DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-6, 9, 13, 15-16, 29-34, and 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 6651466 to Shih.
Regarding claim 1, Shih discloses:
A lock assembly (fig 1), comprising: a drive hub (2) configured to be rotated in a first angular direction (figs 2 and 3); a latch (3) having a latch engaged position (fig 2); a lock (5) having a locked mode (fig 2); a first locking member (55) configured such that, when the lock is in the locked mode, the first locking member retains the latch in the latch engaged position (see fig 2); and a second locking member (51) configured such that, when the lock is in the locked mode, the second locking member prevents the drive hub from rotating in the first angular direction (see fig 2), and a housing of the lock assembly (1); wherein the first locking member and the second locking member are part of a locking arm (55 and 5 create a locking arm that locks 3) having a lock engaged position (fig 2), and wherein the latch comprises a latch chassis (31) and the first locking member is configured to abut an end of the latch chassis when the locking arm is in the lock engaged position (see fig 2), and wherein the latch chassis sits within the housing of the lock assembly (fig 2).
Regarding claim 4, Shih discloses:
The lock assembly of claim 1, wherein the drive hub comprises a drive cam (21) which translates rotation of the drive hub to movement of the latch (see movement between figs 2 and 4).
Regarding claim 5, Shih discloses:
The lock assembly of claim 4, wherein the second locking member abuts the drive cam when the lock is in the locked mode (fig 2, 51 abuts 21).
Regarding claim 6, Shih discloses:
The lock assembly of claim 1, wherein the drive hub causes the latch to move from the latch engaged position (fig 2) to a latch disengaged position (fig 4).
Regarding claim 9, Shih discloses:
The lock assembly of claim 1, wherein the lock engages a lock actuator (22, 5 engages 22 via 51 engaging 21 that connects to 22), the lock actuator being linked to a locking arm (shaft of 22 seen in fig 3).
Regarding claim 13, Shih discloses:
The lock assembly of claim 1, further comprising a deadbolt (4) having an engaged position (fig 2) further comprising a deadbolt lock (25) having a locked position (fig 2 in which the deadbolt lock is configured to retain the deadbolt in the engaged position (251 of 25 engages notch 41 of 4 to retain it in the engaged position).
Regarding claim 15, Shih discloses:
The lock assembly of claim 13, wherein the deadbolt lock is biased towards the locked position (via 26).
Regarding claim 16, Shih discloses:
The lock assembly of claim 13 wherein the deadbolt lock is configured to be moved into an unlocked position when the lock is in an unlocked position (see fig 4).
Regarding claim 29, Shih discloses:
A lock assembly (fig 1), comprising: a lock (25) having a locked mode (fig 2) and an unlocked mode (fig 4); a latch (3) having a disengaged position (fig 4) and an engaged position (fig 2); a deadbolt (4) having a disengaged position (fig 4) and an engaged position (fig 2), wherein when the lock is in the locked mode, the deadbolt is able to be moved from the disengaged position to the engaged position (when 5 is in fig 2, 41 is engaged by 251 and moves 4 from fig 4 to fig 2), wherein the deadbolt is configured to be moved between the engaged position and the disengaged position by rotation of a drive hub (6), and wherein the latch is configured to be moved from the engaged position to the disengaged position by rotation of the drive hub (see col 3 lines 1-13).
Regarding claim 30, Shih discloses:
The lock assembly of claim 29, wherein when the lock is in the unlocked mode, the deadbolt is able to be moved from the disengaged position to the engaged position (when 251 is disengaged from4, 4 is free to move between positions).
Regarding claim 31, Shih discloses:
The lock assembly of claim 29, wherein when the lock is in the locked mode, the deadbolt is not able to be moved from the engaged position to the disengaged position (fig 2).
Regarding claim 32, Shih discloses:
The lock assembly of claim 29, further comprising a deadbolt lock (251) having an engaged position in which the deadbolt is retained in an engaged position (fig 2).
Regarding claim 33, Shih discloses:
The lock assembly of claim 32, wherein the deadbolt lock is biased into the engaged position (via 26).
Regarding claim 34, Shih discloses:
The lock assembly of claim 32, wherein the deadbolt lock is configured to move into a disengaged position when the lock is moved into an unlocked mode (251 moves with 25 to the unlocked mode).
Regarding claim 38, Shih discloses:
A door (not shown, see col 1 lines 10-12) comprising a lock assembly (fig 1) according to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 6651466 to Shih in view of US 8234892 to Laverty et al (Laverty).
Regarding claim 9, Shih does not explicitly disclose:
The lock assembly of claim 1, wherein the lock engages a lock actuator, the lock actuator being linked to a locking arm.
However, Laverty teaches that it is well known in the art for: the lock engages a lock actuator (113), the lock actuator being linked to a locking arm (421, fig 10). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Laverty into Shih at least because doing so would provide added control over the lock by providing an actuator.
Regarding claim 10, Shih (in view of Laverty) discloses:
The lock assembly of claim 9, wherein moving the lock into the locked mode causes the lock actuator to move the locking arm into a locked position (rotating 113 to a locked mode causes 421 to move into locked position seen in fig 6, Laverty).
Regarding claim 11, Shih (in view of Laverty) discloses:
The lock assembly of claim 9, wherein moving the lock into an unlocked mode causes the lock actuator to move the locking arm into an unlocked position (fig 7, Laverty).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 6651466 to Shih in view of US 5765410 to Kwan et al (Kwan).
Regarding claim 12, Shih does not explicitly disclose:
The lock assembly of claim 1, further comprising a shootbolt actuator, wherein the shootbolt actuator comprises a third locking member configured to prevent the latch moving into a latch disengaged position when the shootbolt actuator is in a shootbolt engaged position.
However, Kwon teaches that it is well known in the art for: the shootbolt actuator (61) to comprise a third locking member (16) configured to prevent the latch moving into a latch disengaged position (retracted position) when the shootbolt actuator is in a shootbolt engaged position (extended position. While 61/62 are in the extended position, 3 cannot retract. See col 6 lines 63-67 and col 7 lines 1-11). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kwan into Shih at least because doing so would provide added security to the latch and door.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/16/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding Applicant’s arguments that the latch chassis does not sit within the housing, Examiner respectfully disagrees. See new interpretation of latch chassis and housing above.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments that there is an inconsistency with calling the lock 25 and referencing 5 is inconsistent and a person of ordinary skill in the art would regard both as separate and independent elements, Examiner notes that while 25 is referred to as the lock in the rejection above, 5 also acts on 4, with 25 being the actual lock that retains the bolt. Therefore, rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Y.S./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675
/CHRISTINE M MILLS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675