Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-7, 10, 11, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cleary et al. (US 2013/0295357) in view of Kumar (US 11718071) and Wilson et al. (US 2017/0028686).
Cleary et al. a glass laminate comprises an external glass sheet, an internal glass sheet, and a polymer interlayer formed between the external glass sheet and the internal glass sheet. The external glass sheet can be a thin chemically-strengthened glass sheet or can be a non-chemically strengthened glass sheet, the polymer interlayer can have a thickness of less than 1.6 mm, and the internal glass sheet can be a non-chemically-strengthened glass sheet or a thin chemically strengthened glass sheet (abstract). The present disclosure relates generally to glass laminates, and more particularly to hybrid glass laminates comprising a chemically-strengthened outer glass pane and a non-chemically-strengthened inner glass pane. Such hybrid laminates may be characterized by low weight, good sound-damping performance, and high impact resistance (0002). The glass laminates can be used in windows, windshields, or sunroofs (0003). According to one aspect of the disclosure, a glass laminate comprises an external glass sheet, an internal glass sheet, and a polymer interlayer formed between the external and internal glass sheets. Regarding claims 6-7 and 10, in order to optimize the impact behavior of the glass laminate, the external glass sheet comprises chemically-strengthened glass and can have a thickness of less than or equal to 1 mm, while the internal glass sheet comprises non-chemically-strengthened glass and can have a thickness of less than or equal to 2.5 mm. These thicknesses read on Applicant’s first sheet having a thickness in the range of from 2-24 mm and Applicant’s second sheet of chemically tempered glass having a thickness in range of from 0.3 to 1 mm. In embodiments, the polymer interlayer (e.g., poly(vinyl butyral) or PVB) can have a thickness of less than or equal to 1.6 mm. The disclosed hybrid glass laminate architecture can advantageously distribute stresses in response to impact. For example, the disclosed glass laminates can provide superior impact resistance and resist breakage in response to external impact events, yet appropriately dissipate energy and appropriately fracture in response to internal impact events (0005). One non-limiting embodiment of the present disclosure provides a glass laminate structure having a non-chemically strengthened external glass sheet, a chemically strengthened internal glass sheet, and at least one polymer interlayer intermediate the external and internal glass sheets, where the internal glass sheet has a thickness ranging from about 0.5 mm to about 1.5 mm and where the external glass sheet has a thickness ranging from about 1.5 mm to about 3.0 mm (0006). Another non-limiting embodiment of the present disclosure provides a glass laminate structure having a non-chemically strengthened external glass sheet, a chemically strengthened internal glass sheet, and at least one polymer interlayer intermediate the external and internal glass sheets, where the inner glass layer has a surface compressive stress between about 250 MPa and about 900 MPa (0007). Specifically, the internal glass sheet can have a thickness ranging from about 0.5 mm to about 1.5 mm, and the external glass sheet can have a thickness ranging from about 1.5 mm to about 3.0 mm In other embodiments, the internal glass sheet can have a thickness of between about 0.5 mm to about 0.7 mm, the polymer interlayer can have a thickness of between about 0.4 to about 1.2 mm, and/or the external glass sheet can have a thickness of about 2.1 mm (0058). A total thickness of the glass laminate can range from about 2 mm to 5 mm (0063).
Regarding claims 2-5, suitable internal glass sheets are non-chemically-strengthened glass sheets such as soda-lime glass. Optionally, the internal glass sheets may be heat strengthened (0023), which equates to Applicant’s thermally strengthened glass. Exemplary ion-exchangeable glasses that are suitable for forming hybrid glass laminates are alkali aluminosilicate glasses or alkali aluminoborosilicate glasses, though other glass compositions are contemplated (0025).
Regarding Applicant’s limitation of an outer pane and newly added claim 15, Clearly discloses that whenever a group is described as comprising at least one of a group of elements and combinations thereof, it is understood that the group may comprises any number of those elements, either individually or in combination with each other (0015-0016). Furthermore, the individual glass sheets comprising the disclosed glass laminates, as well as the formed laminates, can be characterized by one or more attributes including composition and thickness (0050). Finally, various features that are described in the context of a single embodiment may also be implemented in multiple embodiments (0080). Therefore, based on these teachings, Clearly discloses an outer pane as well as an inner laminated pane.
Clearly discloses the claimed invention except for the teaching of a polymer interlayer having an elastic modulus in a range of from 300MPa to 1000 MPa and that the inner laminate pane is spaced from the outer pane via spacers.
Kumar et al. (US 11718071) disclose a vehicle interior system comprising a glass substrate and a layer of high modulus adhesive located on the glass substrate (col 1, ln 44-60). The glass substrate has the mechanical performance to pass industry-standard safety tests and regulations (col 1, ln 38-40) and is shatter resistant (col 1, ln 61-62). The high modulus adhesive has a modulus of elasticity of at least 500 MPa (col 1, ln 65-67 to col 2, ln 1). Applicant has found that using a high modulus adhesive material (e.g., one with a modulus of elasticity greater than 500 MPa) limits or prevents crack formation and/or propagation with the glass substrate. The high modulus layer also provides for improved glass retention, which improves laceration characteristics (col 3, ln 64-67).
Wilson et al. (US 2017/0028686) disclose durable window glass units comprising the insulated glass unit including a first pane comprising an outboard glass sheet, an inboard sheet, and an interlayer therebetween. The glass unit also includes a second pane spaced away from and sealed to the first pane. A gas space is located between the inboard sheet of the first and second pane. A spacer is positioned between the first pane and second pane (abstract). Laminates for window panes are often made from two sheets of glass bonded to together with an interlayer or a combination of interlayers. A laminate may be one of the panes of a multi-pane window and for the purposes of this invention a laminate is considered as a single pane even though it may comprise two sheets of glass bonded together with an interlayer or a series of layers including interlayers. One or more than one pane of a multi-pane window may be a laminate but each individual laminate is still considered to be a one single pane (0005). A spacer positioned between the first pane and the second pane, wherein the spacer is adhered to the inboard sheet of the first pane and to the second pane with a primary seal; and a second seal that adheres the outboard sheet of the first pane to the second pane (claim 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have used Kumar’s disclosure of a polymer coating having an elastic modulus greater than 500 MPa in the polymer interlayer of Clearly et al., motivated by the desire to create a system having improved strength and crack resistance. It also would have been obvious to have used Wilson’s spacers in the glass laminate of Clearly et al., motivated by the desire to create a laminate with increased impact resistance, even around its edges.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to have use Wilson’s clear disclosure of an additional outer pane along with the glass laminate of Clearly et al., motivated by the desire to create a glass laminate with increased durability and impact resistance.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 25, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the previous prior art rejection does not disclose the claimed invention. While this argument is convincing, a new prior art reference (Kumar et al.) has been cited for its teaching of an adhesive layer having an elastic modulus of 500 MPa.
Conclusion
/ULA C RUDDOCK/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1729
/ULA C RUDDOCK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1729