DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment filed 3/2/2025 and 3/20/2026 has been fully considered.
Claims 1-3, 6-14, and 17-22 are pending and have been examined. Claims 4-5 and 15-16 have been canceled.
Response to Amendment
The amendment does not point to where in the specification is there support for the amendment, nor is there a statement of no new matter introduced (MPEP 2163, Methodology for determining adequacy of written description).
Applicant should submit an argument under the heading “Remarks” pointing out disagreements with the examiner’s contentions. Applicant must also discuss the references applied against the claims, explaining how the claims avoid the references or how the amendment distinguish from them.
Regarding the non-statutory double patenting rejection, Examiner notes, however, that this is not a proper reply. As per MPEP § 804(1)(B)(1) [added in 2015-07], a “complete response to a non-statutory double patenting (NSDP) rejection is either a reply by applicant showing that the claims subject to the rejection are patentably distinct from the reference claims, or the filing of a terminal disclaimer in accordance with 37 CFR 1.321” and that “such a filing should not be held in abeyance”. The Examiner therefore maintains the non-statutory double patenting, as well as notes the requirements for a proper reply for any future response.
Barnes (20190007447) provides for continuous monitoring of devices to detect devices security posture based on a plurality of parameters/attributes/properties.
Muddu (10986106) provides for detecting security events based on device information.
Sharifi (10812521) teaches generating security scores for devices based on plurality of threat vectors.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. There does not appear to be support for “wherein the continuous security monitoring evaluation assesses adequacy of one or more computing entities of the system under test in executing security functions that support continuous security monitoring”.
Double Patenting
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-3, 6-14, and 17-22 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-22 of copending Application No. 17/301,356. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the functional limitations merely swap the name of a type of data the method uses.
Claims 1-3, 6-14, and 17-22 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-30 of US Patent 11,892,924 (Application No. 17/247,701). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the functional limitations merely swap the name of a type of data the method uses.
Claims 1-3, 6-14, and 17-22 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6, 8-21, 23-30 of copending Application No. 17/247,705. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the functional limitations merely swap the name of a type of data the method uses.
Claims 1-3, 6-14, and 17-22 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-36 of copending Application No. 17/247,714. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the functional limitations merely swap the name of a type of data the method uses.
Claims 1-3, 6-14, and 17-22 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-30 of copending Application No. 17/128,471. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the functional limitations merely swap the name of a type of data the method uses.
Claims 1-3, 6-14, and 17-22 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-30 of copending Application No. 17/247,710. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the functional limitations merely swap the name of a type of data the method uses.
Claims 1-3, 6-14, and 17-22 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-30 of copending Application No. 17/247,706. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the functional limitations merely swap the name of a type of data the method uses.
Claims 1-3, 6-14, and 17-22 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-22 of copending Application No. 17/301,352. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the functional limitations merely swap the name of a type of data the method uses.
Claims 1-3, 6-14, and 17-22 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-22 of copending Application No. 17/219,561. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the functional limitations merely swap the name of a type of data the method uses.
Claims 1-3, 6-14, and 17-22 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-25 of copending Application No. 17/301,361. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the functional limitations merely swap the name of a type of data the method uses.
Claims 1-3, 6-14, and 17-22 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 17/930,921. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the functional limitations merely swap the name of a type of data the method uses.
Claims 1-3, 6-14, and 17-22 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-22 of copending Application No. 17/451,287. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the functional limitations merely swap the name of a type of data the method uses.
Claims 1-3, 6-14, and 17-22 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-24 of copending Application No. 17/447,356. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the functional limitations merely swap the name of a type of data the method uses.
Claims 1-3, 6-14, and 17-22 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-32 of copending Application No. 17/219,655. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the functional limitations merely swap the name of a type of data the method uses.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-14, and 17-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie (20180324219), and further in view of Kinder (20180152480) and O’Reilly (10171510).
Regarding claims 1 and 12, Xie teaches
A method comprises: / A computer readable memory comprises: a first memory section for storing operational instructions that, when executed by an analysis system, cause the analysis system to (abstract, par.112-116):
determining, by an analysis system, a system aspect of a system under test for a security monitoring evaluation,
wherein the system aspect includes at least one system element of the system under test, at least one system criteria of the system under test (par.7-9, 53-56, 74-79);
and wherein the security monitoring evaluation assesses adequacy of one or more computing entities of the system under test in executing security functions that support security monitoring (par.43-46, 52-56)
determining, by the analysis system, an operational evaluation perspective for use in performing the security monitoring evaluation on the system aspect (par.33-36, 72-73);
obtaining, by the analysis system, security monitoring data from the system aspect (par.56-60); and
calculating, by the analysis system, a security monitoring rating as a measure of security monitoring maturity for the system aspect based on the discovered security monitoring data, the disclosed security monitoring data, the desired security monitoring data, and at least one evaluation rating metric (par.33-36, 43-44, 51-54, 62-65).
Xie teaches the daemons running on the background on the different nodes/devices and determining security posture of devices/network segments (par.88-102), and determining continuous usage (par.74-76), but does not expressly disclose, however
Kinder teaches
continuous security monitoring, presentation of continuous security data, and generation of continuous security indicators (par. 6-10, 40-50),
O’Reilly teaches
determining, by the analysis system, discovered continuous security monitoring data based on the continuous security monitoring data and the operational evaluation perspective (col.6, 40-67, col.7, 1-15);
determining, by the analysis system, disclosed continuous security monitoring data based on the continuous security monitoring data and the operational evaluation perspective (col.7, 5-45, col.9, 1-55);
retrieving, by the analysis system, data from a system proficiency resource in accordance with the operational evaluation perspective to generate desired continuous security monitoring data (col.9, 30-55, col.10, 25-67, col.12, 25-67); and
calculating, by the analysis system, a continuous security monitoring rating as a measure of continuous security monitoring maturity for the system aspect based on the discovered continuous security monitoring data, the disclosed continuous security monitoring data, the desired continuous security monitoring data, and at least one evaluation rating metric (col. 12, 25-67, col.13, 45-67, col. 14, 1-35).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xie to continuously monitor and provide updates as taught by Kinder and to further use outside resources as taught by O’Reilly.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform such a modification to present a more up to date security posture for a system/network (Kinder, par.4-11) and to provide guidance for improving security (O’Reilly, col.1-2, 17-18).
Regarding claims 2 and 13, Xie/Kinder/O’Reilly teaches receiving, by the analysis system, an input, wherein the input identifies at least one of: the system aspect; and the operational evaluation perspective (Xie, par.34-38, 44-48, 66-72).
Regarding claims 3 and 14, Xie/Kinder/O’Reilly teaches a system element of the at least one system element includes an enterprise identifier, an organization identifier, a division identifier, a department identifier, a group identifier, a sub-group identifier, a device identifier, a software identifier, or an internet protocol address identifier; a system criteria of the at least one system criteria being system guidelines, system requirements, system design, system build, or resulting system (Xie, par.7-8, 34-39, 49-51, Kinder, par.45-50).
Regarding claims 6 and 17, Xie/Kinder/O’Reilly teaches an evaluation rating metric of the at least one evaluation rating metric being a process rating metric, a policy rating metric, a procedure rating metric, a certification rating, a documentation rating metric, or an automation rating metric (Xie, par. 6-7, 38-43, 64-66, 74-76, Kinder, par. 9-12, 41-46, 57-60).
Regarding claims 7 and 18, Xie/Kinder/O’Reilly teaches wherein the obtaining the continuous security monitoring data comprises: determining data gathering parameters regarding the system aspect in accordance with the operational evaluation perspective and the at least one evaluation rating metric; identifying the at least one system element of the system aspect based on the data gathering parameters; obtaining continuous security monitoring information from the at least one system element in accordance with the data gathering parameters; and recording the continuous security monitoring information from the at least one system element to produce the continuous security monitoring data (Xie, par. 55-59, 74-79, Kinder, par. 41-46).
Regarding claims 8 and 19, Xie/Kinder/O’Reilly teaches wherein the data gathering parameters is regarding at least one of: network monitoring implementation related to the system aspect (Xie, par.4-7, 43-48, Kinder, par. 41-46);
physical environment monitoring implementation related to the system aspect (Xie, par.4-7);
personnel activity monitoring implementation related to the system aspect; malicious code detection implementation related to the system aspect (Xie, par.47-51);
unauthorized mobile code detection implementation related to the system aspect (Xie, par.47-51);
external service provider activity monitoring implementation related to the system aspect; unauthorized personnel monitoring implementation related to the system aspect; unauthorized connection monitoring implementation related to the system aspect (Xie, par.52-56);
unauthorized device monitoring implementation related to the system aspect (Xie, par.54-55);
unauthorized software monitoring implementation related to the system aspect (Kinder, par.41-50); and
vulnerability scanning implementation related to the system aspect (Xie, par. 72-74).
Regarding claims 9 and 20, Xie/Kinder/O’Reilly teaches
wherein the calculating the continuous security monitoring rating comprises:
selecting and performing at least two of:
based on the continuous security monitoring data and process analysis parameters, generating a process rating for the system aspect in accordance with the operational evaluation perspective, the at least one evaluation rating metric;
based on the continuous security monitoring data and policy analysis parameters, generating a policy rating for the system aspect in accordance with the operational evaluation perspective and the at least one evaluation rating metric;
based on the continuous security monitoring data and documentation analysis parameters, generating a documentation rating for the system aspect in accordance with the operational evaluation perspective and the at least one evaluation rating metric;
based on the continuous security monitoring data and automation analysis parameters, generating an automation rating for the system aspect in accordance with the operational evaluation perspective and the at least one evaluation rating metric;
based on the continuous security monitoring data and procedure analysis parameters, generating a procedure rating for the system aspect in accordance with the operational evaluation perspective and the at least one evaluation rating metric; and
based on the continuous security monitoring data and certification analysis parameters, generating a certification rating for the system aspect in accordance with the operational evaluation perspective and the at least one evaluation rating metric; and
generating the continuous security monitoring rating based on the selected and performed at least two of: the process rating, the policy rating, the documentation rating, the automation rating, the procedure rating, and the certification rating (Xie, par. 6-7, 38-43, 64-66, 74-76, Kinder, par. 9-12, 41-46, 57-60, O’Reilly, col.12-14).
Regarding claims 10 and 21, Xie/Kinder/O’Reilly teaches at least one of: determining, by the analysis system, a system criteria deficiency of the system aspect based on the continuous security monitoring rating and the continuous security monitoring data; determining, by the analysis system, a system mode deficiency of the system aspect based on the continuous security monitoring rating and the continuous security monitoring data; determining, by the analysis system, an evaluation perspective deficiency of the system aspect based on the continuous security monitoring rating and the continuous security monitoring data; and determining, by the analysis system, an evaluation viewpoint deficiency of the system aspect based on the continuous security monitoring rating and the continuous security monitoring data (Xie, par.7-8, 33-36, 52-55, 59-62, Kinder, par.39-43).
Regarding claims 11 and 22, Xie/Kinder/O’Reilly teaches determining, by the analysis system, a deficiency of the system aspect based on the continuous security monitoring rating and the continuous security monitoring data; determining, by the analysis system, whether the deficiency is auto-correctable; and when the deficiency is auto-correctable, auto-correcting, by the analysis system, the deficiency (Kinder, par.5-11, 35-36, 43-51).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: the remaining references put forth on the PTO-892 form are directed to security monitoring os systems/devices; Devi Reddy (20170118240) teaches detection and protection of/from different unauthorized entities, users, devices, etc. Coviello (20160035198) teaches user access to secure areas. Shostack (6298445) teaches an integrated computer security system based on multiple security aspects.
/David Garcia Cervetti/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409