DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendments remove the new matter rejected in the previous office action. The drawing objections and 112 rejections of the previous office action are withdrawn. However, the current amendments have resulted in new 112 rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1 and 3 recite “define a discharge temperature of the working fluid.” The claimed function of “define a discharge temperature of the working fluid” is not recited in the specification. Applicant indicates that support for the amendments is in par [0069-0071], [0076] and [0091-0095] (Remarks pg 1). While applicant’s spec [par 0095] recites that the “fractal design maintains the discharge temperature of the working fluid as close to as the temperature of the coolant,” this does not reasonably explain what is meant by “define a discharge temperature of the working fluid.” Therefore, applicant has not shown that at the time of the originally filed application that inventor had possession of said functions which “define a discharge temperature of the working fluid.” Dependent claims 2, and 4-14 are correspondingly rejected as dependent on claims 1 and 3.
For the limited purpose of examination, the following interpretation will be applied. Claims 1 and 3 also recite that the system is “for isothermal compression.” Applicant’s Spec [par 0091 and 0095] also discloses that the cooling requirement of the apparatus is “isothermal.” The term “isothermal” has a plain meaning of “involving or possessing a constant temperature.” The claim of “isothermal compression” suggests that the inventor intends the working fluid maintains a constant temperature through the process. Therefore, the limitation “define a discharge temperature of the working fluid,” will be interpreted as the inherent result of the claimed isothermal process.
Claims 1, 3 and 15 recite “wherein the at least one lower main channel is greater in number than the at least one upper channel.” The claimed difference in number is not recited in the specification. Applicant indicates that support for the amendments is in par [0069-0071], [0076] and [0091-0095] (Remarks pg 1). While applicant’s spec [par 0094] recites that the “the main channel and sub-channels may have different sizes, for example higher level channels may have larger diameters that the diameters of the lower level channels,” this describes tube diameter or size and does not speak toward the number of channels.
Furthermore, applicant discloses a single main channel (fig 5A, 74, par 0092) and a single upper channel (fig 5B, 75, par 0094), which shows that the main channel and upper channel have the same number and not different numbers. Therefore, applicant has not shown that at the time of the originally filed application that inventor had possession of said lower main channel is greater in number than at the at least one upper channel. Dependent claims 2, 4-14 and 16-20 are correspondingly rejected as dependent on claims 1, 3, and 15.
Claims 1, 3, and 15 recite “at least one lower main channel,” while claim 5 recites “at least one main lower channel.” The claimed “at least one lower main channel,” and “at least one main lower channel,” are not recited in the specification. Applicant does not disclose whether these newly claimed elements are the same or different than the “main channel 74,” (par 0074) or the primary sub-channels (76) or the secondary sub-channels (78). Whether applicant intends to claim a plurality or a singular channel is an issue. Despite the “main channel” disclosed as a single channel, applicant claims a plurality of “main” channels. In claims 1, 3, and 15 applicant is claiming a plurality of “lower main channels” greater in number than the at least one upper channel. In claim 5, applicant is claiming a plurality of “main lower channels.” Applicant’s disclosure does not explain how the disclosed single “main channel 74,” or the plurality of “primary sub-channels” or “second sub-channels” becomes the claimed plurality of “at least one lower main channel.” Therefore, applicant has failed to show possession of the “at least one lower main channel” and “at least one main lower channel” at the time the application was filed. Therefore claims 1, 3, 5 and 15 are rejected. Dependent claims 2, 4-14 and 16-20 are correspondingly rejected.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 3, applicant has not provided an adequate written description for the claimed “define a discharge temperature of the working fluid.” A person of ordinary skill in the art would not be able to determine the intended limits of the claim because of the lack of written description of the limitation. Therefore, applicant has not adequately conveyed what applicant regards as the invention. Claims 1 and 3 are rejected as indefinite. Dependent claims 2, 4-14 are also rejected as dependent on the claims 1 and 3. For the limited purpose of examination, the limitation will be interpreted as noted in the 112(a) rejection above.
Claims 1, 3 and 15 recite “wherein the at least one lower main channel is greater in number than the at least one upper channel.” A person of ordinary skill in the art would not be able to determine the intended limits of the claim because of the lack of written description of the limitation. Furthermore, it is unclear how “one lower main channel” can have the plurality of channels necessary to be greater in number than the “one upper channel” when applicant has disclosed a single “main channel” (74, par 0092). Therefore, applicant has not adequately conveyed what applicant regards as the “one lower main channel” and “one lower main channel is greater in number than the at least one upper channel.” Claims 1, 3, and 15 are rejected as indefinite. Dependent claims 2, 4-14, and 16-20 are correspondingly rejected. For the limited purpose of examination, the limitation will be interpreted as not referring to the “main channel” (74) such that “at least one lower … channel is greater in number than the at least one upper channel.”
The term “close” of “the discharge temperature is close to the coolant temperature” in claims 1, 3 and 15 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “close” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. While applicant’s spec recites the temperatures be “close as possible” (par 0029) and “close” (par 0025), neither provides a standard for ascertaining requisite degree of closeness. Claims 1, 3 and 15 are rejected for indefiniteness. Dependent claims 2, 4-14, 16-20 are correspondingly rejected.
Claim 5 recites “at least one main lower channel.” It is unclear whether this is the same or different than the “at least one lower main channel,” of claim 1. Applicant fig 5A shows several branches of the lower channels, it is unclear whether applicant is claiming a specific portion of lower channels (74, 76, 78, par 0092) in the lower end. Applicant has failed to particularly point out and distinctly claim what they regard as their invention, therefore claim 5 is rejected for indefiniteness. For the limited purpose of examination, claim 5 will be treated as claiming the same features as claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, 7, 15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ramming (EP 2,273,119, citations to the previously provided NPL machine translation).
Ramming fig 1b.
Ramming fig 5
Regarding claim 1, Ramming discloses a system for isothermal compression (par 0007), comprising: a heat exchange sub-system (heat transfer surface of tubes, par 0001, 0025-0026),
At least one top header (collector 14, par 0032) and at least one bottom header (manifold 13)
at least one compression unit (fig 1b, working chamber 15, par 0036) incorporated inside said heat exchange sub-system (par 0009), said at least one compression unit (working chamber 15, par 0036) containing a plurality of channel structures (fig 1b, upper and lower tube bundles 16, 17, par 0032-0033), each channel structure having at least one upper edge (end of tubes at collector 14, par 0032), at least one bottom edge (end of tubes at manifold 13, par 0032) and a tubularly contoured channel wall (fig 5, tube wall 30, par 0035) defining an internal lumen (fig 5, lumen is the space which includes inward facing slats 32, par 0035) continually extending between a top side (fig 1b, upper tube bundle 17) and a bottom side (fig 1b, lower tube bundle 16) of said at least one compression unit within said each channel structure (tubes are inherently tubularly contoured, and have an internal passage for fluid flow), wherein said internal lumen of said each channel structure of said plurality thereof contains an incompressible liquid medium (hydraulic fluid for liquid piston, par 0031, 0033) and a working fluid medium (carbon dioxide gas, par 0031, 0033) disposed in contact with said incompressible liquid medium (par 0002, both fluids are in the tubes in working space 15, par 0033; in these systems, the fluid piston directly contacts and compresses the gas in each tube) to define a level of the compressible liquid medium with the working fluid extending between the level and the at least one upper edge of the channel structure (carbon dioxide gas extending in the upper part of the channels, par 0031-0033) and with the incompressible fluid extending between the level and the at least one bottom edge of the channel structure (hydraulic fluid in the lower part of the channels, par 0031-0033), the at least one compression unit being in fluid communication with the at least one top header at the at least one top edge to define at least one upper channel (one of the vertically positioned upper tubes 21, par 0032) of the at least one compression unit (collector 14 at the top 5 of a working space 15 of the upper tube bundle 17, par 0032), the at least one compression unit being in fluid communication with the at least one bottom header at the at least one bottom edge to define at least one lower main channel (two of the lower tubes 18, par 0032) of the at least one compression unit (manifold 13 at the bottom 7 of a working space 15 of the lower tube bundle 16, par 0032),
an internal heat transfer enhancing structure disposed within said internal lumen of said each channel structure of said plurality thereof (radially inward facing slats 32, par 0035),
said plurality of channel structures (upper and lower tube bundles 16, 17, par 0032-0033) defining a plurality of compression liquid pistons (liquid piston in the tubes, par 0017; fig 2a-3b a plurality of lower and upper tubes 18, 21, par 0033) incorporated in said at least one compression unit (working chamber 15, par 0036),
a respective compression liquid piston (liquid piston, par 0031, 0033) of said plurality thereof being operatively coupled to said incompressible liquid medium contained in said internal lumen of said each channel structure (liquid piston in the tubes, par 0017) of said plurality of channel structures (operatively couple via distributor 13 and collector 14 control fluids into and out of the upper and lower tube bundles 16, 17, par 0032-0033) to displace a level thereof (liquid piston lifts and lowers, par 0016, between a top and bottom dead center, par 0003-0004) within said internal lumen of said each channel structure disposed within said at least one compression unit (tubes are within working chamber 15, par 0033, 0036) to result in compression of said working fluid medium (carbon dioxide gas, par 0033) within said internal lumen of said each channel structure of said plurality thereof to a predetermined pressure value (high pressure reached by gas, par 0002, 0035), wherein said compression of said working fluid medium (carbon dioxide gas, par 0033) generates heat (heat of compression, par 0009),
at least one discharge port (inlet/outlet port 33 via collector 14, par 0036) formed in the at least one top header (inlet /outlet pipe 33 connected to collector 14, par 0036) and disposed in a fluid contact (fluid passes through 33, par 0036) with said internal lumen of said each channel structure (port 33 connects to tubes via collector 14, par 0036) of said plurality thereof and actuated to discharge (gas discharges via inlet/outlet connection 33, par 0036) said working fluid medium (carbon dioxide gas, par 0033) from said internal lumen of said each channel structure (connection via collector 14, par 0036) of said at least one compression unit (working chamber 15, par 0036) when said predetermined pressure value (high pressure reached by gas, par 0002) within said each channel structure has been attained and define a discharge temperature of the working fluid (the apparatus accomplishes isothermal compression, par 0015, 0016, isothermal compression is interpreted as defining the discharge temperature, see the 112 interpretation above),
at least one suction port (inlet/outlet port 33, par 0036) disposed in a fluid contact (fluid passes through 33, par 0036) with said internal lumen of said each channel structure (connection via collector 14, par 0036) and actuated to enter (gas enters via inlet/outlet connection 33, par 0036) said working fluid medium (carbon dioxide gas, par 0033) in said internal lumen of said each channel structure in said at least one compression unit (working chamber 15, par 0036),
wherein said heat exchange sub-system (par 0009) contains a cooling medium (refrigerant/coolant, par 0007-0010, 0015-0018) having a coolant temperature (inherently all materials have a temperature) circulating in a thermal coupling (coolant flows and cools in the working chamber on exterior of tubes, par 0008, coolant alternately on interior of tubes, par 0023) with at least one said compression unit (working chamber 15, par 0036) and in a direct contact with an external surface of said tubularly contoured channel wall (coolant on exterior of tubes, par 0008, alternately coolant on interior of tubes, par 0023, 0042) of said each channel structure of said plurality thereof to absorb the heat generated as the result of the compression in said internal lumen of said each channel structure of said plurality thereof (par 0008-0009, 0042), and thus cooling the working fluid medium (carbon dioxide gas, par 0033) in said at least one compression unit (working chamber 15, par 0036) to attain an isothermal compression (par 0007), such that the discharge temperature is close to the coolant temperature (inherently the working fluid temperature approaches the coolant temperature during any heat exchange process; the reduction in the temperature difference meets the plain meaning of “is close”) and
a controller sub-system (control mechanism for liquid piston and gas flow, par 0016, 0038), operatively coupled to said plurality of compression liquid pistons to control said level of said incompressible liquid medium (control lifting and lowering of the liquid piston, par 0016) in said at least one compression unit (working chamber 15, par 0036), to said at least one discharge port (33) and said at least one suction port (33) to control discharge and entrance (par 0038) of said working fluid medium (carbon dioxide gas, par 0033) passing from, and to said at least one compression unit (working chamber 15, par 0036), respectively,
wherein the at least one lower main channel (two of the lower tubes 18, par 0032) is greater in number than the at least one upper channel (one of the upper tube 21, par 0032).
Regarding claim 3, Ramming discloses a system for isothermal compression (par 0007) , comprising:
a heat exchange sub-system (par 0009),
at least one compression unit (working chamber 15, par 0036) incorporated inside said heat exchange sub-system (par 0009), wherein said at least one compression unit (working chamber 15, par 0036) is configured with at least one channel structure having a fractal configuration (branching of tubes into smaller tubes, par 0024; branching is synonymous with applicant’s fractal structure, See applicant’s fig 5),
that includes at least one lower main channel (two of the lower tubes 18, par 0032 the individual tube before branching into several tubes, par 0024), at least one upper channel (collector 14, par 0032), a plurality of primary sub-channels (two of the vertically positioned upper tubes 21, par 0032), and plurality of secondary sub-channel (a plurality of lower tubes 18, par 0032; other than the tubes of the main channel),
channel walls defining an internal lumen (tubes have internal passages, which meet the plain meaning of lumen) of said at least one channel structure containing an incompressible liquid medium (hydraulic fluid for liquid piston, par 0031, 0033) that enters through the at least one lower main channel (hydraulic fluid for the liquid piston enters from the bottom, par 0031; lower tubes 18, par 0032) and is in contact with a working fluid medium (carbon dioxide gas, par 0033), said internal channel continually extending between a top side (fig 1b, upper tube bundle 17) and a bottom side (fig 1b, lower tube bundle 16) of said at least one compression unit,
a compression mechanism (compression of gas by hydraulic fluid, par 0007, 0009) operatively coupled to said incompressible liquid medium (hydraulic fluid provides the liquid piston, par 0002) to displace a level thereof (liquid piston lifts and lowers, par 0016, between a top and bottom dead center, par 0003-0004) within said internal lumen to result in compression of said working fluid medium (carbon dioxide gas, par 0033) to a predetermined pressure value (high pressure reached by gas, par 0002), wherein said compression of said working fluid medium (carbon dioxide gas, par 0033) generates heat (par 0009),
at least one discharge port (inlet/outlet port 33, par 0036) disposed in a fluid contact (fluid passes through port 33, par 0036) at least one upper channel (collector 14, par 0032) and actuated to discharge (port 33 as outlet, par 0036) said working fluid medium (carbon dioxide gas, par 0033) from said internal lumen and through said at least one upper channel (collector 14) when said predetermined pressure value (high pressure reached by gas, par 0002) has been attained and define a discharge temperature of the working fluid (the apparatus accomplishes isothermal compression, par 0015, 0016, isothermal compression is interpreted as defining the discharge temperature, see the 112 interpretation above),
at least one suction port (inlet/outlet port 33, par 0036) disposed in a fluid contact (fluid passes through port 33, par 0036) with said at least one upper channel (collector 14) and actuated to enter (port 33 as inlet, par 0036) said working fluid medium (carbon dioxide gas, par 0033) in said internal lumen through said at least one upper channel,
wherein said heat exchange sub-system (par 0009) contains a cooling medium (refrigerant/coolant, par 0007-0010, 0015-0018) having a coolant temperature (inherently all materials have a temperature) circulating in a thermal coupling (coolant flows and cools in the working chamber on exterior to tubes, par 0008, or alternately on interior of tubes, par 0023) with at least one said compression unit (working chamber 15, par 0036) to absorb the heat generated as the result of the compression (par 0008-0009) and thus cooling the working fluid medium (carbon dioxide gas, par 0033) in said at least one compression unit (working chamber 15, par 0036) to attain an isothermal compression (par 0007) such that the discharge temperature is close to the coolant temperature of the cooling medium (inherently the working fluid temperature approaches the coolant temperature during any heat exchange process; the reduction in the temperature difference meets the plain meaning of “is close”), and
a controller sub-system (control mechanism for controlled flow of liquid, par 0016, control for staggered operation of liquid piston converters 3, par 0038) operatively coupled to said compression mechanism to control said level of said incompressible liquid medium (control lifting and lowering of the liquid piston, par 0016) in said at least one compression unit (working chamber 15, par 0036), to said at least one discharge port (33) and said at least one suction port (33) to control discharge and entrance (par 0038) of said working fluid medium (carbon dioxide gas, par 0033) passing from and to said at least one compression unit (working chamber 15, par 0036), respectively,
wherein the at least one lower main channel (two of lower tubes 18, par 0032) is greater in number than the at least one upper channel (one of collector 14, par 0032).
Regarding claim 4, Ramming discloses the system of Claim 3, wherein said at least one channel structure in said fractal configuration thereof has variable channel dimensions (tube diameters smaller at top than at bottom, par 0013, 0018, 0022, 0025).
Regarding claim 5, Ramming discloses the system of Claim 3, wherein in said at least one channel structure in said fractal configuration, said at least one main lower channel (two of the lower tubes 18, par 0032) comprises a plurality of main lower channels branching into said primary sub-channels (branching into the upper tubes 21, par 0032) located above said at least one main lower channel (upper tubes 21 are above lower tubes 18, par 0032),
wherein said at least one channel structure defines a converging fractal configuration (collector 14 converges to a single header; the single passage is a fractal of the multiple channels of upper tubes 21 under a BRI) that includes a plurality of primary sub-channels (upper tubes 21, par 0032) arranged in a multi-tier configuration with lower primary sub-channels (lower tubes 18, par 0032; other than the lower tubes 18 identified as the main lower channel) located at a lower level and converging in upper primary sub-channels located above said lower level primary sub-channels (the tube bundles are connected to allow the liquid piston to travel, par 0021-0024, and 0032), and converging into said at least one upper channel (14)
wherein said incompressible liquid medium enters said internal lumen of said at least one channel structure within said at least one compression unit (working chamber 15, par 0036) into said lower primary sub-channels, and wherein said working fluid medium (carbon dioxide gas, par 0033) fills said at least one upper channel (14) and said primary sub-channels (gas is compressed by hydraulic fluid in the tubes, par 0007, 0009; the partial filling is inherent because the first and other part of the tubes respectively is filled by the liquid piston which compresses the gas by moving up and down, par 0016, 0038), and wherein in said converging fractal configuration, said primary sub-channels and said at least one upper channels (14) extend in a direction corresponding to a direction of the compression (14 has a vertical width in order for fluid to be conveyed).
Regarding claim 7, Ramming discloses the system of Claim 1, wherein said internal heat transfer enhancing structure (radially inward-facing slats 32, par 0035) is configured with elements formed from metals (slats 32 made of aluminum alloy, par 0035), plastics, and combinations thereof selected from a group comprising foam, fins (slats 32 fit the plain meaning of fins, par 0035; fig 5 shows a plate shape that meets the plain meaning of fin, See drawing below), needles, mesh, waved elements, rigid elements, shape conforming elements, and combinations thereof.
Ramming fig 5
Process claims will be examined under the principles of inherency, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will inherently perform the claimed process. In re King, 801 F.2d 1324, 231 USPQ 136 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Regarding claim 15, Ramming discloses a method for isothermal compression (par 0007) , comprising:
(a) operating a compression sub-system containing: at least one compression unit (working chamber 15, par 0036) housing a plurality of compression liquid pistons (liquid piston in the tubes, par 0017; tubes are upper and lower tube bundles 16, 17, par 0032-0033; or liquid piston is in a continuous chamber, par 0018), each compression liquid piston of said plurality thereof being configured as a channel structure (tubes, par 0025), each channel structure of said each compression liquid piston of said plurality of said compression liquid pistons having a tubularly contoured channel wall defining an internal lumen (fig 5, lumen is the space which includes inward facing slats 32, par 0035) continually extending between a top side (fig 1b, upper tube bundle 17) and a bottom side (fig 1b, lower tube bundle 16) of said at least one compression unit within said each channel structure (tubes have a tubular wall, par 0025), wherein said internal lumen of said each channel structure contains an incompressible liquid medium (hydraulic fluid, par 0002) and a working fluid medium (carbon dioxide gas, par 0033) in contact with said incompressible liquid medium (par 0002, both fluids are in the tubes in working space 15, par 0033; in these systems, the fluid piston directly contacts and compresses the gas in each tube), each channel structure including at least one upper channel (one of the vertically positioned upper tubes 21, par 0032) at the top side and at least one lower main channel (two of the lower tubes 18, par 0032), wherein the at least one lower main channel is greater in number than the at least one upper channel (two of the lower tubes 18 is more than a single upper tube 21).
a heat exchanging sub-system (heat transfer surface of tubes, par 0001, 0025-0026) incorporating said at least one compression unit (working chamber 15, par 0036) therewithin, said heat exchanging sub-system containing a cooling medium (refrigerant/coolant, par 0007-0010, 0015-0018) having a coolant temperature (inherently all materials have a temperature), and
a controller sub-system operatively coupled to said compression sub-system and said heat exchanging sub-system (control mechanism for liquid piston and gas flow, par 0016, 0038);
(b) raising a level of said incompressible liquid medium (filling with hydraulic fluid, par 0038) within said internal lumen with a controlled speed to compress (par 0007, 0009) said working fluid medium (carbon dioxide gas, par 0033) within said internal lumen to a predetermined pressure level (compress to a high pressure, par 0002), wherein the compression of said working fluid medium (carbon dioxide gas, par 0033) generates heat (par 0009) and wherein said incompressible liquid medium enters said internal lumen through said at least one lower main channel (hydraulic fluid for the liquid piston enters from the bottom, par 0031; lower tubes 18, par 0032);
(c) discharging (discharge high-pressure gas, par 0002) said working fluid medium (carbon dioxide gas, par 0033) from said internal lumen at a discharge temperature through said at least one upper channel (inherently the gas will have a temperature when it is discharged, because all materials inherently have a temperature) when said predetermined pressure value (high pressure reached by gas, par 0002, par 0035) has been attained;
(d) retracting said incompressible liquid medium from said internal lumen (hydraulic oil empties to the reservoir due to its weight and draws in gas, par 0038) while entering said working fluid medium (carbon dioxide gas, par 0033, par 0038) into said internal lumen, and
(e) circulating said cooling medium (flow of coolant through tube bundle, par 0029, 0034) in a direct contact (direct contact of coolant with the tubes is implied because the coolant flows around the working space , par 0015 and direct contact with the tubes is implied because cooling with increases surface area of the tubes, par 0024-0025) with an external surface (external coolant, par 0007) to absorb the heat generated as a result of the compression (absorb heat of compression, par 0009) of said working fluid medium (carbon dioxide gas, par 0033), thus cooling (par 0007-0009) the working fluid medium (carbon dioxide gas, par 0033) in said each channel structure of said each compression liquid piston of said plurality thereof disposed in said at least one compression unit (working chamber 15, par 0036) to attain an isothermal compression (par 0007) such that the discharge temperature is close to the coolant temperature (inherently the working fluid temperature approaches the coolant temperature during any heat exchange process; the reduction in the temperature difference meets the plain meaning of “is close”).
Regarding claim 17, Ramming discloses the method of Claim 15, further comprising: in said step (a), integrating an external heat transfer enhancing structure (fins attached to the tubes for heat exchanger capacity, par 0025; the fins are implicitly external because the radially inward facing slats 32 occupy the inward space, par 0035; if fins were internal, they would fit the plain meaning of slats and be disclosed by this section; since the fins are disclosed separately they would implicitly be arranged differently than the slats, implying that the fins are external) in contact with said tubularly contoured channel wall (tubes have a tubular outer wall, par 0025) of said each channel structure (upper and lower tube bundles 16, 17, par 0032-0033) of said each compression liquid piston of said plurality thereof contained in said at least one compression unit (working chamber 15, par 0036).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2, 6, 8-13, 16, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramming in view of Xiao (US 2016/0160852).
Regarding claim 2, Ramming discloses the system of Claim 1, wherein said each channel structure (tube bundles 16, 17, par 0032-0033)
includes at least one structure selected from a group comprising a single channel, a plurality of channels (plurality of tubes, 17 tubes in three rows par 0032), micro-channels, tubes (tubes, par 0032), and combination thereof, disposed in a predetermined relationship to one another, said predetermined relationship including at least one disposition selected from a group consisting of a parallel disposition (first of three alternatives, fig 1-6 shows tubes in parallel formation relative to each other) of said channel structures (upper and lower tube bundles 16, 17, par 0032-0033), an angled disposition (second of three alternatives; tubes are at an angle relative to the horizontal, par 0040, 0042) of said channel structures (upper and lower tube bundles 16, 17, par 0032-0033), a crossing disposition (branching individual tubes into several tubes, par 0024; alternatively, fig 1b, collector 14 connects all tubes at the upper end by crossing across all of their ends, par 0032-0036; this is similar to the branching shown in applicant's crossing channels 78, in fig 5a-5b) of said channel structures (upper and lower tube bundles 16, 17, par 0032-0033), and combinations thereof.
Ramming is silent on the discharge temperature is maintained below 31 deg C.
Nevertheless, Ramming teaches that it operates in an isothermic process (par 0007, 0015) where the temperature of the process is maintained; therefore, the temperature of the discharge would be ideally maintained at the same temperature as the rest of the process.
Xiao teaches an analogous liquid piston compressor (abstract) operating in an isothermal process where the temperature of the gas remains constant (par 0049, 0060, 0061) where the typical temperature range of the process is 40-200 degrees Fahrenheit (equivalent 4.4 C – 111.1 F; converted F to C with formula -32 * 5 / 9).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure Ramming to operate the liquid piston compressor isothermally in the 4.4 C – 111.1 C range taught by Xiao in order to operate on low pressure gasses (Xiao, par 0032) typically seen in the oil production industry (Xiao, par 0005), in order to utilize Ramming as a liquid compressor for low pressure gas in oil fields which increases efficiency in recovering oil (Xiao, par 0010).
It would be further obvious to modify Ramming in view of Xiao to maintain the discharge temperature below 31 degrees Celsius for the predictable result of operating isothermally for low pressure gas at temperatures between 4.4 C and 31 degrees C as found conventionally in the oil industry.
Regarding claim 6, Ramming discloses the system of Claim 3, further comprising an external heat transfer enhancing structure (fins attached to the tubes for heat exchanger capacity, par 0025; the fins are implicitly external because the radially inward facing slats 32 occupy the inward space, par 0035; if fins were internal, they would fit the plain meaning of slats and be disclosed by this section; since the fins are disclosed separately they would implicitly be arranged differently than the slats, implying that the fins are external) disposed externally and in contact with said channel wall of said at least one channel structure (tubes, par 0025) of said at least one compression unit (working chamber 15, par 0036), wherein said external heat transfer enhancing structure is configured with elements selected from a group of fin elements (fins, par 0025) having various densities (fin spacing can vary, par 0025), shapes (fin shape can vary, par 0025), materials, and dimensions.
Ramming is silent on the discharge temperature is maintained below 31 deg C.
Nevertheless, Ramming teaches that it operates in an isothermic process (par 0007, 0015) where the temperature of the process is maintained; therefore, the temperature of the discharge would be ideally maintained at the same temperature as the rest of the process.
Xiao teaches an analogous liquid piston compressor (abstract) operating in an isothermal process where the temperature of the gas remains constant (par 0049, 0060, 0061) where the typical temperature range of the process is 40-200 degrees Fahrenheit (equivalent 4.4 C – 111.1 F; converted F to C with formula -32 * 5 / 9).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure Ramming to operate the liquid piston compressor isothermally in the 4.4 C – 111.1 C range taught by Xiao in order to operate on low pressure gasses (Xiao, par 0032) typically seen in the oil production industry (Xiao, par 0005), in order to utilize Ramming as a liquid compressor for low pressure gas in oil fields which increases efficiency in recovering oil (Xiao, par 0010).
It would be further obvious to modify Ramming in view of Xiao to maintain the discharge temperature below 31 degrees Celsius for the predictable result of operating isothermally for low pressure gas at temperatures between 4.4 C and 31 degrees C as found conventionally in the oil industry.
Regarding claim 8, Ramming discloses the system of Claim 2, further comprising: a first plurality of said channel structures (first liquid piston converter 3, par 0038) arranged in a substantially parallel fashion (fig 2a and fig 2b, show tubes in parallel), and a second plurality of said channel structures (second liquid piston converter 3, par 0038) arranged in a substantially parallel fashion (fig 2a and fig 2b, show tubes in parallel), wherein said compression mechanism (gas is compressed by hydraulic fluid in the tubes, par 0007, 0009) is operatively coupled to said first and second plurality of the channel structures (the liquid piston compresses the gas by moving up and down the plurality of tubes, par 0016, 0038; upper and lower tube bundles 16, 17, par 0032-0033), and wherein said controller sub-system operates said first and second pluralities of the channel structures in a compression mode alternately (first and second converters 3 are alternately in compression mode, par 0038; hydraulic pump and reservoir are alternately connected during operation, par 0037, the alternate connection switches the compression and suction connections described in par 0038, par 0037-0038).
Regarding claim 9, Ramming discloses the system of Claim 8, wherein said first plurality of the channel structures (first liquid piston converter 3, par 0038) operate intermittently (they are operated alternately, par 0037-0039; therefore the compression phase is intermittent and between the expel phases), under control of said controller sub-system, in a first compression mode (compression by the first liquid piston converter 3, par 0038) and a first suction mode (sucks in carbon dioxide gas by the first liquid piston converter 3, par 0038), wherein said second plurality of said channel structures (second liquid piston converter 3, par 0038) operate intermittently (the compression phase operates intermittently as it is staggered with the other piston converter, par 0038), under control of said controller sub-system (control mechanism for controlled flow of liquid, par 0016, control for staggered operation of liquid piston converters 3, par 0038), in a second compression mode (compression by the second liquid piston converter 3, par 0038) and a second suction mode (suction by the second liquid piston converter 3, par 0038), wherein said first compression mode is aligned in time with said second suction mode (while one converter 3 is compressing, the other converter is sucking, par 0038), and wherein said first suction mode is aligned in time with said second compression mode (id, par 0038).
Regarding claim 10, Ramming discloses the system of Claim 9:
wherein said at least one top header and at least one bottom header includes: a first lower header (distributor 13, par 0032) and a first upper header (collector 14, par 0032) fluidly coupled to said lower end (distributor 13 is on underside 7, par 0032) and upper ends (collector 14 is on upper side 5, par 0032), respectively, of each of said channel structures (first and second liquid piston converters 3, par 0038) in said first plurality thereof,
a second lower header (13 of second converter 3, par 0038) and a second upper header (14 of second converter 3, par 0038) fluidly coupled to said lower end (7, par 0032) and upper end (5, par 0032), respectively, of each of said channel structures (upper and lower tube bundles 16, 17, par 0032-0033) in said second plurality (second converter 3, par 0038) thereof,
a reversible pumping sub-system (hydraulic pump with 4-way valve to switch flow directions of hydraulic fluid into and out of liquid piston converters 3, par 0037-0039) operatively coupled to said controller sub-system (the liquid piston converters 3 are controlled by 4-way valve, par 0038) and disposed in a fluid communication (hydraulic fluid is pumped to fluid connection 10, par 0038; liquid connection 10 is on underside 7 for each converter 3, par 0031) with said first (distributor 13 for first converter 3 on underside 7, par 0032) and second lower headers (distributor 13 for second converter 3 on underside 7, par 0032),
wherein said at least one suction port (low pressure connection / suction connection 11, par 0031) includes a first suction port (11 for first converter 3, par 0031) and a second suction port (11 for second converter 3, par 0031) configured at said first (11 is connected to collector 14 of first converter 3, par 0036) and second (11 is connected to collector 14 of second converter 3, par 0036) upper headers (14 is on upper side 5 of converters 3, par 0032), respectively,
wherein said at least one discharge port (high pressure connection 12, par 0031, 0036) includes a first discharge port (12 for first converter 3, par 0031) and a second discharge port (12 for second converter 3, par 0031) configured at said first (12 is connected to collector 14, par 0036; 14 on upper side 5 for first converter 3, par 0032) and second upper headers (12 is connected to collector 14, par 0036; 14 on upper side 5 for second converter 3, par 0032), respectively,
wherein in said second suction mode, said incompressible liquid medium fills said first plurality of the channel structures (first liquid piston converter 3, par 0038), and said working fluid medium (carbon dioxide gas, par 0033) enters said second suction port at said second upper header into said second plurality of the channel structures (second liquid piston converter 3, par 0038), and
wherein said first suction mode of operation and said second compression mode of operation (suck in first converter 3 and compression in second converter 3, par 0038) are attained subsequent to said reversible pumping sub-system directing (4-way valve switches to change flow direction of hydraulic fluid, par 0037-0039), under control of said controller sub-system (4-way valve controls the switching, par 0037), said incompressible liquid medium (hydraulic fluid)from said first plurality of the channel structures into said second plurality of the channel structures (hydraulic fluid flows out of first converter 3 while hydraulic fluid flows into second converter 3, par 0038), resulting in compression of said working fluid medium (carbon dioxide gas, par 0033) in said second plurality of the channel structures (second converter 3 compresses when hydraulic fluid is entering, par 0038), and wherein said working fluid medium (carbon dioxide gas, par 0033) enters into and fills said first plurality of the channel structures (gas is sucked into first converter 3 as hydraulic fluid flows out of it, par 0038) throughout the first suction port at the first upper header (gas enters through low-pressure connection / suction port 11, par 0036).
Regarding claim 11, Ramming discloses the system of Claim 10, wherein said controller sub-system is adapted to convert (4-way valve alternately connects the fluid connections of the liquid piston convertors 3, par 0037-0038) said first suction mode and said second compression modes of operation (first converter 3 compresses while second converter 3 sucks, par 0038) into said first compression mode and said second suction mode of operation (first converter 3 sucks while second converter 3 compresses, par 0038), respectively, by reversing said pumping sub-system (hydraulic pump with 4-way valve switches flow directions of hydraulic fluid into and out of liquid piston converters 3, par 0037-0039) to direct said incompressible liquid medium from said second plurality of the channel structures into said first plurality of the channel structures (hydraulic fluid flows out of second converter 3 while hydraulic fluid flows into first converter 3, par 0038) through said first and second lower headers (distributor 13 on underside 7 receives fluid through liquid connection 10; first distributor 13 for first converter 3 and second distributor 13 for second converter 3; par 0032; hydraulic fluid goes from the bottom through liquid connection 10, par 0038), respectively.
Regarding claim 12, Ramming discloses the system of Claim 11, wherein
(first of two alternatives; valves actuated by controller) said controller sub-system (4-way valve controls hydraulic flow into first and second converter 3, par 0037-0038) as adapted to actuate said first and second discharge ports (low pressure check valves are actuated by low pressure, par 0003, the check valves are at low pressure connection 11 of the first and second converter 3, par 0003, 0036; the actions of the 4-way valve thereby indirectly actuate the discharge check valves because the valves cause the pressure increase in converters 3) at said first and second upper headers (collector 14 at upper side 5 each of the two converters 3, par 0032),
alternately (second of two alternatives, valves actuated by pressure) upon the working fluid medium (carbon dioxide gas, par 0033) reaches a predetermined pressure level (low pressure check valves are actuated by low pressure, par 0003) in said first or second pluralities (first or second converter 3, par 0038) of the channel structures (upper and lower tube bundles 16, 17, par 0032-0033), respectively,
and (common to both first and second alternatives) said working fluid medium (carbon dioxide gas, par 0033) escapes through said first or second discharge ports (low pressure check valves are actuated by low pressure, par 0003, the check valves are at low pressure connection 11 of the first and second converter 3, par 0003, 0036), respectively, from said first or second pluralities (first and second converters 3, par 0038) of the channel structures (upper and lower tube bundles 16, 17, par 0032-0033), and wherein said controller sub-system (4 way valve, par 0037-0039) is adapted to reverse the operation of said pumping sub-system (4 way valve switches fluid connections for first and second converters 3, par 0037-0038) subsequent to the discharge of the working fluid medium (4 way valve switches