DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment / Arguments
Regarding claims rejected under 35 USC 103:
Applicant’s arguments concerning claims 3 and 14 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Luoma (“MULTI-TENANT HYBRID CLOUD ARCHITECTURE”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 7-13, 18-20, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sama (US 2016/0036921 A1) in view of Babbar (US 2021/0028957 A1), Singleton (US 2021/0058470 A1), and Thornton (US 2005/0071630 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Sama discloses: A method comprising:
receiving, by a particular communication delegate (connector service—e.g., FIG. 2 of Sama) hosted on a cloud platform and mapped to a particular tenant of a plurality of tenants of the cloud platform (cloud and tenant—e.g., [0029] of Sama), data traffic associated with the particular tenant and directed to an application hosted on an on-premise private network of the tenant (private communication system and tenant application—e.g., FIG. 2 of Sama), wherein the cloud platform is hosted outside of the on-premise private network (e.g., FIG. 1-2 and [0005]-[0006] of Sama);
Refer to at least FIG. 2 and [0029] of Sama with respect to communications between the cloud connector service and the private communication system comprising the tenant application.
encrypting, by the particular communication delegate, the data traffic to generate an encrypted data traffic using a unique certificate associated with the particular communication delegate (e.g., TLS, SSL certificates as per the protocols), wherein the unique certificate comprises [an identifier and an IP address for related parties]; and
Refer to at least [0038] and [0045]-[0046] of Sama with respect to egress traffic from the connector to the tenant application, the traffic having the form of TLS, HTTPS, or SSL. Session credentials may be provided for each traffic direction.
communicating, by the particular communication delegate, the encrypted data traffic to the application via a secure communication tunnel specific to the particular tenant between the particular communication delegate and the on-premise private network, wherein:
Refer to at least the abstract, FIG. 2 and [0036]-[0038] of Sama with respect to a bridge between the tenant application in the private communication system and the cloud connector. The bridge comprises independent inbound and outbound pipes (ingress and egress). The pipes may use secure protocols such as TLS, HTTPS, or SSL.
the secure communication tunnel comprises:
a first communication tunnel between the particular communication delegate and a [bridge]; and
a second communication tunnel between the [bridge] and the on-premise private network; and
Refer to at least [0036]-[0037] and [0042]-[0043] of Sama with respect to the ingress and egress pipes.
communicating the encrypted data traffic comprises sending the encrypted data traffic from the particular communication delegate to the [bridge] via the first communication tunnel [prior to forwarding the encrypted data traffic to the application via the second communication tunnel].
Refer to at least [0036]-[0037] and [0042]-[0043] of Sama with respect to sending egress traffic to the bridge and onward to the ingress pipe to the tenant application.
Sama discusses a proxy server (e.g., FIG. 2 and [0038]-[0040] of Sama), but does not specify if it is the bridge. Sama further discusses secure communication protocols (e.g., [0038] of Sama), but does not specify verifying the connector. As such, Sama does not fully disclose: the bridge further comprising a midway server; prior to forwarding the encrypted data traffic to the application via the second communication tunnel further comprising the midway server configured to verify, using the unique certificate associated with the particular communication delegate, an identity of the communication delegate prior to forwarding the encrypted data traffic to the application via the second communication tunnel. Sama further does not disclose: the particular communication delegate being one of a plurality of communication delegates hosted on the cloud platform, each communication delegate of the plurality of communication delegates being uniquely mapped, in a one-to-one mapping, to a corresponding tenant of the plurality of tenants; the mapping further comprising the particular communication delegate being uniquely mapped to a particular tenant; the identifier and IP address for related parties further comprising wherein the unique certificate comprises an identifier of the particular communication delegate and an IP address associated with the particular communication delegate. However, Sama in view of Babbar discloses: the particular communication delegate being one of a plurality of communication delegates hosted on the cloud platform, each communication delegate of the plurality of communication delegates being uniquely mapped, in a one-to-one mapping, to a corresponding tenant of the plurality of tenants; the mapping further comprising the particular communication delegate being uniquely mapped to a particular tenant;
Refer to at least 110 and 111 in FIG. 1, the abstract, and [0013] of Babbar with respect to a tunnel endpoint being uniquely associated with each tenant on a computing system 100.
The teachings of Babbar likewise concern facilitating secure connections for tenants, and are considered to be within the same field of endeavor and combinable as such.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of Applicant’s invention to modify the teachings of Sama to further include per-tenant connectors for at least the reasons discussed in [0002]-[0003] and [0021] of Babbar (i.e., improving connection configuration and also allowing for per-tenant QoS). Sama-Babbar does not disclose: the bridge further comprising a midway server; prior to forwarding the encrypted data traffic to the application via the second communication tunnel further comprising the midway server configured to verify, using the unique certificate associated with the particular communication delegate, an identity of the communication delegate prior to forwarding the encrypted data traffic to the application via the second communication tunnel. However, Sama-Babbar in view of Singleton discloses: the bridge further comprising a midway server;
Refer to at least FIG. 1, FIG.4, [0009], [0022], and [0049] of Singleton with respect to a gateway appliance having a first and second route between a cloud and private enterprise network (e.g., [0017] of Singleton).
prior to forwarding the encrypted data traffic to the application via the second communication tunnel further comprising the midway server configured to verify, using the unique certificate associated with the communication delegate, an identity of the communication delegate prior to forwarding the encrypted data traffic to the application via the second communication tunnel;
Refer to at least the [0006] and [0053] of Singleton with respect to tokens used for handshaking and authentication with the gateway appliance for implementing and using the first and second routes.
The teachings of Sama-Babbar and Singleton both concern establishing secure connections between private enterprise networks and cloud networks, and are considered to be within the same field of endeavor and combinable as such.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of Applicant’s invention to modify the teachings of Sama-Babbar to further include an intermediary appliance for the bridge because the substitution of one known element for another would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time (e.g., [0022] and [0049 of Singleton concerning various different implementations of the gateway). It further would have been obvious to implement specific handshaking and authentication for the connector for at least the purpose of increasing the security of connections (i.e., protection from malicious access and impersonation / replay attacks).
Sama-Babbar-Singleton does not disclose: the identifier and IP address for related parties further comprising wherein the unique certificate comprises an identifier of the particular communication delegate and an IP address associated with the particular communication delegate. However, Sama-Babbar-Singleton in view of Thornton discloses: the identifier and IP address for related parties further comprising wherein the unique certificate comprises an identifier of the particular communication delegate and an IP address associated with the particular communication delegate.
Refer to at least [0182] of Thornton concerning a certificate including information unique to a device, such as a MAC/serial/ID and an IP address.
The teachings of Thornton concern certificates such as those for SSL/TLS, and are combinable with those of Sama-Babbar-Singleton likewise relating to such.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of Applicant’s invention to modify the teachings of Sama-Babbar-Singleton to further include information unique to a device as part of the certificate for at least the purpose of increasing security by properly authenticating all principals (i.e., mutual authentication of all parties), and because the substitution of one known element for another would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time (i.e., filling out x.509 fields with particular information).
Regarding claim 4, Sama-Babbar-Singleton-Thornton discloses: The method of claim 1, further comprising retrieving, by the particular communication delegate, the unique certificate associated with the particular communication delegate from a certificate store.
Refer to at least [0007] and [0029] of Sama with respect to a certificate authority.
Regarding claim 7, it is rejected for substantially the same reasons as claim 1 above (i.e., authentication and handshaking for, e.g., x509 format certificates as part of SSL or TLS; [0038] of Sama with respect to TLS and SSL).
Regarding claim 8, it is rejected for substantially the same reasons as claims 1 and 3 above (i.e., the citations and obviousness rationale—e.g., to [0048]-[0049] and [0053] of Singleton concerning per-tenant tokens).
Regarding claim 9, it is rejected for substantially the same reasons as claims 1 and 3 above (i.e., the citations and obviousness rationale—e.g., the citations to authentication and handshaking for the credential / token).
Regarding claim 10, Sama-Babbar-Singleton-Thornton discloses: The method of claim 1, further comprising linking a remote communication agent associated with the application and hosted at the on-premise private network with the application by allocating an IP address and a port associated with the application to the remote communication agent.
Refer to at least [0050] of Singleton with respect to prior art knowledge and implementation of ports and IP addresses for session connectors at the private enterprise network.
Therefore the claim would have been obvious because a particular known technique (allocating IP addresses and ports) was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art.
Regarding claim 11, Sama-Babbar-Singleton-Thornton discloses: The method of claim 1, further comprising mapping the secure communication tunnel to a unique Uniform Resource Locator (URL) accessible by the particular tenant.
Refer to at least [0045] of Sama with respect to a URL as part of implementing the pipes.
Regarding claim 12, Sama-Babbar-Singleton-Thornton discloses: The method of claim 1, further comprising establishing a plurality of communication links within the secure communication tunnel between the particular communication delegate and a remote communication agent, wherein the encrypted data traffic is transported over one or more of the plurality of communication links.
Refer to at least FIG. 2 and [0031] of Sama with respect to a plurality of connections.
Regarding independent claim 13, it is substantially similar to elements of independent claim 1 and dependent claim 4 above, and is therefore likewise rejected (i.e., the citations and obviousness rationale).
Regarding claim 18, it is substantially similar to claim 7 above, and is therefore likewise rejected.
Regarding independent claim 19, it is substantially similar to elements of independent claim 13 above, and is therefore likewise rejected (i.e., the citations and obviousness rationale).
Regarding claim 20, it is substantially similar to claim 3 above, and is therefore likewise rejected.
Regarding claim 23, it is rejected for substantially the same reasons as claim 1 above (i.e., TLS/SSL using the certificate for encrypting traffic as per the protocol).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sama-Babbar-Singleton-Thornton as applied to claims 1, 4, 7-13, 18-20, and 23 above, and further in view of Official Notice.
Regarding claim 2, Sama-Babbar-Singleton-Thornton does not specify: wherein the application is provided to the particular tenant on a pay-per-use basis. However, the examiner hereby takes official notice that it was well known in the art before the filing date of Applicant’s invention to provide cloud and hybrid cloud applications for a fee; that payment could be consumption-based/metered/pay-per-use. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of Applicant’s invention to modify the teachings of Sama-Babbar-Singleton-Thornton to include wherein the application is provided to the particular tenant on a pay-per-use basis because design incentives or market forces provided a reason to make an adaptation, and the invention resulted from application of the prior knowledge in a predictable manner (i.e., monetization of the service; monetization based on usage such that more frequent users pay more money).
Claim(s) 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sama-Babbar-Singleton-Thornton as applied to claims 1, 4, 7-13, 18-20, and 23 above, and further in view of Chandrashekhar (US 2018/0063193 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Sama-Babbar-Singleton-Thornton discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein: the second communication tunnel is between the midway server and a first remote communication agent hosted at the on-premise private network and linked to the application;
Refer to at least 17 in FIG. 2 and [0040] of Sama with respect to a tenant-side proxy server for the tenant application’s communications.
Sama-Babbar-Singleton-Thornton does not disclose: the secure communication tunnel comprises a standby communication tunnel between the midway server and a second remote communication agent hosted at the on-premise private network and linked to the application; and the method further comprises switching, by a communications controller of the cloud platform and in response to detecting a threshold number of failures of one or more of a plurality of communication links within the secure communication tunnel, the secure communication tunnel to the standby communication tunnel such that the secure communication tunnel comprises the first communication tunnel and the standby communication tunnel. However, Sama-Babbar-Singleton-Thornton in view of Chandrashekhar discloses: the secure communication tunnel comprises a standby communication tunnel between the midway server and a second remote communication agent hosted at the on-premise private network and linked to the application; and the method further comprises switching, by a communications controller of the cloud platform and in response to detecting a threshold number of failures of one or more of a plurality of communication links within the secure communication tunnel, the secure communication tunnel to the standby communication tunnel such that the secure communication tunnel comprises the first communication tunnel and the standby communication tunnel.
Refer to at least [0078] and [00105] of Chandrashekhar with respect to active and standby gateway DCNs, where the standby DCN is used in case of failure.
The teachings of Chandrashekhar likewise concern establishing secure connections between private enterprise networks and cloud networks, and are considered to be within the same field of endeavor and combinable as such.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of Applicant’s invention to modify the teachings of Sama-Babbar-Singleton-Thornton to further include standby gateway functionality for at least the purpose of maintaining uptime and improving quality of service.
Regarding claim 22, it is substantially similar to claim 21 above, and is therefore likewise rejected.
Claim(s) 3 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sama-Babbar-Singleton-Thornton as applied to claims 1, 4, 7-13, 18-20, and 23 above, and further in view of Luoma (“MULTI-TENANT HYBRID CLOUD ARCHITECTURE”).
Regarding claim 3, Sama-Babbar-Singleton-Thornton discloses: identifying according to a stored delegate-tenant mapping, the particular communication delegate uniquely mapped to the particular tenant from among the plurality of communication delegates based on a tenant identifier (ID) identified from the data traffic received by the communication controller, the stored delegate-tenant mapping comprising a mapping between the plurality of tenants, according to respective tenant IDs, and the plurality of communication delegates, the mapping reflecting that each communication delegate of the plurality of communication delegates is uniquely mapped to a corresponding tenant of the plurality of tenants;
Refer to at least [0013], [0017], [0020], and [0024] of Babbar with respect to a tenant ID associated with each tenant, and mapping tenant IDs to respective tunnel endpoints. Tunnel endpoints are instantiated with respect to their assigned tenant IDs.
Sama-Babbar-Singleton-Thornton does not specify: receiving, by a communication controller of the cloud platform, the data traffic prior to receiving the data traffic by the particular communication delegate; performing the identification step by the communication controller; and forwarding, by the communication controller, the data traffic to the particular communication delegate. However, Sama-Babbar-Singleton-Thornton in view of Luoma discloses: receiving, by a communication controller of the cloud platform, the data traffic prior to receiving the data traffic by the particular communication delegate; performing the identification step by the communication controller; and forwarding, by the communication controller, the data traffic to the particular communication delegate.
Refer to at least pages 10-11 of Luoma with respect to a multi-tenancy support layer MTEL (interpreted as a form of the claimed controller) and ApplicationService instances (interpreted as a form of the claimed communication delegates), where the MTEL receives outside traffic and filters it to the correct ApplicationService associated with a tenant based on a TenantID.
The teachings of Luoma likewise concern establishing managing tenant traffic and services, and are considered to be within the same field of endeavor and combinable as such.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of Applicant’s invention to modify the teachings of Sama-Babbar-Singleton-Thornton to implement a controller for receiving and forwarding traffic to the tunnel endpoints because all of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time.
Regarding claim 14, it is substantially similar to claim 3 above, and is therefore likewise rejected.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Jeffrey Nickerson/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2432
/V.S/Examiner, Art Unit 2432