DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “a torch comprising electrodes …, tube for passage of gas, gas inlet chamber, arc stabilization system, arc rotating system, and system for cooling the electrode. The anode comprises the tube” as cited in claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The substitute specification, inducing REPLACEMENT SHEET of drawings, filed 12/22/2025 has NOT been entered because it does not conform to 37 CFR 1.125(b) and (c) because: it introduces new matters.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9, 11-13, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the passage of gas", “the cathode region”, and “the anode region”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction/clarification is required.
Due to the dependency to the parent claim, claims 11-13, and 19-20 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 9, 11, 13, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Belashchenko (PG-PUB US 2019/0062891).
Regarding claim 9, Belashchenko disclose a plasma device (ABSTRACT). The apparatus comprises a plasma torch 320 having
(1) a cathode module;
(2) an anode module 322 enclosing a plasma extension module/tube 324;
(3) a passage/tube/channel/chamber for flowing gases;
(4) a module for stabilizing the arc;
(5) a vortex distributor 126 having vortex orifices 138 for creating vortex; and
(6) a cooling media that can cool the anode/cathode (i.e., a torch comprising… anode, a cathode, a tube…, a gas inlet chamber, arc stabilization system, arc rotating system, and a system for cooling electrodes, Figures 2-5, paragraphs [0032]-[0033], [0038], [0045] – [0047], [0051], & [0056]).
wherein the diameter of the anode may be in a range of 4 mm to 10 mm (or 7 mm to 14 mm) and the plasma power may be in a range of 20 kW to 100 kW (i.e., a diameter of anode …, plasma power…, Figures 5-7, paragraphs [0049], [0070], [0085] - [0086] & Table 1).
It should be noted that “arc stabilization system” does not recite any structural limitation and will be interpreted as “a structure/member for stabilizing an arc”. Belashchenko teaches a module for stabilizing the arc (paragraph [0045]), reading on “arc stabilization system”.
It should be noted that “arc rotation system” does not recite any structural limitation and will be interpreted as “a structure/member for generating rotation/vortex”. Belashchenko teaches a vortex distributor 126 having vortex orifices 138 for creating vortex (paragraph [0051]), reading on “arc rotation system”.
It should be noted that “for the production of synthesis gas” is for intended use. It has been held that a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim (MPEP 2114).
Moreover, the limitation “for the production of synthesis gas” is solely recited in preamble. When reading the preamble in the context of the entire claim, the recitation is not limiting because the body of the claim describes a complete invention and the language recited solely in the preamble does not provide any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations. Thus, the preamble of the claim(s) is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. See Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See MPEP § 2111.02.
The limitations of “CO2”, “plasma gas”, and “natural gas and/or CH4 and/or light hydrocarbons” are material worked upon the device. It has been held that material worked upon a device does not limit the apparatus claim from the prior art (MPEP 2115).
The recitation of “a flow rate” is not a structural limitation, rather a process-limiting parameter, which does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the prior art (MPEP 2114). Furthermore, Belashchenko teaches that the plasma velocity may be adjusted based upon the applications (paragraphs [0033], [0044] & [0058]).
Since the device of Belashchenko comprises substantially the same/similar structures as claimed, it is fully capable of performing the claimed functions unless some limitations are not currently claimed.
Regarding claim 11, Belashchenko teaches that cathode/anode may be made of copper (paragraphs [0050] & [0059]).
Regarding claims 13, and 19, Belashchenko teaches that gases G1 and G2 may be injected to the areas around the cathode and the anode (Figures 3, paragraphs [0046] – [0047]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Belashchenko (PG-PUB US 2019/0062891) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Petrik et al (PB-PUB US 1007/0108165).
Regarding claim 12, Belashchenko teaches that the plasma torch comprises a cathode module C (Figures 3, paragraph [0045]), but does not teach the cathode comprising zirconia.
However, Petrik et al disclose a plasma torch (ABSTRACT). Petrik teaches that the plasma torch comprises a cathode assembly having zirconia with favorable electron emission characteristics (paragraphs [0032] –[0033]).
Therefore, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to utilize a cathode comprising zirconia as suggested by Petrik in order to improve electron emission for the plasma torch of Belashchenko.
Regarding claim 20, Belashchenko teaches that gases G1 and G2 may be injected to the areas around the cathode and the anode (Figures 3, paragraphs [0046] – [0047]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 12/22/2025 have been considered but are moot in light of the applicant’s amendments.
In response to the arguments regarding the substituted specification & 112(a), the specification as originally filed does not designate any reference to the drawing. However, the substituted specification newly/randomly designates specific references to the different parts of the drawing, which introduces new matter to the original specification.
In response to the arguments regarding “Both the arc stabilization system and the arc rotation system are two features NOT disclosed in Belashchenko's device. Belashchenko does NOT disclose the use of CO2 or any hydrocarbons. Further, Belashchenko's reactor cannot use CO2 as plasma gas, and the disclosed invention does not perform thermochemical reactions of gases. Notably, the described cathode in Belashchenko could not operate with CO2 as the plasma gas. This is not simply a matter of changing materials, but would also require a new design for Belashchenko's torch.” (page 11 of REMARKS).
First of all, Belashchenko teaches a module for stabilizing the arc (paragraph [0045]) and a structure for creating vortex (paragraph [0051]).
Secondly, the claimed invention is directed to an apparatus while the applicant’s arguments are related to a method, which is NOT within the scope of invention.
Finally, the applicant does not provide any evidence that the teaching of Belashchenko could not use CO2 as plasma gas or the cathode of Belashchenko could not operate with CO2 as the plasma gas.
Applicant's arguments do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections.
Conclusion
Claims 9, 11-13, and 19-20 are rejected, Claims 14-16, and 21 are withdrawn. Claims 10, and 17-18 are canceled.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/XIUYU TAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795