DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10, 12 and 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okajima (US 20030075537).
Fig. 1 of Okajima
Regarding claim 10, Okajima teaches a ceramic heater (10A) comprising:
a ceramic plate (2A, [0037] the plate shaped substrate may be a known ceramic) that has a wafer placement surface ([0071] semiconductor wafer to be mounted on the mounting face)
a main resistance heating element (4) that is disposed parallel with the wafer placement surface in the plate (Fig. 2 [0029] heating element 4 parallel to surface 2A) that is wired from one of a pair of main terminals ([0030] terminals 7) in a one-stroke pattern (Fig. 1), that reaches the other of the pair of main terminals ([0030] terminals 7) and that has a coil shape ([0041] shape of the heating element may be coil)
a sub resistance heating element (3) that is disposed in the ceramic plate on substantially the same plane as the main resistance heating element (4, Fig. 1 heating elements 3 and 4 being on the same plane) that complements heating with the main resistance heating element (4) at points on the ceramic plate (2A) at which temperature singularly decreases (Fig. 1 [0030] the first heating element 3 is provided in a first zone 17 and the second heating element 4 is provided in a second zone 16, where temperature singularly decreases in zone 16 in regards to heating element 4), and that has a two-dimensional shape ([0041] shape of the heating element may be ribbon, mesh, plate or film, being 2 dimensional),
wherein the main resistance heating element (4) extends from the one of the pair of main terminals ([0030] terminals 7), is folded at folded portions (4b), and reaches the other of the pair of main terminals ([0030] terminals 7, Fig. 1); and
wherein the sub resistance heating element (3, 8A) is of a ribbon shape ([0041] shape of the heating element may be ribbon) and is linearly (8A, Fig. 1 where portion 8A of 3 is linear) disposed in a space void of the main resistance heating element (4, Fig. 1) between where a pair of folded portions (4b) of the main resistance heating element (4) face each other (Fig. 1 where linear portions 8A are between folded portions 4b) and without contacting or connecting to the main resistance heating element (Fig. 1, heating elements 3 and 4 not contacting or connecting).
Okajima does not teach wherein the sub resistance heating element is linearly disposed across substantially an entire diameter of the ceramic plate in a space void of the main resistance heating element between where each and every pair of folded portions of the main resistance heating element face each other. However, applicant has not stated that there is any unexpected or synergetic results for the positioning of the sub resistance heating element across substantially the entire diameter for the ceramic plate . As such it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify the sub resistor of Okajima to have the dimensions claimed as when the only difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is a scaling or dimension which does not provide a new or unexpected result a finding of prima facie obviousness is appropriate (see MPEP §2144.04).
Regarding claim 12, Okajima teaches the ceramic heater according to Claim 10, wherein the sub resistance heating element (3) is wired from one of a pair of sub terminals ([0031] terminal 6A Fig. 1) in a one-stroke pattern (Fig. 1)and reaches the other of the pair of sub terminals ([0031] terminal 6A Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 13, Okajima teaches the ceramic heater according to Claim 10, wherein the sub resistance heating element contains ceramics ([0041] the heating element may be a conductive material such as carbon, TiN or TiC, where TiN and TiC are ceramic).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okajima (US 20030075537) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Muneishi (US20200275528).
Regarding claim 11, Okajima teaches the ceramic heater according to claim 10, but is silent on wherein the sub resistance heating element forms a parallel circuit together with the main resistance heating element.
Muneishi teaches wherein the sub resistance heating element forms a parallel circuit together with the main resistance heating element ([0106] FIG. 7 is a circuit diagram showing an example of the hardware configuration for the portions mainly concerned with the power supply among the various functional parts shown in FIG. 6, where resistance heating elements 2Ba, 2Bb, 2Bc, and 2Bd form a parallel circuit).
Okajima and Muneishi are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of ceramic heaters. It would have been obvious to have modified Okajima to incorporate the teachings of Muneishi to have the main and sub heating elements form a parallel circuit in order to allow the power to both the main and sub heating elements be supplied individually (Muneishi [0010]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments, see the Remarks, filed 3/23/2026 , with respect to the rejection(s) of claim 10 under Okajima have been fully considered and are persuasive. However, Applicant's amendment necessitated a new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action, wherein the new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Okajima being modified by scaling or dimension which does not provide a new or unexpected result a finding of prima facie obviousness as now presented (see MPEP §2144.04). As applicant now claims, the sub resistance heating element is disposed substaintailly across the entire diameter of the ceramic plate, however applicant’s specification does not explicitly show this embodiment as being necessary and improvement on the placement of the sub resistance given the many embodiments, as shown by example in applicant’s Figs. 3-7.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ABIGAIL H RHUE/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 6/3/2026
/WOODY A LEE JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761