DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Currently, claims 25, 27-32, 34-37, 39-40, and 43-44 are pending in the instant application. Claims 35-37 are withdrawn from consideration as being drawn to a non-elected invention. Claims 25, 27-32, 34, 39-40, and 43-44 are currently under examination. All the amendments and arguments have been thoroughly reviewed but are deemed insufficient to place this application in condition for allowance. The following rejections are either newly applied, as necessitated by amendment, or are reiterated. They constitute the complete set being presently applied to the instant Application. This action is FINAL.
Any rejection not reiterated is hereby withdrawn in view of the amendments to the claims.
Improper Markush Rejection
Claims 25, 27-32, 34, 39-40, and 43-44 are rejected on the basis that it contains an improper Markush grouping of alternatives. See In re Harnisch, 631 F.2d 716, 721-22 (CCPA 1980) and Ex parte Hozumi, 3 USPQ2d 1059, 1060 (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1984).
A Markush grouping is proper if the alternatives defined by the Markush group (i.e., alternatives from which a selection is to be made in the context of a combination or process, or alternative chemical compounds as a whole) share a “single structural similarity” and a common use. A Markush grouping meets these requirements when the alternatives are all members of the same recognized physical or chemical class or the same art-recognized class, and are disclosed in the specification or known in the art to be functionally equivalent and have a common use. See MPEP § 2117 which provides guidance on the analysis of a proper Markush group.
Regarding claims 25, 27-34, 39-40, and 43-44, the Markush group in question is any alternatively recited combination comprising four or more of the structurally and functionally different genes in claim 25.
Regarding “single structural similarity”, the MPEP at 2117 IIA states that a recognized physical, chemical, or an art recognized class is a class where there is an expectation from the knowledge in the art that members of the class will behave in the same way in the context of the claimed invention. It is specifically stated that “Thus a Markush grouping is ordinarily proper if all the members for the group belong to a recognized class (whether physical, chemical, or art recognized) and are disclosed in the specification to possess at least one property in common which is mainly responsible for their function in the claimed invention, and it is clear from their very nature or from the prior art that all members possess this property (emphasis added)”.
Therefore, in analysis of whether a claim contains an improper Markush grouping, the MPEP states: A Markush claim contains an “improper Markush grouping” if either (emphasis added): (1) the members of the Markush group do not share a ‘single structural similarity’ or (2) the members do not share a common use.”
In the instant case, the genes do not share a common structural element that is essential to the asserted utility of being associated with IPF. First, the different genes are from different parts of the human genome and are composed of different nucleic acid sequences encoding functionally different proteins. Furthermore, the prior art does not teach, nor is it clear from their nature, that all of the functionally different genes possess the property of being differentially expressed biomarkers of subclinical acute rejection.
For example:
The gene encoding PLBD1 is located on chromosome 12. PLBD1’s related pathways are Glycerophospholipid biosynthesis and Acyl chain remodeling.
The gene encoding FLT3 is on chromosome 13, and encodes a class III receptor tyrosine kinase. Mutations in the gene are common in AML.
The gene encoding DOCK10 is located on chromosome 2, and encodes a member of the dedicator of cytokines protein family. Diseases associated with DOCK10 include Adams-Oliver Syndrome.
The gene encoding GBP4 is located on chromosome 1. GBP4 is a guanylate binding protein. Diseases associated with GBP4 include Patent Foramen Ovale.
Therefore it is clear that when considering the different genes, even in different combinations of 4 genes, recited in the alternative in the rejected claims, there does not appear to be any common structure related to the function of the genes individually, or any particular combination of 4 or more genes, let alone an association with IPF.
Furthermore, the recited alternative species in the groups set forth here do not share a single structural similarity, as each method relies on detection of different gene combinations. The only structural similarity present is that all the genes are made up of nucleotides. However, comprising nucleotides per se does not support a conclusion that they have a common single structural similarity because the structure of comprising a nucleotide alone is not essential to the common activity of being correlated with IPF.
Following this analysis, the claims are rejected as containing an improper Markush grouping.
Response to Arguments
The response traverses the rejection. The response asserts that the claims do not present the type of ambiguity that the improper Markush doctrine is intended to address. This argument has been thoroughly reviewed but was not found persuasive for the reasons already made of record above. The response further asserts that the rejection is not well founded because the relevant inquiry is whether, in the context of the claimed invention, the recited RNAs share the claimed functional role and that the recited RNAs are members of an IPF biomarker signature which the specification teaches are assessed for expression changes to evaluate IPF progression and prognosis. The response concludes that the disclosures provide a common class and a common use in the precise context of the claimed invention. This argument has been thoroughly reviewed but was not found persuasive. The MPEP at 2117 IIA states that a recognized physical, chemical, or an art recognized class is a class where there is an expectation from the knowledge in the art that members of the class will behave in the same way in the context of the claimed invention. It is specifically stated that “Thus a Markush grouping is ordinarily proper if all the members for the group belong to a recognized class (whether physical, chemical, or art recognized) and are disclosed in the specification to possess at least one property in common which is mainly responsible for their function in the claimed invention, and it is clear from their very nature or from the prior art that all members possess this property (emphasis added)”. This applies when "there is an expectation from the knowledge in the art that members of the class will behave in the same way in the context of the claimed invention." However the specification has not shown evidence establishing an expectation in the art that the members of the claimed class, encompassing a wide range RNA molecules encoding disparate proteins having a disparate chemical and physical properties, will behave the same way in the context of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2117(IV)(D) ("the members of the Markush grouping do not share a substantial structural feature" where "defining component (b) represent a plurality of chemical classes with varying structures"). Additionally, neither the specification nor the art has established that the members share a structural feature that is essential their common use as biomarkers for IPF. Therefore, it is not clear from their very nature or from the prior art that all members possess the property of functioning as IPF prognostic biomarkers in an expression detection assay. The response then asserts that the Board has repeatedly rejected the same type of over-narrow Markush analysis citing Ex pare Ward (Appeal 2021-003776; PTAB June 10, 2022) and Ex party Ren (Appeal 2015-004371; PTAB Dec. 28, 2016), and asserts that the decisions are applicable in the instant situation because the recited RNAs function as members of a disclosed IPF prognostic biomarker. This argument has been thoroughly reviewed but was not found persuasive. It is pointed out that these decisions are not precedential and that the examiner has followed the guidance in the MPEP in presenting the rejection. For these reasons and the reasons made in the rejection above, the rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 25, 27, 30, 32, 34, 39, 40, and 43 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by Herazo (Herazo et al; Am J Respir Crit Care Med, vol 183, May 2001, abstract, cited in the IDS filed 5/2/2022).
Herazo teaches measuring expression levels of ICOS, CD28, ITK, and LCK in PBMC samples from patients with IPF with differences in mortality. These patients are therefore inherently at risk of having slow or rapid IPF. Accordingly, Herazo anticipates the claimed invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant refers to an affidavit or declaration filed in the prior application 16/031,384. Affidavits or declarations, such as those submitted under 37 CFR 1.130, 1.131 and 1.132, filed during the prosecution of the prior application do not automatically become a part of this application. Where it is desired to rely on an earlier-filed affidavit or declaration, the applicant should make the remarks of record in this application and include a copy of the original affidavit or declaration filed in the prior application.
Double Patenting
Claims 25, 27-32, 34, 39, 40, 43, and 44 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 10,036,069. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are coextensive in scope because the ‘069 application teaches detecting expression of CD28, ICOS, ITK, and LCK, as is encompassed by the instant claims, in the same patients. Although the ‘069 claims do not teach treating the patients with a lung transplant, it would have been prima facie obvious to the ordinary artisan before the invention was made to treat patients taught by the ‘069 claims for the obvious benefit of relieving IPF symptoms. As lung transplant is a known method of treatment in the art for IPF, it would have further been prima facie obvious to the ordinary artisan to provide lung transplant to those patients in need. It would have additionally been prima facie obvious to use different biological samples, including PBMCs and lung cells for the obvious benefit of obtaining a more comprehensive gene expression signature.
Claims 25, 27-32, 34, 39, 40, 43, and 44 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 10,961,582 in view of Konishi and Affymetrix GeneChip ST 1.0 array. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are coextensive in scope. The ‘582 claims teach detecting expression of CD28, ICOS, ITK, and LCK, as is encompassed by the instant claims, in the same patients. Although the ‘582 claims do not teach assaying the gene expression using microarray analysis, Konishi and Affymetrix teach arrays for gene expression analysis. Additionally, Konishi teaches the need for detecting nucleic acid expression in patient with IPF. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have also assayed mRNA expression analysis in the methods of the ‘582 claims as taught by Konishi. Although the ‘582 claims do not teach treating the patients with a lung transplant, it would have been prima facie obvious to the ordinary artisan before the invention was made to treat patients taught by the ‘582 claims for the obvious benefit of relieving IPF symptoms. As lung transplant is a known method of treatment in the art for IPF, it would have further been prima facie obvious to the ordinary artisan to provide lung transplant to those patients in need.
Response to Arguments
The response traverses the rejection and asserts that the pending claims “require detecting expression levels of four or more recited RNA biomarkers using a microarray or PCR in the presently claimed sample and assay context, and include limitations directed to rapid or slow progressive IPF and treatment-related dependent claims that are not rendered obvious by the cited patent claims.”. This argument has been thoroughly reviewed but was not found persuasive because the patent claims are also directed to detecting expression levels of CD28, ITK, ICOS, and LCK (‘582 claims) or CD28, ITK, ICOS, LCK, PLBD2, TPST1, C19orf59, IL7R, KLF12, and NAP1L2 (‘069 claims) in the context of IPF using PCR (‘069 claims) in the same biological samples. Although the ‘582 claims are directed to western blotting or ELISA, it would have been obvious to detect expression using PCR or microarrays in view of the cited prior art. For these reasons and the reasons already made of record above, the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to (571) 272-0547.
Patent applicants with problems or questions regarding electronic images that can be viewed in the Patent Application Information Retrieval system (PAIR) can now contact the USPTO’s Patent Electronic Business Center (Patent EBC) for assistance. Representatives are available to answer your questions daily from 6 am to midnight (EST). The toll free number is (866) 217-9197. When calling please have your application serial or patent number, the type of document you are having an image problem with, the number of pages and the specific nature of the problem. The Patent Electronic Business Center will notify applicants of the resolution of the problem within 5-7 business days. Applicants can also check PAIR to confirm that the problem has been corrected. The USPTO’s Patent Electronic Business Center is a complete service center supporting all patent business on the Internet. The USPTO’s PAIR system provides Internet-based access to patent application status and history information. It also enables applicants to view the scanned images of their own application file folder(s) as well as general patent information available to the public.
For all other customer support, please call the USPTO Call Center (UCC) at 800-786-9199.
/JEHANNE S SITTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1634