Claims 1, 2, 5-17, 20, 21, 24-28, and 31-35 are pending. This Office Action is responsive to the RCE filed on 04/27/2026, which has been entered into the above identified application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5, 7-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kong et al. (“Qualitative and Quantitative Analysis of Multi-Pattern Wafer Bin Maps”, published 09/08/2020), hereinafter Kong; in view of Milligan (US 20180330493 A1, filed 04/30/2018); in further view of Ohmart et al. (US 20140002128 A1, filed 06/25/2013), hereinafter Ohmart; in further view of Shim et al. (“Active Learning of Convolutional Neural Network for Cost-Effective Wafer Map Pattern Classification”, published 02/19/2020), hereinafter Shim. Kong, Milligan, and Ohmart were cited in previous Office Actions.
Regarding Claim 1, Kong teaches causing a system to encode a numerical data set into a heatmap, wherein the numerical data set comprises data acquired from a plurality of die on a semiconductor wafer (Kong: “Different electrical function tests are carried out on dies (i.e., chips) to verify whether these dies meet the product standardization. These test results are marked in the corresponding die’s locations and then form the wafer bin maps (WBMs). It is a kind of graphical representation of specific wafer data and can help trace back to the causes of failures for maintaining the high yield” [I. Introduction, Para. 1]),
wherein individual data points of the numerical data set correspond to respective spatial locations and individual pixels of the heatmap correspond to the individual data points (Kong: “Different electrical function tests are carried out on dies (i.e., chips) to verify whether these dies meet the product standardization. These test results are marked in the corresponding die’s locations and then form the wafer bin maps (WBMs). It is a kind of graphical representation of specific wafer data and can help trace back to the causes of failures for maintaining the high yield” [I. Introduction, Para. 1]); and
implement an artificial intelligence (Al) model configured to provide an output comprising an indication as to whether a pattern is present in a heatmap (Kong: “Multi-pattern WBMs are then transformed into multiple single pattern WBMs. A CNN classifier is used to determine the types of patterns.” [I. Introduction, Para. 10]),
wherein the output further comprises an indication of a subset of pixels of the pixels of the heatmap that are included in the pattern, wherein the instructions, when executed, further cause the system to decode the output to provide a spatial location of the pattern (Kong: “These test results are marked in the corresponding dies locations and then form the wafer bin maps (WBMs).” [I. Introduction, Para. 1]; “Multiple pattern groups on one WBM need to be located and separated apart.” [I. Introduction, Para. 4]; “The pixel values of the pattern areas and the background areas are 1 and 0. The output image is the WBM with the same resolution as the input image. It keeps original patterns along with newly-added pattern group boundaries. In the output image, different pixel values represent different areas. Specifically, the pixel values of the pattern boundaries, the pattern areas, and the background areas are 2, 1, and 0.” [II.A. Boundary Detection, Para. 3]), and
wherein the instructions, when executed, further cause the system to generate a pixel mask based on the spatial location of the pattern, wherein the pixel mask comprises a first set of pixels corresponding to die not included in the pattern and a second set of pixels corresponding to die included in the pattern (Kong: “The boundary detection stage decomposes one WBM with multiple pattern groups into multiple WBMs with single or overlapped pattern and randomly distributed noise dies background, whose general idea is shown in Fig. 3. The defective dies within each boundary belong to one pattern group.” [II.A. Boundary Detection, Para. 2]; See [Figure 3], in which a wafer map is decomposed into multiple maps to isolate each pattern from other patterns and noise; In light of Paragraph [043] of the specification, which states “The pixel mask 606 may include a set of pixels 608 corresponding to die not included in the defect 604 and a set of pixels 610 corresponding to die included in the defect 604” and [Figure 6], in which the pixel mask indicates only the die associated with a single pattern and does not include defective die that are not part of the pattern (i.e., background, noise, other patterns), BRI would support that a “pixel mask” is a binary map isolating a single pattern).
However, Kong fails to expressly disclose a system comprising: at least one processor; and at least one non-transitory medium accessible to the processor encoded with instructions; wherein the numerical data set comprises an impedance, a voltage, a current, an operation speed, a temperature, a number of failed elements on a die of the plurality of die, or combinations thereof, and wherein the individual pixels are mapped to a color and a color intensity based on a value of the individual data points; wherein the pixel mask is used to program a sorting equipment to separate die corresponding to the first set of pixels and die corresponding to the second set of pixels when the die are removed from the semiconductor wafer; and generate annotations of the heatmap based on feedback from a user to train the AI model.
In the same field of endeavor, Milligan teaches a system comprising: at least one processor; and at least one non-transitory medium accessible to the processor encoded with instructions (Milligan: “there are one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing computer-executable instructions, the computer-executable instructions, when executed, causing one or more processors to perform the above method” [0014]);
wherein the numerical data set comprises an impedance, a voltage, a current, an operation speed, a temperature, a number of failed elements on a die of the plurality of die, or combinations thereof (Milligan: “Circuit probe testing, a type of wafer measurements, is performed during the final phase of wafer fabrication and before wafers are scribed and cut into dies (chips). Circuit probe testing can include parametric testing, functional testing and scan testing. Parametric testing measures electrical properties of pin electronics such as delay, voltages, and currents. Iddq testing, for example, measures the supply current (Idd) in the quiescent state (i.e., the circuit is not switching and inputs are held at static values).” [0044]), and
wherein the individual pixels are mapped to a color and a color intensity based on a value of the individual data points (Milligan: “A wafer map can also be represented by bin codes. FIG. 6A illustrates such an example. In FIG. 6B, different bin codes are represented by different colors. While the integer representation is useful, the binary/integer value may be transformed into a continuous value for some purposes. FIG. 7 illustrates an example of a wafer map using a continuous value representation.” [0046]; BRI of “color intensity” given its plain meaning and paragraph [019] of the specification, which states “The heatmap may be generated by assigning a pixel having an intensity and/or hue (e.g., color) for each data point based on a value of the data point”, is that intensity (or saturation) and hue are components of color, therefore controlling the color implies controlling color intensity).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated a system comprising: at least one processor; and at least one non-transitory medium accessible to the processor encoded with instructions; wherein the numerical data set comprises an impedance, a voltage, a current, an operation speed, a temperature, a number of failed elements on a die of the plurality of die, or combinations thereof, and wherein the individual pixels are mapped to a color and a color intensity based on a value of the individual data points as taught by Milligan to the system of Kong because both of these systems are directed towards utilizing AI to analyze, detect and classify defect patterns on wafer maps. By making this combination and evaluating how defective each die might be in the heatmap, it would allow the system of Kong to easily detect “many common semiconductor manufacturing defects [that] can cause the current to increase by orders of magnitude” (Milligan: [0044]), and also offers a “continuous value representation” (Milligan: [0046]) of die quality.
Kong and Milligan still fail to expressly disclose wherein the pixel mask is used to program a sorting equipment to separate die corresponding to the first set of pixels and die corresponding to the second set of pixels when the die are removed from the semiconductor wafer; and generate annotations of the heatmap based on feedback from a user to train the AI model.
In the same field of endeavor, Ohmart teaches wherein the pixel mask is used to program a sorting equipment to separate die corresponding to the first set of pixels and die corresponding to the second set of pixels when the die are removed from the semiconductor wafer (Ohmart: “The wafer map identifies the exact location of each die using a coordinate system that corresponds to the physical structure of the wafer. The probe test results (die quality) may be expressed as a single bit value, e.g., good (accept) or bad (reject), or a multiple bit value that provides additional information such as good first grade, good second grade, etc. The wafer map includes a plurality of bin numbers to categorize various attributes and/or properties of each die. For example, bin 1 may contain identification of all good first grade dice, bin 2 may contain identification of all good second grade dice, bin 3 may contain identification of all plug dice, bin 4 may contain identification of all bad dice, and bin 5 may contain identification of all edge bad dice.” [0003]; “At an Assembly/Test (A/T) facility, a wafer undergoes sawing to singulate the dice, and pick and place processing based on the wafer map. A wafer map, which specifies the exact location of all good dice, is used to control an accept/reject function of a typical pick and place system.” [0005]; “During a pick and place operation on a wafer, once all the good die have been picked (that is, removed from the wafer and mounted on lead frames), then the remaining die are in visually unique positions and may be visually inspected to determine if remaining die match the defective die pattern provided by the die map.” [0018]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated wherein the pixel mask is used to program a sorting equipment to separate die corresponding to the first set of pixels and die corresponding to the second set of pixels when the die are removed from the semiconductor wafer, as taught by Ohmart to the system of Kong and Milligan because both of these systems are directed towards identifying defective die in semiconductor wafers based on wafer maps. In making this combination and using the information provided by the mask/map to control sorting equipment to separate the good and bad die, it would allow the system of Kong and Milligan to “attach only Good Electrical Chips (GEC) to lead frames” to be used in the final semiconductor product (Ohmart: [0005]).
Kong, Milligan, and Ohmart still fail to expressly disclose generate annotations of the heatmap based on feedback from a user to train the AI model.
In the same field of endeavor, Shim teaches generate annotations of the heatmap based on feedback from a user to train the AI model (Shim: “Because a large amount of labeled training data is required, experienced engineers need to annotate large quantities of wafer maps manually which is costly.” [Abstract]; “The CNN model for classifying wafer maps is trained by using an initial labeled set. With this model, the uncertainty of prediction in the unlabeled wafer maps is calculated in the uncertainty estimation step. Based on this uncertainty, the wafers to be labeled are selected in the query wafer selection step. In the query wafer labeling step, the selected wafers are inspected by the engineer, and are merged into the labeled set. The CNN model is updated with the labeled set in the model update step.” [I. Introduction, Para. 4]; “After the query wafers are chosen, the engineers proceed to label them manually, using visual recognition. These newly-labeled wafers are then merged into the existing labeled-wafers set.” [III.E. Query Wafer Labeling]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated generate annotations of the heatmap based on feedback from a user to train the AI model, as taught by Shim to the system of Kong, Milligan, and Ohmart because both of these systems are directed towards training an AI model on wafer maps to detect defects in die on a semiconductor wafer. In making this combination and adopting an active learning approach to train the model based on user feedback, it would allow the system of Kong, Milligan, and Ohmart to “selectively annotate novel pattern wafers that have not yet been incorporated into the training set to improve the efficiency of the labeling” (Shim: [I. Introduction, Para. 3]) in order to “construct a well-performing CNN model with a lower labeling cost” (Shim: [Abstract]).
Regarding Claim 2, Kong, Milligan, Ohmart, and Shim teach the system of Claim 1, wherein the Al model comprises a region-based convolutional neural network (Kong: “With the help of two stages of pattern segmentation, multi-pattern WBMs are segmented into multiple single pattern WBMs. Then, the types of patterns are inferred by the CNN classifier.” [II.C. CNN Classification Model]).
Regarding Claim 5, Kong, Milligan, Ohmart, and Shim teach the system of Claim 1, further comprising a display, wherein the instructions, when executed, further cause the system to generate display information for at least one of the heatmap or the output and provide the display information to the display (Milligan: “The output devices 125 may include, for example, a monitor display” [0034], “the output may indicate whether one of the known defect patterns exists on the wafer map, how similar it is to the one of the known defect patterns and where it is on the wafer map” [0055]).
Regarding Claim 7, Kong, Milligan, Ohmart, and Shim teach the system of Claim 1, wherein the output further comprises a classification of the pattern (Kong: “The input WBM is unfolded into the row vector. The outputs are the predicted probabilities of all failure pattern classes. The class with the largest predicted probability is taken as belonging class of this WBM” [II. Methodology, C. CNN Classification Model, Para. 3]).
Regarding Claim 8, Kong, Milligan, Ohmart, and Shim teach the system of Claim 7, wherein the output further comprises a confidence level of the classification (Kong: “It is accompanied by Softmax function to obtain the prediction probability of pattern classes. The cost function H is defined as [Equation 5] where m is the number of WBMs. labelpredict and labeltrue are the predicted label and the target label for WBM Wi. P is the probability of the WBM Wi being classified to the target label.” [II. Methodology, C. CNN Classification Model, Para. 2]).
Regarding Claim 9, Kong, Milligan, Ohmart, and Shim teach the system of Claim 1, wherein the output further comprises a confidence level of the pattern, wherein the confidence level indicates a probability that the pattern is present in the heatmap (Kong: “It is accompanied by Softmax function to obtain the prediction probability of pattern classes. The cost function H is defined as [Equation 5] where m is the number of WBMs. labelpredict and labeltrue are the predicted label and the target label for WBM Wi. P is the probability of the WBM Wi being classified to the target label.” [II. Methodology, C. CNN Classification Model, Para. 2]; “The input WBM is unfolded into the row vector. The outputs are the predicted probabilities of all failure pattern classes. The class with the largest predicted probability is taken as belonging class of this WBM” [II. Methodology, C. CNN Classification Model, Para. 3]).
Regarding Claim 10, Kong, Milligan, Ohmart, and Shim teach the system of Claim 1, wherein the spatial locations correspond to individual die of the plurality of die on the semiconductor wafer (Kong: “Different electrical function tests are carried out on dies (i.e., chips) to verify whether these dies meet the product standardization. These test results are marked in the corresponding dies locations and then form the wafer bin maps (WBMs)” [I. Introduction, Para. 1]).
Regarding Claim 11, Kong, Milligan, Ohmart, and Shim teach the system of Claim 10, wherein the pattern comprises a defect in the semiconductor wafer (Kong: “Defective dies on WBMs usually cluster into specific spatial patterns. Diverse patterns typically contain essential information for root cause identification.” [I. Introduction, Para. 2]).
Regarding Claim 12, Kong teaches a method comprising:
encoding a numerical data set into a heatmap, wherein the numerical data comprises a plurality of data points corresponding to a plurality of spatial locations, wherein the data points are acquired from a plurality of die on a semiconductor wafer (Kong: “Different electrical function tests are carried out on dies (i.e., chips) to verify whether these dies meet the product standardization. These test results are marked in the corresponding die’s locations and then form the wafer bin maps (WBMs). It is a kind of graphical representation of specific wafer data and can help trace back to the causes of failures for maintaining the high yield” [I. Introduction, Para. 1]; “The model used for boundary detection adopts the U-net structure [26] and has a pixel-wise output. The input image is binary WBM. The pixel values of the pattern areas and the background areas are 1 and 0.” [II.A. Boundary Detection]),
wherein the heatmap comprises a plurality of pixels, and wherein the plurality of pixels correspond to the plurality of data points (Kong: “Different electrical function tests are carried out on dies (i.e., chips) to verify whether these dies meet the product standardization. These test results are marked in the corresponding die’s locations and then form the wafer bin maps (WBMs). It is a kind of graphical representation of specific wafer data and can help trace back to the causes of failures for maintaining the high yield” [I. Introduction, Para. 1]);
providing an output from an artificial intelligence (Al) model based at least in part, on the heatmap, wherein the output comprises an indication as to whether a pattern is present in the heatmap (Kong: “The model used for boundary detection adopts the U-net structure and has a pixel-wise output. The input image is binary WBM. The pixel values of the pattern areas and the background areas are 1 and 0. The output image is the WBM with the same resolution as the input image. It keeps original patterns along with newly-added pattern group boundaries. In the output image, different pixel values represent different areas. Specifically, the pixel values of the pattern boundaries, the pattern areas, and the background areas are 2, 1, and 0.” [II.A. Boundary Detection, Para. 3]; “With the help of two stages of pattern segmentation, multi-pattern WBMs are segmented into multiple single pattern WBMs. Then, the types of patterns are inferred by the CNN classifier.” [II.C. CNN Classification Model, Para. 1);
decoding the output to provide location information for the pattern, wherein the location information comprises the spatial location of the plurality of spatial locations (Kong: “Multiple pattern groups on one WBM need to be located and separated apart.” [I. Introduction, Para. 4]; “The pixel values of the pattern areas and the background areas are 1 and 0. The output image is the WBM with the same resolution as the input image. It keeps original patterns along with newly-added pattern group boundaries. In the output image, different pixel values represent different areas. Specifically, the pixel values of the pattern boundaries, the pattern areas, and the background areas are 2, 1, and 0.” [II.A. Boundary Detection, Para. 3]); and
generating a pixel mask, based, at least in part, on the location information, wherein the pixel mask comprises a first set of pixels corresponding to die not included in the pattern and a second set of pixels corresponding to die included in the pattern (Kong: “The boundary detection stage decomposes one WBM with multiple pattern groups into multiple WBMs with single or overlapped pattern and randomly distributed noise dies background, whose general idea is shown in Fig. 3. The defective dies within each boundary belong to one pattern group.” [II.A. Boundary Detection, Para. 2]; See [Figure 3], in which a wafer map is decomposed into multiple maps to isolate each pattern from other patterns and noise; In light of Paragraph [043] of the specification, which states “The pixel mask 606 may include a set of pixels 608 corresponding to die not included in the defect 604 and a set of pixels 610 corresponding to die included in the defect 604” and [Figure 6], in which the pixel mask indicates only the die associated with a single pattern and does not include defective die that are not part of the pattern (i.e., background, noise, other patterns), BRI would support that a “pixel mask” is a binary map isolating a single pattern).
However, Kong fails to expressly disclose wherein the numerical data set comprises an impedance, a voltage, a current, an operation speed, a temperature, a number of failed elements on a die of the plurality of die, or combinations thereof; assigning the individual pixels a color and a color intensity based on values of corresponding one of the plurality of data points; generating annotations of the heatmap based on feedback from a user to train the AI model; and wherein a pixel mask is used to program a sorting equipment to separate die corresponding to the first set of pixels and die corresponding to the second set of pixels when the die are removed from the semiconductor wafer.
In the same field of endeavor, Milligan teaches wherein the numerical data set comprises an impedance, a voltage, a current, an operation speed, a temperature, a number of failed elements on a die of the plurality of die, or combinations thereof (Milligan: “Circuit probe testing, a type of wafer measurements, is performed during the final phase of wafer fabrication and before wafers are scribed and cut into dies (chips). Circuit probe testing can include parametric testing, functional testing and scan testing. Parametric testing measures electrical properties of pin electronics such as delay, voltages, and currents. Iddq testing, for example, measures the supply current (Idd) in the quiescent state (i.e., the circuit is not switching and inputs are held at static values).” [0044]), and
assigning the individual pixels a color and a color intensity based on values of corresponding one of the plurality of data points (Milligan: “A wafer map can also be represented by bin codes. FIG. 6A illustrates such an example. In FIG. 6B, different bin codes are represented by different colors. While the integer representation is useful, the binary/integer value may be transformed into a continuous value for some purposes. FIG. 7 illustrates an example of a wafer map using a continuous value representation.” [0046]; BRI of “color intensity” given its plain meaning and paragraph [019] of the specification, which states “The heatmap may be generated by assigning a pixel having an intensity and/or hue (e.g., color) for each data point based on a value of the data point”, is that intensity (or saturation) and hue are components of color, therefore controlling the color implies controlling color intensity).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated wherein the numerical data set comprises an impedance, a voltage, a current, an operation speed, a temperature, a number of failed elements on a die of the plurality of die, or combinations thereof; assigning the individual pixels a color and a color intensity based on values of corresponding one of the plurality of data points, as taught by Kong to the system of Milligan because both of these systems are directed towards utilizing AI to analyze, detect and classify defect patterns on wafer maps. By making this combination and evaluating how defective each die might be in the heatmap, it would allow the system of Kong to easily detect “many common semiconductor manufacturing defects [that] can cause the current to increase by orders of magnitude” (Milligan: [0044]), and also offers a “continuous value representation” (Milligan: [0046]) of die quality.
Kong and Milligan still fail to expressly disclose generating annotations of the heatmap based on feedback from a user to train the AI model; and wherein the pixel mask is used to program a sorting equipment to separate die corresponding to the first set of pixels and die corresponding to the second set of pixels when the die are removed from the semiconductor wafer.
In the same field of endeavor, Shim teaches generating annotations of the heatmap based on feedback from a user to train the AI model (Shim: “Because a large amount of labeled training data is required, experienced engineers need to annotate large quantities of wafer maps manually which is costly.” [Abstract]; “The CNN model for classifying wafer maps is trained by using an initial labeled set. With this model, the uncertainty of prediction in the unlabeled wafer maps is calculated in the uncertainty estimation step. Based on this uncertainty, the wafers to be labeled are selected in the query wafer selection step. In the query wafer labeling step, the selected wafers are inspected by the engineer, and are merged into the labeled set. The CNN model is updated with the labeled set in the model update step.” [I. Introduction, Para. 4]; “After the query wafers are chosen, the engineers proceed to label them manually, using visual recognition. These newly-labeled wafers are then merged into the existing labeled-wafers set.” [III.E. Query Wafer Labeling]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated generating annotations of the heatmap based on feedback from a user to train the AI model, as taught by Shim to the system of Kong and Milligan because both of these systems are directed towards training an AI model on wafer maps to detect defects in die on a semiconductor wafer. In making this combination and adopting an active learning approach to train the model based on user feedback, it would allow the system of Kong and Milligan to “selectively annotate novel pattern wafers that have not yet been incorporated into the training set to improve the efficiency of the labeling” (Shim: [I. Introduction, Para. 3]) in order to “construct a well-performing CNN model with a lower labeling cost” (Shim: [Abstract]).
Kong, Milligan, and Shim still fail to express disclose wherein the pixel mask is used to program a sorting equipment to separate die corresponding to the first set of pixels and die corresponding to the second set of pixels when the die are removed from the semiconductor wafer.
In the same field of endeavor, Ohmart teaches wherein the pixel mask is used to program a sorting equipment to separate die corresponding to the first set of pixels and die corresponding to the second set of pixels when the die are removed from the semiconductor wafer (Ohmart: “The wafer map identifies the exact location of each die using a coordinate system that corresponds to the physical structure of the wafer. The probe test results (die quality) may be expressed as a single bit value, e.g., good (accept) or bad (reject), or a multiple bit value that provides additional information such as good first grade, good second grade, etc. The wafer map includes a plurality of bin numbers to categorize various attributes and/or properties of each die. For example, bin 1 may contain identification of all good first grade dice, bin 2 may contain identification of all good second grade dice, bin 3 may contain identification of all plug dice, bin 4 may contain identification of all bad dice, and bin 5 may contain identification of all edge bad dice.” [0003]; “At an Assembly/Test (A/T) facility, a wafer undergoes sawing to singulate the dice, and pick and place processing based on the wafer map. A wafer map, which specifies the exact location of all good dice, is used to control an accept/reject function of a typical pick and place system.” [0005]; “During a pick and place operation on a wafer, once all the good die have been picked (that is, removed from the wafer and mounted on lead frames), then the remaining die are in visually unique positions and may be visually inspected to determine if remaining die match the defective die pattern provided by the die map.” [0018]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated wherein the pixel mask is used to program a sorting equipment to separate die corresponding to the first set of pixels and die corresponding to the second set of pixels when the die are removed from the semiconductor wafer, as taught by Ohmart to the system of Kong, Milligan, and Shim because both of these systems are directed towards identifying defective die in semiconductor wafers based on wafer maps. In making this combination and using the information provided by the mask/map to control sorting equipment to separate the good and bad die, it would allow the system of Kong, Milligan, and Shim to “attach only Good Electrical Chips (GEC) to lead frames” to be used in the final semiconductor product (Ohmart: [0005]).
Regarding Claim 13, Kong, Milligan, Shim, and Ohmart teach the method of Claim 12, wherein a property of a pixel of the plurality of pixels is based, at least in part, on a value of a corresponding data point of the plurality of data points (Kong: “Different electrical function tests are carried out on dies (i.e., chips) to verify whether these dies meet the product standardization. These test results are marked in the corresponding dies locations and then form the wafer bin maps (WBMs). It is a kind of graphical representation of specific wafer data and can help trace back to the causes of failures for maintaining the high yield” [I. Introduction, Para. 1]).
Regarding Claim 14, Kong, Milligan, Shim, and Ohmart teach the method of Claim 12, wherein assigning colors to the plurality of pixels based on values of corresponding ones of the plurality of data points, is based, at least in part, on a colormap (Milligan: “A wafer map can also be represented by bin codes. FIG. 6A illustrates such an example. In FIG. 6B, different bin codes are represented by different colors” [0046]).
Regarding Claim 15, Kong, Milligan, Shim, and Ohmart teach the method of Claim 14, wherein the colormap assigns colors to an entire range of the values of the plurality of data points (Milligan: “While the integer representation is useful, the binary/integer value may be transformed into a continuous value for some purposes. FIG. 7 illustrates an example of a wafer map using a continuous value representation” [0046]).
Regarding Claim 16, Kong, Milligan, Shim, and Ohmart teach the method of Claim 14, wherein the colormap assigns a same color to values of the plurality of data points based on a comparison to a threshold value (Milligan: “A wafer map can also be represented by bin codes. FIG. 6A illustrates such an example. In FIG. 6B, different bin codes are represented by different colors” [0046]).
Regarding Claim 17, Kong, Milligan, Shim, and Ohmart teach the method of Claim 16, wherein the colormap assigns the same color to the values of the plurality of data points when the values are equal to or above the threshold value or when the values are equal to or below the threshold value (Milligan: “A good die can pass the tests thoroughly and be assigned to the best grade and other bin code assignments indicate different degrees of quality inferiority. The number of bin codes can be less than ten or up to a few dozen” [0045]).
Regarding Claim 20, Kong, Milligan, Shim, and Ohmart teach the method of Claim 12, wherein the plurality of spatial locations correspond to a plurality of die on a semiconductor wafer (Kong: “Different electrical function tests are carried out on dies (i.e., chips) to verify whether these dies meet the product standardization. These test results are marked in the corresponding dies locations and then form the wafer bin maps” [I. Introduction, Para. 1]), and
the method further comprises assigning a first grade to a first die of the plurality of die included in the pattern and assigning a second grade to a second die of the plurality of die outside the pattern, wherein the first grade and the second grade are different (Milligan: “Measurement results can be simply pass/fail or be assigned to a grade. Each grade can be presented using a unique bin code. A good die can pass the tests thoroughly and be assigned to the best grade and other bin code assignments indicate different degrees of quality inferiority. The number of bin codes can be less than ten or up to a few dozen. The spatial distribution of pass/fail or quality grades across a wafer can be represented by a wafer map. Wafer maps can contain characteristic patterns or signatures” [0045]),
wherein the first die included in the pattern is sorted differently than the second die outside the pattern (Milligan: “A statistical approach typically classifies patterns based on an extracted feature set, and an underlying statistical model for generating these patterns. For example, an averaging operation can first be performed on good or bad die images (white and black; 0 and 1), in which each die was averaged by its 3×3 or 5×5 neighboring dies. The obtained average value replaces the original binary value. As such, the binary wafer map is transformed into a smoothed grey-level wafer map. A threshold value is then selected. If the grey level of a die exceeds the threshold value, it is determined to be bad; otherwise, it is good.” [0047]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kong in view of Milligan, Ohmart, and Shim, as applied to Claim 5 above, in further view of Kurihara et al. (US 20060078188 A1, filed 07/28/2005), hereinafter Kurikara. Kurihara was cited in a previous Office Action.
Regarding Claim 6, Kong, Milligan, Ohmart, and Shim teach the system of Claim 5. However, they fail to expressly disclose wherein the display is configured to provide the output as graphical overlays on the heatmap.
In the same field of endeavor, Kurihara teaches wherein the display is configured to provide the output as graphical overlays on the heatmap (Kurihara: “FIG. 12 shows an example of a display screen. The display screen is constituted of a wafer information area 501, a wafer map area 506, a defect class and defect data area 508, a view area 517, a detailed view area 519 and a defect class area 521.” [0057], “FIG. 14 is a diagram showing a detailed example of a wafer map display area in the embodiment shown in FIG. 12” [0032], see FIG. 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated wherein the display is configured to provide the output as graphical overlays on the heatmap into the system of Kong, Milligan, Ohmart, and Shim as they relate to defect detection through image processing of wafer maps and displaying results to the user. In making this combination, it would allow the user to clearly see the position of the defect on the map on the display for review (Kurihara: [0059]).
Claims 21, 24, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kong et al. (“Qualitative and Quantitative Analysis of Multi-Pattern Wafer Bin Maps”, published 09/08/2020), hereinafter Kong; in view of Milligan (US 20180330493 A1, filed 04/30/2018); in further view of Saqlain et al. (“A Voting Ensemble Classifier for Wafer Map Defect Patterns Identification in Semiconductor Manufacturing”, published 03/11/2019), hereinafter Saqlain; in further view of Shim et al. (“Active Learning of Convolutional Neural Network for Cost-Effective Wafer Map Pattern Classification”, published 02/19/2020), hereinafter Shim. Kong, Milligan, and Saqlain were cited in previous Office Actions.
Regarding Claim 21, Kong teaches causing a system to:
encode a first portion of a numerical data set into a first heatmap, wherein the numerical data set comprises a plurality of data points corresponding to a plurality of spatial locations, and wherein the first heatmap comprises a first plurality of pixels, wherein the first plurality of pixels correspond to a plurality of data points of the first portion (Kong: “Different electrical function tests are carried out on dies (i.e., chips) to verify whether these dies meet the product standardization. These test results are marked in the corresponding dies locations and then form the wafer bin maps (WBMs). It is a kind of graphical representation of specific wafer data and can help trace back to the causes of failures for maintaining the high yield” [I. Introduction, Para. 1]);
encode a second portion of the numerical data set into a second heatmap, wherein the second heatmap comprises a second plurality of pixels, wherein the second plurality of pixels correspond to a plurality of data points of the second portion, wherein the numerical data set comprises data acquired from a plurality of die of a semiconductor wafer (Kong: “After detecting the boundaries, the defective dies in the closed boundary loop are considered to belong to one pattern group. One pattern with disconnected parts can be located in one boundary. Every pattern group forms a new WBM with the same resolution as the original input WBM.” [II. Methodology, A. Boundary Detection, Para. 13]); and
implement a model configured to provide an output comprising an indication as to whether a pattern is present in at least one of the first heatmap or the second heatmap (Kong: “Multi-pattern WBMs are then transformed into multiple single pattern WBMs. A CNN classifier is used to determine the types of patterns.” [I. Introduction, Para. 10]).
However, Kong fails to expressly disclose a system comprising: at least one processor; and at least one non-transitory medium accessible to the processor encoded with instructions; and wherein each pixel of the first and second pluralities of pixels are mapped to a color and a color intensity based on a value of the plurality of data points of the first portion and on a value of the plurality of data points of the second portion, respectively, and wherein the numerical data set comprises an impedance, a voltage, a current, an operation speed, a temperature, a number of failed elements on a die of the plurality of die, or combinations thereof, wherein the first portion comprises a first data type and the second portion comprises a second data type; and wherein the model comprises an artificial intelligence (AI) model configured to analyze the first heatmap corresponding to the first portion having the first data type and the second heatmap corresponding to the second portion having the second data type to provide the output; and generate annotation of the at least one of the first heatmap or the second heatmap based on feedback from a user to train the AI model.
In the same field of endeavor, Milligan teaches a system comprising: at least one processor; and at least one non-transitory medium accessible to the processor encoded with instructions (Milligan: “there are one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing computer-executable instructions, the computer-executable instructions, when executed, causing one or more processors to perform the above method” [0014]);
wherein each pixel of the first and second pluralities of pixels are mapped to a color and a color intensity based on a value of the plurality of data points of the first portion and on a value of the plurality of data points of the second portion, respectively (Milligan: “A wafer map can also be represented by bin codes. FIG. 6A illustrates such an example. In FIG. 6B, different bin codes are represented by different colors. While the integer representation is useful, the binary/integer value may be transformed into a continuous value for some purposes. FIG. 7 illustrates an example of a wafer map using a continuous value representation.” [0046]; BRI of “color intensity” given its plain meaning and paragraph [019] of the specification, which states “The heatmap may be generated by assigning a pixel having an intensity and/or hue (e.g., color) for each data point based on a value of the data point”, is that intensity (or saturation) and hue are components of color, therefore controlling the color implies controlling color intensity), and
wherein the numerical data set comprises an impedance, a voltage, a current, an operation speed, a temperature, a number of failed elements on a die of the plurality of die, or combinations thereof (Milligan: “Circuit probe testing, a type of wafer measurements, is performed during the final phase of wafer fabrication and before wafers are scribed and cut into dies (chips). Circuit probe testing can include parametric testing, functional testing and scan testing. Parametric testing measures electrical properties of pin electronics such as delay, voltages, and currents. Iddq testing, for example, measures the supply current (Idd) in the quiescent state (i.e., the circuit is not switching and inputs are held at static values).” [0044]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated a system comprising: at least one processor; and at least one non-transitory medium accessible to the processor encoded with instructions; and wherein each pixel of the first and second pluralities of pixels are mapped to a color and a color intensity based on a value of the plurality of data points of the first portion and on a value of the plurality of data points of the second portion, respectively, and wherein the numerical data set comprises an impedance, a voltage, a current, an operation speed, a temperature, a number of failed elements on a die of the plurality of die, or combinations thereof as taught by Milligan to the system of Kong because both of these systems are directed towards utilizing AI to analyze, detect and classify defect patterns on wafer maps. By making this combination, Milligan provides hardware on which the system of Kong is to operate, allows the system of Kong to easily detect “many common semiconductor manufacturing defects [that] can cause the current to increase by orders of magnitude” (Milligan: [0044]), and also offers a “continuous value representation” (Milligan: [0046]) of die quality.
Kong and Milligan still fail to expressly disclose wherein the first portion comprises a first data type and the second portion comprises a second data type; and wherein the model comprises an artificial intelligence (AI) model configured to analyze the first heatmap corresponding to the first portion having the first data type and the second heatmap corresponding to the second portion having the second data type to provide the output; and generate annotation of the at least one of the first heatmap or the second heatmap based on feedback from a user to train the AI model.
In the same field of endeavor, Saqlain teaches wherein the first portion comprises a first data type and the second portion comprises a second data type (Saqlain: “We extracted multi-types features from each WM to make them ready for ML classifiers implementation, subsequent analysis, classification using scaling, attribute aggregation, and attribute decomposition. We proposed three distinctive features such as density-, geometry-, and radon-based. Density-based features depend on the failure density of various parts of WM image. Geometry-based features are obtained from the geometric attributes of regions for each WM. Radon-based feature is created by the transformation of radon, which can create a 2-dimensional representation of WM based on a series of projections.” [III.C. Features Extraction, Para. 1]); and
wherein the model comprises an artificial intelligence (AI) model configured to analyze the first heatmap corresponding to the first portion having the first data type and the second heatmap corresponding to the second portion having the second data type to provide the output (Saqlain: “we propose a voting ensemble classifier with multi-types features to identify wafer map defect patterns in semiconductor manufacturing. Our research contents can be summarized as follows. First, three distinctive features such as density-, geometry-, and radon-based features were extracted from raw wafer images. Then, we applied four machine learning classifiers, namely logistic regression (LR), random forests (RFs), gradient boosting machine (GBM), and artificial neural network (ANN), and trained them using extracted features of original data set. Then their results were combined with a soft voting ensemble (SVE) technique which assigns higher weights to the classifiers with respect to their prediction accuracy.” [Abstract]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated wherein the first portion comprises a first data type and the second portion comprises a second data type; and wherein the model comprises an artificial intelligence (AI) model configured to analyze the first heatmap corresponding to the first portion having the first data type and the second heatmap corresponding to the second portion having the second data type to provide the output, as taught by Saqlain to the system of Kong and Milligan because both of these systems are directed towards predicting/classifying defect patterns in semiconductor wafer maps. In making this combination and evaluating defaults through multiple types of measurements with different data types, it would allow the system of Kong and Milligan to “overcome the limitation of individual classifiers” as “ensemble classifiers have shown more effective results regarding stability and robustness” (Saqlain: [I. Introduction, Para. 6]).
Kong, Milligan, and Saqlain still fail to expressly disclose generate annotation of the at least one of the first heatmap or the second heatmap based on feedback from a user to train the AI model.
In the same field of endeavor, Shim teaches generate annotation of the at least one of the first heatmap or the second heatmap based on feedback from a user to train the AI model (Shim: “Because a large amount of labeled training data is required, experienced engineers need to annotate large quantities of wafer maps manually which is costly.” [Abstract]; “The CNN model for classifying wafer maps is trained by using an initial labeled set. With this model, the uncertainty of prediction in the unlabeled wafer maps is calculated in the uncertainty estimation step. Based on this uncertainty, the wafers to be labeled are selected in the query wafer selection step. In the query wafer labeling step, the selected wafers are inspected by the engineer, and are merged into the labeled set. The CNN model is updated with the labeled set in the model update step.” [I. Introduction, Para. 4]; “After the query wafers are chosen, the engineers proceed to label them manually, using visual recognition. These newly-labeled wafers are then merged into the existing labeled-wafers set.” [III.E. Query Wafer Labeling]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated generate annotation of the at least one of the first heatmap or the second heatmap based on feedback from a user to train the AI model, as taught by Shim to the system of Kong, Milligan, and Saqlain because both of these systems are directed towards training an AI model on wafer maps to detect defects in die on a semiconductor wafer. In making this combination and adopting an active learning approach to train the model based on user feedback, it would allow the system of Kong, Milligan, and Saqlain to “selectively annotate novel pattern wafers that have not yet been incorporated into the training set to improve the efficiency of the labeling” (Shim: [I. Introduction, Para. 3]) in order to “construct a well-performing CNN model with a lower labeling cost” (Shim: [Abstract]).
Regarding Claim 31, it is a method claim that corresponds to the system of Claim 21. Therefore, it is rejected for the same reason as Claim 21.
Regarding Claim 24, Kong, Milligan, Saqlain, and Shim teach the system of Claim 21, wherein the plurality of spatial locations for the plurality of data points of the first portion are the same as the plurality of spatial locations for the plurality of data points of the second portion (Saqlain: “A wafer map (WM) is a collection of visual data about the physical parameter that are collected from semiconductor wafers. It contains basic information about thickness, size, and location of defects on wafers.” [I. Introduction, Para. 1]; “We extracted multi-types features from each WM to make them ready for ML classifiers implementation, subsequent analysis, classification using scaling, attribute aggregation, and attribute decomposition. We proposed three distinctive features such as density-, geometry-, and radon-based. Density-based features depend on the failure density of various parts of WM image. Geometry-based features are obtained from the geometric attributes of regions for each WM. Radon-based feature is created by the transformation of radon, which can create a 2-dimensional representation of WM based on a series of projections. All these extracted features are manipulated together to show each WM with new representation.” [III.C. Feature Extraction, Para. 1]).
Claims 25-28 and 32-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kong in view of Milligan, Saqlain, and Shim, as applied to Claims 21 and 31 above, in further view of Backstrom et al. (US 20220277550 A1, foreign priority filed 02/26/2021), hereinafter Backstrom. Backstrom was cited in a previous Office Action.
Regarding Claim 25, Kong, Milligan, Saqlain, and Shim teach the system of Claim 21. However, they fail to expressly disclose wherein the model further comprises a first artificial intelligence (AI) model and a second AI model, wherein the first AI model analyzes the first heatmap and provides a first output and the second AI model analyzes the second heatmap and provides a second output.
In the same field of endeavor, Backstrom teaches wherein the model further comprises a first artificial intelligence (AI) model and a second AI model, wherein the first AI model analyzes the first heatmap and provides a first output and the second AI model analyzes the second heatmap and provides a second output (Backstrom: “The cross-check module 64 may use a second AI model that may be trained to perform the same classification task as the first AI model (using, however, a larger number of inputs, namely at least the explainability signature and the data analysis output in addition to the input data)” [0290], see [Fig. 13 and 14]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated wherein the model comprises a first artificial intelligence (AI) model and a second AI model, wherein the first AI model analyzes the first heatmap and provides a first output and the second AI model analyzes the second heatmap and provides a second output as taught by Backstrom to the system of Kong, Milligan, Saqlain, and Shim because they all relate to image processing through the handling of heatmap data. In making this combination, it allows the system of Kong, Milligan, Saqlain, and Shim to limit incorrect analyses by cross-checking its classification “to determine whether the data analysis result is considered to be reliable, whether the data analysis result is to be flagged, whether the data analysis result may be used as training data for machine learning, ML, and/or whether the data analysis result indicates the suitability of a data analysis model used in the data analysis (e.g., another AI model) to perform the task for which it is being intended.” (Backstrom: [0006]).
Regarding Claim 26, Kong, Milligan, Saqlain, Shim, and Backstrom teach the system of Claim 25, wherein the output comprises the first output and the second output (Backstrom: “The AI analysis outputs generated by a data analysis module 62 are passed on, in conjunction with the output of the CCAI, to a surrounding/subsequent system in order to take a final decision” [0292]).
Regarding Claim 27, Kong, Milligan, Saqlain, Shim, and Backstrom teach the system of Claim 25, wherein the first output and the second output are combined to provide the output (Backstrom: “The control action that depends on the cross-check data may be or may comprise combining the data analysis output with the cross-check data to generate a consolidated data analysis result.” [0018]).
Regarding Claim 28, Kong, Milligan, Saqlain, Shim, and Backstrom teach the system of Claim 25, herein the first AI model and the second AI model comprise at least one of a different architecture or a different parameter (Backstrom: “The first and second AI models 24, 25 may have different AI model configurations. For illustration, the first AI models 24 may be an artificial neural network (ANN), in particular a convolutional neural network (CNN). The second AI models 25 may include K-means clustering or ANNs, optionally in combination with principal component analysis (PCA) and/or histogram analysis.” [0245]).
Regarding Claim 32, Kong, Milligan, Saqlain, and Shim teach the method of Claim 31. However, they fail to expressly disclose wherein the model comprises a first artificial intelligence (AI) model and a second AI model, wherein the method further comprises: analyzing the first heatmap with the first AI model to generate a first output; and analyzing the second heatmap with the second AI model to generate a second output, wherein the output comprises the first output and the second output.
In the same field of endeavor, Backstrom teaches wherein the model comprises a first artificial intelligence (AI) model and a second AI model, wherein the method further comprises: analyzing the first heatmap with the first AI model to generate a first output; and analyzing the second heatmap with the second AI model to generate a second output, wherein the output comprises the first output and the second output (Backstrom: “The cross-check module 64 may use a second AI model that may be trained to perform the same classification task as the first AI model (using, however, a larger number of inputs, namely at least the explainability signature and the data analysis output in addition to the input data)” [0290], see [Fig. 13 and 14]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated wherein the model comprises a first artificial intelligence (AI) model and a second AI model, wherein the method further comprises: analyzing the first heatmap with the first AI model to generate a first output; and analyzing the second heatmap with the second AI model to generate a second output, wherein the output comprises the first output and the second output as taught by Backstrom to the system of Kong, Milligan, Saqlain, and Shim because they all relate to image processing through the handling of heatmap data. In making this combination, it allows the system of Kong, Milligan, Saqlain, and Shim to limit incorrect analyses by cross-checking its classification “to determine whether the data analysis result is considered to be reliable, whether the data analysis result is to be flagged, whether the data analysis result may be used as training data for machine learning, ML, and/or whether the data analysis result indicates the suitability of a data analysis model used in the data analysis (e.g., another AI model) to perform the task for which it is being intended.” (Backstrom: [0006]).
Regarding Claim 33, Kong, Milligan, Saqlain, Shim, and Backstrom teach the method of Claim 32, further comprising combining the first output and the second output to provide the output (Backstrom: “The control action that depends on the cross-check data may be or may comprise combining the data analysis output with the cross-check data to generate a consolidated data analysis result.” [0018]).
Regarding Claim 34, Kong, Milligan, Saqlain, Shim, and Backstrom teach the method of Claim 32, further comprising: training the first AI model with a first training data set; and training the second AI model with a second training data set, wherein the second training data set is different from the first training data set (Backstrom: “By implementing a distributed architecture in which several distinct processing devices or systems perform AI model training using their local labeled datasets (or even unlabeled datasets), distributed AI model training may be performed while ensuring data privacy.” [0215]).
Regarding Claim 35, Kong, Milligan, Saqlain, Shim, and Backstrom teach the method of Claim 32, further comprising: training an AI model with a training data set; and replicating the AI model to provide the first Al model and the second AI model (Backstrom: “The second AI model may be trained to perform the same classification task as the first AI model” [0009]).
Response to Arguments
The Examiner acknowledges the Applicant’s amendments to Claims 1, 9, 21, and 31.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 04/27/2026, regarding the rejection of Claims 1, 2, 5-17, 20, 21, 24-28, and 31-35 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered and found moot in view of the new grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103 (see rejection above).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Koutroulis et al. (“Enhanced Active Learning of Convolutional Neural Networks: A Case Study for Defect Classification in the Semiconductor Industry”) discusses generating a reduced and more representative subset of wafer images for manual labeling to train a CNN model to classify defects in semiconductor wafers.
/M.E.H./Examiner, Art Unit 2143
/JENNIFER N WELCH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2143