DETAILED ACTION
first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Status of Claims
The amendments filed on 04/30/2026 has been entered. The present application is being examined under the claims filed on 04/30/2026. The status of the claims is as follows:
Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application.
Claims 1, 11 and 20 are amended.
Response to Arguments
In reference to Rejections under 35 U.S.C 101:
Argument:
The Office contends that the training element, which is not cited as an
alleged abstract idea under the Step 2A, Prong 1 analysis, is akin to "[a]dding the words 'apply9
it'... with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea... and therefore fails to integrate the exception into a practical application," (Instant Action, p. 9). However, Applicant respectfully contends that the training element is not merely "adding the words 'apply it"' as alleged by the Office. Rather, the instant element(s) of the claim are directed to an addition of a particular and unique data field generated prior to and for training as an inventive concept to improve the system and functioning of the model as a whole. Notably, by generating merged features representative of commonalities between different data modalities (e.g., text and image/video) prior to training the model and using the merged features in conjunction with only the unique features for training the model, what the specification refers to as "early fusion" is performed, and redundant data can be discarded. Moreover, Applicant respectfully contends that the claims reflect the improvement. In particular, Applicant respectfully contends that the use of both merged data and unique data in training the model, and generating the merged data prior to performing the training to emphasize the early fusion aspect, as recited in the claims, comprises an additional element in the claims that provides the improvement described in the specification under Step 2B. As detailed above, a technical problem to which the instant claim 1 provides a technical solution originates in training the model. As such, Applicant respectfully contends that the improvement and inventive concept arises from an additional element as identified in the instant action (e.g., training the model), and reflects the disclosed improvement. Therefore, Applicant respectfully contends that the claim recites additional elements that amount to significantly more than an alleged judicial exception under Step 2B. Applicant respectfully contends, therefore, that amended claim 1 includes additional
element(s) that amount to significantly more than the alleged judicial exception at least because claim 1 introduces an inventive concept that provides a technical solution to a technical problem. Independent claims 11 and 20 are directed to patent-eligible subject matter at least for reasons similar to those discussed above in connection with claim 1. Each of the dependent claims is patent-eligible at least for the same reasons as its respective base claim. Accordingly, Applicant respectfully submits that the pending claims are allowable under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Response:
Applicant’s argument is not persuasive. The amended language still recites using generic processing circuits to identify text and image or video features, merge common features, train a model, and classify content. While the amendment describes what data is used before training, it does not recite a specific technical improvement to the model, computer operation, or feature-merging process itself. Rather, the claim uses a computer as a tool to organize and analyze information for classification. Therefore, the amendment does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The 101 rejection is maintained.
In reference to Rejections under 35 U.S.C 103:
Argument:
Applicant argues that Zhang and Kennedy do not teach the newly amended limitation of merging the features before applying the features to a model and before training a model.
Response:
Applicant’s argument is not persuasive. Examiner respectfully notes that Zhang teaches generating merged features prior to training a model because Zhang discloses concatenating the clip-level feature with the contextual video-level feature and building or training a two-layer LSTM caption generator based on that combined representation. Thus, the concatenated representation is used as input for training the caption model. The 103 rejection is therefore maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under U.S.C 101 for containing an abstract idea without significantly more.
Regarding claim 1:
Step 1 – Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Yes, the claim is a process.
Step 2A – Prong 1 – Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
Yes, the claim recites an abstract idea.
identifying, [by the one or more processing circuits], first features of each of the plurality of first data elements; - This limitation is directed to the abstract idea of a mental process (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion) which can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using pen and paper (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) Ill. C.)
identifying, [by the one or more processing circuits], second features of each of the plurality of second data elements; - This limitation is directed to the abstract idea of a mental process (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion) which can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using pen and paper (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) Ill. C.)
generating, [by the one or more processing circuits], merged features by combining a first feature of the first features of each of the plurality of first data elements with a second feature of the second features of one of the plurality of second data elements prior to applying any of the first features, the second features, or the merged features to a model, wherein the first feature and the second feature each represent a common feature; - This limitation is directed to the abstract idea of a mental process (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion) which can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using pen and paper (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) Ill. C.)
classify a content item based on the model, wherein the content item includes content text and at least one of a content image or a content video. - This limitation is directed to the abstract idea of a mental process (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion) which can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using pen and paper (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) Ill. C.)
Step 2A – Prong 2 – Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
No, there are no additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The additional elements:
by one or more processing circuits – This limitation is directed to a computer merely used as a tool to perform an existing process (see MPEP 2106.05(f) (2)).
receiving, [by one or more processing circuits], a plurality of first data elements of a first data type and a plurality of second data elements of a second data type, wherein the first data type is text data and the second data type is at least one of image data or video data; This limitation is directed to insignificant extra-solution activity – mere data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
training, [by the one or more processing circuits], a model based on the merged features and at least a first portion of the first features and a second portion of the second features,- Adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea [see MPEP 2106.05(f)] and therefore fails to integrate the exception into a practical application.
wherein the first portion of the first features is a first subset of features unique to the first data type of the plurality of first data elements and the second portion of the second features is a second subset of features unique to the second data type of the plurality of second data elements; and Adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea [see MPEP 2106.05(f)] and therefore fails to integrate the exception into a practical application.
Step 2B – Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No, there are no additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional elements are:
by one or more processing circuits – This limitation is directed to a computer merely used as a tool to perform an existing process (see MPEP 2106.05(f) (2)).
receiving, [by one or more processing circuits], a plurality of first data elements of a first data type and a plurality of second data elements of a second data type, wherein the first data type is text data and the second data type is at least one of image data or video data; This limitation is directed to insignificant extra-solution activity – mere data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
training, [by the one or more processing circuits], a model based on the merged features and at least a first portion of the first features and a second portion of the second features,- Adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea [see MPEP 2106.05(f)] and therefore fails to integrate the exception into a practical application.
wherein the first portion of the first features is a first subset of features unique to the first data type of the plurality of first data elements and the second portion of the second features is a second subset of features unique to the second data type of the plurality of second data elements; and Adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea [see MPEP 2106.05(f)] and therefore fails to integrate the exception into a practical application.
Regarding claim 2,
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim is dependent on claim 1 which includes an abstract idea (see rejection for claim 1). The additional limitations:
wherein each of the plurality of first data elements is associated with one of the plurality of second data elements; This claim merely recites a further limitation on the receiving, [by one or more processing circuits], a plurality of first data elements of a first data type and a plurality of second data elements of a second data type, wherein the first data type is text data and the second data type is at least one of image data or video data from Claim 1 which was directed to insignificant extra-solution activity – mere data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
wherein generating, [by the one or more processing circuits], the merged features comprises combining the first feature of the first features of each of the plurality of first data elements with the second feature of the second features of the one of the plurality of second data elements that each of the plurality of first data elements is associated with. - This limitation is directed to the abstract idea of a mental process (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion) which can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using pen and paper (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) Ill. C.)
by the one or more processing circuits This limitation is directed to a computer merely used as a tool to perform an existing process (see MPEP 2106.05(f) (2)).
Regarding claim 3,
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim is dependent on claim 1 which includes an abstract idea (see rejection for claim 1). The additional limitations:
wherein identifying, [by the one or more processing circuits], the first features and the second features comprise applying one or more models to the plurality of first data elements and the plurality of second data elements - Adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea [see MPEP 2106.05(f)] and therefore fails to integrate the exception into a practical application.
wherein the one or more models extract the first features from the plurality of first data elements and extract the second features from the plurality of second data elements. This limitation is directed to insignificant extra-solution activity – mere data outputting (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
by the one or more processing circuits – This limitation is directed to a computer merely used as a tool to perform an existing process (see MPEP 2106.05(f) (2)).
Regarding claim 4,
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim is dependent on claim 3 which includes an abstract idea (see rejection for claim 3). The additional limitations:
wherein the one or more models include at least one of an image embedding model, a video embedding model, an object recognition model, an audio translation model, and an optical character recognition model. This claim merely recites a further limitation on the training, [by the one or more processing circuits], a model based on the common features and at least a portion of the first features and the second features from Claim 1 which was directed to Adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea [see MPEP 2106.05(f)] and therefore fails to integrate the exception into a practical application.
Regarding claim 5,
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim is dependent on claim 1 which includes an abstract idea (see rejection for claim 1). The additional limitations:
wherein combining the first feature with the second feature comprises performing an operation on a first value of the first feature representing a first confidence of the first feature with a second value of the second feature representing a second confidence of the second feature. - This limitation is directed to mathematical calculation (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) l. C.) as it is combining the first feature with the second feature by using a mathematical operation, such as summation, subtraction, multiplication, averaging, determining a median, etc. (see Instant Specification ¶[0039])
Regarding claim 6,
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim is dependent on claim 5 which includes an abstract idea (see rejection for claim 5). The additional limitations:
wherein the operation is at least one of: a maximum operation that selects a maximum of the first value and the second value; This claim merely recites a further limitation on the wherein combining the first feature with the second feature comprises performing an operation on a first value of the first feature representing a first confidence of the first feature with a second value of the second feature representing a second confidence of the second feature from Claim 5 which was directed to mathematical calculation (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) l. C.) as it is combining the first feature with the second feature by using a mathematical operation, such as summation, subtraction, multiplication, averaging, determining a median, etc. (see Instant Specification ¶[0039])
a summation operation that sums the first value and the second value; This claim merely recites a further limitation on the wherein combining the first feature with the second feature comprises performing an operation on a first value of the first feature representing a first confidence of the first feature with a second value of the second feature representing a second confidence of the second feature from Claim 5 which was directed to mathematical calculation (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) l. C.) as it is combining the first feature with the second feature by using a mathematical operation, such as summation, subtraction, multiplication, averaging, determining a median, etc. (see Instant Specification ¶[0039])
a median operation that determines a median of the first value and the second value; and This claim merely recites a further limitation on the wherein combining the first feature with the second feature comprises performing an operation on a first value of the first feature representing a first confidence of the first feature with a second value of the second feature representing a second confidence of the second feature from Claim 5 which was directed to mathematical calculation (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) l. C.) as it is combining the first feature with the second feature by using a mathematical operation, such as summation, subtraction, multiplication, averaging, determining a median, etc. (see Instant Specification ¶[0039])
a minimum operation that selects a minimum of the first value and the second value. This claim merely recites a further limitation on the wherein combining the first feature with the second feature comprises performing an operation on a first value of the first feature representing a first confidence of the first feature with a second value of the second feature representing a second confidence of the second feature from Claim 5 which was directed to mathematical calculation (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) l. C.) as it is combining the first feature with the second feature by using a mathematical operation, such as summation, subtraction, multiplication, averaging, determining a median, etc. (see Instant Specification ¶[0039])
Regarding claim 7,
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim is dependent on claim 1 which includes an abstract idea (see rejection for claim 1). The additional limitations:
by the one or more processing circuits – This limitation is directed to a computer merely used as a tool to perform an existing process (see MPEP 2106.05(f) (2)).
receiving, [by the one or more processing circuits], a data element comprising a first data element of the first data type and a second data element of the second data type; This limitation is directed to insignificant extra-solution activity – mere data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
extracting, [by the one or more processing circuits], first inference features of the first data element and second inference features of the second data element; This limitation is directed to insignificant extra-solution activity – mere data outputting (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
generating, [by the one or more processing circuits], one or more merged features by combining one or more of the first inference features with one or more of the second inference features, wherein each of the one or more of the first inference features is a particular common feature to one of the one or more of the second inference features; - This limitation is directed to the abstract idea of a mental process (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion) which can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using pen and paper (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) Ill. C.)
identifying, [by the one or more processing circuits], unique first classification features of the first subset of features unique to the first data type; - This limitation is directed to the abstract idea of a mental process (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion) which can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using pen and paper (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) Ill. C.)
identifying, [by the one or more processing circuits], unique second classification features of the second subset of features unique to the second data type; and - This limitation is directed to the abstract idea of a mental process (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion) which can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using pen and paper (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) Ill. C.)
generating, [by the one or more processing circuits], a model output of the model by applying the one or more merged features, the unique first classification features, the unique second classification features as inputs to the model. - Adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea [see MPEP 2106.05(f)] and therefore fails to integrate the exception into a practical application.
Regarding claim 8,
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim is dependent on claim 1 which includes an abstract idea (see rejection for claim 1). The additional limitations:
wherein the first data type is a text based data type and the second data type is at least one of an image data type or a video data type. This claim merely recites a further limitation on the receiving, [by one or more processing circuits], a plurality of first data elements of a first data type and a plurality of second data elements of a second data type, wherein the first data type is text data and the second data type is at least one of image data or video data from Claim 1 which was directed to insignificant extra-solution activity – mere data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Regarding claim 9,
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim is dependent on claim 8 which includes an abstract idea (see rejection for claim 8). The additional limitations:
wherein at least a first portion of the plurality of first data elements are associated with first data element labels and at least a second portion of the plurality of second data elements are associated with second data element labels, This claim merely recites a further limitation on the receiving, [by one or more processing circuits], a plurality of first data elements of a first data type and a plurality of second data elements of a second data type, wherein the first data type is text data and the second data type is at least one of image data or video data from Claim 1 which was directed to insignificant extra-solution activity – mere data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
wherein a first number of the first data element labels is greater than a second number of the second data element labels; This claim merely recites a further limitation on the receiving, [by one or more processing circuits], a plurality of first data elements of a first data type and a plurality of second data elements of a second data type, wherein the first data type is text data and the second data type is at least one of image data or video data from Claim 1 which was directed to insignificant extra-solution activity – mere data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
wherein training, [by the one or more processing circuits], the model is further based on the first data element labels and the second data element labels - Adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea [see MPEP 2106.05(f)] and therefore fails to integrate the exception into a practical application.
by the one or more processing circuits – This limitation is directed to a computer merely used as a tool to perform an existing process (see MPEP 2106.05(f) (2)).
Regarding claim 10,
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim is dependent on claim 8 which includes an abstract idea (see rejection for claim 8). The additional limitations:
wherein at least a first portion of the plurality of first data elements are associated with first data element labels and none of the plurality of second data elements are associated with second data element labels; This claim merely recites a further limitation on the receiving, [by one or more processing circuits], a plurality of first data elements of a first data type and a plurality of second data elements of a second data type, wherein the first data type is text data and the second data type is at least one of image data or video data from Claim 1 which was directed to insignificant extra-solution activity – mere data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
wherein training, [by the one or more processing circuits], the model is further based on the first data element labels. - Adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea [see MPEP 2106.05(f)] and therefore fails to integrate the exception into a practical application.
by the one or more processing circuits – This limitation is directed to a computer merely used as a tool to perform an existing process (see MPEP 2106.05(f) (2)).
Regarding claim 11:
Step 1 – Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Yes, the claim is a process.
Step 2A – Prong 1 – Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
Yes, the claim recites an abstract idea.
identify first features of each of the plurality of first data elements;- This limitation is directed to the abstract idea of a mental process (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion) which can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using pen and paper (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) Ill. C.)
identify second features of each of the plurality of second data elements;- This limitation is directed to the abstract idea of a mental process (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion) which can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using pen and paper (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) Ill. C.)
generate merged features by combining a first feature of the first features of each of the plurality of first data elements with a second feature of the second features of one of the plurality of second data elements prior to applying any of the first features, the second features, or the merged features to a model, wherein the first feature and the second feature each represent a common feature;- This limitation is directed to the abstract idea of a mental process (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion) which can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using pen and paper (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) Ill. C.)
Step 2A – Prong 2 – Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
No, there are no additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The additional elements:
A system including one or more memory devices configured to store instructions thereon, that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to – This limitation is directed to a computer merely used as a tool to perform an existing process (see MPEP 2106.05(f) (2)).
receive a plurality of first data elements of a first data type and a plurality of second data elements of a second data type; This limitation is directed to insignificant extra-solution activity – mere data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
train a model based on the merged features and at least a first portion of the first features and a second portion of the second features, - Adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea [see MPEP 2106.05(f)] and therefore fails to integrate the exception into a practical application.
wherein the first portion of the first features is a first subset of features unique to the first data type of the plurality of first data elements and the second portion of the second features is a second subset of features unique to the second data type of the plurality of second data elements - Adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea [see MPEP 2106.05(f)] and therefore fails to integrate the exception into a practical application.
Step 2B – Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No, there are no additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional elements are:
A system including one or more memory devices configured to store instructions thereon, that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to – This limitation is directed to a computer merely used as a tool to perform an existing process (see MPEP 2106.05(f) (2)).
receive a plurality of first data elements of a first data type and a plurality of second data elements of a second data type; This limitation is directed to insignificant extra-solution activity – mere data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
train a model based on the merged features and at least a first portion of the first features and a second portion of the second features, - Adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea [see MPEP 2106.05(f)] and therefore fails to integrate the exception into a practical application.
wherein the first portion of the first features is a first subset of features unique to the first data type of the plurality of first data elements and the second portion of the second features is a second subset of features unique to the second data type of the plurality of second data elements - Adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea [see MPEP 2106.05(f)] and therefore fails to integrate the exception into a practical application.
Regarding claim 12,
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim is dependent on claim 11 which includes an abstract idea (see rejection for claim 11). The additional limitations:
wherein each of the plurality of first data elements is associated with one of the plurality of second data elements; This claim merely recites a further limitation on the receive a plurality of first data elements of a first data type and a plurality of second data elements of a second data type from Claim 11 which was directed to insignificant extra-solution activity – mere data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
wherein the instructions cause the one or more processors to – This limitation is directed to a computer merely used as a tool to perform an existing process (see MPEP 2106.05(f) (2)).
generate the merged features comprises combining the first feature of the first features of each of the plurality of first data elements with the second feature of the second features of the one of the plurality of second data elements that each of the plurality of first data elements is associated with. - This limitation is directed to the abstract idea of a mental process (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion) which can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using pen and paper (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) Ill. C.)
Regarding claim 13,
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim is dependent on claim 11 which includes an abstract idea (see rejection for claim 11). The additional limitations:
wherein the instructions cause the one or more processors to – This limitation is directed to a computer merely used as a tool to perform an existing process (see MPEP 2106.05(f) (2)).
identify the first features and the second features comprise applying one or more models to the plurality of first data elements and the plurality of second data elements, - Adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea [see MPEP 2106.05(f)] and therefore fails to integrate the exception into a practical application.
wherein the one or more models extract the first features from the plurality of first data elements and extract the second features from the plurality of second data elements. This limitation is directed to insignificant extra-solution activity – mere data outputting (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Regarding claim 14,
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim is dependent on claim 11 which includes an abstract idea (see rejection for claim 11). The additional limitations:
wherein combining the first feature with the second feature comprises performing an operation on a first value of the first feature representing a first confidence of the first feature with a second value of the second feature representing a second confidence of the second feature. - This limitation is directed to mathematical calculation (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) l. C.) as it is combining the first feature with the second feature by using a mathematical operation, such as summation, subtraction, multiplication, averaging, determining a median, etc. (see Instant Specification ¶[0039])
Regarding claim 15,
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim is dependent on claim 11 which includes an abstract idea (see rejection for claim 11). The additional limitations:
wherein the instructions cause the one or more processors to: – This limitation is directed to a computer merely used as a tool to perform an existing process (see MPEP 2106.05(f) (2)).
receive a data element comprising a first data element of the first data type and a second data element of the second data type; This limitation is directed to insignificant extra-solution activity – mere data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
extract first inference features of the first data element and second inference features of the second data element; This limitation is directed to insignificant extra-solution activity – mere data outputting (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
generate one or more merged features by combining one or more of the first inference features with one or more of the second inference features, wherein each of the one or more of the first inference features is a particular common feature to one of the one or more of the second inference features; - This limitation is directed to the abstract idea of a mental process (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion) which can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using pen and paper (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) Ill. C.)
identify unique first classification features of the first subset of features unique to the first data type; - This limitation is directed to the abstract idea of a mental process (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion) which can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using pen and paper (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) Ill. C.)
identify unique second classification features of the second subset of features unique to the second data type; and - This limitation is directed to the abstract idea of a mental process (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion) which can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using pen and paper (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) Ill. C.)
generate a model output of the model by applying the one or more merged features, the unique first classification features, the unique second classification features as inputs to the model. - Adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea [see MPEP 2106.05(f)] and therefore fails to integrate the exception into a practical application.
Regarding claim 16,
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim is dependent on claim 15 which includes an abstract idea (see rejection for claim 15). The additional limitations:
wherein the data element is a content item comprising multiple content types, wherein the first data element is text data while the second data element is at least one of image data or video data. This claim merely recites a further limitation on the receive a data element comprising a first data element of the first data type and a second data element of the second data type from Claim 15 which was directed to insignificant extra-solution activity – mere data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Regarding claim 17,
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim is dependent on claim 11 which includes an abstract idea (see rejection for claim 11). The additional limitations:
wherein the first data type is a text based data type and the second data type is at least one of an image data type or a video data type. This claim merely recites a further limitation on the receive a data element comprising a first data element of the first data type and a second data element of the second data type from Claim 11 which was directed to insignificant extra-solution activity – mere data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Regarding claim 18,
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim is dependent on claim 17 which includes an abstract idea (see rejection for claim 17). The additional limitations:
wherein at least a first portion of the plurality of first data elements are associated with first data element labels and at least a second portion of the plurality of second data elements are associated with second data element labels, This claim merely recites a further limitation on the receive a data element comprising a first data element of the first data type and a second data element of the second data type from Claim 11 which was directed to insignificant extra-solution activity – mere data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
wherein a first number of the first data element labels is greater than a second number of the second data element labels; This claim merely recites a further limitation on the receive a data element comprising a first data element of the first data type and a second data element of the second data type from Claim 11 which was directed to insignificant extra-solution activity – mere data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
wherein the instructions cause the one or more processors to – This limitation is directed to a computer merely used as a tool to perform an existing process (see MPEP 2106.05(f) (2)).
train the model further based on the first data element labels and the second data element labels. - Adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea [see MPEP 2106.05(f)] and therefore fails to integrate the exception into a practical application.
Regarding claim 19,
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim is dependent on claim 17 which includes an abstract idea (see rejection for claim 17). The additional limitations:
wherein at least a first portion of the plurality of first data elements are associated with first data element labels and none of the plurality of second data elements are associated with second data element labels; This claim merely recites a further limitation on the receive a data element comprising a first data element of the first data type and a second data element of the second data type from Claim 11 which was directed to insignificant extra-solution activity – mere data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Regarding claim 20:
Step 1 – Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Yes, the claim is a process.
Step 2A – Prong 1 – Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
Yes, the claim recites an abstract idea.
identify first features of each of the plurality of first data elements;- This limitation is directed to the abstract idea of a mental process (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion) which can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using pen and paper (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) Ill. C.)
identify features of each of the plurality of second data elements;- This limitation is directed to the abstract idea of a mental process (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion) which can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using pen and paper (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) Ill. C.)
generate merged features by combining a first feature of the first features of each of the plurality of first data elements with a second feature of the second features of one of the plurality of second data elements prior to applying any of the first features, the second features, or the merged features to a model, wherein the first feature and the second feature each represent a common feature;- This limitation is directed to the abstract idea of a mental process (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion) which can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using pen and paper (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) Ill. C.)
Step 2A – Prong 2 – Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
No, there are no additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The additional elements:
One or more computer readable storage media configured to store instructions thereon that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to:– This limitation is directed to a computer merely used as a tool to perform an existing process (see MPEP 2106.05(f) (2)).
receive a plurality of first data elements of a first data type and a plurality of second data elements of a second data type; This limitation is directed to insignificant extra-solution activity – mere data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
train a model based on the merged features and at least a first portion of the first features and a second portion of the second features, - Adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea [see MPEP 2106.05(f)] and therefore fails to integrate the exception into a practical application.
wherein the first portion of the first features is a first subset of features unique to the first data type of the plurality of first data elements and the second portion of the second features is a second subset of features unique to the second data type of the plurality of second data elements - Adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea [see MPEP 2106.05(f)] and therefore fails to integrate the exception into a practical application.
Step 2B – Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No, there are no additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional elements are:
One or more computer readable storage media configured to store instructions thereon that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to:– This limitation is directed to a computer merely used as a tool to perform an existing process (see MPEP 2106.05(f) (2)).
receive a plurality of first data elements of a first data type and a plurality of second data elements of a second data type; This limitation is directed to insignificant extra-solution activity – mere data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
train a model based on the merged features and at least a first portion of the first features and a second portion of the second features, - Adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea [see MPEP 2106.05(f)] and therefore fails to integrate the exception into a practical application.
wherein the first portion of the first features is a first subset of features unique to the first data type of the plurality of first data elements and the second portion of the second features is a second subset of features unique to the second data type of the plurality of second data elements - Adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea [see MPEP 2106.05(f)] and therefore fails to integrate the exception into a practical application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10, 13-16, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (“Cross-Modal and Hierarchical Modeling of Video and Text”) (hereafter referred to as “Zhang”) in view of Leonardo et al. (“Fusing Visual and Textual Information to Determine Content Safety”) (hereafter referred to as “Leonardo”) and further in view of Kennedy et al (US 10,789,284 B2) (hereafter referred to as “Kennedy”)
As per claim 1, Zhang explicitly discloses:
A method comprising: receiving, by one or more processing circuits, a plurality of first data elements of a first data type and a plurality of second data elements of a second data type, wherein the first data type is text data and the second data type is at least one of image data or video data; (Zhang, Page 2, Figure 1: “Conceptual diagram of our approach for cross-modal modeling of video and texts. The main idea is to embed both low-level (clips and sentences) and high-level (video and paragraph) in their own semantic spaces coherently.
”) [Examiner’s note: a first data elements i.e., multiple sentences for text data, a second data elements i.e., multiple clips for video data]
identifying, by the one or more processing circuits, first features of each of the
plurality of first data elements; (Zhang, Page 4, Section 3.1: “Likewise, we assume there is a paragraph of texts describing the video. The paragraph p contains n sentences, one for each video clip. Let si denote the ith sentence and wij the feature for the jth word out of n’i words.”) (Examiner’s note: features of first data elements is being interpreted as feature wij for the jth word of multiple sentences (i.e., first data elements as shown above) for text data)
identifying, by the one or more processing circuits, second features of each of the plurality of second data elements; (Zhang, Page 4, Section 3.1: “A video v has n clips (or subshots), where each clip ci contains ni frames. Each frame is represented by a visual feature vector xij .”) (Examiner’s note: features of second data elements is being interpreted as a visual feature vector xij of multiple clips (i.e., second data elements as shown above) for video data)
generating, by the one or more processing circuits, merged features by combining a first feature of the first features of each of the plurality of first data elements with a second feature of the second features of one of the plurality of second data elements prior to applying any of the first features, the second features, or the merged features to a model, (Zhang, Page 12, Section 4.3: “In addition to the video paragraph retrieval, we evaluate our learned embeddings for video captioning. Specifically, we follow [20] and train a caption model [40] on top of the pre-trained video embeddings. Similar to [20], we concatenate the clip-level feature with contextual video-level feature, and build a two-layer LSTM as a caption generator.”) [Examiner’s note: merged features is being interpreted as the learned embeddings for video captioning]
wherein the first feature and the second feature each represent a common feature; (Zhang, Page, 8, Section 4.1: “Each video contains multiple clips and a corresponding paragraph with sentences aligned to the clips.”, Page 2, Figure 1: “Conceptual diagram of our approach for cross-modal modeling of video and texts. The main idea is to embed both low-level (clips and sentences) and high-level (video and paragraph) in their own semantic spaces coherently. As shown in the figure, the 3 sentences (and the corresponding 3 clips) are mapped into a local embedding space where the corresponding pairs of clips and sentences are placed close to each other. As a whole, the videos and the paragraphs are mapped into a global semantic space where their embeddings are close.
”) [Examiner’s note: pairs of clips and sentences in red, blue, green share a common feature i.e., a corresponding paragraph with sentences aligned to the video clips]
Zhang fails to disclose:
by one or more processing circuits
training, by the one or more processing circuits, a model based on the merged features and at least a first portion of the first features and a second portion of the second features,
wherein the first portion of the first features is a first subset of features unique to the first data type of the plurality of first data elements and the second portion of the second features is a second subset of features unique to the second data type of the plurality of second data elements
classify a content item based on the model, wherein the content item includes content text and at least one of a content image or a content video
However, Kennedy explicitly discloses
by one or more processing circuits (Kennedy, Col. 16, Lines 59-67: “Processor(s)
810 can execute under any operating system (OS) (not shown), in a native or virtual environment. One or more applications can be deployed that include logic unit 855, application programming interface (API) unit 860, input unit 865, output unit 870, pairing unit 875, feature extraction unit 880, ranking unit 885, pair association unit 890, and inter-unit communication mechanism 895 for the different units to communicate with each other, with the OS, and with other applications (not shown).”)
training, by the one or more processing circuits, a model based on the merged features and at least a first portion of the first features and a second portion of the second features, (Kennedy, Col. 5, Lines 30-47: “As illustrated in FIG. 1, user input is received by the system at 105. This user input may include a user's set of images and user-provided captions that the user would like illustrated. After the user input has been received, the system may generate caption-image pairs at 110 by pairing each provided caption with each possible image in the user provided image set. At 115, features may be extracted for both the captions and images to produce featuring embeddings associated with both the captions and the images. The feature extraction of 115 may be performed using a neural network that has been trained at 135 using training data. The training data may include user manually-generated image collection or photo books that have been captioned by users using photo album editing or photo book generation platforms, which may be web-based, mobile application based, or installed on the local machine. For each image/caption pair, the features (embeddings) may be concatenated together.”) [Examiner’s note: “the merged features” is being interpreted as the “image-caption pair data”, “a first portion of the first features and a second portion of the second features” is being interpreted as the “featuring embeddings associated with both the captions and the images”]
wherein the first portion of the first features is a first subset of features unique to the first data type of the plurality of first data elements and the second portion of the second features is a second subset of features unique to the second data type of the plurality of second data elements
(Kennedy, Col. 11, Lines 56-63: “In the process 500, a plurality of images or content representations may be clustered or divided into subsets of images or content representations based on content similarities between different images or content representations at 505. This may include extracting content features from the content representations or images to produce featuring embeddings. The feature extraction may be performed using a neural network that has been trained using training data.”)
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Zhang and Kennedy. Zhang teaches a novel cross-modal learning approach to model both videos and texts jointly. Kennedy teaches system and method for associating textual summaries with content media. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Zhang and Kennedy to enable the model to learn joint representations that capture correlations across different data types (e.g., text and image), while the retention of unique feature subsets preserves modality-specific information that may otherwise be diluted or list during fusion. This approach enhances learning capacity and flexibility, particularly in multi-modal systems where different data sources contribute complementary insights.
However, Leonardo explicitly discloses:
classify a content item based on the model, wherein the content item includes content text and at least one of a content image or a content video. (Leonardo, Page 2027, Col. 1, Section II, ¶2]: “Since web pages are composed of images and text, we use multimodal machine learning for content safety classification. Multimodal machine learning is an approach used to fuse various modalities, or ways in which data is perceived and experienced, to improve the classification of data”, Page 2027, Col. 1, Section II, ¶[3]: “Most of the research so far in content safety classification is done using textual information. However, when classifying the content safety of web pages, it is important to consider both visual and textual data. Our work uses a multimodal approach, combining visual and textual features from web pages, for content safety classification in advertising.”) [Examiner’s note: classify a content item i.e., classify web pages which contain visual and textual features for content safety in advertising, model i.e., the multimodal machine learning model]
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Zhang and Leonardo. Zhang teaches a novel cross-modal learning approach to model both videos and texts jointly. Leonardo teaches a multimodal machine learning framework that fuses visual and textual information from web pages to improve current predictions of content safety. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Zhang and Leonardo to improve the classification of data by using multimodal machine learning to fuse various modalities, which will help to enhance the accuracy of classification model (Leonardo, Page 2027, Col. 1, Section II)
As per claim 2, the combination of Zhang, Kennedy and Leonardo discloses all the limitations of claim 1 (as shown in the rejections above).
Zhang in view of Kennedy and Leonardo further discloses:
wherein each of the plurality of first data elements is associated with one of the plurality of second data elements; (Zhang, Page 8, Section 4.1, ¶[1]: “Each video contains multiple clips and a corresponding paragraph with sentences aligned to the clips.”, Page 2, Figure 1:
”) [Examiner’s note: first data elements i.e., multiple sentences of text data, second data elements i.e., multiple clips of video data]
wherein generating, by the one or more processing circuits, the merged features comprises combining the first feature of the first features of each of the plurality of first data elements with the second feature of the second features of the one of the plurality of second data elements that each of the plurality of first data elements is associated with. (Zhang, Page 12, Section 4.3: “In addition to the video paragraph retrieval, we evaluate our learned embeddings for video captioning. Specifically, we follow [20] and train a caption model [40] on top of the pre-trained video embeddings. Similar to [20], we concatenate the clip-level feature with contextual video-level feature, and build a two-layer LSTM as a caption generator.”) [Examiner’s note: merged features is being interpreted as the learned embeddings for video captioning]
As per claim 3, the combination of Zhang, Kennedy and Leonardo discloses all the limitations of claim 1 (as shown in the rejections above).
Zhang in view of Kennedy and Leonardo further discloses:
wherein identifying, by the one or more processing circuits, the first features and the second features comprise (Zhang, Page 4, Section 3.1: “Likewise, we assume there is a paragraph of texts describing the video. The paragraph p contains n sentences, one for each video clip. Let si denote the ith sentence and wij the feature for the jth word out of n’i words.”, Zhang, Page 4, Section 3.1: “A video v has n clips (or subshots), where each clip ci contains ni frames. Each frame is represented by a visual feature vector xij .”) (Examiner’s note: features of first data elements is being interpreted as feature wij for the jth word of multiple sentences (i.e., first data elements as shown above) for text data, features of second data elements is being interpreted as a visual feature vector xij of multiple clips (i.e., second data elements as shown above) for video data)
applying one or more models to the plurality of first data elements and the plurality of second data elements, (Leonardo, Page 2026, Col. 2, ¶[2]: “In early fusion, intermediate features from separate modalities are extracted and jointly represented, then learned with one single model. Given separate, pre-trained computer vision (CV) and natural language processing (NLP) models, our fully automated framework uses late fusion to classify web pages as either safe or threat, as well as into 10 possible threat categories.”, Leonardo, Page 2027, Col. 1, Section III.A, ¶[1-2]: “We are analyzing two modalities present in a web page: visual signals and natural language. One classifier for each modality was trained to determine content safety. For the CV model, a Squeeze-and-Excitation (SE) Network [9] was trained using initial weights from ImageNet’s image classification task [10] and fine-tuned on web page images. For the NLP model, a Universal Language Model Finetuning Framework (ULMFiT) [11] was trained and fine-tuned.”,) [Examiner’s note: “one or more models” is being interpreted as the pre-trained computer vision (CV) and natural language processing (NPL) models, first data elements i.e., natural language of web pages, second data elements i.e., visual signals or images of web pages]
wherein the one or more models extract the first features from the plurality of first data elements and extract the second features from the plurality of second data elements. (Leonardo, Page 2029, Col. 2, Section 2: “CNNs are used extensively for difficult classification tasks due to their ability to find patterns in the input data with high accuracy [22]. They are especially useful on spatial input data in which the output depends on the position of each individual feature. For this work, CNNs are used on the intermediate features extracted from the CV model and the NLP model to perform binary classification.”) [Examiner’s note: “one or more models” is being interpreted as the pre-trained computer vision (CV) and natural language processing (NPL) models, first and second features of first and second data elements i.e., the intermediate features of text data and image data]
As per claim 4, the combination of Zhang, Kennedy and Leonardo discloses all the limitations of claim 3 (as shown in the rejections above).
Zhang in view of Kennedy and Leonardo further discloses:
wherein the one or more models include at least one of an image embedding model, a video embedding model, an object recognition model, an audio translation model, and an optical character recognition model. (Leonardo, Page 2026, Col. 2, ¶[2]: “Given separate, pre-trained computer vision (CV) and natural language processing (NLP) models, our fully automated framework uses late fusion to classify web pages as either safe or threat, as well as into 10 possible threat categories.”, Page 2027, Col. 1, Section III.A: “For the CV model, a Squeeze-and-Excitation (SE) Network [9] was trained using initial weights from ImageNet’s image classification task [10] and fine-tuned on web page images (Figure 1).”) [Examiner’s note: computer vision model i.e., an object recognition model]
As per claim 5, the combination of Zhang, Kennedy and Leonardo discloses all the limitations of claim 1 (as shown in the rejections above).
Zhang in view of Kennedy and Leonardo further discloses:
wherein combining the first feature with the second feature comprises performing an operation on a first value of the first feature representing a first confidence of the first feature with a second value of the second feature representing a second confidence of the second feature. (Leonardo, Page 2028, Col. 1, Section IV.A.1: “Since unique web pages in the dataset are often associated with multiple images, the visual features of these images are combined first by choosing the minimum value of x0 (confidence score for TC0) and maximum value for xi (confidence score for threat TCi, i = 1, 2, . . . , 9), componentwise across all the images corresponding to the same web page. The method used for merging different x’s using the aforementioned criteria is named minmax.… Now, a single 10-dimensional vector represents the features from all the images in a web page and another 10-dimensional vector represents the textual features. In order to merge both and train them altogether, we can average each component, concatenate them both or use the minmax method. The results from any of the three methods arrive at xwp, a vector that’s comprised of visual and textual features from a web page, while y represents xwp’s ground truth.”) [Examiner’s note: an operation i.e., the minmax method, first value representing a first confidence i.e., the confidence score for visual features, the second value representing a second confidence i.e., the confidence score for textual features]
As per claim 6, the combination of Zhang, Kennedy and Leonardo discloses all the limitations of claim 5 (as shown in the rejections above).
Zhang in view of Kennedy and Leonardo further discloses:
wherein the operation is at least one of: a maximum operation that selects a maximum of the first value and the second value; a summation operation that sums the first value and the second value; a median operation that determines a median of the first value and the second value; and a minimum operation that selects a minimum of the first value and the second value. (Leonardo, Page 2028, Col. 1, Section IV.A.1: “Since unique web pages in the dataset are often associated with multiple images, the visual features of these images are combined first by choosing the minimum value of x0 (confidence score for TC0) and maximum value for xi (confidence score for threat TCi, i = 1, 2, . . . , 9), componentwise across all the images corresponding to the same web page. The method used for merging different x’s using the aforementioned criteria is named minmax.… Now, a single 10-dimensional vector represents the features from all the images in a web page and another 10-dimensional vector represents the textual features. In order to merge both and train them altogether, we can average each component, concatenate them both or use the minmax method. The results from any of the three methods arrive at xwp, a vector that’s comprised of visual and textual features from a web page, while y represents xwp’s ground truth.”) [Examiner’s note: first and second value i.e., the confidence score corresponding to visual features and textual features, the minmax operation i.e., selecting maximum value and selecting minimum value, concatenation operation i.e., summation operation]
As per claim 7, the combination of Zhang, Kennedy and Leonardo discloses all the limitations of claim 1 (as shown in the rejections above).
Zhang in view of Kennedy and Leonardo further discloses:
receiving, by the one or more processing circuits, a data element comprising a first data element of the first data type and a second data element of the second data type; (Zhang, Page 2, Figure 1: “Conceptual diagram of our approach for cross-modal modeling of video and texts. The main idea is to embed both low-level (clips and sentences) and high-level (video and paragraph) in their own semantic spaces coherently.
”) [Examiner’s note: a first data elements i.e., multiple sentences for text data, a second data elements i.e., multiple clips for video data]
by one or more processing circuits (Kennedy, Col. 16, Lines 59-67: “Processor(s) 810 can execute under any operating system (OS) (not shown), in a native or virtual environment. One or more applications can be deployed that include logic unit 855, application programming interface (API) unit 860, input unit 865, output unit 870, pairing unit 875, feature extraction unit 880, ranking unit 885, pair association unit 890, and inter-unit communication mechanism 895 for the different units to communicate with each other, with the OS, and with other applications (not shown).”)
extracting, by the one or more processing circuits, first inference features of the first data element and second inference features of the second data element; (Zhang, Page 18, Section A.1, ¶[1]: “In all our experiments under this setting, we extract frame-wise video feature using C3D model pre-trained on Sports-1M dataset, with the temporal stride of 16.”, Page 18, Section A.1, ¶[3]: “Word Features. In the retrieval related experiments, we always use GloVE features [30] for the initialization of the word embedding and fine-tune. Specifically, we use the GloVE vectors pre-trained on 840B common web-crawled data, with its dimensionality equals to 300.”) [Examiner’s note: first inference features i.e., the video features, second inference features i.e., word features ]
generating, by the one or more processing circuits, one or more merged features by combining one or more of the first inference features with one or more of the second inference features, (Zhang, Page 12, Section 4.3: “In addition to the video paragraph retrieval, we evaluate our learned embeddings for video captioning. Specifically, we follow [20] and train a caption model [40] on top of the pre-trained video embeddings. Similar to [20], we concatenate the clip-level feature with contextual video-level feature, and build a two-layer LSTM as a caption generator.”) [Examiner’s note: merged features is being interpreted as the learned embeddings for video captioning]
wherein each of the one or more of the first inference features is a particular common feature to one of the one or more of the second inference features; (Zhang, Page, 8, Section 4.1: “Each video contains multiple clips and a corresponding paragraph with sentences aligned to the clips.”, Page 2, Figure 1: “Conceptual diagram of our approach for cross-modal modeling of video and texts. The main idea is to embed both low-level (clips and sentences) and high-level (video and paragraph) in their own semantic spaces coherently. As shown in the figure, the 3 sentences (and the corresponding 3 clips) are mapped into a local embedding space where the corresponding pairs of clips and sentences are placed close to each other. As a whole, the videos and the paragraphs are mapped into a global semantic space where their embeddings are close.
”) [Examiner’s note: pairs of clips and sentences in red, blue, green share a common feature i.e., a corresponding paragraph with sentences aligned to the video clips]
identifying, by the one or more processing circuits, unique first classification features of the first subset of features unique to the first data type; (Zhang, Page 4, Section 3.1: “Likewise, we assume there is a paragraph of texts describing the video. The paragraph p contains n sentences, one for each video clip. Let si denote the ith sentence and wij the feature for the jth word out of n’i words.”) (Examiner’s note: first classification features is being interpreted as feature wij for the jth word of multiple sentences (i.e., first data elements as shown above) for text data)
identifying, by the one or more processing circuits, unique second classification features of the second subset of features unique to the second data type; and (Zhang, Page 4, Section 3.1: “A video v has n clips (or subshots), where each clip ci contains ni frames. Each frame is represented by a visual feature vector xij .”) (Examiner’s note: second classification features is being interpreted as a visual feature vector xij of multiple clips (i.e., second data elements as shown above) for video data)
generating, by the one or more processing circuits, a model output of the model by applying the one or more merged features, the unique first classification features, the unique second classification features as inputs to the model. (Leonardo, Page 2029, Col. 1, Section V.A.1, ¶[2]: “Once the visual and textual intermediate features are extracted and normalized to [0, 1], they are passed into an image and text autoencoder, respectively.”, Page 2029, Col. 2, ¶[2]: “for each web page with one textual feature t and N visual features vi (where N varies for each web page), new data is created by concatenating t and vi for 1 ≤ i ≤ N. These concatenated features are passed into a random forest classifier, and hyperparameters are selected as described in Algorithms 1 and 2.”, Page 2029, Col. 2, ¶[4]: “Thus, a much larger dataset was created by generating random pairs of one visual feature and one textual feature to produce 40,000 total pairings. These pairings are constructed so that 10,000 image-text combinations are produced for each of the four combinations: unsafe images with unsafe text, unsafe images with safe text, safe images with unsafe text, and safe images with safe text. The objective now is to make the CNN learn to predict the safety of image-text pair. The CNN is trained on these random pairings and is tested on the page-level by combining predictions with OR Logic.”) [Examiner’s note: a model output i.e., the image-text pair safety prediction, merged feature i.e., the concatenated textual feature t and visual features vi, first classification feature i.e., the textual feature, second classification feature i.e., the visual feature, the model i.e., the CNN model]
As per claim 8, the combination of Zhang, Kennedy and Leonardo discloses all the limitations of claim 1 (as shown in the rejections above).
Zhang in view of Kennedy and Leonardo further discloses:
wherein the first data type is a text based data type and the second data type is at least one of an image data type or a video data type. (Zhang, Page 2, Figure 1: “Conceptual diagram of our approach for cross-modal modeling of video and texts. The main idea is to embed both low-level (clips and sentences) and high-level (video and paragraph) in their own semantic spaces coherently.
”)
As per claim 9, the combination of Zhang, Kennedy and Leonardo discloses all the limitations of claim 8 (as shown in the rejections above).
Zhang in view of Kennedy and Leonardo further discloses:
wherein at least a first portion of the plurality of first data elements are associated with first data element labels and at least a second portion of the plurality of second data elements are associated with second data element labels, (Leonardo, Page 2029, Col. 1, Section B: “Each of these classifiers is trained to identify if xwp should be labeled as TCi or not, using yi, i = 0, 1, . . . , 9 as the corresponding ground truth for the respective TC.”, Page 2028, Col. 1, Section IV.A.1: “The results from any of the three methods arrive at xwp, a vector that’s comprised of visual and textual features from a web page, while y represents xwp’s ground truth.”, Page 2027, Col. 2, Section B: “Our binary classification algorithms classify every web page as either safe or threat. For multilabel classification, there are 10 target labels that can be assigned to every web page. Some web pages can be classified in multiple threat categories as well. Thus, a binary classifier is trained to identify each threat category (TC), shown in Table I.
”) [Examiner’s note: xwp, a vector that’s comprised of visual and textual features from a web page (i.e., first and second portion of the plurality of first data elements) is classified with labels TCi with i = 0, 1, … 9]
wherein a first number of the first data element labels is greater than a second number of the second data element labels; (Leonardo, Page 2027, Col. 2, Section B, ¶[2]: “The training and testing datasets consist of 2643 and 620 web pages respectively, which were annotated by an independent company. Out of the web pages in the training data, 1653 are labeled as safe and 990 as threat. If a web page is a threat, it can belong to multiple TCs.”) [Examiner’s note: the first data element label i.e., safe, the second data element label i.e., threat]
wherein training, by the one or more processing circuits, the model is further based on the first data element labels and the second data element labels. (Leonardo, Page 2029, Col. 2, Section 2, ¶[2]: “Thus, a much larger dataset was created by generating random pairs of one visual feature and one textual feature to produce 40,000 total pairings. These pairings are constructed so that 10,000 image-text combinations are produced for each of the four combinations: unsafe images with unsafe text, unsafe images with safe text, safe images with unsafe text, and safe images with safe text. The objective now is to make the CNN learn to predict the safety of image-text pair. The CNN is trained on these random pairings and is tested on the page-level by combining predictions with OR Logic.”) [Examiner’s note: the first data element label i.e., safe, the second data element label i.e., threat or unsafe ]
As per claim 10, the combination of Zhang, Kennedy and Leonardo discloses all the limitations of claim 8 (as shown in the rejections above).
Zhang in view of Kennedy and Leonardo further discloses:
wherein at least a first portion of the plurality of first data elements are associated with first data element labels and none of the plurality of second data elements are associated with second data element labels; (Leonardo, Page 2027, Col. 2, Section B, ¶[2]: “The training and testing datasets consist of 2643 and 620 web pages respectively, which were annotated by an independent company. Out of the web pages in the training data, 1653 are labeled as safe and 990 as threat. If a web page is a threat, it can belong to multiple TCs.”, Page 2029, Col. 2, Section 2, ¶[2]: “Thus, a much larger dataset was created by generating random pairs of one visual feature and one textual feature to produce 40,000 total pairings. These pairings are constructed so that 10,000 image-text combinations are produced for each of the four combinations: unsafe images with unsafe text, unsafe images with safe text, safe images with unsafe text, and safe images with safe text.) [Examiner’s note: the first data element label i.e., safe, the second data element label i.e., threat or unsafe, first portion of first data elements i.e., text, second portion of second data elements i.e., images. “safe images with safe text” is being interpreted as image data is not associated with threat or unsafe label element.]
wherein training, by the one or more processing circuits, the model is further based on the first data element labels. (Leonardo, Page 2029, Col. 2, Section 2, ¶[2]: “Thus, a much larger dataset was created by generating random pairs of one visual feature and one textual feature to produce 40,000 total pairings. These pairings are constructed so that 10,000 image-text combinations are produced for each of the four combinations: unsafe images with unsafe text, unsafe images with safe text, safe images with unsafe text, and safe images with safe text. The objective now is to make the CNN learn to predict the safety of image-text pair. The CNN is trained on these random pairings and is tested on the page-level by combining predictions with OR Logic.”) [Examiner’s note: first data element label i.e., the safe label in “safe images with safe text” data is used to train the CNN model]
As per claim 13, the combination of Zhang and Kennedy discloses all the limitations of claim 11 (as shown in the rejections below).
Zhang in view of Kennedy further discloses:
wherein the instructions cause the one or more processors to identify the first features and the second features comprise (Zhang, Page 4, Section 3.1: “Likewise, we assume there is a paragraph of texts describing the video. The paragraph p contains n sentences, one for each video clip. Let si denote the ith sentence and wij the feature for the jth word out of n’i words.”, Zhang, Page 4, Section 3.1: “A video v has n clips (or subshots), where each clip ci contains ni frames. Each frame is represented by a visual feature vector xij .”) (Examiner’s note: features of first data elements is being interpreted as feature wij for the jth word of multiple sentences (i.e., first data elements as shown above) for text data, features of second data elements is being interpreted as a visual feature vector xij of multiple clips (i.e., second data elements as shown above) for video data)
Zhang in view of Kennedy fails to disclose:
applying one or more models to the plurality of first data elements and the plurality of second data elements,
wherein the one or more models extract the first features from the plurality of first data elements and extract the second features from the plurality of second data elements.
However, Leonardo explicitly discloses:
applying one or more models to the plurality of first data elements and the plurality of second data elements, (Leonardo, Page 2026, Col. 2, ¶[2]: “In early fusion, intermediate features from separate modalities are extracted and jointly represented, then learned with one single model. Given separate, pre-trained computer vision (CV) and natural language processing (NLP) models, our fully automated framework uses late fusion to classify web pages as either safe or threat, as well as into 10 possible threat categories.”, Leonardo, Page 2027, Col. 1, Section III.A, ¶[1-2]: “We are analyzing two modalities present in a web page: visual signals and natural language. One classifier for each modality was trained to determine content safety. For the CV model, a Squeeze-and-Excitation (SE) Network [9] was trained using initial weights from ImageNet’s image classification task [10] and fine-tuned on web page images. For the NLP model, a Universal Language Model Finetuning Framework (ULMFiT) [11] was trained and fine-tuned.”,) [Examiner’s note: “one or more models” is being interpreted as the pre-trained computer vision (CV) and natural language processing (NPL) models, first data elements i.e., natural language of web pages, second data elements i.e., visual signals or images of web pages]
wherein the one or more models extract the first features from the plurality of first data elements and extract the second features from the plurality of second data elements. (Leonardo, Page 2029, Col. 2, Section 2: “CNNs are used extensively for difficult classification tasks due to their ability to find patterns in the input data with high accuracy [22]. They are especially useful on spatial input data in which the output depends on the position of each individual feature. For this work, CNNs are used on the intermediate features extracted from the CV model and the NLP model to perform binary classification.”) [Examiner’s note: “one or more models” is being interpreted as the pre-trained computer vision (CV) and natural language processing (NPL) models, first and second features of first and second data elements i.e., the intermediate features of text data and image data]
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Zhang, Kennedy and Leonardo. Zhang teaches a novel cross-modal learning approach to model both videos and texts jointly. Kennedy teaches system and method for associating textual summaries with content media. Leonardo teaches a multimodal machine learning framework that fuses visual and textual information from web pages to improve current predictions of content safety. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Zhang, Kennedy and Leonardo to improve the classification of data by using multimodal machine learning to fuse various modalities, which will help to enhance the accuracy of classification model (Leonardo, Page 2027, Col. 1, Section II)
As per claim 14, the combination of Zhang and Kennedy discloses all the limitations of claim 11 (as shown in the rejections below).
Zhang in view of Kennedy fails to disclose:
wherein combining the first feature with the second feature comprises performing an operation on a first value of the first feature representing a first confidence of the first feature with a second value of the second feature representing a second confidence of the second feature.
However, Leonardo explicitly discloses:
wherein combining the first feature with the second feature comprises performing an operation on a first value of the first feature representing a first confidence of the first feature with a second value of the second feature representing a second confidence of the second feature. (Leonardo, Page 2028, Col. 1, Section IV.A.1: “Since unique web pages in the dataset are often associated with multiple images, the visual features of these images are combined first by choosing the minimum value of x0 (confidence score for TC0) and maximum value for xi (confidence score for threat TCi, i = 1, 2, . . . , 9), componentwise across all the images corresponding to the same web page. The method used for merging different x’s using the aforementioned criteria is named minmax.… Now, a single 10-dimensional vector represents the features from all the images in a web page and another 10-dimensional vector represents the textual features. In order to merge both and train them altogether, we can average each component, concatenate them both or use the minmax method. The results from any of the three methods arrive at xwp, a vector that’s comprised of visual and textual features from a web page, while y represents xwp’s ground truth.”) [Examiner’s note: an operation i.e., the minmax method, first value representing a first confidence i.e., the confidence score for visual features, the second value representing a second confidence i.e., the confidence score for textual features]
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Zhang, Kennedy and Leonardo. Zhang teaches a novel cross-modal learning approach to model both videos and texts jointly. Kennedy teaches system and method for associating textual summaries with content media. Leonardo teaches a multimodal machine learning framework that fuses visual and textual information from web pages to improve current predictions of content safety. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Zhang, Kennedy and Leonardo to improve the classification of data by using multimodal machine learning to fuse various modalities, which will help to enhance the accuracy of classification model (Leonardo, Page 2027, Col. 1, Section II)
As per claim 15, the combination of Zhang and Kennedy discloses all the limitations of Claim 11 (as shown in the rejections below).
Zhang in view of Kennedy further discloses:
wherein the instructions cause the one or more processors to: receive a data element comprising a first data element of the first data type and a second data element of the second data type; (Zhang, Page 2, Figure 1: “Conceptual diagram of our approach for cross-modal modeling of video and texts. The main idea is to embed both low-level (clips and sentences) and high-level (video and paragraph) in their own semantic spaces coherently.
”) [Examiner’s note: a first data elements i.e., multiple sentences for text data, a second data elements i.e., multiple clips for video data]
extract first inference features of the first data element and second inference features of the second data element; (Zhang, Page 18, Section A.1, ¶[1]: “In all our experiments under this setting, we extract frame-wise video feature using C3D model pre-trained on Sports-1M dataset, with the temporal stride of 16.”, Page 18, Section A.1, ¶[3]: “Word Features. In the retrieval related experiments, we always use GloVE features [30] for the initialization of the word embedding and fine-tune. Specifically, we use the GloVE vectors pre-trained on 840B common web-crawled data, with its dimensionality equals to 300.”) [Examiner’s note: first inference features i.e., the video features, second inference features i.e., word features ]
generate one or more merged features by combining one or more of the first inference features with one or more of the second inference features, (Zhang, Page 12, Section 4.3: “In addition to the video paragraph retrieval, we evaluate our learned embeddings for video captioning. Specifically, we follow [20] and train a caption model [40] on top of the pre-trained video embeddings. Similar to [20], we concatenate the clip-level feature with contextual video-level feature, and build a two-layer LSTM as a caption generator.”) [Examiner’s note: merged features is being interpreted as the learned embeddings for video captioning]
wherein each of the one or more of the first inference features is a particular common feature to one of the one or more of the second inference features; (Zhang, Page, 8, Section 4.1: “Each video contains multiple clips and a corresponding paragraph with sentences aligned to the clips.”, Page 2, Figure 1: “Conceptual diagram of our approach for cross-modal modeling of video and texts. The main idea is to embed both low-level (clips and sentences) and high-level (video and paragraph) in their own semantic spaces coherently. As shown in the figure, the 3 sentences (and the corresponding 3 clips) are mapped into a local embedding space where the corresponding pairs of clips and sentences are placed close to each other. As a whole, the videos and the paragraphs are mapped into a global semantic space where their embeddings are close.
”) [Examiner’s note: pairs of clips and sentences in red, blue, green share a common feature i.e., a corresponding paragraph with sentences aligned to the video clips]
identify unique first classification features of the first subset of features unique to the first data type; (Zhang, Page 4, Section 3.1: “Likewise, we assume there is a paragraph of texts describing the video. The paragraph p contains n sentences, one for each video clip. Let si denote the ith sentence and wij the feature for the jth word out of n’i words.”) (Examiner’s note: first classification features is being interpreted as feature wij for the jth word of multiple sentences (i.e., first data elements as shown above) for text data)
identify unique second classification features of the second subset of features unique to the second data type; and (Zhang, Page 4, Section 3.1: “A video v has n clips (or subshots), where each clip ci contains ni frames. Each frame is represented by a visual feature vector xij .”) (Examiner’s note: second classification features is being interpreted as a visual feature vector xij of multiple clips (i.e., second data elements as shown above) for video data)
Zhang in view of Kennedy fails to disclose:
generate a model output of the model by applying the one or more merged features, the unique first classification features, the unique second classification features as inputs to the model.
However, Leonardo explicitly discloses:
generate a model output of the model by applying the one or more merged features, the unique first classification features, the unique second classification features as inputs to the model. (Leonardo, Page 2029, Col. 1, Section V.A.1, ¶[2]: “Once the visual and textual intermediate features are extracted and normalized to [0, 1], they are passed into an image and text autoencoder, respectively.”, Page 2029, Col. 2, ¶[2]: “for each web page with one textual feature t and N visual features vi (where N varies for each web page), new data is created by concatenating t and vi for 1 ≤ i ≤ N. These concatenated features are passed into a random forest classifier, and hyperparameters are selected as described in Algorithms 1 and 2.”, Page 2029, Col. 2, ¶[4]: “Thus, a much larger dataset was created by generating random pairs of one visual feature and one textual feature to produce 40,000 total pairings. These pairings are constructed so that 10,000 image-text combinations are produced for each of the four combinations: unsafe images with unsafe text, unsafe images with safe text, safe images with unsafe text, and safe images with safe text. The objective now is to make the CNN learn to predict the safety of image-text pair. The CNN is trained on these random pairings and is tested on the page-level by combining predictions with OR Logic.”) [Examiner’s note: a model output i.e., the image-text pair safety prediction, merged feature i.e., the concatenated textual feature t and visual features vi, first classification feature i.e., the textual feature, second classification feature i.e., the visual feature, the model i.e., the CNN model]
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Zhang, Kennedy and Leonardo. Zhang teaches a novel cross-modal learning approach to model both videos and texts jointly. Kennedy teaches system and method for associating textual summaries with content media. Leonardo teaches a multimodal machine learning framework that fuses visual and textual information from web pages to improve current predictions of content safety. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Zhang, Kennedy and Leonardo to improve the classification of data by using multimodal machine learning to fuse various modalities, which will help to enhance the accuracy of classification model (Leonardo, Page 2027, Col. 1, Section II)
As per claim 16, the combination of Zhang and Kennedy and Leonardo discloses all the limitations of Claim 15 (as shown in the rejections above).
Zhang in view of Kennedy and Leonardo further discloses:
wherein the data element is a content item comprising multiple content types, wherein the first data element is text data while the second data element is at least one of image data or video data. (Zhang, Page 2, Figure 1: “Conceptual diagram of our approach for cross-modal modeling of video and texts. The main idea is to embed both low-level (clips and sentences) and high-level (video and paragraph) in their own semantic spaces coherently.
”) [Examiner’s note: a first data elements i.e., multiple sentences for text data, a second data elements i.e., multiple clips for video data]
As per claim 18, the combination of Zhang and Kennedy discloses all the limitations of Claim 17 (as shown in the rejections above).
Zhang in view of Kennedy fails to disclose:
wherein at least a first portion of the plurality of first data elements are associated with first data element labels and at least a second portion of the plurality of second data elements are associated with second data element labels,
wherein a first number of the first data element labels is greater than a second number of the second data element labels;
wherein the instructions cause the one or more processors to train the model further based on the first data element labels and the second data element labels
However, Leonardo explicitly discloses:
wherein at least a first portion of the plurality of first data elements are associated with first data element labels and at least a second portion of the plurality of second data elements are associated with second data element labels, (Leonardo, Page 2029, Col. 1, Section B: “Each of these classifiers is trained to identify if xwp should be labeled as TCi or not, using yi, i = 0, 1, . . . , 9 as the corresponding ground truth for the respective TC.”, Page 2028, Col. 1, Section IV.A.1: “The results from any of the three methods arrive at xwp, a vector that’s comprised of visual and textual features from a web page, while y represents xwp’s ground truth.”, Page 2027, Col. 2, Section B: “Our binary classification algorithms classify every web page as either safe or threat. For multilabel classification, there are 10 target labels that can be assigned to every web page. Some web pages can be classified in multiple threat categories as well. Thus, a binary classifier is trained to identify each threat category (TC), shown in Table I.
”) [Examiner’s note: xwp, a vector that’s comprised of visual and textual features from a web page (i.e., first and second portion of the plurality of first data elements) is classified with labels TCi with i = 0, 1, … 9]
wherein a first number of the first data element labels is greater than a second number of the second data element labels; (Leonardo, Page 2027, Col. 2, Section B, ¶[2]: “The training and testing datasets consist of 2643 and 620 web pages respectively, which were annotated by an independent company. Out of the web pages in the training data, 1653 are labeled as safe and 990 as threat. If a web page is a threat, it can belong to multiple TCs.”) [Examiner’s note: the first data element label i.e., safe, the second data element label i.e., threat]
wherein the instructions cause the one or more processors to train the model further based on the first data element labels and the second data element labels. (Leonardo, Page 2029, Col. 2, Section 2, ¶[2]: “Thus, a much larger dataset was created by generating random pairs of one visual feature and one textual feature to produce 40,000 total pairings. These pairings are constructed so that 10,000 image-text combinations are produced for each of the four combinations: unsafe images with unsafe text, unsafe images with safe text, safe images with unsafe text, and safe images with safe text. The objective now is to make the CNN learn to predict the safety of image-text pair. The CNN is trained on these random pairings and is tested on the page-level by combining predictions with OR Logic.”) [Examiner’s note: the first data element label i.e., safe, the second data element label i.e., threat or unsafe ]
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Zhang, Kennedy and Leonardo. Zhang teaches a novel cross-modal learning approach to model both videos and texts jointly. Kennedy teaches system and method for associating textual summaries with content media. Leonardo teaches a multimodal machine learning framework that fuses visual and textual information from web pages to improve current predictions of content safety. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Zhang, Kennedy and Leonardo to improve the classification of data by using multimodal machine learning to fuse various modalities, which will help to enhance the accuracy of classification model (Leonardo, Page 2027, Col. 1, Section II)
As per claim 19, the combination of Zhang and Kennedy discloses all the limitations of Claim 17 (as shown in the rejections below).
Zhang in view of Kennedy fails to disclose:
wherein at least a first portion of the plurality of first data elements are associated with first data element labels and none of the plurality of second data elements are associated with second data element labels;
wherein the instructions cause the one or more processors to train the model further based on the first data element labels.
However, Leonardo explicitly discloses:
wherein at least a first portion of the plurality of first data elements are associated with first data element labels and none of the plurality of second data elements are associated with second data element labels; (Leonardo, Page 2027, Col. 2, Section B, ¶[2]: “The training and testing datasets consist of 2643 and 620 web pages respectively, which were annotated by an independent company. Out of the web pages in the training data, 1653 are labeled as safe and 990 as threat. If a web page is a threat, it can belong to multiple TCs.”, Page 2029, Col. 2, Section 2, ¶[2]: “Thus, a much larger dataset was created by generating random pairs of one visual feature and one textual feature to produce 40,000 total pairings. These pairings are constructed so that 10,000 image-text combinations are produced for each of the four combinations: unsafe images with unsafe text, unsafe images with safe text, safe images with unsafe text, and safe images with safe text.) [Examiner’s note: the first data element label i.e., safe, the second data element label i.e., threat or unsafe, first portion of first data elements i.e., text, second portion of second data elements i.e., images. “safe images with safe text” is being interpreted as image data is not associated with threat or unsafe label element.]
wherein the instructions cause the one or more processors to train the model further based on the first data element labels. (Leonardo, Page 2029, Col. 2, Section 2, ¶[2]: “Thus, a much larger dataset was created by generating random pairs of one visual feature and one textual feature to produce 40,000 total pairings. These pairings are constructed so that 10,000 image-text combinations are produced for each of the four combinations: unsafe images with unsafe text, unsafe images with safe text, safe images with unsafe text, and safe images with safe text. The objective now is to make the CNN learn to predict the safety of image-text pair. The CNN is trained on these random pairings and is tested on the page-level by combining predictions with OR Logic.”) [Examiner’s note: first data element label i.e., the safe label in “safe images with safe text” data is used to train the CNN model]
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Zhang, Kennedy and Leonardo. Zhang teaches a novel cross-modal learning approach to model both videos and texts jointly. Kennedy teaches system and method for associating textual summaries with content media. Leonardo teaches a multimodal machine learning framework that fuses visual and textual information from web pages to improve current predictions of content safety. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Zhang, Kennedy and Leonardo to improve the classification of data by using multimodal machine learning to fuse various modalities, which will help to enhance the accuracy of classification model (Leonardo, Page 2027, Col. 1, Section II)
Claim(s) 11, 12, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (“Cross-Modal and Hierarchical Modeling of Video and Text”) (hereafter referred to as “Zhang”) in view of Kennedy et al (US 10,789,284 B2) (hereafter referred to as “Kennedy”)
As per claim 11, Zhang explicitly discloses:
receive a plurality of first data elements of a first data type and a plurality of second data elements of a second data type; (Zhang, Page 2, Figure 1: “Conceptual diagram of our approach for cross-modal modeling of video and texts. The main idea is to embed both low-level (clips and sentences) and high-level (video and paragraph) in their own semantic spaces coherently.
”) [Examiner’s note: a first data elements i.e., multiple sentences for text data, a second data elements i.e., multiple clips for video data]
identify first features of each of the plurality of first data elements; (Zhang, Page 4, Section 3.1: “Likewise, we assume there is a paragraph of texts describing the video. The paragraph p contains n sentences, one for each video clip. Let si denote the ith sentence and wij the feature for the jth word out of n’i words.”) (Examiner’s note: features of first data elements is being interpreted as feature wij for the jth word of multiple sentences (i.e., first data elements as shown above) for text data)
identify second features of each of the plurality of second data elements; (Zhang, Page 4, Section 3.1: “A video v has n clips (or subshots), where each clip ci contains ni frames. Each frame is represented by a visual feature vector xij .”) (Examiner’s note: features of second data elements is being interpreted as a visual feature vector xij of multiple clips (i.e., second data elements as shown above) for video data)
generate merged features by combining a first feature of the first features of each of the plurality of first data elements with a second feature of the second features of one of the plurality of second data elements prior to applying any of the first features, the second features, or the merged features to a model, (Zhang, Page 12, Section 4.3: “In addition to the video paragraph retrieval, we evaluate our learned embeddings for video captioning. Specifically, we follow [20] and train a caption model [40] on top of the pre-trained video embeddings. Similar to [20], we concatenate the clip-level feature with contextual video-level feature, and build a two-layer LSTM as a caption generator.”) [Examiner’s note: merged features is being interpreted as the learned embeddings for video captioning]
wherein the first feature and the second feature each represent a common feature; and (Zhang, Page, 8, Section 4.1: “Each video contains multiple clips and a corresponding paragraph with sentences aligned to the clips.”, Page 2, Figure 1: “Conceptual diagram of our approach for cross-modal modeling of video and texts. The main idea is to embed both low-level (clips and sentences) and high-level (video and paragraph) in their own semantic spaces coherently. As shown in the figure, the 3 sentences (and the corresponding 3 clips) are mapped into a local embedding space where the corresponding pairs of clips and sentences are placed close to each other. As a whole, the videos and the paragraphs are mapped into a global semantic space where their embeddings are close.
”) [Examiner’s note: pairs of clips and sentences in red, blue, green share a common feature i.e., a corresponding paragraph with sentences aligned to the video clips]
Zhang fails to disclose:
A system including one or more memory devices configured to store instructions thereon, that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to
training, by the one or more processing circuits, a model based on the merged features and at least a first portion of the first features and a second portion of the second features,
wherein the first portion of the first features is a first subset of features unique to the first data type of the plurality of first data elements and the second portion of the second features is a second subset of features unique to the second data type of the plurality of second data elements
classify a content item based on the model, wherein the content item includes content text and at least one of a content image or a content video
However, Kennedy explicitly discloses
A system including one or more memory devices configured to store instructions thereon, that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to (Kennedy, Col. 15, Lines 48-55: “Computing device 805 in computing environment 800 can include one or more processing units, cores, or processors 810, memory 815 (e.g., 50 RAM, ROM, and/or the like), internal storage 820 (e.g., magnetic, optical, solid state storage, and/or organic), and/or I/O interface 825, any of which can be coupled on a communication mechanism or bus 830 for communicating information or embedded in the computing device 805.”)
training, by the one or more processing circuits, a model based on the merged features and at least a first portion of the first features and a second portion of the second features, (Kennedy, Col. 5, Lines 30-47: “As illustrated in FIG. 1, user input is received by the system at 105. This user input may include a user's set of images and user-provided captions that the user would like illustrated. After the user input has been received, the system may generate caption-image pairs at 110 by pairing each provided caption with each possible image in the user provided image set. At 115, features may be extracted for both the captions and images to produce featuring embeddings associated with both the captions and the images. The feature extraction of 115 may be performed using a neural network that has been trained at 135 using training data. The training data may include user manually-generated image collection or photo books that have been captioned by users using photo album editing or photo book generation platforms, which may be web-based, mobile application based, or installed on the local machine. For each image/caption pair, the features (embeddings) may be concatenated together.”) [Examiner’s note: “the merged features” is being interpreted as the “image-caption pair data”, “a first portion of the first features and a second portion of the second features” is being interpreted as the “featuring embeddings associated with both the captions and the images”]
wherein the first portion of the first features is a first subset of features unique to the first data type of the plurality of first data elements and the second portion of the second features is a second subset of features unique to the second data type of the plurality of second data elements
(Kennedy, Col. 11, Lines 56-63: “In the process 500, a plurality of images or content representations may be clustered or divided into subsets of images or content representations based on content similarities between different images or content representations at 505. This may include extracting content features from the content representations or images to produce featuring embeddings. The feature extraction may be performed using a neural network that has been trained using training data.”)
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Zhang and Kennedy. Zhang teaches a novel cross-modal learning approach to model both videos and texts jointly. Kennedy teaches system and method for associating textual summaries with content media. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Zhang and Kennedy to enable the model to learn joint representations that capture correlations across different data types (e.g., text and image), while the retention of unique feature subsets preserves modality-specific information that may otherwise be diluted or list during fusion. This approach enhances learning capacity and flexibility, particularly in multi-modal systems where different data sources contribute complementary insights.
As per claim 12, the combination of Zhang and Kennedy discloses all the limitations of claim 11 (as shown in the rejections above).
Zhang in view of Kennedy further discloses:
wherein each of the plurality of first data elements is associated with one of the plurality of second data elements; (Zhang, Page 8, Section 4.1, ¶[1]: “Each video contains multiple clips and a corresponding paragraph with sentences aligned to the clips.”, Page 2, Figure 1:
”) [Examiner’s note: first data elements i.e., multiple sentences of text data, second data elements i.e., multiple clips of video data]
wherein the instructions cause the one or more processors to generate the merged features comprises combining the first feature of the first features of each of the plurality of first data elements with the second feature of the second features of the one of the plurality of second data elements that each of the plurality of first data elements is associated with. (Zhang, Page 12, Section 4.3: “In addition to the video paragraph retrieval, we evaluate our learned embeddings for video captioning. Specifically, we follow [20] and train a caption model [40] on top of the pre-trained video embeddings. Similar to [20], we concatenate the clip-level feature with contextual video-level feature, and build a two-layer LSTM as a caption generator.”) [Examiner’s note: merged features is being interpreted as the learned embeddings for video captioning]
As per claim 17, the combination of Zhang and Kennedy discloses all the limitations of claim 11 (as shown in the rejections above).
Zhang in view of Kennedy further discloses:
wherein the first data type is a text based data type and the second data type is at least one of an image data type or a video data type. (Zhang, Page 2, Figure 1: “Conceptual diagram of our approach for cross-modal modeling of video and texts. The main idea is to embed both low-level (clips and sentences) and high-level (video and paragraph) in their own semantic spaces coherently.
”)
As per claim 20, Zhang explicitly discloses:
receive a plurality of first data elements of a first data type and a plurality of second data elements of a second data type; (Zhang, Page 2, Figure 1: “Conceptual diagram of our approach for cross-modal modeling of video and texts. The main idea is to embed both low-level (clips and sentences) and high-level (video and paragraph) in their own semantic spaces coherently.
”) [Examiner’s note: a first data elements i.e., multiple sentences for text data, a second data elements i.e., multiple clips for video data]
identify first features of each of the plurality of first data elements; (Zhang, Page 4, Section 3.1: “Likewise, we assume there is a paragraph of texts describing the video. The paragraph p contains n sentences, one for each video clip. Let si denote the ith sentence and wij the feature for the jth word out of n’i words.”) (Examiner’s note: features of first data elements is being interpreted as feature wij for the jth word of multiple sentences (i.e., first data elements as shown above) for text data)
identify second features of each of the plurality of second data elements; (Zhang, Page 4, Section 3.1: “A video v has n clips (or subshots), where each clip ci contains ni frames. Each frame is represented by a visual feature vector xij .”) (Examiner’s note: features of second data elements is being interpreted as a visual feature vector xij of multiple clips (i.e., second data elements as shown above) for video data)
generate merged features by combining a first feature of the first features of each of the plurality of first data elements with a second feature of the second features of one of the plurality of second data elements prior to applying any of the first features, the second features, or the merged features to a model, (Zhang, Page 12, Section 4.3: “In addition to the video paragraph retrieval, we evaluate our learned embeddings for video captioning. Specifically, we follow [20] and train a caption model [40] on top of the pre-trained video embeddings. Similar to [20], we concatenate the clip-level feature with contextual video-level feature, and build a two-layer LSTM as a caption generator.”) [Examiner’s note: merged features is being interpreted as the learned embeddings for video captioning]
wherein the first feature and the second feature each represent a common feature; and (Zhang, Page, 8, Section 4.1: “Each video contains multiple clips and a corresponding paragraph with sentences aligned to the clips.”, Page 2, Figure 1: “Conceptual diagram of our approach for cross-modal modeling of video and texts. The main idea is to embed both low-level (clips and sentences) and high-level (video and paragraph) in their own semantic spaces coherently. As shown in the figure, the 3 sentences (and the corresponding 3 clips) are mapped into a local embedding space where the corresponding pairs of clips and sentences are placed close to each other. As a whole, the videos and the paragraphs are mapped into a global semantic space where their embeddings are close.
”) [Examiner’s note: pairs of clips and sentences in red, blue, green share a common feature i.e., a corresponding paragraph with sentences aligned to the video clips]
Zhang fails to disclose:
One or more computer readable storage media configured to store instructions thereon that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to:
training, by the one or more processing circuits, a model based on the merged features and at least a first portion of the first features and a second portion of the second features,
wherein the first portion of the first features is a first subset of features unique to the first data type of the plurality of first data elements and the second portion of the second features is a second subset of features unique to the second data type of the plurality of second data elements
However, Kennedy explicitly discloses
by one or more processing circuits (Kennedy, Col. 16, Lines 59-67: “Processor(s) 810 can execute under any operating system (OS) (not shown), in a native or virtual environment. One or more applications can be deployed that include logic unit 855, application programming interface (API) unit 860, input unit 865, output unit 870, pairing unit 875, feature extraction unit 880, ranking unit 885, pair association unit 890, and inter-unit communication mechanism 895 for the different units to communicate with each other, with the OS, and with other applications (not shown).”)
training, by the one or more processing circuits, a model based on the merged features and at least a first portion of the first features and a second portion of the second features, (Kennedy, Col. 5, Lines 30-47: “As illustrated in FIG. 1, user input is received by the system at 105. This user input may include a user's set of images and user-provided captions that the user would like illustrated. After the user input has been received, the system may generate caption-image pairs at 110 by pairing each provided caption with each possible image in the user provided image set. At 115, features may be extracted for both the captions and images to produce featuring embeddings associated with both the captions and the images. The feature extraction of 115 may be performed using a neural network that has been trained at 135 using training data. The training data may include user manually-generated image collection or photo books that have been captioned by users using photo album editing or photo book generation platforms, which may be web-based, mobile application based, or installed on the local machine. For each image/caption pair, the features (embeddings) may be concatenated together.”) [Examiner’s note: “the merged features” is being interpreted as the “image-caption pair data”, “a first portion of the first features and a second portion of the second features” is being interpreted as the “featuring embeddings associated with both the captions and the images”]
wherein the first portion of the first features is a first subset of features unique to the first data type of the plurality of first data elements and the second portion of the second features is a second subset of features unique to the second data type of the plurality of second data elements (Kennedy, Col. 11, Lines 56-63: “In the process 500, a plurality of images or content representations may be clustered or divided into subsets of images or content representations based on content similarities between different images or content representations at 505. This may include extracting content features from the content representations or images to produce featuring embeddings. The feature extraction may be performed using a neural network that has been trained using training data.”)
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Zhang and Kennedy. Zhang teaches a novel cross-modal learning approach to model both videos and texts jointly. Kennedy teaches system and method for associating textual summaries with content media. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Zhang and Kennedy to enable the model to learn joint representations that capture correlations across different data types (e.g., text and image), while the retention of unique feature subsets preserves modality-specific information that may otherwise be diluted or list during fusion. This approach enhances learning capacity and flexibility, particularly in multi-modal systems where different data sources contribute complementary insights.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AMY TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2126
/DAVID YI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2126