DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/15/2022 has been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 9-10, 12, 16-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Wei et al, (CN 110299469 A, machine translation 10-2019) (Wei, hereafter).
Regarding claim 1, Wei discloses (Figures 1-15 and corresponding text) an organic light emitting diode (OLED) display panel (π46), comprising a substrate (10), light-emitting units (Figure 2:011, light emitting areas), a pixel definition layer (60), and an encapsulation layer (32), wherein the OLED display panel further comprises at least one thermal conduction functional layer (50 ,70, 80,90,110), and a preparation material of the thermal conduction functional layer is a transparent graphite material (π19) (π42-π50).
Regarding claim 2, Wei discloses wherein the preparation material of the thermal conduction functional layer is graphene (π19).
Regarding claim 3, Wei (Figure 6-7) discloses wherein the graphene has a multilayer structure(501-503).
Regarding claim 4, Wei discloses (Figure 10) wherein the OLED display panel further comprises a color filter (33) disposed on the encapsulation layer (32), and the color filter(33) comprises black matrices(34), wherein color resist blocks arranged at intervals,(π110) and a preparation material of the black matrices is graphite (π109).
Regarding claim 9, Wei (Figure 12) teaches wherein the thermal conduction functional layer (90)is disposed between the black matrices (34) and the encapsulation layer (32).
Regarding claim 10, Wei teaches wherein an orthographic projection of the thermal conduction functional layer(90) on the substrate (10) coincides or overlaps an orthographic projection of the black matrices(34) on the substrate (10).
Regarding claim 12, Wei discloses wherein the color filter (34) further comprises a cover plate(Figure 1:2) disposed above the black matrices (34), and the thermal conduction functional layer(Figure 14:110) is disposed between the cover plate(figure 1:2) and the black matrices (34) and the color resist blocks (33).(π47-π49,π104)
Regarding claim 16, Wei discloses(Figure 4) wherein the thermal conduction functional layer (50) is an insulating material (transparent), and the thermal conduction functional layer(50) is disposed between any adjacent film layers (Emission layer (30) and second electrode (40).
Regarding claim 17, Wei discloses(Figure 8) wherein the thermal conduction functional layer (70) is a conductive material, and the thermal conduction functional layer (70)is disposed between any adjacent insulating layers (Glass substrate (100)(π58) and gate insulating (no number).
Regarding claim 20 , Wei discloses wherein the thermal conduction functional layer(50,70, 80,90,110) is one or more of a buffer layer, an interlayer insulating layer, a planarization layer, and the encapsulation layer (π1-π112).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-8, 11,13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al, (CN 110299469 A, machine translation 10-2019) (Wei, hereafter).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Wei discloses(Figure 8) wherein the OLED display panel further comprises an interlayer insulating layer (no number) and a planarization layer (102); where the thermal conduction functional layer is disposed on the entire surface of the substrate(10). Wei fails to explicitly disclose wherein the thermal conduction functional layer(70) is disposed between the interlayer insulating layer (no number) and the planarization layer (102) throughout the entirety of the substrate (claim 5 and 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the Display Panel of Wei wherein the thermal conduction functional layer(70) is disposed between the interlayer insulating layer (no number) and the planarization layer (102) throughout the entirety of the substrate(10), since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Wei fails to explicitly disclose wherein a recessed area is disposed on an upper surface of the interlayer insulating layer, and the thermal conduction functional layer is disposed in the recessed area (claim 7); a cross-sectional shape of the recessed area is any one of a rectangle, a trapezoid, a triangle, a rhombus, or a parallelogram (claim 8). However Wei discloses in several embodiments recesses or openings in insulation structures and depositing other layers .The recesses having a particular cross-sectional shape.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the display panel of Wei as disclosed by Wei, wherein a recessed area is disposed on an upper surface of the interlayer insulating layer, and the thermal conduction functional layer is disposed in the recessed area ; a cross-sectional shape of the recessed area is any one of a rectangle, a trapezoid, a triangle, a rhombus, or a parallelogram the motivation being to provide a device that can solve the problem of high temperature in electroluminescent display panels.
Regarding claim 11 and 13, the limitations wherein the thermal conduction functional layer is disposed between the color resist blocks and the encapsulation layer (claim 11);. wherein the thermal conduction functional layer is disposed on both upper surfaces and lower surfaces of the black matrices and color resist block (claim 13),. etc do not appear to contain any additional features which define more than slight constructional changes which come within the scope of the customary (design) practice followed by persons skilled in the art, especially as the advantages thus achieved can be readily contemplated in advance. Alternatively, these limitations are not deemed patentable since the applicant’s disclosure fails to show such limitations to solve any problems or to yield any unobvious advantage that is not within the scope of the teachings applied. Therefore, such limitations would be a matter of design alternative.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify the display panel of Wei wherein the thermal conduction functional layer is disposed between the color resist blocks and the encapsulation layer;. wherein the thermal conduction functional layer is disposed on both upper surfaces and lower surfaces of the black matrices and color resist block the motivation being preventing the problem of uneven display brightness caused by excessively high temperature of the light-emitting functional layer, and since design alternative requires only routine skill.
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al, (CN 110299469 A, machine translation 10-2019) (Wei, hereafter) in view of Li et al. (US 20220328578 A1).
Regarding claims 14 and 15, Wei discloses the display panel set forth above (see rejection claim 4). Wei further discloses a cover plate (Figure 1:2).disposed above the black matrixes (34).Wei fails to explicitly disclose wherein an optical adhesive is disposed on a surface of the black matrices facing the cover plate(claim 14); wherein the black matrices are defined with grooves, and the optical adhesive is partially filled in the grooves (claim 15).
Li discloses an accommodating structure layer is further disposed on the light emergent side of the display substrate , and has a plurality of accommodating grooves, the plurality of accommodating grooves are in one-to-one correspondence with the plurality of light emitting devices , and the light emitting portions are disposed in the accommodating grooves. a filling layer 35, such as an optical adhesive layer, 31, the black matrix BM may be first formed on the encapsulation layer of the display substrate, and then the accommodating structure layer having the accommodating grooves is formed; afterwards, the light emitting portions are formed in the accommodating grooves; subsequently, the filling layer 35, the color filter layer, and the protective layer are sequentially formed.(π106-π108).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify the display panel of Wei as disclosed by Li disclose wherein an optical adhesive is disposed on a surface of the black matrices facing the cover plate; wherein the black matrices are defined with grooves, and the optical adhesive is partially filled in the grooves the motivation being to provide a device that can realize higher color gamut, higher resolution and larger viewing angles.
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al, (CN 110299469 A, machine translation 10-2019) (Wei, hereafter) in view of Panchawagh et al, (US 20180373913 A1) (Panchawagh , hereafter).
Regarding claims 18-19, Wei fails to disclose wherein the OLED display panel further comprises an isolation layer, the isolation layer is an insulating material, and the isolation layer is disposed on at least one surface of the thermal conduction functional layer (claim 18) or disposed around the thermal conduction functional layer (Claim 19).
Panchawagh discloses the mechanical stress isolation layer may serve a thermal function by providing for improved heat dissipation and better temperature uniformity at the back of the display. the mechanical stress isolation layer may include a plastic material (is an insulator) and serve atop an electrical shielding layer that may serve an electrical function by providing an electrical or electromagnetic barrier or an EMI shield from other electrical components and reduce electromagnetic interference. The electrical shielding layer may serve a thermal function by providing heat dissipation and improving temperature uniformity at the back of the display(π43-π48).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would modify the display panel of Wei as disclosed by Panchawagh above wherein the OLED display panel further comprises an isolation layer, the isolation layer is an insulating material, and the isolation layer is disposed on at least one surface of the thermal conduction functional layer or disposed around the thermal conduction functional layer the motivation being too able to provide a system in which to provide a device protected from EMI and heat degradation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in the 892 and below:
US 20200083474 A1-Thermal conductive layers
US 20180342698 A1-Packaed OLED with Thermal Conductive layers
US 20150207095 A1-General state of the art- in-hole thermal conducting material in the
pinhole
TRACIE Y. GREEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2875
/TRACIE Y GREEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875