloses light emitting regions which emit light of different colors (the red, green, and blue light emitting devices 10R/10G/10B of Motoyama respectively emit monochromatic red, green, and blue light ¶ [0047]). A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to adjust the emission areas of each of the red, green, and blue light emitting devices in order to maintain equal luminance lifetimes for each of the light emitting regions, and would find it obvious to arrive at an arrangement wherein the area of respective light emitting regions is different among the first light emitting element and the second light emitting element.
Motoyama and Lee both pertain to the field of OLED display devices. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to modify the device of Motoyama in view of Lee such that the area of respective light emitting regions is different among the first light emitting element and the second light emitting element, in order to maintain equal luminance lifetimes for each of the light emitting regions (since the red and green light emitting areas of Motoyama comprise different light emitting materials).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Motoyama as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Lee.
Motoyama discloses the limitations of claim 11 as detailed above, and further discloses that the area of respective light emitting regions is different among the first light emitting element and the second light emitting element, and the third light emitting element (FIG. 11, the third light emitting element corresponding to device 50B has a larger width and corresponding area than those of devices 50R and 50G ¶ [0106]). Motoyama does not disclose that the area of respective light emitting regions is different among the first light emitting element and the second light emitting element (FIG. 11, the red and green light emitting devices 50R and 50G have ostensibly the same area).
However, Lee discloses a display device (FIGS. 1-2, organic light emitting display device 100 ¶ [0038]) wherein the area of respective light emitting regions is different among the first light emitting element (FIG. 2, red emission region OR has a first area ¶ [0062]), the second light emitting element (FIG. 2, green emission region OG has a second area different from the first ¶ [0062]), and the third light emitting element (FIG. 2, blue emission region OB has a third area different from both the first and the second ¶ [0062]). Lee also teaches that each emission area is adjusted based on the luminance lifetime per unit area of each light emitting diode (¶ [0062]); since each emission area comprises different light emitting materials to emit light of a given color (¶ [0076-0077]), the different materials have different luminance lifetimes per unit area. Adjusting the emission areas for each of the red, green, and blue sub-pixels such that they differ from one another allows for them to maintain equal luminance lifetimes for each of the light emitting regions (¶ [0074]). This is pertinent to the device of Motoyama because Motoyama discloses light emitting regions which emit light of different colors (the red, green, and blue light emitting devices 10R/10G/10B of Motoyama respectively emit monochromatic red, green, and blue light ¶ [0047]). A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to adjust the emission areas of each of the red, green, and blue light emitting devices in order to maintain equal luminance lifetimes for each of the light emitting regions, and would find it obvious to arrive at an arrangement wherein the area of respective light emitting regions is different among the first light emitting element and the second light emitting element.
Motoyama and Lee both pertain to the field of OLED display devices. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to modify the device of Motoyama in view of Lee such that the area of respective light emitting regions is different among the first light emitting element and the second light emitting element, in order to maintain equal luminance lifetimes for each of the light emitting regions (since the red and green light emitting areas of Motoyama comprise different light emitting materials).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Motoyama as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US patent publications US 20080224968 A1 (Kashiwabara) and US 20190006434 A1 (Hua et al hereinafter Hua).
Motoyama discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above, but does not disclose that the first light emitting region, the second light emitting region, and the third light emitting region emit white light.
However, Kashiwabara discloses that in the context of organic light-emitting devices, it is known in the art that configurations wherein light emitting regions all emit white light are combined with color filters and configurations wherein light emitting regions emit different colors are combined with color filters are both known in the art (¶ [0003-0004]).
Further, Hua discloses a display device (the device of FIG. 2 ¶ [0011]), wherein a color filter layer (FIG. 2, color filter layer 5, broken up into resistor sub-sections 51/52/53 ¶ [0051-0052]) is disposed above first, second, and third light emitting regions (FIG. 2, first, second, and third regions of organic material layer 3 disposed below color filter layer resistor sub-sections 51, 52, and 53 respectively ¶ [0051-0052]), wherein the first light emitting region, the second light emitting region, and the third light emitting region emit white light (organic material layer 3 emits white light ¶ [0051]). Hua also teaches that to form “a red-green-blue tricolor organic light emitting display panel, it is required that three colors are respectively evaporated by various fine masks, and high precision of the fine masks are needed, which easily results in defects in the making process”, but for a device using a uniform white-light emitting layer, such masks are not required and the requirements for forming the white-light emitting layer are lower (¶ [0052]).
Motoyama, Kashiwabara, and Hua pertain to the field of OLED display devices including color filters. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to modify the device of Motoyama in view of Kashiwabara and Hua such that the first light emitting region, the second light emitting region, and the third light emitting region emit white light, in order to simplify the manufacturing process by using a single organic material layer for each pixel, to have lower requirements for forming the light emitting layer, as opposed to separately forming light emitting layers using different materials for each color pixel.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Motoyama as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Kashiwabara and Hua.
Motoyama discloses the limitations of claim 11 as detailed above, but does not disclose that the first light emitting region, the second light emitting region, and the third light emitting region emit white light.
However, Kashiwabara discloses that in the context of organic light-emitting devices, it is known in the art that configurations wherein light emitting regions all emit white light are combined with color filters and configurations wherein light emitting regions emit different colors are combined with color filters are both known in the art (¶ [0003-0004]).
Further, Hua discloses a display device (the device of FIG. 2 ¶ [0011]), wherein a color filter layer (FIG. 2, color filter layer 5, broken up into resistor sub-sections 51/52/53 ¶ [0051-0052]) is disposed above first, second, and third light emitting regions (FIG. 2, first, second, and third regions of organic material layer 3 disposed below color filter layer resistor sub-sections 51, 52, and 53 respectively ¶ [0051-0052]), wherein the first light emitting region, the second light emitting region, and the third light emitting region emit white light (organic material layer 3 emits white light ¶ [0051]). Hua also teaches that to form “a red-green-blue tricolor organic light emitting display panel, it is required that three colors are respectively evaporated by various fine masks, and high precision of the fine masks are needed, which easily results in defects in the making process”, but for a device using a uniform white-light emitting layer, such masks are not required and the requirements for forming the white-light emitting layer are lower (¶ [0052]).
Motoyama, Kashiwabara, and Hua pertain to the field of OLED display devices including color filters. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to modify the device of Motoyama in view of Kashiwabara and Hua such that the first light emitting region, the second light emitting region, and the third light emitting region emit white light, in order to simplify the manufacturing process by using a single organic material layer for each pixel, to have lower requirements for forming the light emitting layer, as opposed to separately forming light emitting layers using different materials for each color pixel.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Motoyama as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US patent publication US 20180138245 A1 (Akagawa et al hereinafter Akagawa).
Motoyama discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above, but does not explicitly state that each first light emitting element is arranged in a first direction, each second light emitting element is arranged in the first direction, and each third light emitting element is arranged in the first direction. However, Motoyama does teach that a plurality of pixels is arranged in an array in the device (FIG. 1, pixels 2 in an array ¶ [0047]; in the context of the embodiment of FIG. 11, the pixels used would be pixels 6 of FIG. 11).
Further, Akagawa discloses a display device (FIGS. 1-3, electro optical device 1 ¶ [0039-0040]) comprising an array of pixels (FIGS. 1-3, red pixels PxR constituting first light emitting elements, green pixels PxG constituting second light emitting elements, and blue pixels PxB constituting third light emitting elements ¶ [0045]) wherein each first light emitting element is arranged in a first direction (FIGS. 1-3, red pixels PxR are arranged along the “Y” direction), each second light emitting element is arranged in the first direction (FIGS. 1-3, green pixels PxG are arranged along the “Y” direction), and each third light emitting element is arranged in the first direction (FIGS. 1-3, blue pixels PxB are arranged along the “Y” direction). Applying such an arrangement to the device of Motoyama would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art since both Akagawa and Motoyama employ arrays of red, green, and blue pixels, and because standardizing the pixel arrangement would simplify the manufacturing process.
Motoyama and Akagawa both pertain to the field of display devices comprising color filters. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to modify the device of Motoyama in view of Akagawa such that each first light emitting element is arranged in a first direction, each second light emitting element is arranged in the first direction, and each third light emitting element is arranged in the first direction, as such an arrangement is an obvious design choice known in the art and to standardize the pixel arrangement to simplify the manufacturing process.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Motoyama as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Akagawa.
Motoyama discloses the limitations of claim 11 as detailed above, but does not explicitly state that each first light emitting element is arranged in a first direction, each second light emitting element is arranged in the first direction, and each third light emitting element is arranged in the first direction. However, Motoyama does teach that a plurality of pixels is arranged in an array in the device (FIG. 1, pixels 2 in an array ¶ [0047]; in the context of the embodiment of FIG. 11, the pixels used would be pixels 6 of FIG. 11).
Further, Akagawa discloses a display device (FIGS. 1-3, electro optical device 1 ¶ [0039-0040]) comprising an array of pixels (FIGS. 1-3, red pixels PxR constituting first light emitting elements, green pixels PxG constituting second light emitting elements, and blue pixels PxB constituting third light emitting elements ¶ [0045]) wherein each first light emitting element is arranged in a first direction (FIGS. 1-3, red pixels PxR are arranged along the “Y” direction), each second light emitting element is arranged in the first direction (FIGS. 1-3, green pixels PxG are arranged along the “Y” direction), and each third light emitting element is arranged in the first direction (FIGS. 1-3, blue pixels PxB are arranged along the “Y” direction). Applying such an arrangement to the device of Motoyama would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art since both Akagawa and Motoyama employ arrays of red, green, and blue pixels, and because standardizing the pixel arrangement would simplify the manufacturing process.
Motoyama and Akagawa both pertain to the field of display devices comprising color filters. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to modify the device of Motoyama in view of Akagawa such that each first light emitting element is arranged in a first direction, each second light emitting element is arranged in the first direction, and each third light emitting element is arranged in the first direction, as such an arrangement is an obvious design choice known in the art and to standardize the pixel arrangement to simplify the manufacturing process.
Cited Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US patent publications US 20250044643 A1 and US 20250017082 A1, and US patent US 12144199 B2.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/E.R.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2813
/JOSEPH C. NICELY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2813