DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Invention II Species 13 in the reply filed on 4/13/24 is acknowledged.
The traversal is on the ground(s) that all embodiments and variations disclosed by Applicant are obvious variants.
This is not found persuasive because while Applicant’s assertion that all of their disclosed embodiments are obvious variants the differences between the variants, the number of variants and the amount of possible combination of variants as described in the Requirement for Restriction/Election dated 11/14/23 establish a serious search and/or examination burden requiring such an election of invention and species.
Applicant is reminded that upon allowance of a generic or linking claim all withdrawn claims will be considered for rejoinder.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 1-2, 10 and 12-24 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention and/or species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 4/13/24.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s Claim submission dated 6/12/24 comprises a number of claims which have been amended from their original language. While the claims have been properly identified with a status identifier of ‘Amended’ it is noted that markings are required to provide indications as to what has been changed within the claim language. See MPEP 714(II)(C).
It appears the inventor(s) filed the current application pro se (i.e., without the benefit of representation by a registered patent practitioner). While inventors named as applicants in a patent application may prosecute the application pro se, lack of familiarity with patent examination practice and procedure may result in missed opportunities in obtaining optimal protection for the invention disclosed. The inventor(s) may wish to secure the services of a registered patent practitioner to prosecute the application, because the value of a patent is largely dependent upon skilled preparation and prosecution. The Office cannot aid in selecting a patent practitioner.
A listing of registered patent practitioners is available at https://oedci.uspto.gov/OEDCI/. Applicants may also obtain a list of registered patent practitioners located in their area by writing to Mail Stop OED, Director of the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office, P.O. Box 1450, Alexandria, VA 22313-1450.
Specification
The following guidelines illustrate the preferred layout for the specification of a utility application. These guidelines are suggested for the applicant’s use.
Arrangement of the Specification
As provided in 37 CFR 1.77(b), the specification of a utility application should include the following sections in order. Each of the lettered items should appear in upper case, without underlining or bold type, as a section heading. If no text follows the section heading, the phrase “Not Applicable” should follow the section heading:
(a) TITLE OF THE INVENTION.
(b) CROSS-REFERENCE TO RELATED APPLICATIONS.
(c) STATEMENT REGARDING FEDERALLY SPONSORED RESEARCH OR DEVELOPMENT.
(d) THE NAMES OF THE PARTIES TO A JOINT RESEARCH AGREEMENT.
(e) INCORPORATION-BY-REFERENCE OF MATERIAL SUBMITTED ON A READ-ONLY OPTICAL DISC, AS A TEXT FILE OR AN XML FILE VIA THE PATENT ELECTRONIC SYSTEM.
(f) STATEMENT REGARDING PRIOR DISCLOSURES BY THE INVENTOR OR A JOINT INVENTOR.
(g) BACKGROUND OF THE INVENTION.
(1) Field of the Invention.
(2) Description of Related Art including information disclosed under 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98.
(h) BRIEF SUMMARY OF THE INVENTION.
(i) BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF THE SEVERAL VIEWS OF THE DRAWING(S).
(j) DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF THE INVENTION.
(k) CLAIM OR CLAIMS (commencing on a separate sheet).
(l) ABSTRACT OF THE DISCLOSURE (commencing on a separate sheet).
(m) SEQUENCE LISTING. (See MPEP § 2422.03 and 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825). A “Sequence Listing” is required on paper if the application discloses a nucleotide or amino acid sequence as defined in 37 CFR 1.821(a) and if the required “Sequence Listing” is not submitted as an electronic document either on read-only optical disc or as a text file via the patent electronic system.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 4-9, 11 and 25 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Applicant’s claims repeatedly used the phrase “can be” prior to describing a limitation which is not a definitive phrase. For the purpose of examination ‘can be’ claim language is being interpreted in the same manner as ‘configured to’ claim language.
Applicant’s claim language is often narrative in nature making it unclear whether an apparatus is being further defined or a method/process is being claimed/described. Applicant is advised that a single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 USC 112(b). See MPEP 2173.05(p).
Claim 3 is directed to a ‘siphon actuated shower’. Claims 4-5 are directed to ‘The water source’, claim 6 to ‘The reservoir’, claims 7-9 to ‘The drain’ and claim 11 to ‘The siphon’. The application is directed at a single invention which should be reflected in the claims such as ‘The siphon actuated shower of claim 3, wherein the siphon further comprises’.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claims 3-9, 11 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101).
Regarding claim 3, Claim 3 line 6 positively recites that the claimed siphon actuated shower comprises “e. a user”. The claiming of ‘a user’ is an attempt to claim a human organism.
Claims 4-9, 11 and 25 are rejected due to their dependency from claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-9 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 10,704,237 (Wu) in view of US 2019/0368167 (Ridell).
Regarding claim 3, Wu discloses a siphon actuated shower comprising:
a water source (not labelled; supplies water to device of Fig. 1 and 2 through structures 6/8/A);
a siphon (E/83); and
a reservoir (F).
Wu, however, does not explicitly disclose other parts of the shower structure such as a drain.
Ridell teaches a shower comprising a water source (111), an outlet (102) and a drain (104/200) connected to a waste system (106).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the shower with a drain, as taught by Ridell, so as to efficiently/automatically dispose of the waste water to a designated waste reservoir or external waste system.
Regarding claim 4, Wu states that the shower system is configured for use with an existing plumbing system (In so much as Applicant’s device is configured for such use. The shower can be coupled to a new or existing plumbing supply system).
Regarding claim 5, Wu states that the shower system is configured for use with a purpose built/new plumbing system (In so much as Applicant’s device is configured for such use. The shower can be coupled to a new or existing plumbing supply system).
Regarding claim 6, Wu states that the reservoir is configured to be manufactured as a new product and installed on an existing or new system (it attaches by standard/typical plumbing connections to a plumbing connection/supply point).
Regarding claim 7, the shower as taught by Wu in view of Ridell is configured for use with an existing plumbing fixture drain as any drain would serve the purpose of the teaching/modification to drain away waste fluid for disposal or recycling.
Regarding claim 8, the shower as taught by Wu in view of Ridell is configured for use with a newly constructed/installed plumbing fixture drain as any drain would serve the purpose of the teaching/modification to drain away waste fluid for disposal or recycling.
Regarding claim 9, Wu does not state the inclusion of a measurement device in the drain of a shower.
Ridell teaches a shower assembly as previously discussed comprising a water supply (111), a water outlet/dispenser (102) and a drain (104/200). Ridell further teaches the provision of a measuring sensor within the drain for monitoring water passing through the drain (Para. 0047).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a drain assembly with measurement capabilities, as taught by Ridell, so as to facilitate automation of the shower functions, facilitate recycling/reuse of the water and/or monitor for other water quality aspects.
Regarding claim 25, the reservoir of Wu is configured to be mounted horizontally across interior walls of a bath tub shower compartment.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Ridell as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of US 8,876,012 (McMurtry).
Regarding claim 11, Wu does not explicitly state the inclusion of a means to adjust the temperature of the dispensed water.
McMurtry teaches a shower assembly comprising a water supply (38/39), a reservoir (30), an outlet/shower (20), a means for controlling the temperature of water supplied to the shower (40) and wherein the reservoir can be emptied through a siphon action (C6 L3-21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a means for controlling the temperature of water supplied to the shower assembly, as taught by McMurtry, so that a user can utilize the shower at a desired temperature.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
EP3258019 (Burkhardt) is a shower apparatus comprising a water supply connected to a reservoir and a siphon connected the reservoir which transfers fluid from the reservoir to a showerhead.
US 2009/0300839 (Gay) is a shower assembly comprising a water supply, a drain, a water sensor, a temperature control device and an outlet.
US 4,998,836 (Seripnick) is a shower device comprising a water source, a reservoir, a shower outlet and a siphon which delivers fluid from the reservoir to the shower outlet.
US 6,317,903 (Brunelle) is a bathing facility for use with thermotherapy.
US 11,903,871 (Haneckow) is a siphon apparatus.
/NICHOLAS A ROS/Examiner, Art Unit 3754
/DAVID P ANGWIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3754