Applicant's reply to the previous Office action, dated April 2, 2026, has been received. By way of this reply, Applicant has amended claim 1 and cancelled claims 22, 23, and 32.
Claims 1-2, 5-17, 19, and 30-31 are pending. Claims 8, 10 and 14 remain withdrawn from consideration, pursuant to the Restriction Requirement mailed April 11, 2024.
Claims 1-2, 5-7, 9, 11-13, 15-17, 19, and 30-31 are therefore under examination before the Office.
The rejections of record can be found in the previous Office action, dated October 2, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-6, 9, 12-13, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Callan (WO2012143739A1) in view of Zheng (Nanomedicine (Lond). 2018 Feb; 13(3):297-311) and Zhang (Cancer Sci. 2018 May;109(5):1330-1345).
Applicant argues that the combination of sonodynamic therapy and a PD-L1 inhibitor produces unexpected results in view of the cited references with regards to treatment of metastatic pancreatic cancer, as the combination of these treatment is significantly enhanced over either treatment alone. Applicant also argues that pancreatic cancers are typically not sensitive to anti-PD-L1 treatments, making the benefit of the combination treatment even more unexpected. Applicant further argues that the teachings of Zheng are limited to ex vivo experiments in the context of B-cell lymphoma and with an anti-PD-1 antibody, and therefore does not permit one of ordinary skill in the art to visualize the use of an anti-PD-L1 antibody in combination with sonodynamic therapy.
Applicant's arguments have been considered but are not found to be persuasive.
"Expected beneficial results are evidence of obviousness of a claimed invention, just as unexpected results are evidence of unobviousness thereof." In re Gershon, 372 F.2d 535, 538, 152 USPQ 602, 604 (CCPA 1967). MPEP 716.02(c)(II).
The abscopal effect from the use of sonodynamic therapy was well known in the art, according to the teachings of Zhang (see Figure 6 and page 1337: "Therefore, a total of 10 mice showed abscopal responses in response to SDT, and 2 mice showed complete abscopal responses, indicating that the combination of HPD with ultrasound can successfully elicit antitumor immunity."). Zhang also teaches combinations of sonodynamic therapy and an immune checkpoint inhibitor (Zhang at 1344, left column, second paragraph: "In summary, we propose that SDT can induce vaccine-like immune responses that could be combined with immune adjuvants and immune checkpoint inhibitors to design a highly effective cancer immunotherapy. Moreover, we examined the antitumor effects of SDT in both subcutaneous tumor and artificially engineered metastatic tumor models.").
Callan teaches a microbubble-sonosensitizer complex, wherein said sonosensitizer is Rose Bengal (page 3, first paragraph, page 7, fifth paragraph, and claim 11). Callan further teaches that the above complex is useful for treating pancreatic cancer and metastases (claim 16 and page 10, first and second paragraphs). Callan further teaches that the microbubble-sonosensitizer complex may be co-administered with chemotherapeutic agents or anti-tumor antibodies (page 13, second and third paragraphs).
Callan also teaches liver cancer and lymphoma may be treated with sonodynamic therapy (claim 16 and page 10, first and second paragraphs). This indicates that the therapy of Callan is useful in other tumor types besides pancreatic cancer.
Contrary to Applicant's assertion, Zheng does teach in vivo applications of rituximab-conjugated and doxorubicin-loaded microbubbles with ultrasonication (page 301, first paragraph: "In our previous study, it was proved that RDMs induced high cytotoxicity and apoptotic effects on human B-cell lymphoma cells in vitro. To further evaluate the antitumor activity of RDMs with US irradiation for B-cell lymphoma treatment, antitumor growth ability was observed in vivo in this study."). The experiments demonstrating enhanced PD-L1 expression were also carried out on tumor tissue harvested from animals (page 301, third and fourth paragraph). Zheng is explicit in stating: "In this study, we showed that PD-L1 expression in SU-DHL-4 cells could be induced after treatment with DOX-based therapy." (page 306, fourth paragraph). Zheng also notes the immunosuppressive tumor microenvironment as an obstacle that is overcome (page 308, "Summary Points").
Given that combinations of sonodynamic therapy and immune checkpoint inhibition were known to produce a synergistic effect, as evidenced by Zheng and Zhang, Applicant's results cannot be said to be unexpected.
This rejection is therefore maintained.
Claims 7, 11 and 30-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Callan, Zheng, and Zhang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Callan 2017 (WO2017089800A1).
Applicant argues that the teachings of Callan 2017 do not remedy the alleged deficiencies of Callan, Zheng, and Zhang. This is not found persuasive, for reasons described supra.
This rejection is therefore maintained.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Callan, Zheng, and Zhang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Rastelli (US20170266280A1).
Applicant argues that the teachings of Rastelli do not remedy the alleged deficiencies of Callan, Zheng, and Zhang. This is not found persuasive, for reasons described supra.
This rejection is therefore maintained.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 5-7, 9, 11-13, 15-17, 19, and 30-31 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the following claims of the indicated patents and patent applications in view of Callan, Zheng, Zhang, Callan 2017, and Rastelli:
Patent/application Conflicting claims
U.S. patent 11,382,987 1-5, 7-11
U.S. patent 11,878,059 1-2, 13-14, 16-17, 20
Application 17/734,484 2-4, 6-7, 11, 14-15, 23, 35-38, 41, 43, 46
Application 17/915,251 1, 6-10, 16-17
Applicant argues that the combination of sonodynamic therapy and a PD-L1 inhibitor produces unexpected results in view of the cited references with regards to treatment of metastatic pancreatic cancer, as the combination of these treatment is significantly enhanced over either treatment alone. Applicant also argues that pancreatic cancers are typically not sensitive to anti-PD-L1 treatments, making the benefit of the combination treatment even more unexpected. Applicant further argues that the teachings of Zheng are limited to ex vivo experiments in the context of B-cell lymphoma and with an anti-PD-1 antibody, and therefore does not permit one of ordinary skill in the art to visualize the use of an anti-PD-L1 antibody in combination with sonodynamic therapy. This is not found persuasive, for reasons described supra.
The above rejections are therefore maintained.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Singer (US20170173079A1) teaches that PV-10 (an aqueous composition of 10% Rose Bengal formulated for intralesional injection, see para. 0005 and 0041) may enhance tumor-specific immune responses in combination with the blockade of immune checkpoint molecules such as CTLA-4, PD-1, PD-L1 and PD-L2 (para. 0107). Singer also teaches that this treatment is useful for pancreatic cancer (para. 0083).
Liu (PLoS One. 2018 Apr 25;13(4):e0196033) teaches that combinations of PV-10 (i.e., Rose Bengal, see abstract) and an anti-PD-L1 antibody delays growth of treated and untreated bystander tumors in melanoma (page 8, third paragraph and Figure 6).
No claim is allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PETER JOHANSEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1644