DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3-5, 7-11, 13, 23-25 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “receiving from the remote system an encrypted communication encrypted using the authentication information as a secret input to a cryptographic function; and decrypting the encrypted communication from the remote system” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. The closest mention of providing authentication information is Fig. 4-6, but it does not mention encryption using an cryptographic function and also the decrypting feature of the claims.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the specifications needs to be updated with reference to figures and elements to the reflect the drawings that needs to be updated.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 7-11, 13, 23-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Pub 2019/0156429 to Beckmann in view of IVEC: Off-Chip Memory Integrity Protection for Both Security and Reliability to Huang1.
Regarding Claim 1, 11, 13, Beckmann discloses A computer-implemented method for anti-replay protection of a memory of a device, wherein the memory is used by and external to a secure element of the device, characterized in that the method comprises the following steps, wherein the steps are performed in the device after a content of the memory is modified comprising:
modifying the memory to create a modified state of a content of the memory(Abstract & Fig. 2 item 210-220, the series of transaction over time is received into transactions data store);
generating device state data by combining data indicative of a history of past modifications state-of the content of the memory with current data from the modified state of the content of the memory(Fig. 2 item 230-250, the hash of transaction represents the history for verification):
transmitting the device state data to a remote system for updating an authentication key of the device stored in a data storage of the remote system and for use by the remote system in an authentication procedure(Par. 0061-0062, the audit identifiers and historic stat information is part of signature process & Par. 051, keys are used for signatures & Fig. 8 item 890, the keys values & Par. 0061); and providing encrypted authentication information based on the device state data authentication key of the device from the secure element to the remote system in the authentication procedure between the device and the remote system to verify a validity of the modified state of the content of the memory (Fig. 3 item 350, 360 & Par. 0043-0045, the verification of transaction via comparing signatures & Par. 0061-0062 & par. 0051, the relevant key value used to verify the insurer & Par. 0041-0045 & Par. 0048 & par. 0041-0045 & Par. 0048 & Par. 0061, the encrypted transactions based on key for the insurer).
Beckman does not disclose receiving from the remote system an encrypted communication encrypted using the authentication information as a secret input to a cryptographic function; and decrypting the encrypted communication from the remote system.
In the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, Huang discloses receiving from the remote system an encrypted communication encrypted using the authentication information as a secret input to a cryptographic function(3.1 Cryptographic Primitives, MAC generated only for parties with secret keys, i.e. authentication information being used for cryptographic function); and decrypting the encrypted communication from the remote system(3.2 Hash/MAC trees, the verification based on decrypting and comparing MAC & Fig. 1 item Encryption and Integrity Verification & 3.4 Security).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Beckman invention to incorporate receiving from the remote system an encrypted communication encrypted using the authentication information as a secret input to a cryptographic function; and decrypting the encrypted communication from the remote system for the advantage of authenticated parties to verify the integrity of block of data as taught in Huang see 2.1 Security Model.
Regarding Claim 3. Beckmann discloses The method according to claim 1, wherein the validity of the modified state of the content of the memory relates to at least one of:
an authenticity of the modified state of the content of the memory (Par. 0060-0062, the audit state are update and verified);
an integrity of the modified state of the content of the memory( Par. 0060-0062, the audit state are update and verified); and
version information of the modified state of the content of the memory Par. 0060-0062, the audit state are update and verified).
Regarding Claim 4. Beckmann discloses method according to claim 1, wherein the secure element is one of: a protected software application running on the device(par. 0056-0058); a trusted execution environment in a chipset of the device(par. 0056-0058); and an integrated secure element of the device(par. 0056-0058).
Regarding Claim 5. Beckmann discloses The method according to claim 1, wherein the modified state of the content of the memory device state data comprises at least one of:
a counter value(par. 0060).; a data value indicative of a software version(par. 0060 & Fig. 8).; and a value representing an integrity of the memory(par. 0060 & Fig.8).
Regarding Claim 7. Beckmann discloses The method according to claim 1, wherein the authentication key comprises at least one of:
at least part of the device state data( Par. 0060-0062, the audit state are update and verified);a function of at least pa-li-part of the device state data( Par. 0060-0062, the audit state are update and verified); and an updated version of a pre-shared authentication key computed from at least part of the device state data(Par. 0066-0067, the signatures are compared)
Regarding Claim 8. Beckmann discloses The method according to claim 1, wherein the modified state of the content of the memory device state data comprises a monotonic counter value obtained from a monotonic counter in the device, and wherein the authentication information includes the monotonic counter value(Fig. 19).
Regarding Claim 9. Beckmann discloses method according to claim 1, wherein the authentication procedure is performed as a separate step before allowing the device to perform an operation with the remote system( Par. 0060-0062, the audit state are update and verified).
Regarding Claim 10. Beckmann discloses method according to claim 1, wherein the authentication procedure is performed implicitly when performing an operation with the remote system as a part of a communication protocol between the device and the remote system(Par. 0065, protocols are used).
Regarding Claim 23. Beckmann discloses The method according to claim 1, wherein the secret input is an encryption key(par. 0048 & Par. 0051, the keys are used).
Regarding Claim 24. Beckmann discloses The method according to claim 1, wherein the secret input is a seed to the cryptographic function(par. 0048 & Par. 0051, the keys are used).
Regarding Claim 25. Beckmann discloses The method according to claim 1, wherein generating device state data by combining the data indicative of the history of past modifications of the content of the memory with the current data from the modified state of the content of the memory comprises hashing together the data indicative of the history of past modifications of the content of the memory and the current data from the modified state of the content of the memory to generate the device state
data( Par. 0060-0062, the audit state are update and verified & Par. 0067-0068).
Conclusion
/VENKAT PERUNGAVOOR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2492 Email: venkatanarayan.perungavoor@uspto.gov
1 The NPL is already in file as of 1/5/2026.