Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Status
1. The Amendment filed 10/30/2025 has been entered. Claims 17, 20, 24 – 27, 29 – 34, 36 – 40, and 42 – 45 remain pending and are under consideration. Claims 18, 19, and 21 – 23 have been cancelled.
Priority
2. This application claims the benefit of the filing date of PCT/SE2019/051215, which was filed on 11/29/2019, which claims benefit of the filing date of SE1851492-7, which was filed on 11/30/2018.
Withdrawn Claim Rejections
3. The rejection of claims 17, 29, 31 – 34, 42, and 43 under rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment to claim 17.
4. The rejection of claim 18 and 19 under 35 U.S.C. 103 is rendered moot in view of Applicant’s cancellation of these claims.
5. The rejection of claim 20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment to the claims.
6. The rejection of claims 21 – 23 under 35 U.S.C. 103 is rendered moot in view of Applicant’s cancellation of these claim.
7. The rejection of claim 24 under rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment to the claims.
8. The rejection of claims 25 – 27 under 35 U.S.C. 103 is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment to the claims.
9. The rejection of claim 30 under 35 U.S.C. 103 is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment to the claims.
10. The rejection of claims 36 – 40 under 35 U.S.C. 103 is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment to claim 17.
11. The rejection of claims 44 and 45 under 35 U.S.C. 103 is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment to the claims.
Claim Interpretation
12. For the purpose of applying prior art, “ex vivo infusing the solution” of claim 20, 24, 25, and 27 is interpreted as referring to the second step of claim 17 of ex vivo infusing a solution comprising unfunctionalized PEG-phospholipid molecules.
New Claim Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
13. Claim 17, 20, 24 – 27, 29 – 34, 36 – 40, and 42 – 445 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
14. Regarding claim 17, it is unclear what the composition of the “solution comprising from 0.25 mg/mL to 5 mg/mL unfunctionalized PEG-phospholipid molecules consisting of PEG-phospholipids” in step 2 requires because of recitation of “comprising” and “consisting of”. For example, it is unclear if “consisting of” means that the solution can have both unfunctionalized and functionalized PEG-phospholipids, or cannot have functionalized PEG-phospholipids (see Applicant’s specification at page 13, lines 27 – 29; page 22, lines 20 – 26; page 32, lines 3 – 10; Figure 19; page 42, lines 9 – 19), or something else. The claim is reciting first a narrow limitation of “unfunctionalized PEG-phospholipid molecules” in line 6 – 7, followed by a broader limitation of “PEG-phospholipids” in line 8. As such, a broad limitation together with a narrow limitation that falls within the broad limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). The claim is considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the narrow “unfunctionalized PEG-phospholipid molecules” in line 6 – 7 is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. Claims 20, 24 – 27, 29 – 34, 36 – 40, and 42 – 43 are also rejected as they depend from claim 17 and do not clarify the grounds of rejection.
15. Regarding claim 44, it is unclear what the composition of the “solution comprising from 0.25 mg/mL to 5 mg/mL unfunctionalized PEG-phospholipid molecules consisting of PEG-phospholipids” in step 2 requires because of recitation of “comprising” and “consisting of”. For example, it is unclear if “consisting of” means that the solution can have both unfunctionalized and functionalized PEG-phospholipids, or cannot have functionalized PEG-phospholipids (see Applicant’s specification at page 13, lines 27 – 29; page 22, lines 20 – 26; page 32, lines 3 – 10; Figure 19; page 42, lines 9 – 19), or something else. The claim is first a narrow limitation of “unfunctionalized PEG-phospholipid molecules” in line 7 – 8, followed by a broader limitation of “PEG-phospholipids” in line 9. As such, a broad limitation together with a narrow limitation that falls within the broad limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). The claim is considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the narrow “unfunctionalized PEG-phospholipid molecules” in line 7 – 8 is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. Claim 45 is also rejected as it depends from claim 44 and do not clarify the grounds of rejection.
16. Regarding claim 31, it is unclear if the claim is referring to the first or last, or both organ preservation solutions recited in claim 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
17. Claim(s) 17, 29 – 34, 42, and 43 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaths (Kaths, J. Moritz, et al. American Journal of Transplantation 17.10 (2017): 2580-2590); hereinafter Kaths in view of Nilsson (Nilsson, B., et. al. Molecular Immunology (2017).), hereinafter Nilsson as evidenced by Ekdahl (Ekdahl KN, et. al. Immunobiology, Volume 221, Issue 10, 2016, Page 1184; previously cited), hereinafter Ekdahl which is cited in the IDS filed on 05/26/2021 in view of Miura (Miura S, et. al. Biomaterials. 2006 Dec;27(34):5828-35), hereinafter Miura, which is cited on the IDS filed 05/26/2021.
Regarding “ex vivo infusing an organ preservation solution into a vascular system of the organ” and “wherein the organ preservation solution does not contain any unfunctionalized” PEG-phospholipid molecules of claim 17, Kaths teaches resection of a kidney, cannulating artery, vein, and ureter, and flushing with HTK solution (“into a vascular system of the organ”) (page 2581, right col. para. 3).
Kaths does not teach “ex vivo infusion a solution comprising from 0.25 mg/mL to 5 mg/mL unfunctionalized PEG-phospholipid molecules consisting of PEG-phospholipids into the vascular system of the organ” and “wherein unfunctionalized PEG-phospholipid molecules bind to at least a portion of the endothelial lining” of claim 17.
Regarding “ex vivo incubating” of claim 17, 29, 30, and 32 – 34, Kaths teaches submerging the kidney in 4°C HTK (“at a temperature above 0°C but below 8°C” of claim 17 and “a temperature above 0°C but below 6°C” of claim 29) in a sterile organ bag and placing the bag on ice (“a temperature above 0°C but below 4°C” of claim 30) for 8 hours (“from 10 minutes up to 48 hours” of claim 32; “from 20 minutes up to 36 hours” of claim 33; “from 30 minutes up to 24 hours” of claim 34) (page 2581, right col. para. 4). Kaths does not teach the solution comprises from 0.25 mg/mL to 5 mg/mL of PEG-phospholipid molecules.
Regarding “ex vivo infusion an organ preservation solution into the vascular system to flush away” of claim 17, Kaths teaches normothermic ex vivo kidney perfusion with a solution followed by flushing with HTK (page 2581, right col. last para.; Table 1; page 2582, left col. para. 1).
Regarding claim 31, Kaths teaches HTK solution (page 2581, right col. para. 3; page 2582, left col. para. 1).
Regarding claim 42 and 43, Kaths teaches kidney (page 2581, right col. para. 3). Kaths does not teach coating of claim 43.
Kaths does not teach “ex vivo infusion a solution comprising from 0.25 mg/mL to 5 mg/mL unfunctionalized PEG-phospholipid molecules consisting of PEG-phospholipids into the vascular system of the organ” or “wherein unfunctionalized PEG-phospholipid molecules bind to at least a portion of the endothelial lining” of claim 17 and 43 or the solution comprises from 0.25 mg/mL to 5 mg/mL of PEG-phospholipid molecules of claims 17, 29, 30, 32 – 34 and 43 or coating of claim 43. However, Kaths teaches kidney transplantation has become the standard of care for end-stage renal disease and to shorten the recipients’ waiting list, grafts of lower quality are increasingly used for transplantation (page 2580, right col.). Kaths teaches prolonged hypothermic preservation times induce nonphysiologic cold ischemia and result in increased rates of primary nonfunction, delayed graft function, and reduced long-term outcomes, especially in grafts of lower quality (page 2581, left col. para. 1; page 2584, right col. para. 2). Kaths teaches normothermic machine perfusion (NMP) can be performed following static cold storage shortly prior to transplantation and NMP in kidney transplantation most likely will include hypothermic transportation periods (page 2581, left col. para. 2 – 3). Kaths teaches following hypothermic storage, normothermic ex vivo kidney perfusion (NEVKP) improved postoperative kidney function after transplantation (page 2582, left col. para. 2; Figure 1; page 2584, left col. para. 1 and right col. para. 1). Kaths teaches hypothermic storage, either statically or perfused, is the current standard of care in renal graft preservation (page 2584, right col. para. 2). Kaths teaches that because the model was autotransplantation rather than allotransplantation, the study excludes alloimmune responses and graft rejection (page 2587, right col.).
Regarding “ex vivo infusion a solution comprising from 0.25 mg/mL to 5 mg/mL unfunctionalized PEG-phospholipid molecules consisting of PEG-phospholipids into the vascular system of the organ” of claim 17 and 43 or “wherein unfunctionalized PEG-phospholipid molecules bind to at least a portion of the endothelial lining” of claim 17 or the solution comprises from 0.25 mg/mL to 5 mg/mL of PEG-phospholipid molecules of claims 17, 29, 30, 32 – 34 and 43 and “coating” of claim 43, Nilsson teaches a method of storing kidneys in HTK solution at 4°C, followed by treating the kidneys with PEG-lipid before transplantation, followed by washout and transplantation (left col. last para.). Nilsson teaches the method was to explore replacement of the glycocalyx (“wherein unfunctionalized PEG-phospholipid molecules bind to at least a portion of the endothelial lining” of claim 17) after ischemia with unconjugated PEG-linker (interpreted as PEG-lipid where the PEG portion is unfunctionalized because it is the PEG-lipid that Nilsson teaches regulators of complement are conjugated to at left col. para. 3 and the PEG portion can be functionalized with various ligands as evidenced by Ekdahl, left col. para. 3 – 4) (“unfunctionalized PEG-phospholipid molecules”) (left col. para. 3). Nilsson teaches that thromboinflammation resulting from porcine aortic endothelial cells coming into contact with human blood can be attenuated by PEG-lipid molecules to which regulators of complement and platelets were conjugated where the PEG-lipid spontaneously inserts into a cell membrane (left col. para. 3). Nilsson does not teach the concentration of the PEG-phospholipid. However, Nilsson teaches the coating technique (“coating” of claim 43) with PEG-lipid coatings is very successful in lowering the innate immune response during allogeneic transplantation in large animal models (right col. para. 2). One would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Kaths and Nilsson in a method of kidney preservation for allotransplantation where following kidney resection and flushing with HTK in the vascular system of Kaths, a PEG-phospholipid solution of Nilsson is infused into the vascular system of the kidney followed by incubating the kidney in a solution comprising the PEG-phospholipid of Nilsson because Nilsson teaches the coating technique with PEG-lipid coatings is very successful in lowering the innate immune response during allogeneic transplantation in large animal models and because Kaths’ model is for autotransplantation and not allotransplantation and Kaths teaches kidney transplantation has become the standard of care for end-stage renal disease and will most likely include hypothermic transportation periods and Kaths teaches hypothermic storage, either statically or perfused, is the current standard of care in renal graft preservation.
Regarding “a solution comprising from 0.25 mg/mL to 5 mg/mL unfunctionalized PEG-phospholipid molecules” of claims 17, 29, 30, 32 – 34, and 43, Miura teaches PEG-phospholipids spontaneously incorporated into the surface of human embryonic kidney cells after adding the PEG-lipids at 1, 10, 100, or 1000 µM followed by incubation (page 5829, left col. para. 3 and right col. para. 1 – 2; page 5830, left col. para. 1; Scheme 1; Figure 1). Given that Miura teaches PEG 5000 and DPPE in the synthesis of the PEG-lipid shown in Scheme 1a (page 5829, left col. para. 1 – 2; page 5829, right col. last para.; page 5830, left col. para. 1), 100 µM PEG-lipid meets the limitation of “from 0.25 mg/mL to 5 mg/mL”. Miura teaches the encapsulation of living cells with semi-permeable membranes has been studied as a safe and simple technique for cell transplantation without the need for immunosuppressive therapy (page 5828, left col.). Miura teaches PEG-lipids have been widely used for the surface modification of liposomes to improve biocompatibility and prolong the circulation time in vivo (page 5828, right col. para. 2). Miura teaches PEG-lipid modification did not exert toxicity on living cells (page 5831, right col. last para.; page 5832, left col. para. 1).
It would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the invention as claimed for the person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kaths regarding a method of kidney preservation comprising resection of a kidney, cannulating artery, vein, and ureter, and flushing with HTK solution, followed by submerging the kidney in 4°C HTK in a sterile organ bag and placing the bag on ice, followed by normothermic ex vivo kidney perfusion with a solution followed by flushing with HTK prior to transplantation with the teachings of Nilsson regarding a method of reducing ischemic reperfusion injury in kidney transplantation comprising storing kidneys in HTK solution at 4°C, followed by treating the kidneys with unfunctionalized PEG-lipid molecules before transplantation, followed by washout and transplantation with the teachings of Miura regarding PEG-phospholipids spontaneously incorporated into the surface of human embryonic kidney cells after adding the PEG-lipids at 1, 10, 100, or 1000 µM followed by incubation to arrive at the claimed method comprising ex vivo infusing an organ preservation solution into a vascular system of the organ or the part of the organ, wherein the organ preservation solution does not contain any unfunctionalized poly(ethylene glycol)-phospholipid (PEG-phospholipid) molecules; ex vivo infusing a solution comprising from 0.25 mg/mL to 5 mg/mL unfunctionalized PEG-phospholipid molecules consisting of PEG-phospholipids into the a vascular system of the organ or the part of the organ; and ex vivo incubating the solution comprising from 0.25 mg/mL to 5 mg/mL unfunctionalized PEG-phospholipid molecules in the vascular system to enable coating of at least a portion of the endothelial lining of the vascular system with the unfunctionalized PEG-phospholipid molecules, wherein unfunctionalized PEG-phospholipid molecules bind to at least a portion of the endothelial lining, while keeping the organ or the part of the organ submerged in an organ preservation solution comprising from 0.25 mg/mL to 5 mg/mL unfunctionalized PEG-phospholipid molecules and at a temperature above 0°C but below 8°C; and ex vivo infusing an organ preservation solution into the vascular system to flush away non-bound unfunctionalized PEG-phospholipid molecules from the vascular system. One would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Kaths, Nilsson, and Miura in a method of kidney preservation for transplantation as Kaths teaches kidney transplantation has become the standard of care for end-stage renal disease and to shorten the recipients’ waiting list, grafts of lower quality are increasingly used for transplantation and Kaths teaches hypothermic storage, either statically or perfused, is the current standard of care in renal graft preservation and Miura teaches the encapsulation of living cells with semi-permeable membranes has been studied as a safe and simple technique for cell transplantation without the need for immunosuppressive therapy. One would have a reasonable expectation of success in combining the teachings as Nilsson teaches the coating technique with PEG-lipid coatings is very successful in lowering the innate immune response during allogeneic transplantation in large animal models and Miura teaches PEG-lipid modification did not exert toxicity on living cells.
18. Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaths (Kaths, J. Moritz, et al. American Journal of Transplantation 17.10 (2017): 2580-2590); hereinafter Kaths in view of Nilsson (Nilsson, B., et. al. Molecular Immunology (2017).), hereinafter Nilsson as evidenced by Ekdahl (Ekdahl KN, et. al. Immunobiology, Volume 221, Issue 10, 2016, Page 1184; previously cited), hereinafter Ekdahl which is cited in the IDS filed on 05/26/2021 in view of Miura (Miura S, et. al. Biomaterials. 2006 Dec;27(34):5828-35), hereinafter Miura, which is cited on the IDS filed 05/26/2021 as applied to claims 17, 29 – 34, 42, and 43 above, and further in view of Kaths-2015 (Kaths JM, et. al. J Vis Exp. 2015 Jul 15;(101):e52909; previously cited), hereinafter Kaths-2015.
Kaths in view of Nilsson and Miura make obvious the limitations of claim 17 as set forth above. Kaths, Nilsson, and Miura do not teach ex vivo infusing comprises ex vivo clamping one of an artery and a vein, ex vivo infusing, and ex vivo clamping the other of the artery and the vein. However, Kaths teaches ex vivo infusion of HTK into the kidney and submerging the kidney in HTK solution (page 2581, right col. para. 3) and Nilsson teaches treating the kidney with PEG-lipid for coating where the glycocalyx is coated with PEG-lipid (left col. para. 3 – 4 and right col. para. 2).
Kaths-2015 teaches a method comprising steps of: cannulate the aorta with an organ flush line and tie the ligatures at the aorta and left renal artery ex vivo (“vein” of “ex vivo clamping one of an artery and a vein of the vascular system”); flush the kidney with HTK solution (“artery” of “ex vivo infusing” and “into the other of the artery and the vein”); clamp the thoracic cava; close the cranial part of the aorta with a tie and cannulate (“artery” of “ex vivo clamping the other of the artery and the vein”); cannulate the renal vein, and place the kidney on ice (page 3, steps 7 – 9 of “Surgical Procedure”; page 3, steps 1 – 3 of “Back Table Preparation of the Kidney Graft for the Perfusion”). Kaths-2015 teaches for patients suffering from end-stage renal disease, kidney transplantation offers better life expectancy and improved quality of life when compared to dialysis (page 1, paragraph 1 of “Introduction”). Kaths-2015 teaches the persisting organ shortage represents a severe problem in the field of transplant medicine and the median wait time for a deceased donor kidney transplant is up to 5 years (page 1, paragraph 1 of “Introduction”; Table 1). Kaths-2015 teaches the outcome of kidney transplantation is negatively affected by the waiting time which has triggered interest in marginal kidney grafts as an additional donor source (page 1, last paragraph). Kaths-2015 teaches cold anoxic kidney preservation is associated with ongoing graft injury and does not allow graft assessment because of the lack of metabolism and urine production where marginal kidney grafts tolerate cold storage poorly resulting in significant kidney injury and high rates of delayed graft function (page 2, paragraph 2). Kaths-2015 teaches ex vivo kidney perfusion represents an alternative method for the preservation, assessment, and repair of organs (page 2, paragraph 3). Kaths-2015 teaches during ex vivo perfusion the kidneys demonstrated stable perfusion parameters, active renal metabolism, homeostasis, and minimal renal injury (page 12, paragraph 1).
It would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the invention as claimed for the person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kaths regarding a method of kidney preservation comprising resection of a kidney, cannulating artery, vein, and ureter, and flushing with HTK solution, followed by submerging the kidney in 4°C HTK in a sterile organ bag and placing the bag on ice, followed by normothermic ex vivo kidney perfusion with a solution followed by flushing with HTK prior to transplantation with the teachings of Nilsson regarding a method of reducing ischemic reperfusion injury in kidney transplantation comprising storing kidneys in HTK solution at 4°C, followed by treating the kidneys with unfunctionalized PEG-lipid molecules before transplantation, followed by washout and transplantation with the teachings of Miura regarding PEG-phospholipids spontaneously incorporated into the surface of human embryonic kidney cells after adding the PEG-lipids at 1, 10, 100, or 1000 µM followed by incubation with the teachings of Kaths-2015 regarding surgical procedures and preparation of a kidney graft for perfusion to arrive at the claimed method comprising ex vivo clamping the renal vein of a kidney graft; ex vivo infusing a solution comprising unfunctionalized PEG-phospholipids into the vascular system of a kidney through the aorta; and ex vivo clamping the aorta. One would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Kaths, Nilsson, Miura, and Kaths-2015 to develop a kidney preservation method for marginal kidneys to increase the number of donor kidneys for transplantation as Kaths-2015 teaches there is interest in marginal kidney grafts as an additional donor source but marginal kidney grafts tolerate cold storage poorly resulting in significant kidney injury and high rates of delayed graft function. One would have a reasonable expectation of success in combining the teachings as Kaths-2015 teaches during ex vivo perfusion the kidneys demonstrated stable perfusion parameters, active renal metabolism, homeostasis, and minimal renal injury.
19. Claim(s) 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaths (Kaths, J. Moritz, et al. American Journal of Transplantation 17.10 (2017): 2580-2590); hereinafter Kaths in view of Nilsson (Nilsson, B., et. al. Molecular Immunology (2017).), hereinafter Nilsson as evidenced by Ekdahl (Ekdahl KN, et. al. Immunobiology, Volume 221, Issue 10, 2016, Page 1184; previously cited), hereinafter Ekdahl which is cited in the IDS filed on 05/26/2021 in view of Miura (Miura S, et. al. Biomaterials. 2006 Dec;27(34):5828-35), hereinafter Miura, which is cited on the IDS filed 05/26/2021 as applied to claims 17, 29 – 34, 42, and 43 above, and further in view of Teramura (2011) (Teramura Y, et. al. Transplantation. 2011 Feb 15;91(3):271-8; previously cited), hereinafter Teramura (2011) which is cited on the IDS filed 05/26/2021.
Kaths in view of Nilsson and Miura make obvious the limitations of claim 17 as set forth above. Miura teaches PEG-phospholipids spontaneously incorporated into the surface of human embryonic kidney cells after adding the PEG-lipids at 1, 10, 100, or 1000 µM followed by incubation (page 5829, left col. para. 3 and right col. para. 1 – 2; page 5830, left col. para. 1; Scheme 1; Figure 1). Given that Miura teaches PEG 5000 and DPPE in the synthesis of the PEG-lipid shown in Scheme 1a (page 5829, left col. para. 1 – 2; page 5829, right col. last para.; page 5830, left col. para. 1), 100 µM PEG-lipid would correspond to about 0.5 – 0.6 mg/mL and 1000 µM PEG-lipid would correspond to about 5 – 6 mg/mL. Miura does not teach 2 mg/mL.
Teramura (2011) teaches surface modification of islets using 2 mg/mL of a PEG-lipid solution followed by transplantation into mice (page 277, left col. paragraph 6). Teramura (2011) teaches the hydrophobic lipid portion of the PEG-lipid was spontaneously incorporated into the lipid bilayer of the cells of the islets (Figure 1 legend). Teramura (2011) teaches PEG-lipid can be easily immobilized onto cells through hydrophobic interaction (page 277, left col. paragraph 3). Teramura (2011) teaches less ischemic areas were observed after transplantation with PEG-lipid modified cells compared to native cells (page 273, left col. last paragraph; page 275, left col. last paragraph; page 276, right col. paragraph 2).
It would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the invention as claimed for the person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kaths regarding a method of kidney preservation comprising resection of a kidney, cannulating artery, vein, and ureter, and flushing with HTK solution, followed by submerging the kidney in 4°C HTK in a sterile organ bag and placing the bag on ice, followed by normothermic ex vivo kidney perfusion with a solution followed by flushing with HTK prior to transplantation with the teachings of Nilsson regarding a method of reducing ischemic reperfusion injury in kidney transplantation comprising storing kidneys in HTK solution at 4°C, followed by treating the kidneys with unfunctionalized PEG-lipid molecules before transplantation, followed by washout and transplantation with the teachings of Miura regarding PEG-phospholipids spontaneously incorporated into the surface of human embryonic kidney cells after adding the PEG-lipids at 1, 10, 100, or 1000 µM followed by incubation with the teachings of Teramura (2011) regarding 2 mg/mL PEG-lipids spontaneously insert into the cell membrane to arrive at the claimed method comprising ex vivo infusing a solution comprising 2 mg/mL of unfunctionalized PEG-phospholipids into the vascular system of a kidney. One would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Kaths, Nilsson, Miura and Teramura (2011) in a method of kidney preservation for transplantation as Kaths teaches prolonged hypothermic preservation times induce nonphysiologic cold ischemia and result in increased rates of primary nonfunction, delayed graft function, and reduced long-term outcomes, especially in grafts of lower quality and Kaths teaches hypothermic storage, either statically or perfused, is the current standard of care in renal graft preservation and Teramura (2011) teaches PEG-lipid can be easily immobilized onto cells through hydrophobic interaction. One would have a reasonable expectation of success in combining the teachings as Nilsson teaches the coating technique with PEG-lipid coatings is very successful in lowering the innate immune response during allogeneic transplantation in large animal models and Miura teaches PEG-lipid modification did not exert toxicity on living cells and. Teramura (2011) teaches less ischemic areas were observed after transplantation with PEG-lipid modified cells compared to native cells.
20. Claim(s) 25 – 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaths (Kaths, J. Moritz, et al. American Journal of Transplantation 17.10 (2017): 2580-2590); hereinafter Kaths in view of Nilsson (Nilsson, B., et. al. Molecular Immunology (2017).), hereinafter Nilsson as evidenced by Ekdahl (Ekdahl KN, et. al. Immunobiology, Volume 221, Issue 10, 2016, Page 1184; previously cited), hereinafter Ekdahl which is cited in the IDS filed on 05/26/2021 in view of Miura (Miura S, et. al. Biomaterials. 2006 Dec;27(34):5828-35), hereinafter Miura, which is cited on the IDS filed 05/26/2021 as applied to claims 17, 29 – 34, 42, and 43 above, and further in view of Maathuis (Maathuis, Mark-Hugo J., et al. Annals of surgery 246.6 (2007): 982-991; previously cited), hereinafter Maathuis in view of Effros (Effros, Richard M., et al. Circulation research 20.2 (1967): 162-173; previously cited), hereinafter Effros.
Kaths in view of Nilsson and Miura make obvious the limitations of claim 17 as set forth above. Kaths teaches flushing the kidney with 300 – 500 mL of HTK solution (page 2581, right col. para. 3; page 2582, left col. para. 1) but does not teach “from 5 mL up to 250 mL” of claim 25 or “from 5 mL up to 100 mL” of claim 26, or “from 5 mL up to 50 mL” of claim 27.
Regarding claim 25, Maathuis teaches after procurement, pig kidneys were flushed with 250 mL of perfusion solution and autotransplanted (page 983, left col. paragraph 5 and last paragraph). Maathuis teaches ex vivo perfusion improved posttransplantation viability (page 987, right col. paragraph 2; Abstract). Maathuis teaches the increasing proportion of marginal and nonheart beating donors necessitates better preservation methods to maintain adequate graft viability (Abstract). Maathuis does not teach “from 5 mL up to 100 mL” of claim 26 or “from 5 mL up to 50 mL” of claim 27.
Regarding claims 26 and 27, Effros teaches average renal blood volume of 34.8 ± 3.1 mL for one normal kidney of man (Abstract; page 162, right col. paragraph 1). Effros teaches differences in renal volumes in individual subjects may indicate real differences in compartment size or may result for alterations in tissue perfusion or exchange (page 172, left col. paragraph 1).
It would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the invention as claimed for the person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kaths regarding a method of kidney preservation comprising resection of a kidney, cannulating artery, vein, and ureter, and flushing with HTK solution, followed by submerging the kidney in 4°C HTK in a sterile organ bag and placing the bag on ice, followed by normothermic ex vivo kidney perfusion with a solution followed by flushing with HTK prior to transplantation with the teachings of Nilsson regarding a method of reducing ischemic reperfusion injury in kidney transplantation comprising storing kidneys in HTK solution at 4°C, followed by treating the kidneys with unfunctionalized PEG-lipid molecules before transplantation, followed by washout and transplantation with the teachings of Miura regarding PEG-phospholipids spontaneously incorporated into the surface of human embryonic kidney cells after adding the PEG-lipids at 1, 10, 100, or 1000 µM followed by incubation with the teachings of Maathuis regarding ex vivo perfusing 250 mL perfusate with the teachings of Effros regarding the average blood volume of a normal kidney is 34.8 ± 3.1 mL to arrive at the claimed method where 40 mL of solution comprising 0.25 mg/mL to 5 mg/mL of unfunctionalized PEG-phospholipid is infused into the vascular system of the kidney ex vivo. One would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Kaths, Nilsson, Miura, Maathuis, and Effros in a method of kidney preservation for kidney transplantation as Kaths teaches hypothermic storage, either statically or perfused, is the current standard of care in renal graft preservation and Maathuis teaches the increasing proportion of marginal and nonheart beating donors necessitates better preservation methods to maintain adequate graft viability. One would have a reasonable expectation of success in combining the teachings as Nilsson teaches the coating technique with PEG-lipid coatings is very successful in lowering the innate immune response during allogeneic transplantation in large animal models and Miura teaches PEG-lipid modification did not exert toxicity on living cells and Maathuis teaches ex vivo perfusion improved posttransplantation viability.
21. Claim(s) 36 – 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaths (Kaths, J. Moritz, et al. American Journal of Transplantation 17.10 (2017): 2580-2590); hereinafter Kaths in view of Nilsson (Nilsson, B., et. al. Molecular Immunology (2017).), hereinafter Nilsson as evidenced by Ekdahl (Ekdahl KN, et. al. Immunobiology, Volume 221, Issue 10, 2016, Page 1184; previously cited), hereinafter Ekdahl which is cited in the IDS filed on 05/26/2021 in view of Miura (Miura S, et. al. Biomaterials. 2006 Dec;27(34):5828-35), hereinafter Miura, which is cited on the IDS filed 05/26/2021 as applied to claims 17, 29 – 34, 42, and 43 above, and further in view of Nilsson-2012 (Nilsson, Per H., et al. Biomaterials 34.4 (2013): 985-994.), hereinafter Nilsson-2012, which is cited on the IDS filed 05/26/2021 as evidenced by Teramura-2007 (Teramura Y, et. al. Biomaterials. 2007 Nov;28(32):4818-25), hereinafter Teramura-2007, which is cited on the IDS filed 05/26/2021.
Kaths in view of Nilsson and Miura make obvious the limitations of claim 17 as set forth above. Nilsson teaches the method was to explore replacement of the glycocalyx after ischemia with unconjugated PEG-linker (interpreted as PEG-lipid where the PEG portion is unfunctionalized because it is the PEG-lipid that Nilsson teaches apyrase is conjugated to at left col. para. 3 and the PEG portion can be functionalized with various ligands as evidenced by Ekdahl, left col. para. 3 – 4) (left col. para. 3).
Regarding claim 36 – 40, Miura teaches a PEG-phospholipid where n and m are 14 (claims 36 – 38) and p is selected so that the PEG chain has an average molecular weight of 5000 Da (claims 36 and 39 – 40) (Scheme 1(a)); page 5829, left col. para. 2 – 3). While Miura teaches phospholipid structure of formula I of claim 36, Miura does not teach portion of formulas I or II connected to the carbonyl carbon in the PEG portion of the structures.
Regarding the PEG portion of formula I in claim 36, Nilsson-2012 teaches the structure of a PEG-lipid derivative in Figure 1c where m and n of claim 36 are 14 and p of claim 36 is selected so that the PEG chain has an average molecular weight of 5000 Da (page 987, right col. para. 2) as evidenced by Teramura-2007 (Abstract; page 4819, left col. last para and right col. para. 3). Nilsson-2012 teaches the PEG-lipid can be immobilized to cell membranes by hydrophobic interactions with the lipid bilayer membranes without cytotoxicity (page 986, left col. para. 3). Nilsson-2012 teaches preparation of methoxy-PEG conjugated phospholipid, Mal-PEG-conjugated phospholipid, and biotin-PEG-conjugated phospholipid were synthesized as described by Teraumra-2007 (page 987, right col. para. 2).
It would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the invention as claimed for the person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kaths regarding a method of kidney preservation comprising resection of a kidney, cannulating artery, vein, and ureter, and flushing with HTK solution, followed by submerging the kidney in 4°C HTK in a sterile organ bag and placing the bag on ice, followed by normothermic ex vivo kidney perfusion with a solution followed by flushing with HTK prior to transplantation with the teachings of Nilsson regarding a method of reducing ischemic reperfusion injury in kidney transplantation comprising storing kidneys in HTK solution at 4°C, followed by treating the kidneys with unfunctionalized PEG-lipid molecules before transplantation, followed by washout and transplantation with the teachings of Miura regarding PEG-phospholipids spontaneously incorporated into the surface of human embryonic kidney cells after adding the PEG-lipids at 1, 10, 100, or 1000 µM followed by incubation with the teachings of Nilsson-2012 regarding the synthesis of PEG-phospholipids to arrive at the claimed method where the unfunctionalized PEG-phospholipid molecules have formula I or II. One would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Kaths, Nilsson, Miura, and Nilsson-2012 in a method of kidney preservation and transplantation that prevents innate immune response as Kaths teaches prolonged hypothermic preservation times induce nonphysiologic cold ischemia and result in increased rates of primary nonfunction, delayed graft function, and reduced long-term outcomes, especially in grafts of lower quality and Kaths teaches hypothermic storage, either statically or perfused, is the current standard of care in renal graft preservation. One would have a reasonable expectation of success in combining the teachings as Nilsson teaches the coating technique with PEG-lipid coatings is very successful in lowering the innate immune response during allogeneic transplantation in large animal models and Miura teaches PEG-lipid modification did not exert toxicity on living cells.
22. Claim(s) 44 and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaths (Kaths, J. Moritz, et al. American Journal of Transplantation 17.10 (2017): 2580-2590); hereinafter Kaths in view of Nilsson (Nilsson, B., et. al. Molecular Immunology (2017).), hereinafter Nilsson as evidenced by Ekdahl (Ekdahl KN, et. al. Immunobiology, Volume 221, Issue 10, 2016, Page 1184; previously cited), hereinafter Ekdahl which is cited in the IDS filed on 05/26/2021 in view of Miura (Miura S, et. al. Biomaterials. 2006 Dec;27(34):5828-35), hereinafter Miura, which is cited on the IDS filed 05/26/2021.
Regarding “ex vivo infusing an organ preservation solution into a vascular system of the organ” and “wherein the organ preservation solution does not contain any unfunctionalized” PEG-phospholipid molecules of claim 44, Kaths teaches resection of a kidney, cannulating artery, vein, and ureter, and flushing with HTK solution (“into a vascular system of the organ”) (page 2581, right col. para. 3).
Kaths does not teach “ex vivo infusion a solution comprising from 0.25 mg/mL to 5 mg/mL unfunctionalized PEG-phospholipid molecules consisting of PEG-phospholipids into the vascular system of the organ” and “wherein unfunctionalized PEG-phospholipid molecules bind to at least a portion of the endothelial lining” of claim 44. However, Kaths teaches the renal artery pressure during NEVKP after cold storage was not significantly different from mean systemic blood pressure in pigs (Figure 2; page 2583, left col. last para.).
Regarding “ex vivo infusion an organ preservation solution into the vascular system to flush away” of claim 44, Kaths teaches normothermic ex vivo kidney perfusion with a solution followed by flushing with HTK (page 2581, right col. last para.; Table 1; page 2582, left col. para. 1).
Regarding “transplanting the organ graft” of claim 44, Kaths teaches transplanting the kidney (page 2852, left col. para. 2).
Regarding “ex vivo incubating” of claim 45, Kaths teaches submerging the kidney in 4°C HTK (“at a temperature above 0°C but below 8°C” in a sterile organ bag and placing the bag on ice for 8 hours (page 2581, right col. para. 4). Kaths does not teach the solution comprises from 0.25 mg/mL to 5 mg/mL of PEG-phospholipid molecules. Kaths does not teach coating of claim 45.
Kaths does not teach “ex vivo infusion a solution comprising from 0.25 mg/mL to 5 mg/mL unfunctionalized PEG-phospholipid molecules consisting of PEG-phospholipids into the vascular system of the organ” or “wherein unfunctionalized PEG-phospholipid molecules bind to at least a portion of the endothelial lining” of claim 44 or the solution comprises from 0.25 mg/mL to 5 mg/mL of PEG-phospholipid molecules of claims 44 and 45. However, Kaths teaches kidney transplantation has become the standard of care for end-stage renal disease and to shorten the recipients’ waiting list, grafts of lower quality are increasingly used for transplantation (page 2580, right col.). Kaths teaches prolonged hypothermic preservation times induce nonphysiologic cold ischemia and result in increased rates of primary nonfunction, delayed graft function, and reduced long-term outcomes, especially in grafts of lower quality (page 2581, left col. para. 1; page 2584, right col. para. 2). Kaths teaches normothermic machine perfusion (NMP) can be performed following static cold storage shortly prior to transplantation and NMP in kidney transplantation most likely will include hypothermic transportation periods (page 2581, left col. para. 2 – 3). Kaths teaches following hypothermic storage, normothermic ex vivo kidney perfusion (NEVKP) improved postoperative kidney function after transplantation (page 2582, left col. para. 2; Figure 1; page 2584, left col. para. 1 and right col. para. 1). Kaths teaches hypothermic storage, either statically or perfused, is the current standard of care in renal graft preservation (page 2584, right col. para. 2). Kaths teaches that because the model was autotransplantation rather than allotransplantation, the study excludes alloimmune responses and graft rejection (page 2587, right col.).
Regarding “ex vivo infusion a solution comprising from 0.25 mg/mL to 5 mg/mL unfunctionalized PEG-phospholipid molecules consisting of PEG-phospholipids into the vascular system of the organ” of claim 44 or “wherein unfunctionalized PEG-phospholipid molecules bind to at least a portion of the endothelial lining” of claim 45 or the solution comprises from 0.25 mg/mL to 5 mg/mL of PEG-phospholipid molecules of claims 44 and 45 and “coating” of claim 45, Nilsson teaches a method of storing kidneys in HTK solution at 4°C, followed by treating the kidneys with PEG-lipid before transplantation, followed by washout and transplantation (left col. last para.). Nilsson teaches the method was to explore replacement of the glycocalyx (“wherein unfunctionalized PEG-phospholipid molecules bind to at least a portion of the endothelial lining” of claim 45) after ischemia with unconjugated PEG-linker (interpreted as PEG-lipid where the PEG portion is unfunctionalized because it is the PEG-lipid that Nilsson teaches regulators of complement are conjugated to at left col. para. 3 and the PEG portion can be functionalized with various ligands as evidenced by Ekdahl, left col. para. 3 – 4) (“unfunctionalized PEG-phospholipid molecules”) (left col. para. 3). Nilsson teaches that thromboinflammation resulting from porcine aortic endothelial cells coming into contact with human blood can be attenuated by PEG-lipid molecules to which regulators of complement and platelets were conjugated where the PEG-lipid spontaneously inserts into a cell membrane (left col. para. 3). Nilsson teaches treating the kidneys with PEG-lipid but does not define treating as infusing or incubating. Nilsson does not teach the concentration of the PEG-phospholipid. However, Nilsson teaches the coating technique (“coating” of claim 45) with PEG-lipid coatings is very successful in lowering the innate immune response during allogeneic transplantation in large animal models (right col. para. 2). One would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Kaths and Nilsson in a method of kidney preservation for allotransplantation where following kidney resection and flushing with HTK in the vascular system of Kaths, a PEG-phospholipid solution of Nilsson is infused into the vascular system of the kidney followed by incubating the kidney in a solution comprising the PEG-phospholipid of Nilsson because Nilsson teaches the coating technique with PEG-lipid coatings is very successful in lowering the innate immune response during allogeneic transplantation in large animal models and because Kaths’ model is for autotransplantation and not allotransplantation and Kaths teaches kidney transplantation has become the standard of care for end-stage renal disease and will most likely include hypothermic transportation periods and Kaths teaches hypothermic storage, either statically or perfused, is the current standard of care in renal graft preservation.
Regarding “a solution comprising from 0.25 mg/mL to 5 mg/mL unfunctionalized PEG-phospholipid molecules” of claims 44 and 45, Miura teaches PEG-phospholipids spontaneously incorporated into the surface of human embryonic kidney cells after adding the PEG-lipids at 1, 10, 100, or 1000 µM followed by incubation (page 5829, left col. para. 3 and right col. para. 1 – 2; page 5830, left col. para. 1; Scheme 1; Figure 1). Given that Miura teaches PEG 5000 and DPPE in the synthesis of the PEG-lipid shown in Scheme 1a (page 5829, left col. para. 1 – 2; page 5829, right col. last para.; page 5830, left col. para. 1), 100 µM PEG-lipid meets the limitation of “from 0.25 mg/mL to 5 mg/mL”. Miura teaches the encapsulation of living cells with semi-permeable membranes has been studied as a safe and simple technique for cell transplantation without the need for immunosuppressive therapy (page 5828, left col.). Miura teaches PEG-lipids have been widely used for the surface modification of liposomes to improve biocompatibility and prolong the circulation time in vivo (page 5828, right col. para. 2). Miura teaches PEG-lipid modification did not exert toxicity on living cells (page 5831, right col. last para.; page 5832, left col. para. 1).
It would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the invention as claimed for the person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kaths regarding a method of kidney preservation comprising resection of a kidney, cannulating artery, vein, and ureter, and flushing with HTK solution, followed by submerging the kidney in 4°C HTK in a sterile organ bag and placing the bag on ice, followed by normothermic ex vivo kidney perfusion with a solution followed by flushing with HTK prior to transplantation with the teachings of Nilsson regarding a method of reducing ischemic reperfusion injury in kidney transplantation comprising storing kidneys in HTK solution at 4°C, followed by treating the kidneys with unfunctionalized PEG-lipid molecules before transplantation, followed by washout and transplantation with the teachings of Miura regarding PEG-phospholipids spontaneously incorporated into the surface of human embryonic kidney cells after adding the PEG-lipids at 1, 10, 100, or 1000 µM followed by incubation to arrive at the claimed method comprising ex vivo infusing an organ preservation solution into a vascular system of the organ or the part of the organ, wherein the organ preservation solution does not contain any unfunctionalized poly(ethylene glycol)-phospholipid (PEG-phospholipid) molecules; ex vivo infusing a solution comprising from 0.25 mg/mL to 5 mg/mL unfunctionalized PEG-phospholipid molecules consisting of PEG-phospholipids into the a vascular system of the organ or the part of the organ; and ex vivo incubating the solution comprising from 0.25 mg/mL to 5 mg/mL unfunctionalized PEG-phospholipid molecules in the vascular system to enable coating of at least a portion of the endothelial lining of the vascular system with the unfunctionalized PEG-phospholipid molecules, wherein unfunctionalized PEG-phospholipid molecules bind to at least a portion of the endothelial lining, while keeping the organ or the part of the organ submerged in an organ preservation solution comprising from 0.25 mg/mL to 5 mg/mL unfunctionalized PEG-phospholipid molecules and at a temperature above 0°C but below 8°C; and ex vivo infusing an organ preservation solution into the vascular system to flush away non-bound unfunctionalized PEG-phospholipid molecules from the vascular system. One would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Kaths, Nilsson, and Miura in a method of kidney preservation for transplantation as Kaths teaches kidney transplantation has become the standard of care for end-stage renal disease and to shorten the recipients’ waiting list, grafts of lower quality are increasingly used for transplantation and Kaths teaches hypothermic storage, either statically or perfused, is the current standard of care in renal graft preservation and Miura teaches the encapsulation of living cells with semi-permeable membranes has been studied as a safe and simple technique for cell transplantation without the need for immunosuppressive therapy. One would have a reasonable expectation of success in combining the teachings as Nilsson teaches the coating technique with PEG-lipid coatings is very successful in lowering the innate immune response during allogeneic transplantation in large animal models and Miura teaches PEG-lipid modification did not exert toxicity on living cells.
Applicant’s Arguments/ Response to Arguments
23. Applicant Argues: On page 12 – 14, Applicant asserts that Ekdahl and Hauet fail to disclose the limitations of amended claim 17. On page 15, para. 2 – page 19, Applicant asserts that Teramura 2009, Kaths, and Teramura 2011 alone or in combination fail to resolve the deficiencies of Ekhdal and Hauet. On page 20 – page 21, para. 1, Applicant asserts that Maathuis, Effros, Oliveira, and Teramura 2010 resolve the deficiencies of the prior discussed references. On page 21, para. 2 – 3 – page 25, Applicant asserts that the previous references cited in the rejection of claims 44 and 45 do not disclose the limitations of amended claims 44 and 45.
Response to Arguments: All previous rejections have been withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment to the claims. New rejections of the claims are set forth above. In the rejection of claim 17 (and similarly claim 44), the teachings of Kaths are cited for ex vivo infusing an organ preservation solution into a kidney, ex vivo incubating a kidney submerged in a solution, and ex vivo infusing an organ preservation solution into the kidney prior to transplantation. Kaths does not teach a solution of unfunctionalized PEG-phospholipid molecules at the recited concentration range. Nilsson teaches a method of storing kidneys in HTK solution at 4°C, followed by treating the kidneys with PEG-lipid before transplantation, followed by washout and transplantation (left col. last para.). Nilsson teaches the method was to explore replacement of the glycocalyx after ischemia with unconjugated PEG-linker (interpreted as PEG-lipid where the PEG portion is unfunctionalized because it is the PEG-lipid that Nilsson teaches regulators of complement are conjugated to at left col. para. 3 and the PEG portion can be functionalized with various ligands as evidenced by Ekdahl, left col. para. 3 – 4) (left col. para. 3). Nilsson teaches that thromboinflammation resulting from porcine aortic endothelial cells coming into contact with human blood can be attenuated by PEG-lipid molecules to which regulators of complement and platelets were conjugated where the PEG-lipid spontaneously inserts into a cell membrane (left col. para. 3). Nilsson does not teach the concentration of the PEG-phospholipid. However, Nilsson teaches the coating technique with PEG-lipid coatings is very successful in lowering the innate immune response during allogeneic transplantation in large animal models (right col. para. 2). Miura teaches PEG-phospholipids spontaneously incorporated into the surface of human embryonic kidney cells after adding the PEG-lipids at 1, 10, 100, or 1000 µM followed by incubation (page 5829, left col. para. 3 and right col. para. 1 – 2; page 5830, left col. para. 1; Scheme 1; Figure 1). Given that Miura teaches PEG 5000 and DPPE in the synthesis of the PEG-lipid shown in Scheme 1a (page 5829, left col. para. 1 – 2; page 5829, right col. last para.; page 5830, left col. para. 1), 100 µM PEG-lipid meets the limitation of “from 0.25 mg/mL to 5 mg/mL”. Miura teaches the encapsulation of living cells with semi-permeable membranes has been studied as a safe and simple technique for cell transplantation without the need for immunosuppressive therapy (page 5828, left col.). Miura teaches PEG-lipids have been widely used for the surface modification of liposomes to improve biocompatibility and prolong the circulation time in vivo (page 5828, right col. para. 2). Miura teaches PEG-lipid modification did not exert toxicity on living cells (page 5831, right col. last para.; page 5832, left col. para. 1).
It would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the invention as claimed for the person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kaths regarding a method of kidney preservation comprising resection of a kidney, cannulating artery, vein, and ureter, and flushing with HTK solution, followed by submerging the kidney in 4°C HTK in a sterile organ bag and placing the bag on ice, followed by normothermic ex vivo kidney perfusion with a solution followed by flushing with HTK prior to transplantation with the teachings of Nilsson regarding a method of reducing ischemic reperfusion injury in kidney transplantation comprising storing kidneys in HTK solution at 4°C, followed by treating the kidneys with unfunctionalized PEG-lipid molecules before transplantation, followed by washout and transplantation with the teachings of Miura regarding PEG-phospholipids spontaneously incorporated into the surface of human embryonic kidney cells after adding the PEG-lipids at 1, 10, 100, or 1000 µM followed by incubation to arrive at the claimed method comprising ex vivo infusing an organ preservation solution into a vascular system of the organ or the part of the organ, wherein the organ preservation solution does not contain any unfunctionalized poly(ethylene glycol)-phospholipid (PEG-phospholipid) molecules; ex vivo infusing a solution comprising from 0.25 mg/mL to 5 mg/mL unfunctionalized PEG-phospholipid molecules consisting of PEG-phospholipids into the a vascular system of the organ or the part of the organ; and ex vivo incubating the solution comprising from 0.25 mg/mL to 5 mg/mL unfunctionalized PEG-phospholipid molecules in the vascular system to enable coating of at least a portion of the endothelial lining of the vascular system with the unfunctionalized PEG-phospholipid molecules, wherein unfunctionalized PEG-phospholipid molecules bind to at least a portion of the endothelial lining, while keeping the organ or the part of the organ submerged in an organ preservation solution comprising from 0.25 mg/mL to 5 mg/mL unfunctionalized PEG-phospholipid molecules and at a temperature above 0°C but below 8°C; and ex vivo infusing an organ preservation solution into the vascular system to flush away non-bound unfunctionalized PEG-phospholipid molecules from the vascular system. One would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Kaths, Nilsson, and Miura in a method of kidney preservation for transplantation as Kaths teaches kidney transplantation has become the standard of care for end-stage renal disease and to shorten the recipients’ waiting list, grafts of lower quality are increasingly used for transplantation and Kaths teaches hypothermic storage, either statically or perfused, is the current standard of care in renal graft preservation and Miura teaches the encapsulation of living cells with semi-permeable membranes has been studied as a safe and simple technique for cell transplantation without the need for immunosuppressive therapy. One would have a reasonable expectation of success in combining the teachings as Nilsson teaches the coating technique with PEG-lipid coatings is very successful in lowering the innate immune response during allogeneic transplantation in large animal models and Miura teaches PEG-lipid modification did not exert toxicity on living cells.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
/Z.M.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1632
/MARCIA S NOBLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1632