DETAILED ACTION
The pending claims are claims 1, 2, 4, 8.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokomizo Masakazu et al., JP 2007180025.
Regarding claim 1, Masakazu et al., teaches a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery (abstract; 0001) comprising:
a positive electrode (0014), a negative electrode (0014), a separator (0137; 0172) interposed between the positive electrode and the negative electrode (0172), and a non-aqueous electrolyte (0001; 0014),
wherein the negative electrode includes a graphite (0014; 0031),
the graphite has a BET specific surface area of 0.1-2 m2/g or more (0069), the non-aqueous electrolyte includes a silyl compound (0032; 0036; 0041); (0032; 0043-trimethylsilyl); the silyl compound is contained in the non-aqueous electrolyte in an amount of 0.1 ppm or more of electrolytic solution (0143; 0202) and having a formula as seen in (0014); wherein the graphite form a composite particle including a surface layer composed of an amorphous carbon (0113; 0155) and containing the graphite in an interior of the composite particle (0184; 0190-0197).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 2, Masakazu et al., teaches the silyl compound is at least one of tris(siloxanes) (0035), trimethylsilyl (0032), trimethylsilyl phosphite (0043), trimethylsilyl sulfate (0043).
Regarding claim 4, Masakazu et al., teaches wherein the graphite has a BET specific surface area of 0.1- 2 m2/g or less (0069);
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 8, Masakazu et al., teaches a mass ratio of the graphite in the composite particle is higher than a mass ratio of the amorphous carbon (Table 1-2) (0195-0198).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/24/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues that Yokomizo “at least partially relies on inaccurate machine translation of the original Japanese text of the reference.” Although Applicant submitted paragraphs [0113-0115] of the human translation of Yokomizo, it appears that Yokomizo still reads on the claims of record.
Applicant argues that “coating of the carbonaceous particles to form “composite particles” does not appear to be supported by the cited paragraphs, particularly in view of the human translation.”
However, Yokomizo teaches a carbonaceous material (0013) having a coating on the surface (0033) which would form a composite particle (0040).
The Applicant argues that “the word “amorphous” highlighted in the above machine translation appear to be a mistranslation.”
However, the machine translation recites “amorphous” in paragraph [0113], referring to “particles become more amorphous as a result of grinding” and “finer amorphous particles adhere to the particle surface with a certain degree of strength” (0113).
While the human translation recites “irregularly shaped” in paragraph [0113], referring to “irregularly shaped by pulverization” (0113) and “finer irregularly shaped particles are attached to the surface of the particles.” (0113).
Comparing the machine translation versus the human translation, “amorphous” appears to be synonymous to “irregularly shaped.” Therefore, the machine translation reads on the human translation.
The Applicant argues that, “There appears to be no evidence of record supporting that the reference particle is “a composite particle including a surface layer composed of an amorphous carbon” with graphite in an interior of said composite as defined in instant claim 1.”
However, Yokomizo teaches graphite carbon particles in the composite (0056; 0098), including an amorphous carbon graphite (0099) having a surface coating (0141; 0150).
Conclusion
ANGELA J. MARTIN
Examiner
Art Unit 1727
/ANGELA J MARTIN/Examiner, Art Unit 1727
/BARBARA L GILLIAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1727