DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-4, 6-8, 14-21, 32, 51-53, 56, 113, and 171 are pending and currently under examination.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1-4, 6-8, 14-21, 32, 51-53, 56, 113, and 171 in the reply filed on 08/08/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Applicant further elected the following species: a biomolecule as the species of analyte, a nucleic acid as the species of barcode, and an oligonucleotide as the species of barcode recognition molecule.
Amendments to claims 1, 51-53, and 113 are acknowledged.
Claims 54 and 55 are canceled.
New claim 171 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-4, 6-8, 14-21, 32, 51-53, 56, 113, and 171 are pending.
Claims1-4, 6-8, 14-21, 32, 51-53, 56, 113, and 171 are under examination on the merits.
Priority
This application 17/300,940 filed on 12/15/2021 claims the benefit of provisional U.S. Patent Application No. 63/125,904, filed on 12/15/2020.
The priority date of claims 1-3, 6-8, 14, 17, 21, 32, 51-53, 113, and 171 is determined to be 12/15/2020, the filing date of provisional U.S. Patent Application No. 63/125,904.
The priority date of dependent claims 4, 18-20 and 56 is determined to be 12/15/2021, the filing date of the instant application 17/300,940 because the provisional U.S. Patent Application No. 63/125,904 does not fully support the limitations recited in the claims filed on 12/15/2021.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract recites “Aspects of the disclosure provide methods of determining molecular barcode content—” and “, the disclosure relates to methods—“.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-4, 6-8, 14-21, 32, 51-53, 56, 113, and 171 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
35 U.S.C. § 101 requires that to be patent-eligible, an invention (1) must be directed to one of the four statutory categories, and (2) must not be wholly directed to subject matter encompassing a judicially recognized exception. M.P.E.P. § 2106. Regarding judicial exceptions, “[p]henomena of nature, though just discovered, mental processes, and abstract intellectual concepts are not patentable, as they are the basic tools of scientific and technological work.” Gottschalk v. Benson, 409 U.S. 63, 67 (1972); see also M.P.E.P. § 2106, part II.
Based upon consideration of the claims as a whole, as well as consideration of elements/steps recited in addition to the judicial exception, the present claims fail to meet the elements required for patent eligibility.
Step 1
The claimed invention is directed to the statutory category of a process.
Step 2A, Prong One
The claims are taken to be directed to an abstract idea, a judicial exception.
Claim 1 is directed to a method comprising “detecting a series of signal pulses indicative of binding interactions between the barcode recognition molecule and the molecular barcode; and determining the identity of the molecular barcode based on a barcode-specific pattern in the series of signal pulses”. These limitations are abstract mental processes (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)). As written, the “detecting” and “determining” steps encompass the mental steps of looking at barcode-specific patterns of signal pulses and making mental judgements.
Claims 2-4, 6-8, 14-21, 32, 51-53, 113, and 171 depend from claim 1, and require the same steps of “detecting a series of signal pulses” and “determining the identity of the molecular barcode”.
Claim 52 is directed to a method comprising “…detecting a series of signal pulses indicative of association of the one or more terminal amino acid recognition molecules with successive amino acids exposed at a terminus of the polypeptide while the polypeptide is being degraded, thereby sequencing the polypeptide”. This limitation is an abstract mental process (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)). As written, the “detecting” step encompasses the mental step of looking at signal pulses and observing them.
Claim 53 depends from claim 52, and requires the same step of “detecting a series of signal pulses--”.
Claim 56 is directed to a method comprising “detecting a series of signal pulses indicative of binding interactions between the barcode recognition molecule and the molecular barcode; and determining the identity of the molecular barcode based on a barcode-specific pattern in the series of signal pulses”. These limitations are abstract mental processes (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)). As written, the “detecting” and “determining” steps encompass the mental steps of looking at barcode-specific patterns of signal pulses and making mental judgements.
Step 2A, Prong Two
The exception is not integrated into a practical application of the exception. The claims do not recite any additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception.
While claim 1 recites “contacting a molecular barcode with a barcode recognition molecule that binds to one or more sites on the molecular barcode, wherein the molecular barcode is attached to an analyte comprising a biomolecule”, this is not an integration of the exception into a practical application. Instead, this element is data gathering required to perform the method.
Furthermore, while claim 32 recites the additional step of “contacting the molecular barcode with two or more barcode recognition molecules—” and claim 113 recites the additional step of “sequencing the biomolecule by subjecting the biomolecule to sequencing reaction conditions”, these are not integrations of the exception into a practical application. Rather, these “contacting”, “sequencing, steps are mere data collection and data analysis required to perform the method. (See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III); claims to "collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis," where the data analysis steps are recited at a high level of generality such that they could practically be performed in the human mind, Electric Power Group v. Alstom, S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1353-54, 119 USPQ2d 1739, 1741-42 (Fed. Cir. 2016).
While claim 52 recites “contacting the polypeptide with one or more terminal amino acid recognition molecules”, this is not an integration of the exception into a practical application. Instead, this element is data gathering required to perform the method.
While claim 56 recites “contacting a molecular barcode with a barcode recognition molecule that binds to one or more sites on the molecular barcode, wherein the molecular barcode is attached to an analyte, wherein an enzyme is bound to the analyte”, this is not an integration of the exception into a practical application. Instead, this element is data gathering required to perform the method.
Step 2B
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claim does not add a specific limitation other than what is well-understood, routine, and conventional in the field. Steps directed to “contacting” two molecules and “sequencing” are techniques that are routine, conventional, and well-known in the art as demonstrated in the 102 and 103 rejections documented below.
Furthermore, the courts have recognized the following laboratory techniques as well-understood, routine, conventional activities in the life science arts when they are claimed in a merely generic manner or as insignificant extra-solution activity:
vii. Amplifying and sequencing nucleic acid sequences, University of Utah Research Foundation v. Ambry Genetics, 774 F.3d 755, 764, 113 USPQ2d 1241, 1247 (Fed. Cir. 2014); and
viii. Hybridizing a gene probe, Ambry Genetics, 774 F.3d at 764, 113 USPQ2d at 1247.
For these reasons, the claims are rejected under section 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7, 8, 14, 32, 51, and 171 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Wade et al. (124-Color Super-resolution Imaging by Engineering DNA-PAINT Blinking Kinetics. Nano Lett. 2019. 19(4):2641-2646).
Regarding claim 1, Wade teaches using the method of DNA-PAINT, the method comprising short dye-labeled oligonucleotides, i.e. DNA-PAINT imager strands, (barcode recognition molecules) that bind transiently to complementary DNA molecule DNA-Paint docking strands (molecular barcodes) that are bound to a target (analyte comprising a biomolecule) (p. 2642, col. 1 and Fig. 1). Wade teaches that binding kinetics such as blinking frequency and duration can be tuned precisely and used downstream as “barcodes” for detection (p. 2642, col1. 1), i.e. detecting a series of signal pulses indicative of binding interactions between the barcode recognition molecule and the molecular barcode.
Wade further teaches changing the length of the docking strand (molecular barcode) or number of binding sites to perform combinatorial barcoding (p. 2642, cols 1 and 2 and Fig. 1). Wade teaches determining the identity of two different barcodes by blinking frequency (a barcode-specific pattern in the series of signal pulses) (p. 2643, col. 2 and Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 7, Wade teaches DNA molecule docking strands (molecular barcodes) (p. 2642, col. 1 and Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 8, Wade teaches short dye-labeled oligonucleotides, i.e. DNA-PAINT imager strands, (barcode recognition molecules) (p. 2642, col. 1 and Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 14, Wade teaches using the short dye-labeled oligonucleotide
imager strands (barcode recognition molecules comprising a detectable label) (p. 2642, col.1 and Fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 32, Wade teaches a docking strand (molecular barcode) with more than one binding domain contacted by dye-labeled oligonucleotides, i.e. DNA-PAINT imager strands, (barcode recognition molecules) that bind to the domains (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 51, Wade teaches using the method for protein detection, with a protein (polypeptide) as a target (biomolecule) (p. 2641, Abstract and Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 171, Wade teaches using the method for RNA and protein detection, i.e. nucleic acid and polypeptide targets *(biomolecules) (p. 2641, Abstract and Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 52, 53, and 113 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wade et al. (124-Color Super-resolution Imaging by Engineering DNA-PAINT Blinking Kinetics. Nano Lett. 2019. 19(4):2641-2646) in view of Ramachandran et al. (WO2020/123309, on IDS dated 03/10/2023).
The teachings of Wade as they relate to claim 1 are stated in the 102 rejection above in this office action.
Regarding claims 2-4, and 6, Wade does not teach the analyte is immobilized to a surface through the molecular barcode (claim 2); the molecular barcode is immobilized to the surface through a linkage group comprising at least one biomolecule (claim 3); the linkage group of claim 3 comprises a double-stranded nucleic acid and/or a protein-ligand complex (claim 4); or the linkage group of claim 3 comprises: a double-stranded nucleic acid comprising a bis-biotin moiety, wherein the double-stranded nucleic acid is attached to the molecular barcode; and an avidin protein bound to the bis-biotin moiety, wherein the avidin protein is attached to the surface (claim 6).
Regarding claim 2, Ramachandran teaches a method of capturing and characterizing analytes comprising: capture probes that include a capture domain (for capturing an analyte) and a universal molecular identifier (UMI) (molecular barcode) (p. 7, lines 24-26). Capture probes (molecular barcodes) can be attached to a surface (p. 18, line 12), i.e. immobilized to a surface.
Regarding claim 3, Ramachandran teaches embodiments in which a capture probe does not bind directly to the substrate, but interacts indirectly, for example by binding to a molecule which itself binds directly or indirectly to the substrate (p. 129, lines 19-25), as encompassed by the requirement of immobilization to the surface through a linkage group comprising at least one biomolecule.
Regarding claim 4, Ramachandran teaches ligating additional oligonucleotides to an in situ synthesized oligonucleotide to generate a capture probe. For example, hybridizing an additional oligonucleotide and extending to form a double stranded oligonucleotide (double-stranded linkage group) and to further create a 3’ overhang (molecular barcode) (p. 95, lines 26-31). Thus, Ramachandran teaches a molecular barcode (here a capture probe) that has a double stranded region (double-stranded nucleic acid as a linkage group) in addition to a single stranded overhang (barcode region).
Regarding claim 6, Ramachandran teaches affinity groups including biotin and avidin (p. 28, lines 4-9) and that the affinity group can be coupled to an array feature specific for the affinity group (p. 99, lines 8-11). For example, the array feature (surface) includes avidin or streptavidin and the affinity group includes biotin (p. 99, lines 8-11). Ramachandran further teaches using biotinylated oligonucleotides (capture probes/molecular barcodes) with sequence complementary to one or more analytes that can be selected using biotinylation-strepavidin affinity (p. 241, lines 29-31). Thus Ramachandran satisfies the requirements of molecular barcodes labeled with biotin that can be coupled to avidin attached to a surface.
Neither Wade nor Ramachandran teach a bis-biotin moiety.
However, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wade and Ramachandran to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. The modification would have entailed using the method of attachment of Ramachandran for capture probes to attach the barcode attached to an analyte of Wade to a surface. The capture probes of Ramachandran bind an analyte and comprise a molecular barcode, thus serving an analogous purpose as the docking strands of Wade. One would have been motivated to use the attachment of Ramachandran in order to secure the docking strand and analyte of Wade in order to have a fixed position for imaging of the signal pulses for each analyte and barcode. The modification would further have entailed using a bis-biotin moiety as the biotin moiety used for the affinity group. Selecting biotin or other affinity groups is routine and conventional in the art and would have been a matter of routine optimization. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success given the underlying materials and methods are widely known, successfully demonstrated, and commonly used as evidenced by the prior art.
Regarding claims 52 and 53, Wade does not teach sequencing the polypeptide (claim 52), or performing the method in a single reaction vessel (claim 53).
Regarding claim 52, Ramachandran teaches the sequence of the captured polypeptide is determined through detection of amino acid residues labeled with a detectable label) (p. 239, lines 3-6), satisfying the requirement of sequencing the polypeptide.
Regarding claim 53, neither Wade nor Ramachandran teach performing the method in a single reaction vessel.
However, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wade and Ramachandran to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. The modification would have entailed adding the additional step of sequencing the captured polypeptide of Wade using the method of Ramachandran. One would have been motivated to sequence the polypeptide in order to identify the polypeptide in addition to identifying the identity of the docking strand (molecular barcode) as in Wade, furthering Wade’s stated goal of protein detection (p. 1, Abstract). Regarding performing the method in a single reaction vessel, such experimental decisions are considerer routine and obvious in the art and could be performed as desired for the decreased manipulation of reagents. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success given the underlying materials and methods are widely known, successfully demonstrated, and commonly used as evidenced by the prior art.
Regarding claim 113, Wade does not teach sequencing the biomolecule by subjecting the biomolecule to sequencing reaction conditions.
Ramachandran teaches the method can include performing a sequencing-by- synthesis reaction to determine the all or a portion of the sequence of the nucleic acid (biomolecule) (p. 7, lines 9-10).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wade and Ramachandran to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. The modification would have entailed adding the additional step of sequencing the captured nucleic acid of Wade using the method of Ramachandran. One would have been motivated to sequence the nucleic acid in order to identify the analyte in addition to identifying the identity of the docking strand (molecular barcode) as in Wade, furthering Wade’s stated goal of RNA detection (p. 1, Abstract). There would have been a reasonable expectation of success given the underlying materials and methods are widely known, successfully demonstrated, and commonly used as evidenced by the prior art.
Claims 14-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wade et al. (124-Color Super-resolution Imaging by Engineering DNA-PAINT Blinking Kinetics. Nano Lett. 2019. 19(4):2641-2646) in view of Shen et al. (US PGPub 20170184580).
The teachings of Wade as they relate to claim 14 are stated in the 102 rejection above in this office action.
Regarding claims 15-21, Wade does not teach the barcode recognition molecule is attached to a labeled biomolecule comprising the at least one detectable label (claim 15); wherein the labeled biomolecule is a labeled nucleic acid (claim 16); wherein the barcode recognition molecule is attached to the labeled biomolecule through a linkage group comprising at least one biomolecule (claim 17); wherein the linkage group comprises a protein-ligand complex (claim 18); wherein the protein-ligand complex comprises a multivalent protein comprising at least two ligand binding sites, wherein the barcode recognition molecule comprises a first ligand moiety bound to a first ligand binding site on the multivalent protein, and wherein the labeled biomolecule comprises a second ligand moiety bound to a second ligand binding site on the multivalent protein (claim 19); wherein the multivalent protein is an avidin protein comprising four biotin binding sites, and wherein the ligand moieties are biotin moieties (claim 20); or wherein at least one of the biotin moieties is a bis-biotin moiety, and wherein the bis-biotin moiety is bound to two biotin binding sites on the avidin protein (claim 21).
Shen teaches bis-biotinylation tags for labeling. Shen teaches bis-biotin tags covalently coupled to a molecule (barcode recognition molecule), with the bis-biotin tag bound to a tetravalent biotin-binding agent (avidin linkage group) that is in turn bound to a second bis-biotin moiety (para 12 and Fig. 2). Shen teaches any desired molecule can be joined, including oligonucleotides and nucleic acids (para 12), and that biotin-streptavidin interactions can be used for linking different molecules together (para 9).
Regarding claim 15, Shen teaches joining desired molecules including oligonucleotides (e.g. a barcode recognition molecule) and labels (para 12), and that both are considered reactants of interest (para 50).
Regarding claim 16, Shen teaches a reactants include nucleic acids and fluorescent labels (para 18).
Regarding claim 17, Shen teaches a reactant of interest can be any molecule, including oligonucleotides and nucleic acids (para 50). She further teaches a reactant of interest (barcode recognition molecule) attached to a detectable label (labeled biomolecule) via streptavidin (linkage group) (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 18, Shen teaches linking a labeled molecule to a reactant of interest via bis-biotin tags (ligands) bound to a tetravalent biotin-binding agent (protein) (para 12 and Fig. 2), thus forming a linkage group comprising a protein-ligand complex).
Regarding claim 19, Shen teaches tetravalent biotin-binding agent (a multivalent protein comprising at least two ligand binding sites) (para 8). Shen further teaches a reactant of interest (barcode recognition molecule) with biotin (a first ligand moiety) bound to streptavidin (multivalent protein) in a first site and a detectable label (labeled biomolecule) with biotin (a second ligand moiety) bound to streptavidin (multivalent protein) in a second site (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 20, Shen teaches tetravalent biotin-binding agents include avidin (para 8).
Regarding claim 21, Shen teaches two bis-biotin moieties bound to two binding sites on streptavidin (Fig. 2). Shen also teaches the use of avidin in place of streptavidin (para 56).
Shen states that the use of bis-biotin tags provides advantages for labeling and detection (para 114).
Shen does not teach the nucleic acid is labeled.
However, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wade and Shen to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. Regarding the labeling of the nucleic acid, such labeling was well known and routine in the art at the time of filing, as shown by the imager strand labeling of Wade. The modification would have entailed using the bis-biotin modifications and avidin linkage to indirectly label the imager strand (barcode recognition molecule) of Wade. One would have been motivated to make the modifications by the modularity provided by the use of an avidin linker. In particular, one would have been motivated by the stable binding provided by the use of multi-biotin tagging and avidin (Miller, para 75). The use of biotin and biotin-binding agents to couple molecules was well known and routine in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success given the underlying materials and methods are widely known, successfully demonstrated, and commonly used as evidenced by the prior art.
Claim 56 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wade et al. (124-Color Super-resolution Imaging by Engineering DNA-PAINT Blinking Kinetics. Nano Lett. 2019. 19(4):2641-2646) in view of Ramachandran et al. (WO2020/123309, on IDS dated 03/10/2023)
Regarding claim 56, Wade teaches using the method of DNA-PAINT, the method comprising short dye-labeled oligonucleotides, i.e. DNA-PAINT imager strands, (barcode recognition molecules) that bind transiently to complementary DNA molecule DNA-Paint docking strands (molecular barcodes) that are bound to a target (analyte comprising a biomolecule) (p. 2642, col. 1 and Fig. 1). Wade teaches that binding kinetics such as blinking frequency and duration can be tuned precisely and used downstream as “barcodes” for detection (p. 2642, col1. 1), i.e. detecting a series of signal pulses indicative of binding interactions between the barcode recognition molecule and the molecular barcode.
Wade further teaches changing the length of the docking strand (molecular barcode) or number of binding sites to perform combinatorial barcoding (p. 2642, cols 1 and 2 and Fig. 1). Wade teaches determining the identity of two different barcodes by blinking frequency (a barcode-specific pattern in the series of signal pulses) (p. 2643, col. 2 and Fig. 2).
Wade does not teach wherein an enzyme is bound to the analyte.
Ramachandran teaches the capture domain in the capture probe can interact with one or more specific analytes (e.g., an analyte or a subset of analytes out of the pool of total analytes), including peptides and enzymes (p. 232, lines 29-31 and p. 233, lines 5-6). Ramachandran further teaches adding enzymes to the biological sample (p. 65, lines 3-7). Ramachandran teaches, for example using DNA polymerase to performed nucleic acid extension reaction using a captured analyte as a template, i.e. attached to the analyte (p. 58, lines 9-13).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wade and Ramachandran to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. The modification would have entailed adding enzymes as in Ramachandran to the biological sample that could attach to the captured analyte of Wade. One would have been motivated to do so in order to perform addition molecular operation as desired for the capture analyte.
There would have been a reasonable expectation of success given the underlying materials and methods are widely known, successfully demonstrated, and commonly used as evidenced by the prior art.
Conclusion
/JESSICA GRAY/Examiner, Art Unit 1682
/WU CHENG W SHEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1682