DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-31 were originally filed May 25, 2021.
The preliminary amendment received May 25, 2021 amended claims 6-13, 17, 19, 21, and 24-31. Please note: claims 7-31 do not have status identifiers. Status identifiers for each claim should be provided for each claim after amendment.
The amendment to the claims received February 3, 2025 canceled claims 1-18, amended claims 19 and 21-28, and added new claims 32-40.
The amendment to the claims received August 18, 2015 amended claim 37 and added new claim 41.
The amendment to the claims received February 16, 2026 amended claims 19 and 41.
The amendment received June 12, 2026 amended claims 19, 29, and 41 and canceled claim 32.
Claims 19-31 and 33-41 are currently pending.
Claims 19, 21-28, and 41 are currently under consideration.
Election/Restrictions
Applicants elected Group II (claims 19-31) without traverse in the reply filed on May 24, 2024. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). Claims 1-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected product, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Applicants elected, without traverse, SEQ ID NO: 1, method step a, NaCl at 1-200 mM, and a pH of 6-7.5 as the species in the reply filed on May 24, 2024 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Please note: applicants have conveniently elected a range (i.e. subgenus of NaCl concentration and pH) which is in direct contrast to what was discussed in the telephone conversation on March 6, 2024 (i.e. the examiner of record reiterated that a single, specific species must be elected). However, in order to advance prosecution, the species election has been accepted. It is respectfully noted that this does not preclude an additional species election requirement for any new and/or amended claims.
Claims 20, 29-31, and 36-40 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on May 24, 2024.
Please note: applicants’ representative is traversing the species requirement in the August 18, 2025 response. Applicants previously elected a species for the composition comprising one or more peptides (i.e. SEQ ID NO: 1) without traverse in the response received May 24, 2024. Applicants may NOT now traverse an election that was made without traverse by original presentation. However, to clarify, applicants were provided the opportunity to elect a species of SEQ ID NOs: 1, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 33, 34, 35, and/or 36 (see claims 19 and 29; see the Restriction/Election Requirement mailed on February 2, 2024). Applicants’ representative chose to elect the species of SEQ ID NO: 1 by original presentation. This species does not read on SEQ ID NOs: 2-23 and 33-36.
Applicant’s election without traverse of protein and CHO cell proteins in the reply filed on August 18, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 33-35 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on August 18, 2025.
Priority
The present application is a 371 (National Stage) of PCT/US2019/063452 filed November 26, 2019 which claims the benefit of 62/784,104 filed December 21, 2018 and 62/771,272 filed November 26, 2018.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Sequence Interpretation
The Office interprets claims comprising SEQ ID NOs: in the following manner: “comprising a sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1” requires only a 2mer of SEQ ID NO: 1, “comprising the sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1” requires the full-length sequence with 100% identity to SEQ ID NO: 1 with any N-/C-terminal additions or any 5’/3’ additions, “consisting of SEQ ID NO: 1” requires the full-length sequence with 100% identity to SEQ ID NO: 1 and the same length as SEQ ID NO: 1, and “selected from the group consisting of SEQ ID NOs: 1, 2, and 3” requires the full-length sequence with 100% identity to SEQ ID NOs: 1, 2, or 3 and the same length as SEQ ID NOs: 1, 2, or 3. Any claim requiring a specific percent identity, necessarily requires at least the recited percent identity.
Withdrawn Rejections
The rejection of claims 19, 21-28, 32, and 41 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention is withdrawn in view of the amendment received June 12, 2026.
The rejection of claim 41 under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends is withdrawn in view of the amendment received June 12, 2026.
The rejection of claim 41 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention is withdrawn in view of the amendment received June 12, 2026.
The rejection of claims 19, 21-28, 32, and 41 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention is withdrawn in view of the amendment received June 12, 2026.
The rejection of claims 19, 21-28, 32, and 41 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumpalume et al. WO 2015/049651 published April 9, 2015; Vedantham et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2003/0166869 published September 4, 2003; and Ye et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2014/0288277 published September 25, 2014 is withdrawn in view of the amendment received June 12, 2026.
New Rejections Necessitated by Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19, 21-28, and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li, 2017, Effective strategies for host cell protein clearance in downstream processing of monoclonal antibodies and Fc-fusion proteins, Protein Expression and Purification, 134: 96-103 and Ye et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2014/0288277 published September 25, 2014.
For present claims 19, 21-28, and 41, Li teaches methods of contacting a mixture comprising host cell proteins (HCPs) including CHO HCPs and therapeutic proteins (i.e. target biomolecules) with protein A (i.e. one or more peptides; specific for HCPs) and NaCl buffer at 0.1-2 M and at pH of 5-5.5, 8, 9, between 5 and 8.5 (please refer to the entire reference particularly the abstract; sections 2.1, 2.2, 2.3.1, 2.3.2, 2.5, 3; Tables 1 and 2; Figure 1).
For present claims 19, 21-28, and 41, Ye et al. teach methods of contacting antibodies and antigens wherein the Heavy Chain CDR3 is GSRYRYGSRGM (i.e. underlined and bold is present SEQ ID NO: 1) (please refer to the entire specification particularly Figures 5A, 5C). Ye et al. teach that mAb can be made in CHO cells (please refer to the entire specification particularly paragraph 88).
Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.). See Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 ("The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.") and In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969) (Claimed elastomeric polyurethanes which fell within the broad scope of the references were held to be unpatentable thereover because, among other reasons, there was no evidence of the criticality of the claimed ranges of molecular weight or molar proportions.). For more recent cases applying this principle, see Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Lab. Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997); Smith v. Nichols, 88 U.S. 112, 118-19 (1874) (a change in form, proportions, or degree "will not sustain a patent"); In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929) ("It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions.").
The claims would have been obvious because a particular known technique (i.e. altering pH and salt concentration to optimize binding) was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art. The claims would have been obvious because the substitution of one known element (i.e. genus of peptide ligand) for another (i.e. species of peptide comprising GSRYRY) would have yielded predictable results (i.e. ability to bind another peptide particularly since GSRYRY is part of the CDR3 of an antibody) to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (U.S. 2007).
Claims 19, 21-28, and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li, 2017, Effective strategies for host cell protein clearance in downstream processing of monoclonal antibodies and Fc-fusion proteins, Protein Expression and Purification, 134: 96-103; Ye et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2014/0288277 published September 25, 2014; Kumpalume et al. WO 2015/049651 published April 9, 2015; and Vedantham et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2003/0166869 published September 4, 2003.
For present claims 19, 21-28, and 41, Li teaches methods of contacting a mixture comprising host cell proteins (HCPs) including CHO HCPs and therapeutic proteins (i.e. target biomolecules) with protein A (i.e. one or more peptides; specific for HCPs) and NaCl buffer at 0.1-2 M and at pH of 5-5.5, 8, 9, between 5 and 8.5 (please refer to the entire reference particularly the abstract; sections 2.1, 2.2, 2.3.1, 2.3.2, 2.5, 3; Tables 1 and 2; Figure 1).
For present claims 19, 21-28, and 41, Ye et al. teach methods of contacting antibodies and antigens wherein the Heavy Chain CDR3 is GSRYRYGSRGM (i.e. underlined and bold is present SEQ ID NO: 1) (please refer to the entire specification particularly Figures 5A, 5C). Ye et al. teach that mAb can be made in CHO cells (please refer to the entire specification particularly paragraph 88).
For present claims 19, 21-28, and 41, Kumpalume et al. teach methods of purifying polypeptide(s) from a mixture comprising host cell proteins (HCP) and the polypeptide(s) (i.e. removing one or more host cell proteins) via contacting the mixture with a peptide ligand which binds the polypeptide (i.e. affinity chromatography method) utilizing NaCl buffer at 137 mM or 150 mM and at pH of 5-7, 6.5-7.5, or 7.2-8.5 (please refer to the entire specification particularly the abstract; paragraphs 3, 4, 21, 97, 98, 100, 105, 107-109, 112, 133, 115, 116, 162).
For present claims 19, 21-28, and 41, Venantham et al. teach chromatography methods for purifying polypeptide(s) from a mixture comprising host cell proteins (HCP) and the polypeptide(s) via contacting the mixture with a peptide ligand wherein a NaCl buffer is utilized at concentration of about 50-250 mM and a pH of at least about 5.5 or between about 6.0 and 8.6 (please refer to the entire specification particularly the abstract; paragraphs 7-16, 21-23, 26, 34, 41-43, 45, 47, 56, 58, 59, 63). Venantham et al. teach CHO cells as the host cell (please refer to the entire specification particularly paragraphs 9, 12, 16, 47; claims).
Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.). See Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 ("The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.") and In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969) (Claimed elastomeric polyurethanes which fell within the broad scope of the references were held to be unpatentable thereover because, among other reasons, there was no evidence of the criticality of the claimed ranges of molecular weight or molar proportions.). For more recent cases applying this principle, see Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Lab. Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997); Smith v. Nichols, 88 U.S. 112, 118-19 (1874) (a change in form, proportions, or degree "will not sustain a patent"); In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929) ("It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions.").
The claims would have been obvious because a particular known technique (i.e. altering pH and salt concentration to optimize binding) was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art. The claims would have been obvious because the substitution of one known element (i.e. genus of peptide ligand) for another (i.e. species of peptide comprising GSRYRY) would have yielded predictable results (i.e. ability to bind another peptide particularly since GSRYRY is part of the CDR3 of an antibody) to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (U.S. 2007).
Claims 19, 21-28, and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lundstrom et al., 2014, Sensitive methods for evaluation of antibodies for host cell protein analysis and screening of impurities in a vaccine process, Vaccine, 32: 2911-2915 and Ye et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2014/0288277 published September 25, 2014.
For present claims 19, 21-28, and 41, Lundstrom et al. teach methods of contacting host cell proteins (HCPs) and polypeptide vaccines with antibodies (i.e. peptides) specific for HCPs utilizing 0.5 M NaCl and pH of 2.5, 4.5, or 7.4 (please refer to the entire reference particularly the abstract; Materials and Methods; Figures 1 and 2).
For present claims 19, 21-28, and 41, Ye et al. teach methods of contacting antibodies and antigens wherein the Heavy Chain CDR3 is GSRYRYGSRGM (i.e. underlined and bold is present SEQ ID NO: 1) (please refer to the entire specification particularly Figures 5A, 5C). Ye et al. teach that mAb can be made in CHO cells (please refer to the entire specification particularly paragraph 88).
Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.). See Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 ("The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.") and In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969) (Claimed elastomeric polyurethanes which fell within the broad scope of the references were held to be unpatentable thereover because, among other reasons, there was no evidence of the criticality of the claimed ranges of molecular weight or molar proportions.). For more recent cases applying this principle, see Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Lab. Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997); Smith v. Nichols, 88 U.S. 112, 118-19 (1874) (a change in form, proportions, or degree "will not sustain a patent"); In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929) ("It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions.").
The claims would have been obvious because a particular known technique (i.e. altering pH and salt concentration to optimize binding; utilizing CHO cells to make polypeptides) was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art. The claims would have been obvious because the substitution of one known element (i.e. genus of peptide ligand) for another (i.e. species of peptide comprising GSRYRY) would have yielded predictable results (i.e. ability to bind another peptide particularly since GSRYRY is part of the CDR3 of an antibody) to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (U.S. 2007).
Claims 19, 21-28, and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lundstrom et al., 2014, Sensitive methods for evaluation of antibodies for host cell protein analysis and screening of impurities in a vaccine process, Vaccine, 32: 2911-2915; Ye et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2014/0288277 published September 25, 2014; Kumpalume et al. WO 2015/049651 published April 9, 2015; and Vedantham et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2003/0166869 published September 4, 2003.
For present claims 19, 21-28, and 41, Lundstrom et al. teach methods of contacting host cell proteins (HCPs) and polypeptide vaccines with antibodies (i.e. peptides) specific for HCPs utilizing 0.5 M NaCl and pH of 2.5, 4.5, or 7.4 (please refer to the entire reference particularly the abstract; Materials and Methods; Figures 1 and 2).
For present claims 19, 21-28, and 41, Ye et al. teach methods of contacting antibodies and antigens wherein the Heavy Chain CDR3 is GSRYRYGSRGM (i.e. underlined and bold is present SEQ ID NO: 1) (please refer to the entire specification particularly Figures 5A, 5C). Ye et al. teach that mAb can be made in CHO cells (please refer to the entire specification particularly paragraph 88).
For present claims 19, 21-28, and 41, Kumpalume et al. teach methods of purifying polypeptide(s) from a mixture comprising host cell proteins (HCP) and the polypeptide(s) (i.e. removing one or more host cell proteins) via contacting the mixture with a peptide ligand which binds the polypeptide (i.e. affinity chromatography method) utilizing NaCl buffer at 137 mM or 150 mM and at pH of 5-7, 6.5-7.5, or 7.2-8.5 (please refer to the entire specification particularly the abstract; paragraphs 3, 4, 21, 97, 98, 100, 105, 107-109, 112, 133, 115, 116, 162).
For present claims 19, 21-28, and 41, Venantham et al. teach chromatography methods for purifying polypeptide(s) from a mixture comprising host cell proteins (HCP) and the polypeptide(s) via contacting the mixture with a peptide ligand wherein a NaCl buffer is utilized at concentration of about 50-250 mM and a pH of at least about 5.5 or between about 6.0 and 8.6 (please refer to the entire specification particularly the abstract; paragraphs 7-16, 21-23, 26, 34, 41-43, 45, 47, 56, 58, 59, 63). Venantham et al. teach CHO cells as the host cell (please refer to the entire specification particularly paragraphs 9, 12, 16, 47; claims).
Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.). See Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 ("The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.") and In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969) (Claimed elastomeric polyurethanes which fell within the broad scope of the references were held to be unpatentable thereover because, among other reasons, there was no evidence of the criticality of the claimed ranges of molecular weight or molar proportions.). For more recent cases applying this principle, see Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Lab. Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997); Smith v. Nichols, 88 U.S. 112, 118-19 (1874) (a change in form, proportions, or degree "will not sustain a patent"); In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929) ("It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions.").
The claims would have been obvious because a particular known technique (i.e. altering pH and salt concentration to optimize binding; utilizing CHO cells to make polypeptides) was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art. The claims would have been obvious because the substitution of one known element (i.e. genus of peptide ligand) for another (i.e. species of peptide comprising GSRYRY) would have yielded predictable results (i.e. ability to bind another peptide particularly since GSRYRY is part of the CDR3 of an antibody) to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (U.S. 2007).
Modified* Rejections
*wherein the modification is due to Amendment
Double Patenting
Claims 19, 21-28, and 41 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12, 15, 16, 26, 27, 29, and 34-36 of copending Application No. 18/701,164 in view of Li, 2017, Effective strategies for host cell protein clearance in downstream processing of monoclonal antibodies and Fc-fusion proteins, Protein Expression and Purification, 134: 96-103 and Vedantham et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2003/0166869 published September 4, 2003.
Copending Application No. 18/701,164 (reference application) claims a method of purifying a target biologic from a mixture comprising host cell proteins via contacting the mixture with present SEQ ID NOs: 1-18 (i.e. SEQ ID NOs: 6-23).
Li teaches methods of contacting a mixture comprising host cell proteins (HCPs) including CHO HCPs and therapeutic proteins (i.e. target biomolecules) with protein A (i.e. one or more peptides; specific for HCPs) and NaCl buffer at 0.1-2 M and at pH of 5-5.5, 8, 9, between 5 and 8.5 (please refer to the entire reference particularly the abstract; sections 2.1, 2.2, 2.3.1, 2.3.2, 2.5, 3; Tables 1 and 2; Figure 1).
Venantham et al. teach chromatography methods for purifying polypeptide(s) from a mixture comprising host cell proteins (HCP) and the polypeptide(s) via contacting the mixture with a peptide ligand wherein a NaCl buffer is utilized at concentration of about 50-250 mM and a pH of at least about 5.5 or between about 6.0 and 8.6 (please refer to the entire specification particularly the abstract; paragraphs 7-16, 21-23, 26, 34, 41-43, 45, 47, 56, 58, 59, 63). Venantham et al. teach CHO cells as the host cell (please refer to the entire specification particularly paragraphs 9, 12, 16, 47; claims).
The claims would have been obvious because a particular known technique (i.e. altering pH and salt concentration to optimize binding; utilizing CHO cells as host cells) was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (U.S. 2007).
Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.). See Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 ("The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.") and In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969) (Claimed elastomeric polyurethanes which fell within the broad scope of the references were held to be unpatentable thereover because, among other reasons, there was no evidence of the criticality of the claimed ranges of molecular weight or molar proportions.). For more recent cases applying this principle, see Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Lab. Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997); Smith v. Nichols, 88 U.S. 112, 118-19 (1874) (a change in form, proportions, or degree "will not sustain a patent"); In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929) ("It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions.").
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 19, 21-28, 32, and 41 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-41 of copending Application No. 19/483,663 in view of Li, 2017, Effective strategies for host cell protein clearance in downstream processing of monoclonal antibodies and Fc-fusion proteins, Protein Expression and Purification, 134: 96-103; Kumpalume et al. WO 2015/049651 published April 9, 2015; Vedantham et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2003/0166869 published September 4, 2003; and Ye et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2014/0288277 published September 25, 2014.
Copending Application No. 19/483,663 claims a method of purifying AAV from a biological fluid comprising contacting a peptide ligand with a biological fluid and AAV.
Li teaches methods of contacting a mixture comprising host cell proteins (HCPs) including CHO HCPs and therapeutic proteins (i.e. target biomolecules) with protein A (i.e. one or more peptides; specific for HCPs) and NaCl buffer at 0.1-2 M and at pH of 5-5.5, 8, 9, between 5 and 8.5 (please refer to the entire reference particularly the abstract; sections 2.1, 2.2, 2.3.1, 2.3.2, 2.5, 3; Tables 1 and 2; Figure 1).
Kumpalume et al. teach methods of purifying polypeptide(s) from a mixture comprising host cell proteins (HCP) and the polypeptide(s) (i.e. removing one or more host cell proteins) via contacting the mixture with a peptide ligand which binds the polypeptide (i.e. affinity chromatography method) utilizing NaCl buffer at 137 mM or 150 mM and at pH of 5-7, 6.5-7.5, or 7.2-8.5 (please refer to the entire specification particularly the abstract; paragraphs 3, 4, 21, 97, 98, 100, 105, 107-109, 112, 133, 115, 116, 162).
Venantham et al. teach chromatography methods for purifying polypeptide(s) from a mixture comprising host cell proteins (HCP) and the polypeptide(s) via contacting the mixture with a peptide ligand wherein a NaCl buffer is utilized at concentration of about 50-250 mM and a pH of at least about 5.5 or between about 6.0 and 8.6 (please refer to the entire specification particularly the abstract; paragraphs 7-16, 21-23, 26, 34, 41-43, 45, 47, 56, 58, 59, 63). Venantham et al. teach CHO cells as the host cell (please refer to the entire specification particularly paragraphs 9, 12, 16, 47; claims).
Ye et al. teach methods of contacting antibodies and antigens wherein the Heavy Chain CDR3 is GSRYRYGSRGM (i.e. underlined and bold is present SEQ ID NO: 1) (please refer to the entire specification particularly Figures 5A, 5C). Ye et al. teach that mAb can be made in CHO cells (please refer to the entire specification particularly paragraph 88).
Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.). See Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 ("The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.") and In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969) (Claimed elastomeric polyurethanes which fell within the broad scope of the references were held to be unpatentable thereover because, among other reasons, there was no evidence of the criticality of the claimed ranges of molecular weight or molar proportions.). For more recent cases applying this principle, see Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Lab. Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997); Smith v. Nichols, 88 U.S. 112, 118-19 (1874) (a change in form, proportions, or degree "will not sustain a patent"); In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929) ("It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions.").
The claims would have been obvious because a particular known technique (i.e. altering pH and salt concentration to optimize binding; utilizing CHO cells) was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art. The claims would have been obvious because the substitution of one known element (i.e. genus of peptide ligand) for another (i.e. species of peptide comprising GSRYRY) would have yielded predictable results (i.e. ability to bind another peptide particularly since GSRYRY is part of the CDR3 of an antibody) to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (U.S. 2007).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 19, 21-28, 32, and 41 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 4, 7, 8, 10, 12, 15-17, 19, 24, 26-30, 35, 44, and 45 of copending Application No. 19/348,346 in view of Li, 2017, Effective strategies for host cell protein clearance in downstream processing of monoclonal antibodies and Fc-fusion proteins, Protein Expression and Purification, 134: 96-103; Kumpalume et al. WO 2015/049651 published April 9, 2015; Vedantham et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2003/0166869 published September 4, 2003; and Ye et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2014/0288277 published September 25, 2014.
Copending Application No. 19/348,346 claims a method of purifying lentivirus from a sample comprising contacting a peptide with a sample and lentivirus.
Li teaches methods of contacting a mixture comprising host cell proteins (HCPs) including CHO HCPs and therapeutic proteins (i.e. target biomolecules) with protein A (i.e. one or more peptides; specific for HCPs) and NaCl buffer at 0.1-2 M and at pH of 5-5.5, 8, 9, between 5 and 8.5 (please refer to the entire reference particularly the abstract; sections 2.1, 2.2, 2.3.1, 2.3.2, 2.5, 3; Tables 1 and 2; Figure 1).
Kumpalume et al. teach methods of purifying polypeptide(s) from a mixture comprising host cell proteins (HCP) and the polypeptide(s) (i.e. removing one or more host cell proteins) via contacting the mixture with a peptide ligand which binds the polypeptide (i.e. affinity chromatography method) utilizing NaCl buffer at 137 mM or 150 mM and at pH of 5-7, 6.5-7.5, or 7.2-8.5 (please refer to the entire specification particularly the abstract; paragraphs 3, 4, 21, 97, 98, 100, 105, 107-109, 112, 133, 115, 116, 162).
Venantham et al. teach chromatography methods for purifying polypeptide(s) from a mixture comprising host cell proteins (HCP) and the polypeptide(s) via contacting the mixture with a peptide ligand wherein a NaCl buffer is utilized at concentration of about 50-250 mM and a pH of at least about 5.5 or between about 6.0 and 8.6 (please refer to the entire specification particularly the abstract; paragraphs 7-16, 21-23, 26, 34, 41-43, 45, 47, 56, 58, 59, 63). Venantham et al. teach CHO cells as the host cell (please refer to the entire specification particularly paragraphs 9, 12, 16, 47; claims).
Ye et al. teach methods of contacting antibodies and antigens wherein the Heavy Chain CDR3 is GSRYRYGSRGM (i.e. underlined and bold is present SEQ ID NO: 1) (please refer to the entire specification particularly Figures 5A, 5C). Ye et al. teach that mAb can be made in CHO cells (please refer to the entire specification particularly paragraph 88).
Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.). See Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 ("The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.") and In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969) (Claimed elastomeric polyurethanes which fell within the broad scope of the references were held to be unpatentable thereover because, among other reasons, there was no evidence of the criticality of the claimed ranges of molecular weight or molar proportions.). For more recent cases applying this principle, see Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Lab. Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997); Smith v. Nichols, 88 U.S. 112, 118-19 (1874) (a change in form, proportions, or degree "will not sustain a patent"); In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929) ("It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions.").
The claims would have been obvious because a particular known technique (i.e. altering pH and salt concentration to optimize binding; utilizing CHO cells) was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art. The claims would have been obvious because the substitution of one known element (i.e. genus of peptide ligand) for another (i.e. species of peptide comprising GSRYRY) would have yielded predictable results (i.e. ability to bind another peptide particularly since GSRYRY is part of the CDR3 of an antibody) to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (U.S. 2007).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 19, 21-28, 32, and 41 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-37 of copending Application No. 19/154,929 in view of Li, 2017, Effective strategies for host cell protein clearance in downstream processing of monoclonal antibodies and Fc-fusion proteins, Protein Expression and Purification, 134: 96-103; Kumpalume et al. WO 2015/049651 published April 9, 2015; Vedantham et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2003/0166869 published September 4, 2003; and Ye et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2014/0288277 published September 25, 2014.
Copending Application No. 19/154,929 claims a method of purifying AAV from a biological fluid comprising contacting a peptide ligand with a biological fluid and AAV.
Li teaches methods of contacting a mixture comprising host cell proteins (HCPs) including CHO HCPs and therapeutic proteins (i.e. target biomolecules) with protein A (i.e. one or more peptides; specific for HCPs) and NaCl buffer at 0.1-2 M and at pH of 5-5.5, 8, 9, between 5 and 8.5 (please refer to the entire reference particularly the abstract; sections 2.1, 2.2, 2.3.1, 2.3.2, 2.5, 3; Tables 1 and 2; Figure 1).
Kumpalume et al. teach methods of purifying polypeptide(s) from a mixture comprising host cell proteins (HCP) and the polypeptide(s) (i.e. removing one or more host cell proteins) via contacting the mixture with a peptide ligand which binds the polypeptide (i.e. affinity chromatography method) utilizing NaCl buffer at 137 mM or 150 mM and at pH of 5-7, 6.5-7.5, or 7.2-8.5 (please refer to the entire specification particularly the abstract; paragraphs 3, 4, 21, 97, 98, 100, 105, 107-109, 112, 133, 115, 116, 162).
Venantham et al. teach chromatography methods for purifying polypeptide(s) from a mixture comprising host cell proteins (HCP) and the polypeptide(s) via contacting the mixture with a peptide ligand wherein a NaCl buffer is utilized at concentration of about 50-250 mM and a pH of at least about 5.5 or between about 6.0 and 8.6 (please refer to the entire specification particularly the abstract; paragraphs 7-16, 21-23, 26, 34, 41-43, 45, 47, 56, 58, 59, 63). Venantham et al. teach CHO cells as the host cell (please refer to the entire specification particularly paragraphs 9, 12, 16, 47; claims).
Ye et al. teach methods of contacting antibodies and antigens wherein the Heavy Chain CDR3 is GSRYRYGSRGM (i.e. underlined and bold is present SEQ ID NO: 1) (please refer to the entire specification particularly Figures 5A, 5C). Ye et al. teach that mAb can be made in CHO cells (please refer to the entire specification particularly paragraph 88).
Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.). See Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 ("The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.") and In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969) (Claimed elastomeric polyurethanes which fell within the broad scope of the references were held to be unpatentable thereover because, among other reasons, there was no evidence of the criticality of the claimed ranges of molecular weight or molar proportions.). For more recent cases applying this principle, see Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Lab. Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997); Smith v. Nichols, 88 U.S. 112, 118-19 (1874) (a change in form, proportions, or degree "will not sustain a patent"); In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929) ("It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions.").
The claims would have been obvious because a particular known technique (i.e. altering pH and salt concentration to optimize binding; utilizing CHO cells) was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art. The claims would have been obvious because the substitution of one known element (i.e. genus of peptide ligand) for another (i.e. species of peptide comprising GSRYRY) would have yielded predictable results (i.e. ability to bind another peptide particularly since GSRYRY is part of the CDR3 of an antibody) to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (U.S. 2007).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 19, 21-28, 32, and 41 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-42 of copending Application No. 19/152,281 in view of Li, 2017, Effective strategies for host cell protein clearance in downstream processing of monoclonal antibodies and Fc-fusion proteins, Protein Expression and Purification, 134: 96-103; Kumpalume et al. WO 2015/049651 published April 9, 2015; Vedantham et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2003/0166869 published September 4, 2003; and Ye et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2014/0288277 published September 25, 2014.
Copending Application No. 19/152,281 claims a method of purifying a biologic from a biological fluid comprising contacting a peptide ligand with a biological fluid and a biologic.
Li teaches methods of contacting a mixture comprising host cell proteins (HCPs) including CHO HCPs and therapeutic proteins (i.e. target biomolecules) with protein A (i.e. one or more peptides; specific for HCPs) and NaCl buffer at 0.1-2 M and at pH of 5-5.5, 8, 9, between 5 and 8.5 (please refer to the entire reference particularly the abstract; sections 2.1, 2.2, 2.3.1, 2.3.2, 2.5, 3; Tables 1 and 2; Figure 1).
Kumpalume et al. teach methods of purifying polypeptide(s) from a mixture comprising host cell proteins (HCP) and the polypeptide(s) (i.e. removing one or more host cell proteins) via contacting the mixture with a peptide ligand which binds the polypeptide (i.e. affinity chromatography method) utilizing NaCl buffer at 137 mM or 150 mM and at pH of 5-7, 6.5-7.5, or 7.2-8.5 (please refer to the entire specification particularly the abstract; paragraphs 3, 4, 21, 97, 98, 100, 105, 107-109, 112, 133, 115, 116, 162).
Venantham et al. teach chromatography methods for purifying polypeptide(s) from a mixture comprising host cell proteins (HCP) and the polypeptide(s) via contacting the mixture with a peptide ligand wherein a NaCl buffer is utilized at concentration of about 50-250 mM and a pH of at least about 5.5 or between about 6.0 and 8.6 (please refer to the entire specification particularly the abstract; paragraphs 7-16, 21-23, 26, 34, 41-43, 45, 47, 56, 58, 59, 63). Venantham et al. teach CHO cells as the host cell (please refer to the entire specification particularly paragraphs 9, 12, 16, 47; claims).
Ye et al. teach methods of contacting antibodies and antigens wherein the Heavy Chain CDR3 is GSRYRYGSRGM (i.e. underlined and bold is present SEQ ID NO: 1) (please refer to the entire specification particularly Figures 5A, 5C). Ye et al. teach that mAb can be made in CHO cells (please refer to the entire specification particularly paragraph 88).
Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.). See Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 ("The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.") and In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969) (Claimed elastomeric polyurethanes which fell within the broad scope of the references were held to be unpatentable thereover because, among other reasons, there was no evidence of the criticality of the claimed ranges of molecular weight or molar proportions.). For more recent cases applying this principle, see Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Lab. Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997); Smith v. Nichols, 88 U.S. 112, 118-19 (1874) (a change in form, proportions, or degree "will not sustain a patent"); In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929) ("It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions.").
The claims would have been obvious because a particular known technique (i.e. altering pH and salt concentration to optimize binding; utilizing CHO cells) was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art. The claims would have been obvious because the substitution of one known element (i.e. genus of peptide ligand) for another (i.e. species of peptide comprising GSRYRY) would have yielded predictable results (i.e. ability to bind another peptide particularly since GSRYRY is part of the CDR3 of an antibody) to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (U.S. 2007).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 19, 21-28, 32, and 41 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 6, 10, 11, 14, 16-19, 22, 23, 25, 31-34, and 37 of copending Application No. 19/118,176 in view of Li, 2017, Effective strategies for host cell protein clearance in downstream processing of monoclonal antibodies and Fc-fusion proteins, Protein Expression and Purification, 134: 96-103; Kumpalume et al. WO 2015/049651 published April 9, 2015; Vedantham et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2003/0166869 published September 4, 2003; and Ye et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2014/0288277 published September 25, 2014.
Copending Application No. 19/118,176 claims a method of purifying a target biologic from a fluid comprising contacting a peptide ligand with a fluid and a target biologic.
Li teaches methods of contacting a mixture comprising host cell proteins (HCPs) including CHO HCPs and therapeutic proteins (i.e. target biomolecules) with protein A (i.e. one or more peptides; specific for HCPs) and NaCl buffer at 0.1-2 M and at pH of 5-5.5, 8, 9, between 5 and 8.5 (please refer to the entire reference particularly the abstract; sections 2.1, 2.2, 2.3.1, 2.3.2, 2.5, 3; Tables 1 and 2; Figure 1).
Kumpalume et al. teach methods of purifying polypeptide(s) from a mixture comprising host cell proteins (HCP) and the polypeptide(s) (i.e. removing one or more host cell proteins) via contacting the mixture with a peptide ligand which binds the polypeptide (i.e. affinity chromatography method) utilizing NaCl buffer at 137 mM or 150 mM and at pH of 5-7, 6.5-7.5, or 7.2-8.5 (please refer to the entire specification particularly the abstract; paragraphs 3, 4, 21, 97, 98, 100, 105, 107-109, 112, 133, 115, 116, 162).
Venantham et al. teach chromatography methods for purifying polypeptide(s) from a mixture comprising host cell proteins (HCP) and the polypeptide(s) via contacting the mixture with a peptide ligand wherein a NaCl buffer is utilized at concentration of about 50-250 mM and a pH of at least about 5.5 or between about 6.0 and 8.6 (please refer to the entire specification particularly the abstract; paragraphs 7-16, 21-23, 26, 34, 41-43, 45, 47, 56, 58, 59, 63). Venantham et al. teach CHO cells as the host cell (please refer to the entire specification particularly paragraphs 9, 12, 16, 47; claims).
Ye et al. teach methods of contacting antibodies and antigens wherein the Heavy Chain CDR3 is GSRYRYGSRGM (i.e. underlined and bold is present SEQ ID NO: 1) (please refer to the entire specification particularly Figures 5A, 5C). Ye et al. teach that mAb can be made in CHO cells (please refer to the entire specification particularly paragraph 88).
Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.). See Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 ("The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.") and In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969) (Claimed elastomeric polyurethanes which fell within the broad scope of the references were held to be unpatentable thereover because, among other reasons, there was no evidence of the criticality of the claimed ranges of molecular weight or molar proportions.). For more recent cases applying this principle, see Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Lab. Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997); Smith v. Nichols, 88 U.S. 112, 118-19 (1874) (a change in form, proportions, or degree "will not sustain a patent"); In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929) ("It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions.").
The claims would have been obvious because a particular known technique (i.e. altering pH and salt concentration to optimize binding; utilizing CHO cells) was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art. The claims would have been obvious because the substitution of one known element (i.e. genus of peptide ligand) for another (i.e. species of peptide comprising GSRYRY) would have yielded predictable results (i.e. ability to bind another peptide particularly since GSRYRY is part of the CDR3 of an antibody) to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (U.S. 2007).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 19, 21-28, 32, and 41 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 7, 8, 10-13, 15, 22-25, 28, 30, 32, and 35 of copending Application No. 18/890,315 in view of Li, 2017, Effective strategies for host cell protein clearance in downstream processing of monoclonal antibodies and Fc-fusion proteins, Protein Expression and Purification, 134: 96-103; Kumpalume et al. WO 2015/049651 published April 9, 2015; Vedantham et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2003/0166869 published September 4, 2003; and Ye et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2014/0288277 published September 25, 2014.
Copending Application No. 18/890,315 claims a method of purifying a target biologic from a sample comprising contacting a ligand with a sample and a target biologic.
Li teaches methods of contacting a mixture comprising host cell proteins (HCPs) including CHO HCPs and therapeutic proteins (i.e. target biomolecules) with protein A (i.e. one or more peptides; specific for HCPs) and NaCl buffer at 0.1-2 M and at pH of 5-5.5, 8, 9, between 5 and 8.5 (please refer to the entire reference particularly the abstract; sections 2.1, 2.2, 2.3.1, 2.3.2, 2.5, 3; Tables 1 and 2; Figure 1).
Kumpalume et al. teach methods of purifying polypeptide(s) from a mixture comprising host cell proteins (HCP) and the polypeptide(s) (i.e. removing one or more host cell proteins) via contacting the mixture with a peptide ligand which binds the polypeptide (i.e. affinity chromatography method) utilizing NaCl buffer at 137 mM or 150 mM and at pH of 5-7, 6.5-7.5, or 7.2-8.5 (please refer to the entire specification particularly the abstract; paragraphs 3, 4, 21, 97, 98, 100, 105, 107-109, 112, 133, 115, 116, 162).
Venantham et al. teach chromatography methods for purifying polypeptide(s) from a mixture comprising host cell proteins (HCP) and the polypeptide(s) via contacting the mixture with a peptide ligand wherein a NaCl buffer is utilized at concentration of about 50-250 mM and a pH of at least about 5.5 or between about 6.0 and 8.6 (please refer to the entire specification particularly the abstract; paragraphs 7-16, 21-23, 26, 34, 41-43, 45, 47, 56, 58, 59, 63). Venantham et al. teach CHO cells as the host cell (please refer to the entire specification particularly paragraphs 9, 12, 16, 47; claims).
Ye et al. teach methods of contacting antibodies and antigens wherein the Heavy Chain CDR3 is GSRYRYGSRGM (i.e. underlined and bold is present SEQ ID NO: 1) (please refer to the entire specification particularly Figures 5A, 5C). Ye et al. teach that mAb can be made in CHO cells (please refer to the entire specification particularly paragraph 88).
Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.). See Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 ("The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.") and In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969) (Claimed elastomeric polyurethanes which fell within the broad scope of the references were held to be unpatentable thereover because, among other reasons, there was no evidence of the criticality of the claimed ranges of molecular weight or molar proportions.). For more recent cases applying this principle, see Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Lab. Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997); Smith v. Nichols, 88 U.S. 112, 118-19 (1874) (a change in form, proportions, or degree "will not sustain a patent"); In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929) ("It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions.").
The claims would have been obvious because a particular known technique (i.e. altering pH and salt concentration to optimize binding; utilizing CHO cells) was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art. The claims would have been obvious because the substitution of one known element (i.e. genus of peptide ligand) for another (i.e. species of peptide comprising GSRYRY) would have yielded predictable results (i.e. ability to bind another peptide particularly since GSRYRY is part of the CDR3 of an antibody) to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (U.S. 2007).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 19, 21-28, 32, and 41 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6, 8-11, 13, 14, 16, 17, 19, 26-28, 31, and 35 of copending Application No. 18/890,289 in view of Li, 2017, Effective strategies for host cell protein clearance in downstream processing of monoclonal antibodies and Fc-fusion proteins, Protein Expression and Purification, 134: 96-103; Kumpalume et al. WO 2015/049651 published April 9, 2015; Vedantham et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2003/0166869 published September 4, 2003; and Ye et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2014/0288277 published September 25, 2014.
Copending Application No. 18/890,289 claims a method of purifying a target biologic from a sample comprising contacting a ligand with a sample and a target biologic.
Li teaches methods of contacting a mixture comprising host cell proteins (HCPs) including CHO HCPs and therapeutic proteins (i.e. target biomolecules) with protein A (i.e. one or more peptides; specific for HCPs) and NaCl buffer at 0.1-2 M and at pH of 5-5.5, 8, 9, between 5 and 8.5 (please refer to the entire reference particularly the abstract; sections 2.1, 2.2, 2.3.1, 2.3.2, 2.5, 3; Tables 1 and 2; Figure 1).
Kumpalume et al. teach methods of purifying polypeptide(s) from a mixture comprising host cell proteins (HCP) and the polypeptide(s) (i.e. removing one or more host cell proteins) via contacting the mixture with a peptide ligand which binds the polypeptide (i.e. affinity chromatography method) utilizing NaCl buffer at 137 mM or 150 mM and at pH of 5-7, 6.5-7.5, or 7.2-8.5 (please refer to the entire specification particularly the abstract; paragraphs 3, 4, 21, 97, 98, 100, 105, 107-109, 112, 133, 115, 116, 162).
Venantham et al. teach chromatography methods for purifying polypeptide(s) from a mixture comprising host cell proteins (HCP) and the polypeptide(s) via contacting the mixture with a peptide ligand wherein a NaCl buffer is utilized at concentration of about 50-250 mM and a pH of at least about 5.5 or between about 6.0 and 8.6 (please refer to the entire specification particularly the abstract; paragraphs 7-16, 21-23, 26, 34, 41-43, 45, 47, 56, 58, 59, 63). Venantham et al. teach CHO cells as the host cell (please refer to the entire specification particularly paragraphs 9, 12, 16, 47; claims).
Ye et al. teach methods of contacting antibodies and antigens wherein the Heavy Chain CDR3 is GSRYRYGSRGM (i.e. underlined and bold is present SEQ ID NO: 1) (please refer to the entire specification particularly Figures 5A, 5C). Ye et al. teach that mAb can be made in CHO cells (please refer to the entire specification particularly paragraph 88).
Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.). See Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 ("The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.") and In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969) (Claimed elastomeric polyurethanes which fell within the broad scope of the references were held to be unpatentable thereover because, among other reasons, there was no evidence of the criticality of the claimed ranges of molecular weight or molar proportions.). For more recent cases applying this principle, see Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Lab. Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997); Smith v. Nichols, 88 U.S. 112, 118-19 (1874) (a change in form, proportions, or degree "will not sustain a patent"); In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929) ("It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions.").
The claims would have been obvious because a particular known technique (i.e. altering pH and salt concentration to optimize binding; utilizing CHO cells) was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art. The claims would have been obvious because the substitution of one known element (i.e. genus of peptide ligand) for another (i.e. species of peptide comprising GSRYRY) would have yielded predictable results (i.e. ability to bind another peptide particularly since GSRYRY is part of the CDR3 of an antibody) to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (U.S. 2007).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent Application Publication 2016/0024147
JP 11-507919 (translation)
WO 97/00270
WO 2003/004628 (with translation)
CA 2 447 818
U.S. Patent 7,408,030
Arfi et al., 2016, Polyclonal antibodies for specific detection of tobacco host cell proteins can be efficiently generated following RuBisCO depletion and the removal of endotoxins, Biotechnol. J., 11: 507-518.
Jin et al., 2010, Profiling of Host Cell Proteins by Two-Dimensional Difference Gel Electrophoresis (2D-DIGE): Implications for Downstream Process Development, Biotechnology and Bioengineering, 105(2): 306-316.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Future Communications
/AMBER D STEELE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1658