DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 29-34, and 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by AU 2004201336 to Long.
Regarding claim 29, Long discloses:
A lock assembly (fig 1), comprising: a lock (22) having a locked mode (position where 22 is in fig 2) and an unlocked mode (position where 22 is in fig 3); a latch (12) having a disengaged position (fig 5) and an engaged position (fig 1); a deadbolt (13) having a disengaged position (fig 4) and an engaged position (fig 1), wherein when the lock is in the locked mode, the deadbolt is able to be moved from the disengaged position to the engaged position (movement from fig 2 to fig 1), wherein the deadbolt is configured to be moved between the engaged position and the disengaged position by rotation of a drive hub (16), and wherein the latch is configured to be moved from the engaged position to the disengaged position by rotation of the drive hub (see col 3 lines 1-13).
Regarding claim 30, Long discloses:
The lock assembly of claim 29, wherein when the lock is in the unlocked mode, the deadbolt is able to be moved from the disengaged position to the engaged position (movement from fig 3 to fig 1).
Regarding claim 31, Long discloses:
The lock assembly of claim 29, wherein when the lock is in the locked mode, the deadbolt is not able to be moved from the engaged position to the disengaged position (fig 1, 14 cannot move to the disengaged position).
Regarding claim 32, Long discloses:
The lock assembly of claim 29, further comprising a deadbolt lock (46) having an engaged position (fig 1) in which the deadbolt is retained in an engaged position (fig 1).
Regarding claim 34, Long discloses:
The lock assembly of claim 32, wherein the deadbolt lock is configured to move into a disengaged position when the lock is moved into an unlocked mode (movement from figure 1 to figure 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-6, 9-11, 13, 15-16, and 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 6651466 to Shih in view of US 8234892 to Laverty et al (Laverty).
Regarding claim 1, Shih discloses:
A lock assembly (fig 1), comprising: a drive hub (2) configured to be rotated in a first angular direction (figs 2 and 3); a latch (3) having a latch engaged position (fig 2); a lock (5) having a locked mode (fig 2); a first locking member (55) configured such that, when the lock is in the locked mode, the first locking member retains the latch in the latch engaged position (see fig 2); and a second locking member (51) configured such that, when the lock is in the locked mode, the second locking member prevents the drive hub from rotating in the first angular direction (see fig 2), and a housing of the lock assembly (1); wherein the first locking member and the second locking member are part of a locking arm (55 and 5 create a locking arm that locks 3) having a lock engaged position (fig 2).
Shih does not explicitly disclose: wherein the latch comprises a latch chassis and the first locking member is configured to abut an end of the latch chassis when the locking arm is in the lock engaged position, and wherein the latch chassis sits within the housing of the lock assembly.
However, Laverty teaches that it is well known in the art for a latch (260) to comprise a latch chassis (263) and the first locking member (241) is configured to abut an end (261) of the latch chassis when the locking arm is in the lock engaged position (fig 10), and wherein the latch chassis sits within the housing (130). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Laverty into Shih at least because doing so would provide direct control over the latch, thereby increasing safety.
Regarding claim 4, Shih in view of Laverty discloses:
The lock assembly of claim 1, wherein the drive hub comprises a drive cam (21) which translates rotation of the drive hub to movement of the latch (see movement between figs 2 and 4).
Regarding claim 5, Shih in view of Laverty discloses:
The lock assembly of claim 4, wherein the second locking member abuts the drive cam when the lock is in the locked mode (fig 2, 51 abuts 21).
Regarding claim 6, Shih discloses:
The lock assembly of claim 1, wherein the drive hub causes the latch to move from the latch engaged position (fig 2) to a latch disengaged position (fig 4).
Regarding claim 9, Shih in view of Laverty discloses:
The lock assembly of claim 1, wherein the lock engages a lock actuator (113, Laverty), the lock actuator being linked to a locking arm (421, fig 10). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Laverty into Shih at least because doing so would provide added control over the lock by providing an actuator.
Regarding claim 10, Shih in view of Laverty discloses:
The lock assembly of claim 9, wherein moving the lock into the locked mode causes the lock actuator to move the locking arm into a locked position (rotating 113 to a locked mode causes 421 to move into locked position seen in fig 6, Laverty).
Regarding claim 11, Shih in view of Laverty discloses:
The lock assembly of claim 9, wherein moving the lock into an unlocked mode causes the lock actuator to move the locking arm into an unlocked position (fig 7, Laverty).
Regarding claim 13, Shih in view of Laverty discloses:
The lock assembly of claim 1, further comprising a deadbolt (4) having an engaged position (fig 2) further comprising a deadbolt lock (25) having a locked position (fig 2 in which the deadbolt lock is configured to retain the deadbolt in the engaged position (251 of 25 engages notch 41 of 4 to retain it in the engaged position).
Regarding claim 15, Shih in view of Laverty discloses:
The lock assembly of claim 13, wherein the deadbolt lock is biased towards the locked position (via 26).
Regarding claim 16, Shih in view of Laverty discloses:
The lock assembly of claim 13 wherein the deadbolt lock is configured to be moved into an unlocked position when the lock is in an unlocked position (see fig 4).
Regarding claim 38, Shih in view of Laverty discloses:
A door (not shown, see col 1 lines 10-12) comprising a lock assembly (fig 1) according to claim 1.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 6651466 to Shih in view of in view of US 8234892 to Laverty et al (Laverty), and in further view of US 5765410 to Kwan et al (Kwan).
Regarding claim 12, Shih in view of Laverty does not explicitly disclose:
The lock assembly of claim 1, further comprising a shootbolt actuator, wherein the shootbolt actuator comprises a third locking member configured to prevent the latch moving into a latch disengaged position when the shootbolt actuator is in a shootbolt engaged position.
However, Kwon teaches that it is well known in the art for: the shootbolt actuator (61) to comprise a third locking member (16) configured to prevent the latch moving into a latch disengaged position (retracted position) when the shootbolt actuator is in a shootbolt engaged position (extended position. While 61/62 are in the extended position, 3 cannot retract. See col 6 lines 63-67 and col 7 lines 1-11). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kwan into Shih in view of Laverty at least because doing so would provide added security to the latch and door.
Claim(s) 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AU 2004201336 to Long in view of US 6651466 to Shih.
Regarding claim 33, Long does not explicitly disclose:
The lock assembly of claim 32, wherein the deadbolt lock is biased into the engaged position
However, Shih teaches that it is well known in the art for a deadbolt lock (4) to be biased into the engaged position (via 26). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Shih into Long at least because doing so would provide added security by securing the deadbolt in the engaged position.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 29 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/Y.S./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675
/CHRISTINE M MILLS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675