DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-34 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The applicant argued that Dai, Khan and Park do not discloses each and every feature recited in amendment claim 1. However, the argument laid out the case against Dai in detail, without specific arguments against Khan and Dai.
Khan teaches the amended limitations as follows:
Khan teaches
receive, via the at least one transceiver, an explicit indication of a configurable gap within the narrowband downlink communication, ([0069] Additional or alternative embodiments include mitigating switching problems by initiating a transmission gap during the transition period. In non-terrestrial networks (NTNs), the duration of a switch may be much larger than that in the terrestrial case. This may interrupt an ongoing transmission, which may cause potential packet failure and/or unnecessary retransmissions. In one embodiment, new downlink control information (DCI) formats enable a configurable transmission gap during uplink or downlink data transmission.)
wherein the explicit indication indicates one or more parameters of the configurable gap, ([0069] The periodicity and duration of the proposed transmission gap can be aligned with the occurrence and duration of the transition.)
wherein the one or more parameters of the configurable gap are different than one or more parameters of a fixed transmission gap associated with a terrestrial network; ([0069] In non-terrestrial networks (NTNs), the duration of a switch may be much larger than that in the terrestrial case.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 10-11, 13-17, 19, 21-23, 25-30, 32-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khan; Talha et al. US 20210399797 A1, further in view of PARK; Kyujin et al. US PGPUB 20170230961 A1.
Regarding claim 1. Khan teaches A wireless node, comprising: at least one transceiver, one or more memories comprising instructions; and one or more processors, (Fig. 5) configured execute the instructions to cause the wireless node to:
determine that a narrowband downlink communication ([0303] the WD may be a UE implementing the 3GPP narrow band internet of things (NB-IoT) standard) is to be transmitted to the wireless node, ([0084] At block 910, processor 503 determines that communication between a wireless device and a network node will experience a communication interrupting transition. The communication interrupting transition may be during a transition period in which the non-terrestrial communication path between the wireless device and the network node will be interrupted. In some embodiments, the wireless device receives an indication that the network node has activated access barring with respect to the wireless device in anticipation of the communication interrupting transition. In some examples, the access barring may be based on a class of the wireless device. In additional or alternative examples, the access baring may be cell barring and be based on cell of the satellite communicating with the wireless device.
receive, via the at least one transceiver, an explicit indication ([0084] . In some embodiments, the wireless device receives an indication that the network node has activated access barring with respect to the wireless device in anticipation of the communication interrupting transition) of a configurable gap within the narrowband downlink communication, ([0069] Additional or alternative embodiments include mitigating switching problems by initiating a transmission gap during the transition period. In non-terrestrial networks (NTNs), the duration of a switch may be much larger than that in the terrestrial case. This may interrupt an ongoing transmission, which may cause potential packet failure and/or unnecessary retransmissions. In one embodiment, new downlink control information (DCI) formats enable a configurable transmission gap during uplink or downlink data transmission.) wherein the explicit indication indicates one or more parameters of the configurable gap, ( [0069] The periodicity and duration of the proposed transmission gap can be aligned with the occurrence and duration of the transition.)
wherein the configurable gap is configured to interrupt or postpone a portion of the narrowband downlink communication; ([0069] If such a transmission gap is configured, in some embodiments, the receiver behavior may consider the received signals following the transition as a resumption of the previous transmission (unless indicated not to do so, e.g., via new data indicator (NDI) field). For example, a UE may combine the physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) repetitions received before and after the transmission gap.)
wherein the one or more parameters of the configurable gap are different than one or more parameters of a fixed transmission gap associated with a terrestrial network; ([0069] In non-terrestrial networks (NTNs), the duration of a switch may be much larger than that in the terrestrial case.)
determine the configurable gap, based on the explicit indication, ([0091] The message may include downlink control information. At block 1128, processor 503 configures a transmission gap during uplink and/or downlink data transmission. In some examples, processor 503 may configure a periodic transmission gap based on a periodic transition period.)
receive, from a satellite of a non-terrestrial network, via the at least one transceiver, the narrowband downlink communication based at least in part on the determination. ([0070] With the proposed transmission/reception gap, the transmitter temporarily halts its transmission to resume it after the transition. Similarly, the receiver aware of the transmission gap will know when to receive and combine repetitions after the switch.)
Khan does no teach
wherein the portion comprises a plurality of subframes or slots;
However, Park teaches
wherein the portion comprises a plurality of subframes or slots; ([0088] Referring to FIG. 2, the NB-IoT UE 200 receives a downlink control channel (NPDCCH) including downlink control information from the base station 209 in 5210. The NPDCCH may be repeatedly received in one or more sub-frames or slots.)
In order to improve the coverage of the NB-IoT UE ([0116])
Khan and Park are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Khan with the technique of repeated NPDCCH transmission over multiple slots in order to improve the coverage of NB-IoT UEs.
Regarding claim 2. Khan and Park teach The wireless node of claim 1, and Khan teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the wireless node to: receive, from the satellite via the at least one transceiver, one or more of an indication of a dynamic configuration and activation of the configurable gap, or an indication of a dynamic configuration of a time duration of the configurable gap is dynamically configured for the configurable gap. ([0069] In one embodiment, new downlink control information (DCI) formats enable a configurable transmission gap during uplink or downlink data transmission. The periodicity and duration of the proposed transmission gap can be aligned with the occurrence and duration of the transition.)
Regarding claim 4. Khan and Park teach The wireless node of claim 1, and Khan teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the wireless node to
receive, via the at least one transceiver, an indication that the narrowband downlink communication is to be transmitted to the UE; ([0070] In another embodiment, the transmission gap may be indicated by repurposing existing DCI fields. Using RRC signaling, the network may communicate to the UE how to interpret new/repurposed DCI fields to set a transmission gap configuration.) and
the one or more processors, to cause the wireless node to determine that the narrowband downlink communication is to be transmitted to the wireless node based on the indication ([0070] As an example, bandwidth limited/coverage extended (BL/CE) UEs may require several repetitions to successfully complete uplink or downlink data transmission. If a satellite gateway switch interrupts such a transmission, it may result in a packet failure. This, in turn, may trigger unnecessary retransmissions. With the proposed transmission/reception gap, the transmitter temporarily halts its transmission to resume it after the transition. Similarly, the receiver aware of the transmission gap will know when to receive and combine repetitions after the switch.),
wherein the one or more processors, to cause the wireless node to: receive the narrowband downlink communication, are configured to cause the wireless node to obtain the narrowband downlink communication based on the indication. ([0070] With the proposed transmission/reception gap, the transmitter temporarily halts its transmission to resume it after the transition. Similarly, the receiver aware of the transmission gap will know when to receive and combine repetitions after the switch)
Regarding claim 5. and Khan and Park teach The wireless node of claim 1, and Khan teaches wherein the one or more parameters of the configurable gap comprises: one or more starting locations of the configurable gap, one or more ending locations of the configurable gap, or one or more time durations of the configurable gap. and wherein the one or more processors, to cause the wireless node to obtain the narrowband downlink communication, are configured to cause the wireless node to obtain the narrowband downlink communication further based on the explicit indication. ([0069] In one embodiment, new downlink control information (DCI) formats enable a configurable transmission gap during uplink or downlink data transmission. The periodicity and duration of the proposed transmission gap can be aligned with the occurrence and duration of the transition. )
Regarding claim 10. Khan and Park teach The wireless node of claim 1, and Khan teaches wherein the one or more processors, to receive the narrowband downlink communication, are configured to: receive a first portion of the downlink communication prior to the configurable gap; refrain from receiving the narrowband downlink communication during the configurable gap; and receive a second portion of the downlink communication after the configurable gap. ([0069] If such a transmission gap is configured, in some embodiments, the receiver behavior may consider the received signals following the transition as a resumption of the previous transmission (unless indicated not to do so, e.g., via new data indicator (NDI) field). For example, a UE may combine the physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) repetitions received before and after the transmission gap.)
Regarding claim 11. Khan and Park teach The wireless node of claim 1, Khan teaches
wherein the configurable gap includes an amount of time or a set of one or more time-domain resources in which the wireless node is to refrain from receiving the downlink communication. ([0070] With the proposed transmission/reception gap, the transmitter temporarily halts its transmission to resume it after the transition. Similarly, the receiver aware of the transmission gap will know when to receive and combine repetitions after the switch.)
Regarding claim 13. Khan teaches A wireless node, comprising: at least one transceiver; one or more memories comprising instructions; (Fig. 5) and one or more processors configured to execute the instructions to cause the wireless node to:
receive, via the at least one transceiver, an explicit indication ([0084] . In some embodiments, the wireless device receives an indication that the network node has activated access barring with respect to the wireless device in anticipation of the communication interrupting transition) of a configurable gap ([0069] Additional or alternative embodiments include mitigating switching problems by initiating a transmission gap during the transition period. In non-terrestrial networks (NTNs), the duration of a switch may be much larger than that in the terrestrial case. This may interrupt an ongoing transmission, which may cause potential packet failure and/or unnecessary retransmissions. In one embodiment, new downlink control information (DCI) formats enable a configurable transmission gap during uplink or downlink data transmission.) wherein the explicit indication indicates one or more parameters of the configurable gap, ( [0069] The periodicity and duration of the proposed transmission gap can be aligned with the occurrence and duration of the transition.) within a narrowband uplink communication, ([0303] the WD may be a UE implementing the 3GPP narrow band internet of things (NB-IoT) standard)
wherein the explicit indication indicates one or more parameters of the configurable gap, ([0069] In non-terrestrial networks (NTNs), the duration of a switch may be much larger than that in the terrestrial case.)
wherein the one or more parameters of the configurable gap are different than one or more parameters of a fixed transmission gap associated with a terrestrial network; ([0069] In non-terrestrial networks (NTNs), the duration of a switch may be much larger than that in the terrestrial case.)
determine that the narrowband uplink communication is to be transmitted, (([0084] At block 910, processor 503 determines that communication between a wireless device and a network node will experience a communication interrupting transition. The communication interrupting transition may be during a transition period in which the non-terrestrial communication path between the wireless device and the network node will be interrupted.) wherein the narrowband uplink communication comprises the configurable gap, wherein the configurable gap is configured to interrupt or postpone a portion of the narrowband uplink communication, ([0069] In one embodiment, new downlink control information (DCI) formats enable a configurable transmission gap during uplink or downlink data transmission. The periodicity and duration of the proposed transmission gap can be aligned with the occurrence and duration of the transition. )
dynamically configure and activate the configurable gap, based on the explicit indication, for the narrowband uplink communication; and ([0084] In some embodiments, the wireless device receives an indication that the network node has activated access barring with respect to the wireless device in anticipation of the communication interrupting transition.)
transmit, to a satellite of anon-terrestrial network via the at least one transceiver, the narrowband uplink communication based at least in part on the configurable gap. . ([0070] With the proposed transmission/reception gap, the transmitter temporarily halts its transmission to resume it after the transition. Similarly, the receiver aware of the transmission gap will know when to receive and combine repetitions after the switch.)
Khan does not teach
wherein the portion comprises a plurality of subframes or slots within the narrowband uplink communication;
However, Park teaches
wherein the portion comprises a plurality of subframes or slots; ([0088] Referring to FIG. 2, the NB-IoT UE 200 receives a downlink control channel (NPDCCH) including downlink control information from the base station 209 in 5210. The NPDCCH may be repeatedly received in one or more sub-frames or slots.)
In order to improve the coverage of the NB-IoT UE ([0116])
Khan and Park are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Khan with the technique of repeated NPDCCH transmission over multiple slots in order to improve the coverage of NB-IoT UEs.
Regarding claim 14. Khan and Park teach The wireless node of claim 13, and Khan teaches receive from satellite via the at least one transceiver, an indication of a dynamic configuration of a time duration and activation of the configuration gap, or an indication of a dynamic configuration of a time duration of the configuration gap. ([0069] In one embodiment, new downlink control information (DCI) formats enable a configurable transmission gap during uplink or downlink data transmission. The periodicity and duration of the proposed transmission gap can be aligned with the occurrence and duration of the transition.)
Regarding claim 15. Khan and Park teach The wireless node of claim 13, and Khan teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the wireless node to
receive, from a satellite via the at least one transceiver, an indication of at least one of a time-domain location of the configurable gap relative to a transmission time of the narrowband uplink communication or a time duration of the configurable gap is configured for the configurable gap. ([0069] In non-terrestrial networks (NTNs), the duration of a switch may be much larger than that in the terrestrial case.)
Regarding claim 16. Khan and Park teach The wireless node of claim 13, and Khan teaches
to receive, via the at least one receiver, an indication that the narrowband uplink communication is to be transmitted by the wireless node with the configurable gap; ([0115] Embodiment 9: The method of any of Embodiments 1-8, further including receiving downlink control information from the network node in the communications network. Adjusting a PHY layer procedure can include configuring a transmission gap during uplink and/or downlink data transmission, the transmission gap being greater than or equal to the transition period.) and
the one or more processors, to cause the wireless node to determine that the narrowband uplink communication is to be transmitted by the wireless node, are configured to cause the wireless node: determine that the narrowband uplink communication is to be transmitted to the wireless node with the configurable gap based at least in part on the indication. ([0069] In one embodiment, new downlink control information (DCI) formats enable a configurable transmission gap during uplink or downlink data transmission)
Regarding claim 17. Khan and Park teach The wireless node of claim 13, Khan teaches wherein the one or more parameters of the configuration comprises: one or more starting locations of the configurable gap, one or more ending locations of the configurable gap, or one or more time durations of the configurable gap. (([0069] In one embodiment, new downlink control information (DCI) formats enable a configurable transmission gap during uplink or downlink data transmission. The periodicity and duration of the proposed transmission gap can be aligned with the occurrence and duration of the transition.)
Regarding claim 19. Khan and Park teaches The wireless node of claim 13, and Park teaches
the plurality of subframes or slots are based at least in part on at least one of: a quantity of slots aggregated for the narrowband uplink communication, a quantity of repetitions of the narrowband uplink communication, or a quantity of subframes of the narrowband uplink communication. . ([0088] Referring to FIG. 2, the NB-IoT UE 200 receives a downlink control channel (NPDCCH) including downlink control information from the base station 209 in 5210. The NPDCCH may be repeatedly received in one or more sub-frames or slots. Accordingly, the NB-IoT UE 200 may obtain the coverage expansion effect. The NPDCCH transmits downlink control information for the UE.
[0093] In this case, the NB-IoT UE may receive the downlink data and then perform feedback of the HARQ ACK/NACK through a subcarrier allocated in the uplink sub-frame after a predetermined number of sub-frames.)
Regarding claim 21. Khan and Park teach The wireless node of claim 13, and Khan teaches the configurable gap is determined further based on a timing misalignment between an uplink timeline associated with the wireless node and a downlink timeline associated with the wireless node. ([0048] To compensate for Doppler frequency offsets and propagation delay offsets based on the distance of a UE from a BS and the speed at which the BS may be moving, a UE may insert a UL gap or DL gap between UL or DL transmissions. During the gap, the timing and/or frequency re-synchronization may occur between the UE and the BS. The UL and/or DL gap may be called a compensation gap.)
Regarding claim 22. Khan and Park teach The wireless node of claim 13, and Khan teaches wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the narrowband uplink communication, are configured to cause the wireless node to:
transmit a first portion of the narrowband uplink communication prior to the configurable gap; refrain from transmitting the narrowband uplink communication during the configurable gap; and transmit a second portion of the narrowband uplink communication after the configurable gap. ([0069] In one embodiment, new downlink control information (DCI) formats enable a configurable transmission gap during uplink or downlink data transmission).
Regarding claim 23. Khan and Park teach The wireless node of claim 13, and Khan teaches wherein the configurable gap includes an amount of time or a set of one or more time-domain resources in which the wireless node is to refrain from transmitting, via the transceiver, the narrowband uplink communication. (In one embodiment, new downlink control information (DCI) formats enable a configurable transmission gap during uplink or downlink data transmission. The periodicity and duration of the proposed transmission gap can be aligned with the occurrence and duration of the transition.)
Regarding claim 25. Khan and Park teach The wireless node of claim 13, and Khan teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the wireless node to: monitor for downlink transmissions during the configurable gap. ([0069] If such a transmission gap is configured, in some embodiments, the receiver behavior may consider the received signals following the transition as a resumption of the previous transmission (unless indicated not to do so, e.g., via new data indicator (NDI) field). For example, a UE may combine the physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) repetitions received before and after the transmission gap.)
Regarding claim 26-28, Khan and Park teach a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising the steps performed in claims 1-2 and 4 above. They are rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 29-30, Khan and Park teach a method of wireless communication performed by wireless node, comprising the steps performed in claim 13-15 above. They are rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 32, Khan and Park teach The method of claim 29, Khan teaches
receiving, from the satellite, one or more of an indication of a dynamic configuration wherein the configurable gap is dynamically configured and activated for the narrowband downlink communication, or an indication of a dynamic configuration of a time duration of the configurable gap. ([0069] In one embodiment, new downlink control information (DCI) formats enable a configurable transmission gap during uplink or downlink data transmission. The periodicity and duration of the proposed transmission gap can be aligned with the occurrence and duration of the transition.)
Regarding claim 33. Khan and Park teach The wireless node of claim 1, Khan teaches wherein the one or more processors, to receive the explicit indication, are configured to cause the wireless node to:receive the explicit indication via a medium access control control element (MAC-CE), a downlink control information (DCI) communication, or a radio resource control (RRC) communication. ([0069] In one embodiment, new downlink control information (DCI) formats enable a configurable transmission gap during uplink or downlink data transmission.)
Regarding claim 34. Khan and Park teach The wireless node of claim 13, Khan teaches wherein the one or more processors, to receive the explicit indication, are configured to cause the wireless node to: receive the explicit indication via a medium access control control element (MAC-CE), a downlink control information (DCI) communication, or a radio resource control (RRC) communication. . ([0069] In one embodiment, new downlink control information (DCI) formats enable a configurable transmission gap during uplink or downlink data transmission.)
Claims 3, 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khan and Park as applied to claims 1 and 13 above, and further in view of DAI; Jianqiang et al. US PGPUB 20230140371 A1. (hereinafter DAI-2023).
Regarding claim 3. Khan and Park and Park teach The wireless node of claim 1, but it does not teach wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the wireless node to: receive, from a satellite via the at least one transceiver, an indication at least one of a time-domain location of the configurable gap relative to a transmission time of the downlink communication or a time duration of the configurable gap.
However, DAI-2023 teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the wireless node to: receive, from a satellite via the at least one transceiver, an indication at least one of a time-domain location of the configurable gap relative to a transmission time of the downlink communication or a time duration of the configurable gap. (claim 10… configuring, by the wireless communication node, a plurality of extended uplink gaps or a plurality of extended downlink gaps in time-domain.)
In order to improve system efficiency and reduce power consumption. ([0047])
Khan and DAI-2023 are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the wireless node in Khan with the technique of time-domain location configuration in DAI-2023 in order to improve system efficiency and reduce power consumption.
Regarding claim 7. Khan and Park teach The wireless node of claim 1, but it does not teach the plurality of subframes or slots are based at least in part on at least one of: a quantity of slots aggregated for the downlink communication, a quantity of repetitions of the downlink communication, or a quantity of subframes of the downlink communication.
However, DAI-2023 teaches
the plurality of subframes or slots are based at least in part on at least one of: a quantity of slots aggregated for the downlink communication, a quantity of repetitions of the downlink communication, or a quantity of subframes of the downlink communication. ([0035] a single frequency band may be employed for UL and DL information, but the transmissions are scheduled to occur during different time slots. )
In order to improve system efficiency and reduce power consumption. ([0047])
Khan and DAI-2023 are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the wireless node in Khan with the technique of time-domain location configuration in DAI-2023 in order to improve system efficiency and reduce power consumption.
Regarding claim 9. Khan and Park teach The wireless node of claim 1, but they do not teach wherein the configurable gap based at least in part on a timing misalignment between an uplink timeline associated with the UE and a downlink timeline associated with the UE.
However, DAI-2023 teaches wherein the configurable gap based at least in part on a timing misalignment between an uplink timeline associated with the UE and a downlink timeline associated with the UE. ([0048] To compensate for Doppler frequency offsets and propagation delay offsets based on the distance of a UE from a BS and the speed at which the BS may be moving, a UE may insert a UL gap or DL gap between UL or DL transmissions. During the gap, the timing and/or frequency re-synchronization may occur between the UE and the BS. The UL and/or DL gap may be called a compensation gap.)
In order to improve system efficiency and reduce power consumption. ([0047])
Khan and DAI-2023 are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the wireless node in Khan with the technique of time-domain location configuration in DAI-2023 in order to improve system efficiency and reduce power consumption.
Claims 6, 12, 18 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khan and Park as applied to claims 1 and 13 above, and further in view of Seo; Dongyoun et al. US 20160219547 A1.
Regarding claim 6. Khan and Park teach The wireless node of claim 1, but they do not teach wherein the one or more processors, to determine the configurable gap, are configured to: identify one or more time-domain resources in which transmission of an uplink communication is to at least partially overlap with reception of the downlink communication; and determine the one or more time-domain resources as the configurable gap based at least in part on determining that the narrowband uplink communication is to be transmitted over the one or more time-domain resources; and identify at least one of one or more guard-interval time-domain resources, prior to the one or more time-domain resources or after the one or more time-domain resources, as being included in the configurable gap.
However, Seo teaches
wherein the one or more processors, to determine the configurable gap, are configured to: identify one or more time-domain resources in which transmission of an uplink communication is to at least partially overlap with reception of the downlink communication; ([0262] In TDD, since a downlink and an uplink use the same frequency band, a downlink subframe and an uplink subframe may overlap due to TA assignment. To avoid subframe overlapping, a gap as a guard interval may be applied to a portion which changes from the downlink to the uplink.) and determine the one or more time-domain resources as the configurable gap based at least in part on determining that the narrowband uplink communication is to be transmitted over the one or more time-domain resources; (Id.) and identify at least one of one or more guard-interval time-domain resources, prior to the one or more time-domain resources or after the one or more time-domain resources, as being included in the configurable gap. (Id.)
in order to avoid collision between uplink / downlink transmission of UEs ([0213])
Khan and Seo are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the UE in Khan with the technique of gap configuration based on overlapping transmission in Seo in order to avoid collision between uplink / downlink transmission of UEs.
Regarding claim 12. Khan and Park teach The wireless node of claim 1, but they do not teach
Wherein the narrowband downlink communication is received based on the narrow band downlink communication spanning a plurality of subframes or slots; reception of the narrowband downlink communication overlapping at least one of transmission of an uplink communication or one or more guard intervals for the narrowband uplink communication in a subset of the plurality of subframes or slots; and
reception of the narrowband downlink communication is to overlap at least one of the transmission of the narrowband uplink communication or the one or more guard intervals in the subset of the plurality of subframes or slots, or a combination thereof.
However, Seo teaches
Wherein the narrowband downlink communication is received based on the narrow band downlink communication spanning a plurality of subframes or slots; reception of the narrowband downlink communication overlapping at least one of transmission of an uplink communication or one or more guard intervals for the narrowband uplink communication in a subset of the plurality of subframes or slots;. ([0262] In TDD, since a downlink and an uplink use the same frequency band, a downlink subframe and an uplink subframe may overlap due to TA assignment. To avoid subframe overlapping, a gap as a guard interval may be applied to a portion which changes from the downlink to the uplink.)
reception of the narrowband downlink communication is to overlap at least one of the transmission of the narrowband uplink communication or the one or more guard intervals in the subset of the plurality of subframes or slots, or or a combination thereof. (Id.)
in order to avoid collision between uplink / downlink transmission of UEs ([0213])
Khan and Seo are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the UE in Khan with the technique of gap configuration based on overlapping transmission in Seo in order to avoid collision between uplink / downlink transmission of UEs.
Regarding claim 18. Khan and Park teach The wireless node of claim 13, they do not teach wherein the one or more processors, to dynamically configure and activate the configurable gap, are further configured to cause the wireless node to: identify one or more time-domain resources in which reception of a downlink communication is to at least partially overlap with transmission of the narrowband uplink communication; and determine the one or more time-domain resources as the configurable gap based at least in part on determining that the downlink communication is to be transmitted over the one or more time-domain resources; and identify at least one of one or more guard-interval time-domain resources, prior to the one or more time-domain resources or after the one or more time-domain resources, as being included in the configurable gap.
However, Seo teaches
wherein the one or more processors, to dynamically configure and activate the configurable gap, are further configured to: identify one or more time-domain resources in which reception of an downlink communication is to at least partially overlap with transmission of the narrowband uplink communication; ([0262] In TDD, since a downlink and an uplink use the same frequency band, a downlink subframe and an uplink subframe may overlap due to TA assignment. To avoid subframe overlapping, a gap as a guard interval may be applied to a portion which changes from the downlink to the uplink.) and determine the one or more time-domain resources as the configurable gap based at least in part on determining that the downlink communication is to be transmitted over the one or more time-domain resources; (Id.) and identify at least one of one or more guard-interval time-domain resources, prior to the one or more time-domain resources or after the one or more time-domain resources, as being included in the configurable gap. (Id.)
in order to avoid collision between uplink / downlink transmission of UEs ([0213])
Khan and Seo are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the UE in Khan with the technique of gap configuration based on overlapping transmission in Seo in order to avoid collision between uplink / downlink transmission of UEs.
Regarding claim 24. Khan and Park teach The wireless node of claim 13, but they do not teach wherein the narrowband uplink communication is transmitted based on:
the narrowband uplink communication spanning a plurality of subframes or slots;
transmission of the narrowband uplink communication overlapping at least one of reception of a downlink communication or one or more guard intervals for the downlink communication in a subset of the plurality of subframes or slots;
the transmission of the narrowband uplink communication overlapping at least one of the reception of the downlink communication or the one or more guard intervals in the subset of the plurality of subframes or slots, or a combination thereof.
However Seo teaches
wherein the one or more processors, to cause the wireless node to determine that the narrowband uplink communication is to be transmitted by the wireless node with the configurable gap, are configured to: transmit the narrowband uplink communication based on determine that the narrowband uplink communication is to span a plurality of subframes or slots; transmit the narrowband uplink communication based on determine that transmission of the narrowband uplink communication is to overlap at least one of reception of a downlink communication or one or more guard intervals for the downlink communication in a subset of the plurality of subframes or slots; transmit the narrowband uplink communication based on based at least in part on determining that transmission of the narrowband uplink communication is to overlap at least one of the reception of the downlink communication or the one or more guard intervals in the subset of the plurality of subframes or slots, or a combination thereof. ([0262] In TDD, since a downlink and an uplink use the same frequency band, a downlink subframe and an uplink subframe may overlap due to TA assignment. To avoid subframe overlapping, a gap as a guard interval may be applied to a portion which changes from the downlink to the uplink.)
in order to avoid collision between uplink / downlink transmission of UEs ([0213])
Khan and Seo are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the UE in Khan with the technique of gap configuration based on overlapping transmission in Seo in order to avoid collision between uplink / downlink transmission of UEs.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZHAOHUI YANG/ Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468