DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hirobumi JP2010276904 published 9 Dec. 2010 as translated by EPO (hereafter Hirobumi).
Regarding claim 1, Hirobumi teaches a domestic air purifier system (Fig 2) comprising:
a removable particulate filter (43);
a fan or impeller (41) and which is powered by a motor (where one of ordinary skill would understand that the centrifugal fan would be powered by a motor in order to provide the fan’s rotation); and
an air duct (40) through which air displaced by the fan or impeller passes in an air flow direction (down to up fan 41 to filter 42) towards the removable particulate filter and is purified wherein the air duct comprises a duct wall (40c) and a portion of the duct wall comprises a gas filter (42a) disposed on a side of the air duct wall to remove harmful gases from the air displaced by the fan or impeller as the air displaced by the fan or impeller passes by the gas filter (¶36).
Regarding claim 2, Hirobumi teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Hirobumi further teaches wherein the gas filter comprises a duct surface and which is flush with the duct wall (as shown in Fig 2).
Regarding claim 3, Hirobumi teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Hirobumi further teaches wherein the air duct is configured such that the air flow direction changes at least once during passage through the air purifier system (as shown in Fig 2).
Regarding claim 4, Hirobumi teaches all the limitations of claim 3. Hirobumi further teaches wherein the particulate filter is disposed such that air passing along the air flow direction passes through the particulate filter (as shown in Fig 2).
Regarding claim 5, Hirobumi teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Hirobumi further teaches wherein the gas filter comprises a foamy filter (¶36).
Regarding claim 6, Hirobumi teaches a method of removing unwanted gases from ambient air (¶36) by passing over a gas filter (42) in the system as described in claim 1 (where Hirobumi teaches all the limitations of claim 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirobumi JP2010276904 published 9 Dec. 2010 as translated by EPO (hereafter Hirobumi) as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 7, Hirobumi teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Hirobumi does not teach wherein the gas filter includes activated carbon.
Hirobumi further teaches where the gas filter includes polar adsorbents (¶36) and where activated carbon is a non-polar adsorbent (¶37).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the gas filter (42) of Hirobumi by having the gas filter include activated carbon in order to allow the gas filter to also adsorb non-polar substances (¶37).
The modification would allow a portion of the non-polar substances to by adsorbed in the gas filter and reduce the load on the particle filter.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirobumi JP2010276904 published 9 Dec. 2010 as translated by EPO (hereafter Hirobumi) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Fogarty CA 2272247 published 25 Nov. 2000 (hereafter Fogarty).
Regarding claim 8, Hirobumi teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Hirobumi does not teach wherein the particle filter is a High Efficiency Particulate Air (HEPA) filter.
Fogarty teaches a domestic air purifying system comprising a particulate filter wherein the particle filter is a High Efficiency Particulate Air (HEPA) filter in order to reduce particle emissions (page 4, page 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the removable particulate filter (43) of Hirobumi by having the filter be a hepa filter as taught by Fogarty (page 4, 5) in order to reduce particle emissions (page 4, page 5).
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiroshi JP2001248886 published 14 Sep. 2001 as translated by EPO (hereafter Hiroshi) and further in view of Brown US 2005/0204918 (hereafter Brown).
Regarding claims 1 and 8, Hiroshi a domestic air purifier system (Figs 1-8) comprising: a fan or impeller (fans shown in Figs 6, 8) and which is powered by a motor (where one of ordinary skill would understand that the fan would be powered by a motor in order to provide the fan’s drive); and an air duct (12) through which air displaced by the fan or impeller passes in an air flow direction towards the duct exit wherein the air duct comprises a duct wall (12a) and a portion of the duct wall comprises a gas filter (14, 13) disposed on a side of the air duct wall to remove harmful gases from the air displaced by the fan or impeller as the air displaced by the fan or impeller passes by the gas filter (¶16-19).
Hiroshi does not teach a removable particulate filter and an air flow direction towards the removable particulate filter and is purified; wherein the particle filter is a High Efficiency Particulate Air (HEPA) filter.
Brown teaches a domestic air purifier system (Figs 1-4) comprising a removable particulate filter (3) and an air flow direction towards the removable particulate filter and is purified (direction from fan to filter) in order to filter air with a high efficiency particular air filter (¶17, ¶30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the domestic air purifier system (Figs 6, 8) of Hiroshi by incorporating the removable particulate filter (3) of Brown in order to filter air with a high efficiency particular air filter (¶17, ¶30).
The modification would have resulted in a removable particulate filter and an air flow direction towards the removable particulate filter and is purified.
Regarding claim 2, Hiroshi in view of Brown teach all the limitations of claim 1. Hiroshi further teaches wherein the gas filter comprises a duct surface and which is flush with the duct wall (as shown in Figs 1-2 and 4).
Regarding claim 3, Hiroshi in view of Brown teach all the limitations of claim 1. Hiroshi further teaches wherein the air duct is configured such that the air flow direction changes at least once during passage through the air purifier system (as shown in Figs 6, 8).
Regarding claim 4, Hiroshi in view of Brown teach all the limitations of claim 3. Hiroshi further teaches wherein the particulate filter is disposed such that air passing along the air flow direction passes through the particulate filter (¶17).
Regarding claim 5, Hiroshi in view of Brown teach all the limitations of claim 1. Hiroshi further teaches wherein the gas filter comprises a foamy filter (charcoal, ¶17).
Regarding claim 6, Hiroshi in view of Brown teach a method of removing unwanted gases from ambient air (¶17) by passing over a gas filter (14, 13) in the system as described in claim 1 (where Hiroshi in view of Brown teaches all the limitations of claim 1).
Regarding claim 7, Hiroshi in view of Brown teach all the limitations of claim 1. Hiroshi further teaches wherein the gas filter includes activated carbon (charcoal, ¶17).
Response to Arguments
The following is a response to Applicant’s arguments filed 2 Apr. 2026:
Applicant argues that Hirobumi neither addresses the same problem nor serves the same purpose.
Examiner disagrees. Hirobumi addresses the same problem of cleaning dirty air and serves the same purpose of filtering air.
Regarding filtering particles, Examiner maintains that filter 43 of Hirobumi is fully capable of filtering particles. While the filter 43 would also reduce VOCs in the air, one of ordinary skill would recognize that the filter has some characteristic pore size and would filter particles with a characteristic size greater than the filter’s characteristic pore size.
Regarding being removed, Examiner maintains that the filter 43 is fully capable of being removed. While Hirobumi does not specifically teach the filter being removeable, one of ordinary skill would recognize that the filter, being a separate part from the duct, would be able to be removed. For instance, if the filter were adhered to the duct surface using an adhesive, then the filter could be dislodged from the duct be cutting, scraping, or otherwise removing the filter from the duct. Examiner suggests further structural language of the removable structure to distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art.
Applicant argues that Hirobumi is not analogous art.
Examiner disagrees. Hirobumi is within the air filtration art.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEPHEN HOBSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1776