DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arita et al. (JP 2017036491 A, machine translation referred to herein as English equivalent) herein Arita.
Regarding claims 1-2 and 4, Arita discloses a non-oriented electromagnetic steel sheet [page 1, Arita] with a steel composition range shown below in Table 2. The examiner notes that the overlap of the steel compositions is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05(I). The examiner notes that Arita does not specify Mn/Cu or Cu/S, however the examiner notes that these equations merely further limit Mn, Cu, and S which still overlap with the composition of Arita.
Table 2
Instant claims, weight%
Arita, mass%
Si
1.5-4.0 (claim 1)
0.05-3.5 [page 3]
Al
0.7-2.5 (claim 1)
0.002-2.0 [page 3]
Mn
1-2 (claim 1)
0.01-2.0 [page 3]
Cu
0.003-0.02 (claim 1)
0.01-3.00 [page 4]
S
0<S≤0.005 (claim 1)
0.0010-0.05 [page 4]
C
≤0.005* (claim 2)
0.0001-0.01 [page 3]
N
≤0.005* (claim 2)
0.0005-0.02 [page 4]
Nb
≤0.004 (claim 1)
0.002-0.20 [page 5]
Ti
≤0.004 (claim 1)
0.002-0.10 [page 5]
V
≤0.004 (claim 1)
0.002-0.20 [page 4]
P
≤0.02† (claim 4)
0.001-0.20 [page 4]
B
≤0.002† (claim 4)
Mg
≤0.005† (claim 4)
Zr
≤0.005† (claim 4)
≤0.5 [page 5]
Fe+unavoidable impurities
Remainder (claim 1)
Mn/Cu
150-250 (claim 1)
Cu/S
3-7 (claim 1)
*at least one of these (claim 2)
†at least one of these (claim 4)
As discussed above controlling sulfide size is a recognized result effective variable by Arita and it would have been obvious to perform routine experimentation to determine sulfide sizes and Mn, S, and Cu for optimizing iron loss. The examiner notes that all of the examples of applicant’s that satisfy the instantly claimed sulfide ranges of claim 5 also satisfy the area ratio of sulfides containing both Mn and Cu [Table 2, instant spec], and so the examiner notes that experimentation for sulfide sizes and Mn, S, and Cu to optimize iron loss would further lead to an area fraction of sulfides containing both Mn and Cu and having a diameter of 150-300 nm that overlaps with the instantly claimed range. Alternatively, as discussed above applicant discloses that “the distribution of the sulfide is controlled by appropriately controlling the relationship between Mn, Cu, and S” and so the examiner submits that an overlapping area fraction of sulfides with a size of 150-300 nm and containing both Mn and Cu would naturally flow from the steel of Arita because Arita discloses overlapping steel compositions as discussed above. See MPEP 2144.05(I) and 2145.
Regarding claim 5, the examiner notes that Arita does not specify the number of sulfides having a diameter of 150-300 nm or the number of sulfides having a diameter of 20-100 nm, however the instant specification discloses that “the distribution of the sulfide is controlled by appropriately controlling the relationship between Mn, Cu, and S” [page 12 lines 6-8, instant spec] and so the examiner submits that an overlapping number of sulfides of 150-300 nm and 20-100 nm would naturally flow from the steel of Arita because Arita discloses overlapping steel compositions as discussed above. See MPEP 2144.05(I) and 2145. The examiner further notes that Arita discloses that fine sulfides, including copper sulfide and titanium sulfide, will adversely affect iron loss [page 10, Arita] wherein sulfide generation is dependent upon the Mn, S, and Cu contents [pages 3-4, Arita] and so the examiner submits that the amount of fine sulfides and contents of Mn, S, and Cu are result effective variables recognized by Arita and so it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to perform routine experimentation to determine a combination of Mn, S, and Cu that produce sulfide sizes that give optimized iron loss. See MPEP 2144.05(II). The examiner notes that applicant similarly controls Mn, Cu, and S to control sulfides for affecting iron loss [page 13 lines 16-19, instant spec].
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arita as applied to claims 1-2 and 4-5 above, and further in view of Park et al. (US 2015/0000793 A1) herein Park.
Regarding claim 7, Arita does not limit the thickness range for the steel sheet, however the examiner submits it would have been obvious to use a thickness range of 0.10-0.70 mm in view of Park. Park discloses a method of producing a non-oriented electrical steel sheet [0001, Park] wherein the steel is used for motors and transformers [0002, Park] and wherein the sheet has a thickness of 0.10-0.70 mm [0085, Park]. Arita similarly discloses a non-oriented steel sheet that can be used for motors and transformers [page 2, Arita]. The examiner submits it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that a thickness range of 0.10-0.70 mm could be used for the steel sheet of Arita as a known thickness in the art for producing non-oriented electrical steel sheets for use in motors and transformers as taught by Park. The examiner notes that the overlap of the steel sheet thicknesses of the instant claim and Park is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 8:
Arita does not specify a grain size however the examiner submits it would have been obvious to control the grain size to a range of 50-180 µm in view of Park. Park discloses controlling grain sizes of the electrical steel sheet to 50-180 µm because smaller sizes will increase hysteresis loss among iron loss and larger sizes increase eddy current loss among iron loss [0045, Park]. The examiner submits it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to control the method of Arita to produce grain sizes of 50-180 µm in order to reduce hysteresis loss and eddy current loss as taught by Park. The examiner notes that the overlap of the grain sizes of the instant claim and Park is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Alternatively, the examiner submits that overlapping grain sizes would naturally flow from the steel of Arita modified by Park, because Arita modified by Park discloses a steel composition that overlaps with the instantly claimed steel as discussed above and further discloses an overlapping manufacturing method as shown below in Table 3. The examiner notes that grain sizes will depend upon the composition and manufacturing method of a steel and so a grain size range overlapping with that instantly claimed would naturally flow from the method of Arita modified by Park. See MPEP 2144.05(I) and 2145.
Table 3
Instant application manufacturing method
Arita modified by Park manufacturing method
Heat slab [page 14]
Temperature not limited but may be ≤1200°C
Heat slab [page 7, Arita]
Example temperature of 1150°C [page 10, Arita]
Hot roll [page 15]
Can roll to ≤2.5 mm thickness, Finish temperature can be ≥750°C, Can wind/wound/coil at ≤700°C
Hot roll [page 7, Arita]
Example finish temperature of 850°C, coiling temperature of 600°C, and hot rolled thickness of 2.0 mm [page 10, Arita]
May further anneal at 850-1150°C [page 15]
May pickle [page 16]
Hot rolled sheet annealed [page 7, Arita] with example temperatures of 1110-1200°C [page, 12, Table 5, Arita]
Cold roll to 0.1-0.3 mm [page 16]
If needed can use multiple passes with intermediate annealing at 850-1150°C
Cold roll [page 7, Arita] to a thickness of 0.10-0.70 mm [0085, Park]
Final annealing [page 16]
Use temperature generally applied to the sheet, for example 900-1100°C
Anneal at between T1 and T7 [pages 10-11, Arita] with temperatures ranging between 514-1284°C [Table 2, Arita]
Can form insulating film [page 16]
Can form an insulating film [page 7, Arita]
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, and 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyazaki et al. (US 2011/0094699) herein Miyazaki.
Regarding claims 1-2 and 4-5, Miyazaki discloses a non-oriented electrical steel sheet [0001, Miyazaki] comprising a composition shown below in Table 4. The examiner notes that the overlap of the steel compositions is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05(I). The examiner notes that Miyazaki does not specify Mn/Cu or Cu/S, however the examiner notes that these equations merely further limit Mn, Cu, and S which still overlap with the composition of Miyazaki.
Table 4
Instant claims, weight%
Miyazaki, mass%
Si
1.5-4.0 (claim 1)
0.1-7.0 [0095]
Al
0.7-2.5 (claim 1)
0.2-5.0 [00103]
Mn
1-2 (claim 1)
≥0.1 [0097], preferably 0.1-2.0
Cu
0.003-0.02 (claim 1)
≤1.0 [00117]
S
0<S≤0.005 (claim 1)
≤0.005 [00101]
C
≤0.005* (claim 2)
≤0.005 [0093]
N
≤0.005* (claim 2)
≤0.005 [00107]
Nb
≤0.004 (claim 1)
Ti
≤0.004 (claim 1)
≤0.02 [00115]
V
≤0.004 (claim 1)
≤0.01 [00127]
P
≤0.02† (claim 4)
≤0.2 [0099]
B
≤0.002† (claim 4)
≤0.005 [00129]
Mg
≤0.005† (claim 4)
≤0.05 [00119]
Zr
≤0.005† (claim 4)
≤0.01 [00125]
Fe+unavoidable impurities
Remainder (claim 1)
Balance [0053]
Mn/Cu
150-250 (claim 1)
Cu/S
3-7 (claim 1)
*at least one of these (claim 2)
†at least one of these (claim 4)
The examiner notes that Miyazaki does not specify the number of sulfides having a diameter of 150-300 nm, the number of sulfides having a diameter of 20-100 nm, or the area fraction of sulfides containing both Mn and Cu, however the instant specification discloses that “the distribution of the sulfide is controlled by appropriately controlling the relationship between Mn, Cu, and S” [page 12 lines 6-8, instant spec] and so the examiner submits that an overlapping number of sulfides of 150-300 nm and 20-100 nm and an overlapping area fraction of sulfides containing both Mn and Cu would naturally flow from the steel of Miyazaki because Miyazaki discloses overlapping steel compositions as discussed above. See MPEP 2144.05(I) and 2145.
Regarding claim 7, Miyazaki discloses example sheet thicknesses of 0.3 mm [0145, 0152, Miyazaki].
Regarding claim 8, Miyazaki discloses a grain size of 50-200µm [0080, Miyazaki]. The examiner notes that the overlap of the grain sizes of the instant claim and Miyazaki is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kataoka et al. (US 2016/0273064 A1) herein Kataoka.
Regarding claims 1-2 and 4, Kataoka discloses a non-oriented electrical steel sheet [0002, Kataoka] comprising a composition shown below in Table 5. The examiner notes that the overlap of the steel compositions is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05(I). The examiner notes that Kataoka does not specify Mn/Cu, however the examiner notes that this equation merely further limits Mn and Cu which still overlap with the composition of Kataoka.
Table 5
Instant claims, weight%
Kataoka, mass% [0024]
Si
1.5-4.0 (claim 1)
0.05-7.0
Al
0.7-2.5 (claim 1)
0.0020-3.0
Mn
1-2 (claim 1)
0.01-3.0
Cu
0.003-0.02 (claim 1)
0.01-5.0
S
0<S≤0.005 (claim 1)
0.0001-0.1
C
≤0.005* (claim 2)
0.0001-0.01
N
≤0.005* (claim 2)
0.0010-0.01
Nb
≤0.004 (claim 1)
≤0.05 [0046]
Ti
≤0.004 (claim 1)
≤0.2 [0046]
V
≤0.004 (claim 1)
≤0.05 [0046]
P
≤0.02† (claim 4)
0.0010-0.15
B
≤0.002† (claim 4)
Mg
≤0.005† (claim 4)
≤0.2 [0046]
Zr
≤0.005† (claim 4)
≤0.05 [0046]
Fe+unavoidable impurities
Remainder (claim 1)
Remainder
Mn/Cu
150-250 (claim 1)
Cu/S
3-7 (claim 1)
≥2.5 [0025]
*at least one of these (claim 2)
†at least one of these (claim 4)
As discussed above controlling sulfide size is a recognized result effective variable by Kataoka and it would have been obvious to perform routine experimentation to determine sulfide sizes and Mn, S, and Cu for optimizing core loss. The examiner notes that all of the examples of applicant’s that satisfy the instantly claimed sulfide ranges of claim 5 also satisfy the area ratio of sulfides containing both Mn and Cu [Table 2, instant spec], and so the examiner notes that experimentation for sulfide sizes and Mn, S, and Cu for optimal core loss would further lead to an overlapping area fraction of sulfides containing both Mn and Cu and having a diameter of 150-300 nm. Alternatively, as discussed above applicant discloses that “the distribution of the sulfide is controlled by appropriately controlling the relationship between Mn, Cu, and S” and so the examiner submits that an overlapping area fraction of sulfides with a size of 150-300 nm and containing both Mn and Cu would naturally flow from the steel of Kataoka because Kataoka discloses overlapping steel compositions as discussed above. See MPEP 2144.05(I) and 2145.
Regarding claim 5, the examiner notes that Kataoka does not specify the number of sulfides having a diameter of 150-300 nm or the number of sulfides having a diameter of 20-100 nm, however the instant specification discloses that “the distribution of the sulfide is controlled by appropriately controlling the relationship between Mn, Cu, and S” [page 12 lines 6-8, instant spec] and so the examiner submits that an overlapping number of sulfides of 150-300 nm and 20-100 nm would naturally flow from the steel of Kataoka because Kataoka discloses overlapping steel compositions as discussed above. See MPEP 2144.05(I) and 2145. The examiner further notes that Kataoka notes that fine precipitates, including copper sulfide and titanium sulfide, will deteriorate core loss [0004, Kataoka] wherein sulfide generation is dependent upon the Mn, S, and Cu contents [0040, 0042, 0045, Kataoka] and so the examiner submits that the amount of fine sulfides and contents of Mn, S, and Cu are result effective variables recognized by Kataoka and so it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to perform routine experimentation to determine a combination of Mn, S, and Cu that produce sulfide sizes that give optimized core loss. See MPEP 2144.05(II). The examiner notes that applicant similarly controls Mn, Cu, and S to control sulfides for affecting iron loss [page 13 lines 16-19, instant spec], the examiner notes that core loss and iron loss are synonymous in the art as evidenced by Kataoka specifically discussing W15/50 as core loss [0087, Kataoka] and the instant application discussing W15/50 as iron loss [page 2 line 10, instant spec].
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kataoka as applied to claims 1-2 and 4-5 above, and further in view of Park et al. (US 2015/0000793 A1) herein Park.
Regarding claim 7, Kataoka does not limit the thickness range for the steel sheet, however the examiner submits it would have been obvious to use a thickness range of 0.10-0.70 mm in view of Park. Park discloses a method of producing a non-oriented electrical steel sheet [0001, Park] wherein the steel is used for motors and transformers [0002, Park] and wherein the sheet has a thickness of 0.10-0.70 mm [0085, Park]. Kataoka similarly discloses a non-oriented steel sheet that can be used for motors and transformers [0003, Kataoka]. The examiner submits it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that a thickness range of 0.10-0.70 mm could be used for the steel sheet of Kataoka as a known thickness in the art for producing non-oriented electrical steel sheets for use in motors and transformers as taught by Park. The examiner notes that the overlap of the steel sheet thicknesses of the instant claim and Park is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 8, Kataoka does not specify a grain size however the examiner submits it would have been obvious to control the grain size to a range of 50-180 µm in view of Park. Park discloses controlling grain sizes of the electrical steel sheet to 50-180 µm because smaller sizes will increase hysteresis loss among iron loss and larger sizes increase eddy current loss among iron loss [0045, Park]. The examiner submits it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to control the method of Kataoka to produce grain sizes of 50-180 µm in order to reduce hysteresis loss and eddy current loss as taught by Park. The examiner notes that the overlap of the grain sizes of the instant claim and Park is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/2/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the cited prior art references fail to satisfy Formulas 1 and 2 and the limitation that the steel sheet exhibits sulfides having a diameter of 150 to 300 nm in which the area fraction of sulfides having both Mn and Cu is 70% or more. Applicant further argues that Examiner used impermissible hindsight to arrive at the claimed microstructure. Additionally, Applicant argues that Arita requires one or more of V, Nb and Ti at levels exceeding the upper bound of 0.004% recited in claim 1. Finally, Applicant notes that comparative examples in Table 2 of the instant specification fall within the broad ranges of the cited references but fail to achieve the claimed sulfide distribution.
In response, Examiner notes that the prior art references Arita, Miyazaki, and Kataoka disclose a chemical composition that overlaps with Formulas 1 and 2. Furthermore, Arita discloses V, Nb, and Ti contents that overlap with the instantly claimed ranges, and does not require amounts above 0.004% as alleged by Applicant. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP §2144.05. The cited prior art references disclose chemical compositions that overlap with the instantly claimed ranges as well as Formulas 1 and 2, and thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the steel sheets of the prior art references to have the claimed sulfide distribution. In the case where “the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established.” See MPEP §2112.01. In response to what appears to be allegations of criticality/unexpected results, Examiner notes that the cited examples do not provide sufficient evidence to demonstrate criticality of the claimed formulas. Objective evidence of nonobviousness must be commensurate in scope with the claims which the evidence is offered to support. In other words, the showing of unexpected results must be reviewed to see if the results occur over the entire claimed range. See MPEP §716.02. Furthermore, Examiner notes that comparative examples D1 and D2 both meet the ranges of Formulas 1 and 2 yet do not achieve the claimed sulfide distribution.
In response to Applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Conclusion
All claims are identical to or patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with claims in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 (that is, restriction (including a lack of unity of invention) would not be proper) and all claims could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANTHONY M LIANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734