Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 9 – 11, 13 – 14, 16, 20 – 21, and 25 – 34 are pending in this application, wherein claims 1, 9 – 11, 26 – 27, and 29 – 34 are amended, claims 2 – 8, 12, 15, 17 – 19, and 22 – 24 are canceled, and claims 13 – 14, 16, and 20 – 21 are withdrawn.
Claims 1, 9 – 11, and 25 – 34 are currently examined.
Priority
This application is a national stage application of PCT/EP2019/083146, filed November 29, 2019, which claims benefit of domestic application 62/772,810, filed November 29, 2018.
Withdrawn Rejections
The rejection of claims 1, 3, 9 – 11, and 25 – 34 in the previous Office Action, dated June 18, 2026, under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement has been considered and is withdrawn in view of amended claims 1 and 9 – 11.
The rejection of claims 1, 10 – 11, 25 – 26, and 31 – 33 in the previous Office Action, dated June 18, 2026, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. in view of Leps et al., Heuzé et al., and Ji has been considered and is withdrawn in view of the amended claim 1.
The rejection of claims 9, 29, and 34 in the previous Office Action, dated June 18, 2026, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. in view of Leps et al., Heuzé et al., and Ji as applied to claims 1, 10 – 11, 25 – 26, and 31 – 33 above, and further in view of Boonstra et al. and Pasha has been considered and is withdrawn in view of amended claim 1.
The rejection of claims 27 – 28 in the previous Office Action, dated June 18, 2026, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. in view of Leps et al., Heuzé et al., and Ji as applied to claims 1, 10 – 11, 25 – 26, and 31 – 33 above, and further in view of Gerard et al. and Remon et al. has been considered and is withdrawn in view of amended claim 1.
The rejection of claims 27 – 28 in the previous Office Action, dated June 18, 2026, on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 7 – 8, 11 – 12, 15, and 21 of copending Application No. 17/298,272 in view of Chen et al. and Ji, and further in view of Gerard et al. and Remon et al. has been considered and is withdrawn in favor of the new grounds of rejection set forth below.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1 and 11, lines 1 and 2, respectively, “comprising an guar derivative” should read “comprising a guar derivative”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
nonobviousness.
Claims 1, 10 – 11, 25 – 26, and 30 – 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (Machine Translation of CN105819965A), with evidence provided by BacDive (BacDive, 2026, PTO-892), in view of Ji (WO2014/005555A1, cited in the PTO-892 on January 27, 2026), Hassan et al. (International Journal of Biosciences, 2017, Vol. 11, Issue 5, page 277 – 285, PTO-892), and Berninger et al. (Microbial Biotechnology, 2017, Vol. 11, Issue 2, page 277 – 301, PTO-892).
Liu teaches coated microbial fertilizer particles comprising a pellet core and a coating layer, wherein the weight ratio of the pellet core to the coating layer is 1:0.5 – 0.8 (page 1, lines 31 – 32). Liu teaches that the pellet core is prepared using a fermentation base comprising duck manure, monosodium glutamate residue, furfural residue, corn cob, and grass ash, fermented with microorganisms including Bacillus subtilis and Bacillus megaterium (page 1, lines 33 – 39). Liu specifically identifies the Bacillus megaterium as Bacillus megaterium ATCC14581 (page 2, line 9). According to BacDive, the disclosed ATCC 14581 strain corresponds to Bacillus megaterium CCT 0536 (page 1, Straininfo). Thus, Liu teaches a microbial fertilizer comprising a bacterium selected from the group recited in claim 1. Liu further teaches that the coating layer comprises 1 part Agaricus bisporus residue, 0.5 – 0.6 parts distillers’ grains, 1.0 – 1.5 parts traditional Chinese medicine residue, 1.0 – 1.5 parts humic acid, 0.5 – 1.0 parts guar gum, and 1.8 – 2.1 parts diatomaceous earth, with EM bacterial liquid added for fermentation (page 1, lines 40 – 43). Liu teaches preparing the coating layer by adding the coating materials and EM bacterial liquid into a reaction tank, stirring, and fermenting for 4 – 5 days before drying and pulverizing the resulting material (page 3, lines 8 – 12). Liu subsequently applies the coating material to the Bacillus-containing pellet core to form coated microbial fertilizer particles (page 3, lines 13 – 18). Thus, Liu teaches a microbial fertilizer composition comprising guar gum and a bacterium, wherein the components are incorporated into the fertilizer composition prior to agricultural application, which reads on the limitations “a microorganism that is a bacterium” and “prior to application” of claim 1. Liu further teaches that the activated bacterial solutions contain viable microorganisms and specifies an amount of Bacillus megaterium bacterial solution of 45 – 50 mL/kg fermentation base (page 1, lines 38 – 39). In Example 1, Liu teaches that the Bacillus megaterium bacterial solution contains 5 – 10 billion viable bacteria/mL Liu further teaches that the resulting coated microbial fertilizer particles have a viable-cell count greater than 62 million CFU/g (page 3, lines 38 – 45; page 2, line 28). Thus, Liu teaches quantitatively defined bacterial populations in the preparation and final microbial fertilizer composition, relevant to the microorganism concentration limitations of claim 1. Liu teaches a preferred coating formulation comprising 0.6 part guar gum and 2.0 parts diatomaceous earth (page 2, line 17). In Example 2, Liu specifically teaches adding 22 kg guar gum and 73.3 kg diatomaceous earth to the reaction tank (page 4, lines 33 – 38). The disclosed weight ratio of diatomaceous earth to guar gum is approximately 3.33:1, which falls within the claimed carrier-to-guar derivative ratio of 20:1 to 1:1. Thus, Liu teaches a guar-containing microbial fertilizer formulation having a mineral component and guar in a weight ratio within the numerical range recited in claim 26. Liu further teaches in Example 3 using 23.9 kg guar and 86 kg diatomaceous earth, corresponding to a weight ratio of approximately 3.60:1. Example 4 teaches 52.3 kg guar gum and 109.7 kg diatomaceous earth, corresponding to approximately 2.10:1, while Example 5 teaches 31.9 kg guar gum and 106.4 kg diatomaceous earth, corresponding to approximately 3.34:1 (page 5, line 22; page 6, lines 8 and 40). These embodiments further establish that Liu repeatedly employs mineral material-to-guar ratios falling within the range recited in claim 26. Liu further teaches that the coated microbial fertilizer particles are especially suitable for corn planting, provide nutrients for crop growth, promote root development, and improve crop yield and quality (page 3, lines 21 – 23; lines 29 – 31). Thus, Liu teaches using a guar-containing microbial fertilizer to provide beneficial microorganisms in an agricultural composition for promoting plant growth, corresponding to the general plant biostimulant purpose of claim 1.
However, Liu does not explicitly teach that the guar material is a carboxymethyl hydroxypropyl guar derivative having the claimed degree of substitution; that the guar derivative is present at a concentration increasing the growth rate of the claimed microorganism by at least 5% relative to a no-guar control when measured between 24 and 96 hours after incubation; or that the microorganism and guar derivative are combined prior to application at the claimed CFU/g ratio. Liu also does not explicitly establish the claimed quantities of guar derivative and bacterium applied per 100 kg seed.
Ji teaches a method for enhancing plant growth by applying a seed coating composition comprising a guar derivative to a seed (Abstract). Ji further teaches that the guar derivative may be carboxymethylhydroxypropyl guar (CMGP guar) (page 7, lines 1 – 2). Ji teaches that the degree of substitution (DS) of the disclosed guar derivatives ranges from 0.005 to 3, preferably from 0.01 to 2 (page 7, line 13 – 16). The disclosed DS range overlaps the claimed degree of substitution ranging from 0.01 to 3.0. Ji et al. further teach that the guar derivative may have an average molecular weight ranging from about 100,000 to 3,500,000 daltons (page 7, lines 27 – 28). Thus, Ji teach guar derivatives, including CMHP guar, having DS and molecular weight within the disclosed ranges, relevant to the structural limitations of claims 1 and 10 - 11. In example 1, Ji teaches applying the guar derivative at a guar-to-seed weight ratio of 0.2% (page 12, lines 7 – 8). This corresponds to 0.2 kg, or 200 g, of guar derivative per 100 kg seed, which falls within the claimed amount of 50 to 500 g/100 kg seed. Thus, Ji et al. teach applying a guar derivative to seeds in an amount within the range recited in claim 1.
Hassan et al. teach evaluating the effects of different polymers and polymer concentration on the growth and survival of rhizobial bacteria in liquid inoculant formulations (Title). Hassan et al. teach preparing liquid inoculants containing polyvinylpyrrolidone (PVP), polyvinyl alcohol (PVA), polyethylene glycol (PEG), or gum Arabic at different concentrations and inoculating the formulations with rhizobial strains, including TAL380, USDA110, and ENRR12 (page 278, Right Col., para. 3; page 279, Left Col., para. 1). Hassan et al. further teach preparing a control medium without an added polymer and determining bacterial populations by viable cell counts, expressed as colony-forming units per milliliter (CFU/mL), during incubation (page 279, Left Col., para. 4). Hassan et al. teach assessing bacterial populations on days 0, 2, 4, and 8 after inoculation, including measurements at 48 and 96 hours, which fall within the 24 to 96 hour measurement period recited in claim 1. Hassane et al. further teach that the effects of the polymer additives depend on the polymer concentration and the bacterial strain. Hassan et al. report that gum Arabic at concentrations of 0.3% and 0.8% support the bacterial population of strain TAL380 relative to the control, while a concentration of 0.5% is beneficial for strain ENRR12 (page 280, Right Col., para. 1; Fig. 2A and 2B). Thus, Hassan et al. teach that the concentration of a polymer additive in a bacterial inoculant formulation affects the viable bacterial population and that different concentrations may be evaluated against a no-polymer control to identify concentrations favorable to a particular bacterial strain. These teachings establish that polymer concentration is a variable known to affect bacterial population levels in agricultural microbial inoculant formulations.
Berninger et al. teach the importance of maintaining and assessing bacterial cell viability in microbial inoculant formulations intended for agricultural application (Title). Berninger et al. teach that the effectiveness of a microbial inoculant depends on delivering a sufficient number of viable bacterial cells to the plant, explaining that the delivery of a high number of viable cells to the plant is a prerequisite to reach a satisfactory colonization rate, which in turn enhances the desired effect in the field (page 278, Left Col., para. 2). Thus, Berninger et al. teach that maintaining a high viable bacterial population in an agricultural microbial formulation is important for achieving satisfactory plant colonization and the intended agricultural benefit. Berninger et al. further teach that microbial inoculants are susceptible to storage conditions and deleterious environmental factors that negatively affect bacterial viability, and that protective formulations are important for maintaining viable bacterial cells (Abstract). Berninger et al. teach that non-sporulating bacterial are susceptible to adverse conditions during processing and field application and therefore require suitable protective formulations (page 278, Left Col., para. 2). Berninger et al. further teach that polymers are among the materials used in microbial inoculant formulations (page 278 – 279, Formulation Technology: state of the art) and that sugars, polymers, and amino acids may be used as externally added protectants against desiccation (page 284, Left Col., para. 1). Berninger et al. additionally emphasize the importance of understanding interactions between bacteria and formulation materials (page 296, Left Col., para. 4). Thus, Berninger et al. teach that selecting formulation materials and processing conditions to maintain bacterial viability is an important consideration in developing agricultural microbial inoculants.
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the microbial fertilizer composition of Liu by substituting the guar gum disclosed therein with the CMHPG in view of Ji because Liu teaches an agricultural microbial fertilizer comprising a bacterial component, including Bacillus megaterium ATCC 14581, and a coating composition containing guar gum and Ji teaches the use of guar derivatives in agricultural seed treatment compositions for enhancing plant growth and explicitly identifies CMHPG among the disclosed guar derivatives. Because Liu and Ji both concern guar-containing agricultural formulations intended to promote plant growth, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ Ji’s disclosed CMHPG as an alternative to the guar material in Liu’s fertilizer coating composition to obtain a formulation suitable for agricultural application and having the benefits of promoting plant growth sought by Ji. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to obtain a functional agricultural formulation because CMHPG is a known derivative of guar gum explicitly identified by Ji for use in agricultural seed treatment compositions. The proposed modification represents the substitution of one known guar-based formulation material for another in a similar agricultural composition to obtain a predictable result.
.
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the agricultural guar formulation teachings of Ji when selecting the characteristics and application amount of the guar derivative in the modified Liu’s composition. Ji teaches using guar derivatives, including CMHPG, in agricultural seed treatment compositions for enhancing plant growth. Ji further discloses DS ranging from 0.005 to 3, including numerical ranges overlapping the claimed
range of 0.01 to 3.0, and molecular weights ranging from approximately 100,000 to
3,500,000 daltons. Ji also teaches applying a guar-containing seed treatment at a guar-to-
seed weight ratio of 0.2%, corresponding to 200 g of guar per 100 kg seed, which
falls within the claimed range of 50 to 500 g per 100 kg seed. Because Liu and Ji both
concern agricultural compositions intended to promote plant growth, one of ordinary
skill in the art would have been motivated to employ Ji’s known seed treatment
teachings when adapting Liu’s microbial fertilizer for application to seeds. One of
ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably expected that Ji’s disclosed guar
application amount would provide a suitable starting point for delivering a guar-containing
agricultural formulation to seeds. Such a modification represents applying a
known agricultural seed-treatment technique to a similar agricultural composition for the
predictable purpose of providing a guar-containing seed treatment.
It would further have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to evaluate and adjust the concentration of CMHPG in Liu’s modified microbial fertilizer in view of Hassan et al. and Berninger et al. because Hassan et al. teach that polymer additives and their concentrations affect viable bacterial populations in microbial inoculant formulations, that these effects depend on the particular bacterial strain, and that bacterial populations may be evaluated relative to a control formulation without an added polymer. Hassan et al. further teach evaluating bacterial populations at 48 and 96 hours after inoculation. Berninger et al. teach that delivering a high number of viable bacterial cells to plants is important for achieving satisfactory plant colonization and the desired
agricultural effect. Berninger et al. also emphasize the importance of interactions
between bacteria and formulation materials. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would
have recognized that polymer concentration was a formulation parameter relevant to
bacterial population levels and that selecting an appropriate concentration is desirable
for producing an effective agricultural microbial inoculant. One of ordinary skill in the art
would therefore have been motivated to investigate different concentrations of CMHPG
in the modified Liu’s composition and compare bacterial performance with a
corresponding formulation lacking the guar derivative. Because Hassan et al.
demonstrate concentration-dependent effects on bacterial populations, one of ordinary
skill in the art would have reasonably expected that varying CMHPG concentration could
affect viable bacterial population levels and that comparative testing could identify
concentrations favorable to the selected bacterial strain. Such investigation represents
optimization of a formulation parameter known to affect viable bacterial populations for
the recognized purpose of providing an agricultural inoculant containing viable bacteria.
With respect to the claimed microorganism-to-guar derivative ratio ranging from 1 × 104
to 1 × 1015 CFU/g prior to application, Liu teaches incorporating viable bacteria and guar
gum into a microbial fertilizer composition before agricultural application. Liu further
teaches bacterial culture concentrations, viable-cell counts, and quantities of guar gum
used in preparing the fertilizer. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the claimed ratio concerns the number of viable microorganisms relative to the mass of guar derivative in the combined composition before application and does not require a particular mixing duration or homogeneous distribution of the components. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized bacterial loading and guar content as formulation parameters that could be adjusted when preparing Liu’s microbial fertilizer. In view of the broad claimed ratio range and the known importance of delivering viable bacterial cells, as taught by Berninger et al., one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reason to select suitable bacterial and guar quantities when preparing the modified formulation. The proposed adjustment constitutes routine
optimization of formulation quantities for the recognized purpose of providing a
microbial fertilizer containing viable bacteria and a guar derivative.
With respect to the limitation requiring at least a 5% increase in microorganism growth
rate relative to a composition without the guar derivative when measured between 24
and 96 hours after incubation, Hassan et al. teach that the concentration of polymer
additives affects bacterial populations in microbial inoculant formulations and that the
effects depend on the particular bacterial strain. Hassan et al. further teach comparing
polymer-containing formulations with a no-polymer control and evaluating bacterial
populations at 48 and 96 hours after inoculation. Berninger et al. teach that maintaining
a high number of viable bacterial cells is important for satisfactory plant colonization and
agricultural performance. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been
motivated to optimize the concentration of CMHPG in Liu’s modified microbial fertilizer
to obtain favorable bacterial performance, using comparative measurements within the
claimed incubation period. The proposed optimization involves adjusting a polymer
concentration known to affect bacterial populations for the recognized purpose of
improving the suitability of a microbial inoculant for agricultural application.
With respect to the limitation requiring application of the bacterium in an amount ranging
from 1.1 × 104 to 1.1 × 1015 CFU per 100 kg seed, Liu teaches a microbial fertilizer
containing viable bacteria, and Ji teaches applying guar-containing agricultural
formulations to seeds. Berninger et al. further establish the importance of delivering
viable bacterial cells for effective plant colonization. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art
would have had a reason to select an appropriate bacterial loading when adapting Liu’s
microbial fertilizer for seed treatment. In view of Liu’s disclosed viable bacterial
concentrations and Ji’s agricultural seed-treatment teachings, selection of a bacterial
application amount would have involved adjusting the quantity of microbial fertilizer
applied to the seed to deliver viable bacteria. Such adjustment represents selection of a
known agricultural inoculant application parameter for the recognized purpose of
providing sufficient viable bacteria to treated seeds.
With respect to claims 25 and 26, Liu teaches a coating composition comprising guar
gum and diatomaceous earth. Liu further teaches, in Example 2, using 73.3 kg of
diatomaceous earth and 22 kg of guar gum, corresponding to a diatomaceous-earth-to-guar
weight ratio of approximately 3.33:1, which falls within the claimed numerical range
of 20:1 to 1:1. It is known in the art that diatomaceous earth is made of silicon dioxide, which is recited in claim 25. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reason to
consider known microbial inoculant carrier materials, including silicon dioxide,
when formulating Liu’s modified microbial fertilizer because these materials were
recognized for use in microbial inoculant formulations. Selecting a known carrier material
for its established formulation function would have constituted substitution of one
known carrier for another in a similar agricultural microbial composition. Liu’s disclosed
carrier-to-guar proportions further provide known formulation proportions within the
numerical range recited in claim 26.
Accordingly, the combined teachings of Liu, Ji, Hassan et al., and
Berninger et al. provide an articulated reason for substituting CMHPG for native guar
gum in an agricultural microbial fertilizer, selecting known guar-based seed-treatment
characteristics and application amounts, and optimizing bacterial loading and polymer
concentration in consideration of their effects on microbial inoculant performance.
Ji provides agricultural seed-treatment teachings; Hassan et al.
demonstrate concentration-dependent bacterial responses; and Berninger et al. explain
the agricultural importance of maintaining viable bacterial populations. One of ordinary
skill in the art would therefore have had a reasonable expectation of obtaining a usable
agricultural microbial formulation through the proposed modifications, employing known
formulation techniques and selecting appropriate concentrations and application
amounts for the intended agricultural use.
Claims 9 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (Machine Translation of CN105819965A), with evidence provided by BacDive (BacDive, 2026, PTO-892), in view of Ji (WO2014/005555A1, cited in the PTO-892 on January 27, 2026), Hassan et al. (International Journal of Biosciences, 2017, Vol. 11, Issue 5, page 277 – 285, PTO-892), and Berninger et al. (Microbial Biotechnology, 2017, Vol. 11, Issue 2, page 277 – 301, PTO-892) as applied to claims 1, 10 – 11, 25 – 26, and 31 – 33 above, and further in view of Boonstra et al. (US3912713, cited in the PTO-892 on August 14, 2025) and Pasha (Pak. J. Pharm. Sci., 2008, Vol. 21, Issue 1, page 40 – 44, cited in the PTO-892 on June 18, 2026).
The combined teachings of Liu, Ji, Hassan et al., and Berninger et al. teach the limitations discussed above.
However, Liu, Ji, Hassan et al., and Berninger et al. do not explicitly teach preparing the guar derivative by introducing guar splits to one or more derivatizing agents containing a reactive group comprising an anionic group, as additionally recited in claims 9 and 34. Boonstra et al. teach a method of producing a non-lumping derivatives of guar gum, which comprises derivatizing guar gum in the form of guar gum splits at a moisture content of 20 – 80% by weight, while maintaining the form of gum splits during derivatization (Col. 2, lines 1 – 5), wherein the derivatizing agents may be compounds containing epoxy groups, such as alkylene oxides (Col. 2, lines 26 – 27; line 32). Boonstra et al. teach mixing guar gum splits with water and alkali, followed by adding a derivatizing agent to the swollen guar splits and allowing the reaction to proceed (Col. 2, lines 50 – 56). Boonstra et al. teach that the disclosed process eliminates the preliminary step of milling guar gum splits into guar flour before derivatization and eliminates certain processing steps following derivatization (Col. 1, lines 60 – 65). Boonstra et al. also teach that the resulting guar gum derivatives do not form lumps or clots upon mixing with water and may be dispersed without special stirring equipment (Col. 3, lines 37 – 40). Boonstra et al. further teach, in Example I, reacting guar gum splits with sodium monochloroacetate to produce a carboxymethyl guar derivative having a degree of substitution of carboxymethyl groups of 0.12 (Col. 4, lines 1 – 2). This DS falls within the claimed range of 0.01 to 3.0 for anionic substituent groups. Boonstra et al. additionally teach that guar gum splits may be derivatized using two etherifying or esterifying agents, either simultaneously or successively (claims 3 – 5). Thus, Boonstra et al. teach preparing guar derivatives from guar splits using known derivatizing agents, including an agent that introduces carboxymethyl substituent groups.
Pasha teaches the derivatization of guar to sodium carboxymethylhydroxypropyl derivative (Title). Monochloro sodium acetate and propylene oxide are used in the derivatization (page 40, Right Col., para. 1). Pasha further teaches that the resulting derivative contains both carboxymethyl and hydroxypropyl groups, as confirmed by spectral characterization (page 41, Left Col., para. 1). Thus, Pasha teaches the specific derivatizing agents for producing CMHP guar, which reads on “comprising an anionic group to prepare the anionic guar derivative, wherein the anionic guar derivative contains the carboxymethyl group and a hydroxypropyl group” of claims 9 and 34. Moreover, Pasha teaches the hydroxypropyl substitution and reports a degree of substitution of 1.5 for the prepared derivative (page 41, Right Col., para. 2).
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to prepare the CMHP guar derivative selected for the modified microbial fertilizer composition of Liu using the guar split derivatization method in view of Boonstra et al. and the specific derivatizing reagents in view of Pasha because Boonstra et al. teach a conventional process for preparing guar gum derivatives directly from guar splits and explain that this process avoids the preliminary milling of guar splits into guar flour and produces derivatives that disperse in water without forming lumps. Pasha teaches that sodium monochloroacetate and propylene oxide are suitable reagents for preparing a guar derivative containing both carboxymethyl and hydroxypropyl group. In view of Ji’s teaching that guar derivatives, including CMHPG, are useful in agricultural seed treatment compositions, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the known chemical preparation techniques of Boonstra et al. and Pasha to obtain the desired CMHPG derivative for incorporation into the modified Liu’s composition. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in preparing the desired CMHPG derivative because Boonstra et al. explicitly teach derivatizing guar splits with known etherifying agents, including sodium monochloroacetate, and further teach the use of multiple derivatizing agents, while Pasha explicitly demonstrates the preparation of sodium carboxymethyl hydroxypropyl guar using sodium monochloroacetate and propylene oxide. The proposed modification therefore constitutes applying a known chemical preparation technique to obtain ta known guar derivative for its established formulation function, with the predictable result of producing a guar derivative containing the desired substituent groups.
Regarding claim 9, Boonstra et al. further disclose a carboxymethyl degree of substitution of 0.12, which falls within the claimed anionic degree of substitution range of 0.01 to 3.0. Pasha teaches hydroxypropyl substitution and reports a degree of substitution of 1.5 for the prepared derivative. These disclosure establish that the extent of substitution of guar derivatives is a recognized characteristic of chemically modified guar and that substitution levels may be controlled through the derivatization process. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the degree of substitution and degree of hydroxyalkylation as parameters to be selected when preparing a guar derivative having the desired chemical and formulation properties.
Claims 27 – 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (Machine Translation of CN105819965A), with evidence provided by BacDive (BacDive, 2026, PTO-892), in view of Ji (WO2014/005555A1, cited in the PTO-892 on January 27, 2026), Hassan et al. (International Journal of Biosciences, 2017, Vol. 11, Issue 5, page 277 – 285, PTO-892), and Berninger et al. (Microbial Biotechnology, 2017, Vol. 11, Issue 2, page 277 – 301, PTO-892) as applied to claims 1, 10 – 11, 25 – 26, and 31 – 33 above, and further in view of Pathak et al. (US2017/0215430A1) and Hurst et al. (US2018/0084776A1).
The combined teachings of Liu, Ji, Hassan et al., and Berninger et al. teach the limitations discussed above. Liu further teaches preparing a coating mixture comprising guar gum, diatomaceous earth, and water, wherein the water content of the mixture is adjusted to 30 – 40%, followed by stirring, fermentation, drying, and pulverization (page 3, lines 8 – 11). Liu also teaches preparing microbial fertilizer particles having diameters of 4 – 6 mm through a granulation process (page 3, lines 5 – 7). Thus, Liu teaches that water content and particle size are controlled parameters in preparing its particulate microbial fertilizer composition.
However, Liu, Ji, Hassan et al., and Berninger et al. do not explicitly teach preparing wet granules by wet granulation of the anionic guar derivative mixed with the carrier and water, wherein the resulting wet granules have a water content ranging from 10 wt.% to 50 wt.% based on a total weight of wet granules and the wet granules have a diameter ranging from 0.1 to 6 mm.
Pathak et al. teach preparing water-dispersible granules containing agricultural microorganisms, including Bacillus megaterium, having plant growth-promoting properties. Pathak et al. teach preparing such granules by combining concentrated bacterial fermentation material with powdered formulation ingredients to form a dough, adjusting the moisture content of the dough to 25 – 35%, extruding the dough using a screw-dome or basket extruder, and subsequently drying the extruded material to moisture content below 10% (para. [0057 – 0058]). Thus, Pathak et al. teach wet granulation of a bacterial agricultural formulation at a moisture content within the claimed range of 10 – 50% by weight before drying. Pathak et al. teach that the product has good durability and does not dust which increases handleability of the product during application when formulated as a granule (Abstract).
Hurst et al. teach agricultural granular composition containing microorganisms (Abstract) and disclose granule diameters ranging from 0.1 to 5 mm (para. [0239]). Hurst et al. further teach wet granulation as a method of preparing microorganism-containing agricultural granules (para. [0240 – 0242]) and specifically describe adding a bacterial cell suspension to a dry mixture, forming a dough, extruding the dough using a wet granulator equipped with a 3.15 mm sieve, and subsequently drying the extruded material (para. [0363 – 0365]).
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the preparation of Liu’s microbial fertilizer composition by employing the wet granulation techniques taught by Pathak et al. and Hurst et al. to prepare granules comprising the guar derivative and carrier because Liu teaches preparing ta guar-containing coating mixture comprising guar gum, diatomaceous earth, and water, with a water content of 30 – 40%, and separately teaches preparing microbial fertilizer particles by granulation, Pathak et al. teach wet granulation of agricultural bacterial formulations, including formulations containing Bacillus megaterium, using a moist mixture having a water content of 25 – 35% before extrusion, and Hurst et al. further teach wet granulation of microorganism-containing agricultural compositions and disclose granule diameters within the claimed range. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill would have recognized wet granulation as a known alternative method for preparing particulate agricultural microbial compositions. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the wet granulation techniques of Pathak et al. and Hurst et al. in preparing the modified Liu composition to obtain granules having suitable handling characteristics and controlled particle size for agricultural application. Pathak et al. teach that granular formulations improve handling and reduce dust generation, while Hurst et al. demonstrate the preparation of agricultural microorganism-containing granules by wet granulation. Applying these known techniques to the guar derivative and carrier mixture of Liu would provide an alternative to drying and pulverizing the coating mixture while retaining the use of a particulate formulation suitable for agricultural application. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in making the proposed expectation of success in making the proposed modification because Liu already teaches combining guar gum, diatomaceous earth, and water at a water content of 30 – 40%, which falls within the claimed range, and separately teaches producing microbial fertilizer particles having diameters of 4 – 6 mm. Pathak et al. demonstrate successful wet granulation of agricultural bacterial formulations using 25 – 35% moisture before extrusion, while Hurst et al. demonstrate wet granulation of microorganism-containing agricultural compositions and disclose granule sizes overlapping the claimed range. Accordingly, employing these established agricultural wet-granulation techniques would have been expected to produce a particulate composition comprising guar derivative and carrier suitable for incorporation into Liu’s microbial fertilizer.
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (Machine Translation of CN105819965A), with evidence provided by BacDive (BacDive, 2026, PTO-892), in view of Ji (WO2014/005555A1, cited in the PTO-892 on January 27, 2026), Hassan et al. (International Journal of Biosciences, 2017, Vol. 11, Issue 5, page 277 – 285, PTO-892), Berninger et al. (Microbial Biotechnology, 2017, Vol. 11, Issue 2, page 277 – 301, PTO-892), Boonstra et al. (US3912713, cited in the PTO-892 on August 14, 2025) and Pasha (Pak. J. Pharm. Sci., 2008, Vol. 21, Issue 1, page 40 – 44, cited in the PTO-892 on June 18, 2026) as applied to claims 1, 9 – 11, 25 – 26, and 31 – 34 above, and further in view of Gangotri et al. (World Journal of Microbiology and Biotechnology, 2012, Vol. 28, Issue 5, page 2279 – 2285, cited in the PTO-892 on March 21, 2024) and Fages et al. (US5366532).
The combined teachings of Liu, Ji, Hassan et al., Berninger et al., Boonstra et al., and Pasha teach the limitations discussed above. Liu further teaches preparing a particulate microbial fertilizer by incorporating activated bacterial liquids, including liquid containing Bacillus megaterium, into a fermentation base, followed by aerobic fermentation and granulation. Liu separately teaches preparing a guar-containing coating composition using guar gum, diatomaceous earth, and EM bacterial liquid, followed by fermentation and drying (page 1, lines 32 – 44). Thus, Liu teaches employing bacterial liquids and guar gum during the manufacture of a particulate microbial fertilizer.
However, Liu, Ji, Hassan et al., Berninger et al., Boonstra et al., and Pasha do not explicitly teach adding the claimed CMHPG derivative to the liquid culture medium containing the bacterial microorganisms.
Gangotri et al. teach evaluating guar gum derivatives, including CMHPG, as gelling agents for microbial culture media (page 2280, Left Col., para. 1). Gangotri et al. teach evaluating bacterial growth on culture media containing guar gum derivatives, including CMHPG, and specifically identify Bacillus megaterium 428 among the bacterial cultures evaluated (page 2280, Right Col., para. 2). Gangotri et al. teach that bacterial growth became evident within 24 hours after inoculation and that subsequent bacterial growth is similar on the media containing agar, guar gm, and the guar derivatives (page 2282, Left Col., para. 1). Thus, Gangotri et al. demonstrate that CMHPG-containing microbial culture media may support bacterial growth, including growth of Bacillus megaterium.
Fages et al. teach preparing a microorganism-containing agricultural inoculant by cultivating microorganisms in a fermenter and subsequently adding a polysaccharide to the culture medium containing the microorganisms (Col. 1, lines 67 – 68; Col. 2, lines 1 – 3). Fages et al. further teach processing the resulting mixture into droplets, forming a gel, and subsequently rinsing and drying the gel to obtain a storable microorganism-containing inoculant (Col. 2, lines 4 – 13). Fages et al. additionally teach incorporating the dried inoculant into a granular fertilizer composition (Col. 2, lines 21 – 36). Thus, Fages et al. teach adding a polysaccharide to a microorganism-containing culture medium before preparing a dried agricultural inoculant suitable for use with granular fertilizer.
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of preparing Liu’s microbial fertilizer composition, as modified by the references discussed above, by employing the polysaccharide-addition technique in view of Fages et al. and selecting the CMHPG derivative in view of Gangotri et al. because Liu teaches employing bacterial liquids and guar gum in preparing a particulate microbial fertilizer, Fages et al. teach adding a polysaccharide to a microorganism-containing culture medium during the preparation of an agricultural microbial inoculant, and Gangotri et al. teach that microbial culture media containing CMHPG may support bacterial growth, including growth of Bacillus megaterium. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to add the CMHPG derivative to the bacterial culture medium of the modified process of Liu to prepare a polymer-containing microbial composition suitable for subsequent processing into an agricultural fertilizer. Fages et al. demonstrate the use of polysaccharides in preparing microorganism-containing inoculants for agricultural applications, while Gangotri et al. establish the suitability of CMHPG for use in microbial culture media. Thus, the proposed modification would apply a known polysaccharide-addition technique to a similar agricultural microbial preparation to obtain a predictable polymer-containing bacterial composition. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Fages et al. demonstrate that a polysaccharide may be added to a microorganism-containing culture medium during inoculant preparation, and Gangotri et al. demonstrate that bacterial growth may occur in culture media containing CMHPG. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonable expected that adding CMHPG to a liquid bacterial culture medium would yield a CMHPG-containing microbial preparation suitable for subsequent processing into Liu’s particulate microbial fertilizer.
Responses to Applicant’s Remarks:
Applicant’s Remarks, filed August 18, 2026, have been fully considered. The previous rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 based on Chen et al. in view of Leps et al., Heuzé et al., and Ji, and the additional references applied to the dependent claims, are withdrawn and replaced with new grounds of rejection base on Liu as the primary reference. Accordingly, Applicant’s arguments specifically directed to the teachings of the previously applied reference combinations are moot with respect to the new grounds of rejection. The amended claims have been reconsidered in light of Applicant’s Remarks, and the new grounds of rejection are set forth above.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 10 – 11, 25 – 26, and 30 – 33 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 7 – 8, 11 – 12, 15, and 21 of copending Application No. 17/298,272 (claim sets of August 13, 2026) in view of Chen et al. (US20120220454A1) and Ji (WO2014/005555A1, cited in the PTO-892 on January 27, 2026).
‘272 claims a method for increasing the growth rate of microorganisms comprising applying a biostimulant composition comprising microorganisms and Cyamopsis tetragonoloba (guar) gum to a seed, wherein the microorganisms are bacteria, the guar gum is present at a concentration increase the growth rate of the microorganisms by 2 – 550% when measured between 24 and 96 hours after the microorganism incubation with the guar gum compared to without a control of the microorganism, the guar gum possesses an average molecular weight within a 2,000 to 5,000,000 Daltons, and the microorganism and the guar gum are combined in a ratio microorganism:guar gum ranging from 1 x 104 to 1 x 1015 CFU/g, and wherein the presence of guar gum in the biostimulant composition improved water content of the plant (claims 1, 12, 16 – 17, and 20 – 21). ‘272 claims a method for increasing the growth rate of microorganisms, wherein the method comprises a step of contacting a biostimulant composition comprising Cyamopsis tetragonoloba (guar) gum, a carrier, and microorganisms on at least one seed with guar gum, wherein the amount of microorganism ranges from 1 x 104 to 1 x 1015 CFU/100 kg seed and the guar gum is present at a concentration to increase the growth rate of the microorganisms at least 5% compared to without the presence of the guar gum, wherein the carrier is calcium carbonate, and wherein a weight ratio between the carrier and the guar gum ranges from 20:1 to 1:1 (claims 8 and 26 – 27). ‘272 claims that the guar gum is used in an amount ranging from 50 to 500 g/100 kg seed (claims 23 – 24). Finally, ‘272 claims that the microorganism is a bacterium, wherein the bacterium is Bradyrhizobium japonicum strain CCT 4065 (claims 25 and 29).
However, ‘272 does not claim the biostimulant composition comprises a guar derivative, wherein the guar derivative contains a carboxymethyl group and a hydroxypropyl group and exhibits a DS ranging from 0.01 to 3.0. ‘272 does not claim the concentration of guar derivative that will increase the growth rate of the microorganism at least 5% compared to without a presence of the guar derivative. ‘272 does not claim the guar derivative has a degree of hydroxyalkylation comprised between about 0.1 and about 1.0.
Chen et al. teach seed coating composition that promotes the seedling establishment through water retention or water absorption, which wets the surrounding area of soil around the seed (para. [0006]), wherein the composition comprising at least one layer of carboxymethylhydroxypropyl guar (para. [0018]).
Ji teaches a method to increase the growth of a plant by coating a seed of said plant with a composition comprising at least a cationic guar (Abstract). Cationic guars used in the invention may be carboxymethylhydroxypropyl guar (CMHP guar) (page 7, lines 1 – 2). The MS of cationic guars is between 0 and 3 and the DS of cationic guars is between 0.005 and 3 (page 7, lines 7 – 9; lines 12 – 15).
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the guar gum in the biostimulant composition for the seed coating as taught by ‘272 with CMHP guar in view of Chen et al. because both ‘272 and Chen et al. are directed to seed treatment compositions comprising guar-based material for improving plant or seed performance and both references recognize guar-based materials as useful in seed treatment for retaining water. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to substitute the guar gum in the biostimulant composition for the seed coating as taught by ‘272 with CMHP guar in view of Chen et al. because Chen et al. teach that CMHP guar provides water retention and water absorption benefits in seed coating compositions. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably expected incorporation of the known CMHP guar into the guar-based seed treating composition of ‘272 to provide the predictable benefit of improved moisture retention associated with guar-derived coating materials.
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the DS and MS values for CMHP guar in view of Ji into the CMHP guar of Chen et al. for the seed coating because both Chen et al. and Ji teach using CMHP guar as a seed coating material for improving seed or plant growth performance. Chen et al. teach CMHP guar as a suitable guar derivative in a seed coating layer, but do not explicitly disclose the DS/MS values of the guar. Ji teaches that CMHP guar suitable for seed coating may have a DS between 0.005 and 3 and an MS between 0 and 3. Thus, Ji supplies conventional, art-recognized substitution parameters for the same type of guar derivative used for the same seed coating purpose disclosed by Chen et al. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select DS/MS values within Ji’s disclosed ranges because DS and MS are known structural parameters that affect the coating behavior of guar derivatives. As Chen et al. uses CMHP guar as a seed coating polymer and Ji teaches workable CMHP guar substitution ranges for seed coating compositions, selecting an DS/MS value within Ji’s disclosed ranges would have involved routine optimization of a known material for its expected coating properties. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to incorporate the DS and MS values for CMHP guar in view of Ji into the CMHP guar of Chen et al. for the seed coating because both references use the same guar derivative in seed coating and Ji teaches conventional substitution ranges suitable for the same use.
Regarding the “ratio of microorganisms:anionic guar derivative” and the amount of anionic guar derivative, ‘272 recites that the microorganism and guar gum are combined in a ratio ranging from 1 x 104 to 1 x 1015 CFU/g and that the amount of guar gum is from 50 to 500 g/100 kg seed. The claimed ratio and amount are the same range. Although ‘272 recites guar gum rather than the CMHP guar derivative, the ratio and amount would have been maintained when substituting the CMHP guar of Chen et al. for the guar gum of ‘272 because the substitution changes the identity of the guar material, not the known microorganism-to-guar ratio. Thus, it would have been obvious to use the same microorganism:guar ratio and the same amount of guar taught by ‘272 with the CMHP guar derivative of Chen et al. One would have performed routine experimentation to discover the best ratio of microorganism:anionic guar derivative and the best amount of anionic guar derivative based on the teachings of ‘272 for the optimal biostimulant characteristics.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 9 and 34 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 7 – 8, 11 – 12, 15, and 21 of copending Application No. 17/298,272 (claim sets of August 13, 2026) in view of Chen et al. (US20120220454A1) and Ji (WO2014/005555A1, cited in the PTO-892 on January 27, 2026) as applied to claims 1, 10 – 11, 25 – 26, and 30 – 33, and further in view of Boonstra et al. (US3912713, cited in the PTO-892 on August 14, 2025) and Pasha (Pak. J. Pharm. Sci., 2008, Vol. 21, Issue 1, page 40 – 44, cited in the PTO-892 on June 18, 2026).
The combined teachings of ‘272, Chen et al., and Ji teach the limitations discussed above.
However, ‘272, Chen et al., and Ji do not teach the method further comprising the method of preparing the anionic guar derivative, wherein the method comprises introducing a guar split to one or more derivatizing agents containing a reactive group comprising an anionic group to prepare the anionic guar derivative.
Boonstra et al. teach a method of producing a non-lumping derivatives of guar gum, which comprises derivatizing guar gum in the form of guar gum splits at a moisture content of 20 – 80% by weight (Col. 2, lines 1 – 5), wherein the derivatizing agents may be compounds containing epoxy groups, such as alkylene oxides (Col. 2, lines 26 – 27; line 32). Thus, Boonstra et al. teach the step of introducing a guar split to one or more derivatizing agents containing a reactive group, which read on the “introducing a guar split to one or more derivatizing agents containing a reactive group” of claims 9 and 34.
Pasha teaches the derivatization of guar to sodium carboxymethylhydroxypropyl derivative (Title). Monochloro sodium acetate and propylene oxide are used in the derivatization (page 40, Right Col., para. 1). Thus, Pasha teaches the specific derivatizing agents for producing CMHP guar, which reads on “comprising an anionic group to prepare the anionic guar derivative, wherein the anionic guar derivative contains the carboxymethyl group and a hydroxypropyl group” of claims 9 and 34.
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to prepare the CMHP guar as taught by Chen et al. and Ji using the guar split derivatization method and the specific reagents, such as monochloro sodium acetate and propylene oxide in view of Boonstra et al. and Pasha because Boonstra et al. teach a conventional process for preparing guar gum derivatives from guar splits, Pasha teaches the specific reagents used to produce CMHP guar, and Chen et al. and Ji teach that CMHP guar derivatives are suitable guar derivatives for seed coating applications. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to prepare the CMHP guar as taught by Chen et al. and Ji using the guar split derivatization method and the specific reagents, such as monochloro sodium acetate and propylene oxide, in view of Boonstra et al. and Pasha because Boonstra et al. explicitly teach derivatizing guar splits using known agents, including alkylene oxides, and Pasha explicitly teaches the reagents, including monochloro sodium acetate and propylene oxide, for the derivatization of CMHP guar.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 27 – 28 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 7 – 8, 11 – 12, 15, and 21 of copending Application No. 17/298,272 (claim sets of August 13, 2026) in view of Chen et al. (US20120220454A1) and Ji (WO2014/005555A1, cited in the PTO-892 on January 27, 2026) as applied to claims 1, 3, 10 – 11, 25 – 26, 30, and 31 – 33, and further in view of and further in view of Pathak et al. (US2017/0215430A1) and Hurst et al. (US2018/0084776A1.
The combined teachings of ‘272, Chen et al., and Ji teach the limitations discussed above. Chen et al. further teach that seed coating techniques include seed in a rotating pan or drum is misted with water or other liquid and then gradually a fine inert powder (para. [0062]),
However, ‘272, Chen et al., and Ji do not teach the method further comprising wet granulation, wherein the anionic guar derivative is mixed with the carrier and water, and wherein content of water comprises from 10 wt.% to 50 wt.% based on a total weight of wet granules and the wet granules have a diameter ranging from 0.1 to 6 mm.
Pathak et al. teach preparing water-dispersible granules containing agricultural microorganisms, including Bacillus megaterium, having plant growth-promoting properties. Pathak et al. teach preparing such granules by combining concentrated bacterial fermentation material with powdered formulation ingredients to form a dough, adjusting the moisture content of the dough to 25 – 35%, extruding the dough using a screw-dome or basket extruder, and subsequently drying the extruded material to moisture content below 10% (para. [0057 – 0058]). Thus, Pathak et al. teach wet granulation of a bacterial agricultural formulation at a moisture content within the claimed range of 10 – 50% by weight before drying. Pathak et al. teach that the product has good durability and does not dust which increases handleability of the product during application when formulated as a granule (Abstract).
Hurst et al. teach agricultural granular composition containing microorganisms (Abstract) and disclose granule diameters ranging from 0.1 to 5 mm (para. [0239]). Hurst et al. further teach wet granulation as a method of preparing microorganism-containing agricultural granules (para. [0240 – 0242]) and specifically describe adding a bacterial cell suspension to a dry mixture, forming a dough, extruding the dough using a wet granulator equipped with a 3.15 mm sieve, and subsequently drying the extruded material (para. [0363 – 0365]).
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to prepare the agricultural seed treatment composition comprising anionic guar derivative and a carrier, such as calcium carbonate, as taught by Chen et al. and Ji into wet granules via wet granulation in view of Pathak et al. and Hurst et al. because Pathak et al. and Hurst et al. teach that wet granulation is a known technique for preparing agricultural microorganism-containing compositions into granules. Pathak et al. teach preparing agricultural bacterial formulations using a moist mixture having a water content of 25 – 35% before extrusion and Hurst et al. teach wet granulation of microorganism-containing agricultural compositions and disclose granule diameters ranging from 0.1 to 5 mm. These techniques would have been desirable for the seed treatment composition comprising the anionic guar derivative and carrier taught by Chen et al. and Ji because Pathak et al. teach that granulation provides improved durability, reduced dust generation, and improved handling during application. Improved handling and reduced dust generation would facilitate the preparation, transport, storage, and application of the agricultural seed treatment composition. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in employing the wet granulation techniques of Pathak et al. and Hurst et al. because both references demonstrate the preparation of agricultural microorganism-containing granules using wet processing techniques. Pathak et al. teach forming and extruding a moist mixture having 25 – 35% water before drying, while Hurst et al. teach forming a dough from a bacterial cell suspension and dry ingredients, processing the dough using a wet granulator, and subsequently drying the material. Thus, applying these established techniques would have been expected to produce a particulate agricultural seed treatment composition suitable for handling and application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Responses to Applicant’s Remarks:
Applicant’s Remarks concerning the provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection have been fully considered. Applicant has not presented specific arguments establishing patentable distinctness between the presently claimed invention and the subject matter claimed in ‘272. The double patenting rejection has been reconsidered in view of the amended claims and is maintained for the reasons set forth in the double patenting section above.
Conclusion
No claim is found to be allowable.
/H.Y.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1693
/SCARLETT Y GOON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1693