DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In response to the amendment received December 8, 2025:
Claims 1-12 and 14-19 are pending. Claim 13 has been cancelled as per applicant’s request.
The core of the previous rejection is maintained with slight changes made in light of the amendment. All changes to the rejection are necessitated by the amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 9-12 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shin et al. (KR 2007/0025417A). The English machine translation of Shin et al. is attached and is referenced below.
Regarding Claim 1, Shin et al. teaches a battery pack (Para. [0010]) comprising one or more unit cells (Fig. 1, #200) (i.e. comprising a plurality of battery modules) which are mounted (i.e. stacked on each other in a first direction) stacking multiple battery cells as unit cells (pg. 7, line 19) (i.e. each battery module of the plurality of battery modules having a plurality of battery cells) in a battery body (Fig. 1 ,# 120) (i.e. within a housing), comprising a terminal that has an extension connection portion (Fig. 5, #415) formed laterally so that it can be connected to the sensing board assembly when assembled (pg. 20, lines 18-20) (i.e. electrical contacts) wherein the terminal protrudes from the battery body (pg. 17, line 12) (i.e. electrical contacts on an exterior of the housing) a second circuit section (Fig. #140) which includes main board assembly that controls the module which is electrically connected to a third circuit section connected to an external output terminal while preventing overcurrent during charging and discharging (i.e. a control module stacked together with the stacked plurality of battery modules in the first direction for protection and power conversion of the plurality of battery modules, the control module having electrical contacts as it is electrically connected) (pg. 16, line 15-19), and a first circuit unit (Fig. 1, #130) attached to the side of the module in the direction of the electrode terminals (i.e. electrical contacts) of the unit cells and includes a terminal connecting member and the second circuit unit is electrically connected to the first circuit unit (pg. 16, lines 11-16) (i.e. a connection module having electrical contacts on a first side configured to electrically connect the electrical contacts of the control module and to electrically connect the electrical contacts of the plurality of battery modules and integrally mounted to the plurality of battery modules and the control module in a second direction that is different from the first direction and a second side forming an exterior of the battery pack, wherein the electrical contacts of the plurality of the control module and the battery modules are on a first side of the stack of the control module and the plurality modules [since the unit 130 connects the unit 140 and the battery modules on the first side], and wherein the control module is integrally mounted on the first side of the stack of the control module and the plurality of battery modules) wherein the first side of the first circuit unit (Fig. 1, #130) (i.e. connection module) attached on the side of the electrode terminals (i.e. first side of the connection module) and the first side of the stack of the second circuit unit (Fig. 1, #140) (i.e. control module) and the plurality of battery modules (Fig. 1, #200) are parallel to each other (see annotated Shin et al. – Fig. 1 below) and the first circuit unit (i.e. the connection module) includes a terminal connecting member for connecting unit cells in parallel or series (pg. 16, lines 11-13) (i.e. is configured to integrally enable serial and parallel connections with the stack).
Regarding “is manufactured as a standardized modular unit as whole”, this limitation is product by process limitation. The manner in which the product is formed (via manufacturing as a standardized modular unit as whole) is a product by process limitation which does not further limit the claimed product. Product by process limitations do not impart structural features to the claim and thus as long as the structure is the same as that claimed, the claimed structure is met.
“[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985)(citations omitted).
“The Patent Office bears a lesser burden of proof in making out a case of prima facie obviousness for product-by-process claims because of their peculiar nature” than when a product is claimed in the conventional fashion. In re Fessmann, 489 F.2d 742, 744, 180 USPQ 324, 326 (CCPA 1974). Once the Examiner provides a rationale tending to show that the claimed product appears to be the same or similar to that of the prior art, although produced by a different process, the burden shifts to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing an unobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product. In re Marosi, 710 F.2d 798, 802, 218 USPQ 289, 292 (Fed. Cir. 1983). Ex parte Gray, 10 USPQ2d 1922 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1989). See MPEP section 2113.
Regarding Claim 2, Shin et al. teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 1 as explained above.
Shin et al. further teaches the second circuit unit including a main board assembly for controlling the overall battery back (pg. 10, lines 17-19) wherein the overall battery pack may be connected in parallel or series (pg. 16, line 13) (i.e. wherein the control module is provided as a serial connection module for connecting the battery modules in series or a parallel connection module for connecting the plurality of battery modules in parallel).
Regarding Claim 3, Shin et al. teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 1 as explained above.
Shin et al. further teaches the first circuit unit comprising a terminal connecting member electrically connected to the first circuit unit for connecting unit cells in parallel or series (pg. 16, lines 11-16) (i.e. wherein the electrical contacts of the connection module include a serial connection module connection unit configured for connection to the serial connection module and a parallel connection module connecting unit configured for connection to the parallel connection module).
Regarding Claim 5, Shin et al. teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 1 as explained above.
Shin et al. further teaches making an electrical connection using a fuse (Fig. 9, #700) which blows due to overcurrent (pg. 24, lines 2-3) (i.e. configured to block an overcurrent so that the plurality of battery modules are protected).
Regarding Claim 9, Shin et al. teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 1 as explained above.
Shin et al. further teaches the battery (Fig. 1, #200) is a pouch-type secondary battery (pg. 17, lines 10-11) (i.e. wherein the plurality of battery cells are provided as pouch-type secondary batteries).
Regarding Claim 10, Shin et al. teaches all of the elements of the battery pack defined in claim 1 as explained above.
Shin et al. further teaches small mobile devices such as cell phones using the small battery packs (pg. 4, lines 14-16) (i.e. an energy storage system comprising at least one battery back as defined in claim 1).
Regarding Claim 11, Shin et al. teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 1 as explained above.
Shin et al. further teaches the second circuit unit including a main board assembly for controlling the overall battery back (pg. 10, lines 17-19) wherein the overall battery pack may be connected in parallel or series (pg. 16, line 13) (i.e. wherein the control module is a parallel connection module for connecting the plurality of battery modules in parallel).
Regarding Claim 12, Shin et al. teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 1 as explained above.
Shin et al. further teaches the second circuit unit including a main board assembly for controlling the overall battery back (pg. 10, lines 17-19) wherein the overall battery pack may be connected in parallel or series (pg. 16, line 13) (i.e. wherein the control module is provided as a series connection module for connecting the battery modules in series).
Regarding Claim 14, Shin et al. teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 1 as explained above.
Shin et al. further teaches the circuit unit (Fig. 1, #130) attached to the side of the module in the direction of the electrode terminals (i.e. electrical contacts) of the unit cells and includes a terminal connecting member and the second circuit unit is electrically connected to the first circuit unit (pg. 16, lines 11-16) (i.e. the electrical contacts of the connection module are on a first side of the connection module and connect with the electrical contacts of the control module and the electrical contacts of the plurality of battery modules).
Regarding Claim 15, Shin et al. teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 1 as explained above.
Shin et al. further teaches the first circuit unit (Fig. 1, #130) parallel to the first side of the stack (i.e. the connection module is parallel to the first side of the stack).
Regarding Claim 16, Shin et al. teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 1 as explained above.
Shin et al. further teaches the unit cells (pg. 7, line 19) (in a battery body (Fig. 1, #120) (i.e. wherein each of the plurality of battery modules has a housing) and wherein the terminal protrudes from the battery body (pg. 17, line 12) (i.e. wherein the electrical contacts of each of the plurality of battery modules are on an exterior of the housing).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al. (KR 2007/0025417A) in view of Neuss (US 2018/0034020).
Regarding Claim 4, Shin et al. teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 3 as explained above.
Duffield et al. does not teach the serial connection module connecting unit and the parallel connection module connecting unit are provided with different shapes.
However, Neuss further teaches the serial connection module connecting unit and the parallel connection module connecting unit are provided with different shapes (Para. [0034], parallel or series connection of contact plate protrusion contacts is provided with conductor tracks within the plate electrically connecting the protrusions and a series and parallel connection of conductor tracks necessarily comprises a different shape).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Duffield et al. to incorporate the teaching of Neuss et al., as doing so would facilitate the ease of series and parallel connection as taught by Neuss.
Claims 6, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al. (KR 2007/0025417A) in view of Duffield et al. (US 2015/0140419).
Regarding Claim 6, Shin et al. teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 1 as explained above.
Shin et al. does not explicitly teach the electrical contacts of each of the plurality of battery modules includes a positive electrode bus bar and a negative electrode bus bar provided to at least one side thereof, and wherein the electrical contacts of the connection module include a positive electrode bus bar connecting unit and a negative electrode bus bar connecting unit connected to the positive electrode bus bar and the negative electrode bus bar of each of the plurality of battery modules.
However, Duffield et al. teaches a bus strap or bus straps (Fig. 1, #18) are attached to each positive electrode group and negative electrode group (Para. [0034]) (i.e. wherein the electrical contacts of each of the plurality of battery modules includes a positive electrode bus bar and a negative electrode bus bar provided to at least one side thereof) and wherein bussings (Fig. 1, #16) electrically connect electrode assemblies in adjacent cavities with the terminals correspond to a positive terminal and a negative terminal and are attached to the bus straps (Para. [0034], [0039]) (i.e. wherein the electrical contacts of the connection module include a positive electrode bus bar connecting unit and a negative electrode bus bar connecting unit connected to the positive electrode bus bar and the negative electrode bus bar of each of the plurality of battery modules).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrical contacts of Shin et al. to incorporate the teaching of the bus straps of Duffield et al., as such bus bars would enable electrical connection of electrode assemblies (i.e. of battery modules) (Para. [0034], [0039]) and provides integrally molded bus bars such that there is no need for an individual metallic casing of a battery cell (Para. [0028]).
Regarding Claim 17, Shin et al. teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 1 as explained above.
Shin et al. does not teach the electrical contacts of the plurality of battery modules comprise a positive bus bar and a negative bus bar, and wherein the positive bus bar and the negative bus bar are electrically connected to the plurality of battery cells.
However, Duffield et al. teaches wherein a bus strap or bus straps (Fig. 1, #18) are attached to each positive electrode group and negative electrode group (Para. [0034]) (i.e. wherein the electrical contacts comprise a positive bus bar and a negative bus bar) wherein bussings (Fig. 1, #16) electrically connect electrode assemblies in adjacent cavities with the terminals correspond to a positive terminal and a negative terminal and are attached to the bus straps (Para. [0034], [0039]) (i.e. wherein the positive bus bar and the negative bus bar are electrically connected to the plurality of battery cells).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrical contacts of Shin et al. to incorporate the teaching of the bus straps of Duffield et al., as such bus bars would enable electrical connection of electrode assemblies (i.e. of battery modules) (Para. [0034], [0039]) and provides integrally molded bus bars such that there is no need for an individual metallic casing of a battery cell (Para. [0028]).
Regarding Claim 19, Shin et al. teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 1 as explained above.
Shin et al. does not teach at least one bus bar connected to the plurality of battery cells, wherein the electrical contacts of the plurality of battery modules include the at least one bus bar.
However, Duffield et al. further teaches wherein a bus strap or bus straps (Fig. 1, #18) (i.e. further comprising at least one bus bar) are attached to each positive electrode group and negative electrode group (Para. [0034]) (i.e. connected to the plurality of battery cells) wherein bussings (Fig. 1, #16) electrically connect electrode assemblies in adjacent cavities with the terminals correspond to a positive terminal and a negative terminal and are attached to the bus straps (Para. [0034], [0039]) (i.e. wherein the electrical contacts include the at least one bus bar).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrical contacts of Shin et al. to incorporate the teaching of the bus straps of Duffield et al., as such bus bars would enable electrical connection of electrode assemblies (i.e. of battery modules) (Para. [0034], [0039]) and provides integrally molded bus bars such that there is no need for an individual metallic casing of a battery cell (Para. [0028]).
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al. (KR 2007/0025417A) in view of Capati (US 2019/0081364).
Regarding Claim 7, Shin et al. teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 1 as explained above.
Shin et al. does not teach the electrical contacts of each of the plurality of battery modules include a communication connector provided to at least one side thereof.
However, Capati teaches a battery pack comprising a plurality of battery modules, the battery modules comprising a PCB with electrical contacts, sensing contacts, and information contacts, wherein the contacts communication with a battery management unit for the battery pack (abstract, Fig. 4) wherein the communication connector of Capati, including the information contacts, sensing contacts, and information connection portion, enable data gathering and two way communication with the battery management unit along with control and safety processes that are responsive to the gathered information (Para. [0020], Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shin et al. to incorporate the teaching of the communication connection as taught by Capati provided on at least one side thereof, as doing so would enable data gathering and two way communication with the battery management unit, along with the control and safety processes responsive to the gathered information (Para. [0020]) as taught by Capati.
Regarding Claim 8, Shin et al. as modified by Capati teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 7 as explained above.
Shin et al. does not teach the electrical contacts of the connection module include a communication connector connecting unit connected to the communication connector of each of the plurality of battery modules.
However, Capati teaches a battery pack comprising a plurality of battery modules, the battery modules comprising a PCB with electrical contacts, sensing contacts, and information contacts, wherein the contacts communication with a battery management unit for the battery pack (abstract, Fig. 4) wherein the communication connector of Capati, including the information contacts, sensing contacts, and information connection portion, enable data gathering and two way communication with the battery management unit along with control and safety processes that are responsive to the gathered information (Para. [0020], Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the connection module of Shin et al. to incorporate the teaching of the communication connection connecting unit connected to the communication connector as taught by Capati, as doing so would enable data gathering and two way communication with the battery management unit, along with the control and safety processes responsive to the gathered information (Para. [0020]) as taught by Capati.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al. (KR 2007/0025417A) in view of Suzuki et al. (JP 2011/204382A). The English machine translation of Suzuki et al. is attached and is referenced below.
Regarding Claim 18, Shin et al. teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 1 as explained above.
Shin et al. does not teach wherein the plurality of battery cells are stacked in the second direction.
However, Suzuki et al. teaches a plurality of battery cells stacked in a first and a second direction (see Fig. 7).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shin et al. to incorporate the teaching of stacking the plurality of battery cells in a first direction and a second direction as taught by Suzuki et al. as such a configuration allows for a large number of battery units to be stacked (Para. [0044]) making it possible to increase the total capacity (Para. [0050]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 8, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Shin discloses a plurality of battery cells in a housing not a plurality of battery modules, each battery module having a plurality of battery cells and for that reason Shin does not disclose claim 1.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Shin et al. teaches a battery pack (Para. [0010]) comprising one or more unit cells (Fig. 1, #200) (i.e. comprising a plurality of battery modules), stacking multiple battery cells as unit cells (pg. 7, line 19) (i.e. each battery module of the plurality of battery modules having a plurality of battery cells) and thus, teaches a plurality of battery modules, each battery module having a plurality of battery cells. Thus, the argument is not persuasive.
Applicant argues Shin does not disclose details regarding the connection between the stack of battery cells and the first circuit unit, teaches an insulator and the first circuit unit merely constitutes a circuit part coupled to the individual electrode terminals of each pouch cell and thus, does not teach the newly amended limitations of claim 1.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. It is unclear how the insulator or teachings of Shin show that the newly amended limitations are not present. The newly amended limitations are taught in Shin as explained in section 5 above. Thus, the argument is not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the dependent claims are distinct from the prior art of record for the same reason as the independent claim.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The rejection with respect to the independent claim has been maintained, and thus the rejections to the dependent claims are maintained as well.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ARMINDO CARVALHO JR./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1729