DETAILED ACTION
Applicant's submission filed on 17 June 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending.
Applicant’s amendments remove the new matter rejected in the previous office action. However, the current amendments have resulted in new 112 rejections.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 17 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Page 2-3, Applicant argues that the art of record Ramming does not disclose the amended claims “a single upper channel [and] a plurality of lower primary sub-channels in fluid communication with said single upper channel.” Because Ramming shows a bundle of lower tubes (18) in fluid communication with an equal or greater number of upper tubes (21).
Applicant has overlooked that in Ramming the claimed relationship exists between the single upper channel (fig 1b, inlet/outlet connection 33, par 0036 or the collector 14, par 0032) and a plurality of lower primary sub-channels (21 or 18). The rejection has been modified to reflect that the single upper channel is (33 or 14) and the tubes (21 or 18) are now considered the lower primary sub-channels.
The interpretation is in line with applicant’s disclosure. The claimed single upper channel and plurality of lower primary sub-channels is applicant’s “convergent style” of channels (fig 5B). Applicant explicitly discloses that the “converging fractal-shaped configuration” is the connection at the upper suction port (79) to the upper main channels (Applicant’s filed spec, page 23; published application, par 0093). Therefore, it is reasonable to interpret Ramming’s inlet/outlet port (33) and/or collector (14) and channels (21 or 18) as the limitation; and not apply applicant’s interpretation of Ramming using upper tubes (21) as the single upper channel.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 3, and 15 recite the channel structure “maintains a discharge temperature of the working fluid ranging from 15 degrees to 55 degrees C.” Applicant does not disclose this range of operative temperatures in their specification and it constitutes new matter. In contrast to applicant’s claims, the disclosure actually recites “an alternative embodiments (not using the fractal configuration), the temperature of the working fluid, (i.e., CO2) increases, for example, from 15 degrees C to 55 degrees C, as shown in the diagram”. The phrase “increases… from 15 degrees C to 55 degrees C” clearly describes an increase in temperature and not an operative range of temperatures as claimed. Since applicant has not disclosed maintaining a temperature “ranging from 15 degrees to 55 degrees C” as claimed, the range constitutes new matter. Claims 1, 3 and 15 are rejected for new matter. Dependent claims 2, 4-14 and 16-20 are correspondingly rejected as dependent on claims 1, 3, and 15.
Claim 3 recites “one channel having a fractal configuration” and the channel structure “maintains a discharge temperature of the working fluid ranging from 15 degrees to 55 degrees C.” Applicant does not disclose this embodiment in their specification and it constitutes new matter. In contrast to applicant’s claims, the disclosure recites that the configuration which changes 15 degrees to 55 degrees Celsius is “an alternative embodiments (not using the fractal configuration), the temperature of the working fluid, (i.e., CO2) increases, for example, from 15 degrees C to 55 degrees C, as shown in the diagram”. Since applicant has not disclosed a fractal embodiment which achieves the claimed temperatures as claimed, this material constitutes new matter. Claim 3 is rejected for new matter. Dependent claims 4-6 are correspondingly rejected.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1, 3 and 15, claimed “range of 15 degrees to 55 degrees C.” A person of ordinary skill in the art would not be able to determine what aspect of the originally filed disclosed invention achieves the claimed range, because the disclosure describes a temperature increase and it does not describe maintaining that claimed range. Therefore, applicant has not adequately conveyed what applicant regards as the invention. Claims 1, 3 and 15 are rejected as indefinite. Dependent claims 2, 4-14, 16-20 are also rejected as dependent on the claims 1, 3 and 15. For the limited purpose of examination, the limitation will be interpreted as the range 15 degrees to 55 degrees.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13, 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramming (EP 2,273,119, citations to the previously provided NPL machine translation) in view of Xiao (US 2016/0160852).
Ramming fig 1b.
Ramming fig 5
Process claims will be examined under the principles of inherency, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will inherently perform the claimed process. In re King, 801 F.2d 1324, 231 USPQ 136 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Regarding claim 1, Ramming discloses a system for isothermal compression (par 0007), comprising: a heat exchange sub-system (heat transfer surface of tubes, par 0001, 0025-0026),
At least one top header (collector 14, par 0032) and at least one bottom header (manifold 13)
at least one compression unit (fig 1b, working chamber 15, par 0036) incorporated inside said heat exchange sub-system (par 0009), said at least one compression unit (working chamber 15, par 0036) containing a plurality of channel structures (fig 1b, upper and lower tube bundles 16, 17, par 0032-0033), each channel structure having at least one upper edge (end of tubes at collector 14, par 0032), at least one bottom edge (end of tubes at manifold 13, par 0032) and a tubularly contoured channel wall (fig 5, tube wall 30, par 0035) defining an internal lumen (fig 5, lumen is the space which includes inward facing slats 32, par 0035) continually extending between a top side (fig 1b, upper tube bundle 17) and a bottom side (fig 1b, lower tube bundle 16) of said at least one compression unit within said each channel structure (tubes are inherently tubularly contoured, and have an internal passage for fluid flow), wherein said internal lumen of said each channel structure of said plurality thereof contains an incompressible liquid medium (hydraulic fluid for liquid piston, par 0031, 0033) and a working fluid medium (carbon dioxide gas, par 0031, 0033) disposed in contact with said incompressible liquid medium (par 0002, both fluids are in the tubes in working space 15, par 0033; in these systems, the fluid piston directly contacts and compresses the gas in each tube) to define a level of the compressible liquid medium with the working fluid extending between the level and the at least one upper edge of the channel structure (carbon dioxide gas extending in the upper part of the channels, par 0031-0033) and with the incompressible fluid extending between the level and the at least one bottom edge of the channel structure (hydraulic fluid in the lower part of the channels, par 0031-0033), the at least one compression unit being in fluid communication with the at least one top header at the at least one top edge (one of the vertically positioned upper tubes 21, par 0032) (collector 14 at the top 5 of a working space 15 of the upper tube bundle 17, par 0032), the at least one compression unit being in fluid communication with the at least one bottom header at the at least one bottom edge (two of the lower tubes 18, par 0032) (manifold 13 at the bottom 7 of a working space 15 of the lower tube bundle 16, par 0032),
each channel structure including a single upper channel (fig 1b, inlet/outlet 33) at the top side of said at least one compression unit and a plurality of lower primary sub-channels (21 is a plurality of channels; alternately 18 could also be the plurality of channels; whether the single upper channel and lower primary sub-channels are adjacent has not been claimed) at the bottom side of said at least one compression unit in fluid communication with said single upper channel (the inlet/outlet 33 is in communication with the interior of both 21 and 18),
an internal heat transfer enhancing structure disposed within said internal lumen of said each channel structure of said plurality thereof (radially inward facing slats 32, par 0035),
said plurality of channel structures (upper and lower tube bundles 16, 17, par 0032-0033) defining a plurality of compression liquid pistons (liquid piston in the tubes, par 0017; fig 2a-3b a plurality of lower and upper tubes 18, 21, par 0033) incorporated in said at least one compression unit (working chamber 15, par 0036),
a respective compression liquid piston (liquid piston, par 0031, 0033) of said plurality thereof being operatively coupled to said incompressible liquid medium contained in said internal lumen of said each channel structure (liquid piston in the tubes, par 0017) of said plurality of channel structures (operatively couple via distributor 13 and collector 14 control fluids into and out of the upper and lower tube bundles 16, 17, par 0032-0033) to displace a level thereof (liquid piston lifts and lowers, par 0016, between a top and bottom dead center, par 0003-0004) within said internal lumen of said each channel structure disposed within said at least one compression unit (tubes are within working chamber 15, par 0033, 0036) to result in compression of said working fluid medium (carbon dioxide gas, par 0033) within said internal lumen of said each channel structure of said plurality thereof to a predetermined pressure value (high pressure reached by gas, par 0002, 0035), wherein said compression of said working fluid medium (carbon dioxide gas, par 0033) generates heat (heat of compression, par 0009),
at least one discharge port (inlet/outlet port 33 via collector 14, par 0036) formed in the at least one top header (inlet /outlet pipe 33 connected to collector 14, par 0036) and disposed in a fluid contact (fluid passes through 33, par 0036) with said internal lumen of said each channel structure (port 33 connects to tubes via collector 14, par 0036) of said plurality thereof and actuated to discharge (gas discharges via inlet/outlet connection 33, par 0036) said working fluid medium (carbon dioxide gas, par 0033) from said internal lumen of said each channel structure (connection via collector 14, par 0036) of said at least one compression unit (working chamber 15, par 0036) when said predetermined pressure value (high pressure reached by gas, par 0002) within said each channel structure has been attained (the apparatus accomplishes isothermal compression, par 0015, 0016, isothermal compression is interpreted as defining the discharge temperature, see the 112 interpretation above),
at least one suction port (inlet/outlet port 33, par 0036) disposed in a fluid contact (fluid passes through 33, par 0036) with said internal lumen of said each channel structure (connection via collector 14, par 0036) and actuated to enter (gas enters via inlet/outlet connection 33, par 0036) said working fluid medium (carbon dioxide gas, par 0033) in said internal lumen of said each channel structure in said at least one compression unit (working chamber 15, par 0036),
wherein said heat exchange sub-system (par 0009) contains a cooling medium (refrigerant/coolant, par 0007-0010, 0015-0018; inherently all materials have a temperature) circulating in a thermal coupling (coolant flows and cools in the working chamber on exterior of tubes, par 0008, coolant alternately on interior of tubes, par 0023) with at least one said compression unit (working chamber 15, par 0036) and in a direct contact with an external surface of said tubularly contoured channel wall (coolant on exterior of tubes, par 0008, alternately coolant on interior of tubes, par 0023, 0042) of said each channel structure of said plurality thereof to absorb the heat generated as the result of the compression in said internal lumen of said each channel structure of said plurality thereof (par 0008-0009, 0042), and thus cooling the working fluid medium (carbon dioxide gas, par 0033) in said at least one compression unit (working chamber 15, par 0036) to attain an isothermal compression (par 0007), and maintain a discharge temperature of the working fluid (inherently the working fluid temperature approaches the coolant temperature during any heat exchange process; the reduction in the temperature difference meets the plain meaning of “is close”) and
a controller sub-system (control mechanism for liquid piston and gas flow, par 0016, 0038), operatively coupled to said plurality of compression liquid pistons to control said level of said incompressible liquid medium (control lifting and lowering of the liquid piston, par 0016) in said at least one compression unit (working chamber 15, par 0036), to said at least one discharge port (33) and said at least one suction port (33) to control discharge and entrance (par 0038) of said working fluid medium (carbon dioxide gas, par 0033) passing from, and to said at least one compression unit (working chamber 15, par 0036), respectively.
Ramming is silent on the discharge maintained at a working fluid ranging from 15 degrees to 55 degrees C.
Nevertheless, Ramming teaches that it operates in an isothermic process (par 0007, 0015) where the temperature of the process is maintained; therefore, the temperature of the discharge would be ideally maintained at the same temperature as the rest of the process.
Xiao teaches an analogous liquid piston compressor (abstract) operating in an isothermal process where the temperature of the gas remains constant (par 0049, 0060, 0061) where the typical temperature range of the process is 40-200 degrees Fahrenheit (equivalent 4.4 C – 93.3 C; converted F to C with formula -32 * 5 / 9).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure Ramming to operate the liquid piston compressor isothermally in the 4.4 C – 93.3 C range taught by Xiao in order to operate on low pressure gasses (Xiao, par 0032) typically seen in the oil production industry (Xiao, par 0005), in order to utilize Ramming as a liquid compressor for low pressure gas in oil fields which increases efficiency in recovering oil (Xiao, par 0010).
Furthermore, the rule is that in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside rages disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976)). In this case, the claimed 15-55 degrees C are within the prior art range of 4.4 – 93.3 degrees C, which is the predictable result of operating isothermally for low pressure gas at temperatures within the range of degrees C as found conventionally in the oil industry. Therefore, indicating a prima facie case of obviousness.
Regarding claim 2, Ramming in view of Xiao teaches the system of Claim 1, wherein said each channel structure (Ramming, tube bundles 16, 17, par 0032-0033)
includes at least one structure selected from a group comprising a single channel, a plurality of channels (plurality of tubes, 17 tubes in three rows par 0032), micro-channels, tubes (tubes, par 0032), and combination thereof, disposed in a predetermined relationship to one another, said predetermined relationship including at least one disposition selected from a group consisting of a parallel disposition (first of three alternatives, fig 1-6 shows tubes in parallel formation relative to each other) of said channel structures (upper and lower tube bundles 16, 17, par 0032-0033), an angled disposition (second of three alternatives; tubes are at an angle relative to the horizontal, par 0040, 0042) of said channel structures (upper and lower tube bundles 16, 17, par 0032-0033), a crossing disposition (branching individual tubes into several tubes, par 0024; alternatively, fig 1b, collector 14 connects all tubes at the upper end by crossing across all of their ends, par 0032-0036; this is similar to the branching shown in applicant's crossing channels 78, in fig 5a-5b) of said channel structures (upper and lower tube bundles 16, 17, par 0032-0033), and combinations thereof.
Ramming is silent on the discharge temperature of the working fluid is maintained below 31 deg C.
Nevertheless, Ramming teaches that it operates in an isothermic process (par 0007, 0015) where the temperature of the process is maintained; therefore, the temperature of the discharge would be ideally maintained at the same temperature as the rest of the process.
Xiao teaches an analogous liquid piston compressor (abstract) operating in an isothermal process where the temperature of the gas remains constant (par 0049, 0060, 0061) where the typical temperature range of the process is 40-200 degrees Fahrenheit (equivalent 4.4 C – 93.3 C; converted F to C with formula -32 * 5 / 9).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure Ramming to operate the liquid piston compressor isothermally in the 4.4 C – 93.3 C range taught by Xiao in order to operate on low pressure gasses (Xiao, par 0032) typically seen in the oil production industry (Xiao, par 0005), in order to utilize Ramming as a liquid compressor for low pressure gas in oil fields which increases efficiency in recovering oil (Xiao, par 0010).
It would be further obvious to modify Ramming in view of Xiao to maintain the discharge temperature below 31 degrees Celsius for the predictable result of operating isothermally for low pressure gas at temperatures between 4.4 C and 31 degrees C as found conventionally in the oil industry.
Regarding claim 3, Ramming discloses a system for isothermal compression (par 0007) , comprising:
a heat exchange sub-system (par 0009),
at least one compression unit (working chamber 15, par 0036) incorporated inside said heat exchange sub-system (par 0009), wherein said at least one compression unit (working chamber 15, par 0036) is configured with at least one channel structure having a fractal configuration (branching of tubes into smaller tubes, par 0024; branching is synonymous with applicant’s fractal structure, See applicant’s fig 5),
that includes a single upper channel (fig 1b, inlet/outlet 33, or collector 14), a plurality of lower primary sub-channels (the vertically positioned upper tubes 21, par 0032 or lower tubes 18) in fluid communication with said single upper channel (the inlet/outlet 33 is connected fluidly to the fluid inside tubes 21 and 18), and plurality of secondary sub-channel (a plurality of lower tubes 18, par 0032; other than the tubes of the main channel), interconnecting said lower primary sub-channels (fig 4a and 4b show the lower tubes 18 aligning and interconnecting with several upper tubes 21),
channel walls defining an internal lumen (tubes have internal passages, which meet the plain meaning of lumen) of said at least one channel structure containing an incompressible liquid medium (hydraulic fluid for liquid piston, par 0031, 0033) that enters through the plurality of lower primary sub-channels (hydraulic fluid for the liquid piston enters from the bottom, par 0031; lower tubes 18, par 0032) and is in contact with a working fluid medium (carbon dioxide gas, par 0033), said internal lumen continually extending between a top side (fig 1b, upper tube bundle 17) and a bottom side (fig 1b, lower tube bundle 16) of said at least one compression unit,
a compression mechanism (compression of gas by hydraulic fluid, par 0007, 0009) operatively coupled to said incompressible liquid medium (hydraulic fluid provides the liquid piston, par 0002) to displace a level thereof (liquid piston lifts and lowers, par 0016, between a top and bottom dead center, par 0003-0004) within said internal lumen to result in compression of said working fluid medium (carbon dioxide gas, par 0033) to a predetermined pressure value (high pressure reached by gas, par 0002), wherein said compression of said working fluid medium (carbon dioxide gas, par 0033) generates heat (par 0009),
at least one discharge port (inlet/outlet port 33, par 0036) disposed in a fluid contact (fluid passes through port 33, par 0036) single upper channel (inlet/outlet 33 or collector 14, par 0032) and actuated to discharge (port 33 as outlet, par 0036) said working fluid medium (carbon dioxide gas, par 0033) from said internal lumen and through said single upper channel (inlet/outlet 33 or collector 14) when said predetermined pressure value (high pressure reached by gas, par 0002) has been attained (the apparatus accomplishes isothermal compression, par 0015, 0016, isothermal compression is interpreted as defining the discharge temperature, see the 112 interpretation above),
at least one suction port (inlet/outlet port 33, par 0036) disposed in a fluid contact (fluid passes through port 33, par 0036) with said single upper channel (inlet/outlet 33 or collector 14) and actuated to enter (port 33 as inlet, par 0036) said working fluid medium (carbon dioxide gas, par 0033) in said internal lumen through said single upper channel,
wherein said heat exchange sub-system (par 0009) contains a cooling medium (refrigerant/coolant, par 0007-0010, 0015-0018) circulating in a thermal coupling (coolant flows and cools in the working chamber on exterior to tubes, par 0008, or alternately on interior of tubes, par 0023) with at least one said compression unit (working chamber 15, par 0036) to absorb the heat generated as the result of the compression (par 0008-0009) and thus cooling the working fluid medium (carbon dioxide gas, par 0033) in said at least one compression unit (working chamber 15, par 0036) to attain an isothermal compression (par 0007) and maintain a discharge temperature of the working fluid,, and
a controller sub-system (control mechanism for controlled flow of liquid, par 0016, control for staggered operation of liquid piston converters 3, par 0038) operatively coupled to said compression mechanism to control said level of said incompressible liquid medium (control lifting and lowering of the liquid piston, par 0016) in said at least one compression unit (working chamber 15, par 0036), to said at least one discharge port (33) and said at least one suction port (33) to control discharge and entrance (par 0038) of said working fluid medium (carbon dioxide gas, par 0033) passing from and to said at least one compression unit (working chamber 15, par 0036), respectively.
Ramming is silent on the discharge maintained at a working fluid ranging from 15 degrees to 55 degrees C.
Nevertheless, Ramming teaches that it operates in an isothermic process (par 0007, 0015) where the temperature of the process is maintained; therefore, the temperature of the discharge would be ideally maintained at the same temperature as the rest of the process.
Xiao teaches an analogous liquid piston compressor (abstract) operating in an isothermal process where the temperature of the gas remains constant (par 0049, 0060, 0061) where the typical temperature range of the process is 40-200 degrees Fahrenheit (equivalent 4.4 C – 93.3 C; converted F to C with formula -32 * 5 / 9).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure Ramming to operate the liquid piston compressor isothermally in the 4.4 C – 93.3 C range taught by Xiao in order to operate on low pressure gasses (Xiao, par 0032) typically seen in the oil production industry (Xiao, par 0005), in order to utilize Ramming as a liquid compressor for low pressure gas in oil fields which increases efficiency in recovering oil (Xiao, par 0010).
Furthermore, the rule is that in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside rages disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976)). In this case, the claimed 15-55 degrees C are within the prior art range of 4.4 – 93.3 degrees C, which is the predictable result of operating isothermally for low pressure gas at temperatures within the range of degrees C as found conventionally in the oil industry. Therefore, indicating a prima facie case of obviousness.
Regarding claim 4, Ramming in view of Xiao teaches the system of Claim 3, wherein said at least one channel structure in said fractal configuration thereof has variable channel dimensions (tube diameters smaller at top than at bottom, par 0013, 0018, 0022, 0025).
Regarding claim 5, Ramming in view of Xiao teaches the system of Claim 3,
wherein said at least one channel structure defines a converging fractal configuration (inlet/outlet 33 or collector 14 converges to a single header; the single passage is a fractal of the multiple channels of upper tubes 21 under a BRI) that includes said plurality of primary sub-channels (upper tubes 21, par 0032) arranged in a multi-tier configuration with lower primary sub-channels (lower tubes 18, par 0032; other than the lower tubes 18 identified as the main lower channel) located at a lower level and converging in upper primary sub-channels located above said lower level primary sub-channels (the tube bundles are connected to allow the liquid piston to travel, par 0021-0024, and 0032), and converging into said single upper channel (14 or 33)
wherein said incompressible liquid medium enters said internal lumen of said at least one channel structure within said at least one compression unit (working chamber 15, par 0036) into said lower primary sub-channels, and wherein said working fluid medium (carbon dioxide gas, par 0033) fills said primary sub-channels (gas is compressed by hydraulic fluid in the tubes, par 0007, 0009; the partial filling is inherent because the first and other part of the tubes respectively is filled by the liquid piston which compresses the gas by moving up and down, par 0016, 0038), and wherein in said converging fractal configuration, said primary sub-channels and said single upper channels (33 or 14) extend in a direction corresponding to a direction of the compression (14 has a vertical width in order for fluid to be conveyed, 33 extends away as shown in fig 1b).
Regarding claim 6, Ramming in view of Xiao teaches the system of Claim 3, further comprising an external heat transfer enhancing structure (fins attached to the tubes for heat exchanger capacity, par 0025; the fins are implicitly external because the radially inward facing slats 32 occupy the inward space, par 0035; since the fins are disclosed separately than the slats, it is implied they would be situated differently and not occupy the same internal space as the slats, which implies they would be external) disposed externally and in contact with said channel wall of said at least one channel structure (tubes, par 0025) of said at least one compression unit (working chamber 15, par 0036), wherein said external heat transfer enhancing structure is configured with elements selected from a group of fin elements (fins, par 0025) having various densities (fin spacing can vary, par 0025), shapes (fin shape can vary, par 0025), materials, and dimensions.
Ramming is silent on the discharge temperature is maintained below 31 deg C.
Nevertheless, Ramming teaches that it operates in an isothermic process (par 0007, 0015) where the temperature of the process is maintained; therefore, the temperature of the discharge would be ideally maintained at the same temperature as the rest of the process.
Xiao teaches an analogous liquid piston compressor (abstract) operating in an isothermal process where the temperature of the gas remains constant (par 0049, 0060, 0061) where the typical temperature range of the process is 40-200 degrees Fahrenheit (equivalent 4.4 C – 93.3 C; converted F to C with formula -32 * 5 / 9).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure Ramming to operate the liquid piston compressor isothermally in the 4.4 C – 93.3 C range taught by Xiao in order to operate on low pressure gasses (Xiao, par 0032) typically seen in the oil production industry (Xiao, par 0005), in order to utilize Ramming as a liquid compressor for low pressure gas in oil fields which increases efficiency in recovering oil (Xiao, par 0010).
Furthermore, the rule is that in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside rages disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976)). In this case, the claimed 15-55 degrees C are within the prior art range of 4.4 – 93.3 degrees C, which is the predictable result of operating isothermally for low pressure gas at temperatures within the range of degrees C as found conventionally in the oil industry. Therefore, indicating a prima facie case of obviousness.
Regarding claim 7, Ramming in view of Xiao teaches the system of Claim 1, wherein said internal heat transfer enhancing structure (radially inward-facing slats 32, par 0035) is configured with elements formed from metals (slats 32 made of aluminum alloy, par 0035), plastics, and combinations thereof selected from a group comprising foam, fins (slats 32 fit the plain meaning of fins, par 0035; fig 5 shows a plate shape that meets the plain meaning of fin, See drawing below), needles, mesh, waved elements, rigid elements, shape conforming elements, and combinations thereof.
Ramming fig 5
Regarding claim 8, Ramming in view of Xiao teaches the system of Claim 2, further comprising: a first plurality of said channel structures (first liquid piston converter 3, par 0038) arranged in a substantially parallel fashion (fig 2a and fig 2b, show tubes in parallel), and a second plurality of said channel structures (second liquid piston converter 3, par 0038) arranged in a substantially parallel fashion (fig 2a and fig 2b, show tubes in parallel), wherein said compression mechanism (gas is compressed by hydraulic fluid in the tubes, par 0007, 0009) is operatively coupled to said first and second plurality of the channel structures (the liquid piston compresses the gas by moving up and down the plurality of tubes, par 0016, 0038; upper and lower tube bundles 16, 17, par 0032-0033), and wherein said controller sub-system operates said first and second pluralities of the channel structures in a compression mode alternately (first and second converters 3 are alternately in compression mode, par 0038; hydraulic pump and reservoir are alternately connected during operation, par 0037, the alternate connection switches the compression and suction connections described in par 0038, par 0037-0038).
Regarding claim 9, Ramming in view of Xiao teaches the system of Claim 8, wherein said first plurality of the channel structures (first liquid piston converter 3, par 0038) operate intermittently (they are operated alternately, par 0037-0039; therefore the compression phase is intermittent and between the expel phases), under control of said controller sub-system, in a first compression mode (compression by the first liquid piston converter 3, par 0038) and a first suction mode (sucks in carbon dioxide gas by the first liquid piston converter 3, par 0038), wherein said second plurality of said channel structures (second liquid piston converter 3, par 0038) operate intermittently (the compression phase operates intermittently as it is staggered with the other piston converter, par 0038), under control of said controller sub-system (control mechanism for controlled flow of liquid, par 0016, control for staggered operation of liquid piston converters 3, par 0038), in a second compression mode (compression by the second liquid piston converter 3, par 0038) and a second suction mode (suction by the second liquid piston converter 3, par 0038), wherein said first compression mode is aligned in time with said second suction mode (while one converter 3 is compressing, the other converter is sucking, par 0038), and wherein said first suction mode is aligned in time with said second compression mode (id, par 0038).
Regarding claim 10, Ramming in view of Xiao teaches the system of Claim 9:
wherein said at least one top header and at least one bottom header includes: a first lower header (distributor 13, par 0032) and a first upper header (collector 14, par 0032) fluidly coupled to said lower end (distributor 13 is on underside 7, par 0032) and upper ends (collector 14 is on upper side 5, par 0032), respectively, of each of said channel structures (first and second liquid piston converters 3, par 0038) in said first plurality thereof,
a second lower header (13 of second converter 3, par 0038) and a second upper header (14 of second converter 3, par 0038) fluidly coupled to said lower end (7, par 0032) and upper end (5, par 0032), respectively, of each of said channel structures (upper and lower tube bundles 16, 17, par 0032-0033) in said second plurality (second converter 3, par 0038) thereof,
a reversible pumping sub-system (hydraulic pump with 4-way valve to switch flow directions of hydraulic fluid into and out of liquid piston converters 3, par 0037-0039) operatively coupled to said controller sub-system (the liquid piston converters 3 are controlled by 4-way valve, par 0038) and disposed in a fluid communication (hydraulic fluid is pumped to fluid connection 10, par 0038; liquid connection 10 is on underside 7 for each converter 3, par 0031) with said first (distributor 13 for first converter 3 on underside 7, par 0032) and second lower headers (distributor 13 for second converter 3 on underside 7, par 0032),
wherein said at least one suction port (low pressure connection / suction connection 11, par 0031) includes a first suction port (11 for first converter 3, par 0031) and a second suction port (11 for second converter 3, par 0031) configured at said first (11 is connected to collector 14 of first converter 3, par 0036) and second (11 is connected to collector 14 of second converter 3, par 0036) upper headers (14 is on upper side 5 of converters 3, par 0032), respectively,
wherein said at least one discharge port (high pressure connection 12, par 0031, 0036) includes a first discharge port (12 for first converter 3, par 0031) and a second discharge port (12 for second converter 3, par 0031) configured at said first (12 is connected to collector 14, par 0036; 14 on upper side 5 for first converter 3, par 0032) and second upper headers (12 is connected to collector 14, par 0036; 14 on upper side 5 for second converter 3, par 0032), respectively,
wherein in said second suction mode, said incompressible liquid medium fills said first plurality of the channel structures (first liquid piston converter 3, par 0038), and said working fluid medium (carbon dioxide gas, par 0033) enters said second suction port at said second upper header into said second plurality of the channel structures (second liquid piston converter 3, par 0038), and
wherein said first suction mode of operation and said second compression mode of operation (suck in first converter 3 and compression in second converter 3, par 0038) are attained subsequent to said reversible pumping sub-system directing (4-way valve switches to change flow direction of hydraulic fluid, par 0037-0039), under control of said controller sub-system (4-way valve controls the switching, par 0037), said incompressible liquid medium (hydraulic fluid)from said first plurality of the channel structures into said second plurality of the channel structures (hydraulic fluid flows out of first converter 3 while hydraulic fluid flows into second converter 3, par 0038), resulting in compression of said working fluid medium (carbon dioxide gas, par 0033) in said second plurality of the channel structures (second converter 3 compresses when hydraulic fluid is entering, par 0038), and wherein said working fluid medium (carbon dioxide gas, par 0033) enters into and fills said first plurality of the channel structures (gas is sucked into first converter 3 as hydraulic fluid flows out of it, par 0038) throughout the first suction port at the first upper header (gas enters through low-pressure connection / suction port 11, par 0036).
Regarding claim 11, Ramming in view of Xiao teaches the system of Claim 10, wherein said controller sub-system is adapted to convert (4-way valve alternately connects the fluid connections of the liquid piston convertors 3, par 0037-0038) said first suction mode and said second compression modes of operation (first converter 3 compresses while second converter 3 sucks, par 0038) into said first compression mode and said second suction mode of operation (first converter 3 sucks while second converter 3 compresses, par 0038), respectively, by reversing said pumping sub-system (hydraulic pump with 4-way valve switches flow directions of hydraulic fluid into and out of liquid piston converters 3, par 0037-0039) to direct said incompressible liquid medium from said second plurality of the channel structures into said first plurality of the channel structures (hydraulic fluid flows out of second converter 3 while hydraulic fluid flows into first converter 3, par 0038) through said first and second lower headers (distributor 13 on underside 7 receives fluid through liquid connection 10; first distributor 13 for first converter 3 and second distributor 13 for second converter 3; par 0032; hydraulic fluid goes from the bottom through liquid connection 10, par 0038), respectively.
Regarding claim 12, Ramming in view of Xiao teaches the system of Claim 11, wherein
(first of two alternatives; valves actuated by controller) said controller sub-system (4-way valve controls hydraulic flow into first and second converter 3, par 0037-0038) as adapted to actuate said first and second discharge ports (low pressure check valves are actuated by low pressure, par 0003, the check valves are at low pressure connection 11 of the first and second converter 3, par 0003, 0036; the actions of the 4-way valve thereby indirectly actuate the discharge check valves because the valves cause the pressure increase in converters 3) at said first and second upper headers (collector 14 at upper side 5 each of the two converters 3, par 0032),
alternately (second of two alternatives, valves actuated by pressure) upon the working fluid medium (carbon dioxide gas, par 0033) reaches a predetermined pressure level (low pressure check valves are actuated by low pressure, par 0003) in said first or second pluralities (first or second converter 3, par 0038) of the channel structures (upper and lower tube bundles 16, 17, par 0032-0033), respectively,
and (common to both first and second alternatives) said working fluid medium (carbon dioxide gas, par 0033) escapes through said first or second discharge ports (low pressure check valves are actuated by low pressure, par 0003, the check valves are at low pressure connection 11 of the first and second converter 3, par 0003, 0036), respectively, from said first or second pluralities (first and second converters 3, par 0038) of the channel structures (upper and lower tube bundles 16, 17, par 0032-0033), and wherein said controller sub-system (4 way valve, par 0037-0039) is adapted to reverse the operation of said pumping sub-system (4 way valve switches fluid connections for first and second converters 3, par 0037-0038) subsequent to the discharge of the working fluid medium (4 way valve switches when sensor detects liquid piston reaches the depth filter 35 in the inlet/outlet connection 33, par 0039; reasonably, the liquid piston reaching the inlet/outlet connection 33 indicates the liquid piston has completed its compression cycle and pushed all gas out of the outlet connection 33; since the gas has been discharged by the time the liquid piston has triggered the 4-way valve switching, the switching is subsequent to the discharge and thereby meets the claims).
Regarding claim 13, Ramming in view of Xiao teaches the system of Claim 10, wherein said first and second lower headers have a larger dimension than the first and second upper headers (tube diameters smaller at top than at bottom, par 0013, 0018, 0022, 0025).
Regarding claim 14, Ramming in view of Xiao makes obvious the system of Claim 1, wherein said at least one compression unit (working chamber 15, par 0036) is tilted at an angle (tubes are at an angle relative to the horizontal, par 0040, 0042).
Ramming does not disclose the angle of up to 45C°.
Nevertheless, Ramming discloses that the tubes are at an angle relative to horizontal (par 0040) and that the angle is to expel compressed gas effectively and reduce dead volume (par 0042).
The claimed angle of up to 45° is obvious result of routine experimentation (See MPEP 2144.05(II)). The courts have rule that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation ( In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)). In this case, Ramming teaches that the angle is to expel compressed gas effectively and reduce dead volume (Ramming, par 0042) which is the same function of the angle disclosed by application (Applicant’s Specification, “the heat exchanger preferably may be tilted at the angle up to 450, as shown in FIG. 11, to ensure the maximum volumetric efficiency,” pg 27). Since, Ramming discloses that the claimed angle can be tilted in order to expel gas effectively and reduce dead volume, it provides a motivation to optimize the angle to achieve those results. Therefore, the claimed angle up to 450 represents nothing more than an expected result of routine experimentation of the tilt angle to find the desired conditions. Applicant has shown no unexpected result or criticality of the claimed angle up to 450 separate from the teachings of Ramming (par 0042).
Regarding claim 15, Ramming discloses a method for isothermal compression (par 0007) , comprising:
(a) operating a compression sub-system containing: at least one compression unit (working chamber 15, par 0036) housing a plurality of compression liquid pistons (liquid piston in the tubes, par 0017; tubes are upper and lower tube bundles 16, 17, par 0032-0033; or liquid piston is in a continuous chamber, par 0018), each compression liquid piston of said plurality thereof being configured as a channel structure (tubes, par 0025), each channel structure of said each compression liquid piston of said plurality of said compression liquid pistons having a tubularly contoured channel wall defining an internal lumen (fig 5, lumen is the space which includes inward facing slats 32, par 0035) continually extending between a top side (fig 1b, upper tube bundle 17) and a bottom side (fig 1b, lower tube bundle 16) of said at least one compression unit within said each channel structure (tubes have a tubular wall, par 0025), wherein said internal lumen of said each channel structure contains an incompressible liquid medium (hydraulic fluid, par 0002) and a working fluid medium (carbon dioxide gas, par 0033) in contact with said incompressible liquid medium (par 0002, both fluids are in the tubes in working space 15, par 0033; in these systems, the fluid piston directly contacts and compresses the gas in each tube), each channel structure including a single upper channel (inlet/outlet 33 or collector 14) at the top side of said at least one compression unit and a plurality of lower primary sub-channels (either channels 18 or channels 21) at the bottom side of said at least one compression unit and in fluid communication with said single upper channel (18 and 21 are in fluid connection with 14 and 33),
a heat exchanging sub-system (heat transfer surface of tubes, par 0001, 0025-0026) incorporating said at least one compression unit (working chamber 15, par 0036) therewithin, said heat exchanging sub-system containing a cooling medium (refrigerant/coolant, par 0007-0010, 0015-0018), and
a controller sub-system operatively coupled to said compression sub-system and said heat exchanging sub-system (control mechanism for liquid piston and gas flow, par 0016, 0038);
(b) raising a level of said incompressible liquid medium (filling with hydraulic fluid, par 0038) within said internal lumen with a controlled speed to compress (par 0007, 0009) said working fluid medium (carbon dioxide gas, par 0033) within said internal lumen to a predetermined pressure level (compress to a high pressure, par 0002), wherein the compression of said working fluid medium (carbon dioxide gas, par 0033) generates heat (par 0009) and wherein said incompressible liquid medium enters said internal lumen through said plurality of lower primary sub-channels (hydraulic fluid for the liquid piston enters from the bottom, par 0031; lower tubes 18, par 0032);
(c) discharging (discharge high-pressure gas, par 0002) said working fluid medium (carbon dioxide gas, par 0033) from said internal lumen through said single upper channel (gas flows through inlet/outlet 33 via collector 14) when said predetermined pressure value (high pressure reached by gas, par 0002, par 0035) has been attained;
(d) retracting said incompressible liquid medium from said internal lumen (hydraulic oil empties to the reservoir due to its weight and draws in gas, par 0038) while entering said working fluid medium (carbon dioxide gas, par 0033, par 0038) into said internal lumen, and
(e) circulating said cooling medium (flow of coolant through tube bundle, par 0029, 0034) in a direct contact (direct contact of coolant with the tubes is implied because the coolant flows around the working space , par 0015 and direct contact with the tubes is implied because cooling with increases surface area of the tubes, par 0024-0025) with an external surface (external coolant, par 0007) to absorb the heat generated as a result of the compression (absorb heat of compression, par 0009) of said working fluid medium (carbon dioxide gas, par 0033), thus cooling (par 0007-0009) the working fluid medium (carbon dioxide gas, par 0033) in said each channel structure of said each compression liquid piston of said plurality thereof disposed in said at least one compression unit (working chamber 15, par 0036) to attain an isothermal compression (par 0007) and maintain a discharge temperature of the working fluid (inherently the working fluid temperature approaches the coolant temperature during any heat exchange process).
Ramming is silent on the discharge maintained at a working fluid ranging from 15 degrees to 55 degrees C.
Nevertheless, Ramming teaches that it operates in an isothermic process (par 0007, 0015) where the temperature of the process is maintained; therefore, the temperature of the discharge would be ideally maintained at the same temperature as the rest of the process.
Xiao teaches an analogous liquid piston compressor (abstract) operating in an isothermal process where the temperature of the gas remains constant (par 0049, 0060, 0061) where the typical temperature range of the process is 40-200 degrees Fahrenheit (equivalent 4.4 C – 93.3 C; converted F to C with formula -32 * 5 / 9).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure Ramming to operate the liquid piston compressor isothermally in the 4.4 C – 93.3 C range taught by Xiao in order to operate on low pressure gasses (Xiao, par 0032) typically seen in the oil production industry (Xiao, par 0005), in order to utilize Ramming as a liquid compressor for low pressure gas in oil fields which increases efficiency in recovering oil (Xiao, par 0010).
Furthermore, the rule is that in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside rages disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976)). In this case, the claimed 15-55 degrees C are within the prior art range of 4.4 – 93.3 degrees C, which is the predictable result of operating isothermally for low pressure gas at temperatures within the range of degrees C as found conventionally in the oil industry. Therefore, indicating a prima facie case of obviousness.
Regarding claim 16, Ramming in view of Xiao teaches the method of Claim 15, further comprising: configuring said each channel structure (upper and lower tube bundles 16, 17, par 0032-0033) with at least one structure selected from a group of micro-channels (first of three alternatives), tubes (tubes, par 0025, second of three alternatives), and combinations thereof (third of three alternatives), and disposing a plurality of said channel structures (upper and lower tube bundles 16, 17, par 0032-0033) in a substantially parallel relationship (first of two alternatives, fig 1-6 shows tubes in parallel formation relative to each other) or in a fractal configuration (second of two alternatives, branching tubes into several tubes, par 0024; applicant discloses that a branching configuration is said fractal configuration, See applicant’s claim 5).
Ramming is silent on maintaining the discharge temperature below 31 deg C.
Nevertheless, Ramming teaches that it operates in an isothermic process (par 0007, 0015) where the temperature of the process is maintained; therefore, the temperature of the discharge would be ideally maintained at the same temperature as the rest of the process.
Xiao teaches an analogous liquid piston compressor (abstract) operating in an isothermal process where the temperature of the gas remains constant (par 0049, 0060, 0061) where the typical temperature range of the process is 40-200 degrees Fahrenheit (equivalent 4.4 C – 93.3 F; converted F to C with formula -32 * 5 / 9).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure Ramming to operate the liquid piston compressor isothermally in the 4.4 C – 93.3 C range taught by Xiao in order to operate on low pressure gasses (Xiao, par 0032) typically seen in the oil production industry (Xiao, par 0005), in order to utilize Ramming as a liquid compressor for low pressure gas in oil fields which increases efficiency in recovering oil (Xiao, par 0010).
It would be further obvious to modify Ramming in view of Xiao to maintain the discharge temperature below 31 degrees Celsius for the predictable result of operating isothermally for low pressure gas at temperatures between 4.4 C and 31 degrees C as found conventionally in the oil industry.
Regarding claim 17, Ramming in view of Xiao teaches the method of Claim 15, further comprising: in said step (a), integrating an external heat transfer enhancing structure (fins attached to the tubes for heat exchanger capacity, par 0025; the fins are implicitly external because the radially inward facing slats 32 occupy the inward space, par 0035; if fins were internal, they would fit the plain meaning of slats and be disclosed by this section; since the fins are disclosed separately they would implicitly be arranged differently than the slats, implying that the fins are external) in contact with said tubularly contoured channel wall (tubes have a tubular outer wall, par 0025) of said each channel structure (upper and lower tube bundles 16, 17, par 0032-0033) of said each compression liquid piston of said plurality thereof contained in said at least one compression unit (working chamber 15, par 0036).
Regarding claim 18, Ramming in view of Xiao teaches the method of Claim 16, further comprising: arranging said channel structures (upper and lower tube bundles 16, 17, par 0032-0033) in a first plurality (first liquid piston converter 3, par 0038) and a second plurality (second liquid piston converter 3, par 0038) of substantially parallel (fig 2a and fig 2b, show tubes in parallel) channel structures (upper and lower tube bundles 16, 17, par 0032-0033), and conducting the compression in said first and second pluralities of the parallel channel structures (upper and lower tube bundles 16, 17, par 0032-0033) in an alternating order (hydraulic pump and reservoir are alternately connected during operation, par 0037, the alternate connection switches the compression and suction connections described in par 0038, par 0037-0038).
Regarding claim 19, Ramming in view of Xiao teaches the method of Claim 18, further comprising: operating said first plurality of the channel structures (first liquid piston converter 3, par 0038) intermittently in a first compression mode (compression by hydraulic fluid in first converter 3, par 0038) and a first suction mode (suction of gas caused by lowering of hydraulic fluid in first converter 3, par 0038), operating said second plurality of the channel structures (second liquid piston converter 3, par 0038) intermittently in a second compression mode (compression in second converter 3, par 0038) and a second suction mode (suction in second converter 3, par 0038), and aligning in time (the two compression and suction modes are switched by the 4-way valve, par 0038; the 4-way valve alternates between the converters, par 0037-0038) said first compression mode with said second suction mode (while compression is occurring in a first converter 3, suction is occurring in a second converter 3, par 0038), and said first suction mode (suction in first converter 3, par 0038) with said second compression mode (compression in second converter 3, par 0038).
Regarding claim 20, Ramming in view of Xiao teaches the method of Claim 19, further comprising: in said step (a), fluidly coupling a first lower header (distributor 13 on underside 7, par 0032) and a first upper header (collector 14 on upper side 5, par 0032) to a lower end (13 on underside 7, par 0032) and an upper end (14 on upper side 5, par 0032), respectively, of each (par 0032) of said channel structures (upper and lower tube bundles 16, 17, par 0032-0033) in said first plurality (first liquid piston converter 3, par 0038) thereof,
fluidly coupling a second lower header (13 on second converter 3) and a second upper header (14 on second converter 3) to a lower end (13 on underside 7, par 0032) and an upper end (14 on upper side 5, par 0032), respectively, of each (par 0032) of said channel structures (upper and lower tube bundles 16, 17, par 0032-0033) in said second plurality (second liquid piston converter 3, par 0038) thereof,
operatively coupling a reversible pumping sub-system (hydraulic pump with 4-way valve to switch flow directions of hydraulic fluid into and out of liquid piston converters 3, par 0037-0039) to said first (13 of first converter 3, par 0032, 0038) and second (13 of second converter 3, par 0032, 0038) lower headers (13 is on underside 7, par 0032), respectively,
configuring a first discharge port (high pressure connection 12 for first converter 3, par 0031, 0036) and a second discharge port (high pressure connection 12 for second converter 3, par 0031, 0036) at said first (14 on first converter 3) and second (14 on second converter 3) upper headers (14 on upper side 5, par 0032), respectively, and
configuring a first suction port (low pressure connection / suction connection 11 for first converter 3, par 0031) and a second suction port (low pressure connection / suction connection 11 for second converter 3, par 0031) at said first (14 on first converter 3, par 0032, 0036) and second (14 on second converter 3, par 0032, 0036) upper headers (14 on upper side 5, par 0032), respectively;
in said second suction mode of operation (suction in second converter 3, par 0038), operating said reversible pumping sub-system to fill said first plurality (hydraulic fluid is pumped to fill first liquid piston converter 3, while the other converter 3 is in suction mode, par 0038) of the channel structures (upper and lower tube bundles 16, 17, par 0032-0033) with said incompressible liquid medium (hydraulic fluid), and controlling said working fluid medium (carbon dioxide gas, par 0033) to enter said second suction port (carbon dioxide gas is sucked into low pressure connection / suction port 11 of second convertor 3, par 0031) at said second upper header (suction 11 is connected to collector 14, par 0036; 14 is on upper side 5 for converter 3, par 0032) into said second plurality of the channel structures (upper and lower tube bundles 16, 17, par 0032-0033);
attaining said first suction (suck with first converter 3, par 0038) and second compressing (compress with second converter 3, par 0038) modes of operation by controlling said reversible pumping sub-system (4-way valve is controlled to alternate fluid connections to first and second converters 3, par 0037-0039) to direct the incompressible liquid medium from said first plurality (first liquid piston converter 3, par 0038; hydraulic fluid is redirected from first converter 3 to second converter 3, to put first converter 3 into a suction state, par 0038) of the channel structures (upper and lower tube bundles 16, 17, par 0032-0033) into said second plurality (hydraulic fluid is directed into second liquid piston converter 3 to cause compression in converter 3, par 0038) of the channel structures (upper and lower tube bundles 16, 17, par 0032-0033), resulting in compression (compression in second converter 3, par 0038) of said working fluid medium (carbon dioxide gas, par 0033) in said second plurality (compression in second converter 3, par 0038) of the channel structures (upper and lower tube bundles 16, 17, par 0032-0033), wherein said working fluid medium (carbon dioxide gas, par 0033) enters into and fills said first plurality (suction in first converter 3, par 0038) of channel structures (upper and lower tube bundles 16, 17, par 0032-0033) throughout the first suction port (suction 11 of first converter 3, par 0031) at the first upper header (collector 14 on upper side 5 for first converter 3, par 0032) during said first suction mode of operation (suction in first converter 3, par 0038);
converting said first suction (suction in first converter 3, par 0038) and said second compression (compression in second converter 3, par 0038) modes of operation into the first compression (compression in first converter 3, par 0038) and the second suction (suction in second converter 3, par 0038) modes of operation, respectively, by reversing said reversible pumping sub-system (hydraulic pump with 4-way valve to switch flow directions of hydraulic fluid into and out of liquid piston converters 3, par 0037-0039) to direct said incompressible liquid medium from said second plurality (hydraulic fluid flows out of the second converter 3, par 0038) of the channel structures (upper and lower tube bundles 16, 17, par 0032-0033) into said first plurality (hydraulic fluid is pumped into first converter 3 when hydraulic fluid flows out of the second converter 3, par 0038) of the channel structures (upper and lower tube bundles 16, 17, par 0032-0033) through said first (distributor 13 for first converter 3 on underside 7, par 0032) and second lower headers (distributor 13 for second converter 3 on underside 7, par 0032);
alternately actuating said first (hp connection 12 of first converter 3, par 0031) and second (hp 12 of second converter 3, par 0031) discharge ports at said first (12 is connected to 14 of first converter 3, par 0036) and second (12 is connected to 14 of second converter 3, par 0036) upper headers (14 is on upper side 5 of converters 3, par 0032), respectively, upon the working fluid medium (carbon dioxide gas, par 0033) reaches said predetermined pressure level (high pressure reached a check valve opens, par 0002, 0003) in said first or second pluralities (first or second converter 3, par 0031, 0037-0038) of the channel structures (upper and lower tube bundles 16, 17, par 0032-0033), respectively, to discharge said working fluid medium (carbon dioxide gas, par 0033) through said first or second discharge ports (HP connection 12 of first or second converter 3, par 0031), respectively, from said first or second pluralities (first or second converter 3, par 0031) of the channel structures (upper and lower tube bundles 16, 17, par 0032-0033); and
reversing the operation of said reversible pumping sub-system in a predetermined order (the 4-way valve is switched to alternate hydraulic fluid flow to the first and second converters 3 in order to alternate the compression and suction cycles of the first and second converters 3, par 0037-0039) to repeat said steps (b), (c), (d), and (e) (the cycle above is described in par 0007-0004, 0037-0039).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GEOFFREY S LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 3746
/DOMINICK L PLAKKOOTTAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746